37

3.7 based on 37 customer reviews

16
8
3
5
5
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

No regrets with purchase!

HDRCX440/B 15/07/2015 by SMead (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first full HD camcorder and I have found it easy to use and easy to set up. I'm also very pleased with the picture quality and size of the camera. Also the software provided by Sony is easy to use. No regrets with the purchase of this camera.

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Worst purchaged product in my life

HDRCX440/B 12/11/2018 by panig (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Copying videos from cam to computer is night mare. Never suggest this product to anyone.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

37 Customer Reviews

0

Functionality and ease of use

HDRCX440/B 31/08/2020 by MSESYSINC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased 0ver 5 years ago for multi cam wedding shoot

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Has issues!

HDR-CX440 04/05/2020 by Jacked (USA)

Will never buy a sony product again as I forgot they do stupid things. In order to delete a video off of this thing, they made it as hard as possible. Can not delete the files using your computer, just sad

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

Response From DI PRO
05/05/2020

Hello, we're sorry for your negative experience. We recommend Catalyst Browse for file management. If you'd like further help or troubleshooting, please call us at 1-239-245-6360

0

Problem in color capture after a few days

HDRCX440/B 06/04/2020 by deep_blue19 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it a month ago, and it worked well for a few days, but then the images and video capture became bluish. Something has gone wrong in the product.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

Response From DI PRO
07/04/2020

Hi, please check if the white balance setting has been changed. Please go to [Menu ] -> [Camera/Mic] -> [Manual Settings] -> [White Balance] -> desired setting. Please check if the white balance is set to anything other than AUTO. If you have additional questions and concerns please reach us at AdvancedCustomerSolutions@am.sony.com
Best Regards,
Pakorn

0

Alright camcorder for such outrageous price

HDRCX440/B 08/03/2020 by My_Gaming_TV (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product is mediocre at best for functionality but too expensive for the average person without all the features and functions working or with it being such an old product

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

Response From Tier 3 Support
10/03/2020

I do apologize for your experience. Please provide any feedback about the product to our advancedcustomersolutions@am.sony.com email.

0

Simply a great camcorder

HDRCX440/B 07/10/2019 by nna22 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera for work and it turned out to be just amazing. Plus it is easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/10/2019

Hi, nna22!

You chose the best brand! We are glad to know that you now shoot amazing videos using your camcorder. Thank you for trusting Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

O.K.

HDR-CX440 22/07/2019 by mechanic00 (USA)

I have it for over 3 years. There are some things that I do not like about it; bad audio quality in windy conditions, lots of software (editing/converting) does not recognize format used by this camcorder. And the lastly, thing is availability of replacements. For example simple cable to connect to PC can only be found with other things (that I do not need) for high price...

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/07/2019

Hi, mechanic00!

Your Sony camcorder has a Wind Noise Reduction function that helps you record a movie with less wind noise: https://helpguide.sony.net/cam/1440/v1/en/contents/TP0000557844.html. To edit the movies and pictures, we recommend using the PlayMemories Home software. For pars and accessories concerns, you may coordinate with Sony Parts directly from this page: https://sony.encompass.com/general/Contact-Us

We appreciate your feedback, and we will forward this to the relevant team.

Regards,

Vincent

0

Great feature

HDRCX440/B 25/06/2019 by lionno1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i really love and enjoy using this product its very nice.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/06/2019

Hi, lionno1!

Good to know that you love the product! Thanks for choosing Sony!

Regards,
Sam

0

Poor Video Quality, Great Features

HDRCX440/B 27/05/2019 by K7501 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am disappointed with my purchase. The video quality is very poor compared to the Sony HDR-CX230 I purchased back in 2013. However, the Intelligent Active SteadyShot feature results in very smooth video.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/06/2019

Hi K7501, You can set the image quality and frame rate of the video according to the format of your choice. See this link for more details: https://helpguide.sony.net/cam/1440/v1/en/cover/level3_31.html

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
[Sony website] Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,

Vincent
Sony Social Support

0

for the price of CX440 Video Camera great deal

HDRCX440/B 10/01/2019 by CCRider (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This video camera has lots of functions that I'm still leaning to use. But the price was a great price for the fetures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Worst purchaged product in my life

HDRCX440/B 12/11/2018 by panig (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Copying videos from cam to computer is night mare. Never suggest this product to anyone.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony Social Support
13/11/2018

Hi panig,

We apologize for the inconvenience. What is the operating system of the computer? How did you copy the video to your computer? There are several ways to transfer the videos to external devices. Here is the link for more information; https://helpguide.sony.net/cam/1440/v1/en/cover/level3_17.html. Regards, Jen

0

Disappointed

HDRCX440/B 27/09/2018 by Highpockets (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Won’t connect to iMac to use all of the extras the camera has.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/10/2018

Hi Highpockets, we're sorry to hear about this. What are you trying to do? Have you already downloaded the PlayMemories Home to your computer? Kindly refer to this link for further assistance; https://helpguide.sony.net/cam/1440/v1/en/cover/level2_07.html. Regards, Jen

0

Awesome

HDRCX440/B 09/07/2018 by Dillicon (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this a week ago and it is the best thing ever you need to buy it now!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

I am unable to take a shot

HDRCX440/B 06/07/2018  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

About the Camera: Everything I video is overexposed and useless.

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/07/2018

Hi there, We're saddened to hear that the video quality didn't meet your expectations. Please follow the steps provided in the link below for further assistance; https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00025507. Regards, Jen

0

Excellant features

HDRCX440/B 22/06/2018 by CATHYK309 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

LIGHT WEIGHT TAKES AWESOME PICTURES JUST NOW TRYING TO LIVE STREAM

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

---easy to use

HDRCX440/B 20/06/2018 by JP Thomas (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The product is ery good, although I have been unable to connect the WiFi to either the TV or through my iPhone as the information suggest.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Nice camcorder

HDRCX440/B 03/05/2018 by Mrsbb (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this item less than a week ago. I’ve used it for the first time and the quality of the video was great and pictures are awesome. Easy to use and very light weight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

GREAT FEATURES

HDRCX440/B 13/04/2018 by LT JERSEY (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

PHENOMINAL PICTURE QUALITY. GREAT CAMERA. LIGHT WEIGHT AND EASY TO USE. THE COMPUTER/INTERNET/SMARTPHONE FUNCTIONS ARE TRICKY.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent Results

HDR-CX440 10/04/2018 by AlexJuanSolo (USA)

I received this camera last year, and I've been using it ever since. Smoothest handheld camera I have ever used.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

I like the camera

HDRCX440/B 17/02/2018 by Kanaka (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I been using this camera for two months and this owl Just need to be captured on my camera!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

nice video

HDRCX440/B 03/01/2018  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

take nice video and sound in small camera zoom is amazing, little hard/confuse to share video in my computer, maybe because I'm new with this camera, but put sd card in laptop very easy.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Built in Microphone

HDR-CX440 13/12/2017 by silence of the lambs (USA)

After purchasing this handycam and shooting some sport videos I found out that you cannot shut off the microphone during filming. You only have 2 options for volume control Normal or Low level. It sure seems like they could have added 1 more feature OFF. There are times when you dont want all the background noise

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

My best one

HDR-CX440 19/11/2017 by Ghanem (USA)

Very small size very high technology at any condition,especially low light and shaky condition,zoom can show any thing at any distance at the best quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good

HDR-CX440 15/11/2017 by ioi9 (USA)

i love this handycam so so so so so so so so so much

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Better then all my other ones!

HDRCX440/B 23/10/2017 by Irthos (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought two previous cameras. The quality on both didn't excede my expectations however this has. And im very happy with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

worst camera i ever bought

HDRCX440/B 23/08/2017 by nonefor you (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

the manual did no good, and I could not use the memory chip, or download the pictures onto my computer

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/08/2017

Hi, nonefor you, Using the PlayMemories Home software, you will be able to transfer your images and videos from the camcorder to your computer. Make sure you are using the right version based on the operating system of your computer. To ensure stable operation of the memory card, it is recommended to format the memory card with this product before the first use and make sure it is compatible with your camera. Visit the links below for the details of your concerns:
http://helpguide.sony.net/cam/1440/v1/en/cover/level3_17.html,
http://helpguide.sony.net/cam/1440/v1/en/contents/TP0000557748.html. Hope these help. Regards, Vincent

0

Complicated

HDRCX440/B 11/04/2017 by qface (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I cant connect it to my TV wirelessly. It's too tiny.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

5

0

first use

HDRCX440/B 03/04/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

changed media storage to internal, I wanted on the card, lost 1 hour of recording because I didnt check while running,

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

my camera

HDRCX440/B 07/02/2017 by alacran333 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

this is a great product i recommend it. good costumer service.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

JUST BOUGHT

HDRCX440/B 14/01/2017 by DDG376 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought CX-440 today and it seem like it will be easy to use. Liked the price and quiality.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

horrible to delete photos/vidoes from

HDRCX440/B 26/12/2016 by fleshmaj (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I spend more time going through and deleting things manually than i do actually recording stuff. Last Sony product i buy. SD Card that came with it was burnt on one use :(

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

4

0

Great Camcorder

HDRCX440/B 04/12/2016 by Honeybrown804 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very nice and compact. Great lighting at night! I love it. Perfect for surveillance! Plenty of extra features. You will not be disappointed in my opinion.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent & easy to use

HDRCX440/B 23/09/2016 by PR Ozzy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a very easy camera to use and work with. I like how fast you can transfer the videos to your computer or table. Awesome product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

HDRCX440/B 30/07/2015 by BBmack (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

3

4

0

No regrets with purchase!

HDRCX440/B 15/07/2015 by SMead (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first full HD camcorder and I have found it easy to use and easy to set up. I'm also very pleased with the picture quality and size of the camera. Also the software provided by Sony is easy to use. No regrets with the purchase of this camera.

7

0

0

Beautiful photos

HDRCX440/B 27/06/2015 by 1Amateur (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Zooms quickly, focus response is good, light weight, great photos & videos. This amateur photographer can use it and obtain great photos.

5

0

0

Great Camcorder

HDRCX440/B 12/05/2015  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We have enjoyed using the camera. The sound could be a little better, but we still enjoy it. We used it to record a singing at our church and it did well. We will be trying it out more as summer gives us more to film. We wish it had a better manual, but not many things come with good manuals anymore.

8

5

Response From Sony Support
12/05/2015

Hi Faye, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. You may go to this website http://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model-home.pl?mdl=HDRCX440&template_id=1®ion_id=1&tab=manuals#/manualsTab to get the manual and the operating instructions for this Sony Camcorder.

0

Quality of New Handycam

HDRCX440/B 18/02/2015 by Fuzzyhead (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been purchasing and using Sony Video cameras for many years. Mainly due to the quality of the optics and the videos that these cameras have always produced. While I should not be surprised that the quality of this camera is far less than any other I have owned, due to its very inexpensive price. However I did not expect it to be missing so many features, such as a viewfinder, GPS and much more, and it almost feels like a toy. This in itself would be somewhat understandable, but the quality of the video this camera takes, also does not seem to be up to the normal Sony standards I have come to expect. The camera definitely has its place, I just think you need to make sure you are clear on what you will be getting with this model.

37

13

Response From Sony Support
19/02/2015

HI Fuzzyhead,

Thank you for choosing Sony for all these years. We appreciate you posting a review for the camcorder, we'll pass the info along to the right people.