61

2.8 based on 61 customer reviews

13
14
3
8
23
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Volume control difficult to operate

MDRRF995RK 13/07/2017 by MikeHapp (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far I can find only one negative issue with these headphones, and that is the volume control. It is buried in the molded case so far that it is very difficult to find and use when wearing them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

garbage

MDR-RF995RK 30/08/2018 by RZ49K3 (USA)

I thought I could live with awful range of these headphones have by buying a stereo extension cable and placing the transmitter a few feet from where I would normally sit, but after a few weeks the left side would cut in and out. Giving it a good smack would get it working again, isn't that nice! I finally realized it would be better to throw these away than continue to be frustrated by them.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

61 Customer Reviews

0

2nd pair - both fell apart

MDR-RF995RK 19/04/2019 by Zeek10 (USA)

I bought these headphones and the soft plastic cushion started to disinergrate after 6 months. After taking off there would be little black pieces of plastic on my ears. Bought another pair, same thing happened. The sound quality also got worse over time.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony Social Support
22/04/2019

Hi Zeek10, we regret to hear that your headphone failed to meet your expectations. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com. We look forward to hearing from you.


Regards,
Erin

0

Battery and cutting out issues.

MDR-RF995RK 09/04/2019 by None Dumb question (USA)

Bought this just a month ago. Battery charge lasts 4-5 hours only and sound intermittently cuts out.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

Response From Sony Social Support
11/04/2019

Hi None Dumb question, We are sorry to hear the issue with your unit. Let's isolate and resolve this issue by following the guidelines from this link:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-rf-headphones/mdr-rf995rk/articles/00032573

0

Poor sound

MDR-RF995RK 06/04/2019 by eric12 (USA)

I've just got it from my close people, with excitement, I using it and what I received is the noise, even how many time I change my channel, The noise keeps going to appear in my ears and I finally better use my speaker than this headphone.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

Response From Sony Social Support
08/04/2019

Hi eric12, we regret that the headphone failed to meet your expectation. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com.


Regards,
Erin

0

Great Headphones!

MDRRF995RK 12/02/2019 by GrandpaDrew (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the headphones approximately 8 months ago and love them. The only reason I did not give them a five star is because the rechargeable battery died already and it had to be replaced under warranty.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bad Battery. Worked for three months/died

MDR-RF995RK 08/02/2019 by HSTR (USA)

Bought in November 2018, battery died February 1, 2019. Battery costs $43 to replace. Truly a bad experience.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Old ears, new sounds

MDR-RF995RK 07/01/2019 by Old Dave (USA)

I received a set of your Stereo Headphones (model # RF995RK - purchased at Best Buy - Grand Rapids, Mich) as an xmas gift in 2017 and have truly enjoyed using them. Unfortunately both ear pad segments have cracked at the junction between the headpiece and the ear pads and the unit is only usable thanks to that marvelous invention known as Duct Tape. I'm going to try to glue them together with a 2 part "A" / "B" Epoxy, but if that doesn't work, Please tell me that you've either improved this design or the warranty is for the life of the product, if owned by the original giftee. . The right ear pad is hanging by the wires and the left ear pad is cracked in two places.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not bluetooth

MDR-RF995RK 28/12/2018 by greg b (USA)

I bought these for my wife to take to the gym to listen to her i-phone. Didn't realize they had to be plugged into an AV output. Not very convenient to haul the stereo to the gym. I thought wireless meant wireless. What a waste of $110!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

15

0

Comfortable and great sound.

MDR-RF995RK 18/12/2018 by Clear view (USA)

I have had mine for more than a year and they still work great. Extremely comfortable, and great sound and easy to connect to other devices. Battery life is very long and holds a charge a long time. I only rated M 4 * because they are a little bit large but that probably adds to the comfort, and if you were to exercise in them which I do if you exercise too hard they might get a little bit loose I wouldn't recommend running in them probably.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Changes needed

MDRRF995RK 18/12/2018 by Relaxer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the headset for 4 months and it is just OK. The sound volume control is difficult to adjust unless you remove the set. The battery died a month ago and I am still waiting for replacement. After about 3 hours of listening my ears feel the pressure no matter how I adjust the size. The sound stops often unless I change my head position. I would not recommend this headset.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

2

0

Poor sound quality

MDR-RF995RK 10/12/2018 by Bens loss (USA)

I bought my set and from the onset, the sound comes on and off constantly. I can sit in the same location and move my head an inch or so either way to turn back on. It's like the sound is being blocked. Very disappointed in this Sony product.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/12/2018

Hi Bens loss, we do apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. You may follow the troubleshooting steps provided on the link below to isolate and fix the issue with the headphones:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4691/46918931M.pdf, see "Troubleshooting".
Regards, _Bob

0

Bad Battery

MDRRF995RK 25/10/2018 by hardofhearing (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Worked fine for 3 months then battery would not hold a charge. Expected more.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/10/2018

Hi hardofhearing, we regret to hear that your headphone failed to meet your expectations. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you. Regards, Erin

0

nice feel

MDRRF995RK 07/10/2018 by verni (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these headphones in June of 18 it is now October of 18 and the left ear isn't working right have to up the volume to make it work

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/10/2018

Hi vern3,

We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name, your contact details and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you.

Regards,
Zac

0

Disappointed

MDR-RF995RK 02/10/2018 by Auna (USA)

I purchased these headphones for my dad so he could hear the TV better without having to blast the sound in order to hear. The setup was easy and sound quality was good. Unfortunately they stopped working in less than 1 month. I thought my dad may have been charging them incorrectly so I went back to Best Buy to purchase a new battery. Best Buy doesn't sell replacement batteries, neither did Amazon for this model. So I returned the headphones to Best Buy and exchanged them for a new one. Here we are 2 months later and we are having the same issue. The battery is not charging. I am very disappointed as Sony has always carried quality merchandise.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

4

0

Sound is good but...

MDR-RF995RK 15/09/2018 by Unhappyin San Diego (USA)

I bought this for my husband 2 years ago. Now the covering on the ear phones and top fo the unit is shredding resulting in small pieces of whatever the material consists of all over my husband's head and my house. Can't seem to find a replacement cover that fits the round configuration of these headphones.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Done work

MDR-RF995RK 07/09/2018 by Tomk882001 (USA)

Just got a set for my mother in law, Best Buy said easy to set up, well it is not. The wiring that came with it doesn’t ‘t work with her tv. Time to take them back. Do your self a favor and don’t get them to began with.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/09/2018

Hi Tomk882001, we regret that the unit failed to meet your expectation. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! ~Erin

0

garbage

MDR-RF995RK 30/08/2018 by RZ49K3 (USA)

I thought I could live with awful range of these headphones have by buying a stereo extension cable and placing the transmitter a few feet from where I would normally sit, but after a few weeks the left side would cut in and out. Giving it a good smack would get it working again, isn't that nice! I finally realized it would be better to throw these away than continue to be frustrated by them.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/09/2018

Hi RZ49K3,, we regret to hear that your headphones failed to meet your expectations. We recommend following the troubleshooting steps from the manual to fix the issue: https://docs.sony.com/release//Manual_4691893111.pdf
Regards, -Erin

0

Very good unit

MDRRF995RK 28/08/2018  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had my ear phones for 6 Months and they work great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stops working in a couple of months

MDR-RF995RK 27/08/2018 by knews (USA)

I got these for my mother who needs headphones for her TV in her assisted living center. The first pair worked for about 5 months then stopped charging. No matter how long they are connected to the charger, they do not turn on at all when taken off the charger. I bought a second set rather than waiting for the warranty/repair to be done so my mom had headphones to watch TV. The second set stopped working (exact same problem) in 3 months. Reading other reviews here, this seems to be a common problem. So there is a fundamental flaw with these headphones. Sony replies to most post with this issue to follow their troubleshooting guides. The guides do not address this except to say the battery may be dying. But the battery dying in a few weeks to a few months is a major issue especially since the battery is not available in retail. I highly recommend looking at other products for wireless headphone needs.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/08/2018

Hi knews, thank you very much for taking the time to share your concerns with us. Sony takes the voice of our customers very seriously and hearing all feedback - good and bad is important to us. We appreciate your feedback. Regards, ^Ron

0

Sound cuts in and out

MDR-RF995RK 14/08/2018 by these are terrible (USA)

The sound doesn't always come on when the TV is turned on and then the sound cuts in and out all the time. Very annoying. This is the second set like this and they both did the same thing, I have to return the first set after three weeks.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/08/2018

Hi these are terrible, We're sorry to hear about what happened. Kindly check on this link for troubleshooting steps to help isolate the issue:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00022013
~Ralph

0

Delayed sound when Using

MDR-RF995RK 08/08/2018 by rlcstlle (USA)

bought this a week ago and easy to setup to my tv. But as I use them the sound does not come on right away. I have to turn the power button on headset off then on again. a little annoying!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Replacement of a older one

MDR-RF995RK 20/07/2018 by verni (USA)

I was happy with my last 900 series so had to buy a new one after 5 years of use

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

goodead fit

MDRRF995RK 20/07/2018 by vern2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a replacement for my older one the broke. seems like a better set up quality wise

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent Choice

MDRRF995RK 15/05/2018 by Rich35 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these to replace a worn out older pair, love them. Makes my wife happy.....to not have the tv on LOUD

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good as other Sony [roducts I have

MDRRF995RK 10/05/2018 by DJ39 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My wife will be delighted with the sound quality while watching TV in the mute setting

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound breaks up constantly

MDR-RF995RK 06/05/2018 by lyndalee (USA)

We have had Sony wireless headphones for about two decades and always loved them - until this unit I bought today. We tried everything suggested to eliminate snapping, popping and static, which gets worse when you are more than 10' from the base. Nothing worked. These were purchased as an "Open Box" item from a big box store and we will never do that again. Someone else probably returned them because of snapping, popping and static! Tomorrow I will exchange this unit and I HOPE that the replacement unit will be as reliable and perfect as my previous units. Also, the design of the volume control and on/off buttons on the headphones are harder to use than my previous unit.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/05/2018

Hi lyndalee, we regret that the unit had to be returned. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! ~Erin

0

Not impressed.

MDRRF995RK 29/04/2018 by cactus52 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these as an "open box" product at a big box store. I had problems almost from the very beginning. The audio kept cutting out. On advice from Sony tech support I tried various channels on the headphones/base without improvement. I was only about ten feet from the base station without any sources of interference. Returned to the store for a refund.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/04/2018

Hello cactus52, we regret that the unit had to be returned but appreciate your feedback nevertheless. Your feedback is very important to us because it allows us to improve. Rest assured that your feedback will be forwarded to the relevant department as we always looking to make Sony better. Regards, ~Erin

0

Great sound and features

MDR-RF995RK 25/04/2018 by greatphones (USA)

I bougt a the headphonesin the military exchange due to noise around me after a couple of weeks my wife said she wanted a pair because she wakes up inthe middie of a night. We both enjoy them

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Work well as advertised, but...

MDR-RF995RK 09/04/2018 by Flaps70 (USA)

The sound quality coming from the headphones is fine for my needs. The ear cushions surrounding the ear pads, however, have recently begun deteriorating and flaking off their black color coating, leaving bits of residue on my ears. I would expect better quality from Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/04/2018

Hi Flaps70, Thank you for sharing your feedback about the Headphones. I will have your feedback forwarded to the relevant department as we always looking to make Sony better. Regards, -Erin

0

Did not last long.

MDRRF995RK 24/03/2018 by FXDCFXDC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this wireless sony headphones for my wife for Christmas on 12/10/2017. We hooked ip up in Jan. It did not last but three months. It failed to take a charge after 3 months of use. Very dissapointed.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/03/2018

Hi FXDCFXDC, we're sad to hear that. Please follow the recommended steps to troubleshoot the issue: https://docs.sony.com/release//Manual_4691893111.pdf. Regards, -Erin

0

Poor quality for the price you pay, disappointed.

MDRRF995RK 10/03/2018 by Stumpychuck (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product has a lot of static, goes dead and you constantly have to adjust something to make work.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/03/2018

Hi Stumpychuck, we're sorry to hear that. You may follow the troubleshooting steps provided on the link below with regards the static line:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/38966

Also, about the power issues, kindly refer to this link: https://docs.sony.com/release//Manual_4691893111.pdf see "Troubleshooting".
Regards, _Bob

0

Good Quality Sound

MDRRF995RK 08/03/2018 by HAIG (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to install. Sound quality is excellent. Feels comfortable on my head.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Stopped working

MDR-RF995RK 21/02/2018 by AnDi66 (USA)

I bought these in Dec. for an uncle in a nursing home. In the next few weeks they stopped working for him 4 times. Each time I drove the 2 hours to go troubleshoot. When he said the sound would come and go, l went to a different store to buy another set. Hope they work!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/02/2018

Hi AnDi66,

We're sorry to hear that you are having issues with your Headphones, You may follow the troubleshooting steps provided on the links below to isolate and fix the issue:

https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/38966
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/47327/

Regards,
Zac

0

More than expected

MDRRF995RK 18/02/2018 by Im just sayin (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these head phones for an older plasma tv , was scepticale but they are excellent , great sound and can walk around the house and continue listening , enjoying these a lot

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Had great features.

MDRRF995RK 13/02/2018 by Jim18 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

We had it for a week ,then it started to shut off after two hours.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/02/2018

Hi Jim18,


We're sorry to hear that you are having issues with your headphones, you may follow the troubleshooting steps provided on the link below to isolate and fix the issue:

https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/40256

Thanks,
Zac

0

Frustrating to set up

MDRRF995RK 08/02/2018 by annek (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got these headphones to use while exercising in another room. The set up was easy, just plug in charge and play. Well, that did not work. I plugged and unplugged multiple times, charged, tried and tried and no sound. The uit came with a single plug audio plug and that was the problem. I bought a red/white RCA adaptor and the unit finally worked. After all the frustration, the unit is working fine and the sound is very good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Product quality

MDR-RF995RK 06/02/2018 by relianceguy (USA)

I bought this headphone on ebay and it shortly started crackling and the sound became intermittent and would drop out. It then lasted one month and quit altogether. Research on reviews (unfortunately after the fact on my part) showed that this is a common occurrence with this model unit. My question is: does Sony stand behind their products that have a less than good reliability for their customers? Your website suggests that help is available on socialsupport@ am.sony.com but I cannot get any acknowledgement from that address. I have had many Sony products throughout the years and have been totally satisfied with their quality and performance.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/02/2018

Hello relianceguy, we do apologize for the inconvenience. To isolate and fix the issue, you may follow the troubleshooting steps on the links below:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/38966
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/47327
Regards, _Bob

0

Stopped charging after three weeks

MDR-RF995RK 05/02/2018 by strike6 (USA)

I am disappointed that the headphones stopped working after three weeks.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/02/2018

Hello strike6, we're very sorry for your bad experience here. Please allow us to help you and make this a better experience. You can contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address, phone number, a short description and a reference number if any so we can check your file.
Thank you, _Bob

0

Great features and sound.

MDRRF995RK 29/01/2018 by ggeorge44 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Would give a five except for the wheel volume control needs to be extend out more for easier control turning up or down of the sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

trouble shooting

MDR-RF995RK 21/01/2018 by shipyard (USA)

first headset works great. the other one will not charge properly.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Headphone plastic not strong and is easily broken.

MDRRF995RK 14/01/2018 by zekeyoyo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is t he second headphone from Sony I have purchased. The first one had to be replaced because the plastic ear piece support broke. I purchased a second one. This new one had been redesigned and appeared to be sturdier. However, the new one ear support plastic has also broken. I simply put the set on a table and it broke.I registered the new 0ne in August 2017. I can not afford to buy new ones every six or seven months. I am US Army service connected handicapped veteran. The headphones are needed to watch TV. What is the warranty on this headset and will Sony replace it???

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/01/2018

Hi zekeyoyo, we are very sorry for your bad experience here. Please allow us to help you and make this a better experience. You can contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address, phone number, a description of your concern and a reference number if any so we can take a closer look at your file.
Regards, _Bob

0

Crisp clear sound with optional features

MDRRF995RK 06/01/2018 by mitzie499 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Saved my Marriage! Loud blasting TV due to hearing & understanding deficiencies was absolutely horrible!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Disappointed

MDR-RF995RK 27/12/2017 by dmm40 (USA)

Replaced my old style Sony headphones that sat in a base which worked perfectly but finally wore out. I never had a problem with reception and could walk around with excellent sound. From day 1 with these new phones you had to keep your head totally still or the sound would go out and you could not leave your chair without the sound going away. Now after six months sound only comes from one earphone but at least I can move my head. Totally frustrating especially after owning the older style head phones.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/12/2017

Hi dmm40, we're sorry to hear that. To isolate and fix the issue, kindly visit the link below and follow the troubleshooting steps provided:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/38966
Thanks, _Bob

0

better sound

MDRRF995RK 26/12/2017 by hump (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have always had a radio shack and I love my Sony a lot better sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Perfect

MDRRF995RK 24/12/2017 by Quill (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very comfortable with great sound. The price was very fair.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Mono headset

MDRRF995RK 13/12/2017 by sad man (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this headset in hoes that it would help me ear TV better. I am able to hear better and have tv volume lower however it only work on one side! This os very disappointing! Also the headset tends to become uncomfortable.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/12/2017

Hi sad man, we apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. Please refer to the links below to isolate and fix those issues:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/38966
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/34285
Thanks! _Bob

0

Great features

MDRRF995RK 06/12/2017 by Honeycleo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far so good. Clear sound, rolling volume control, comfortable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great Product

MDRRF995RK 08/11/2017 by Nalu (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received as a gift from my son to replace my previous Sony MDRRF970R which is out of production now. This product is much better.Great sound quality, snug fit, and better charging system. Old one was a struggle to make contact.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good experience

MDRRF995RK 06/11/2017 by Papa1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

These headphones replace a very similar set of Sony headphones. my experience with them led me to sray with Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

lose sound

MDR-RF995RK 28/10/2017 by maryjoe (USA)

when I plug headphones in lose TV speaker audio. wanted to use with someone that has bad hearing and myself hear regular TV speaker

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

HEADPHONES

MDR-RF995RK 27/10/2017 by BULL DOG (USA)

I PURCHASED THESE TO REPLACE A OLD PAIR OF SONY HEADPHONES.THE OLDER ONES ARE MUCH BETTER.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/10/2017

Hello BULL DOG, thank you very much for taking the time in writing us your honest review regarding the device. These suggestions and feedbacks are very much welcome for further improvements of our products and we are more than happy to take a look on this matter.
Regards, _Bob

0

great sound until...................

MDR-RF995RK 19/10/2017 by mo1971 (USA)

if it wasn't for this one problem, i would give these speakers a 5, but.............. the problem is when i am using them, the sound is great, everything is fine and then i get blasted with static and the headphones go dead. i have yet to figure out why the static occurs, but when it does my ears get blasted with static and the speakers go dead. not happy. would love to hear from customer support regarding this issue. if i could get rid of the static blast i would be very happy! thank you.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/10/2017

Hi mo1971, We're sorry to hear that your having static issues with the headphones. Kindly refer to the link below for troubleshooting steps to help isolate the issue:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/39681
~Ralph

0

Good Product

MDRRF995RK 15/10/2017 by d424 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My hearing isn't what it used to be. The rest of my household gets blasted my TV volume. I have not sacrificed sound quality with these headphones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Works great with hearing aids

MDRRF995RK 03/10/2017 by edwardo2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The MDR-RF995RK headset fits better on my ears than my earlier model. Volume is better over the older Sony MDR headset.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Garbage, do not buy.

MDR-RF995RK 21/09/2017 by Blister762 (USA)

Had these less than 2 days and has been the worst Sony product I've ever purchased in decades. Proprietary battery that wouldn't charge past 1.35 volts and will only last 3 hours at that charge. Will run on AAA's but even using Ni-Mh cells it won't recharge them so after a several hours I had to swap them out and recharge them on an external charger. Noisy. Popping, hissing and crackling even when no audio signal. Put the AC adapter on a filter and it still was noisy. I bought these to replace my old Auvio wireless that cost half as much but were twice, no ten times the quality. Returning them not exchanging them.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/09/2017

Hi Blister762,
Have you tried calling our Technical Support team about this issue?
If so, kindly send your reference number/event ID to socialsupport@am.sony.com so we can further assist you.

Thanks,
>Joffrey

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/09/2017

Hi Blister762,
We apologize for the bad experience.
Have you tried calling our Technical Support team about this issue?
If so, kindly send your reference number/event ID to socialsupport@am.sony.com so we can further assist you.

Thanks,
>Joffrey

0

Waste of money!!!!!

MDR-RF995RK 24/08/2017 by bsalm1277 (USA)

I don't know how Sony puts their name on these. I wish there were other options out there. The charge light comes on as it is supposed to and stays on as long as it is supposed to, but the battery will not charge. I even bought new batteries, same exact specs as the factory specs, same thing, charge light comes on, stays on, but the battery won't charge. Now I am reduced to using replaceable batteries on these things which is annoying. To make things worse, the sound and reception is terrible. I am literally 5 feet from the transmitter and it is crackly and bad sounding. I couldn't be more disappointed. I wish I had kept my receipt!!!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

2

4

0

No other model choices!

MDR-RF995RK 18/08/2017 by 383 D (USA)

I bought this a few days ago and the left ear adjustment arm has loosened and will not stay in place. I have also experienced the and "of and on again" sound issue with these headsets. This one is going back for a replacement. If the replacement does the same thing, I will NOT be buying three additional units for my TV sets. I will update this at a later date...

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/08/2017

Hi 383 D, it is unfortunate that the unit had to be returned. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! ~Erin

0

Good buy

MDRRF995RK 15/08/2017 by Meatloaf (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the product very much. I like the features Sony provides.

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Requires higher audio output than my TV provides

MDR-RF995RK 10/08/2017 by BILLinAZ (USA)

Purchased these to use with one of the household's 2015 major brand TVs that has the proper RCA audio outputs. The output is at a fixed (line) level which is apparently not strong enough to be recognize by this headphones' transmitter. I cannot increase the level. Works fine with a similarly connected radio, but not the TV.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/08/2017

Hi BILLinAZ, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. You may check the link below for troubleshooting steps to help isolate the issue:
https://ca.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/37670
~Ralph

0

poor quality

MDRRF995RK 19/07/2017 by dksully (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I obtained this product with my credit card points so I am unable to return it. The reception was never very good, it would cut out in the next room. After only 4 months it does not hold a charge any more, it will only last about 5 minutes and only charges for about 30 seconds.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/07/2017

Hi dksully, we are sorry to hear what happened with the unit. Below is the troubleshooting guidelines that we can follow to isolate the issue: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/40773. Regards, -Erin

0

Volume control difficult to operate

MDRRF995RK 13/07/2017 by MikeHapp (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far I can find only one negative issue with these headphones, and that is the volume control. It is buried in the molded case so far that it is very difficult to find and use when wearing them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

4

0

0

Headphones stopped working after 2 weeks

MDR-RF995RK 07/07/2017 by hcook (USA)

Headphones stopped working after 2 weeks. They worked fine and liked the product, but had to be replaced as they were not working.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/07/2017

Hi hcook, we regret what happened with your headphones. You may consider the steps here to isolate the issue: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/4025. -Erin