29

3.8 based on 29 customer reviews

16
3
3
2
5
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

BASS FRIENDLY

MDR-XB550AP 01/08/2017 by Bass Head (USA)

The headphones are fantastic. just got them a few weeks ago and the headphones don't let you miss out on anything. the sickest thing about them is that they rumble with bass. Sony has defeated Beats entirely. it would be cool if i could test all of Sony's headphones and leave reviews but thats a lot of money. maybe one day. Sony keep up the great work.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Very disappointed with these

MDR-XB550AP 16/11/2018 by Carol89 (USA)

I must say, I’ve always been a fan of Sony headphones but my loyalty has faded. This is not the first set of Sony headphones Ive purchased that have broken. They have managed to maintain their sound quality but the build quality and durability of their items have been extremely disappointing. I only got a little over 3 months of use from these headphones and of course it happened after the 3 month warranty ended before the cheap plastic swivel piece used to hold the ear phone to the band, finally gave way. If you look closely at the provided photo, you will see the cheap plastic piece I speak of, the earpiece is totally separated from the band rendering them totally useless. I can’t rationalize that I just received a defected pair because as stated earlier, this seems to be a common problem with other models i’ve purchased. If these durability issues are not addressed by Sony, I will not be buying anymore of their headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

8

4

29 Customer Reviews

0

Great phones

MDR-XB550AP 11/08/2019 by Ducar (USA)

Great phones and excelent bass. Good value and nice design.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Cord broke

MDR-XB550AP 09/08/2019 by kimokeo (USA)

The cord where the 2 lines come together broke after a month of use. Rendering the headphones useless. Cord not the most sturdy. Sounded great up until then.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/08/2019

Hello, kimokeo!

We are sorry to hear what happened. You may take your unit to an authorized servicer for evaluation to determine the repair options available for your headphones.

https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/service?language=en_US

Regards,
David

0

Good Sound Quality. Cheap Construction.

MDR-XB550AP 04/05/2019 by Rayd12 (USA)

I was looking for a pair of headphones to replace my 6 year old ZX300AP. Found these in a store sale at a good price. Pretty good sound, though a little bit heavy on the bass. Confortable to use nevertheless. The materials feel very good to the touch and the metal band is a nice touch. However, the hinge design where the side meets the phones is poorly executed. Other headphones with the same design suffer the same problem. 6 months after I bought them and both sides are broken. Hopefully Sony can look into this manufacturing defect for future designs.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

Response From Sony Social Support
05/05/2019

Hi Rayd12, We value your opinion and we would like to apologize if our product did not meet your expectations. In relation to the broken hinge issue, please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com to further assist you.


Regards,
Erin

0

For everyday BASS

MDR-XB550AP 16/04/2019  (USA)

Simple headphones, fair price, comfy, nothing special except really good bass. Had some issues with left cup cord (I dropped my phone so it was hanging on the cord and it looks like the cord lost contact somewhere inside the cup), changed to the same ones on the next day. I'm still using them to this day and I am more than satisfied.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Hearing aid user

MDR-XB550AP 06/04/2019 by Mrs Grumpy (United Kingdom)

Hearing aid user, having sound problems, not easy 2 use

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

3

27

0

Ehh

MDR-XB550AP 03/04/2019 by Charlotte K (USA)

I bought this a couple weeks ago and they just broke a few minutes before i wrote this review. They got slightly tugged on where the cords come into that plastic piece. They broke easily but other than that they are really good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

Response From Sony Social Support
06/04/2019

Hi Charlotte K, we are sorry to hear what happened with your headphones. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email so we can further assist you. Regards, Erin

0

Too uncomfortable to use

MDR-XB550AP 02/02/2019 by Andrew_IsThisNameInUse (USA)

Bought this to replace a 6 year old XB-500 I had. The sound quality is better and the inclusion of a mic is nice. But I can't wear it for more than 5 minutes. It is somehow so loose it falls off my head unless gravity keeps it there (not the case with the XB-500's), while also pinching my ears that it becomes painful. Basically unusable. Rather annoying since the reviews I read for this praised the comfort. Hoping nobody else gets shafted.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Just ok

MDR-XB550AP 28/12/2018 by N apllicable (USA)

If you have larger ears than normal these are no good. Volume is not so good, as i can still hear the music in the gym. Also if you have no hair when you sweat they do slip off your head a bit. Although the quality of the sound is very good.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

most bitchin

MDR-XB550AP 15/12/2018 by Don S (USA)

I purchased these as I did not want to drop a bundle on another high end pair. I am delighted with the sound and comfort. A great bang for the buck.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Bass is the main thing.

MDR-XB550AP 24/11/2018 by Manas2004 (USA)

The headphones are worth buying ! This is why - 1. Sound Quality - This headphone mainly focus on bass. The mids and lows are splendid. The voice never crashes or crack at high volume . 2. Build quality - Hats off to the build quality . This headphone is very comfortsble and the cushioning is very soft . Your ear will not become hot due to the cups . Has a tangle free cable whose length is 1.2 mm. This is feather light weight . The plastic is very good but you need to care it ! 3. Look wise - It looks average . Neither perfect nor bad. 4. Worth the money - In this price point this is definitly on to be grabbed. Dont think just buy it . This is sony headphones not the normal ones !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very disappointed with these

MDR-XB550AP 16/11/2018 by Carol89 (USA)

I must say, I’ve always been a fan of Sony headphones but my loyalty has faded. This is not the first set of Sony headphones Ive purchased that have broken. They have managed to maintain their sound quality but the build quality and durability of their items have been extremely disappointing. I only got a little over 3 months of use from these headphones and of course it happened after the 3 month warranty ended before the cheap plastic swivel piece used to hold the ear phone to the band, finally gave way. If you look closely at the provided photo, you will see the cheap plastic piece I speak of, the earpiece is totally separated from the band rendering them totally useless. I can’t rationalize that I just received a defected pair because as stated earlier, this seems to be a common problem with other models i’ve purchased. If these durability issues are not addressed by Sony, I will not be buying anymore of their headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

8

4

Response From Sony Social Support
17/11/2018

We regret that the headphones failed to meet your expectation, Carol89. Please be assured we take this very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products. You may visit our service website at https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/service?language=en_US to have your headphone repaired.


Regards,
Erin
Sony Social Support

0

Best headphones I've ever owned!

MDR-XB550AP 29/10/2018 by mbwbox (USA)

I am completely in love with these. Great sound quality that manages to sound full and "open" while providing a surprisingly high amount of isolation, very comfy with awesome swiveling ear pieces, lightweight and portable with short cord length perfect for throwing in a hoodie pocket. These headphones just get everything right for me. Please keep making this line, Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Excellent headphones!

MDRXB550AP/B 23/10/2018 by Depainster (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm a person that likes bass, extra quality sounds and comfortable fit. Built for us older and simple minded folks. I highly recommend this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0