344

4.3 based on 344 customer reviews

219
67
16
15
27
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Probably the best ANC headphones available

MDR-1000X 04/06/2017 by martininberks (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these prior to a flight from London to New York. Glad I did. Comfortable, great noise cancelling but with the flexibility to pause the cancelling or to allow speech or ambient noise to penetrate. Good sound quality also. My one criticism would be there is no provision for the cables inside the case - unlike the Bose QC35. Otherwise, very happy with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great features but plastic prone to cracking

MDR-1000X 21/06/2017 by HEXfire (United Kingdom)

I bought this a little over a month ago. The noise cancelling and sound quality are excellent. The features worked as described, with the ambient sound modes being useful and novel. The only minor annoyances were not being able to listen while charging, and simultaneously connecting to multiple audio devices. That said, you can pair a device for audio and one for voice at the same time. A month on, the plastic developed a crack along the foldable joint, resulting in the plastic to protrude and the fit not being as tight. The noise cancellation was noticeably affected as a result. Beware! said cracking is classified as physical / cosmetic damage and not covered under the warranty.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

34

0

344 Customer Reviews

0

Excellent Nosie Cancelling Headphones

MDR-1000X 21/09/2018 by gpantic (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these a bit over a month ago and I'm very pleased with them. Sound is great both wireless and wired. The batteries last about a week of moderate use which is also excellent. The only complaint I have are the touch commands which take a bit of time to get used to. When headphones are on your head you can sometimes miss the right to left swipe (or top to bottom swipe) and swipe diagonally instead. Because of this, I always have to find the position of the mic on top of the touch area to know in which direction to swipe.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Poor design - band broke at earpiece hinge-point

MDR-1000X 17/09/2018 by MCox (USA)

Now that they're broken and unusable, it's easy to see the flaw in design. The cheap plastic develops a crease where the earpiece hinges at the band. Once this occurs, any use at all will cause them to crack and become unwearable. Took barely more than a year of light use to do this. I went back to the store and they had quit selling them because of this problem; it took less than a year for moderate to heavy users which meant alot of warranty replacements.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/09/2018

Hi MCox,

We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name, your contact details and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you.

Regards,
Zac

0

Weak design

MDR-1000X 17/09/2018 by coprene (USA)

At first I was over the moon with the headphone; Very good NR. Nice sound and comfort. My colleague had the same. But after a while the plastic of the plastic headband cracks. We only use it behind our computer during work. Now we will see how good the aftersales of Sony is....

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

does exactly what it says on the 'can'

MDR-1000X 11/09/2018 by Liggo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I cannot praise these headphone enough, they are lightweight, sound quality is good, sometimes heavy base revebs a little

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

An Audio Engineer's Honest Review

MDR-1000X 04/09/2018 by G u y (USA)

In my point-of-view the Sony MDR-1000X is in a league of it's own. Not sure if I am allowed to state this, but I work in the closest competitor company. Let me tell you that there is no product coming from any brand that even tries to rival with this engineering masterpiece. Why do i love this product? Easy. Sound Quality is second to none in the NC field. Battery-Life is more than sufficient. Noise-Cancelling beats all other competitors by miles. Cosmetic design is just beautiful!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Broken head strap less than six months old!

MDR1000X/B 01/09/2018 by Tonysailor (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

When I first bought them these headphones were the bomb! However, just six months of low usage the head strap broke. We will see how this goes.. the headphones are still under warranty!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/09/2018

Hi Tonysailor,

We regret to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following information:

Name:
Contact number/s and the best time to call you
Email address:
Location:

Model number:
Serial number:
Date of purchase:
Dealer/store where it was purchased:
A detailed description of the issue:

Include also my name and this feedback post for reference.

Hope to hear from you.

Regards,
Jen

0

Good Sound but bad hinge design

MDR-1000X 31/08/2018  (USA)

Its been 6-month that I have these headphones that I got from Best Buy. Plastic hinges are broken. Parts are not available and now my $450.00 Dollars headphone is hand assisted headphone i.e. I have to use both hand to hold them up to my ears. Its a good workout for my hand though.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/09/2018

Hi ZahidWadud, we regret to hear that your headphones failed to meet your expectations. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you. Regards, Erin

0

love the sound quality

MDR-1000X 30/08/2018 by messi92 (USA)

i bought these headphones for over a year now and still loves them no complaints at all

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Noise Canceling, VERY BAD BUIILD

MDR-1000X 27/08/2018 by eliotohme (USA)

i have used the headset for 1 year now even more, the noise canceling is great the feature are wonderful but the build quality is beyond bad, cracks started showing around both hinges after only 4 months never dropped the set always took care of it and yet the cracks grew and now they are barely hanging nice product for 420$ very disappointed will not even but the second version

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/08/2018

Hi eliotohme,

Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,
Zac

0

Awesome sound

MDR-1000X 26/08/2018 by jinzesqa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great dynamics. Very comfortable. Noise cancelling tested on the plane and underground train. I'm both cases was excellent. Highly recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

perfect!

MDR-1000X 25/08/2018 by Evan850 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

it works for me,good sound quality and noise cancellation

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Nice sound

MDR-1000X 20/08/2018 by Les K (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After a few weeks I am getting the measure of these headphones. They sit comfortably, and the sound is rather good. Construction seems solid as well.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Poor Joint design - long term review.

MDR-1000X 16/08/2018 by Grr19 (USA)

After researching on all the review websites, youtube reviews and trying different brands in person, I bought these headphones. I think these headphones are one of the best in the market. However, after almost normal half-year using, the right joint began to crack, and I found the plastic cases on the joint area were only held by some double-sided tape, there is no other joint or hock inside the case to hold them. When you twist it, the double-sided tape will lose their grip and the case is open. You can see the big gap in the photo. A half year later, the left side has the same issue. I cannot believe this kind of poor design would be used in the headphones in this price range. The way I fix it is the same way Sony makes it, the tape, but in an ugly way. For the performance wise, these headphone works well. However, for the industrial design aspect, these headphones only have a good looking without a strong and reliable physical design. I think maybe this is the direction Sony needs to focus on in the future.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/08/2018

Hi Grr19, we regret to hear that it failed to meet your expectations. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you. Regards, ~Ralph

0

Excellent sound, terrible gestures

MDR-1000X 02/08/2018 by jlaksdlkfaj (USA)

The sound is fantastic. The gestures don't work very well and are essentially pointless (to me at least). However, you can't turn them off. So if you brush your headphones with your hand the wrong way you have Siri turning your music off and asking how she can help. Or worse, she starts calling someone for you at 2am. (I have a Droid now, there's still a voice activation issue but fortunately doesn't call anyone) Gestures can also be triggered by a single drop of rain. Great job guys.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

DISAPPOINTED

MDR-1000X 02/08/2018 by Patrick5 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this item a month ago and am disappointed that I can't pair two devices with the headset.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Stellar sound, unbeatable battery life

MDR-1000X 24/07/2018 by mrchris3386 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been using these headphones for about a year now and I'm still discovering more detail in music I've been listening to for years than any other set of headphones. The added ambient settings are excellent. Using them when wired at home just propels them way beyond my expectations and the sound is even more enhanced and detailed. I cannot fault these cans. Love them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not working.

MDR-1000X 20/07/2018 by Filu34 (United Kingdom)

After one month small crack showed up on the band near the left ear. With some time crack started to get bigger. And another showed up in the same place on the other side of band. Never droped those. Taking with Care. After 8 months band is totally broken and I cannot use them anymore. I’m terribly dissappointed, device for more than 330£. Also sound started to get distortions. And any Sony Centre don’t want to do anything about that. Probably never again with this company.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Poor quality material - crack in plastic

MDR-1000X 13/07/2018 by sdrycroft (United Kingdom)

These headphones have the potential to be fantastic, but unfortunately the poor quality materials used to make them, means that the plastic in the headband cracks easily.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

ergonomics

MDR-1000X 10/07/2018 by cy123 (USA)

I've had the headphones for approx a year now and they have been used extensively, and yet they have held up exclusively.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Its the best

MDR1000X/B 26/06/2018 by rosemaryflynn (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really love these headphones. They are the best!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best Headphones

MDR-1000X 25/06/2018 by mickjh0 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These are the best headphones I have ever bought. Sound quality is fantastic and the noise cancellation is really very good so all in all by far the best headphones i have evr had.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

No solution for micropone in crowded places

MDR-1000X 17/06/2018 by ADCH (USA)

It is an excellent purchase, except for the fact that each time someone calls me and I am in a crowded place, it is better not to use the headset because they can't hear me very well, a design issue. Any help to resolve the issue is highly appreciated.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Good performance and good looks.

MDR-1000X 12/06/2018 by auld (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The headphones are comfortable to wear for protracted periods and do their job well, cutting ambient noise almost completely. Even on "ambient noise" setting there is a noticeable reduction on surrounding sound levels. What should be an excellent rating is however ruined by the annoying follow-up customer review process which insists on a "nickname" but will not accept inputs. Bah! Hiss!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Stunning in every way

MDR-1000X 10/06/2018 by Rude_Bhoy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was genuinely confused as to what N.C headset to go with and was leaning towards Bose QC35ii but tested both and the 1000X felt more solid, looked better aesthetically and above all sounded stunning.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great For Noise Cancelling

MDR-1000X 09/06/2018 by Mr or Sir (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these because I was absolutely fed up with background music at hotels, round pools, on cruise ships, etc. Often so loud I couldn't even mask it with my own music on conventional headphones - is nobody allowed to sit quietly & just read anymore? These headphones did the trick - just putting them over my ears without turning them on cut out 90% of the row. With noise cancelling on, I can't even hear my wife shouting at me (a mixed blessing!)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The sound is great, I would buy these again.

MDR1000X/B 07/06/2018 by Ringleader (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love these head phones. They sound like a full sound system. Light weight on your head as you walk around the house.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Cracked after two months

MDR1000X/B 07/06/2018 by Joencflip (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Haven’t been using this headphone much because it cracked after few months

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/06/2018

Hi Joencflip, to further assist you, please reach us at socialsupport@am.sony.com. Thanks. -Erin

0

Amazing sound

MDR-1000X 26/05/2018 by Rocklett (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these after the newer model had been launched for an excellent price and I am so impressed. I have had many pairs of earphones and headphones but nothings that sounds as well ballanced as these. The sound is truly remarkable. I tried them directly up against the Bose QC35 II and there was no comparison in terms of the quality of the sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Noise Cancelling + wireless comes to mainstream

MDR-1000X 26/05/2018 by skipper44 (USA)

I chose them over the competition from Bose and Sennheiser, and I'm v v happy with the choice. Whereas my wired 'phones were essentially a luxury I used occasionally, these are sometimes on for hours. In hotel rooms almost all the time.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound + Amazing Look

MDR1000X/C 17/05/2018 by temple11 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these for traveling and they are so worth the price. They look and feel amazing and the sound quality is insanely good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Exactly what I was looking for

MDR-1000X 15/05/2018 by Tommy McLaren (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My partner bought these and I was so impressed I bought a pair for myself. They are very comfortable and the sound quality is brilliant.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound and comfortable

MDR-1000X 15/05/2018 by Butplug (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got these about six months ago to make long flights more enjoyable. They did the trick, combined with a Sony hi res mp3 very nice

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great set of earphones!

MDR-1000X 12/05/2018 by Rick102 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Owned for a month now.. so far no issues! Great comfort , great sound. The only thing i would say is that it can often be awkward to folder them into their carry case..I am sure they would crack at the joints if folded incorrectly! Noise cancellation it fanatastic, bit only certain sounds are masked.. for example it easy drowns out the sound of the missus hairdrier !! But not the natter!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Comfort and freedom

MDR-1000X 03/05/2018 by Fraser K (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound, easy to connect and have a great range so throughout the house if connected to the TV or hi-fi. 2017 model that won 5 star in what Hi-fi. Got them in Curry's for a bargin price. Well worth the money

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Extremely Impressed

MDR-1000X 01/05/2018 by Dubstep78 (USA)

I was debating between Audio Technica's ATH-MSR7GM, & Onkyo's H900M (which I love the Onkyo's as well), however, the Sony 1000X was definitely an easy decision. I absolutely love them. The comfort, style, soundstage / bass, design/quality, color, (Champagne), and value are all great attributes for a pair of headphones. I've been using them over a month now, and I have no complaints. One full charge usually lasts me two to three days. I pair the 1000X with my Onkyo DP-X1, and it's an audiophile match made in heaven. If you purchase this, you will not be disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/05/2018

Hi Dubstep78, Good to know that you are happy with your purchase. We also appreciate your feedback about this Headphones. We're always looking to make Sony better. Thanks for choosing Sony! -David

0

Sony MDR-1000X are amazing headphones

MDR1000X/B 30/04/2018 by DadUncle72 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have never been happier with headphones. These Sony MDR-1000X headphone are out of this world in the quality of sound, noise reduction capabilities, user friendly features, comfort, etc. Treat yourself!!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound but really poor quality.

MDR-1000X 26/04/2018 by jpmk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought them thinking that had better feature that BOSE QC 35 for the price. However, after using it for ONLY 2 months! the right lower hinge had a crack. After checking in forums, it is evident that it is a flaw in the design, not my use! I am very careful with my electronic devices! Now I can see I spent so much money for nothing! The sales service provides no help at all. It is evident that is a Sony flaw but they dont offer a fixe for this. You have to pay! For their rubish desing! I should have got the BOSE!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

8

0

0

Headset band cracking

MDR-1000X 25/04/2018 by J4Nch (USA)

I used mine for like 7 months and now, both side of the head band is cracking. I only use at office, so it's always on my head or on the desk, I never just throwed it in some kind of backpack. I contacted Sony support, which told me to contact a local sony support which I did. The guy told me this was not taken under warranty and I've to pay something like 200$ just to get the 2 plastic band replaced! Don't buy this. I got like 10 headphones in the past, this is the more expensive one and the first one I've such build quality issue. Such premium product should be usable more than 7 month(4 of them I was not even at work due to an injury, so didn't used them). There is hundred of people saying they cracks after a while but sony doesn't want to replace them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/04/2018

Hi J4Nch, Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America, Latin America, and Asia Pacific. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/. Regards, -Erin

0

BEWARE OF CRACKING!

MDR-1000X 20/04/2018 by Kurmit (USA)

A crack develops at the base of the headphone band where it meets the earphone. I have been using it for almost a year when the crack developed so large that it made my headphone unusable. I do take care not to toss them around when not using it. I read on other sites some people had this cracking issue within a few weeks or months after using them. For such a premium product Sony should issue a fix and redesign this model ASAP! If it were not for this major design defect I would have given this product 5 stars.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great

MDR-1000X 18/04/2018 by Shaunie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this equipment/product less tan a month ago

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great future

MDR-1000X 16/04/2018 by Powwow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's fantastic headphone very happy with it and I raccoons to any one?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Better by far than Bose

MDR-1000X 16/04/2018 by Doc375 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love these headphones much better sound quality than Bose QC35 and better ANR function. So glad I shopped around and tried several different brands before finding these.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing features

MDR-1000X 12/04/2018 by Gingercoopz92 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was bought these for a birthday present and they are amazing best headphones I've had since getting my bose and the sound quality is amazing

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Second to none

MDR-1000X 10/04/2018 by Howlett (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent phones. The sound and noise cancelling is superb in addition to the gestures facilities. Really nice colour as well, these are for my wife

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I love ❤️ it!

MDR-1000X 09/04/2018 by Andreiacso (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have it for 2 weeks and works wander! The case in nice. I like it colour

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best ANC headphones I've had

MDR-1000X 09/04/2018 by oongja (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these headphones via amazon when they were on offer (£179). It was great timing as I had a holiday booked that involved 24 hours of flight involved. Tested them on the flight and I could not hear my wife talk to me, I could not hear a baby cry, I could not hear anything but the movie I was watching! Great buy for me. Still pricey but hopefully it'll be worth the investment. The only thing is that it's quite bulky and so hanging/resting it on your neck is a little uncomfortable. They are not headphones you can carry for a long time while travelling/walking. Great headphones for commuting but they'll have to be put back, if not being used, into the Sony case (provided) when trekking a city.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great headphones

MDR1000X/B 08/04/2018 by TAZ Manian Devil (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the headphones in 2017 and still love them. I am a pilot with noise canceling headset and I wanted headphones that could rival the $900 headset I use in the plane. Thse are great for several hours of use and the ability to pause the noice cancellation was a great added bonus. The only downside is the Sony software that should allow you to change the sound on your mobile devices.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Impressive noise cancelling cans

MDR-1000X 08/04/2018 by Vtr1000 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is hard to say something is perfect but hear goes. Extremely comfortable to wear. Aesthetically pleasing. Not too heavy. Battery time is good. Sound quality is excellent. On par with b&w headphones. Love them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

They don't last

MDR-1000X 29/03/2018 by sch2550 (USA)

3 months into owning these the headband cracked on the right side and then within a month, the same thing happened on the left side. Sony informed me that they were covered under warranty and they sent me a replacement. The replacement was not even the same model. I was informed that none of the there warehouses in the USA had the headphones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/03/2018

Hi sch2550,


We are very sorry for the inconvenience this has caused, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services, we're always looking to make Sony better.

We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.


Regards,
Zac

0

Nice quality

MDR-1000X 26/03/2018 by salt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good headphones with good, but not total, noise cancelling. Well presented in strong attractive carrying case.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

One of the best headphones you can buy.

MDR-1000X 25/03/2018 by Valio_Ss (USA)

Very clean sound with just enough bass. Noise-cancelling works great with low-frequency background noises (as it's designed for). Comfortable to wear. Nicely built.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice sound, weak plastic brackets

MDR-1000X 24/03/2018 by Patrick6382 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The headphones were great until I noticed they were not as tight as they were initillay. I found a large crack in the pivot where the headphones fold up. This was after around 8 months of daily use. Don’t need to work on the build quality and materials used to make these. Otherwise I like them.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

One of the best on the market.

MDR-1000X 18/03/2018 by Tyus (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great quality, look great. Touch controls are a great feature.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound performance.

MDR-1000X 15/03/2018 by Halloween Jack (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Its early days yet as I've only had these headphones for a couple of weeks but I have to say I'm very impressed with the sound and comfort they deliver. Its my first pair of noise cancelling phones so I can't compare them with others but Ive also been impressed with their performance here. I'm loving being at the centre of my own musical universe.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Absolutely love the headphones!

MDR-1000X 14/03/2018 by jxv025 (USA)

I love these headphones so much! The sound quality is just AMAZING!!! They are absolutely worth it. However, I am so upset that the plastic part of the headphones recently started cracking. I'm very disappointed in the build quality. I have always been a Sony person. I had the MDR x10 before this one and used it for a very long time.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Worked great and then they didn't

MDR-1000X 09/03/2018 by cf2410 (USA)

I was extremely happy with these headphones until they no longer cancelled noise after only a month of owning them. I went page by page through the trouble shooting manual. I called and the customer service person walked me through the exact same trouble shooting manual. Still not noise cancelling. I was then directed to call another number so I could have them serviced, but I never could get a live person on the phone. I shouldn't have to call another number. I should be transferred to a live person to resolve my issue not end up in another telephone hamster wheel wondering when I'll actually talk to another human. The warranty is worthless if you can't get anyone to resolve your issue. I gave up trying, and I now live with being able to hear my coworkers talk in the next room while I listen to my music or hear babies crying on planes. Thanks Sony. So bottom line is these are outstanding until they stop doing what they were designed to do. Hopefully yours last longer than mine.

Sound Quality

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/03/2018

Hi cf2410, we're very sorry for your bad experience here. Please allow us to help you and make this a better experience. You can contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address, phone number and a reference number if any so we can check your file.
Thank you, _Bob

0

MDR 1000x not charging after 4-5 months.

MDR-1000X 03/03/2018 by sobero (USA)

The overall performance of the headphones and material are great. However, today they are not able to charge. I have tried the solutions provided by this website and nothing happened. I don't know if an old battery was used or why it does not charge. It could have been a bad one out of the batch. Disappointed for now. P.S. I take care of my headphones well without a scratch or damage once. Especially considering how much I paid for it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/03/2018

Hi sobero, we're sorry to hear that you are having an issue with your unit. Please refer to the troubleshooting steps on the link below to isolate and fix the issue:
http://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/1000x/v1/en/contents/TP0001176155.html
http://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/1000x/v1/en/contents/TP0001176125.html
Regards, _Bob

0

Ideal for both professional and recreational use

MDR-1000X 28/02/2018  (USA)

I've been wanting a pair of professional headphones for a long time since I am a video editor, and I work a lot in radio, so I do a lot of work with sound. These headphones give you the most accurate and detailed sound necessary. The battery life is incredible, too; I got these a month ago and I only had to charge them once and I use them every day. They're comfortable, and the case definitely comes in handy. Of course, when using these recreationally, they're just as amazing, and the noise canceling capabilities are really quite impressive.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

overall good quality

MDR-1000X 27/02/2018 by ASHYblc (USA)

Great sound effect, noise canceling, finger control features. All perfect but one huge flaw, fragile head band, crack in 3-30days

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/02/2018

Hi ASHYblc,


Greetings and thank you for your message. Unfortunately, we are unable to assist customers outside of the US. We kindly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.


Regards,
Zac

0

The best headphones

MDR-1000X 24/02/2018 by Sashkia (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these recently and the sound is excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Really good sound quality and lots of features

MDR-1000X 19/02/2018 by vano242 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a week ago. Sound quality amazing. Firs ever headphones where is more then enough volume. Noise canceling is perfect.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

perfect

MDR-1000X 18/02/2018 by ionica25 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

very happy with headphones, they are perfect! thank you

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound / Faulty Construction

MDR1000X/B 16/02/2018 by Jaimar (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these headphones last April (10 months ago) for several hundred dollars looking for quality from Sony. I wanted a pair of headphones that were noise cancelling to combat the sounds of the inner city NYC trains. The noise cancelling is actually nearly perfect; however the construction of the headphones are made with plastic and cracked on both sides. Because of the crack, the headphones do not fit properly and the noise cancelling is affected. To make matters worse, many comments on blogs suggest that this issue is quite common and not repairable, and my headphones will need to be replaced. I will place a support call and follow the procedures and do what's suggested. We shall see.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/02/2018

Hi Jaimar,

We are sorry for any inconvenience you had experienced. To further assist you with this, kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including your product and contact details and let us see how we can be of assistance.

Regards,
Zac

0

Excellent Product

MDR-1000X 14/02/2018 by Crock182 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use these headphones when playing my guitar! The sound quality is impeccable, noise cancelling function is epic, and the ambient noise ‘voice’ means someone can grab my attention without having to take the headphones off

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic noise cancellation

MDR-1000X 14/02/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this headset two weeks ago as my office was pretty loud and I wanted to get a noise cancellation headset. I tried this at a shop, and it immediately blew my mind. It is extremely comfortable, the pads are very soft and well fitting. The noise cancellation is top-notch: I have four pretty loud vents next to my head, but I can't hear anything at all! It is sitting well on my hears, don't actually touch them, which is a HUGE point for me. It is very comfortable for an extended period of a time - I wear it for at least 8 hours a day without getting uncomfortable or hurting my ears. I didn't tried the ambient mode nor used it on the street so I can't say anything about it, but the noise cancellation is fantastic!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Noise Cancelling

MDR-1000X 13/02/2018 by Triple B (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these a month ago, mainly for use on plane journeys, and they are great to get rid on the constant noise of the plane! Also, I've used them for commuting and they give a great sound without the constant background noise.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wonderful purchase

MDR-1000X 10/02/2018 by Cy4326 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Noise cancelling works so well especially at train stations. Great for work commuters

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great headphones

MDR-1000X 08/02/2018 by None that I know of (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Does exactly what it says, excellent noise cancelling feature. Very comfortable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good Cans

MDR-1000X 07/02/2018 by Smithys (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far so good, first of all non of the 'cracking' issues you see reported, so hopefully that's been fixed! Sound cancelling is as good my wife's Bose QC 35's and the sound quality is somewhat better!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fluid experience

MDR-1000X 06/02/2018 by PAMillet (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got what I wanted. Bluetooth connects instantly. Battery life is will last all day. The hardbound case is very reliable. Noise cancelation is good. Though it gets uncomfortable on the ears in about 2 hours of constant use. Sound quality will never disappoint.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

They do not go loud enough

MDR-1000X 06/02/2018 by meggs17 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought these to save complaints from the neighbours. I’m hard of hearing, and where there are no subtitles on programmes, I would otherwise need to turn up the Tv volume too much. Unfortunately I have not found a way to sufficiently increase the volume through the headphones. A wired connection is fine, but that defeats the object of wireless. I am disappointed.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0