MDR-Z7M2 HEADPHONES

Product Reviews

$599.99

10

4.6 based on 10 customer reviews

9
0
0
0
1
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

10 Customer Reviews

0

Everything that I expected!

MDRZ7M2 17/03/2021 by Rkg8 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A perfect match for Sony's NW-ZX507 Walkman - great sound and they are big but really fit good and don't seam heavy at all. Quality is excellent and they are very well built and should last or years.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Top quality item

MDRZ7M2 13/02/2021 by Charles60 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a year ago and am so happy that I did the right choice. Alwayse getting the fantastic music, foreigner language etc.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Sound Perfection

MDR-Z7M2 10/02/2021 by monousa59 (USA)

My oh My! The Sony MDR-Z7M2 are so good at reproducing all the sound. I was so satisfied when i put them on and realized how comfortable they are. The over the ear design covers my ears so that my ears are inside the hole of the earpads. The seal is great. I used them with an outboard dac and amplifier connected to my IPAD. Listening to fast moving fusion jazz. The headphone is able to keep the electronic and wind instruments easily recognizable in the mixes. These cans have me boppin! Great presentation by Sony also. I am now listening to the Beatles.John Lennon's voice is true. The guitars are sparkling. Hand claps can be heard in a natural tone. The drums are in the back of the room but the symbols and high hats are showing full decay. All in all I can say I can and will be listening to a lot of music with the Sony MDR-Z7M2 headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Big hi-fi sound

MDR-Z7M2 10/01/2021 by Joshua123 (USA)

outstanding, detailed, clean headphones. The sound is immersive and wide with clear imaging, probably the best closed back headphone I have. I have had these for over a month and like them very much. My setup is an Asus laptop using Schiit Modius dac with Magnius amplifier stack. Plus I'm using a balanced four pin output and the sound couldn't be better.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

The best set of cans I’ve owned thus far...

MDR-Z7M2 09/11/2020 by Keny B (USA)

Recently purchased the MDR-Z7M2 to replace my MDR-1A, and I have to say that these headphones are leaps, and bounds better than anything else I’ve used thus far...Currently I’m running the cans with a CHORD MOJO connected to my iPhone with the ONKYO HF Player App...the impact and clarity are outstanding, the size of the drivers are ridiculously huge, when I put them on, the foam cushions basically mold to the shape of my head and seals in the “musical juices”...I’ve yet to take them on a trip, but have used them at work, at home, and in between...GREAT JOB SONY!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

A Sony Audio masterpiece

MDR-Z7M2 24/08/2020 by Joey B (USA)

Beautiful hardware, exceptional audio quality with versatility to scale beyond with its big drivers. The Sony house sound is present and I am loving it. This is my indoor set on my nightly sessions. It works good with my Xperia 1 II but not enough room to stretch it's legs like with the NW-ZX300. The sound is just next level like the rest of the current Sony Hi Res lineup.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

10

1

0

Beautiful sound stage and build quality

MDR-Z7M2 28/10/2019 by augie7107 (USA)

I don't pretend to know everything about audio reproduction and audiophile quality but I can close my eyes and see Frank Sinatra at the front with brass on the left and strings on the right with the balanced cable plugged into a ZX-300. I had the MDR-Z7 initial release and these are a measurable improvement.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

24

8

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/11/2019

Hi, augie7107!

We appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you!

~Earl

0

Amazing sound quality

MDR-Z7M2 05/02/2019 by ramto_8 (USA)

First thing, i got this headphone at a very good price. I think $899 is a little too much lol and if you look around you can get them cheaper. These headphones sound amazing but you really have to let them burn-in for a long time!!! This is key to make them sound their best. When you use them for the first time, they will sound 'bloated', too much bass, not enough treble. However, after burn-in, they will sound much better/controlled/open. The highs/treble is very smooth which really help for long listening sessions. Despite not having the widest soundstage (as expected of closed-back), sound separation is very good, I can easily pick up different instruments. I actually found them much easier to listen to than my open-back headphone (despite having a wider soundstage). I think that's what people describe as vertical separation. I can drive them using my mobile phone (the included silver coated cable helps here) but they sound best when using a dedicated dac/amp. I use a sony pha-2a with the balanced cable. They feel well made, of high quality materials and comfort is very good. The pads will take some few seconds to 'mold' around you ears and provide a very good seal to block outside noise. This contribute greatly to overall sound quality. One thing to note: if the weather is hot, they will tend to heat up.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

53

9

0

none

MDR-Z7M2 18/01/2019 by gaygirl (USA)

i bough them and dollar tree head phones were better

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

7

325

0

Smouth perfection!

MDR-Z7M2 25/12/2018 by lag81 (USA)

I bought recently these cans by curiosity and they really blown my mind! I own the Z1R also and i couldn't believe that they come close to each other in terms of sound. Alright, the Z7M2 are not in the same league with the Z1R but if someone cannot afford the cost of Z1R, the Z7 are really a very very good alternative option! I'm not gonna enter into sound details beacause i's gonna be a huge and boring review but i have to tell you that they really worth every penny! Sony, thumbs up again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

54

10