Skip to Content
184

4.3 based on 184 customer reviews

101
56
15
4
8
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Near Perfection!

MDR-ZX770BN 23/11/2015 by TruckMonkey1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the MDR-ZX770BN for travel to Spain this month. Was dubious about the noise cancelling features but can only say how wrong I was to be so. Sat in the terminal buildings at Manchester Airport and Alicante Airport and the only thing I could hear was my music, the noise cancelling deature worked an absolute treat. The same can be said for their use on the flight, switch off the noise cancelling function and the aircraft noise was remarkably loud, however turn it on and I cold hear none of it. Extremely impressed, and a much better price than some of the rival products available that I had also considered. The only issue I had was warm ears, which now I am back in the UK doesnt seem like such an issue.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Broken in normal use, Impossible to get serviced

MDR-ZX770BN 07/02/2017 by ianwaring (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The joint between the eyepiece and headband broke in normal use, and completely frustrated trying to work out where to send it for repair. As it's beyond its first 12 months warranty, now a useless item to me. Really disappointed by the quality of the product build, even though the sound performance was great while it lasted. Don't plan to buy another Sony product as a result.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

185 Customer Reviews

0

Good fit and comfy.

MDR-ZX770BN 12/12/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great overall sound and easy to match with my bluetooth amp and phone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant

MDR-ZX770BN 09/12/2017 by Tpe1972 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Use these on a rowing machine to save having to turn the volume up too loud. They are superb. Great sound with minimal background noise. Wish I had got them ages ago.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value for a noise cancelling headset

MDR-ZX770BN 08/12/2017 by Denmur (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The headphones were on a special deal matching a competitors deal. I was varying between these and the Bose Soundlink I WiFi set. Looking at the price these won hands down, and as I own quite a few Sony items I decided to stick with Sony and very pleased that I did. Sound quality excellent, easy to connect via Bluetooth with the back up of a cable. Noise cancelling very good all in all an excellent buy, I just hope they last ....

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very good for the price

MDR-ZX770BN 08/12/2017 by Mccadava (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent headphones for the price. Good sound including base. Comfortable to wear with good battery life. NC is not as good as premium brands and most of the reduction is from the pads instead of the NC system. However would recommend in a heartbeat.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great pair of hwadphones

MDR-ZX770BN 08/12/2017 by Hertfordshire (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’m not an expert but I like the feel of the headphones when they are on. The sound appears to be great. It’s easy to pair with an iPhone (I managed). Haven’t tried taking a call with them yet. Larger than other brands that you see people walking around with so not sure I’ll be walking around town with them...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant so far!

MDR-ZX770BN 08/12/2017 by JC215 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased a couple of weeks ago in preparation for a long flight to Australia. (My many-years old, on ear Maxell headphones still work, but the covers are shedding their faux leather outer covering.) My new Sony headphones (ZX770BN) are a joy to use, mainly at my allotment so far. The 'over ear' design is far better than 'on ear', and a comfortable fit, with or without my woolly hat on. Playing music on my phone and using the Bluetooth feature, sound reproduction is excellent and answering the phone is simplicity itself using the control on the headphones. I'm looking forward to trying the Noise Cancellation feature in the near future.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Top notch

MDR-ZX770BN 06/12/2017 by Otter888 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Awsome sound quality plus the headphones are comfy to whare battery life is good too

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent for people with hearing aids

MDR-ZX770BN 06/12/2017 by WeaBel (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as I wear hearing aids so couldn't use the in-ear ones, they work perfectly.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product

MDR-ZX770BN 04/12/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am pleased with the headphones Very good quality

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A

MDR-ZX770BN 04/12/2017 by Micky blue eyes (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought the earphones just before a long haul flight. They were brilliant no outside noise just pure sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

ZX770BN Headphones

MDR-ZX770BN 04/12/2017 by Jayman2307 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought myself these as I walk a lot and I'm so glad that I did. No hassle with wires, Bluetooth connects very easy and they look good. Very easy to use as well. If you're on the fence, jump over and buy them. You won't regret it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Product!

MDR-ZX770BN 17/11/2017 by Tidywires (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent all round. Very comfortable, great sound and being free from wires is such a bonus. Noise cancelling is a big bonus too. All in all they offer a lot for the money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great for the price to have noise cancelation

MDR-ZX770BN 16/11/2017 by I Love Sony (United Kingdom)

I spent more than I intended for these as they were the first to have noise cancelation. very pleased that I did. You can tell the difference with these and ones at 3 times the price, but they are excellent. Battery lasts ages. Sound quality is great.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

good value

MDR-ZX770BN 14/11/2017 by Federstein (United Kingdom)

Used daily, good sound, well pleased. Am considering a further pair.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

best headphones ive had ever!

MDR-ZX770BN 05/11/2017 by TurboCarlsen (USA)

i got this as a gift and i just love them good noice cancling aand amazing sound

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

ZX770BN Headphones

MDR-ZX770BN 03/11/2017 by jomacavaio (United Kingdom)

Comfortable to wear, good stereo sound reproduction, Bluetooth and USB cable connections. Has lived up to expectations.

1

0

0

Exellent

MDR-ZX770BN 01/11/2017 by Jackita (United Kingdom)

Owned couple weeks now and fab product always purchase Sony products

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound

MDR-ZX770BN 31/10/2017 by Mondeo7672 (United Kingdom)

Got this as a gift and they are excellent. Really good sound quality.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointed

MDR-ZX770BN 24/10/2017 by Cf soton (United Kingdom)

Disappointed that the Bluetooth functionality on these headsets doesn't work with our samsung or phillips tv's or our levono laptop. In fact the only thing we've been able to connect them to is a samsung phone.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Great value

MDR-ZX770BN 22/10/2017 by Indieco (United Kingdom)

Just bought these for my kid. Noise cancelling is very good, sound quality excellent.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Very happy !

MDR-ZX770BN 19/10/2017 by Mbc161 (United Kingdom)

Great sound up loud or quieter, crisp and clear with good bass. Bluetooth a bonus with cable backup. Best headphones I’ve owned to date !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Noise cancelling is a lie

MDR-ZX770BN 15/10/2017 by Sonerask (USA)

I purchesed this HPhone for noise cancelling technology but NO, there is no any different with old type headphones; it’s many Noisy. This a normal Bluetooth hp, just all

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/10/2017

Hi Sonerask, thanks for bringing this up and we apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. However, for possible troubleshooting steps to fix this issue, please visit the link below. I hope it helps. Regards, ^Ron

http://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/zx770bn/v1/en/contents/TP0000773699.html

0

Good performance & value

MDR-ZX770BN 11/10/2017 by carol1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very good sound quality, easy to connect to my devices, easy to use & comfortable to wear. Very pleased with these headphones. Good value for money & come with a carry pouch & cable for use on occassions when bluetooth use isn't permitted.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor noise cancelling

MDR-ZX770BN 07/10/2017 by PLShutterbug (USA)

Noise canceling is very poor. I also have the Bose QC20, and have owned both older Bose NC and other brands as well. Sitting in my kitchen, the Bose totally shuts out the sound of my furnace (a close analog to jet engine noise) but these do not do any better with NC on vs. the hedset’s power being completely shut off. We bought these specifically for use on an airplane and they are useless for that function. I wish we could return them.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great headphones

MDR-ZX770BN 01/10/2017 by Andrian4d (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing headphones, really pleased so far. The only thing that irritate me is that the earpad cushions become a bit sweaty in 10min of use. But overall amazing!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great, but will eventually break

MDR-ZX770BN 28/09/2017 by chrisms39 (USA)

I bought these headphones I think 3 times. In all 3 cases, they broke. I don't remember how the first 2 broke, but the third one broke in the connecting part where the ear part of the headphones swivel.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/09/2017

Hello chrisms39, We regret that the unit did not live up to your expectations. You can reach us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and let us see how we can improve your experience. Kindly include your personal and product information and a reference number if any so we can take a closer look at your file.
Thank you, _Bob

0

I like, very much

MDR-ZX770BN 20/09/2017 by Whiteyboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First ever NC Headphones and they are great. Reviews were spot on and I am very pleased with my purchase

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Will not charge

MDR-ZX770BN 14/09/2017 by NeedNewHeadphones (USA)

I have purchased these headphones for a lot of money and they have stopped charging. The charging light comes on for 10 seconds when connected and then turns off and there is no charge to the headphones. They worked less than a year and Sony will not do anything about it. I will not be buying any Sony products again. Their customer service was not helpful.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/09/2017

Hi NeedNewHeadphones, We're sorry to hear this. Kindly check this link out for troubleshooting steps to help isolate the issue:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/31292
~Ralph

0

Perfect for me

MDR-ZX770BN 13/09/2017 by Maryec27 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the headphones to block out the noise from lots of local building work. Noise cancelling feature is great and sound quality perfect. Very comfy to wear and I'm now learning Spanish via podcast while doing the housework!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great first decent set

MDR-ZX770BN 11/09/2017 by trevcoleman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love these things. Sound is such a step up from ear buds, and the noise cancellation really makes a difference in the office where computers, air-con etc. make a constant background hum. One minor downside, the hinge on which the headphones fold seems just a tad flimsy, I've no need for foldable myself though so some DIY reinforcement makes them perfect. really happy.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great piece of kit

MDR-ZX770BN 02/09/2017 by BMBoxer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the headphones as a replacement for an older set and am very pleased them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Quality headphones

MDR-ZX770BN 23/08/2017 by pezgudge (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these as part of a birthday present and really impressed with the quality and functions.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Headphones

MDR-ZX770BN 10/08/2017 by Okdfrunpy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought 1 week ago just what was required Customer services not as good

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Grate headphones

MDR-ZX770BN 22/07/2017 by Dougnut2008 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with headphones and good quality everything is well placed

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good sound and very comfortable

MDR-ZX770BN 22/07/2017 by Peter523 (United Kingdom)

I bought this two months ago and it works fine especially if im up late and want to watch a video without keeping people awake

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great headphones

MDR-ZX770BN 15/07/2017 by Music Man (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I looked at several makes of headphones and decided on Sony, pleased I did.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

AWESOME SOUND!

MDR-ZX770BN 13/07/2017 by alexpe (USA)

this is the best pair of headphones I'VE EVER OWNED! If you're on the fence about shelling out the cash, remember, YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Charging the battery

MDR-ZX770BN 13/07/2017 by Aryo (USA)

I try many times charging the unit. Unfortunately, the red light just flash 1 second, after that, the light turn off. I remain continue to charge battery. After 3 hours charging, the battery still empty. It means that charging battery is not working properly. Why ?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Don't Bother

MDR-ZX770BN 02/07/2017 by whywhy (USA)

Purchased this for my mother in law. Bluetooth connectivity is very difficult to manage. The input (physical) cable line will not seat properly with a standard audio plug. What is the point, really, of bringing this to market?

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/07/2017

Hi whywhy, we're very sorry to hear that you are having difficulties with the headset, and we hope we get it fixed for your mother-in-law as soon as possible. Kindly try resetting the headset by following the steps in the link provided to address the Bluetooth issue: http://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/zx770bn/v1/en/contents/TP0000773509.html?search=reset As for the cable design, it fits perfectly on 3.5mm audio jacks and you may need an adapter for it if it will be used on jacks with a different diameter. Regardless, we'll forward your feedback to the whole team so we can investigate and make further improvements. Best regards.

0

Good

MDR-ZX770BN 01/07/2017 by Sidboy83 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good product, worth the value,addition one year warranty aswell

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing

MDR-ZX770BN 23/06/2017 by mensen (USA)

its amazing the sound and the build is great the sound is so good now i can hear better ingame my last headset had so bad volume now if anybody is scrolling down and reading this and want maybe to buy it, its worth every single dollar and its bluetooth on it ;), I LOVE IT!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Quality Sound

MDR-ZX770BN 13/06/2017 by bazzza (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought these headphone to replace a pair of Phillips headphones. Huge improvement.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good value headphones

MDR-ZX770BN 06/06/2017 by Benson a (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

They do what it says on the tin. And do it well .would recommend them to anyone

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Cannot connect to laptop!!!

MDR-ZX770BN 05/06/2017 by pormadon (USA)

Brand new Dell laptop with Bluetooth working fine, cannot connect with these headphone!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/06/2017

Hi pormadon, kindly refresh the headphone by pressing and holding down the power and pause/play buttons simultaneously for more than 7 seconds. It should then pair with your laptop after the procedure. Make sure that you change the playback devices under the speaker settings of your laptop. Regards.

0

Very easy to use

MDR-ZX770BN 22/05/2017 by Pressman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Joines to Bluetooth very well very good sound very comfortable to use

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good product

MDR-ZX770BN 20/05/2017 by 4728 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had these for two weeks and I love them, great sound quality, simple and easy to connect using bluetooth and very comfortable for long periods of time

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Does the job!

MDR-ZX770BN 16/05/2017 by aremadeofthis (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded these from the previous 750 model. Sound quality is better. Battery life is okay. If I use them the whole day for listening to music whilst I work, I'll have to charge them. If I just use it for commuting and phone calls can usually go several days without charging. Comes with a nice soft cloth carrying case, which is good for not getting in scratched in my bag.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

noise cancelling disappointing

MDR-ZX770BN 19/04/2017 by Iona (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this product at Christmas time and have used it a number of times since. I love the design it feels very comfortable to wear, only issue is the leather earcups can feel a bit sticky if you are using the product while working out, although it is easy to wipe clean. Bluetooth works well easy to connect. Disappointed with the noise cancelling the bottons are difficult to set and it is not particularly effective. I really struggled on an aeroplane where the background noise was very loud. As a Bluetooth device I am happy with it but overall I feel it could have been priced more competitively perhaps reducing the cost by £10 or £20. As the noise cancelling is extremely poor in comparison to the likes of Bose products. Overall pleased with the product just wish it was a little cheaper.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Hear your music collection for the first time!

MDR-ZX770BN 07/04/2017 by Alphaville (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These headphones are pretty much immaculate for the price - which is hundreds of pounds cheaper than the (for me unaffordable) Bose or Sennheiser alternatives. I have bought them for a daily commute by car and they allow me to hear musical details which I simply have not heard before on other systems including hi-fi. There are one or two limitations - the noise cancelling function does not function if for example your are riding a bike - you'll get a lot of wind noise rumble. The other niggle fairly typical of Sony products and which is why they only get 4 stars from me is the lack of clear and accessible documentation. With this particular product reading the manual is particularly important as there are (as I understand it) 3 levels of quality the choice of which needs to be made before use. I only use the top quality setting as I've never had any problem with Bluetooth connectivity at this best setting. Apart from the usual Sony excuse for documentation, these headphones are a steal.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Brilliant Headphones

MDR-ZX770BN 31/03/2017 by tjs_1445 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Briught these two weeks ago and so far they have worked well. The noise cancelling is brilliant and very effective. The headphones are very comfterable and battery life is good. Will definately reccomend this product to a friend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

My Review for ZX770BN

MDR-ZX770BN 31/03/2017 by Bazdonn (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

GREAT PRODUCT WISH I HAD BOUGHT IT SOONER THAN I DID

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Active Noise Cancelling is very mild

MDRZX770BN/B 23/03/2017 by Simonx (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

the audio quality overall is pretty good. BT voice quality is Ok in home environment but not quite satisfied in office environment when multiple BT devices working around. Active Noise cancelling feature is very disappointed.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great headphones

MDR-ZX770BN 18/03/2017 by Elmatar (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had choice of 2 one expensive non cancelling and these, for my needs no contest I bought these

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0