Skip to Content
23

4.0 based on 23 customer reviews

10
8
2
2
1
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Pros/Cons

MDR-XB950N1 22/07/2017 by MWFV (USA)

Noise cancelling is better on the X1000s, but the XB950N1s sound better for the types of music I enjoy, and invoke more of an emotional response. Tons of bass even w/o enabling "the bass effect" button. X1000s also have a LOT less background hiss when no music is playing compared to the XB950N1s. I prefer the buttons on the XB950N1s over the swipe controls on the X1000s, but the "hand for ambient noise" feature the X1000s offer is awesome and much missed with these. The X1000s are also slightly more comfortable than the XB950N1s, but neither are as light or comfortable as the QC35s. The Bose QC35s are a great all around headphone, but of the three mentioned I've kept the XB950N1s around to keep. The bass output and overall headroom are perfect for pop, hip hop, EDM and other contemporary styles. I hope someday Sony elects to combine some of the features of the X1000s w/ the sound profile of the XB950N1s, and the light weight and comfort of the QC35 - they would have a killer on their hands!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

really great and easy to use

MDR-XB950N1 12/06/2017 by dannipie (USA)

the design is really cool looking and looks a little funny on me, but thats fine. Anyway is sounds really good and the bass is really booming on this thing. The only problem is the noise leaking, its very loud even when u put pressure on them to hear for yourself. thats the only thing i dislike, i dont like when i hear other peoples music so this will worry me a bit when i go out.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

23 Customer Reviews

0

Design is not perfect - so big

MDRXB950N1/G 08/12/2017 by Maziad (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Everything excellent - I don’t like the design only

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very Clear

MDRXB950N1/B 04/12/2017 by Mitch1192 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Hopefully the drivers hold up to the high proficiency coming out of the box. Very impressive sound. My only upgrade would be to have more clear highs for rock genre. Bass is nice and not inner ear tingling like competitors "high bass" claims.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Incredible bass

MDR-XB950N1 03/12/2017 by Ian370z (USA)

I’m very happy that a made a good purchase, Sony out did them selfs this time!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning Headset!

MDRXB950N1/B 28/11/2017 by TechnologyLover99 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just recently purchased these headphones to replace my Beats Studio 2.0 wired headphones and I must say, these are an improvement! The Extra Bass feature is phenomenal, as well as all the features such as the noise cancelling feature, play/stop/skip/reverse buttons, and so on. For a headset of this price, I think these are at the top.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good but not great

MDR-XB950N1 15/11/2017 by SJGlad (United Kingdom)

I have had these for two weeks and have noticed that when in noise cancelling mode I can detect what I can only describe as a whistle noise in the background. When NC mode off the noise goes away which seems a little self defeating. Overall sound is good and comfortable to wear.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

its worth the money trust

MDR-XB950N1 27/10/2017 by keeyla (USA)

I am in love with these headphones, almost 3 years ago I purchased the bass booting wireless headphones. Unit my dada broke them a month ago so I upgraded to the noise cancelling version this time. For years a was a beats headphone only user, after going thru many pairs in 3 years I purchased sony and never looked back. Best decision iv ever made. Ppl always ask why do I spend so much money on headphones. Trust once you buy these you will hear what I'm talking about. Iv put so many ppl friends/family onto these headphones iv got nothing but amazing feedback.... ITS WORTH IT TRUST

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Don;t buy these for a Windows 7 pc.

MDR-XB950N1 20/10/2017 by Rwal (USA)

There is no driver available for these headphones for Windows 7, so they really sound awful through Bluetooth. However, using the audio cord makes them sound okay. However, that kind of defeats the purpose of cordless devices. So, Sony, how about a driver for us Windows guys? Anyway, connected via Bluetooth to a Samsung Galaxy Tab E, they do sound quite good. And the Sony Headphone app is quite good at controlling these headphones. Having the controls available on the earpieces is a nice touch, but it takes a while to figure out just where they are without taking the headphones off and looking. Surely just a learning process, I guess.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/10/2017

Hi Rwal, we apologize for the inconvenience. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. If you are trying to connect your headphones to your Windows 7 PC via Bluetooth, you may refer to the troubleshooting steps provided on the link below:

http://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/xb950n1/v1/en/contents/TP0001177543.html?search=windows

Regards, _Bob

0

Awesome quality

MDR-XB950N1 20/10/2017 by Adam83 (United Kingdom)

Awesome quality, not just the sound. But the feel and build of the headphones. I've had in ears for 15 years, though the change would be difficult. But the these make the transition very easy. Very happy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound quality, Best Bass ever on headphones

MDR-XB950N1 19/09/2017  (USA)

Comfort: The cushions are good, and cover your ears completely. This has been made fold-able now, which makes it easy to carry. Active Noise Cancellation: This is again a great product from Sony, and a good upgrade version of XB950BT. ANC does not cancel all the noise, there are still some noise that leaks through, but still effective in most cases. Sound: No comments on BASS. Hands down, no one provides that bass in the industry in these price ranges which SONY provides. These are industry best. Fidelity 20-20,000 Hz SONY Headphones Connect App: The headphones connect to the above android/iOS app. The best part is you can easily control the bass to your desired level, from a range of -10 to +10. It also provides 4 different surround modes - Arena, Club, Outdoor Stage and Concert Hall. ANC can be switched off and on from the app. Overall: If you are deep bass lover, SONY Extra bass technology are great. This as a ANC bluetooth headphones works decent on ANC, but great as headphones and is a good value for money.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Sound Does not reach my heart But Best BASS

MDR-XB950N1 10/09/2017 by Basudeb (USA)

1.I am unable to change the volume or next or previous song when i use via Cable. 2.Both of my ear getting hot when i use it 15 minutes 3.Its Really great to control BASS Via android App 4.Its So heavy to wear a long time on head. 5.I am unable to make call or receive any call when i use this headphone via cable

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

12

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/09/2017

Hi, Basudeb, Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. We highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.
Best Regards, _Bob

0

THEY HAVE SUPER BASS

MDR-XB950N1 14/08/2017 by TUTWO (USA)

YES THEY DO HAVE sUPER SOUND, BASS, CONTROLS ON SIDE ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO SEE OR ADJUST, BEST HAVE THEM SET UP BEFORE USING & THEN THEY SWIVEL & TURN ALL OVER THE PLACE--A POOR CHOICE FOR HEADPHONES ----A BAD DECISION ON SONY'S PART!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

23

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/08/2017

Hi TUTWO, thank you for taking the time in writing us an honest feedback. Additionally, we regret that the headphone failed to meet your expectations. We'll make sure that the team is informed about your experience, especially on the most important part which is the controls. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we thank you for choosing Sony. Regards.

0

Worth the Price

MDRXB950N1/B 26/07/2017 by Big_Mike (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

the sound quality is as good as it gets, the bass boosting feature is awesome when you really wanna feel that bass power, noise cancelling is amazing and a must have if you're trying to immerse yourself in games or movies, and the design is simple and aesthetically pleasing, and the padding is super comfortable on the head. I also love using these when I workout because they connect to my phone with Bluetooth and the fact that they are wireless means no stupid hassle with cords like most headphones. I am 100% satisfied with these, I honestly couldn't have picked a better headphone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

excellent product

MDR-XB950N1 23/07/2017  (USA)

I bought this product like 3 week ago and i'm very successful.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

These are amazing

MDR-XB950N1 23/07/2017 by Bassforlife770 (USA)

They have toe best quality I have ever seen. I am a DJ and these I use all the time

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Pros/Cons

MDR-XB950N1 22/07/2017 by MWFV (USA)

Noise cancelling is better on the X1000s, but the XB950N1s sound better for the types of music I enjoy, and invoke more of an emotional response. Tons of bass even w/o enabling "the bass effect" button. X1000s also have a LOT less background hiss when no music is playing compared to the XB950N1s. I prefer the buttons on the XB950N1s over the swipe controls on the X1000s, but the "hand for ambient noise" feature the X1000s offer is awesome and much missed with these. The X1000s are also slightly more comfortable than the XB950N1s, but neither are as light or comfortable as the QC35s. The Bose QC35s are a great all around headphone, but of the three mentioned I've kept the XB950N1s around to keep. The bass output and overall headroom are perfect for pop, hip hop, EDM and other contemporary styles. I hope someday Sony elects to combine some of the features of the X1000s w/ the sound profile of the XB950N1s, and the light weight and comfort of the QC35 - they would have a killer on their hands!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

12

0

0

GET THESE NOW!

MDRXB950N1/B 21/07/2017 by Davyd (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought these yesterday and I have to say I am impressed. I have gone through some headphones in the past including skullcandys crushers and bose sound link and theres no comparison. Sony really set the standard for noise canceling and superior sound quality. Will definately buy another pair but maybe the next tier up the 1000X. I recommend these to anyone looking for great sound and loves bass.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1

0

Great sound

MDR-XB950N1 15/07/2017 by Firball (USA)

Very good sound quality nice and snug so it does not fall off.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

XB950N1My1stpairof/haveExcellentExpensive:MDRSONY

MDR-XB950N1 10/07/2017  (USA)

I have experienced thus far...Great quality w/ all sound. The fit is close to perfect and the size and shape are Ideal for me. Idk if having to charge this product is normal?I do have a higher regard for SONY.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Not suitable for long use

MDR-XB950N1 27/06/2017 by Orangutan (USA)

First off, let me say these headphones are no way near on the big side, as some say. I have pretty small ears and they fit ear cushion size decently, with not that much space left over tough. Also my primary headphone usage is on PC at work, with cable. Second issue I have is headphone ear pressure. The headphones squeeze my head just a bit to tight to cause strain over longer periods of use. For example I'm unable to use them for a whole day at work. My headband setting is only 2-3 clicks out and increasing the headband length setting doesn't reduce your ear pressure. When charging you're headphones and listening to them over cable at the same time (using 2 cables) on PC, there is a lot of interference sound noises present. Even with noise-cancellation and bass boost off, my ear-drums start hurting after a few hours, even with moderate (under ~40%) sound volume. I'm no expert, but It may be due to too much sound pressure, since ear cushion fit really really good. The sound feedback of the woman, which gives you feedback if you for example turn off noise cancellation is cool at first, but becomes annoying after a while. For example you need to wait about 3-4 seconds for noise cancellation to switch mode. At that transition period, you're music is on mute.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/06/2017

Hi Orangutan, Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America, Latin America, and Asia Pacific. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/. Regards, -Erin

0

Third time is a charm

MDR-XB950N1 14/06/2017 by Lug0891 (USA)

At first I was weary of getting the 950BTN1, I had gone through two pairs of the older 950BT models. They would usually break at the hinges. Needless to say these I'm happy with these new guys. It's great you can adjust the EQs via an app and with new hinge/folding design I doubt they'll break as easily.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/06/2017

Hi Lug0891, third time is indeed a charm, and don't worry, this will be your last pair as it will last you for a very very long time. Thank you for believing in Sony! Regards.

0

really great and easy to use

MDR-XB950N1 12/06/2017 by dannipie (USA)

the design is really cool looking and looks a little funny on me, but thats fine. Anyway is sounds really good and the bass is really booming on this thing. The only problem is the noise leaking, its very loud even when u put pressure on them to hear for yourself. thats the only thing i dislike, i dont like when i hear other peoples music so this will worry me a bit when i go out.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/06/2017

Hi, dannipie, Thank you for your feedback. Please visit this link for troubleshooting steps to your concern: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/47327/.
We appreciate your time. We'll make sure this will be forwarded to the right department. -Vincent

0

Better than Bose QC35

MDR-XB950N1 27/05/2017 by chandu3267 (USA)

I was well prepared to buy Bose headphones and entered the store after seeing the headphone on display wanted to give a try of all headphone but my opinion changed after listening to the XB950. They have better sound Quality and bass with the extra bass option compared to Bose QC35.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Excellent

MDR-XB950N1 03/05/2017 by SirAG (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've used this headphone for 1 month, they are incredibly good. The only thing I don't like is the mic, the box and the cables.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

1