Skip to Content
209

4.4 based on 209 customer reviews

144
38
10
6
11
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Probably the best ANC headphones available

MDR-1000X 04/06/2017 by martininberks (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these prior to a flight from London to New York. Glad I did. Comfortable, great noise cancelling but with the flexibility to pause the cancelling or to allow speech or ambient noise to penetrate. Good sound quality also. My one criticism would be there is no provision for the cables inside the case - unlike the Bose QC35. Otherwise, very happy with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great features but plastic prone to cracking

MDR-1000X 21/06/2017 by HEXfire (United Kingdom)

I bought this a little over a month ago. The noise cancelling and sound quality are excellent. The features worked as described, with the ambient sound modes being useful and novel. The only minor annoyances were not being able to listen while charging, and simultaneously connecting to multiple audio devices. That said, you can pair a device for audio and one for voice at the same time. A month on, the plastic developed a crack along the foldable joint, resulting in the plastic to protrude and the fit not being as tight. The noise cancellation was noticeably affected as a result. Beware! said cracking is classified as physical / cosmetic damage and not covered under the warranty.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

30

0

213 Customer Reviews

0

Amazing Headphones

MDR-1000X 14/12/2017 by Whytegir7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had these headphones couple of weeks and so far they have lived up to what I expect from a Sony product. Only time will tell but for now I'm so blown away with these headphones as they were a replacement for a pair that I had lost.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

good features & sound quality but...

MDR-1000X 14/12/2017 by Keesh246 (USA)

I purchased these headphones around the end of September. I will say, the sound quality is good, and they have very nice features. The noise cancelling was good, but I really can't compare this to anything since these are my first pair of noise cancelling headphones. Overall I am pleased with the performance and the design of the headphones. However, I am very disappointed with the build quality, especially for the price. I read the reviews but chose to ignore the warnings about the build quality and boy am I sorry I did that. 2 1/2 months in and the headband has cracked on the left side. I am soooo disappointed in Sony. They should really offer better quality for the prices they charge for their products.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good sound but bad meterials

MDR-1000X 13/12/2017 by Sistr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought that headset 1 year ago. After 5 month the plastic on the side started to break a little bit. It's just aesthetic if you don't have long hairs. If you have long hair they'll get stuck in the crask and when you remove the headset it'll be very painful ^^ Specially if you do that multiple time a day. I now have an ugly tape on the crack but at least it fixes the stuck hair issue.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very nice but..

MDR-1000X 13/12/2017 by Yalwarthan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As first impression, the device have everything I'm looking for. However, yesterday I found out that on medium sound level, other people could hear what I'm playing! Sometimes I like to enjoy the music a bit loud so it is bit frustrating.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointed

MDR-1000X 12/12/2017 by Ducug (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this two weeks ago and to be honest I was looking forward to it after I read its reviews online but what I have here don’t know if it’s a defective one as the sound isn’t great and when I take calls people can’t here me from the other side. It’s broken my heart as I was really looking forward to using this

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent headphones

MDR-1000X 12/12/2017 by Active (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound with really good noise cancellation. Quality of build is very good. All round these are the best noise cancelling headphones I have owned.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunningly Good Sound and Noise Cancellation

MDR-1000X 11/12/2017 by Alex982374 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am extremely happy with these headphones. I purchased a pair myself after giving a gift. Commuting to work on the train and noisy air conditioning fans in the office both are eliminated with the noise cancellation which I am stunned actually works. Also, there is a button to allow people talking (such as train announcements) to be unblocked and other noise to be blocked. The battery life is great and I also can wear whilst at the gym/jogging. Great headphones. Easily synced to my iPhone

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Really Good

MDR-1000X 09/12/2017 by Aljuda (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these headphones to use with iPad,iPhone and PC and it works fine with them all , actually paired with 6 devices and the sound plus the simple operating features make them a must . I found them comfortable to wear but pleased I don't have large ears as the cups are a bit on the small size. I do however have a couple of concerns 1. The only method of charging is via a PC or laptop which is fine as i have both but what if your away from home? 2. the charging USB cable is way to short so i employed an extension and Sony could have included a mains charger.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant sounding.

MDR-1000X 08/12/2017 by Ashley 007 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These headphones sound great and connects to all my Bluetooth devices including LG tv, Lenovo lap top, I pad air 2, Samsung phone (5 year old) and a Sony ax1 I bought for them as some reviewers don’t think they connect well via Bluetooth with other brands but no problems for me..I needed a new phone anyway. Easy to control when you get used to them, i have them on for about 5 hours at a time and are comfortable. The noise cancelling is great, I was doing some washing and couldn’t hear the machine spinning away which was weird. Although they have a plastic feeling to the shell you forget that when wearing as the ear cushioning is soft as is the band that sits on the head is soft too. Tough choice between the bose and these but saw them at a big discount online and didn’t hesitate for once and got them. Happy days !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice phones

MDR-1000X 08/12/2017 by Keithwr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had these for a week or so now and am pretty happy with my purchase. Not totally convinced with the sound balance that they provide but it's pretty good. The touch features and buttons work well and the noise cancelling appears to be excellent though yet to try it in a really noisy environment.

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Bluetooth Headphone

MDR-1000X 07/12/2017 by Olufjam (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Sony MDR 1000x about 2 weeks ago and so far i only had a short listening session, but, first impression is good,also i have one negative about charging the headphone, which Sony says you should only use usb via computer.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great piece of kit

MDR-1000X 06/12/2017 by BassHorizon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had these headphones for about 3 weeks now and can't really fault them. Easy to set up and excellent sound quality via Bluetooth or the wired connection. Hi Res files sound crisp and clear via the Sony Hi Res walkman players that I use. Comfortable to wear for long periods

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound and comfortable

MDR-1000X 05/12/2017 by Videotel (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a pair of over-ear headphones to use for video and sound editing, and no cable draping over the keyboard. These tick every box.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best headphones .

MDR-1000X 05/12/2017 by wilkies80 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these 2 weeks ago and they are fantastic. The noise cancellation works perfectly and the sound clarity is ridiculous.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

MDR-1000X 05/12/2017 by Jazzy10 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Super headphones, great song and great features, only been using them for a week or so but so far loving them. Great battery life.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Wireless Headphones

MDR-1000X 05/12/2017 by Blunderside (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I looked at many headphones around the same price and decided on the Sony 1000X after reading a Hi-Fi magazine review. They are superb headphones with some great features.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Headphones

MDR-1000X 04/12/2017 by kareem96m (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound and features. The only thing i could complain about it the look (too bulky, not slimline) and they heat up my ears and make them sweat.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Cracking cans

MDR-1000X 03/12/2017 by Billybadger (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product, a great replacement for my Bose headphones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great noise reduction around power equipment

MDR1000X/B 03/12/2017 by gasdoctor (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought in June of 2017. Used them all summer and fall around variety of power tools/equipment. They do a wonderful job of knocking down the ambient noise generated by riding mowers, chainsaws, among others. Best I have used to date. Great sound to boot. I have heard vocals and instruments in songs that I have never heard before even in music I have listened to for over 40 years.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Magic on long haul flight

MDR-1000X 02/12/2017 by Mintcake (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchase prompted by a long haul trip from UK to New Zealand. Really glad I spent the money. I have kept them on the whole trip for the noise cancelling (although discovered I had to keep them for lugged in or they would turn themselves off. Battery stood up to manufacturers promise for the use so dmfar (although as being used with the jack rather than Bluetooth that should extend life anyway.)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Cables not included in package

MDR-1000X 24/11/2017 by barisic (USA)

The specification says the package should contain airplane audio adapter, audio cable, and USB charger cable. None of that was included in the original package I bought through official Sony reseller.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features

MDR-1000X 23/11/2017 by Oril (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought the Sony 1000x a few weeks ago excellent service and product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Wowww - Great for Travellers

MDR1000X/B 23/11/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been waiting to buy this for quite sometime and finally bought it yesterday. I have tested this more than twice and liked the great features and the NC quality. Thanks Sony for making such a product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great, best headphones i have ever used

MDR-1000X 18/11/2017 by imzino (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I find most high end headphones perform similarly, just as smartphones these days. However, it caught me by suprise that that Sony would compete with Bose, Bowers & Wilkins and such by implementing an even better noise cancellation option where competitors have ambient sound modes which is also offered at different levels, a very nifty feature. On the other hand, during calls it is nearly impossible for the person on the other side of the call to hear me, which i believe could be due to the noice cancellation mics picking up excess noise, which could be fixed with a software upgrade...but the likeliness of Sony offering it now is the same as it was a few years ago when it released.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Sound Over Noise Yes

MDR-1000X 14/11/2017 by out2bme (USA)

I had invested in several cheap Bluetooth headphones over the years and wore them briefly before they were set aside to neve be used again. I had never considered buying an expensive set of Bluetooth technology headphones, until I happened upon the Sony booth. I tried a pair on and was blown away by the noise canceling property, the sound quality and overall features that the headphones provided. I had been against spending that kind of money on any headphones, neither Beats or Bose would have compelled me to buy a pair of expensive headphones. In all fairness, I tried the Bose headphones and was disappointed in the noise canceling property. The sales rep kept turning the volume up to drown out his voice. The Sony headphones did it effortlessly and at a very low volume. I was totally impressed and bought two pairs. Way to go Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

commuters best friend

MDR-1000X 12/11/2017 by Yizoyizo (United Kingdom)

I've had these now for 2 weeks and primarily use them on the commute to work. When i initially got them out of the packaging i did think - wow !!! - these look really good. Soft to the touch and really comfortable and light for the daily commute. The sound is ok especially when combined with my device equalizer. The NC is effective especially on the London Tube - you will be immersed into whatever your'e listening to. Over all the good set of cans for the money The down sides - when receive a call i have to shout and the cable does not have in line remote but is good quality. The hinges do feel a little delicate when i do unfold them but once they're on they do feel solid. For the duration of time i have had these i am happy so far - let's see how durable they are over time.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Simple to use, simply brilliant

MDR-1000X 07/11/2017 by Newty (United Kingdom)

Noise cancelling excellence that deliver superb sound and totally eliminate background nuisance noise .. Wish I'd got them ages ago...

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great for music; not so much for phone calls.

MDR-1000X 07/11/2017 by Hoppie (USA)

Love listening to music with these. However, phone calls are always muffled and others say they can’t hear you very well. The mics are placed above your ears, away from your mouth. Engineering failure.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great Noise Cancelling

MDR-1000X 07/11/2017 by kingsleyadio (United Kingdom)

Happy with the product so far. I realized the new version is now in the market just a day before I got the MDR-1000X, which was 110 EUR more expensive. sadly :( However, this is really good. Sound quality is great. No problem whatsoever. Would be great if Sony makes the Headphones app work with the MDR-1000X too though

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Poor design/quality but sounds great

MDR-1000X 06/11/2017 by wizzled (United Kingdom)

Excellent noise cancellation, quality of sound is one of the best. Comfortable. Unfortunately they will inevitably break/crack at the point the earpiece connects to the headband. This is because of poor design causing a stress fracture at this site from simply wearing the headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

4

0

it works realy good in any situation

MDR-1000X 02/11/2017 by beauf0001 (USA)

i use the sony mdr 1000x every day with happyness en joy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great until...

MDR-1000X 01/11/2017 by JustAnAverageGuy (USA)

These headphones where great until the left ear band started showing stress and the right ear band finally snapped. I'm sure these still get great sound, but they are not unusable. I have had these headphones since Dec 28th, 2016 and they should have lasted much longer than that for the price. The bands for the cups are too ridgid and not very flexible as I have learned apparently. I used to recommend these, but now I cannot! I would love to have a refund if possible or at least a replacement pair...

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/11/2017

Hello JustAnAverageGuy, We are very sorry for your bad experience here. Please allow us to help you and make this a better experience. You can contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address, phone number and a reference number if any so we can review your file.
Thank you, _Bob

0

Best Headphones Ever !!

MDR-1000X 31/10/2017 by Macmac (United Kingdom)

Needed to replace Senns' phones which snapped, wanted good overall sound with DEEP bass. Checked all the "Big Names" and the 1000X were easily the best. The sound has good highs, very clear and defined mids and SUPERB punchy and tight bass. They destroyed Beats, Bang & O and way better than Bose!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Unlike Any Other

MDR1000X/B 28/10/2017 by Joey B (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pure brilliance is all I can say about the MDR-1000XX with its build quality and exceptional noise cancelation making these the best headphones ever released.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I'm a happy & I tell all my friends!

MDR1000X/B 25/10/2017 by Chucki3 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got them as a gift and I would tell others to buy them other that the reason of the microphone.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/10/2017

Hi Chucki3, Your feedback is highly appreciated, it will be a big help in improving the quality of our products. Thank you for sharing your review. ~Ralph

0

Great features and sound

MDR-1000X 23/10/2017 by marco_gea (United Kingdom)

I bought this looking for some cans that would be comfortable to wear for long hours, and which could be used both at home when listening to my home stereo as well as "on the go", and especially on long-haul flights. They have not disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

excellent product

MDR-1000X 17/10/2017  (United Kingdom)

I just love it Easy to handle and use Light Elegant design

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Great sound; poor construction

MDR-1000X 17/10/2017 by Marconioni (United Kingdom)

I bought these headphones about six months ago. They had great sound and the noise cancelation was first rate. Got a bit uncomfortable to wear for me after about an hour (hot ears). However, I would question the quality of materials used in construction as one of the ear steams broke completely under (what I would consider) normal usage. Sony makes it clear that this kind of damage is not covered under the terms of their guarantee. Therefore, I cannot recommend this product to anyone.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

12

5

0

Plastic is cheap and cracks easily

MDR-1000X 16/10/2017 by amanda2017 (USA)

I used these for travel and daily wear and loved them until 2 months in the plastic developed a hairline crack along the foldable joints on the inside of the headband. The noise cancellation was noticeably affected as a result and this is not covered by warranty. Do not waste your money.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

4

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/10/2017

We are sorry for any inconvenience, amanda2017. We would like to see how we can turn this into a positive experience for you. Please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including your product model and the serial number so we can further assist you.

-Erin

0

Amassing

MDR-1000X 15/10/2017  (USA)

I bought this 1year ago and I'm so proud for this

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

5

0

Noise canceling buzz

MDR-1000X 13/10/2017 by Mfranca (USA)

I bought this headphones and after 4 months in normal use it started to make a annoying buzz sound on left ear when the noise canceling is on. Now I can’t use the main feature of the device.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/10/2017

Hi Mfranca, we regret to hear what happened. Try resetting the unit to fix the issue:
http://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/1000x/v1/en/contents/TP0001176174.html.

If the issue persists, please visit this link to further assist you:
https://esupport.sony.com/BR/p/support-contacts.pl


Best regards,
-Erin

0

great sounds

MDR-1000X 09/10/2017 by Bebbo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Used on a recent flight the noise cancelling worked brilliantly great sound and comfortable

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

6

0

MDR - 1000X Headphones review

MDR-1000X 07/10/2017 by copyrightismine (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The good points sound & build quality, the bad point is the very fiddly controls on the side of the headphones. This device would get 5 stars if there was an app. in the UK for controlling the volume, answering calls and having an equaliser on your phone, tablet etc..As it is they 4 stars for a good not perfect product.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

0

The Phones

MDR-1000X 07/10/2017 by Jock7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these headphones a couple of week ago after buying the Bose QC35's which gave me problems with the wireless by the music dropping out if I had the phone in the wrong pocket and even when I turned my head the music dropped out. The Sony's on the other hand gives me no problem and the signal is very strong. Music is brilliant to listen to and even for long periods with no adverse affects. I do not do reviews of products as they should do it themselves but the headphones are so good that I had to in this case.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

Poor volume

MDR-1000X 06/10/2017 by Tugger 48 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought these headphones to connect with my sonos system which it didn't but that's not sonys fault. But when I got them working I was disappointed with the sound volume,not loud enough for me!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Almost perfect

MDR-1000X 03/10/2017 by Downy8 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound, fantastic. Kiss cancelling but let down by design faults, cracking plastics limited BT connections and too big for a smallish head.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Just awesome...

MDR-1000X 03/10/2017 by Clint C (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Can't say anything new about these headphones that haven't already been said before. One thing I have noticed isn't mentioned is how safe these headphones can be. Having the ability to have ambient sound coming in can be a life saver as you're more aware of your surroundings.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Not bad

MDR-1000X 02/10/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it 10 days ago and it sounds good... although my ears sometimes ache after 30 mins i have the headphones on and the noise canceling is not that satisfactory

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

WOW!

MDR-1000X 24/09/2017 by Philbz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These headphones sound amazing. The noise cancelling is excellent. Shame they can’t connect to more than one devices at a time, then they would be near perfect. Yes, expensive but worth every penny once you’ve heard them. Makes your music sound new.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

Sony - 1000X Wireless Noise-Canceling Headphones

MDR1000X/C 22/09/2017 by Grantho (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just simple the best. i can't leave without. I love it my new baby. way better than Bear

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Great pair of headphones

MDR-1000X 20/09/2017 by benh1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got these headphones a couple of weeks ago, in part to reduce distractions in a busy office. They have effective noise cancelling and excellent sound quality, and are comfortable to wear. The touch controls take a little bit of getting used to but work effectively. The only minor negative is the size adjustment strips slip quite easily.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Incredible noise cancelling and outstanding design

MDR-1000X 19/09/2017 by sneakybear (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Noise cancelling is genuinely the best I've experienced. Functions are effective and simple to use, instant NFC link is so fast. Unit talks to you to confirm actions! Finally, use of the touch pad was a concern from previous reviews but I found it really simple and effective. Fully recommend these headphones, in my opinion these are better than the Bose, on sound quality and functions, and better than the Sennheiser, on noise cancelling and functions.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Hesitant due to price - GLAD I MADE THE PURCHASE

MDR-1000X 12/09/2017 by TeamNSM (USA)

I bought these are a gift to myself - only way I will get something nice :). I have been looking for new headphones for almost 4 months and was really hesitant to buy the Sony due to the price. Glad I made the leap because I have Sony audio (as far back as the Walkman) and camera products for years and was confident with the reputation of the company to produce great products. I upgraded from Harman Kardon NC headphones that were 3 years old. Definite improvement - I will not consider myself an audiophile but I like good sound and can immediately tell the difference. The bass is clean even at the deeper end. The mids and highs are crisp. The noise cancelling is amazing and the ability to cut the music by cupping the right ear is really handy - and a good trick. Had a lot of "cool feature" comments. The touch controls and buttons are easy to use after getting used to position. The fit is fine for me and the earpads are comfortable to wear for hours. I have used these headphones everyday at work since buying them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Love these headphones

MDR-1000X 04/09/2017 by Edeil (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this as a 75th birthday gift from my sons.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Impressive build quality and attention to detail.

MDR-1000X 30/08/2017 by MikeP40 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had a few problems, the hreadphones paired with my iPad and iPhone easily. But pairing to the Bluetooth dongle I use for TV sound require several atteempts. Finally I got it working. The sound quality and noise cancellation is v/good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Amazing sound and noise cancelling!!

MDR1000X/B 29/08/2017 by Drago24 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these a week ago and am extremely happy! I did not want to spend the money on them but they are definitely worth the high price tag. Sound cancelling is so nice when I'm trying to get stuff done and need peace and quiet. If I could change two things about them it would be making the earcup a little deeper and making them louder. Overall though I am happy with them! They are so much better than beats!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

CRACKS ON THE SIDE

MDR1000X/B 27/08/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

USE JUST 3 MONTH ,It has quality problems of the side it cracked by it self

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

13

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/08/2017

Hi, Rejected Bruce Lin, We are very sorry for your bad experience here. Please allow us to help you and make this a better experience. For further assistance, you may contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial number, address and phone number.
Best Regards, _Bob

0

Not as conformable as Bose QC35

MDR1000X/C 27/08/2017 by WinMyan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I went BestBuy to purchase Bose QC35. QC35 put too much pressure on my ear drums, so I went ahead and look at others. I’m sure that is definitely something to do with individual. Here is what I like and I don’t like about this Sony 1000x. *** Pro *** - Head support is covered with synthetic leather instead of micro filter cloth like QC35. So, I don’t have worry about soaking with hair cream over time. - Instantly stop the noise cancelling, and boost the ambient sound, if I cover the right ear cap. - Option to choose the ambient sound, when I’m on the phone. *** Cons *** - I’m not a fun of touch control. If I accidently touch it, it could change the tracks. - A little bit heavy and not as comfortable as Bose QC35 However, the pros out weight the cons, and I’m happy with the purchase of Sony 1000x.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Best earphones I ever used!

MDR-1000X 26/08/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this earphones a week ago, i use them every day. The sound quality is amazingly balanced, it's a pleasure to listen any music, the noise cancelling is perfect and when the song finishes the white noise is not pushing my ears like BOSE 35. Very Well Done SONY! I'm so happy with the product!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Great features for a competitive price

MDR-1000X 24/08/2017 by Aks1984 (USA)

Best decision ever, wish the price and they sound great.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great but has many issues

MDR-1000X 23/08/2017 by Mahe (USA)

I bought 2 days back great sound and features but disappointed with connectivity can't connect with iPad and iPhone at once, no multi device connectivity have to disconnect one and connect other which badly disappointed me this problem we don't have with qc35, also ear fatigue for 1hr of use with mid volume range, can't even complete watching full movie...

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/08/2017

Hi, Mahe, The headset can be paired with multiple devices, but can only play music from one paired device at a time. For other concerns and further assistance, please contact the Sony offices/Sony representative offices nearest to your place of residence in Asia Pacific region http://www.sony-asia.com/countryselector.html?hpid=countryselector:AsiaPacific. Due to proximity, they are in a better position to respond to your questions or concerns. Regards, Vin cent

0

You will not be disappointed

MDR-1000X 22/08/2017 by Audiophile1530 (USA)

Better sound and NC quality than Bose of a higher price. 100% recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

There is a lot of features

MDR-1000X 21/08/2017 by Wal12160902070 (USA)

Would like it more if it has a bass Booster and in white color

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Very nice headphones with great features

MDR1000X/C 19/08/2017 by Pugh (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I ordered these headphones after being very disappointed with the Bose QC35 headphones. I find the Sony headphones better in overall quality, design, bluetooth connectivity, audio quality, color and ergonomics. The Bose functionality and quality was simply not there. I had one of the original noise-cancelling headphones from Bose and thought the noise cancelling was pretty good. Recently, I bought two QC35s, one for my wife, but I sent them both back after having trouble with the bluetooth connectivity. I bought one pair of the Sony headphones for now but judging from performance so far I will likely buy a second pair for myself. They even feel higher quality. These headphones can be switched to ambient sound simply by cupping the right earpiece with your hand. When you take your hand away they will switch back to noise cancellation. Very handy on a plane. The right earpiece has "trackpad" controls, swipe two fingers up/down for volume or Right/Left for transport controls including start and pause. No switches to try and find on the Sony headset. When you connect the audio cable in an aircraft to a single 1/8" coax you do NOT need an adapter (unlike the Bose) and it switches off the bluetooth when it detects the cable. Not so in Bose. Instead, you will get an annoying voice in your ear from the Bose headphones saying "Ready to connect" or words to that effect. Sony says that the battery will last 20 hours (as does Bose) after a charge. We have not tested that yet. Bose had the same 20 hour battery life. The switches on the Sony headphones are different to the Bose. Bose has chunky plastic switches that do not have a quality feel. Sony uses small metal switches (3) on the headphone to control on/off, noise cancellation and ambient sound. Sony has a complete set of instructions for operating the headphones. Bose has an incomplete set of instructions. You have to go to their web site for more. Sony has a case that allows the headphones to fold into a compact shape. The case has a fixed soft divider to protect each headset. Also, the case has a colored band on either side of the zipper so that you can tell headsets apart (his/hers). I chose black, my wife chose beige. Bose does not distinguish between headsets, does not have a fixed soft divider in their case and does not have the headphone layout clearly marked on the bottom of the case like the Sony headphones. Bose has a small tab with a hard to read diagram inside the case. I thought Bose had cornered the market on noise cancellation headphones. Not So. Sony is the new product to beat in my opinion.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great sound with an annoying feature

MDR1000X/B 18/08/2017 by blankslate (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I work as a professional sound mixer, so protecting my hearing, and sound integrity and quality are very important to me. While this product produces amazing sound and the noise cancelling is fantastic sound, I feel like this product has a lot of bells and whistles that are totally frivolous. The ambient sound feature is a little wack and impractical. Also, transport controls (i.e. play/pause, next track, volume) are non-physical touch sensitive areas over the right ear, meaning you could skip a song (or audio book chapter) or turn the volume all the way up when adjusting the fit. So that kind of sucks.... But aside from some very annoying little design nuisances these are great headphones. Battery life is exceptional, sound and noise cancelling are fantastic.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Outstanding

MDR-1000X 14/08/2017 by W3RPG (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic quality, I can't find fault with these headphones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Awesome sound with caveats

MDR1000X/B 11/08/2017 by Farmer550 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound produced by the speakers are on par with Bose. I actually like the noise cancelling better on these. What is dislike is the creaking and physical noise from the body of the headphones. It is quite distracting, almost to the point you think something is broken loose in side. I also dislike that I can only charge with the cable provided with a pc. No wall bud will charge these.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/08/2017

Hi, Farmer550, Thanks for bringing this to our attention. We will forward your information to the proper department. Thank you for your feedback.
Regards, _Bob

0

Best ever!

MDR-1000X 11/08/2017 by Sonyboy17 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a few weeks ago and it's excellent, sounds amazing but to listen to HI-RES audio the cable need to be use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1