Skip to Content
Z7 HEADPHONES 

Product Reviews

$699.99

19

4.6 based on 19 customer reviews

14
4
0
1
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great Build Quality with seperate audio lines

MDR-Z7 11/03/2015 by Shailesh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product build with seprate audio lines for each headphone cup. Sound quality is excellent too. Sony need to include a carry case for these lovely headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Disappointed with balanced feature.

MDR-Z7 08/11/2016 by what a stupid box (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used these earphones with my stereo system at home and they are excellent. However my main purpose of this purchase was for use with my new Walkman NW-WM1A player and the new 4.4mm balanced feature. The earphones came with two sets of earphone cables; one set has an end with two 3.5mm leads for the left and right side of the headphones and the other end has a single 3.5mm male plug to fit inside a standard 3.5mm walkman size socket. The second headphone lead consists of two male sockets at either end all of which are 3.5m in size. My walkman has two sockets , one of which is 3.5mm and the other is a 4.4mm balanced size. I bought these headphones on the basis of their apparent balanced feature , but as stated all of the leads have 3.5mm male plugs and I cannot see how they work with the new Sony 4.4mm balanced socket on the NW-WM1A Walkman. These headphones are very good ,but with the Walkman of full volume there is no real advantage in paying the high price of these headphones when compared with Sony phones at a 1/4 of the price. I hope in time that the 4.4mm feature will prove to make this purchase worthwhile , but at the moment there is no trace of any 4.4mm cables on Amazon or the Sony site , so i cannot recommend these headphones to you. Perhaps someone here can put me wise to what the 4.4mm balanced feature is all about , and steer me towards the appropriate 4.4mm cable/plug to make this purchase worthwhile.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

5

19 Customer Reviews

0

Great Headphones

MDR-Z7 05/10/2017 by Mihailmdrz1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am so happy with Sony MDR-Z7 phones . They are very nice looking, comfortable and superb sound Made in Japan .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing headphones!

MDR-Z7 10/06/2017 by CapinFlapjack (USA)

The Sony MDR-Z7 is, by far, the best pair of headphones that I have ever owned and I am not new to headphones at all. For amplification, I am using the Sony PHA-3 headphone dac/amp. I must say that while I do feel other headphones also have great build and sound quality, the Z7's are just so much more colorful. If you want a headphone that you can just sit back, relax and listen to whatever track you want and have it be a very fun and new experience overall, these Sony Z7's are for you. While other headphones can reproduce full range sound very accurately, these Sony's deliver on so much more. Sony products have a way of making whatever you are doing very fun and enjoyable these headphones are no exception. Music that you may be used to hearing a certain way will surprise you with the Z7 as you will experience parts of the music in a way that just makes you want to keep listening. If you are in the market for a great pair of headphones, look no further than the MDR-Z7. Yes, there is a better pair of headphones you can buy from Sony in their Signature series, but if you want the best performance you have ever experienced while not spending thousands of dollars, these are most definitely the headphones for you.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Superb sound at an affordable price...

MDRZ7 14/03/2017 by Schu (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I find the sound of these Z7 Sony headphones superb and very advanced. I find them deep with tight controlled bass response and lively realistic mid range and good albeit it slightly rolled off highs. great pricing and value in my opinion.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointed with balanced feature.

MDR-Z7 08/11/2016 by what a stupid box (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used these earphones with my stereo system at home and they are excellent. However my main purpose of this purchase was for use with my new Walkman NW-WM1A player and the new 4.4mm balanced feature. The earphones came with two sets of earphone cables; one set has an end with two 3.5mm leads for the left and right side of the headphones and the other end has a single 3.5mm male plug to fit inside a standard 3.5mm walkman size socket. The second headphone lead consists of two male sockets at either end all of which are 3.5m in size. My walkman has two sockets , one of which is 3.5mm and the other is a 4.4mm balanced size. I bought these headphones on the basis of their apparent balanced feature , but as stated all of the leads have 3.5mm male plugs and I cannot see how they work with the new Sony 4.4mm balanced socket on the NW-WM1A Walkman. These headphones are very good ,but with the Walkman of full volume there is no real advantage in paying the high price of these headphones when compared with Sony phones at a 1/4 of the price. I hope in time that the 4.4mm feature will prove to make this purchase worthwhile , but at the moment there is no trace of any 4.4mm cables on Amazon or the Sony site , so i cannot recommend these headphones to you. Perhaps someone here can put me wise to what the 4.4mm balanced feature is all about , and steer me towards the appropriate 4.4mm cable/plug to make this purchase worthwhile.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

5

0

very comfy

MDR-Z7 27/06/2016 by carolynjf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple of weeks ago and have used them alot. I listen to a variety of music styles and appreciate the clarity of the sound and the feeling of being surrounded by the music. They are very comfortable and i don't feel that I need to fiddle with them all the time to adjust them, like in-ear phones which I find despite whatever end I put on them - get very uncomfortable and tend to fall out. The whole spectrum of the music scale seems to be really good. I live in a small cottage - so a booming stereo system isn't really practical - but I can have it via my headphones. I have an Astell and Kern player, and got a Fiio Mont Blanc portable amp - to give it all a bit of a boost and couldn't be happier with my headphones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

1

0

sound stuff

MDR-Z7 28/12/2015 by Farqy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound was the main priority when picking new headphones and wow do these deliver. The 70mm drivers are amazing, from deep lows to incredible highs, Hi Def sound! Constructed to a very high standard, the comfort factor is of the highest I have found. If you are reading this and wonder if you should buy a pair i would say yes, you will not be disappointed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

4

0

Absolutely Brilliant

MDR-Z7 07/10/2015 by Steven2907 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these to go with my nwzx2 and I am really happy with them

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

Audio nirvana !

MDRZ7 07/08/2015 by IheartmusicI (USA)

It is very musical, relax, yet detailing and spacious ! Easy to drive ! iPad/iPhone ? Smartphones ? Plug and play. Excellent build quality and best of all "Hand made In Japan". I have been an audio enthusiast for 20 years from vynil to cd to DVD....skipped the iPod and MP3 market, and now back into high-resolution. The pair of Z7+ZX2 is exactly what I had been asking for. Spaciousness, dimensional, accurate placements, balanced, detailed, and most of all realistically organic. There are oceans of different headphones and IEMS, consumers easily get confused, and they tend to jump toward more marketing and fashion headphones than audio quality. Sony had been producing excellent headphones and portable audiophiles grade gears. Ask Dr.Dre yourself, he uses Sony Hp in his studio. Now, with the Z7, build quality, fashion and audio quality, look no further. Full body cymbals hit, detailed resonances of an instrument or hall affect within your song. If it was mastered, mixed, produced within it, hear it. Bass, sub-bass, rumbles, vibrations and the resonance of a kick drum feel so realistic. Just exactly like what Sony stated "every notes precisely reproduced" and a bonus "very realistic and close to the real instruments in real life!" On top of it "very spacious, just like a real live performance in a stadium" and the icing on the cake "it is semi-open headphones, so you get semi-noise isolated, and it semi-leakage of sound". Sony, I thank you that you finally release a headphones that is top notch quality as in build, material, audio performance, and is nowadays gadgets friendly !!! 70 ohms people !! Oh ghosttttt. Thank you, thank you 1000x times.

34

15

0

Fantastic Audiophile Headphone

MDRZ7 08/07/2015 by Techlife (USA)

I have and have had quite a few quality headphones and iem's over the past 4 or 5 years and the MDR-Z7 ranks up top. With its smooth and warm signature along with good detail retrieval the Z7 can hold its own against some of the best hp's. Bass is powerful but not over powering, mids are lush and warm with great sounding vocals and the treble has a laid back feel to them yet still very detailed and never harsh. One of my favorite parts of the sound signature is the soundstage. They sound much more like an open hp than closed, even more open than some open hp's I have. They have top notch imaging also with the best 3D presentation I've heard from any hp. Build quality, like most Sony products is very good. The angled ear pads are very comfortable as is the headband padding. They're not to heavy so long listening sessions are great with them. I really enjoy these hp's and think most people that like a warm sound signature would as well. Don't let the price scare you away because they're worth it imo and are cheaper than many other hp's they sound as good or better than.

14

4

0

Good headphone but mine has defective left ear pad

MDRZ7 05/07/2015 by Kramer01 (USA)

Bought the Z7 soon after the first reviews came out and to be honest I'm not disappointed with the sound. It requires a bit of burn in but after that it sounds really good. Many user say this is a slow and dark sounding headphone and it is as long as you don't use/pair it with a capable amp. Its requires an amp to shine. Its easy to drive so people don't use an amp but don't be fooled to fully unleash the potential of the Z7 it needs to be paired with a good desktop DAC and Amp. I use it with a Burson Conductor. Warm meaty sound while being neutral at the same time. No part of the audio frequency is emphasized. Due the big drivers everything sounds GRAND. Non fatiguing sound with loads of deatil. Black background and absolutely no grain in the sound. Excellent build quality and sexy looks. Materials used are great. Now the negatives: There aren't many but my set has a defctive left ear pad. It has less cushioning than the right ear pad, left earpad is thinner than the right one and now after a month of use the foam has compressed a bit and the left driver rubs against the top part of my ear and that causes chafing which is really uncomfortable. What makes it worse is that Sony does not sell replacement earpads and now I'm stuck with an excellent sounding headphone that I cannot enjoy because of comfort issues. LAUNCH REPLACEMENT EAR PADS FOR THE Z7 SONY

25

1

Response From Sony Support
09/07/2015

Hello Kramer01! We would like to apologize for this inconvenience and would like to suggest to contact our partner Encompass Supply Chain Solutions, Inc to be able to acquire a set of ear pads by using the following part numbers and link to contact and check availability:

Part number:
1 - For right side pad : 4-541-036-01
2 - For left side pad: 4-541-035-01

https://sony.encompass.com/item/10330948/Sony/4-541-036-01/Pad_(R)_Ear

0

Sony MDR-X7 headphone review.

MDR-Z7 02/07/2015 by RobG1972 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Well designed headphones. Probably the most comfortable pair I have owned. I'd have preferred a shorter cable for use with a portable player (such as the Sony NW-ZX2) to be included as well. Sound-wise, they are good, although the mid-bass does tend to overwhelm the mid-range a little. A little more treble energy wouldn't go amiss either, but overall I am happy with them. I haven't had the opportunity to use the balanced cable, which may bring further improvements. Overall, a good/very good purchase.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Outstanding audiophile headphones !!!

MDR-Z7 29/06/2015 by Naimfan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So, i bought these 6 weeks ago, as i was looking for a pair of headphones to plug directly into my Naim Supernait 2 headphone amp. Ive previously had the Stax SRS 2050 basic system, and auditioned the Sennheiser HD800, 700 and nearly the entire Grado range - none of them, and i do mean none, sound nearly as good as these - the grado are coarse and bright in comparison, the sense analytical and bright in comparison, the sony's give you all the detail but with beautiful warmth and tonality - outstanding and thats without a standalone amp - i couldn't be happier as they compete with all comers, and sound amazing - all with Made in Japan quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

2

0

A Hidden Gem

MDRZ7 05/05/2015 by vinylrevolver (USA)

Sony has apparently been building some of the worlds finest dynamic headphones for quite a while as I realized a year ago while attending the Newport Audio Fest where one of the specialty music vendors was demonstrating their music with a very well worn pair of SONY headphones that were easily 10 years old. At first listen, it was obvious that these substantial headphones were Reference Quality in their day as the sound had an ease, fullness and resolution that was unmatched by all the other offerings in the room - I was impressed! After listening to these new MDR-Z7 headphones, I am very pleased to realize that SONY is back in the headphone business in a very large way. I feel sorry for the competition in what is quickly becoming a very crowded marketplace.

14

14

Response From Sony Support
05/05/2015

Hi vinylrevolver, It's good to know that you are pleased and impressed with Sony headphones. Thank you for the feedback.

0

Great Cans... but...

MDR-Z7 12/04/2015 by who me (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

great soundstage and clarity, top notch quality, comfort and weight but to get the best from them i had to invest in the PHA3 headphone amp, using the ZX1 just wouldn't cut the mustard... these cans are designed to pair with this amp... they are sizeable due to the 70mm drivers though.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

BACK TO BUSINESS !!

MDR-Z7 19/03/2015 by JACE ACE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

MDR Z7 - great product magnificent build and supreme sound . They are right up there with the best headphones in thier price range.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Build Quality with seperate audio lines

MDR-Z7 11/03/2015 by Shailesh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great product build with seprate audio lines for each headphone cup. Sound quality is excellent too. Sony need to include a carry case for these lovely headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Quality Headphones

MDR-Z7 03/02/2015 by mat01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These are fantastic, powerful, detailed, comfortable, amazingly well built quality headphones. You need a few minutes for your ears and head to come to terms with the range of sounds these headphones produce. They add a layer of audio fidelity you didn't realise was there. Simply wonderful.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Detailed and spacious with excellent bass response

MDRZ7 08/12/2014 by 65tiger (USA)

The MDR-Z7 is an amazingly accurate and balanced headphone the reproduces the audible spectrum effortlessly. Adding the optional Kimber Kable connecting cable (MUC-B30UM1) makes the experience even better

25

22

0

MDR-Z7

MDR-Z7 01/11/2014 by beemarman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm really glad I bought this headphones. I currently got the HD800, LCD 2 and the JH Audio Roxanne. For portable use I have the AK240 and the HUGO and the Sony sounds very good with my portable setup.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

14

21