30

3.3 based on 30 customer reviews

9
9
3
1
8
Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Works Great

MDR-ZX110NC 16/04/2018 by Avi28 (USA)

Have had it for 5 years work great, noise cancelling still works great.!!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good and affordable

MDR-ZX110NC 05/05/2018 by mymigi (USA)

I purchased these about two years ago and don't really use them as much but about six months ago the cushioning on the earphone gave up and started peeling and breaking apart. Headphones still operate correctly but now you just can't use them in public.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

30 Customer Reviews

0

Best bang-for-your-buck noise cancelling headphone

MDR-ZX110NC 18/07/2018 by Kolyei (USA)

You can't get any better than this in terms of noise cancelling for the value of money that you pay. Just one triple a battery easily lasts you up to 4-5 days of long use out of these (which is something I praise sony for, it's excellent battery life). Noise cancelling is great for blocking background noise like fan noise, it also reduces human conversations by a lot. The bad points that aren't really deal breakers, but they are some gripes that I have with the headphones. These are on-the-ear headphones. They are comfortable to wear for a short period of time. After an hour or so of wearing them, they get a bit uncomfortable to use. Also, noise-cancelling headphones are very sensitive to wind. Not something that can be improved since all noise-cancelling headphones are affected by this. Will buy these again whenever my current pair breaks (had them for over 2 years without any issues whatsoever)

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

No quality

MDRZX110NC 29/05/2018 by dancang (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this headphones and before 6 months of use, the left side didn´t work. At Sony store they say this headphones only have a 3 month warranty so thy wouldn´t fix them.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/05/2018

Hi dancang,

We are sorry to hear that you're having issues with this unit. Let's try to isolate and fix the issue by following some troubleshooting steps, kindly check this link:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00024605

0

Just don't

MDR-ZX110NC 28/05/2018 by Richard_of_44 (USA)

These are the worst for the money and will break. And Sony won't help.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/05/2018

Hi Richard_of_44,

We are very sorry for the inconvenience this has caused, please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include y

0

right out of the box only one side works.

MDRZX110NC 27/05/2018 by ordisway (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these at the airport over Christmas when my Bose stopped working, needless to say it was an additionally frustrating flight trying to get them to work then realizing. I just paid double for these at an airport I won't be in for another year.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/05/2018

Hi ordisway,

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services, we're always looking to make Sony better.

We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

0

Good and affordable

MDR-ZX110NC 05/05/2018 by mymigi (USA)

I purchased these about two years ago and don't really use them as much but about six months ago the cushioning on the earphone gave up and started peeling and breaking apart. Headphones still operate correctly but now you just can't use them in public.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/05/2018

Hi mymigi, thank you for sharing your feedback about the unit. I will have your feedback forwarded to the relevant department as we always looking to make Sony better. Regards, ~Erin

0

Works Great

MDR-ZX110NC 16/04/2018 by Avi28 (USA)

Have had it for 5 years work great, noise cancelling still works great.!!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Could have better customer care.

MDRZX110NC 29/03/2018 by HOT DOC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Defective product. Could be made better...........

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31/03/2018

Hi HOT DOC,

We apologize for the inconvenience. Please tell us more about the issue. You can contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include all information such as model/serial no, address, and phone number. Thank you.

0

Good headphones, did not expect batteries required

MDR-ZX110NC 17/02/2018 by PianoMan4Jesus (USA)

We liked Sony MDR-XB550 headphones, so returned to the same store we purchased them from to obtain additional. No longer stocked, these MDR-ZX110NC seemed the closest to what we were seeking. We were seeking 1) Wired and 2) 1/8 inch connector. Getting them home and opening the package, then I discover batteries are required! I was thinking no batteries would be required since they were wired, not Bluetooth.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Love it

MDR-ZX110NC 13/12/2017 by Chrisonthedot (USA)

I use these for my commute to College. Just don't use the noise cancelling for so long or else your head will hurt afterwards. Love them!! The padding is very comfortable. After a couple of times using them your head won't hurt as much.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointed!

MDRZX110NC 05/12/2017 by Music is Life (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought them because I like Sony products. The ear piece fell off on the 2nd day that I used them.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/12/2017

Hello Music is Life, we regret to hear that the headphones failed to meet your expectations. For repair options, please visit the link below:
https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/service.pl
Regards, _Bob

0

Moderately priced with good features

MDR-ZX110NC 05/11/2017 by timbereman (USA)

This is my first set of noise-cancelling headphones. I purchased them because I have always been happy with all Sony headphones I have ever owned. The frequency response is better than I expected. The degree of noise-canceling is a bit less than what I was hoping they would have. There is a good level of isolation from surrounding noise. I particularly like how well they work when I am pushing my lawn mower. I can hear the music with no problem now without having to drive the sound level very high. One nice 'side-effect' is when the noise-canceling feature is turned on it seems like significant amplification occurs of the audio. The improvement in frequency response is very noticeable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good for travel

MDRZX110NC 11/10/2017 by Ak girl (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought this spur of the moment to replace my stolen Bose set. Obviously not the same quality but served the purpose very well to use on a plane to block noise

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

Better than expected

MDR-ZX110NC 07/10/2017 by ethanwwm (USA)

Bought this about a month ago. The quality is pretty finnicky (plastic build), possibly because its one of Sony's cheapest headphone but still. Sound quality itself was pretty good actually, so that was a plus. What really let me down was the noise-cancellation. It was actually really weak. I have used Sony's slightly higher tier ones and they're really good at cancelling noise out. I guess these headphones would be good for cancelling out noises like the roar from airplane engines (eg. while flying) or maybe the air conditioners sound, but not TV sounds, etc. Summary: Cheap build quality, good sound, low-average noise-cancellation

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/10/2017

Hi ethanwwm, We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. We regret to hear that this headphone failed to meet your expectations. The noise canceling function is effective in low-frequency ranges such as airplanes, trains, or offices (near air-conditioning, etc.) and is not
as effective for higher frequencies, such as
human voices. For more information, you can check the manual from this link. https://docs.sony.com/release//Manual_4540896121.pdf
Regards, -Jay

0

Good for the price

MDR-ZX110NC 13/08/2017 by Jojoyen (USA)

Sound quality and noise canceling decent for the price. With NC on music is great, with it off it is not. I wish there was padding on the headband that hurts my head and the cable is not flat and tangled free like it's predecessor.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

DO NOT BUY IF YOU HAVE MISOPHONIA

MDR-ZX110NC 27/07/2017 by ferulle (USA)

I bought these headphones, and they were ok, nothing special. the nest day when I was putting them on, i gently pressed both sides. in the right ear it made a loud crunching noise, that was really annoying and bothered me like crazy.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/07/2017

Hi, ferulle, Thanks for bringing this to our attention and we are sorry to hear your concern. We suggest following the troubleshooting steps here to isolate this noise issue: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/38966/. Regards, Vincent

0

Amazing but still......

MDR-ZX110NC 18/06/2017 by SilentSnake (USA)

These headphones are amazing, clear, lightweight, mobile, and overall an awesome choice for the price. Best enjoyed with high volume and great for electronic music, very balanced. But I wished that the headphones had an integrated battery that you could charge with a brand charger so it would be easy to replaced like an Android charger. But overall I have to say these are great headphones and you can use them without a AAA battery but it doesn't sound nearly as good when powered. If you are a basshead, these are not a good pick. But instead of being good in one area, it does well in others. It is incredibly balanced in general and I was recommended by a friend. Thanks.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Good for kids house audio need.

MDRZX110NC 22/01/2017 by Jawara (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ok to use for School need too, they understand quickly how to use.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Awesome Sounds

MDRZX110NC 11/11/2016 by Missivy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this product from work. The sound is very clear and I do not hear any outside noises.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Nice Sound

MDRZX110NC 04/10/2016 by Zenafields (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So far very good. If my opinion changes, I'll let you know.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

very enjoyable , clear sound,

MDRZX110NC 20/08/2015 by vanillabrown (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

am enjoyed my new head phones, I would recommend them to my family and friends, and those who I work out with at the gym

10

10

0

Loving these for work!

MDRZX110NC 11/08/2015 by ReneeCK (USA)

I picked up my headphones at the airport on the way out of town. Looking here, I see I was overcharged for them, but I'm making really good use of them at work so I don't mind too much. The headphones were excellent for cancelling out the noise of my fellow travelers both on the flight up and the drive back home with my family (have you ever listened to a 13 year old and 16 year old sibling pair fight?). The only thing I'm disappointed in is that my right cover came off and I can't find a place to pick up a new one. I love them, but it's not worth buying a whole new pair to get one part.

16

14

Response From Sony Support
13/08/2015

Hello ReneeCK! Thank you for sharing your experience with us, you can purchase the ear cup with our partner Encompass Supply Chain Solutions Inc. using the following information and visiting the link below:

Part number : 4-539-541-01 - EAR PAD (for Black)

https://sony.encompass.com/item/10330920/Sony/4-539-541-01/Pad_Ear

0

Very weak noise cancelation

MDRZX110NC 03/08/2015 by sdmark (USA)

I live near an airport and wanted something to block the loud, low throbbing noise of planes taking off. I tried a pair of Bose Quiet Comfort 15 headphones that belong to a friend and was blown away by the cone of silence they create in active noise-cancellation mode, so I know this kind of noise _can_ be blocked with the proper technology. I hoped to find something more reasonable that would do a decent job, and I thought something from Sony would be a good bet. Unfortunately, these headphones are almost useless in canceling noise. Turning the switch off and on while an airplane is overhead, I could just barely hear a tiny difference--maybe 10%, not the 95% claimed in the description.I'll be returning these.

24

42

Response From Sony Support
06/08/2015

Hello sdmark! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with this set of headphones, it is unfortunate that the unit didn't meet your expectations and that they will be returned instead, we do however would like to mention that the actual performance when it comes to the noise cancelling feature varies based on settings, environmental conditions, and usage, so please try the steps we would like to suggest by the following the next link if you still have the unit available. Also, we will make sure to pass this information to the proper department for further review:

https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/30807/kw/noise%20cancelling/p/40940,41446,95185/c/65,66/related/1

0

Noise Cancel DOES NOT WORK

MDRZX110NC 07/07/2015 by FrogTom (USA)

Just got these SONY MDR-ZX110NC head phones... They do not cancel sound at all... A complete waste of money... I wonder why SONY markets these head phones as Noise Canceling...

25

26

Response From SonySupport
09/07/2015

Hi FrogTom, we always appreciate customers who take the time to give us their feedback. The noise canceling function is effective in low frequency ranges such as airplanes, trains, or offices (near air-conditioning, etc.) and is not as effective for higher frequencies, such as human voices. In addition, the noise canceling effect may vary depending on how you wear the headphones. Please make sure to turn on the unit, there's a switch on the right side of pad.

0

Comfortable Headset, NC not to effective

MDRZX110NC 06/07/2015 by JetsetGo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

NC headset is comfortable through out the flight. If only the noise cancelling was more effective. It says 95% noise cancellation, but sounds like 25%. For the price you can find other similar sets that are almost true to their advertise at lesser price.

18

12

Response From Sony Support
08/07/2015

Hello JetsetGo! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we recommend to try the steps available through the following link to improve the noise canceling feature:

https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/30807/kw/noise%20cancelling/p/40940,41446,95185/c/65,66/related/1

0

Headphones

MDRZX110NC 30/06/2015 by JeffN (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these to use while mowing lawn, block out the noise that was damaging my ears causing ringing. they work great. they adjust to conditions and all in all work great vs just ear plugs.

15

7

0

MDRZX110NC 20/06/2015 by Jrome (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

7

8

0

Sony Noise-Conceling Headphones

MDRZX110NC 16/06/2015 by educators4 (USA)

We purchased 14 of them for our computer education for many employees and they worked great. The employees couldn't hear us when we tried to get their attention and were startled when we tapped them on the shoulder. ONE QUESTION: Since we will have many people using them, we want to keep them sanitary. What is the best way to clean them without damaging the soft ear pads please? THANKS

13

8

Response From Sony Support
17/06/2015

Hello educators4! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We recommend to try using a dry cloth to clean the headphones and if there are any dirty foreign objects attached to the portion from which the sound comes out use an air blower to remove the dirt.

0

nice headphones

MDRZX110NC 01/01/2015 by DJGP (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sound quality is very good, the comfort is great, and the overall value is excellent. I would recommend to a friend for sure. The noise canceling has been effective so far.

21

4

0

Not what I thought they were

MDRZX110NC 23/12/2014 by Nicky40 (USA)

I returned them because they did not cancel out like the previous Sony headphones I had. I returned the product for a refund

14

21

Response From SonySupport
25/12/2014

hI Nicky40, It is unfortunate that the headphones had to be returned and we value your feedback about this concern. Thanks,

0

Very effective and useful product

MDRZX110NC 29/10/2014 by Agnur (USA)

A great improvement on Sony's older Noise Cancellation device. This one indicated a 95% cancellation capability -- full marks for NO Exaggeration! Thanks. Was able to sleep soundly for the very first time on a noisy commercial airliner in economy class!

45

7