79

4.6 based on 79 customer reviews

61
11
4
2
1
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Best GIfted headset Ever!

MDRXB950AP/H 25/12/2014 by PrinceSerlith (USA)

This headset is nothing short from amazing. Bass and standard sounds are simply just beautiful music in your ears. The cushion DO provide long lasting comfort and you can just melt away from sounds and jams as the clouds past by. Standard length wiring and flat band makes this tangle free and easy to transport. I currently use this with my Xperia Z3.

28

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Comfortable headphones

MDR-XB950AP 20/04/2018 by Si1966 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased these a fortnight ago and have been generally pleased with them. They are very comfortable and only started to cause slight problems after three and a half hours continuous wear (I do wear spectacles) but otherwise very comfortable. They are perhaps best suited to pop and rock music where rhythm and bass is key but generally less so with classical. They seem unfocused and muddy in the midrange and upper range and ‘distant’ somewhat here. They are labelled as ‘Extra Bass’ and they certainly deliver a bass heavy experience that will suit many, but those wanting a broader range of involvement through the mid and upper ranges are best, perhaps, to look (and listen) elsewhere.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

79 Customer Reviews

0

Great sound

MDR-XB950AP 24/09/2018 by Ridd (United Kingdom)

Only just started using these but it’s a great sound and a comfortable fit over my ears. Bought two pairs for our flight to the USA so I expect we’ll be better able to comment when we get back.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound

MDR-XB950AP 11/09/2018 by Goran the destroyer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Comfortable Sony Headphones with great sound are a quality product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great purchase

MDR-XB950AP 06/09/2018 by Phillipos (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had these headphones now for a few weeks and am absolutely delighted with them. I usually buy ear buds, so I decided to give The XB950AP Extra Bass a go. I am glad I did. The extra bass is exceptional and the clarity is very good indeed. For me a perfect buy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound with noise reduction

MDR-XB950AP 26/08/2018 by Alf74 (United Kingdom)

Bougth this headphones today. They got a nice fit, and deliver music with great bass. The design blocks alot of unwanted sounds. You get alot for the money spent.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic base and general sound quality

MDR-XB950AP 26/07/2018 by LTolch (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I saw this on amazon and wanted to treat myself to a nice set of over-ear headphones and thats what I got and more!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

headphones

MDR-XB950AP 19/07/2018 by Fred b (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

very good sound and comfortable to have on the head

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Reliable, great headphones

MDR-XB950AP 26/06/2018 by jzez (USA)

These headphones lasted me 3 years and 6 months, and I am VERY rough with headphones (I've never had a pair of headphones last me more than a year prior to these). I've tugged on the cord a lot, I've tossed these around, I've stuffed them in my backpack; I actually slept with these on every night for a few months. Though they aren't noise-cancelling, they are excellent at reducing background noise. In my noisy house, sometimes I'll put these on and not even play any music because just having them on helps a lot. I'm not an audio expert but the sound quality seems great to me as well. These were such a great investment. I'm finally shopping for my next pair and the only reason I'm not buying these again is that my phone and Kindle both got rid of the headphone jack unfortunately so it's time to move on to wireless.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound!! Horrible Microphone.

MDR-XB950AP 19/06/2018 by compguyinslc (USA)

I try to use the headset for online meetings and while it doesn't bother me, the folks on the other end of the connection here phantom noises from across my room, loud pops, whistles, air movement, crazy echos and generally horrible sound.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/06/2018

Hi compguyinslc, We're sorry to hear that you're having sound issues with the headphones. Kindly check on these links for troubleshooting steps to help isolate the issue:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00024605
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00086441
~Ralph

0

Micro and remote doesn't work with Oneplus2 phone

MDR-XB950AP 18/06/2018 by AUREL15 (USA)

Satisfied by the quality of the sound and the insulation bring by the earings, i'm disapoited by the remote and the micro wich doesn't work on my smartphone (Oneplus2 with Android). I downloaded the apps recommended by Sony but it still unsuccessful. My previous Headphones with micro and remot worked very well on the same smartphone.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/06/2018

Hi AUREL15, Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/ ~Ralph

0

Best on the market

MDR-XB950AP 02/06/2018 by Stan Boschet (USA)

The only problem I had was my wife trying to yank them off my head while I was sleeping, the swivel part broke, but I have had them for a few years. Tried some b's they were not as comfortable, these things are amazing. Now I can't find them unless it's online which I don't want to wait. So please someone tell me where to get them in the 46835 area code.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Really great

MDR-XB950AP 21/04/2018 by Nathan Hu (USA)

Everything is great, however the swivels can stiffen or loosen very often.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Comfortable headphones

MDR-XB950AP 20/04/2018 by Si1966 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased these a fortnight ago and have been generally pleased with them. They are very comfortable and only started to cause slight problems after three and a half hours continuous wear (I do wear spectacles) but otherwise very comfortable. They are perhaps best suited to pop and rock music where rhythm and bass is key but generally less so with classical. They seem unfocused and muddy in the midrange and upper range and ‘distant’ somewhat here. They are labelled as ‘Extra Bass’ and they certainly deliver a bass heavy experience that will suit many, but those wanting a broader range of involvement through the mid and upper ranges are best, perhaps, to look (and listen) elsewhere.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great sound but poor quality

MDR-XB950AP 10/04/2018 by ChaunRenee (USA)

Just received these for my birthday on 4/4/2018, loved the sound and comfort. Today 4/10/2018 i go to work out and when i began to put them on the right side ear cushion fell off, looks like the pin connecter that holds the swivel joint fell out. After reading additional reviews from others who have purchased this product this seems to be par for the course with Sony and their headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/04/2018

Hello ChaunRenee, we certainly empathize with your frustration and disappointment and we thank you for bringing us this attention. Please allow us to help you and turn this into a better experience. You can contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address and phone number. Thank you, _Bob

0

Great head phones

MDR-XB950AP 14/12/2017 by BA 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these to replace mine that broke fantastic value brilliant sound good value.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Headphones

MDR-XB950AP 13/12/2017  (USA)

Great Headphones with nice and deep bass. Nice and crisp sound. perfect for musik and games. Cheap for the quality you get.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

One of Sony's premier headphones

MDRXB950AP 13/12/2017 by D MITCH (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The headphones were given as a gift. I enjoy the sound.quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect

MDR-XB950AP 10/12/2017 by pele1950 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The wife is happy now. I can have music as loud as I like and she can’t hear a thing. Nice snug fit on the ears with an easily adjustable headband. Good sound with a mute button.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Headphones

MDR-XB950AP 27/08/2017 by Fleetwood (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the product three weeks, I don't receive any noise complaints from my partner.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

BLOWN AWAY

MDRXB950AP/H 30/06/2017 by Tony Bless (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a music lover & a music artist. These headphones are as incredible with sound as they are in style. I could not be happier with the wireless efficiency and the style is a standout in today's world of "everyone wears Beats headphones."

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Headphones - Excellent Bass

MDR-XB950AP 30/05/2017 by japanesegardens2017 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased that I bought the Product. I use them regularly at the Gym.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Not a patch on my old Sony headphones

MDR-XB950AP 17/05/2017 by Big Vern (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My old Sony MDR XB500 are far better than these one's, the MDR XB950 have way too much bass, I love bass but the bass overwhelms the mid range and top end.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Bass quality is extraordinary

MDR-XB950AP 28/04/2017 by Riggerss (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this prodect a while back, and have been using it regularly. Constantly testing it with differant genres of music and equalizers. I love this product, its sleek black design just shows what a true beast it is. I'm interested in a lot of music which involves bass and I think these headphones suit me well!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Superior Sound Quality

MDRXB950AP 10/04/2017 by Rucifer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

These headphones offer superior sound quality that can be adjusted to any listening preference and manipulated to anyone's liking. I listed to lots of different types of music and am very picky about sound and do lots of running and gym workouts for hours on end and rely on great audio quality to keep my experience enjoyable. While listening to Hip Hop or R&B these offer some amazing Bass Quality and crisp treble and when im in the mood to listen to heavier styles of music (Metal, Pop Punk) the sound is VERY deep and crisp and overall these headphones RULE! Not to mention they aren't too tight but manage to stay on my head while i run with no issue and they are the most soft, comfortable over the ear headphones i have owned.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

Very good

MDR-XB950AP 13/03/2017 by Puddy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good product,very comfortable to use .Over ears phones cut out 99.9 percent off out side noise.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

There are better products in this price range

MDR-XB950AP 09/03/2017 by Mhdabbasi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

No volume button on the cord just a pause/play which is not convenient. Bass is okay. No noise cancellation at all. Everyone around you will clearly hear your music specially if you're on a train during rush hours. If this is what you chose after searching among all other headphones, keep searching, you can find a better quality within this price range. I'm going to return mine as well. The main drawbacks are no volume control, no noise cancellation, you can play your music for everyone on the train, not loud enough sometimes. If none of these things are not important to you, you'll enjoy listening to your music. It's clear, comfortable and bass is good but not the best.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

4

0

Very good sound quality... I like extra bass.

MDR-XB950AP 28/02/2017 by ironmick67 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these for PC gaming and music. It's perfect for both!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very good sound and quality.

MDR-XB950AP 15/02/2017 by bgabi74 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and am so happy... Very good sound quality... I like extra bass... This is the best electronic music, techno music headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic Headphones!

MDR-XB950AP 24/01/2017 by Liam96 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these to use whilst I watch movies on my laptop, and I am so impressed with the sound quality, they give a real 'Cinema sound' experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great bass - excellent comfortable headphones.

MDR-XB950AP 16/01/2017 by Apokrema (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product. Only thing I would add is volume up/down controls.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Just the job !

MDR-XB950AP 16/01/2017 by Lady A (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Incompatible bedtime so I bought a long lead to connect to TV so as not to disturb "him upstairs"

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Headphones

MDR-XB950AP 01/01/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these phones two weeks ago. Very pleased with them. Superb sound boosted by the Extra Bass facility. Very comfortable and the design is good too. Good value for money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Epic!

MDR-XB950AP 25/09/2016 by Eggygeggy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Epic bass and clear other tones. V, v comfortable and pretty good noise isolation and seriously good value for money. BTW they look quite big!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Decent headphones, good sound

MDR-XB950AP 25/09/2016 by alex0264 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been using these for the best part of a year now. The fact they are over ear headphones makes them comfortable to wear for extended periods. Sound wise they are very good, quite intense on the low frequencies, but if you have an equaliser that's easily sorted. Cable could be longer, but the fact its flat reduces the likelihood of it getting tangled. Only extra thing that would have been nice is some sort of carry case/pouch.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

7

0

Not too shabby.

MDR-XB950AP 11/09/2016 by Horatio (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Positives: - Good bass, not too painful. - Crisp Highs. - Most genres sound good with the bass focus. - Very comfortable. Negitives: - Low-mids are sludgy, mixed into the bass. - Voice cannot be heard when wearing these headphones, even though they are not specifically noise cancelling.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

4

0

Sound is amazing, extremely comfortable to wear

MDR-XB950AP 21/07/2016 by Djmasterz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought these headphones about 2 weeks ago, worth the money.. My best buy so far

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0