215

4.1 based on 215 customer reviews

129
36
15
12
23
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Don't second guess.. BUY

MDRXB950BT/B 07/11/2014 by Jmell (USA)

I don't consider myself an audiophile by any means, but I do appreciate good music clarity. For working out I use a pair of earbuds, outside of the gym I wanted a good over the ear set. So I bought the new Beats Studio Wireless, and took them right back into the store after listening to them in my car. They're overpriced, cheap, and just not worth it. The next day I did some research and came across these. The extra bass alone almost sold me. BestBuy had them on display, but weren't working but I bought them anyway. And I don't know how I ever used another pair of headphones. Absolutely amazing. The extra bass does create sound bleed, but it really is that much extra bass. You can feel the drivers shake. Depending what you listen to, and what preset you have on your phone ( I use PowerAmp for Android on Treble), the extra bass may make the vocals distorted, but its very little. Then once you switch the priority to Sound Quality, you won't want to take them off. The NFC works flawless everytime, and you get pretty good range. Working out in them they do slide, but that's not what they were meant for. If you want the absolute best quality, build, with great wireless connection, these headphones have it all. $400 Beats.. to these for $175.. It's no contest. Just buy them

26

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great sound! Lacks Durability

MDRXB950BT/B 30/03/2018 by NKWB98 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have purchased 2 pairs of these headphones. The sound is great but the plastic attachment from the headband to the speakers is not good quality. The attachment has broke on both pairs I purchased

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

216 Customer Reviews

0

Absolutley Phenomenal

MDR-XB950BT 18/10/2018 by nicknick3133 (USA)

I have owned these headphones for over two years now and I have to say... Wow! Never once in those two years have I had a problem with these headphones. Also besides from a few marks from me dropping the headphones, they are in amazing condition (near new) for being used everyday for multiple hours. Overall, great headphones, would recommend, and totally worth the price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound, but breaks quickly

MDR-XB950BT 17/10/2018 by HagayV (USA)

I bought 2 sets, for myself and my son. The sound quality is great, but the parts are very weak. I broke the swivel hanger twice. I ordered replacement parts from 3rd party parts resellers and replaced them myself. Each time the parts were weaker than the original. The broken swivel hanger seems like a common problem with these headphones. If you already know this part breaks often, can't you just design this part stronger, with more plastic, or with reinforcement? The replacement parts look like copies, but they are not cheap. How can I order an original Sony part?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/10/2018

Hi HagayV, Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. We highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/. ~Ralph

0

Great Sound, Terrible Build Quality

MDR-XB950BT 14/10/2018 by devin1078 (USA)

I bought these headphones just over a year ago. They had great sound and were the first headphones I used that had bluetooth capabilities. I bought a hard case for these headphones and always put them in after use. Then after using them one day I noticed that the hinge had cracked and quickly went to see if others had the same issue. It turns out that most people have their headphones crack in the exact spot my headphones cracked at. This leads me to believe that this is a defect in the design of the headphones and I am disappointed that headphones that cost this much have such poor build quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/10/2018

Hi devin1078,

We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name, your contact details and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you.

Regards,
Zac

0

Sony Headphones Connect App on iPhone

MDR-XB950BT 05/10/2018 by Montediat (USA)

I just bought this headphone from newegg and unfortunately they did not impress me because their poor programming technology. Here's what I'm experiencing: 1. Sony Headphones Connect App does not discover the headphone in the bluetooth setting menu. 2. The App keeps searching continuously without finding the headphone even if it is connected to the iPhone bluetooth and it shows up on the notification area. 3. When connecting it the iPhone (ex. iPhone 7), the headphone does not control the volume level of the phone. I have to turn up the volume of the iPhone then adjust the headphone's volume to the desired tune. While in Windows 10 it successfully connected with no issued via bluetooth and controls the volume better than in iPhone. I hope this get resolved in the next products.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great Sound, Durability not as great

MDR-XB950BT 17/09/2018 by ImBadAtNames (USA)

Sounds absolutely amazing, but I had to buy a new pair twice because the hinges kept getting loose, so if you buy them be really careful with them and they'll do you great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound!!! Terrible poor quality

MDR-XB950BT 06/09/2018 by mrRona (USA)

The material used to make joints on this product is poor quality. It has great sound, comfortable, great design, very easy to use. All those features mean nothing if the headphones just snap off with normal use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/09/2018

Hi mrRona, thanks for bringing this up and we apologize for the inconvenience. Please reach us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with your concern so we can further assist you. Please also include your contact and product information. We will do our best to help. Regards, ^Ron

0

the hangers suck

MDR-XB950BT 27/08/2018 by boo urns (USA)

the hangers for the speakers are the worst part of these headphones. and replacement parts are expensive. and blu tooth connection starts to suck after awhile too. useing gurilla glue till the just die now. good for the bass. warm in winter, bloody hot to use during the summer

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/08/2018

Hi boo urns,

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! ~Zac

0

Hinge breaks

MDR-XB950BT 15/08/2018 by Ben T (USA)

I purchased this headset about three years ago. While the sound qualify is excellent (I really like the added bass), the hinge assembly that holds the ear pieces are made of plastic and breaks where the screws are after some use. See Photo. In my case, both (not just one) but BOTH hinges that hold the R and L earpieces broke off on TWO separate occasions. The first time the right piece broke off, I ordered parts and repaired it. After another year of use, the left piece broke. I then decided that I've had it with Sony products. Never again. Also, it is interesting to note that a friend of mine incidentally bought the same headset Christmas last year and I warned him of the design flaw of this headphone. Soon enough, he came back to me about a month ago and told me the hinge broke on his headset exactly as I warned him, right along where the screws are. This is a design flaw that needs to be addressed. The hinge assembly which is subject to stress while wearing the headphones become fatigued over time and will break.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/08/2018

Hello Ben T, we regret that the headphones failed to meet your expectations and we thank you for taking the time in writing us an honest feedback. I can assure you that your feedback will be brought to the attention of a relevant department for further improvements. Once again, thank you for your input.
Regards, _Bob

0

Softish sound

MDR-XB950BT 13/08/2018 by trappedbehindthelens (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love that it stays on for my workouts but the sound quality is a bit too soft. Great bass booster but the product when im in the gym makes my ears sweaty which isnt great for working out.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Song, Awful Plastic Constuction

MDR-XB950BT 08/08/2018 by SDMaddScientist (USA)

I received these for my birthday and the plastic piece between the ear piece and the headband snapped in two when taking these bad boys off. The sound is amazing and I am stoked that they still work but it's unfortunate that they now have packing tape on the left side to hold the ear piece on. Thank you, Sony, for a mediocre warranty and a subpar build quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/08/2018

Hi SDMaddScientist, we regret to hear what happened. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including your case number, my name and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you. Regards, Erin

0

Wonderful listening experience

MDR-XB950BT 14/07/2018 by SaadTareen (USA)

Amazing quality of sound that lets you immerse in the music

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best headphones I’ve ever had.

MDR-XB950BT 03/07/2018 by AmericanInJapan (USA)

I never post reviews. Ever. But I love these headphones so much that I am compelled to go out of my way on a Tuesday to let everyone know how much I love these dang things. They sound great. They feel great. The Bluetooth feature works great. I use these bad boys at home, work, school, and even when I work out (they’re very easy to clean). Their ability to suppress outside noise is so great that I even use these things to sleep and study. I LOVE THEM. There are only two issues I’ve ever had with these headphones: 1. Occasionally when I connect these headphones to my iPhone, I’ll have to close and reopen the music app or disconnect and reconnect my headphones to get the sound to switch from the iPhone speaker to the headphones. Now, there could easily be an issue with my iPhone and not the headphones, but I thought I’d bring it up anyway. 2. The final issue I’ve had is being unable to use these headphones as they’re charging. This isn’t a major inconvenience for me whatsoever, just a minor problem I’ve noticed. Overall, if you’re looking for an alternative to Beats headphones, you e found them. These headphones easily rival Beats in quality while being much more affordable. I’m very pleased with my headphones and will certainly buy from Sony again when the time comes.i

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sound is great, headphone quality is lacking.

MDR-XB950BT 19/06/2018 by vfcox73 (USA)

I purchased 2 sets of these headphones in 2 different colors. The sound is great for them but after about a year, the first set's ear piece broke on the hinge when turning it. Sony replaced it but the replacement set broke within a few months. The second set I originally purchased also broke after a little more than a year of very occasional usage. The quality is very poor for the price spent on these headphones and now we are unable to use them. I would not recommend spending your money on them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/06/2018

Hi vfcox73, We regret to hear that it didn't live up to your expectations. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. For further assistance, please reach us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include your case number so we can review your file. ~Ralph

0

Great Bass

MDR-XB950BT 01/06/2018 by Peiguy (USA)

I bought these headphones and I underestimated how great the bass was going to be

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

They WILL break on you

MDR-XB950BT 09/05/2018 by phoenician6 (USA)

I purchased two sets of these headphones. Initially I was ecstatic about my purchase. They are some of the best sounding headphones ive ever heard. Excellent battery life, comfortable on the head. they look nice too. The problem? The plastic breaks! The swivel area, the hanger, you name it. if its plastic, its going to break. And both sets have broken the exact same way. The first time it happened (I was out of warranty) I fixed it with epoxy. Then the other side broke. Fixed with epoxy, then another un-epoxied side breaks. Then the swivel portion breaks. I truly am contemplating epoxying any moving part and corner to strengthen any weak points so im not left without headphones again until I can save enough to buy a different brand and pair. Im severely disappointed and this is a common problem so im not the only one. Replacement parts are available but whats the point if its just going to break again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/05/2018

Hi phoenician6,

We are very sorry for the inconvenience this has caused, please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include your product details and contact information and let us see how we can be of assistance.

0

Breaks easily

MDRXB950BT/B 08/05/2018 by alf_ (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A year ago, wiring inside broke, resoddered the thin cable back into place. Now, plastic hinge broke, and now bluetooth only works out of one speaker.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/05/2018

Hi alf_,

We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with this unit, Rest assured that your feedback will not go unseen and will be directed to the proper department. We place a very high value on feedback from our customers because it allows us to continue to improve.

0

3 years and still great

MDR-XB950BT 07/05/2018 by PCastro187 (USA)

I take very good care of my electronics and I gotta say this headphone is probably my best pair they still sound great after 3 years and they see use 3 to 5 times a week sometimes. I take them on trips on the plane I’ve been to a lot of places with those headphones and they are my suitcase for long hours and it can get pretty hot so the reliability is there and did I mention they still sound great?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Billy

MDR-XB950BT 29/04/2018 by Billyraja (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this with three week before and I m very happy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Love these headphones

MDRXB950BT/B 14/04/2018 by Peterroll24 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for headphones and I purchased these wireless stereo headphones I’m love with them I love the extra bass

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent quality

MDRXB950BT/R 07/04/2018 by JJackson (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was give to me as a gift. It has to be one of Sony's best product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing Sound

MDR-XB950BT 02/04/2018 by Dashobie (USA)

The Bass is Great, Vocals Very clear, Mid-range just perfect.I'm use to listening to Stay Electrostatic Headphones so I have heard the best.These come so close it's unbelievable

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound! Lacks Durability

MDRXB950BT/B 30/03/2018 by NKWB98 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have purchased 2 pairs of these headphones. The sound is great but the plastic attachment from the headband to the speakers is not good quality. The attachment has broke on both pairs I purchased

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/04/2018

Hi NKWB98, we regret to hear what happened. Please allow us to help you and make this a better experience. You can contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com. -Erin

0

Great sound, lacking physical quality

MDR-XB950BT 21/03/2018 by Thedyolf (USA)

I'll start with the positive side. The audio quality is good. Just a little on the silent side but in general it's quality is good. I bought the product about a year ago, and used it over 3000 hours currently. I've been handling the product very carefully. There is an insane misbuild in this product, because the earbuds in general tend to move outwards, the hard plastic is there to counter this. The plastic is a very thin piece which take a lot of pressure. So about a month ago both sides of my headphones started breaking in the exact same way. I tried fixing it with duct tape wich was a temporary solution, now about a month later, more pieces of plastic started breaking. Fixing it with duct tape can't handle the pressure of the head anymore so both my earbuds start sticking outwards (see photo). The earphone does not close off anymore Wich makes it very noisy for my surroundings. Furthermore the quality goes down because the increase of noise caused by e.g. wind or surrounding areas. I'm a student in physics and electrical engineering and so save up quite a while to buy this product. Currently I walk around with a semi-working and ugly taped product. I would recommend this product only if using shorter than 3000 hours. If planning to use this product quite a lot. Consider a different product since this one is simply not made for it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/03/2018

Hi Thedyolf, greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. We highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.
Regards, _Bob

0

Excellent Sound, Good Build

MDR-XB950BT 19/03/2018 by Anonymous12 (USA)

I've had these over a year now. A few months ago the swivel join broke and I super-glued it, and it lasted. But a couple days ago, the earpiece popped off and I'm unable to get back on. Better than some videos, but I wish it didn't break so easly.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good sound. Swivel join very fragile

MDRXB950BT/B 13/03/2018 by CTRocket (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Loved the sound and appearance of the headset. It fell off the table once and broke at the swivel join holder.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/03/2018

Hello CTRocket, we're sorry to hear that and we regret to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations. For repair options, kindly visit the link below:
https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/service.pl
Regards, _Bob

0

Break ridiculously easily, a known problem

MDR-XB950BT 07/03/2018 by MGinSF (USA)

Weak attachment point to earpieces - this headphone broke in 8 months of light use. Numerous online complaints.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/03/2018

Hi MGinSF,


We are very sorry for the inconvenience this has caused. Please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including your product and contact details and let us see how we can be of assistance.


Thanks,
Zac

0

Awesome sound, VERY POOR BUILD QUALITY

MDR-XB950BT 05/03/2018 by dgrant85 (USA)

I bought these headphones and had to get replacement for plastic on earphone breaking and within 3 months, the replacements broke as well. I love these headphones but refuse to buy another until build quality is metal.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/03/2018

Hi dgrant85, we're sorry to hear that. We want to hear more from you. Please reach us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include your reference number so we can take a closer look at your file.
Thanks, _Bob

0

Poor Quality

MDR-XB950BT 27/02/2018 by Mallik (USA)

I used it for 3 months and one day while adjusting the ear piece the swivel broke. It was not accidental nor mishandling, it just broke. Poor quality material used.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/02/2018

Hi Mallik,


We are sorry for any inconvenience you had experienced, Please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including your product and contact details and let us see how we can be of assistance.


Regards,
Zac

0

Disappointing

MDR-XB950BT 21/02/2018 by dfern00 (USA)

I bought these headphone with great intentions of them being great, and at first they were but then they no longer charged or connected via bluetooth. I couldn't no longer use the extra bass option because I couldn't use the headphones wirelessly. They are great sounding just not what I wanted/expected.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/02/2018

Hi dfern00,


We're sorry to hear that you are having issues with your Headphones, You may follow the troubleshooting steps provided on the links below to isolate and fix the issue:

with regards to the charging issue, please follow:

https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/40773
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/31292

and about the Bluetooth issue, kindly check this link:

https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/41836

Thanks,
Zac

0

Badly designed swivel system

MDR-XB950BT 11/02/2018 by iBob (USA)

I have always liked Sony headsets and been using them for decades. I have 2 pairs of XB950BT Extra Bass have great sound, comfort and handy in the cold. The worst design ever when it comes to the swivel mechanics. I have 2 pairs that broke on the same spot. The screws and small plastic connections between the overhead handle and the speakers are incredible weak and cheap for something so expensive. Now I'm stuck with 2 pairs broken the same way

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/02/2018

Hi iBob,


Thanks for bringing this to our attention and our apologies for the inconvenience that this may have caused We will forward your information to the proper department.


We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.


Regards,
Zac

0

Best Headphones I've ever owned.

MDR-XB950BT 29/01/2018 by CookieMonstah (USA)

These are unquestionably the best headphones I've ever owned. They are light and comfortable and the bass is kick BUTT!!! The clarity is unreal at this price. I love them. Simply that.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Serial#

MDRXB950BT/B 22/01/2018 by billdez51 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Still can`t find the serial# of this thing!! Send photo of where it is.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Has great bass and overall decent quality sound

MDR-XB950BT 17/01/2018 by Miker89 (USA)

I bought these two years ago only in blue. They work great with all my Samsung devices and TVs. What I was looking for the most is a pair of headphones that can give you theater like quality without having to use my 7.2 surround sound system. they have exceeded that in that regard I'd use them while mowing lawn they were great for that. As long as you're careful then they won't break. The only downside is they don't work with my PS4. Great price great quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent pair! Please dont discontinue this model

MDR-XB950BT 09/01/2018 by Daunte (USA)

These were an excellent pair of headphones in every way but the durability. I was warned about the durability before I bought them so when I got them, I knew they were weak by the hinges so I was especially careful and one of the hinges still breaks. I still like these better than your newer model headphones and its a shame you are discontinuing this model. I will simply learn how to repair the hinges myself and order new hinges online because these headphones are worth working on to make it like new again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Would be 5-stars, but service response ruined it

MDR-XB950BT 04/01/2018 by Ben1662 (USA)

Great sound quality and very comfortable. I really enjoyed the blu-tooth aspect. But the reason I gave these a 1-star review is that they broke randomly one day in the gym. I was getting ready to workout and realized that a certain point of the headphones appeared weak. They then broke and the earcup became separated from the headset portion. I had a poor customer service experience that then prevented me from getting a resolve. Very frustrating. If I had a better experience getting them replaced, I would actually rate 5-stars. But I want others to be aware of the overall experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/01/2018

Hi Ben1662, we certainly empathize with your frustration and disappointment and we thank you for bringing us this attention. Please allow us to help you and turn this into a better experience. You can contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address, phone number and a reference number if any so we can check your file.
Thank you, _Bob

0

Amazing experience

MDR-XB950BT 30/12/2017 by AbZ_z_boSS (USA)

This was a great choice and was worth it. The bass booster works great with the app and feels like the real thing with the bass thumping

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great product!! Thanks Sony!

MDR-XB950BT 30/12/2017 by Sandychat (USA)

Love these headphones. I have always been a fan of sony headphones, esp for their superior base performance. This headphone takes it to the next level: control your bass while enjoying pretty much lossless music. I used to skeptical about wireless headphones because of the signal compression. well, not any more.....sound distortion is a thing of the past. Thanks science and Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Still my favorite

MDR-XB950BT 28/12/2017 by gasslp (USA)

I love it, but still can not understand WHY mute the music to play a'' beep '' when the high or low volume limit is reached!!!. come on guys ... just do not ever STOP the MUSIC, you should know that ..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Headsets!

MDR-XB950BT 25/12/2017 by PSANDPCGAMER (USA)

I got this for christmas and this headset is wonderful! I an tell you this its better than Beats! I buy Sony products all the time!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Absolutely Wonderful Sound for the Price!!!

MDR-XB950BT 12/12/2017 by Timmer (USA)

To get this kind of quality of sound in other brands you would have to pay a lot more. As are most Sony headphones, they perform well above their competition at every price point. These are my favorite headphones. The sound is very clear and has capacity to drive the bass when necessary due to the large driver. Please keep making these!!!! They are great! Durable design!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not compatible with PS4???

MDR-XB950BT 07/12/2017 by Braeden (USA)

Sounds great but there is no way I can use the bluetooth feature with my PS4 although they're the same brand, seriously sony??? This could probably be easily fixed with a software update and all I got from sony customer service was that "they aren't compatible". Please fix this issue or prepare to lose a longtime fan...

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

3

0

poorly finishing

MDR-XB950BT 30/11/2017 by wpoPR (USA)

I bought one year ago was when I traveled to the US. At that time I thought that was a good choice, first because related to Brazil, is cheap, second because the sound is really good. Now the sad story begins: the finishing is really, really weak. already broke 4 times. probably they never did the stress test. and for buy, a replacement piece is too expensive. I did many repairs on my own to try to avoid breaking again, without success.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/12/2017

Hi wpoPR, We are very sorry for your bad experience here. Please allow us to help you and make this a better experience. You can contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address, and phone number. Thank you. -Jay

0

Build quality...

MDR-XB950BT 21/11/2017 by Marcellous (USA)

These headphones sound amazing and have AMAZING BASS but the way they are built is just awful I dropped them from the height of a school desk and the left earpiece broke off

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/11/2017

Hello Marcellous, we regret to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations. For repair options, kindly visit the link below:
https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/service.pl
Thanks, _Bob

0

Great bass and quality

MDR-XB950BT 14/11/2017  (USA)

Verry high quality good bass wonderful pieces of hardware

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sounds great but fragile build

MDRXB950BT/B 31/10/2017 by lilyarab (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple of months ago and I have been happy with the sound quality although it does hurt my ears after use for a couple of hours. The biggest draw back is that this broke in my backpack after only a couple of month of light use. I don't even think I dropped my backpack so Im not sure how they broke. Regardless I expect much better quality when buying such expensive headphones.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31/10/2017

Hello lilyarab, we regret to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations and we are sorry for that. At your convenience, please visit the link below for repair options:
https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/service.pl
Regards, _Bob

0

Decent headphones; Bluetooth incompatibility

MDR-XB950BT 30/10/2017 by Strobe (USA)

The headphones overall seem decent, but one of the reasons I bought them was to connect to my Playstation 4 via Bluetooth. I figured Sony headphones, Sony PS4 what could go wrong? Yeah they won't connect at all, called Sony tech support who said I have no recourse. VERY DISAPPOINTED

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Very disappointed

MDR-XB950BT 19/10/2017 by sony126163 (USA)

I bought a pair of Sony XB 500's in 2012. They still work flawlessly. Loud and clear base, loud and clear treble. Just upgraded to these to go wireless, also assumed that my product being brand new and years later would be better quality. VERY disappointed after listening. The bass is loud and clear, actually bumps too hard with the bass setting on. Not enough without it, that setting is stupid. The treble is also TERRIBLE, can't hear half the words being said in songs. Awful compared to the predecessor, DO NOT buy these if you've used Sony's old products. Paying much more for a worse product doesn't make me happy, not sure about you.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/10/2017

Hi sony126163, We regret to hear that your device's performance failed to meet your needs and expectations. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. ~Ralph

0

Just an amazing pair of headphones

MDR-XB950BT 18/10/2017 by cnishant123 (USA)

I don't understand how I used any other headphones before. Simply put, excellent quality of sound and design. Only downside is they do not stow well, which may prove a problem to some.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best headphones ever

MDR-XB950BT 14/10/2017 by Nachopig (USA)

I bought these and these are the best headphones ever

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great, but... structural components plastic; break

MDR-XB950BT 07/09/2017 by Discord (USA)

I got these as a gift and was an instant convert to wireless headphones. I used them daily for about 6 months - both to listen to music and media as well as take calls through my phone. There is a noticeable quality reduction between bluetooth and wired with this headset, but the hands free benefits more than made up for the difference. After that initial 6 month period time, the plastic piece that connects the earpiece to the headband started to break. There was no precipitating drop or hit that started the break, I just noticed that the plastic was starting to come apart. The break just slowly over time got worse and worse until it broke completely. Unfortunately, that part failure rendered the headphones completely useless. When I looked up the price for these headphones I was really surprised; such a normal use part failure seems unacceptable to me on a product of this cost. That part should be metal. Turns out I'm out of the warranty period, so I'm now following up with customer service, hopefully they're able to provide replacement parts or something. Anyhow, my relatively poor rating is related to the cheap material being used for a critical wear point on these otherwise great headphones.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/09/2017

Hello, Discord, We are very sorry for your bad experience here. Please allow us to help you and make this a better experience. You can contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address, and phone number. Also, may we have the reference number so we can review your file.
Regards, _Bob

0

Easy Operation.

MDRXB950BT/B 02/09/2017 by Rajen (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's little complicated to set up but It works great with Amazon Fire TV box and my SONY Blu-ray Disc Player with 4K upscaling.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/09/2017

Hi, Rajen, We are happy that you were able to set it up, despite having a little challenge. Check out this page if you need further details about this unit: http://docs.esupport.sony.com/portable/MDRXB950BT_help/en/index.html. We appreciate your feedback and thanks for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

The best Bass head phones on the market.

MDR-XB950BT 20/08/2017 by JimmyfromNJ (USA)

I have tried all brands such as beats, Senheisser, Beyerdynamic. Beats was the worst. They had good bass but in the gym after over heating they would malfunction. Sound quality sucked on them as well. Senheisser has the best sound quality but no bass. Byerdynamic had bass but still weaker then the Sony. I would have never thought Sony would beat those brands. It is the most bassy headphones on the market with great sound quality and reliability. I used these in the gym and after sweating they still work. Sony, please never discontinue this model. If you do, please come with a updated model that has new features, more bass, better battery and a better design, kind of like the beats. The only good thing about the beats is the design.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

2

0

Great set of headphones

MDR-XB950BT 16/08/2017 by Mark63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 3 weeks ago and I don't know how I got on with out

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great sound, Terrible quality

MDRXB950BT/B 13/08/2017 by nicholasfd (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had 2 pairs of these. Both have lasted me under 1 year. I had one pair break at the swivel point, and this pair fail right before the joint. I was hesitant to buy these a second time because of that, but the audio quality is fantastic.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/08/2017

Hi, nicholasfd, We regret to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations. Thanks for bringing this to our attention. We will forward your information to the proper department. Thank you for your feedback. _Bob

0

Great sound and ease of use.

MDR-XB950BT 11/08/2017 by pachulone (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've bought it few weeks ago and it is worth every penny.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent sound!

MDRXB950BT/R 03/08/2017 by JohnnyAppleseed (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these headphones not too long ago amd they have been amazing. Crystal clear sound and great bass. The extra bass feature definitely helps for anyone who enjoys more bass-centered music genres. The durability could have been better as I need to get a headphone swivel replaced but other than that they have been great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/08/2017

Hi JohnnyAppleseed, We do appreciate providing us with your feedback for the betterment of our product. Your feedback is highly appreciated. Thank you for choosing Sony.-Jay

0

I loveit!

MDRXB950BT/B 03/08/2017 by griselda20 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

That's i need! Because this product are amazing,best quality,easy for handling and so lightto use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

MDR-XB950BT 24/07/2017 by Will628 (USA)

Great sound, and very affordable price point. My only complaints are the fact that a case was not included, and the headphones don't fold in, so they are a bit bulky when transporting. That being said, there are 3rd party cases that are very affordable that I plan on purchasing. Besides that they are great headphones for a very reasonable price. The smartphone app to alter bass levels also connects very quickly.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

MDR-XB950BT

MDR-XB950BT 22/07/2017  (USA)

Really a good one !!! Using this for 3 months. Sometimes the base is very high ! Extra Base ...!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Worked Great, Speaker died.

MDRXB950BT/B 17/07/2017 by Xoled (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had these for awhile and they worked amazing until the right speaker stopped working, at first it would work some of the time but now not at all. Tried looking to get them serviced but I doubt it has an active warranty and Sony doesn't do out of warranty service for them.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/07/2017

Hi Xoled, we are sorry to hear what happened with your headphone. To isolate the issue, kindly follow the troubleshooting steps below.
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/38966. Best regards, -Erin

0

Loose fit on bald head. No wall charger?

MDRXB950BT/B 14/07/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Usb cord is not working with Samsung but ok with Apple? Mmm should of bought Beats? Loose fit on bald head and cant adjust tighter so wont slip off while laying on bench at the gym? 4 hours to charge out of box is sad. Only 22 hours of battery life is sad. Beats Solo 3 40 hrs!

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/07/2017

Hi BuffDaMagicStick, we regret that the unit failed your expectation. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products. We're always looking to make Sony better. We will pass this feedback to the proper team for improvements. Thank you! -Erin

0

sound great - not durable

MDRXB950BT/B 08/07/2017 by HOODOOR (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Flawed workmanship. Two pair have stopped charging via the provided usb cable

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/07/2017

Hi HOODOOR, we are sorry about this. You may isolate the issue by following the steps here: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/40773.

Regards,
-Erin

0

MDR-XB950BT/L (Blue in color)

MDRXB950BT/L 23/06/2017 by Byronoscar22 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these headphones 2 days ago and they are all i expected, very straight forward to add to iPhone/Bluetooth. Very comfortable to wear. Another great item from Sony, but they are expensive Vs the competitor products

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Well designed!

MDR-XB950BT 21/06/2017 by ITSOK (USA)

I couldn't imagine I can hear the bass so deep like this one. The sound is very comfortable to me. Other than that, the headphone is very comfortable to wear. I like the earcup much.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Awesome bassssss!!!!

MDR-XB950BT 15/06/2017 by Schizoboi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pure awesomeness nothing else to say... superb clarity!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great for some activity & not so great for others

MDRXB950BT/B 15/06/2017 by Turtle Man (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm happy with the product overall. But you cant work out in them and sweat, the leather slides.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/06/2017

Hi Turtle Man, wit is good to know that you are happy with your purchase! We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing SONY! Regards, ~Erin