Skip to Content
46

4.5 based on 46 customer reviews

29
10
6
1
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Outstanding depth of sound

MDR-DS6500 08/08/2014 by George of the rings (United Kingdom)

I never watch TV without them know. It`s just natural to where them every time.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great Sound - Terrible Mechanically

MDR-DS6500 22/06/2017 by Kermit A (USA)

I bought this headset about two and a half years ago. Sony is obviously a company very experienced is electronic and audio equipment, The electronic and audio performances are both absolutely outstanding. That being said, mechanically the headset is pure junk. The bow had fractured within two months, and three months later it fractured on the other side. Both fractures required the addition of bracing material and good epoxy. The adjustment slides were simply floppy after six months. The soft plastic and foam rubber ear pieces disintegrated in less than a year. Even though this head set is a basket case mechanically, it still sounds great. Maybe Sony should ask Honda to help them with the mechanical design.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

46 Customer Reviews

0

Uncomfortable after an hour

MDR-DS6500 09/11/2017 by Duncan 1000 (United Kingdom)

This product has good sound qualities, but gets very warm and uncomfortable on the ears after about one hour of listening

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sound

MDRDS6500 26/08/2017 by joefixit (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The base sound craps out it is the only problem.......... I would recommend the headphones to people how are not sound audiophile ....Listeners

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony
26/08/2017

Hi joefixit,
We always appreciate customers who take the time to give us their feedback. I'll pass what you've said into the proper department. Thank you for choosing Sony.

0

Great Sound

MDRDS6500 23/07/2017 by Terry1968 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've wanted one of these type for years and finally purchased this one. I am very pleased with the sound reproduction and features.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound - Terrible Mechanically

MDR-DS6500 22/06/2017 by Kermit A (USA)

I bought this headset about two and a half years ago. Sony is obviously a company very experienced is electronic and audio equipment, The electronic and audio performances are both absolutely outstanding. That being said, mechanically the headset is pure junk. The bow had fractured within two months, and three months later it fractured on the other side. Both fractures required the addition of bracing material and good epoxy. The adjustment slides were simply floppy after six months. The soft plastic and foam rubber ear pieces disintegrated in less than a year. Even though this head set is a basket case mechanically, it still sounds great. Maybe Sony should ask Honda to help them with the mechanical design.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/06/2017

Hi, Kermit A, We appreciate your input. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We will forward
your information to the proper department. Thank you for your feedback. -Vincent

0

Good headphones, shame about warranty and support!

MDR-DS6500 04/06/2017 by Gregorian (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Worked great with my TV with digital (optical input) for just over a year. Then the DSP unit would not power up at all! Checked plug, fuse etc with no success. Support not clear on website. Past 1 year standard warranty so now have to pay to fix plus inconvenience! Expensive experience overall!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

MDR-DS6500 01/06/2017 by CMH65 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been using these headphones for a few weeks now, and I love them. The sound is solid and good full range is reproduced. Would definitely recommend them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Almost perfect

MDR-DS6500 04/05/2017 by Mr Blue (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you are disappointed with your TV's speakers, but don't want to install a sound system, these could be your answer. The DS6500 headphones are well made, comfortable and on the whole beautifully designed. The sound stage produced is quite remarkable and terrestrial broadcasts/streaming show a vast improvement over TV speakers. No more mumbling! The minor gripes I have are that the volume control is slightly tricky to use while wearing them and they creak at times when moving your head, but only the right hand side. Neither of these would stop me buying them or giving a good recommendation. In fact they warrant 4+ stars.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent for Hearing Impaired

MDRDS6500 20/04/2017 by Tuanayalcin1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have tried so many other Wireless Surround Sound Headphones and all fail in comparison to the Sony 6500's. While other may boat about better overall sound quality they lack largely in volume. For those with hearing impairments these are the only brand and model that get loud enough to actually hear the TV.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Amazing Sound

MDR-DS6500 16/12/2016 by TechnoNovice (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these because I felt my 2.1 sony soundbar would disturb my neighbour at night. I have tried these with my tivo box and netflix and noticed the improvements straight away - but where these headphones really excell is when listening to blu ray disks --i have used them to watch Sicario and Avator 3D and the sound is amazing

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

excellent sound quality.

MDR-DS6500 09/12/2016 by bear69 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

has increased my listening pleasure and a very comfortable fit. allows me to move around without missing anything.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great Sound

MDR-DS6500 23/08/2016 by steve770 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had these about a month and have found no negatives at all. Surround sound is awesome and being able to utilize the analogue feed for the music system is a bonus.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Cordless headphone which uses SPDIF.

MDR-DS6500 18/06/2016 by Ostragobulus (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The only criticism is that I have difficulty keeping the 'phones on - they keep slipping off my head! My TV will not allow headphones and loudspeaker sound independently so these 'phones solve the problem by extracting the sound from HDMI via an adapter. I can not comment on the multi-channel aspect as I have not really used it yet.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Just the job

MDR-DS6500 22/05/2016 by Felines (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very pleased with overall performance use it most days

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Best headphones

MDR-DS6500 15/02/2016 by Magnet619 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought 2 weeks fantastic sound quality and easy setup

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Very comfortable

MDR-DS6500 11/01/2016 by IK11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very comfortable over the ears without hugging them. Sound quality very good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A Fantastic Item With Great Features

MDR-DS6500 15/11/2015 by Bernie6055 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This item is a 5 star item, with its fantastic surround sound, easy set up, and very easy to use. It fits very comfortable over the ears. Easy slot on stand to charge it up, and the amount of hours without charge is great. I looked at a lot of other headphones and this one has come out on top by far. No wonder Sony has the reputation that it has, I am very very pleased with this item, thank you.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent quality headphones

MDR-DS6500 10/09/2015 by Alan555 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a month ago and very glad I did. The wireless quality is perfect, never lost a connection between headphones and base unit and never had any form of interference. Sound quality is excellent, great for Netflix, Blu-ray and console gaming. You can really tell where the sounds are coming from (i.e. in front or behind, or to side)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product, great features, comfortable fit.

MDR-DS6500 31/05/2015 by paul1000 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this product for one month and it is by far the best wireless headphone set I have had. It works all around my house and even in my garden - when plugged into my stereo unit in the kitchen. Crisp, clear sound superb surround effects. When using my games console it beats all surround systems and brings you into the game - the same is said of the TV - highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pros and cons

MDRDS6500 21/04/2015 by Saesar (USA)

Yes, sound is clear and stable but you have to keep your head still and you cannot eat anything during listening, because every head movement and your jaws create incredible disturbing cracking noise. This annoying noise is creating by rubbing plastic against plastic , Due to this enjoying and disturbing cracking noise this product cannot be rated as the best. I gave max 3 stars- no more and it is not worth this money

0

1

Response From SonySupport
23/04/2015

Hi Saesar,
We always appreciate customers who take the time to give us their feedback. I’ll pass what you've said onto proper department. Thank you.

0

Excellent .... but with a rider

MDR-DS6500 09/04/2015 by prm1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These headphones are excellent. Obviously they can only produce a 'virtual' multi speaker system - however, they are really very good, producing a brilliant frequency range. Unless your room is very suitable for surround sound (and very few are), I'm certain they'll improve your TV entertainment experience. One problem is that if there is a very, very slight delay in processing the audio signal from the source, this can barely be noticed as a lack of synchronisation. However, if they are to be used whilst the television speakers are also on, it is possible to still hear the TV audio which manifests itself as an echo. Perhaps better insulation in the earcups might avoid this. ..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Much improved design over my old Sony headphones.

MDR-DS6500 15/03/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The new headphones replaced an old Sony set that charged to through the ear pieces.  In fact the plastic broke and I had to re-glue them.  Despite this they lasted 9 years. The new charging arrangement, through the head band, is a big improvement.  The sound quality is excellent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Comfortable, not heavy & excellent sound

MDR-DS6500 13/02/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A birthdate present which has been delightful to use. My headphones are comfortable to wear and I love the different sound effects which makes a big difference when watching TV. Thank you SONY your products never fail to please.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

perfection

MDR-DS6500 05/01/2015 by Dodger 33 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These are absolutely brilliant Total surround sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

First rate acoustics

MDR-DS6500 08/11/2014 by Ridcully (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These headphones are almost faultless. I've had them for over a year and the sound quality is first rate, so is the range. My only disappointment is the quality of materials. I have used them extensively since I bought them and the cover on the padding has split away exposing the padding. Unfortunately I can't find anybody to recover them. Even with this, I am still extremely happy with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Could be better

MDR-DS6500 20/09/2014 by asterix77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The headphones are really comfortable and sound OK. I would have liked to have more options to change the sound settings, as I like more bass when watching films. In my opinion, the PlayStation Wireless Headset Gold sound better.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Great product

MDR-DS6500 17/09/2014 by horbert (United Kingdom)

It is really good, clear, but a little bit overpriced. I am happy, because I have.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

ds6500 headphones

MDR-DS6500 27/08/2014 by fender (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

much better than i expected,dolby digital is nearly as good as a full surround set up

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Outstanding depth of sound

MDR-DS6500 08/08/2014 by George of the rings (United Kingdom)

I never watch TV without them know. It`s just natural to where them every time.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

great purchase love my headphones

MDRDS6500 22/07/2014 by GUEST71 (USA)

I love the headphones.

3

7

0

headphones

MDR-DS6500 13/07/2014 by grandad (United Kingdom)

the idea is great, but the product has flaws, and your ears overheat

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Easy To Use and Comfortable To Wear.

MDR-DS6500 06/06/2014 by kia1 (United Kingdom)

I bought these MDR-DS6500 wireless headphones just 3 weeks ago and find them a real asset to my TV watching,from keeping up with a programme if I am away from the TV for a short time,to watching movies on my Netflix account.This is the reason why I purchased them.They are an ideal match.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

could do better

MDR-DS6500 04/06/2014 by petoid (United Kingdom)

overall very good headphones the only drawback is that the volume is not loud enough,why that is i'm not sure maybe sony dont want lawsuits for hearing impairment .that said try before you buy ther're still good if not slightly overpriced.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Digital surround headphones, really great!

MDR-DS6500 03/06/2014 by oldmusicman (United Kingdom)

Wary at first, but connected by optical to new smart tv find that the sound is very good! Glad that I decided to make the purchase and are well worth the price I spent. I am now going through my dvd and Blu-ray collection all over enjoying surround sound without extra speakers and cables.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellant

MDR-DS6500 03/06/2014 by Lindo (United Kingdom)

So good so far Wish I had bought one sooner.hope to get many years of use out of them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound

MDR-DS6500 02/06/2014 by Graham62 (United Kingdom)

I bought these headphones a few months ago and I can honestly say that I am very impressed. If you really want to hear what's going on without the fear of disturbing anyone else, then these 'phones are very definitely the thing to have.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best system I've owned...........

MDR-DS6500 02/06/2014 by Rob52 (United Kingdom)

Been using this system for some time now following a disaster with previous buy. It always pays in the end to spend the money and buy a quality system like Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

MDR-DS6500 02/06/2014 by GRIFFITHS527 (United Kingdom)

Excellent so far can't fault. The 0% finance was a bonus. I would highly recommend to all. Excellent Quality sound, headphones block out nearby sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Does more than previous headphones.

MDR-DS6500 02/06/2014 by 191musical2 (United Kingdom)

Not as comfortable as previous headphones but does more.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great

MDRDS6500 29/12/2013 by FFayboy3 (USA)

Best head phones I ever had. Thank you Sony.

11

11

0

Good sound, but expected better wireless range

MDRDS6500 21/10/2013 by Malekula (USA)

After one day use, I concluded the following. They are really light and comfortable, give good feeling - you can almost forget that you wear them. Sound is great. Other reviews highlight this better. Here is my huge disappointment. After having wireless Philips headphones (middle range price - about 70-80$), which worked really up to 40-50 m, this model of SONY was a disappointment. After passing through the two walls and 30 meters (max) in the office area the sound becomes distorted and disappears soon after. This is far from claimed 100 m distances. I understand that 100 m is a maximum distance, but I cant imagine that presence of only two office walls can kill the signal completely. Range was one of the reasons I have chosen this model, because of the conditions of work I am doing. Considering to return it this weekend.

29

10

0

The Best By Far

MDRDS6500 28/08/2013 by Ayersco (USA)

I purchase these in June of 2013. I've had them for two months and have nothing but great things to say about these headphones. I watch TV at night while my wife sleeps and these allow her undisturbed sleep while they are very comfortable for me to wear six to eight hours. They sound incredible, the volume is louder than I ever would listen to music or television. They were simple to install and I have NOT had any problems to date.

38

2

0

MDR DS6500 vs. Sennheiser RS170's

MDRDS6500 15/07/2011 by cgoetze (USA)

The Sennheiser's and the Sony's both sound great they have a lot of punch and crispness. Sennheiser specializes in headphones and microphones (I understand), so the RS 170's have the signature sound of the excellent Sennheiser products. They do not disappoint in terms of audio listening quality but then neither do the Sony's. The amp in the Senheiser's seems a bit more powerful (picks up signals faster) than the comparably priced Sony's. However the Sony's have a very respectfully powerful full audio presentation and are possibly fuller in their dynamic range and clarity of instrumentality than the Sennheiser's. The Sony's are a bit more comfortable to wear and I seem to experience less listener fatigue over a long listening session with the Sony's even in analogue mode. The Sony surround processing is more complex and sophisticated with DTS, Dolby Digital and Dolby Logic Pro II, as well as a dialogue speech clarity mode. The Sennheiser surround processing mode is simple and sufficient along with a nice little bass boost separately if you want it. The Sony's have a digital mode with an optical cable in that is desirable especially if you a device that has only a digital output such as the Apple TV. The Sony's in digital input mode have a very clean and crisp sound compared to analogue, although somewhat quieter volume wise with the digital sound experience. In my experience the digital mode has the least listener fatigue in a really long listening session. I'm keeping both the Sony's and the Sennheiser's as they are both very good and each has a lot to recommend them individually. The Sony's have a slightly better wireless distance range listed in their specs, 100 meters, compared to 80 meters for the RS 170's. Neither wireless headphone will reach to my pillow in my bedroom without cutting out (bummer there)! Even though the specs indicate a 20 meter difference between the two in actual experience it amounts to only about 10 feet within my bedroom at the opposite end of the house after going through walls, etc. I have a very long house. Both headphones would likely reach anywhere in a normal medium to large home. Controls on the two wireless headphones are different. Both headphones have on and off controls on their base stations. The Sennheiser's can control the surround and bass boost from the headphone itself as well as the base station. The Sony's however have controls for the various sound processing modes only on its base station. The Sony's have a dial on the headphone to control volume and an off and on button for the headphones not the base station. The RS 170's can control all its functions from the headphone except turning the base station off and on. Both headphones sit neatly on top of their base stations for charging. The Sony battery life is longer and employs lithium ion batteries instead of nickel cad for the Sennheiser's. A Bose rep told me lithium ion batteries are a big factor in the audio quality of wireless headphones and thus the lack thereof of sufficient availability of them is the primary reason Bose has yet to produce wireless headphones. These Sony's are the first wireless headphone to use lithium ion batteries to my knowledge. The Sony's have both a digital input as well as an analogue instead of just an analogue on the RS 170's. I planned to send one or the other of these headphones back, but they're a toss up, so I'm keeping them both! There is probably a technical edge to the Sony's, with their feature set, their wireless range, outstanding audio quality and dynamic range, but their lack of being able to purchase additional stand alone headphones to work with the base station, as the Sennheiser's allow, along with a certain subjective something to the Sennheiser's audio quality won't allow me to let the Sennheiser's go! Or I may just buy another set of the Sony's to give me a second headphone set cause I sure can't let the Sony's go either!

270

8

0

Very good, high-end wireless headphones

MDRDS6500 13/06/2011 by dhinchcliffe (USA)

So, I've long been wanting a good wireless headset that could connect to both my computer and office Blu-ray setup (40-inch Google TV in this case) at the same time. So far, this is the best set I've seen on the market, and while it's close to perfect it has a couple of minor issues that prevent me from giving it five stars. - First, the PROS: - Nicely built, super sleek, yet very comfortable and light, I could wear these for hours. - Stylish charging station, headphones fit on them very elegantly. - Useful lights in the front explaining the signal type (Dolby Digital, DTS, etc.) - Good, clear sound with zero hiss whatsoever, which was essential for me. - Clear, obvious right and left ear markers (in red), something more and more headphones are leaving out. - CONS - The base station wakes up automatically when you pick up the headset but the headphones do not, a big miss if you ask me, particularly since the station turns them off automatically when docking. Minor but asking me to turn it on manually each of the thousands of times I'll pick it up when it could do it automatically is a somewhat surprising oversight. - The bass just seems to lack punch. The sales literature says there are huge drivers in the earpieces but they just don't deliver here until you hit too high a volume. Bass is still fairly good mind you, just not utterly crisp like Sennheiser wireless headsets. - Buttons on the headphones, particularly the volume control, are very hard to use once the headset is on. There's a tiny bump next to the volume dial so your fingers can find it, but it's still very hard to change without taking off because it's so recessed. If the latter three points had been addressed, I'd say this headset won't be beat for years, however as it is it's merely very, very good since the manual turn on and volume control are small, constant nags. Can't say much about the surround sound BTW, I just can't hear it myself. Bottom line: Worth the investment unless you're waiting for absolute perfection.

78

4

0

Simulated 7.1 output, not 7.1 input

MDRDS6500 28/05/2011 by Basis (USA)

I think by 7.1 it means using the virtual sound technology to upmix either 2.0 stereo sound input or 5.1 channel sound input to 7.1. I don't think SPDIF supports 7.1 sound. I have ordered it and we'll see soon. Let me put five star for now.

12

57

0

7.1 FYI

MDRDS6500 23/05/2011 by BruceHam (USA)

To previous reviewer (Patatas): The Optical input will pass the older compressed DD-EX and DTS-ES 7.1 audio formats. It will not pass the new uncompressed Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Codec, HDMI is required for this. When using the optical connection, a Dolby TrueHD or DTS-HD source will be down-converted to regular DD or DTS.

69

10

0

7.1 channel

MDRDS6500 12/05/2011 by patatas (USA)

how come....the unit only has optical cable connection...

25

62