Skip to Content
18

3.9 based on 18 customer reviews

10
3
0
4
1
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Nursing School MUST!

MDR10RNC 07/12/2013 by StudyAholic (USA)

I am a full time nursing student, and recently there has been a couple who have moved in down stairs from me and I believe they think they live in a club. They are constantly blaring heavy booming music and it makes it impossible to write papers and study. So I bit the expensive bullet and purchased these headphones. THEY ARE AMAZING! I don't hear any bass coming from downstairs (occasionally I can still feel the floor vibrating) but I can finally study now in peace without distractions. Thank you SO much Sony! Great product!

37

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Reasonable sound quality, terrible durability

MDR-10RNC 31/10/2017 by hutja (USA)

Nothing wrong with the noise cancelling function or the sound quality. Not top line but good value for money.... that said, my second pair have just broken and I will not be replacing them. I have generally used these predominantly for long haul travel with minimal use in between. The first pair lasted about 2 months and were used for two long haul trips only ie almost no use. At that point the sound stopped working in the left ear piece (the one that the cord goes into) altogether. We returned them as faulty and got a brand new replacement pair. The second pair I have had for around 18 months or so (maybe a little less)... but as I said earlier they have only been used for travel - maybe 6-8 long haul trips in that time - and have been carefully kept in their protective case at all other times. Again, the sound has stopped working in the left ear piece (although the noise cancelling still works for whatever reason) which makes them frustrating to use. Unfortunately, I doubt I will be able to get these replaced despite their minimal use given that I have owned them for some time. I would strongly recommend NOT purchasing this model for this reason. Nothing wrong with their function for the price but the durability just sucks.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

19 Customer Reviews

0

Great for flying

MDR-10RNC 10/12/2017 by 12Matt12 (USA)

Travel by plane several times a year and after using these to watch movies I don't know how I used to travel without them

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Reasonable sound quality, terrible durability

MDR-10RNC 31/10/2017 by hutja (USA)

Nothing wrong with the noise cancelling function or the sound quality. Not top line but good value for money.... that said, my second pair have just broken and I will not be replacing them. I have generally used these predominantly for long haul travel with minimal use in between. The first pair lasted about 2 months and were used for two long haul trips only ie almost no use. At that point the sound stopped working in the left ear piece (the one that the cord goes into) altogether. We returned them as faulty and got a brand new replacement pair. The second pair I have had for around 18 months or so (maybe a little less)... but as I said earlier they have only been used for travel - maybe 6-8 long haul trips in that time - and have been carefully kept in their protective case at all other times. Again, the sound has stopped working in the left ear piece (although the noise cancelling still works for whatever reason) which makes them frustrating to use. Unfortunately, I doubt I will be able to get these replaced despite their minimal use given that I have owned them for some time. I would strongly recommend NOT purchasing this model for this reason. Nothing wrong with their function for the price but the durability just sucks.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31/10/2017

Hi hutja, we are sorry to hear that the unit did not live up to your expectations. For further assistance, we kindly recommend visiting our Sony Global Website for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.
Regards, _Bob

0

My best headphones so far

MDR-10RNC 20/10/2017 by ARGA0120 (USA)

Very good headphones, good quality sound, effective noise cancelling in low frequencies, the materials look of good quality and are comfortable. I really like them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bad Noice Canceling

MDR-10RNC 30/05/2017 by Zertuche99 (USA)

i love the sound quality of sony's headphones but the noice canceling of these headphones is bad, the headphones cancel the low frequencies very good, but i can still heard the high frequencies like human voices or the wind, sony has a very good sound quality but a bad noice canceling technology

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/05/2017

Hi Zertuche99, we appreciate you for taking the time in writing us an honest feedback. We'll inform the team about your input for further improvements and research. We still hope that you continue supporting Sony in the future, especially our audio line. Regards.

0

Great tone and clarity.

MDR10RNCIP/B 28/02/2017 by braden2960 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Volume control on my iPod gives a good volume range. Lower volume still has great sound detail.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best Headphones I've Ever Owned

MDR10RNC 22/07/2015 by MrHeadphone (USA)

Excellent sound and noise cancelling. One thing that I was looking for was a detachable stereo cable so that I could use it just for noise cancelling. Also, I wanted ones that I could use regular batteries. Finish quality is top notch on headphones and carry case.

4

1

0

Bluetooth reception no longer as good

MDR10RNC 28/02/2015 by Kobo (USA)

I was happy with the headset for the first two months and maybe because I only used it then for conference calls and the likes. But this month, I signed up for pandora and then realized that the headset would only work in certain directions. Even with my cell phone in my hand(I play pandora from one there) I find that from time to time(and this often) I have to shift my head around to get the best reception from a phone right in my hands. My phone speakers do a better job these days. I wonder why, and it's only been 3 months.

4

19

Response From SonySupport
01/03/2015

Hi Kobo,
We do appreciate providing us these feed backs for the betterment of our product. We will pass this to the proper department. Thank you for your time.

0

Great Investment!

MDR10RNC 15/09/2014 by DJSubs (USA)

Pros: great sound quality, very comfortable, noise canceling works really well with lower fz noises. Cons: slight hiss when NC is on, voices and other fz altering noises still get through. This is an over all great headphone. Sound Quality: The sound quality is really great although if you like to "feel" the bass, these aren't for you. However you can still hear the bass really well, they definitely don't lack in any frequency. Comfort: The angle at which the speaker is placed inside is designed and does fit better than most headphones. Unlike most headphones no part of it presses against your actual ear, which makes it extremely comfortable. Noise Canceling: This works pretty well in most environments and reduces the dB of any noise dramatically. However you won't get complete silence, you can't with any headphones. This also depends on how loud you play you music. The NC gets rid of mid-lower and lower fz really well but the upper-miss and highs still get through but at a lower volume than without NC. Sound Leak: There is minimal sound leakage, again depending on how loud you like you music. it is much less than most headphones.

11

1

Response From Sony Support
19/09/2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. I will forward your feedback to our engineers.

0

Very pleased

MDR10RNC 14/09/2014 by StephanieNola (USA)

I've been very pleased with these headphones over the past year. They're durable and work well to cancel out noise. I used them on a recent plane ride and they worked perfectly - no noise, even from the crying baby a few rows back.

7

1

0

They worked well until...

MDR10RNC 13/06/2014  (USA)

These headphones were great. They were very comfortable and had good quality sound. I used them everyday until the headphone cable stopped working. I thought it would be an easy enough part to replace but I haven't been able to find a single cable that can fit into the headphone jack. Very disappointed because they were great headphones and I don't think I'll be buying another of sonys products if the parts are going to break and not be able to be replaced.

33

8

Response From Sony Support
20/06/2014

Please visit http://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model-accessories.pl to find out if we have your cable available. Hope this helps!

0

Perfect Noise Canceling Headphones

MDR10RNC 08/05/2014 by SotanHawk (USA)

I really enjoy these headphones and they are reasonably priced. The only downside is the headphone wire was not tested in cold weather and freezes stiff and cuts out when exposed to temperatures below 32 degrees.

18

4

0

Great Headphones

MDR10RNC 03/05/2014 by Nerrad (USA)

These headphones are Great. I use them to relax and listen to music. I also use them when I'm doing yard work to cancel out the lawn mower and edger.

10

0

0

Best However

MDR10RNC 17/04/2014 by jjsleeper (USA)

I bought MDR10RDC this headphone a month ago. This quality is the best compare with any other brand. however the problem is the cable does not work anymore. I purchased few cables but does not work. the cable which connects the headphone is specially designed for MDR10RDC headphone only. I now cannot use this headphone anymore.

26

8

0

Awesome !

MDR10RNC 15/03/2014 by Batman101 (USA)

Had them for couple of months and they are Great! Got them on sale.

6

1

0

Top-Shelf Audio Experience

MDR10RNC 24/01/2014 by RubioRemixed (USA)

Every aspect of the MDR-10RNC experience lived up to the hype from packaging to the visual aesthetic of the headphones. Audio quality wasn't quite on par with the BOSE QC-15, but the difference was small at best. Memory foam cushioning means I can comfortably wear these over an eight hour day. These headphones overhauled my perception of Sony headphones. Bravo.

29

1

0

Nice cans!

MDR10RNC 06/01/2014 by SeaJoe (USA)

I recently purchased these before a plane trip. NC performance was very good. These are designed to cancel out lower frequency constant noises. I sat in a window seat and was able to hear the flight attendant ask what I wanted to drink! It's refreshing to listen to music at a normal volume level, without the need of boosting output to compensate for a noisy listening environment. After a little break in, these headphones sound nearly as good as my Sony MDR-7506. I was really hoping to use these on the metro bus. Here is where NC performance fails. When the bus is moving, it sounds like wind blowing. When the bus hits a bump, the headphones beep, the noise cancelling turns off briefly, then comes back on. If this was my sole purpose for buying these, I would have rated these 1 star. At the office, these easily cancel out the HVAC and other PC noises. These headphones will operate in passive mode - either turned off or dead battery. This is an advantage over other NC headphones. Fidelity in the upper end is reduced, but still listenable. Battery life is better than expected. The supplied battery lasted about 30 hours, which I believe these are rated to get about 20 hours of use on a single battery.

37

1

0

Nursing School MUST!

MDR10RNC 07/12/2013 by StudyAholic (USA)

I am a full time nursing student, and recently there has been a couple who have moved in down stairs from me and I believe they think they live in a club. They are constantly blaring heavy booming music and it makes it impossible to write papers and study. So I bit the expensive bullet and purchased these headphones. THEY ARE AMAZING! I don't hear any bass coming from downstairs (occasionally I can still feel the floor vibrating) but I can finally study now in peace without distractions. Thank you SO much Sony! Great product!

37

0

0

Truly Exceptional

MDR10RNC 06/12/2013 by CaptainKirk1a (USA)

After purchasing these at bestbuy and using their return policy. I tried out the bose QC 15, Monster Inspiration NC, and the Marshall Studios(not noise canceling but better than Monster-weird?). The noise canceling on these is better overall vs the bose. Bose cancels slightly more lower frequencies, but Sony Cancels out voices much much better. Overall These are better for noise cancelling. Comfort wise they were better that all of other headphones. I can wear them for 8 hours straight and no problem. Sound was surprisingly balanced with a slight emphasis on the lower treble. This is how I would rank them(avoid the monster inspirations at all costs! if you listen to jazz and classical, these Sony's truly shine. They are surprisingly accurate. No altered bass or highs, just warm buttery sound. if you like bass heavy cans, changed your eq, they dont distort! Overall these are the best sub 500 phones I have had. There are better sounding cans for slightly less, but they dont have noise cancelling, style, comfort, and are usually opened cans. These do leak sound at moderately loud levels, not much but enough so that people can tell you are listening to music Noise Cancelling Sony>Bose>Marshall>Monster Comfort Sony>Bose>Marshall>Monster Sound Sony>Marshall>Bose>Monster Price Marshall>Monster>Sony>Bose Style sony>Marshal>Monster>Bose Sound leakage Marshall>Sony>Monster>Bose Too bad the sony mdr10rnc didnt come with a volume control for my Iphone.

72

3

0

Surprised !

MDR10RNC 05/12/2013 by laotchie (USA)

Just bought it yesterday. I used it at work and it feels like I am not there anymore. So far, it feels like I am underwater when wearing it. I do not hear the AC and the background noise. Really good product and so confortable! Also the carrying case is good.

31

1