19

4.2 based on 19 customer reviews

13
2
1
0
3
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

BASS FRIENDLY

MDR-XB550AP 01/08/2017 by Bass Head (USA)

The headphones are fantastic. just got them a few weeks ago and the headphones don't let you miss out on anything. the sickest thing about them is that they rumble with bass. Sony has defeated Beats entirely. it would be cool if i could test all of Sony's headphones and leave reviews but thats a lot of money. maybe one day. Sony keep up the great work.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great bass, lacks midrange

MDR-XB550AP 15/11/2017 by boijo (USA)

Great build quality. Pretty sturdy. Nice cable! Bass is great, but these headphones seriously lack midrange, it makes the songs sound pretty bleh. They look more expensive than they are. These headphones are more suitable for trap and hip hop. Excellent headphones other than the midrange issue that is a dealbreaker. I would not purchase these headphones again.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

19 Customer Reviews

0

Very disappointed with these

MDR-XB550AP 16/11/2018 by Carol89 (USA)

I must say, I’ve always been a fan of Sony headphones but my loyalty has faded. This is not the first set of Sony headphones Ive purchased that have broken. They have managed to maintain their sound quality but the build quality and durability of their items have been extremely disappointing. I only got a little over 3 months of use from these headphones and of course it happened after the 3 month warranty ended before the cheap plastic swivel piece used to hold the ear phone to the band, finally gave way. If you look closely at the provided photo, you will see the cheap plastic piece I speak of, the earpiece is totally separated from the band rendering them totally useless. I can’t rationalize that I just received a defected pair because as stated earlier, this seems to be a common problem with other models i’ve purchased. If these durability issues are not addressed by Sony, I will not be buying anymore of their headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
17/11/2018

We regret that the headphones failed to meet your expectation, Carol89. Please be assured we take this very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products. You may visit our service website at https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/service?language=en_US to have your headphone repaired.


Regards,
Erin
Sony Social Support

0

Best headphones I've ever owned!

MDR-XB550AP 29/10/2018 by mbwbox (USA)

I am completely in love with these. Great sound quality that manages to sound full and "open" while providing a surprisingly high amount of isolation, very comfy with awesome swiveling ear pieces, lightweight and portable with short cord length perfect for throwing in a hoodie pocket. These headphones just get everything right for me. Please keep making this line, Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent headphones!

MDRXB550AP/B 23/10/2018 by Depainster (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm a person that likes bass, extra quality sounds and comfortable fit. Built for us older and simple minded folks. I highly recommend this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Hearing Damage will occur =)

MDR-XB550AP 25/06/2018 by irishman1541 (USA)

If your phone has a 24 or 32 bit dac and can power these properly it sounds like you have some fisher studio standards taped to your skull and a kicker comp hanging behind you.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

These are Amazin

MDR-XB550AP 22/06/2018 by Arctickilla2 (USA)

I bought these a month ago and I’ve used them for probably 15 hours, Sony has outdid themselves with these and all their products really, I bought these for $40 and I have to say Sony could have doubled the price abuse these preform great on so many levels 5-22,000khz You get all the feel of the music, sub lows, low mids, mids, mid highs, and highs are superb!! You won’t find better!! And the style is beast!! The red “R” accent is cool and the metal headband is brushed aluminum, these will last a long time I’m sure!! 5/5 Stars hands down mine have absolutely no problems and Sony has a solid reputation for producin VERY!! Few lemons, so if you get a pair make sure it’s from a reputable dealer and are legit Sony’s and I forgot to mention that they are the most comfortable headphones the cushion on the headband is like a memory foam and so are the super plush earcups you will be able to wear these for hours if possible days lol

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

A bang for the buck

MDR-XB550AP 08/06/2018 by ody47 (USA)

It's definitely the best design, audio quality and build integrence you can get for this price! Would

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent sound quality, great low end bass.

MDR-XB550AP 23/05/2018 by KenStone (USA)

I have had my headphones for almost two years and they sound awesome. I have taken them on several vacation flights to Florida and jammed for three hours and I have not experienced any problems. The low end frequency response is dynamic and punchy!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bad microphone

MDRXB550AP/B 11/05/2018 by Mymicisnotworking (USA)

The mic goes out quickly. Working on my 2nd pair..

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/05/2018

Hi there! we regret to hear what happened. We would like to hear more from you. Please reach us out at socialsupport@am.sony.com. Let us see what we can do to help you. Thanks. -Erin

0

Old Age Hearing

MDR-XB550AP 03/05/2018 by DGH10 (USA)

Sitting in front of my computer ( with NETFLIX (:-))) ) I have been granted a magnificient world of DEEP SOUND from your headphones. Thank you Sony. I am 72.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Sleek Design and Great Sound Quality.

MDR-XB550AP 08/04/2018 by Muhammad Zayed Nauman (USA)

I got this back in January 2018, the price is really reasonable and according to 200 AED, it really stands out.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Excellent

MDR-XB550AP 04/03/2018 by PotatoHead (USA)

It's good Because the sound is so crispy and good plus the microphone in awesome

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Sound Quality is Great. If I Stand Still.

MDRXB550AP/B 10/01/2018 by MarieJ (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had these for 2 days and something is clearly wrong with them. If I move the wire while playing music (stand up, sit down, walk) or something so much as brushes across the base of it, the sound fades and I start to hear static. Phone calls aren't half as bad with the sound but, there's definitely still some static. The padding on the right side is also a little uncomfortable and I can't wear them for very long. When I can hear it, the sound quality for music is actually really good. But, overall, I'm simply just not happy with these headphones.

Sound Quality

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/01/2018

Hi MarieJ, we apologize for the inconvenience. You may check the link below if you encounter the same issue with the headphones:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/47327
Thanks, _Bob

0

Great fit and sound

MDRXB550AP/B 04/01/2018 by T LAM C (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My wife purchased these for me today for music/gaming, the sound is incredible and blows the doors off my older set. Extra bass sounds wonderful!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Good simple headset

MDR-XB550AP 11/12/2017  (USA)

The cound is clear. Others can hear me well. I can even use it in the gym to hear the TV. It does not totally block out sound which is good when you are driving. I can use it with my hearing aid. But the instructions have little to do with the actual headset and the app does nothing at all on my Android.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Awesome

MDR-XB550AP 09/12/2017 by Ali Abbas (USA)

i bought it 2 day ago. And i am loving it powerfull bass the most i like abou it is sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Excellent sound and isolation

MDR-XB550AP 21/11/2017 by James101 (USA)

I bought these headphones to replace my XB-400s and I can definitely say that the XB-550s are far better. The headphones cover the ears completely, isolate the music and the bass/sound quality made every brain cell in my head vibrate with joy(after adapting them in the software, of course). The only thing that I hoped for was compatibility of the integrated microphone with Windows 10, which sadly is nonexistent. But other than that, I can't complain about a thing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great bass, lacks midrange

MDR-XB550AP 15/11/2017 by boijo (USA)

Great build quality. Pretty sturdy. Nice cable! Bass is great, but these headphones seriously lack midrange, it makes the songs sound pretty bleh. They look more expensive than they are. These headphones are more suitable for trap and hip hop. Excellent headphones other than the midrange issue that is a dealbreaker. I would not purchase these headphones again.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/11/2017

Hi boijo, We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Sony takes consideration all feedback to improve the quality of the products. We will forward your information to the right department. Regards, -Jay

0

great sound

MDRXB550AP/B 10/11/2017 by Wyatt_Earp5 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Was going to buy some Beats but found the audio for these to be better and much cheaper. They jam and since I'm a bass person they give me the acoustics I desire.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

BASS FRIENDLY

MDR-XB550AP 01/08/2017 by Bass Head (USA)

The headphones are fantastic. just got them a few weeks ago and the headphones don't let you miss out on anything. the sickest thing about them is that they rumble with bass. Sony has defeated Beats entirely. it would be cool if i could test all of Sony's headphones and leave reviews but thats a lot of money. maybe one day. Sony keep up the great work.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

0