MDR-1AM2 HEADPHONES

Product Reviews

$249.99

14

5.0 based on 14 customer reviews

14
0
0
0
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

14 Customer Reviews

0

Just wow

MDR-1AM2 15/03/2020 by ENT PRESTIGIOUS (USA)

I am very shocked for choosing this over the WH-1000XM3 as they were extremely light and had excellent treble! I used it with the amp one time and it was heavenly! The sound details were splendid and the dynamic drivers made it sound remarkable!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/03/2020

Hi ENT PRESTIGIOUS, we appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you! ~Earl



0

Best Bang for Buck Hands Downs

MDR-1AM2 10/03/2020 by TandemTuba (USA)

Easily the most comfortable headphones I've ever worn, and that's saying something from a guy with a big head. Solid construction and crystal clear sound. Was heartbroken when I left them on a plane. 10/10 Recommendation.

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/03/2020

Hi TandemTuba, we're sorry to hear that you left your SONY unit on a plane. We appreciate that you like our product. Thank you for always choosing SONY! ~Earl

0

The best headphone evaaar

MDR-1AM2 14/02/2020 by Orsettopuzzoso (United Kingdom)

Since I bought my new portable device, sony walkman nw a105 I was looking for something special for listening my hi res audio files... And I found it.... I made the perfect match

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Surprisingly Very Good !

MDR-1AM2 31/01/2020 by James8989 (USA)

I bought it exactly one year ago. I did not expect Sony to have such a high-quality headphone, as I have only tried their popular models in the past. However, I wanted to give these a try. Using a DAC with these headphones is recommended. This way the sound is rich in details, bass, and clarity. On top of it all, they are the most comfortable I have ever tried. I can easily use them for 6 hours non-stop. 

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/02/2020

Hi, James8989!

That's great! Good to know that you're having a great time using the product. Thank you for choosing Sony.

~Earl

0

Amazing - An Amateur Audiophiles Take

MDR-1AM2 28/01/2020 by muravis (USA)

I purchased these with my NWZX300 - have had these for close to 1 year now - and god are these good. Personally I always like wired over the wireless - call me old fashioned if you must. But the functionality of the balanced and the regular headphone mixed with good old reliability and ruggedness that comes along with it just wins every time for me. Light to wear and with great cushioning for the head - these are comfortable to the end of the day. Great over the year coverage and isolates external noise without all the noise cancellation jargon very well. Great sounding high's and immaculate deep low's without sounding either over the top or dithering low's respectively - I love these as my 1st purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/01/2020

Hi, muravis! That's great! We are glad that you are satisfied with the product. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Truly excellent

MDR-1AM2 08/10/2019 by Steelbeam (USA)

I've had other entry-level audiophile headphones in the past, but this is the most expensive pair I've ever owned. I was a bit nervous that these might not have been worth the price, but I'm happy to say that they're worth every single penny of $250. Sound quality is wonderfully good. Bass is ample but not overboosted and stays full into the frequency range. The bass begins to roll off at about 25Hz, which is lower than what you can perceive as a note anyway. Treble sparkles without being piercing or tinny. The only aspect that leaves something to be desired is the build quality - 100% plastic. Everything still feels pretty sturdy, but I'm somewhat worried about whether they'll hold up after a couple years of use. However, since it still doesn't feel "cheap", it's not enough for me to take a star off. Awesome product, would definitely recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

2

Response From Sony Social Support
09/10/2019

Hello, Steelbeam!

Wow, what an awesome review! We are happy to know that the unit meets your expectation. Thank you for choosing Sony!

~Zac

0

Super comfortbale; Naturally sounding

MDR-1AM2 24/09/2019 by Valentin La (USA)

These are the most light and comfortable headphones I have had or tried on! Regarding the sound: there is just the right amount of bass, the high frequency range is also definitely there, although I have not listened to any 11.2 MHz DSD files. It will be easy to drive the MDR-1AM2 by any portable source thanks to their low input impedance. The material and design quality is acceptable for headphones at this price, but time will tell.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/09/2019

Hi, Valio_Ss! That's great! We are glad that you are satisfied with the product. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Super light headphones

MDR-1AM2 15/03/2019 by lil_bean (USA)

This is just a brief review but these headphones are very light compared to other headphones I have. These are definitely the lightest headphone I've worn. Sound quality is really good too, it's got some emphasis on the low end but maintains clarity on the mids and highs. Only con is the cable that comes with the headphones are thick and heavy which makes quite a bit of noise when you walk around due to the cable rubbing against clothing. I solved this by using my slimmer, lighter Sony WH-CH700N cable and it's a lot better now. Other than that I find that the Sony MDR-1AM2 is very enjoyable to listen to, and paired with its weight and portability it doesn't disappoint especially when you get them on sale.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

3

0

Awesome sound

MDR-1AM2 14/01/2019 by Soaring Eagle (USA)

sound is clear like being at a concert , could not ask for anything better.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Best wired headphones.

MDR1AM2B.CE7 02/12/2018 by jpjg_86 (United Kingdom)

The sound out of these headphones is nothing short of a delight to which one can choose to listen. The bass and low-end is deep, full and rich; whilst the mids and highs are clear, emotive and something in which one chooses to be enveloped. All of the note sets are distortion free at full volume in a variety of genres. In short the sound is, as mentioned above, a delight to which one can listen. The style is high end and understated. This serves well if one chooses to wear them outside of the home, as they blend in well and from a distance the look betrays their value. The metal backing gives a nice industrial strength feeling to the construction, which withstands bending twisting and everyday use far better than most. The materials are of high quality; very comfortable and lightweight. All of which results in a very comfortable and enjoyable listening experience. The features are on more of the lacking side, though what is done is implemented well. The microphone in the wire and the control button is easy to use and well built, with excellent sound quality when on a call. It would have been nice to see Bluetooth to be included with such a premium quality headset; the lack of Bluetooth however, does lend itself to a guaranteed uninterrupted and interference free listening experience. So pros and cons. In short I can't recommend these headphones enough. The sound quality is second, only to Sony's top of the range; they're stylish, well made and very desirable. One piece of feedback would be to highlight or otherwise change the design of the box for the headphones to better show where to open it. I may have damaged/ripped the box at the top in an effort to open mine, only to discover the actual open tab. For the record I understand that I am very complimentary to Sony in this review, but I genuinely think this is one of their best products and believe in each word expressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

18

0

0

Perfect headphones for the ‘grab and go’ crowd.

MDR1AM2B.CE7 30/11/2018  (United Kingdom)

Sony MDR- 1AM2. These full sized over ear headphones come in a big sturdy box that also contains two cables, a Sony branded carry/storage pouch and the regular handbooks and warranty cards. They are constructed of a combination of plastic, metal and soft pleather. In the hand they feel very very well built yet are remarkably light. Sporting wonderfully soft ear pads on the thin profile ear cups, that twist to allow you to lay them flat when off your head. I wonder if they are aimed at the ‘commuter’ type wearer, who you see walking to a from school/college or crowded on the buses and tubes throughout towns and cities. The cable is thick and tangle free and has a solid satisfying click into place, when you attach it to the left ear cup. Again, helping to drive home that quality feel that these have. It contains a control section with a single button. Single press for Pause, double press for track forward and triple press for track back (haven’t investigated any other clicks!). The cable finishes in a 90-degree connector for hooking up with your source player, this should help to keep that connection stress free. I have been using these for a week now, listening through an old iPhone 5 that I used to stream Spotify. The sound quality is impressive. Initially I thought it was a little ‘thin’. But either my ears have adapted, they have burnt in or its confirmation bias! But either way, I now find that sound to be deep and layered. There is a test track I used for assessing bass response: James Blake - Limit To Your Love - YouTube The bass seems well represented, not overblown or bloaty (I guess, no or limited artificial bump in the bass region) which I prefer. Vocals are crisp and clean with female voices well reproduced and enjoyable. All sound seems forward and never leave you reaching to hear the finer details. With virtually no leakage (closed back), easy use button, super lightweight profile and an extremely good quality feel build these are perfect headphones for the ‘grab and go’ crowd.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Hi-Res Heaven!

MDR1AM2B.CE7 27/11/2018 by occasionalstan (United Kingdom)

Arriving in the Hi-Res world a year ago I already own two pairs of in ear Hi-Res headphones (both Sony) and am extremely pleased with the comfort, and sound quality. These headphones however take it to another level, the build quality is excellent as you would expect, they are very comfortable and the audio is rich and full of depth making the experience of listening to my vinyl directly from my PS-HX500 an absolute joy. Couple this with the performance of my Xperia playing this vinyl (24bit/96Khz conversion) and other downloaded Hi-Res music I am actually genuinely blown away. I'm not sure I can bring myself to wander around outside with these cans instead of my in-ear variety but I have to say I have never been more tempted. I have a small array of other good quality headphones to compare these too and they outperform them with ease in quality, looks and sound. Thank you Sony, these are absolutely superb.

Picture Quality

Average

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

8

0

0

Extremely light headphone

MDR-1AM2 01/06/2018 by ASTGHOST (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The weight became the first things inspired me. And during daily use, the weight really make sense. It let me use it longer compare with my previous headphone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

7

0

best sound quality

MDR-1AM2 14/05/2018 by DrunkSoul (USA)

Ive had these for a couple years now. i make music as hobby and needed decent headphones to hear all the little bits that i normally would miss so i went and compared them to a lot of other headphones in person. it came out on top in comfort and sound quality. its kinda gotten a bit beat up over the years and ive looked to find a possible replacement but honestly i cant give these up. despite the rough usage theyre work like new with no issues. theyre to perfect i dont think ill be able to find better quality elsewhere especially for the price! to bad the bluetooth ones dont have the same frequency range as this pair. would be nice to have color options. i like these way better than bose or beats by dre. sony did good !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

24