169

3.3 based on 169 customer reviews

64
28
21
13
43
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great sound!

MDRXB950B1/B 19/06/2017 by Rugerdabullmastiff (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got a pair of these and so far I am very pleased with the sound quality, the bass is great, and crystal clear sound. Connected to my phone right out of the box. Had a pair of Beats x for a day and the crackled non stop, Dre needs to stick to making raps period. Thanks Sony 30 + years and still my choice for sound quality!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good Sound Quality. Cheap Construction.

MDR-XB950B1 17/12/2018 by kgoods (USA)

Initially, I loved these headphones. The sound was good, the bluetooth worked well and the battery lasted for multiple long flights. I took care of them because of the price (kept them in a cloth bag when not in use and never put weight on them). However, as you can see in the photo, the cheap plastic that holds the sides to the band has broken on me more than once. The first crack was a small one and I was able to fix it with glue. However, just removing these headphones from your head is enough pressure for the plastic to crack and break. Don't waste your money, you will only be let down. I love many Sony products, but this will sway me to look at other brands for my next pair.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

169 Customer Reviews

0

Good but...

MDR-XB950B1 08/01/2020 by dewdew (USA)

this is a great headphone with long battery life and great bass; however, the hinge tends to break easily and there is no replacement parts for it which is a letdown.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/01/2020

Hi, dewdew!

We are sorry to hear that the hinge was broken. Let's see how we can be of assistance. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Amazon Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

Good Head Phones but...

MDR-XB950B1 02/01/2020 by OscarA98 (USA)

I bought these a few months ago and they were great. I used them to go to the Gym, and at school when in the library. But one day a little plastic piece that acts sort of like a hinge broke. They still seem to work but I want really use them. Is there anything I could do? Do they come with a Warranty?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awful design, terrible sound

MDR-XB950B1 25/12/2019 by Notimpressed4242 (USA)

Low end, low shelf, thoughtless design that you pay a premium for. The user experience was not considered in the making of this product. The buttons are anything but intuitive. It is difficult to connect to Bluetooth. There's a blue flashing LED light that makes wearing them in the dark out of the question. The sound quality is subpar. Yeah there's lots of vibration in replacement of bass response, but the speakers sound like a non-profane word for terrible. I wouldn't give these headphones away, and I won't give Sony another $300 chance.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

Response From Sony Social Support
27/12/2019

Hello, Notimpressed4242!


We value your opinion and we would like to apologize if our product did not meet your expectations.


~Zac

0

Good for listening in long lengths at a time

MDR-XB950B1 19/12/2019 by ACstokes (USA)

I have had these for about a year now and I love them. They let you customize echo and base effects which is great for listening to music but really shines when playing computer games at long lengths at a time. When playing certain games, explosions, gunshots, or any action like collapsing buildings and large engines in vehicles have booming bass to them which sound great and makes games much more immersive. This statement can also apply to movies as well. Two down sides is that this specific model of headphones are very prone to breaking because of the bulkiness and that it is made mostly of plastic, even the pivot joints are made of plastic and those can break very easily as I can speak from experience. So be careful with them and they will serve you for a long time.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Awesome Headphones but Cheap Quality of the Plasti

MDR-XB950B1 18/12/2019 by Christopher E (USA)

I've had these headphones for about 3 years now but about 6 months ago, but both of the plastic pieces on at each ear cup broke right where it Y's off from the swivel mechanism to connect to the ear cup. These headphones have great sound quality and are very comfortable to wear. The battery life is amazing (mine last about 16 hours). I would love to buy another pair but am very hesitant due to the poor quality of the plastic. I dont' want to spend ~$150 for another pair only to last me 2 years.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/12/2019

Hi, Christopher!

We're sorry to hear about this. We recommend contacting our Authorized service center to help you further with this concern. Please visit https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/service?language=en_US

Regards,
Sam

0

Five years later & still going strong!

MDR-XB950B1 16/12/2019 by RickyTicky (USA)

I first purchased these back in 2014 and hasn't let me down once! They still work exactly how I got them brand new 5 years ago! I bought these with good budget and sound in mind as I hate buying audio products that don't always work as advertised. These on the other hand, the best purchase I've made in headphones in years! I'm active duty and have taken these on three deployments (Middle East, Africa and Asia) so far and they still handled the abuse of being tossed around in bags since we can be rough on our gear. They are a little bulky when doing physical activities like running or lifting weights in the gym but I still managed. I'm definitely going to get another 5 years out of these the way they've been treating me. Hopefully they'll last even longer. Definitely still a good buy at the end of 2019 if you can still find these floating around in stores. You won't be disappointed and I can promise you that. Sony, you've done well on these!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Suck! Don't bother

MDR-XB950B1 09/12/2019 by Craig21 (USA)

I've had these for less than a year.. i can't get them to charge. i cant get them to reset.. don't waste your money on these headphones..

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/12/2019

Hello, Craig21!

We're sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you. let's try to isolate the issue by performing some troubleshooting steps on the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-bluetooth-headphones/mdr-xb950b1/articles/00009257

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Good sound, poor build quality

MDR-XB950B1 08/12/2019 by Johnnydave2000 (USA)

I got these as a Christmas gift and used them daily for the better part of the year when one of the plastic arms holding the speaker cups broke. I was able to glue it back together and then it broke a few days later in two other places. They do, however have an interface that I vastly prefer to any other headphones I've tried recently.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/12/2019

Hi, Johnnydave2000!

We regret to hear about this. We would like to know more about this issue and help you out. For further assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Great Sound and Comfort...Design needs work

MDR-XB950B1 06/12/2019 by Dezman (USA)

I got these headphones as a birthday gift. I have had them for about a year now. 100% pleased with the sound quality. I love headphones that give me the full sound spectrum, especially bass. These headphones meet every expectation on sound, comfort, and battery life. The are comfortable enough to sleep in, and the battery truly lasts for 20+ hours. And the charge time is only about an hour or two for full charge. The down side...design. I noticed a crack near the swivel of the left couple a few months into using them. About three months ago, the swivel broke. I found that this was common. Several people have posted how to fix videos on YouTube. I hate to get rid of them because the sound still works, but I can’t use them for my workouts anymore. Overall I am disappointed. $200 should be worth higher quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/12/2019

Hi, Dezman!

We appreciate providing us your feedback about the headphones' sound quality. But we regret that the swivel has a crack. To further help you with your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:



Erin

0

Headphones

MDR-XB950B1 16/11/2019 by Dames (United Kingdom)

Had them nearly a year now think I’m gonna get the in ear ones now.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I love these things man!

MDR-XB950B1 12/11/2019 by Steezin (USA)

These head phones are awesome. I bought them from an department store two months ago or so. I wanted to reach out and ask is there an warranty that comes with these ? The headphone its self and the head rest have disconnected and are hanging by the wire that connects them. Any advice would be awesome. Thank You!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great Sound

MDR-XB950B1 10/11/2019  (USA)

This was given to me for Christmas in 2017 and one of the best gifts I’ve ever received. pros: very long battery life, great sound (for everyday and professional use), easy to use, very comfortable cons: kind of heavy, band started to stretch after a year bc of constant use, padding around ears started to shred/flake (I don’t recommend using them while sweating/working out) Overall I haven’t had any problems with it and it’s more durable than other people have been saying. I’d probably have it for much longer than just 2 years if I hadn’t lost it recently.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/11/2019

Hello, bradfordswoody! We're sorry to hear what happened. We will surely take note of your feedback and use it to improve our products and services. Thank you so much for your time in giving us this feedback and for trusting Sony! - Romeo

0

BT Transmitter Quit working

MDR-XB950B1 02/11/2019 by Sony user11 (USA)

Something happened to the Bluetooth transmitting device. It keeps blinking when charged and does not work. I have to let it blink until it stops having a charge. Need a new one. Only lasted a few months.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
04/11/2019

Hello, Sony user11!

We regret to hear about this experience, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details so we can help you out:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:



Sincerely,

Zac
Sony Social Support

0

the stopped working

MDR-XB950B1 20/10/2019 by rokolio (USA)

I got them a few months ago and after like 20 days they stopped getting charged I knew something was wrong as there was no light while they were connected and they eventually ran out of charge to never come on again, there is no info online and pushing Bass + Power does nothing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/10/2019

Hi, rokolio!

We do apologize for the inconvenience. Please try to charge the headphones using a different USB cable.

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
[Insert platform name] Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
 

Sincerely,
David

0

DO NOT BUY!

MDR-XB950B1 04/10/2019 by JBEBE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have barely used them and the head band connecting to the ear part has snapped on one side. They are still in warranty but its going to cost £100 to get them fixed. Thats more than a new pair!!!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

1

0

Really Good Headphones, Build Quality ehhh

MDR-XB950B1 01/10/2019 by SimpleGuy45 (USA)

these headphones have lasted me since November 2017 and still continue to work. The only problems i have is the headphones slowly wear and tear, the biggest is the headphones rotational area, the parts start to chip and crack or the rotational piece breaks all together and hangs. This happen with my last on ear bass boosted Sonys. If you want these headphones, I recommend them, if parts break or crack, they are CHEAP to replace, you can buy parts on ebay and amazon or third party websites. If you are a person that bangs around their headphones a lot, i don’t recommend them for you. If you just sit in class or are going on car rides etc, i would recommend. They do leak sound a good amount and the ear-cups are so comfortable they lasted me on a 15 hour flight to Australia. But in all great headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/10/2019

Hello, SimpleGuy45! We're sorry to hear about what happened. We will surely take note of your feedback to improve the quality of our products. Thank you so much for your appreciation and time sharing with us your experience. - Romeo

0

Broke in 2 months

MDR-XB950B1 09/09/2019  (USA)

These things are horrible. I paid $150 to listen to music for two months. I won't buy from sony again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/09/2019

Hi, WillGarland!

We regret to hear about what happened. For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Website Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

One of our technical specialists will call you back within 2 business days.

Sincerely,

Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

Great sound poor structure

MDR-XB950B1 06/09/2019 by NickA1039582 (USA)

Was very excited about these headphones and the sound quality was better than anything I’d previously had but the connector from the overhead band to the actual earphones part snaps almost immediately after purchasing. Unfortunately these were very expensive, hopefully the newer Sony headphones fix the poor design.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Response From Sony Social Support
10/09/2019

Hello, NickA1039582!

We regret to hear about this experience, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details so we can help you out:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,

Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Great sound bad design!

MDR-XB950B1 19/08/2019 by riamia77 (USA)

We bought these for my son in May for his birthday, he was afraid to use them as every day ear phones bc they are so expensive. I wanted to show him not to worry, they weren't cheap and SONY, (who make very durable products) they can handle that type of use. So I started using them myself. But a few days later...they broke! Both sides! At the same time in the same spots! Now that I read the reviews I'm not surprised. Everyone seems to have the same issue. Hopefully SONY you guys fix this issue. These earphones are way too expensive for them to snap that easy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/08/2019

Hi, riamia77!

We are sorry to hear what happened. For further assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Date of Purchase:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,

Erin

0

Just make sure to get a warrenty

MDR-XB950B1 17/08/2019 by Logan M (USA)

I got mine from Best Buy and all I have to say is while it did last a good amount of use for almost a year, they used plastic hinges to allow full turning of the ear pieces. These are easily breakable saddly. They did last 8 months, and for those 8 months they did provide good sound quality (Obviously not the best due to 5.1 speaksers), the microphone quality was a hit or miss for me. The real thing about these are going to be the bass boosting effect, that works amazing about these, and their battery life will at least stay up for a day or two of fairly consistant use. The only other thing I do have to gripe about is going to be the choice in audio cables. 3.5mm isnt bad, but they require you to use their 3.5mm audio cables. I would prefer to be able to get extensions or something when it does come to this, but all others that have much more solid construction on the ends and connectors will not fit into the headphones deep enough to have both ears going, allowing only one ear use if you do use a different audio cable.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/08/2019

Hi, Logan!

We appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you!

~Earl

0

Great product

MDR-XB950B1 25/07/2019 by Jord19 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Happy with the headphones, great bass and good sound isolation.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great features but broke in less than a year

MDRXB950B1/B 21/07/2019 by Happy756 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Worked great but the whole earpiece broke off at the pivot point

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/07/2019

Hi, Happy756!

I understand that your mdrxb950b1 is having issues with breakage. For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Amazon Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,

Earl
Sony Social Support

0

Not good

MDR-XB950B1 14/07/2019 by IsaacBeast (USA)

Overall this product is not sturdy for me I've had two of these headphones and I both had to get them replaced by Sony and it takes so long for them to ship back through headphones is happened to me two times like I said and it's kind of annoying if you get what I mean guys so if you guys are looking to buy those you're looking into reviews that don't buy them that's just me there a good price they have good drivers if you know what that is a good sound everything is good on them it's just that the build quality is not that good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/07/2019

Hi, IsaacBeast! We apologize if the unit did not meet your expectations. We appreciate the time you have taken giving us this feedback and will actively use it to improve our product and services. Thanks! - Romeo


0

Good Sound Quality, Durability/Design lacking

MDR-XB950B1 10/07/2019 by JonathanT (USA)

I had these headphones for about a year, and the sound of them was great. However, they broke just like in other people's reviews, by the ear cup, hanging by the wire The look of ear cups were a little too big for my taste, and they aren't comfortable for long periods of time. However, they're still comfortable for shorter periods of time. Overall a good product, just lacking in some fields.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/07/2019

Hi, JonathanT!

We're sorry to hear what happened. To further help you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:



Erin

0

Great Sound- Poor Quality Product

MDR-XB950B1 08/07/2019 by thestanley610 (USA)

I bought 2 pairs of these headphones for my daughters for Christmas. Both are very responsible and treat their electronics with extreme care. After only a few months, the earpiece on one pair has broken off and only the wire remains. Very disappointed since they were quite expensive.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/08/2019

Hi, thestanley610!

We are sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. For further assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,

Erin

0

Good sound but bad construction

MDR-XB950B1 17/06/2019 by woosamseo (USA)

I bought this for my son less than three months ago as a gift and the earpiece has broken off and is only hanging by a wire. He treats this product very well because the sound quality and the price. He barely brings it places and does not even place them in bags in fear of possibly crushing them. Other than the sound being very good, he has said that it felt loose when he was putting them on and then they suddenly broke.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/06/2019

Hi woosamseo, we are sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Erin

0

Disappointing

MDR-XB950B1 12/06/2019 by H333 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Found the ear pieces far too large and bulky for my use.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awful Design

MDR-XB950B1 10/06/2019 by cbelden (USA)

Bought these for my son - he not only is a huge music fan but composes and uses software to produce music. We thought when the first pair broke it was a defect - guess what no defect - the second pair did the same thing in less time. My son does not abuse these since he loves the sound - he is very careful with them and the same thing still happened.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/06/2019

Hi cbelden, we are sorry to hear that the second pair broke. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details for further assistance:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Date of Purchase:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Erin

0

Great sound, battery life disappointing.

MDR-XB950B1 12/05/2019 by Carter A (USA)

I have always avoided Sony's audio products, because they were notorious for being inferior. For the past 10 years or more I've went with Skullcandy headphones, which I love, but my retailer was sold out. However, I saw these in stock and decided to give them a try. I am more than pleased with the overall quality of the product. Great sound quality and bass. VERY comfortable. Just a few warning from my experience for all you consumers... battery life is up to 18 hours; based on a lower volume setting with the EXTRA BASS effect off. With it on and high volume, you'd be looking at 8 hours. Also, the higher audio frequencies (treble) are a little quieter than I'd like, but other than that... impressed with Sony.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Bad Sound Level Control

MDR-XB950B1 14/04/2019 by Sony551 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The only problem with these is the fact the sound level goes from too quite to too loud in one press of the volume up button, it's as if it goes up two levels instead of one.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

fragility or durability!

MDR-XB950B1 12/04/2019 by Riojul4 (USA)

I bought these headphones over two years ago and they were working great for me and I loved the sound, the blue looks, and the comfort. Really sad though that the hinge just broke when I (a careful person) was about to put them on normally and they cracked! I and I bought these thinking they were the best at this price point for me. Was disappointed and hopefully Sony can look into this FOR SURE manufacturing defect. Thank you.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

8

1

Response From Sony Social Support
12/04/2019

Hi Riojul4,

We're sorry that you have an issue with your SONY product.
We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name, your contact details and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you.

Regards,
Earl
Sony Social Support

0

Loved the headphones, but they are fragile!!

MDR-XB950B1 09/04/2019 by haris95 (USA)

I bought these headphones over two years ago and they were working great for me and I loved the sound, the blue looks, and the comfort. Really sad though that the hinge just broke when I (a careful person) was about to put them on normally and they cracked! I had them in a case always and they never had an issue, but I didn't listen to the previous reviews warning of the fragility or durability! I thought it wouldn't happen to me so I took the risk and bought these thinking they were the best at this price point for me. Was disappointed and hopefully Sony can look into this FOR SURE manufacturing defect. Thank you.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

Response From Sony Social Support
11/04/2019

Hi haris95, We are sorry to hear about what happened. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you.

0

Loved the bass

MDR-XB950B1 02/04/2019 by DJpritto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

One of the best product of sony I have ever bought. Loved the bass, Comfort, and the huge battery life. Thank you sony for such a beautiful product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0