Skip to Content
46

4.2 based on 46 customer reviews

22
16
4
2
2
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Headphones

MDR-ZX220BT 28/11/2016 by Doug123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought these online good connection easy to use good sound and a good price

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Can’t seem to pair with iPhone 8

MDR-ZX220BT 31/10/2017 by Notimpressedbythis (United Kingdom)

Sad times, this was a birthday present. May need to take it into store to be looked at!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

46 Customer Reviews

0

Happy Birthday To Me!

MDR-ZX220BT 04/12/2017 by Deslys4444 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A gift for my birthday from my husband. Excellent choice. Great sound. Not at all disappointed. Can’t find fault. Love them!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality at an afordable price

MDR-ZX220BT 01/12/2017 by imber3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have hearing problems and I glad I bought this product

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great!

MDR-ZX220BT 20/11/2017 by BennyF (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really please with the product itself and the price!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Super useful

MDR-ZX220BT 18/11/2017 by siwiecola (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought it when I was abroad and used it with my iPhone 7. It’s super useful. The only issue I’m having is when lissensing to music with bases in it there is a horrible off sound.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

1

0

Excellent wireless headphones

MDR-ZX220BT 11/11/2017 by jtardy (United Kingdom)

They look smart, are easy to set up, and work effortlessly with good tone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent sound with reasonable comfort but.......

MDR-ZX220BT 04/11/2017  (United Kingdom)

Whilst I am more than happy with the sound and comfort is acceptable and paired with a moblie phone on your person the headphones are very good. However paired with a desk top computer there seems to be too much around to interrupt the bluetooth signal which of course is disappointing. A little difficult to tell if the head phones are switched on or off. Marks are based on mobile phone use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Birthday gift.

MDR-ZX220BT 02/11/2017 by STORMYNORM (United Kingdom)

The wife got me these headphones as a birthday present. The quality is very good, as I would expect from Sony. They are comfortable to ware and the sound is crystal clear. Easy to use and operate. One slight problem they do not block out other sounds completely. That's why I gave it four stars.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Can’t seem to pair with iPhone 8

MDR-ZX220BT 31/10/2017 by Notimpressedbythis (United Kingdom)

Sad times, this was a birthday present. May need to take it into store to be looked at!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Nifty little headphones, great price!

MDR-ZX220BT 23/09/2017 by Chelkevcov (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased these headphones as I wanted a lower cost alternative that still looked stylish and gave the performance I needed. I am really impressed (as I always am) with the quality of the Sony product. Would definitely recommend these headphones if you want small, stylish and great value.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great sound and features

MDR-ZX220BT 12/09/2017 by Omengamer1 (USA)

I just got them and the sound quality is good It doesn't have too much bass so it good The build quality is mediocre but they still feel solid

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very decent headphones

MDR-ZX220BT 12/09/2017 by Cookiemonster (USA)

I bought this between 3-4 months ago, it its confortable, more resistant that it seems, it has a decent-good audio quality, and the battery lasts more than I expected. The downside is that the instructions aren't that helpful and I have had problem connecting the Bluetooth twice in these months, but were resolved after a few minutes. in conclusion, given the pros, cons, and the price I would say it's a great product and the price is very accommodating.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

They are brilliant

MDR-ZX220BT 29/08/2017 by Ali bam bams (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love my headphones very much. I have used them and nobody else around me can hear my music! Best headphones ever! My favourite thing about them is they say "power on, Bluetooth connected and power off"!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

3.5 Star

MDR-ZX220BT 29/08/2017 by Mickey_BPL (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recently bought this, satisfied with wireless connection but not the Audio quality. Hence value for money.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Incomplete information

MDR-ZX220BT 28/08/2017 by Wimpy (USA)

These appear to be very nice headphones, but they wouldn't pair with my Sony receiver. Customer service was very nice when I contacted them, but it turns out these only pair with computers and smartphones. That should be more clear in the product description. I would have like to use them with my receiver but wouldn't have bought them had I known they wouldn't work.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/08/2017

Hi Wimpy, we regret that the unit failed your expectation. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! ~Erin

0

Just what I wanted

MDR-ZX220BT 26/08/2017 by Roossini (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Everything fine. Excellent for listening to the radio. Only niggle is the earpieces get uncomfortable

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy and comfortable to use

MDR-ZX220BT 19/08/2017 by Mr Chas (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was purchased for me as a gift , and has proved to be a wonderful present easy to use comfortable to wear and no ties to leads , then there's the sound brilliant a very high quality ,altogether very satisfied.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Features

MDR-ZX220BT 19/08/2017 by Ryan1228 (USA)

I Bought This today and i love it!!! you should definitely buy this

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great and comfortable stuff

MDR-ZX220BT 15/08/2017 by Jocha1957 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am happy with them the sound is great, the headphones are excellent and lightweight.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great as a gift

MDR-ZX220BT 04/08/2017 by Bass1234 (USA)

Good sound for budget wireless headphones. Not comfortable for long times use. Feels hot on your ears. I recommend buying it off your on a budget.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

works well

MDR-ZX220BT 01/08/2017 by Alanthegeek (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought these phones as i was fed up plugging in the wired and not being able to walk about,

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Bad connections

MDR-ZX220BT 16/07/2017 by PapaRick (USA)

My kids got me these headphones for my birthday but it only syncs to my phone. Can't get it to sync on either of my Bluetooth ipads, my amazon fire tablet, or any other device. Help me Sony, how can I sync my other devices to these headphones?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/07/2017

Hi, PapaRick, To isolate this Bluetooth connection issue, you may follow the suggestions here: http://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/zx220bt/v1/en/contents/TP0001176166.html. Regards, Vincent

0

Impressive piece of kit

MDR-ZX220BT 13/07/2017 by JMC95 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as a present and my first wireless headphones which connect to my sony disc player and Ipad seamlessly. I struggled a little with the illustrated instructions but once they set were up and running; I found the controls easy to master and was most impressed with the sound quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great for I pad

MDR-ZX220BT 03/07/2017 by Geoff88 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only recently purchased these headphones. Great product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Music on the move

MDR-ZX220BT 03/07/2017 by Linda123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to use and leaves me free to undertake jobs around the house whilst lisyening to music.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Has everything I'm looking for

MDR-ZX220BT 24/06/2017 by Aiden (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The headphones fit very comfortably around my head and don't look ridiculously large. They have a beautiful minimalist design to them (Not an over abundance of curves, dips and bumps on the design. The headphones have very strong range. If you were to walk away from a room on the 1st floor (2nd floor to americans I think). THey'd only lose the signal after walking a certain distance away from the building. The sound quality is excellent as well with a strong sense of bass that's good news because I listen to a lot of ambient music while working.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very good sound quality

MDR-ZX220BT 17/06/2017 by Tbuzzer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this as a gift and still getting used to its features

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Convenient and good value for money

MDR-ZX220BT 14/06/2017 by agatheb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The headphone is light, easy to use and I love the integrated microphone to use it for calls too.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Best headphone

MDR-ZX220BT 02/06/2017 by The Big Boss (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best headphone I have. Beautiful. Clean lines.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great quality and value!

MDR-ZX220BT 01/06/2017 by Hannah2510 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these headphones as I needed them for the gym and didn't want to pay through the roof for a pair. Super comfy, not bulky looking at all. Great sound quality and the sound cancellation is great. Full volume is super loud and only has a small amount of sound leakage. But that is to be expected if you're in a room with no other sounds. In the gym however you can't tell what I'm listening to. Extremely happy with my purchase and can't complain about the low price either :)

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

OK

MDR-ZX220BT 04/05/2017 by Fiery (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not what I needed! Useless for me and no good! So..

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

12

0

Excellent

MDR-ZX220BT 12/04/2017 by Hall1234 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really pleased with my eye phones would recommend this product brilliant

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony headphone review

MDRZX220BT/B 02/04/2017 by Africanpride (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

flemsy, light weight, good noise reduction and simple to use but the sound productions is not that great.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Amazing sound

MDR-ZX220BT 19/03/2017 by Plugz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with this product, however when am on the phone its not very load

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Great headphones

MDR-ZX220BT 15/03/2017 by Sofiaaa1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought them a week ago as I needed wireless headphones, never bought wireless as I was worried about sound quality however these are amazing!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Great sound!

MDR-ZX220BT 10/03/2017 by 2000 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had these headphones for about 3 months and the sound quality is great, much better than earphones are. That being said they aren't good at blocking out all the sound be around you. Also, I find the feel of the headphones seems to be cheap as the plastic used is pretty flexible.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Impressed. But disappointing.

MDR-ZX220BT 06/03/2017 by gothiquin (United Kingdom)

Out of the box (posh packaging) comes a lovely shiny pair of headphones; that look much better than in the picture. Impressed that the design and headband are in fact rather sturdy; despite what many people have reviewed. They do seem like a tight fit on your head. The tip though, is to wiggle your ears into the cups while extending the headband round your head - and get them nice and comfy. I think the earpads are plush, smooth, soft and quality. Pairing up the Bluetooth was disappointing; as it should have been easy. But it took ages to get it to take. Likewise, turning On and Off on the 'Play' button and reconnecting it was an issue. But this was resolved on the second day by a decent charging. In addition, the pictorial instructions are not really very helpful. The sound I find much better than my previous headphones. But I like flat sound anyway. I love the announced "On/Off/Bluetooth Connected" when wearing them (it's like being Iron Man) When they do work, they work very well and I have tested out a range of about five metres and around a slight corner into the kitchen. Two gripes: 1) I think it would be better with a plain old on/off switch and not a multi function button. 2) There is no back-up headphone jack socket. *** Turns out they had a faulty battery that wouldn't hold it's charge - hence having trouble booting and pairing. Sent back for a refund.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

1

0

GOOD PRODUCT BUT COMFORT COULD BE IMPROVED

MDR-ZX220BT 15/02/2017 by vin42 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like these good value earphones and their ease of use. Could do with better size adjustment as I find them too tight and a bit uncomfortable after about 2 hours use. Also the volume control is a bit fiddly for a left-handed person.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Great quality

MDR-ZX220BT 11/02/2017 by Brocky79 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

One of the best products I've bought great quality and performance so comfortable

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good addition

MDR-ZX220BT 03/02/2017 by Watusa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a month ago and is a very good addition to my gadget collection

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very pleased with my purchase

MDR-ZX220BT 23/01/2017 by Aimee D (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these to make it easier to listen to podcasts and audiobooks in the gym without wires trailing all over the place. They are perfect for this because of the controls on the headphones themselves (pause, volume etc). The sound quality is fine for what I want them for, although true audiophiles will probably notice a slight decrease in quality over wired headphones. The range on the bluetooth is very good - I left my phone in my bedroom on charge and could still use the headphones down in the kitchen without any issues. I've only had to charge them a few times since I got them as the battery lasts a long time. They feel solid and not likely to break easily.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice headphones

MDR-ZX220BT 14/01/2017 by Charlie47 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice looking headphones with good sound quality. A bargain for the price. The only problem is that you can't plug the headphones directly into devices in the event they run out of charge.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great product easy to use

MDR-ZX220BT 13/01/2017 by Kwiss2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as a gift form Santa December 2016. Easy to connect to iPod for music and podcasts. However I have been unable to connect to my Panasonic TV which has bluetooth so thats a bit disappointing but its not spoiling my enjoyment of the headphones. Im sure by paying hundreds I would get a better sound but as a first pair Im satisfied for now

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Pairing is sometimes difficult

MDR-ZX220BT 07/01/2017 by MikeG1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received these earphones as a present and am pleased with them. The sound quality is very good and the range is very good. I get clear response upstairs from the TV in the lounge. I am quite new to Blue Tooth and I find that pairing sometimes takes several attempts before it pairs and pairing both the TV and my Tablet is very difficult. Information about Pairing is difficult to find.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Comfortable and efficient.

MDR-ZX220BT 07/01/2017 by Padetrois (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My daughter bought these as a Christmas present to replace my old but well loved 'plug in' pair. What can I say? No turning back now. These are much better in every way. The only bug so far is the short battery life. I must make it a routine to charge up at the end of each day. Easy to set up and use, folds flat for storage.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1