Skip to Content
1A HEADPHONES

Product Reviews

$299.99

29

4.4 based on 29 customer reviews

20
4
2
3
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

29 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

excellent all a round

1A headphones 02/12/2017 by egis (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought headphones almost couple of month ago. Have to say I was pleasantly surprise when they arrive. Most important that they extremely comfortable and very light, so you can have them on for long time without any pressure on your ears or head,or and they sound terrific!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Lovely headphones,great sound!

1A headphones 10/11/2017 by Silviv (United Kingdom)

I've tried this headphones in the store and I was amazed by the quality of the sound. I was so impressed that I couldn't stop talking about them.One morning, few weeks later my husband gave them to me as a birthday gift.You can imagine how happy was I.... So don't hesitate, just buy them!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good sound but lacking in comfortability

MDR-1A 03/11/2017 by TheCobaltKnight (USA)

I bought these earphones and I was well pleased. I wore them as soon as I bought them with great sound and very comfortable to begin with. However as the day went on about 2 hours in and my ears were unbearably hot. ( I am guessing due to the leather) I decided to return them due to this but I wouldn't mind getting them again if I was able to purchase different earcups for different situations. Such as a cloth, breathable cover to help with how insulated they are, or Maybe a different kind of foam or gel like padding. But that is just me. I am picky especially when I am paying so much for the pair. Compared to Bose (which while lacking in sound quality) , the most comfortable pair of headphones I have wore, they are a 4 out of 5 however best sound I have heard hands down.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/11/2017

Hi TheCobaltKnight, We are sorry to hear about what happened. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. You can also check the information from this link for more details. https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/34285
Regards, -Jay

0

Great while they lasted

MDR-1A 05/09/2017 by Vanora (USA)

I bought these a few months ago and loved them from the start. That is, until the left side crapped out. If I wiggle the chord around a bit, sometimes I'm lucky enough to get it to work, but otherwise it's completely devoid of sound. Not worth the buy for such a short use period.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/09/2017

Hi Vanora, We regret to hear this issue on your headphone. If no sound issue, this problem is related to the jack connection and condition. Kindly check the guidelines from this link for more details: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/39029.
Regards,-Jay

0

Great headphones

MDR-1A 27/05/2017  (USA)

Got them a few days ago, they're awesome. Very simple but great sound, looks amazing and they are SO comfortable

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Wonderful sound and comfort

1A headphones 07/01/2017 by Maddog43 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the silver/brown version of these as a Christmas gift for my wife. She is delighted with how comfortable they are and the stunning sound quality. I have a number of audiophile phones myself and tried them with my pioneer DAP and was blown away too by the rich/warm sound quality which is amazing for the price sounding good on a range of genres from classical to alt rock to electronica.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

7

0

Very Comfortable.

1A headphones 04/09/2016 by Alex9 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had these for a couple of weeks now and find them to be very comfortable. Whilst I don't have the keenest of ears I have found the sound to be more than adequate for my needs.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

6

0

Great Headphones

1A headphones 24/03/2016 by billf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These overear headphones give superb sound and are a great fit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

6

0

Good sound

1A headphones 20/02/2016 by Geoff76 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I found the overall sound quality very good with not too much heavy bass and excellent high tones. Guitar sound was unbelievable

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

14

3

0

Superb premium Headphones better than x2 the Pric

1A headphones 09/02/2016 by edanny707 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had various other premium brand Headphones, mostly in-hear ones. When I decided to get an over-hear one, I did extensive research and also went to store to try various makes, including those that cost over twice the price. This Sony headphones topped the lot for sound quality and range. I got the Silver/Brown one which looks amazing (not the Black/Red). I am heavily disappointed though, that there is no Volume control on the 2nd cable provided and also the leather gets hot (warm) around the ears after several hours of use. So, only 4 stars.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

12

6

0

Unique sound for particular music listeners

1A headphones 22/10/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Three keywords that best summarizes the MDR-1A: comfort, bass and sound-stage. This headphone is for those seeking better music immersion that a circumferential headphones gives you, but don't wish to trade away the warm visceral bass that we have grown accustomed to with most in-ear monitors. If you are somebody who uses headphones for loud entertainment, then you'll appreciate the tasteful sound signature the MDR-1A gives you. Overall, the MDR-1A is a consumer-tuned* version of a balanced monitor sound - the bass has been emphasized as far as it will go (and possibly a little bit over) for the mids and highs to stay present and detailed. You won't get this (*quantity of) bass and quality of sound-stage combined, in another headphone of this price range. So for that, the MDR-1A is in a unique place compared to it's competitors.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

4

0

My Headphones

1A headphones 11/09/2015 by maximodus (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After nine months of use I am still enjoying them. Unbelievable sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

3

0

In my opinion these headphones have a major flaw.

1A headphones 11/09/2015 by S Maynard (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like the design of this product, and they are very comfy to wear. Though they definitely have a consumer feel, rather than a professional feel. By this I mean that I think if you were using them on a daily basis for your job they would wear out. The cups don't seem very durable. But my biggest complaint with this product is the overbearring and out of control sub-bass. On some songs it sounds okay, and on a small subset of songs the rumbling bass is actually a plus. But too many time the sub-bass is so loose and just spills all over the track. Many songs were unlistenable. Yes you can control it a bit with some EQ adjustment, but you don't always have that option. The killer for me was when I was listening to a mere podcast and the bass artificially coming from the speakers voice was so booming and distracting. At this point I decided to return the headphones. I compared these headphones to the Bose Soundtrue and Audio Technica MX50, and ended up buying and keeping the latter. They may not be quite as comfortable as the latter, but the sound is so much better.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

14

48

0

Mobile excellence

1A headphones 01/09/2015 by RevC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have a set up at home and at work and I needed to upgrade my headphones for use when out and about. This meant finding closed back phones that folded reasonably flat and had a good sound quality without costing a fortune. Having perused the market I managed to narrow it down to a couple of choices and after having (relatively brief admittedly) listening sessions I chose the Sonys. I am very pleased with my purchase. I wanted to ensure I had a full frequency range from full bass to sparkling treble, something that not every competitor could offer (even those at twice the price), and to date I have been delighted with the way the music is presented. Play something like Public Image Ltd Metal Box and you get the rumble of Jah Wobble's immense bass and the zing of the cymbals, tracks like Albatross thundering along even when you are sitting on the train or walking the streets of a busy city. You are not completely isolated from the outside world and the music is more immediate and in your head than if you had open back phones but you are also a little more considerate to your neighbour on the train. Play something a little more delicate and a hi-res version of Kuniko Plays Reich allowed the music to have a little sparkle and space. Everything felt under control and nothing was over emphasised. It was not as clean as the phones I have at home or in the office but then it is using headphones only a fraction of the price and I use them where the ambient noise is much greater. The headphones are comfortable, with little pressure on the ears and no weight. The earpads do get hot after a while, something in common with most headphones I have worn, but not so bad that you feel the need to take them off after an hour or so listening. The headphones are light but they do not feel flimsy. They are clearly not made of metal and leather throughout and you get the feeling that the money has been spent where it is needed most. They feel like they will stand up to the rough and tumble of mobile use. I am planning to upgrade the cable in due course (an inveterate tweaker), not that there is anything wrong with the existing one. It folds up easily into the carrying bag provided and although it would have been nice for the ear cups to have folded into the headband the phones are not as bulky as I feared and fit easily into my bag, if not my pocket, when not in use. Overall I am very pleased with the choice. I am hoping a cable upgrade will bring out more of the good points of these headphones and allow me to enjoy music on the go even more than usual. I would recommend them to anyone looking for an affordable, mobile headphone solution.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

0

Good cans!

1A headphones 09/08/2015 by luckb (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Comfortable after hours of listening. Sound really good. Better sound quality than Bose. Nice heavy cable. Gave it 4 stars because they give you a cheap vinyl bag to put it in to travel with. It came in a really fancy box which I store them in but if I want to take them somewhere the vinyl bag is just cheap. For the price it should have a quality travel case like other product brands do.

22

12

0

Great Sound!

1A headphones 23/06/2015 by TV24 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had the black ones and have now bought the silver model.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Seriously, Best Headphones Ever!

1A headphones 12/05/2015 by stidriver08 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am not a headphone connoisseur, so I don't have much to compare them to. However I will say this, I wont ever be buying any other headphone for a VERY long time. These are absolutely amazing. I listen to dubstep (super highs and lows and in betweens) and never does it distort.

24

3

Response From Sony Support
12/05/2015

Hi stidriver08, It's good to know that you are satisfied with the quality of this Sony headphones. Thank you for this feedback and for choosing Sony.

0

I enjoy the bass of MDR-1A

1A headphones 16/04/2015 by sonyboygogogo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Comfort is not only the best word I could describe this headphone. The bass and stereo is another two merits that I never regretted to buy this headphone.

24

5

Response From Sony Support
16/04/2015

Hi sonyboygogogo, It's great to hear how satisfied you are on this Sony Headphones. Thank you for posting your review, we appreciate it!

0

Great sound & comfort but ....

1A headphones 01/04/2015 by davidl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These headphones sound great and are a huge improvement for use with mobiles. They sound even better with the Sony NWZ-A15 music player, providing great detail, rythm and bass response. However, they are fragile, so think carefully before purchasing for use on a commute. I managed to do this damage after only 2 months, when the cable was snagged. On previous headphones a similar tug on the cable has never resulted in physical damage. I now have a less than elegant gaffer tape solution to support the broken connection.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

4

5

0

MDR1A/S 27/02/2015 by Farroutproductions (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

10

28

Response From SonySupoort
02/03/2015

Hi Farroutproductions,
We're really glad to hear that you are already having a good time with your headphones! Thank you for choosing Sony!

0

Great headphones!

1A headphones 21/02/2015 by Marcial (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound quality is really good and the noise is isolated very well

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Sony mdr-1a silver

1A headphones 13/02/2015 by jamieb1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

They sound great as expected they have a great build quality while having a premium look and feel about them l. I ended up buying the silver version but at first i was tempted by the black version but in the end decided to go with the more classy silver, and wow does the silver look good, it gives off a certain premium luxury vibe that comes with well built products

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

A definite improvement over the last gen.

1A headphones 23/01/2015 by samvii (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

They fixed the rattling wire and the extra padding means the insides no longer rub my ears the wrong way. Comfortable and sound great.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Never known this much sound quality be portable

1A headphones 28/12/2014 by Ben1989 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These headphones provide the highest audio quality I've ever owned, and the only better quality I can remember was my Dads old Hi-Fi system into which he poured thousands of pounds. They're also the most comfortable headphones I've ever known, and I can wear them for hours on end, take them off and forget they were ever there. My only criticism is that I'd have liked longer cable for use with my computer, as the cable isn't long enough to reach the high quality output on the back, but this is a rather unique issue I'm sure. As for the design goes, I have the silver body, brown leather muffs and headband and must say they look great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Exceedingly good headphones! Can't stop listening

1A headphones 23/11/2014 by sonic sunset (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Leidey Sony xb10 for the bass and my Sony xba h3 for clarity and detail. Wanted a pair of cans that you'll the best aspects of both. Got to say the 1a's do that and then some. Before I took the plunge I revisited the momentums and 1r's, have to say out of the box the 1a's blow them both out of the water. Immediately you'll notice how light and comfortable they are on. Once on I was impressed with how well vocals are presented as well as crisp and snappy snares sounded. However bass seemed to be in the distance. Plug the cans into my HiFi and subjected them to some bass laiden music to burn them in. Returned to discover a much improved sound. The sound was totally integrated. Love my bass but quality over quantity is what I was looking for this time and got. The level of detail from bass to highs is something to behold. You'll notice new sounds in familiar songs. The separation of instrument's is noticeable. Can't believe how well 1a's ticks the box on bass, mids and treble. That's rare for the price. Can't stop listening. Listening now as I type. Have them with me on my note 3. I no longer eq my music I can now play them at flat response or source direct on the HiFi. And oh how they sound through the HiFi. They soar when you have a quality source and sound like flac files. They're also forgiving and get the best out of compressed sounds like mp3 which I usually listen to. Knowing that the driver is similar to the high end z7 I checked the quality of the cable and used them on my Sony xb10's. Wow, they have never sounded so good. This confirms to me that Sony really paid attention to detail on all aspects of this headphone. Kudos to Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

0

Great headphone

1A headphones 14/11/2014 by Michaeli (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Balanced sound signature , wears quite comfortable. It's a good buy considering the price. Only flaw is the cable without in-line control is the same length with the control one, which confused me why we need the cable in same length but no controller !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great buy !

1A headphones 05/11/2014 by jinty52 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these to use with my NWZ-F886 hi-res player . I couldn't believe the difference they made . Even my older music sounds better , with more depth , and the new hi-res albums I bought are amazing ! Highly recommended .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

comfy but too big

1A headphones 26/10/2014 by lolo bird (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound is good...creamy... The heaphones are very comfortable, and really light. But for me, they are too big (the head band needs to be alterable further) Also when you are not listening, and have them round your neck they are too chunky. To sum up...for me, i should have bought something smaller in size, but i bought online and in some of the photographs on the website women were modelling them (brown colour)...maybe this is something for Sony to work on...making a smaller size for ladies that want a high quality product (which i think it is)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

12

0

Great sound reproduction

1A headphones 19/09/2014 by Kittywake (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I chose Sony MDR-1 headphones for flying long haul. They are very comfortable for hours of listening. They deliver great sound, not too much bass like many others on the market, great sound all across the spectrum and they look stylish and sophisticated. These are the best headphone I have ever had and expect to be using them for many years to come.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

8