Skip to Content
38

4.4 based on 38 customer reviews

24
9
4
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Best of both worlds

FDRAX33/B 07/04/2015 by Bian (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I still like still photography. But shootings sports I liked an occasional video and I certainly like taking multiple shots to be able to pick the best moment. My still camera did multishots only with poor quality. So I started to look for still cameras with 4k to be able to do movies and extract from them over 20 shots per second each 8 megapixels. I found several cameras but one was expensive the other was bulky and another had too small zoom range. And then I heard about FDR AX33. It seemed to have it all: great brand name, incredibly small size, good zoom with awesome optics and price comparable to what I would have to spend for a still camera with 4k. It is actually cheaper than at least one still camera I was considering. Plus it has BOSS! It really fit the bill! So I got it and I have not been disappointed yet. I have the best of both world: great quality video with the ability to extract best frames as high quality stills. All this in a small however a little bricky package. I am loving it. And in the future when I buy 4k tv I will have some high quality memories. The file size takes getting used to but that is the format and not the device. If you still unconvinced get it from Sony store with 30 days to return it for a refund. You will not be returning it. Tthe 4k camcorder for the rest of us has arrived.

14

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Was great... at first

FDRAX33/B 03/08/2015 by JR28 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had the A33 since March. At first I was satisfied, but then last week something happened. When ever I playback any Video, it lags, and becomes pixelated. Happens both on playback on the camera, and on my PC. No I have to send it in for repair;. Repair should be under warranty, but I still have to pay to have it shipped to their repair center, and have to be without the camera for gosh knows how long.

12

10

38 Customer Reviews

0

best picture

FDR-AX33 09/07/2017 by filmgeek1515 (USA)

the imageary is so good and I can't believe how much storage it can hold.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great resolution

FDR-AX33 28/06/2017 by DJTC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Delighted with the camera as it's mainly for filming sons ice hockey and once got to grips with it, great end product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent product

FDR-AX33 13/06/2017 by Slav1978 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

High quality and value for money. More than enough for beginners.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great product

FDR-AX33 25/05/2017 by Slavetsky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

More then enough for beginners. Fantastic quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

I expected more

FDRAX33/B 06/05/2017 by DaBoss (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm not impressed with the automatic audio level feature. It allowed the audio to clip during a school play. Also, I lose a few frames of audio at the end of each clip. This is a problem that should have been solved years ago. Need to do better Sony.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

AX33 4k Camcorder

FDR-AX33 13/04/2017 by Nickmk1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this for viewing our band as other cheaper cameras and camcorders were poor in low light. First impression is this is good. 1st gig came out really well. Light levels great and camera did not "hunt" to focus like the others. Sound quality great. Didn't try streaming to live feed but remote control from my phone worked fine. So far very impressed. Since purchased a spare battery and usb charger direct from Duracell as Sony original stupidly expensive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

amazing for starters and enthusiasts

FDRAX33/B 11/04/2017 by Jptgamer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i was looking for a new camera that would not brake my bank. i found this camera . it has amazing quality and very smooth video. i love the optical stabilization, it has helped me in many situations and i do not need to spend more money on a study cam or anything like such. my only down side is i would like a better wide angle and zoom but the model that has it was out of my rang. its low light is good but nothing to be amazed at.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointing

FDR-AX33 29/03/2017 by Gerihatrick (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Picture quality excellent, but ergonomics awful. Heavy, bulky and awkward to hold. Fine if using tripod/monopod. Returned product as I have difficulties with my hands and I just couldn't hold it properly

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

Not the complete package

FDR-AX33 27/03/2017 by crg511 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Still getting to know the camcorder so jury is out. Disappointed to find that I cannot fix the speed of the zoom, unlike my previous Cannon camcorder. It is also 100 grams heavier, and lacks any safety strap around the neck. Still need to create a new edited video to compare the picture quality with my 8 year old Cannon.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Broadcast Journalist

FDRAX33/B 26/03/2017 by campito (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like it. It works wonderful. I would recommend it to others.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Love everything it does!

FDRAX33/B 18/03/2017 by Mzann (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple of weeks ago and I have not put it down yet,,,,,I just love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good all round camera.

FDR-AX33 15/03/2017 by pau1701d (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this about 3 weeks ago. Good all round 4k camera. The only major failing is that after paying out for it I then had to purchase a SD card otherwise the camera was useless. Sony are very miserly for not including a SD card.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

2

0

GREAT FEATURES. CLEAR PICTURE

FDRAX33/B 17/02/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I BOUGHT IT IN MAY 2015, AND I AM STILL IMPRESSED

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great overall camera

FDR-AX33 08/01/2017 by DomH (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really happy with all the features and the quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Camcorder.

FDR-AX33 19/08/2016 by Geo67 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camcorder to replace my old Panasonic.The picture quality is fantastic.It has a lot of great features,The picture is rock steady in full telephoto mode.I will buy a Mike to improve the sound quality in windy conditions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

I haven't had a chance to use it yet.

FDR-AX33 04/07/2016 by Hipbone (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was disappointed to find that there was no memory card with the camcorder when I unpacked it from the box.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

21

0

Great 4k

FDR-AX33 21/05/2016 by Dave george (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Needed to go with new Panasonic 4K tv very good picture

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

5

0

Great camera, grainy in relatively low light

FDR-AX33 11/04/2016 by Gilval (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera to use at my wedding so that one of our guests could film the event for us, and I went for a 4K camera to try and future proof the video. The video of the day has come out really well but the video of in the reception and certainly in the evening are noticeably grainy. The floating lens system really works though as there is virtually no shake that I've noticed.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

0

Sony Camcorder

FDR-AX33 03/04/2016 by Flasher (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After previous camcorders and video cameras over many years, I purchased the Sony AX33 and was overwhelmed with the image output, as was other people that viewed my results on the net.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Best consumer 4k camcorder competitively priced

FDR-AX33 03/03/2016 by Tony43 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best 4k camcorder competitively priced, with greatest range of features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

3

0

Great Camcorder

FDR-AX33 27/02/2016 by Dora the Explorer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about 6 weeks ago and I'm so happy I did.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

love the camcorder

FDR-AX33 05/01/2016 by Boota (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great christmas present, full of features the steady shot feature is remarkable makes this camcorder a joy to use the weight is just about right and sits in the hand like a glove, the screen is also very good and easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

amazing stabilization!

FDR-AX33 03/01/2016 by raymi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really good product,amazing active stabilization. What i would really need is 50p for 4K video,i hope Sony will made it:)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Compact and lightweight

FDR-AX33 17/12/2015 by rugbyboyoo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago to replace an earlier AVCHD model. The 4K picture quality is excellent, especially when viewed on a 4K TV. This is helped by the excellent balanced optical steady shot (BOSS) system. The camera is really a "point and shoot" style piece of equipment which is fine for holiday videos and family events but would probably not suit a more serious film maker. I edit my 4K footage using Final Cut Pro X which is fine. However there is not yet a 4K Blue-Ray standard for exporting edited 4K footage to disc, which is a pity.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Top camcorder

FDR-AX33 02/12/2015 by Oaksey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camcorder is very easy to use and has a host of features.The main set are accessed by pressing the manual button on the body and rotating the ring attached to the lens,a menu appears,rotate until you see the feature on the.screen. Everything else is via the menu button on the screen.On handy feature in the menu is the MY button which allows you to add up to 3 shortcuts to the menu screen. How does the camcorder perform, as well as having the normal grades of image recording there are 2 Sony file formats for recording 4K and full HD. At 50 frames per second.The 4K feature is only useful if connecting the camcorder to a 4K television, because if edited in software on a computer the resolution will be downsized to full HD. These top two Sony file formats require an sdxc card I would suggest 64gb as the files will be huge. A word of warning if you intend to use these formats, make sure your editing software supports them, luckily Apple. Final Cut Pro x updated the software to support the Sony format. Have tested the camcorder and it looks the business. Highly recommended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Easy to use and great 4K video

FDR-AX33 26/11/2015 by UKviewer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having bought a Sony 4K television I wanted to be able to video in the same definition. This camera is very easy to use and feels comfortable in the hand. The 4K video looks great on a 55" screen with good colours and lots of detail. The one feature that makes this camera outstanding is its stabilisation. By having the lens and sensor assembly "floating" together the images are free of jerky movement or the sort of slight drift than can ruin video footage. For me this makes this camera invaluable and unique.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

Sony AX33 4K camcorder

FDR-AX33 30/09/2015 by Jask (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camcorder has excellent 4K video recording, but I feel that the stills camera could use a bigger sensor for low-light photos without flash. Really excellent video stabilisation. Would be nice to be able to record HDR video.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Good UHD Camera

FDR-AX33 27/09/2015 by Robodoc (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I felt it time to move up to 4K. Footage looks great on my interim equipment but yet to fully upgrade computer and TV. Paymenories I do not like though, but I have managed to directly import the MP4 files without problems.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Got 3 modes of video recording

FDR-AX33 22/09/2015 by wedgemaster (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this for a month and it's very good ,but still need to get into all the functions

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great video camera

FDR-AX33 13/09/2015 by grahams57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very happy with this camera and like the manual controls and the excellent quality of the 4K picture, the only reason I didn`t give five stars is, I like to use the Sony gun microphone and the placement of this on top of the camera is awkward for handholding the camcorder,.. also the focussing could be a little quicker but I`m `nit picking` here. Overall very happy though.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

My choice!

FDR-AX33 05/09/2015 by Stray Animal (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A truly professional camera would be too much for my troubled mind to conjure with. I struggled to get to grips with the Canon XL1. This camera, however, can be simple to use or can be better controlled should that be needed. I found it comfortable, easy to carry and use and certainly is better suited to my needs than most others I have researched. Also fits in an old Canon S1 IS case. Still use with a tripod for certain shots, especially long pans. Good buy. The following ratings are compared to a more expensive camera but would be higher if comparing with its peers or similar sized camcorders.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Was great... at first

FDRAX33/B 03/08/2015 by JR28 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had the A33 since March. At first I was satisfied, but then last week something happened. When ever I playback any Video, it lags, and becomes pixelated. Happens both on playback on the camera, and on my PC. No I have to send it in for repair;. Repair should be under warranty, but I still have to pay to have it shipped to their repair center, and have to be without the camera for gosh knows how long.

12

10

Response From Sony Support
03/08/2015

Hi JR28,

We're sorry to hear about what happened. The average turn around time for repairs is within 7-10 business days.

0

Pity about the backwards incompatibility with LANC

FDR-AX33 18/07/2015 by PeterFV (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent in every way save the inability to connect to a LANC controller. Apparently this has been dispensed with in favour of a barely-useable iPhone app. Since it even has the connectors, tis is evidently a deliberate software disabling. Were it not for this all my ratings would be 5*

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Delighted!!

FDR-AX33 01/07/2015 by crazylegs79 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a few weeks ago and really glad i did. Great product easy to use with some excellent features e.g. slow motion. Once I got the correct memory card to record in 4k the picture quality is just unbelievable!! Would definitely recommend. So glad i got this Sony 4k handycam than other products out there in the market place because i just would be sitting at home wishing i had bought the Sony!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Better than my perfect vision

FDRAX33/B 16/06/2015 by CaliforniaFreeways (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I used the Sony FDR AX33 for the first time yesterday and when I played it on my television it looked clearer on my TV than it did in real life. The clarity is amazing. I'm looking forward to taping more freeway videos and putting on Youtube for everybody to see.

4

0

0

Fantastic Camcorder

FDR-AX33 10/06/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the FDR-AX33 and an upgrade to my old HDR-XR500 camera and I have to say the quality and operation of the camera is fantastic. Very pleased with my upgrade and still lots more to discover. Brilliant camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Best of both worlds

FDRAX33/B 07/04/2015 by Bian (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I still like still photography. But shootings sports I liked an occasional video and I certainly like taking multiple shots to be able to pick the best moment. My still camera did multishots only with poor quality. So I started to look for still cameras with 4k to be able to do movies and extract from them over 20 shots per second each 8 megapixels. I found several cameras but one was expensive the other was bulky and another had too small zoom range. And then I heard about FDR AX33. It seemed to have it all: great brand name, incredibly small size, good zoom with awesome optics and price comparable to what I would have to spend for a still camera with 4k. It is actually cheaper than at least one still camera I was considering. Plus it has BOSS! It really fit the bill! So I got it and I have not been disappointed yet. I have the best of both world: great quality video with the ability to extract best frames as high quality stills. All this in a small however a little bricky package. I am loving it. And in the future when I buy 4k tv I will have some high quality memories. The file size takes getting used to but that is the format and not the device. If you still unconvinced get it from Sony store with 30 days to return it for a refund. You will not be returning it. Tthe 4k camcorder for the rest of us has arrived.

14

0

0

Best 4K camcorder on the market today.

FDRAX33/B 07/03/2015 by LeeHdz (USA)

I use this camera as a Private Investigator and find the camera fits all of my needs. I'll list info that I find useful that isn't in the specs. Start up time is important to me and it starts in 1 second when the screen is opened or the eye piece is pulled. When you close the screen and re-open the screen minutes to hours later it will recall the zoom and focus setting from last use. The night shot is very good and clear and there's an option to turn on and off the IR sensor so you don't get the glare off an interior window in darkness. 4K is incredibly clear and pristine up[ to 18X zoom or so. Zoom in farther and you'll get a bit of artifacts due to digital zoom. Extended (after market) batteries are very inexpensive compared to the (other brand of 4k camcorder). In all this was a wise and useful purchase and it has exceeded my expectations.

49

31