Skip to Content
17

2.9 based on 17 customer reviews

4
4
1
3
5
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Volume control difficult to operate

MDRRF995RK 13/07/2017 by MikeHapp (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far I can find only one negative issue with these headphones, and that is the volume control. It is buried in the molded case so far that it is very difficult to find and use when wearing them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

1

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

great sound until...................

MDR-RF995RK 19/10/2017 by mo1971 (USA)

if it wasn't for this one problem, i would give these speakers a 5, but.............. the problem is when i am using them, the sound is great, everything is fine and then i get blasted with static and the headphones go dead. i have yet to figure out why the static occurs, but when it does my ears get blasted with static and the speakers go dead. not happy. would love to hear from customer support regarding this issue. if i could get rid of the static blast i would be very happy! thank you.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

17 Customer Reviews

0

Mono headset

MDRRF995RK 13/12/2017 by sad man (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this headset in hoes that it would help me ear TV better. I am able to hear better and have tv volume lower however it only work on one side! This os very disappointing! Also the headset tends to become uncomfortable.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/12/2017

Hi sad man, we apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. Please refer to the links below to isolate and fix those issues:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/38966
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/34285
Thanks! _Bob

0

Great features

MDRRF995RK 06/12/2017 by Honeycleo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far so good. Clear sound, rolling volume control, comfortable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Product

MDRRF995RK 08/11/2017 by Nalu (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received as a gift from my son to replace my previous Sony MDRRF970R which is out of production now. This product is much better.Great sound quality, snug fit, and better charging system. Old one was a struggle to make contact.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good experience

MDRRF995RK 06/11/2017 by Papa1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

These headphones replace a very similar set of Sony headphones. my experience with them led me to sray with Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

lose sound

MDR-RF995RK 28/10/2017 by maryjoe (USA)

when I plug headphones in lose TV speaker audio. wanted to use with someone that has bad hearing and myself hear regular TV speaker

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

HEADPHONES

MDR-RF995RK 27/10/2017 by BULL DOG (USA)

I PURCHASED THESE TO REPLACE A OLD PAIR OF SONY HEADPHONES.THE OLDER ONES ARE MUCH BETTER.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/10/2017

Hello BULL DOG, thank you very much for taking the time in writing us your honest review regarding the device. These suggestions and feedbacks are very much welcome for further improvements of our products and we are more than happy to take a look on this matter.
Regards, _Bob

0

great sound until...................

MDR-RF995RK 19/10/2017 by mo1971 (USA)

if it wasn't for this one problem, i would give these speakers a 5, but.............. the problem is when i am using them, the sound is great, everything is fine and then i get blasted with static and the headphones go dead. i have yet to figure out why the static occurs, but when it does my ears get blasted with static and the speakers go dead. not happy. would love to hear from customer support regarding this issue. if i could get rid of the static blast i would be very happy! thank you.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/10/2017

Hi mo1971, We're sorry to hear that your having static issues with the headphones. Kindly refer to the link below for troubleshooting steps to help isolate the issue:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/39681
~Ralph

0

Good Product

MDRRF995RK 15/10/2017 by d424 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My hearing isn't what it used to be. The rest of my household gets blasted my TV volume. I have not sacrificed sound quality with these headphones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Works great with hearing aids

MDRRF995RK 03/10/2017 by edwardo2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The MDR-RF995RK headset fits better on my ears than my earlier model. Volume is better over the older Sony MDR headset.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Garbage, do not buy.

MDR-RF995RK 21/09/2017 by Blister762 (USA)

Had these less than 2 days and has been the worst Sony product I've ever purchased in decades. Proprietary battery that wouldn't charge past 1.35 volts and will only last 3 hours at that charge. Will run on AAA's but even using Ni-Mh cells it won't recharge them so after a several hours I had to swap them out and recharge them on an external charger. Noisy. Popping, hissing and crackling even when no audio signal. Put the AC adapter on a filter and it still was noisy. I bought these to replace my old Auvio wireless that cost half as much but were twice, no ten times the quality. Returning them not exchanging them.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/09/2017

Hi Blister762,
Have you tried calling our Technical Support team about this issue?
If so, kindly send your reference number/event ID to socialsupport@am.sony.com so we can further assist you.

Thanks,
>Joffrey

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/09/2017

Hi Blister762,
We apologize for the bad experience.
Have you tried calling our Technical Support team about this issue?
If so, kindly send your reference number/event ID to socialsupport@am.sony.com so we can further assist you.

Thanks,
>Joffrey

0

Waste of money!!!!!

MDR-RF995RK 24/08/2017 by bsalm1277 (USA)

I don't know how Sony puts their name on these. I wish there were other options out there. The charge light comes on as it is supposed to and stays on as long as it is supposed to, but the battery will not charge. I even bought new batteries, same exact specs as the factory specs, same thing, charge light comes on, stays on, but the battery won't charge. Now I am reduced to using replaceable batteries on these things which is annoying. To make things worse, the sound and reception is terrible. I am literally 5 feet from the transmitter and it is crackly and bad sounding. I couldn't be more disappointed. I wish I had kept my receipt!!!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

1

3

0

No other model choices!

MDR-RF995RK 18/08/2017 by 383 D (USA)

I bought this a few days ago and the left ear adjustment arm has loosened and will not stay in place. I have also experienced the and "of and on again" sound issue with these headsets. This one is going back for a replacement. If the replacement does the same thing, I will NOT be buying three additional units for my TV sets. I will update this at a later date...

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/08/2017

Hi 383 D, it is unfortunate that the unit had to be returned. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! ~Erin

0

Good buy

MDRRF995RK 15/08/2017 by Meatloaf (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the product very much. I like the features Sony provides.

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Requires higher audio output than my TV provides

MDR-RF995RK 10/08/2017 by BILLinAZ (USA)

Purchased these to use with one of the household's 2015 major brand TVs that has the proper RCA audio outputs. The output is at a fixed (line) level which is apparently not strong enough to be recognize by this headphones' transmitter. I cannot increase the level. Works fine with a similarly connected radio, but not the TV.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/08/2017

Hi BILLinAZ, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. You may check the link below for troubleshooting steps to help isolate the issue:
https://ca.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/37670
~Ralph

0

poor quality

MDRRF995RK 19/07/2017 by dksully (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I obtained this product with my credit card points so I am unable to return it. The reception was never very good, it would cut out in the next room. After only 4 months it does not hold a charge any more, it will only last about 5 minutes and only charges for about 30 seconds.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/07/2017

Hi dksully, we are sorry to hear what happened with the unit. Below is the troubleshooting guidelines that we can follow to isolate the issue: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/40773. Regards, -Erin

0

Volume control difficult to operate

MDRRF995RK 13/07/2017 by MikeHapp (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far I can find only one negative issue with these headphones, and that is the volume control. It is buried in the molded case so far that it is very difficult to find and use when wearing them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

1

0

0

Headphones stopped working after 2 weeks

MDR-RF995RK 07/07/2017 by hcook (USA)

Headphones stopped working after 2 weeks. They worked fine and liked the product, but had to be replaced as they were not working.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/07/2017

Hi hcook, we regret what happened with your headphones. You may consider the steps here to isolate the issue: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/4025. -Erin