69

4.3 based on 69 customer reviews

35
24
6
1
3
Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Packed with useful features at a bargain price

Without built-in memory 06/03/2016 by Soxer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i've been using a Sony HX400V bridge camera to shoot video for my work, but wanted to try out a dedicated video camera. Chose this model on price and that fact it had wi fi feature, though so far I can't play material through my Sony Bravia smart telly and not been able to wirelessly transfer content to my laptops either. Operation is so easy, open it up and you're powered up ready to go. It's light, feels nicely finished off and I am delighted that is has a Zeiss lens, another reason I chose it over other brands. I've not used it too much yet, but am very pleased with the results so far especially indoors. The attached You Tube video is an example of just playing around in my local butchers shop.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

It's OK - but not much better than my phone

Without built-in memory 18/10/2019 by JonMason (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for doing interviews for a YouTube channel. Outdoor quality is quite good. Indoor quality isn't any better than my mid-market smartphone. But the focus is good and the zoom is very impressive. The external microphone input is a great feature but this camera is loaded with all kinds of annoying and complicated features than add nothing. I mean, who actually edits videos on the camera? The touch-screen is not very responsive and fiddly to operate. Sony: make it simple and do the simple stuff better. The manuals are bare-bones and there are lots of features that just aren't discussed in the manual. I expected better of Sony.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

69 Customer Reviews

0

Blah blah blah blah

Without built-in memory 27/04/2020 by Backgarden Busker (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and did a great review but there was a problem. No idea what the problem was and can't be bothered to do it again.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good camera

Without built-in memory 31/03/2020 by Coopdrums (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve been using this camera for over a year. The image quality is good, as you would expect from Sony. The battery life isn’t great and I would have benefited from XLbattery for better life. The camera only outputs in real time via its hdmi port which is great when connected to to tv screen. However I was hoping it would output in a lower resolution via its usb and that way it could be used as a high quality webcam. Unfortunately it doesn’t. Overall a steady if not dynamic performer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

improvement on my old cx240

Without built-in memory 26/03/2020 by nonnnn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the cx450 to replace my ageing cx240, Liked the added feature of the touch screen which allows you to operate the camera without having to put you left hand around the back of the camera to operate the stop/start whilst holding the camera in your right hand, much more stable. Picture quality is same as cx240 but much more stable, do not like the time lapse not what I was expecting thought it would be movie time lapse not a series of still photo no use to me, otherwise a very good camera...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

HAVE NOT USED IT YET.

Without built-in memory 26/02/2020 by GEE VERDI WIZZZ25 (United Kingdom)

Looks really nice. Can't wait to work it when my memory card comes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works very well with my Pixio robot.

Without built-in memory 13/12/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall I like the camera. It complements my Pixio robot very well. The function buttons and the connectivity ports however are too small to be easily used by big fingers in the cold weather. Also, a cable to connect the camera to computer would be helpful for downloading. The ability to wirelessly download the camera to a computer is challenging since only recently taken pictures, movies can be downloaded using this method especially while first trying to use the feature.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

Without built-in memory 18/10/2019 by BarbaraB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use, good quality photography and lightweight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It's OK - but not much better than my phone

Without built-in memory 18/10/2019 by JonMason (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for doing interviews for a YouTube channel. Outdoor quality is quite good. Indoor quality isn't any better than my mid-market smartphone. But the focus is good and the zoom is very impressive. The external microphone input is a great feature but this camera is loaded with all kinds of annoying and complicated features than add nothing. I mean, who actually edits videos on the camera? The touch-screen is not very responsive and fiddly to operate. Sony: make it simple and do the simple stuff better. The manuals are bare-bones and there are lots of features that just aren't discussed in the manual. I expected better of Sony.

Picture Quality

Fair

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

A new look

HDR-CX455 04/09/2019 by Tg4519 (USA)

I like the camera but it needs a remake A new look and with a full frame film sensor For 1080p 60 fps at 100mb and wav audio 96khz 24bit recording with video and a built in recharge able batter.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/09/2019

Hi, Tg4519!

Thanks for sharing your thoughts and feedback. We will forward this to the relevant team. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

great

Without built-in memory 24/08/2019 by Asoke (United Kingdom)

Good and my family members are happy. We have taken some beautiful videos of a near by park.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value camcorder

Without built-in memory 27/05/2019 by Billportland (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very impressed with the optical zoom and stabilisation. Battery capacity is adequate. Display could be brighter and the touchscreen is a bit fiddly with my fat fingers. Very good picture quality overall, wind noise can be an issue even with the wind filtering turned on.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

very easy to set up and use

Without built-in memory 27/05/2019 by blasty (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this last week and so far am completely happy with its performance. The videos are very true to life in colours and the sound is picked up very well, with a front facing microphone it doesn't pick up my breathing. It is easy to download videos to my computer

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Does what is says on the box and more

Without built-in memory 18/03/2019 by Redmugs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Does what is says on the box and more. Provides good quality video in many situations.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Seems very good

Without built-in memory 07/02/2019 by Shunt34 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this product for motorcycle vlogging and to cover so family events we have this year. Not had much chance to try it but on the tests done so far, it seems very good especially for the price. Item is very light and I like the fact that the camera automatically comes on and goes off when you open and close the viewer. The built in USB cable is great idea and more manufacturers should consider doing something similar. Overall a very good product and looking forward to shooting some great vids this year

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

CX450

Without built-in memory 02/02/2019 by Bill at Glasgow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this a month ago, does what I need it for, quality just above average, very plastic feel to it

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Excellent features!

Without built-in memory 30/01/2019 by Rustington Robbie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as a birthday present to myself as I'm off to the Big Cat Sanctuary in Kent in May and want to get in plenty of practice before then! Found it a little complex to start with but after an hours tuition from my brother now find it easy peasy, a great bit of kit and looking forward to some excellent footage of the Big Cats!

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Technically deficient, incomprehensible support.

Without built-in memory 21/01/2019 by Kinaida (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased three weeks ago. I passed endless hours trying to navigate through Sony’s multi-product websites for clear and useful instruction on every aspect of the camcorder’s purported functions. I eventually found a support contact but only through the Community forum. The consequent conversation with a Sony employee (location?) was difficult and partly unintelligible. The specific problems remain extant and the ”fix” was nothing more than a reset. Problems: The Play Memories Home freezes on my Mac running OSX 10.13.6. Files will not import to completion. On playback it opens by default, runs in the background and cannot be closed without a Forced Quit. The touch screen was initially off kilter and the top “OK/X” icon was out of line and partially off screen. A situation the Sony support person could not comprehend. It was improved on the second attempt after the reset failed and the whole system was re-initialised. But in the process exposed another problem. The SD card port is temperamental and would only function after several attempts to insert the card. A problem that persists. Because the Sony playback software is deficient, deleting video or still images from the SD card can only be carried by removing the SD card and separately running file admin on Mac Finder. Overall, quite the worst designed and most poorly supported Sony product I have ever purchased. And I have owned a fair number of TV’s and sound systems over the years. I’m taking it back to the retailer for a refund.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Good Camcorder

Without built-in memory 27/12/2018 by M123456 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera for the christmas holidays to capture our family get together. Well please with the results. It creates both MP4 and HD versions which is really useful. Would recommend this camera, good value for the money.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very goog indeed

Without built-in memory 03/12/2018 by Camponoagist (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a few weeks ago so have not done much in the way of filming but have attached a photo ,. It suits me as good as the othe one that I have of yours that has film case jammed oped DCR-HC96

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Still getting used to it,

Without built-in memory 28/10/2018 by Bevp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this a few weeks ago to video sport, so far the picture is a bit blurry, maybe I need to adjust it somehow,

Picture Quality

Poor

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Good overall handycam

Without built-in memory 26/09/2018 by Salkaz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The only major snag is that it restricts you to live stream on ustream platform only. As ustream is no longer free, you then are signing yourself to an unnecessary subscription. Sony should allow live streaming to other services like YouTube. Having said that good overall camera. It replaced a 5 year old CX-115E which stopped working all of a sudden. The good thing about this model was that the batteries were compatible, although you would need the MicroSD card instead of the SD card that the old CX-115E supported.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Very Good Piece of Kit

Without built-in memory 13/09/2018 by Impressed Reviewer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to replace a Sony HC27, (mini tapes), by comparison, it is very light to carry, but care needed to hold steady, very compact, operates slickly & is easy to use. Video & stills simultaneously are very useful although still capture seems to lag. Its quick to access functions and change settings, and the battery lasts quite well for intermittent use during a day, but a spare is highly recommended. Image stabilisation is incredibly good and zoom is very impressive as long as the camera is on a tripod or held down firmly. The rotating and adjustable screen is useful to see your shooting scene adequately. Charging and down loading to a computer or tv, or DVD recorder is a doddle with right connection. Downsides are that in low light the image quality suffers very badly from graininess. The fit between the extension cable supplied to charge and download is a very poor fit with the tethered usb on the camera and is very obstructive, badly made and a hassle to connect. A spare cable that I have fits perfectly each time. All in all its a very good piece of kit, very capable with excellent image quality, once you master its very light weight and keep it still.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Steady video while moving with the camera as well

Without built-in memory 05/09/2018 by Gupta (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Found the camcorder as expected. Wide angle is useful for taking a building video. Zooming gets me a good focus instantly. Good zooming result as picture is sharp enough for a distant zooming.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Good value

Without built-in memory 11/08/2018 by Uncooked (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera to replace worn out Panasonic. Picture quality is good in video or picture mode and no problems with the ease of use for an OAP like me. Also very pleased with battery life.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

So EASY!

Without built-in memory 06/08/2018 by Mrs D (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So pleased with this! I've used Sony video cameras ever since my first Video 8. This time I'm going from miniDV to micro disk. Size and weight make this SO easy, not to mention the ease of saving files as apposed to tape. Battery life excellent. Zeiss lens. My picture & sound ratings are probably not accurate as I manipilate my files with a movie-making programme, burn to DVE and play on non-HD player.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Nice and portable

Without built-in memory 29/07/2018 by Dinosaur Dan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace my Sony DCR-TRV80E (Digital Tape) camera. I was hesitant about having no electronic viewfinder but have to say that this camera works well without EVF and the improvement in quality is great!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

very sharp video and pictures

Without built-in memory 21/04/2018 by woodpecker (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to put videos on you tube very happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

compact

Without built-in memory 20/04/2018 by janedavy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

is a handy wee camcorder,fits in my bag well,carry it around on walks..a bit disappointing in night time video's,not so clear..love the zoom..not so keen on the micro sd card,but have an adaptor for that..

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome action camera

HDR-CX455 18/04/2018 by Emma867 (USA)

I got this camera for Christmas in 2017 and so far it has been awesome! I love the cameras! I have gotten some amazing films and and great pictures! I went on a cruise Andy me and my friends vloged and it had great focus and zoom! The battery was even better than I thought it was going to be! This camera has helped see what I am and am not doing right when training dog agility and hopefully it will do good with dog dock diving! I took it on a river trip and it did pretty good! Just don't get it to close to water. I am taking it turkey hunting this weekend and currently I am looking for a remote for it. Hopefully it last long because I love it! It's a great camera for the price!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Brilliant Camera

Without built-in memory 16/04/2018 by Zazu56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this just over a week ago and already love it. Transfer to computer over WIFI works like a charm as does showing on the TV. Partner loves the ease of use, and that's a big plus. Picture quality is fantastic and usable without the Sony software. All in all, a really good purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great for rugby videos

Without built-in memory 07/03/2018 by Ossiesheep (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camcorder primarily to video my son playing rugby. So far it has lived up to all expectations. Incredibly lightweight even with the larger capacity battery I have bought for it. Screen can be a little difficult to see in bright sunlight but I imagine this is the same with all camcorders without a viewfinder, I have bought a clip on sun visor to help alleviate this. Very chuffed with this camcorder, still discovering all it's features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

great find, small and convenient

8 GB built-in memory 01/02/2018 by Spunky Granny (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

the pictures are very clear and it's hard to imagine such a nice picture came from such a small camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Compact and Great

Without built-in memory 24/01/2018 by fwibble (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple of weeks ago now and have been out with it a few times and I'm very impressed with the quality of video

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great little Camcorder

Without built-in memory 05/12/2017 by Mr T 83 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have actually not used as yet, only tested it worked ok, but very pleased with product

0

0

0

Bought for livestreaming

8 GB built-in memory 18/11/2017 by Lopaka334 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace another older camera for live streaming church services. I haven't had it long enough to comment on the live streaming quality. The camera seems to work fairly well as far as the actual video and zooming. I am concerned about the quality of the actual camera body. I seems too light and flimsy for any rough handling. There are little doors and covers that I can see will be knocked off very easily. And the monitor seems like it could get knocked off easily. Plastic is not my favorite material, which this is. Also, I found the included operating guide quite hard to read because it is tiny black print on gray newsprint paper. If you try to read it in any subdued light, it is nearly impossible. The price was reasonable but it may be because it is plastic.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0