299

4.4 based on 299 customer reviews

203
55
23
8
10
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Quality headphones

WH-1000XM2 23/12/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having used for several months, I think these are expensive but great quality, very comfortable to wear, and the noise cancelling feature excellent. Work fine with Bluetooth connection to my smart t.v. / iPhone and iPad. Perfect for late night t.v. listening for films and music alike.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

first day broke

WH-1000XM2 26/12/2017 by wvandenhul (USA)

I have had this product for a day now and there is already a piece loose in the right ear that distorts the sound. It seems like the plastic inside is not connected properly and will shake from the sound itself without me even moving my head.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

302 Customer Reviews

0

Sony WH1000 XM2

WH-1000XM2 25/05/2018 by Antareska (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I could not decide between Bose QC35 and Sony but sound quality and design made me go for Sony.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great headphones

WH-1000XM2 25/05/2018 by Jaypar (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've used them a couple of times so far and they have excellent noise cancellation. Really good sound too. Need to get a bit used to the volume up and down swipes on the right cup but otherwise good controls. Love the fact that I don't have to take them off to hear someone talking to me. Just cover the right cup with your hand and you can hear clearly someone talking to you. Great invention. Can't wait to try the headphones during my flight tomorrow. I'm sure they'll deliver.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great quality but uncomfortable headband

WH-1000XM2 25/05/2018 by Jelkser (USA)

Just bought these and while the sound quality and noise cancellation is great I find to top of my head is uncomfortable after even just 10 min of wear. Compared to my Sennheiser px550’s which I can wear all day no problem. Would love to hear if anybody else had this problem and has found a way around this issue!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/05/2018

Hi Jelkser, thank you for sharing your feedback. You may visit the link below for some possible explanation to help you address your concern. I hope it helps. Regards, ^Ron

https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/support-info.pl?info_id=1727&kbid=00015243&mdl=WH1000XM2

0

excellent product

WH-1000XM2 24/05/2018 by mgp1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

exceeded my expectations, in terms of comfort, usability, and sound quality.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best in the market

WH-1000XM2 24/05/2018 by Riyami (USA)

Best noise cancelling and just the best headphones overall.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good but Windows 1803 build controls dont work

WH-1000XM2 24/05/2018 by Roda1313 (USA)

The Headset is good but the problem came with April 2018 release of Windows build 1803 where all the controls dont work with all the applications and websites, making the whole experience of Bluetooth a bit painful, and the Firmware 2.0 release was delayed which makes the headset obsolete in wireless mode.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/05/2018

Hi Roda1313,

Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America, Latin America, and Asia Pacific. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

0

Surpassed Expectations!

WH-1000XM2 23/05/2018 by SpiritedApple (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

All my life I’ve been into good equipment, especially audio products. I wouldn’t call myself an expert but I am very hard to please. Over time I’ve been through many headphones and recently some very highly rated in-ear wireless buds which I frankly thought were a disaster. Before buying these I read many reviews and pretty much tried all the contenders-finally it came down to the Sony’s and the Bose QuietComfort 35 mk2. Honestly not a fan of the Bose sound, it’s very flat and uninvolving. Finally, after two days of trying to keep the Bluetooth signal (in the end it just didn’t want to know my iPhone7) I gave up. I have read of this issue in reviews before. The Sony’s are absolutely fabulous and seem to get better. Great battery life and just LOVE the controls on the right earpiece. I believe a huge effort went into these and it shows. Fabulous!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

WOWWWWWW

WH-1000XM2 23/05/2018 by dexd (USA)

Great noise cancelling for any environment. I turned on m headsets while driving my SUV and I couldn't hear the engine. I thought the engine had shut off. Best headphones I've ever had.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good features but nothing extraordinary

WH-1000XM2 21/05/2018 by Simsima (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this last month and found it not as special as once thought. I had thought it would dampen the noise completely. However, people's voices were very audible. I could not see a difference between my old wireless Beats headphones and this. The real benefits, it seems, if you travel in the air a great deal. Also, I found it difficult to change volume, etc. using the hand gesture over the right headphone. Sadly, for these reason, I decided it was not that special and not worth the cost.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

Money well spent

WH-1000XM2 20/05/2018 by David1968 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these headphones after checking out reviews. Excellent sound build and noise cancelling technology.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Simply Fantastic Headphones

WH-1000XM2 20/05/2018 by Cageypea (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wanted some over ear headphones to listen to IPod to replace in ear ones. These sound fantastic whether listening to heavy rock or pop whether male or female vocalist both wired & bluetooth. Hearing sounds never heard before even through headphones on high quality home hi-fi through high quality headphones. Overall sound is simply fantastic. Listened to them on long flight from England to Jamaica & return & whereas normally when on plane have to listen to heavy music because of noise of engine even quiet tracks e.g. acoustic could be clearly heard with the noise cancelling on & turned out most of noise could hear was vibration through feet on floor so less when lifted them up. Also great to simply place hand on right headphone & be able to hold a conversation with someone without stopping the music. Very soon got used to using the functions even though not that good using technology. Absolutely no negatives in respect of these headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic Product

WH-1000XM2 19/05/2018 by Kaimoot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

World class noise cancellation and functionality are key word. A very decent product. Loving n enjoying.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great sound and noise control, but slightly flimsy

WH-1000XM2 19/05/2018 by PhillipLee69 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love these, but I’m on my second pair and I might be returning this pair too, all because of rattles and squeaks from the cheap plastic

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Top Features

WH-1000XM2 18/05/2018 by Carbs (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product after reading good reviews. I had a pair of beats headphones previously which were fine, but due to a job change I am a regular traveller on public transport and wanted some noise cancelling ones. I was really amazed how good the noise cancelling feature was and the touch feature is genius. Well done Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Clarity and precise positioning of instruments...

WH-1000XM2 14/05/2018 by John552 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These phones created a lot of work for me because I had to re-rip my CD collection to FLAC format instead of the previous 320kbit/sec MP3 format. In other words, these phones are so good that you can tell the difference! The clarity and precise positioning of instruments is impressive, and I now feel as though I am hearing some of my CDs for the first time. Bluetooth performance is also very good, as long as the transmitter supports AptX HD. For connection to my PC and non-Bluetooth devices, I bought a small AptX HD transmitter to permit wireless operation without loss of quality. Perhaps Sony should include such a device with the phones. Overall I'm very happy with them, but they do highlight any shortcomings of the music sources to which they are connected, so be prepared for further upgrades! There is a very slight background hiss audible when the phones are in NC mode, but this is not obtrusive, and probably helps to eliminate any sense of claustraphobia when wearing them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Great features very comfortable

WH-1000XM2 14/05/2018 by TonySoprano (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

They are a premium price but the noise cancelling is the only one on the market that takes the noise of the tube away

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Benchmark

WH-1000XM2 13/05/2018 by CMasten (USA)

i have listened to a lot of headphones, I when about 2 dozen, but non are noise cancelling. Sony got this right......they still sound like a Sony MDR 1000 which are a studio standard, but add in NC and the ability to dynamically adapt to different environments and you have a truely useful piece of travel gear!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Blown away by the quality!

WH-1000XM2 13/05/2018 by theKthePthe3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So first off, these are not the cheapest, lets get that out the way. However, the quality and features more than offset any concern around the price. The noise cancelling is, for me, the killer feature. I work in a loud noisy office but once these are one I can't hear a thing. If the office starts to annoy me all I need to do is put these on, I don't even need to play music most of the time. "power on....Bluetooth connected" Because the noise cancelling is so good you don't need to have music loud to drown out the rest of the word so my ear damage won't get any worse. The battery life is solid. I've used them for two days in the office back to back without charge and the battery level only got to 'medium' Can't recommend these enough.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Headphones

WH-1000XM2 12/05/2018 by Rehudi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this a month ago, only used them at home. Still trying to work out all the features but so far it is a great product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Quite Good

WH-1000XM2 11/05/2018 by gjfg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Always bought Bose previously for noise cancelling. Bought the Sony 1000xm2's as they had good reviews and I wanted something different - as every man and his dog seems to wear Bose nowadays. The Sony 1000xm2's have much better sound quality, I love the fact they're wire free, blue-tooth connectivity range is very good - I can wander from room to room without dropping connection, noise cancelling around the house and on the streets is much better than the Bose. I haven't tried them on an airplane as yet so cannot give a comparison there.Very comfortable to wear. The only complaint I have is when I initially turn them on, after about 5 minutes the headphones automatically switch from Noise Cancelling to Ambient Sound. So I have to then switch them back to Noise Cancelling, after which they are fine - not really an issue, it just irritates me! Informed Sony of the problem and was told to send the headphones in for repair or replacement. Instead I took them back to place of purchase and exchanged for a new pair. Problem persists - hence only 4 stars!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Perfect emmersion, great controls.

WH-1000XM2 11/05/2018 by Stellifier (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound is out of this world, controls are easy to use if you follow the instructions and well thought-out - you don't feel like you are battling the technology. Very pleased with the purchase - really blocks out noise on the underground on my daily commute, but great ambient option so I can hear important sounds.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant sound and noise cancelling

WH-1000XM2 10/05/2018 by alibielsewhere (United Kingdom)

I am no expert in the field of headphones and the styling and sound from them is brilliant. I have a small head and find them a little overwhelming and heavy but all noise cancelling models seem quite big.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great headphones with a major design flaw

WH-1000XM2 10/05/2018 by RhinerOceros (USA)

I love these things. They sound great, they are super comfortable, and the battery lasts forever. However, there is one design flaw that is completely inexcusable in such a feature packed device. If they are not paired via bluetooth the noise cancelling automatically shuts off after 5 min. There are plenty of situations where a person might want to use the noise cancellation by itself, without playing music, and or not paired to a device. What would happen if my phone died while I was traveling and I still wanted to use the ANC? Sony's answer is that you should plug the headphones in using the cord........wait, I need to plug my WIRELESS headphones in via a cord to use ANC for more than 5 min?????? Of course, I am sure there are people that like that feature because it saves the battery. There is a simple solution, allow users to turn that feature on and off via the app. Please Sony, release a new firmware for these things that fixes this issue. This would be a no brainer 5 star review were it not for this one utterly incomprehensible design choice.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/05/2018

Thank you for your feedback on your experience with your headphones, RhinerOceros. We are sorry for any inconvenience you had experienced. Please be assured we take this very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products. I will have your feedback forwarded to the relevant department.
-Erin

0

Great sound

WH-1000XM2 10/05/2018 by Keith56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound quality is great and the features are good. Comfortable to wear and sound cancelling is good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great clear sound

WH-1000XM2 09/05/2018 by AdiT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have owned these for just over 2 weeks. The sound is very clear. Loudness not as good as QC25 II and the bass is quieter. But the overall sound I believe it to be better than the Bose I mentioned above. My only real issue with these is the weight and the padding could have a been a bit thicker.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Really good

WH-1000XM2 09/05/2018 by Debwalker89 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very nice sound and very good noise cancelling. Good features.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

All that and a bag of chips

WH-1000XM2 09/05/2018 by Kenhdcgov1 (USA)

I tested the headphones in the store and was in awe! My appreciation only deepened after reading unbiased reviews! Quite simply, it’s the best set of headphones that I have ever had since my first exposure in the early 60’s. Get yours today!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/05/2018

Hello Kenhdcgov1, good to know that you are happy with your purchase. Thanks for the feedback.
Regards, _Bob

0

Best Headphones ever!

WH-1000XM2 09/05/2018 by KirstyLou (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Comfortable headphones an great sound quality - very happy with my purchase!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Noise cancellations excellent

WH-1000XM2 08/05/2018 by Wardyboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just bought graeat sound Using apt helps make easy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound quality & ANC but not as comfortable

WH-1000XM2 08/05/2018 by MRL263 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After comparing this to a few others in store. decided to buy this. generally found the sound quality and ANC to be better but not as comfortable (hence 3 stars) so can only use them for a few hours before they get too hot / uncomfortable. Apart from that they are excellent but be aware Sony support is shocking bad so make sure you buy from a shop which has a good returns/additional warranty policy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

WH1000XM2 NC headphones.

WH-1000XM2 07/05/2018 by EKNG (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The noise cancelling performance was as good as I had expected. Still learning the nuances of controlling the functions and facilities of the WH1000XM2. Lightweight, easy to charge, long usage time too, controls a bit fiddly for my hands but function feedback is very welcome. 3.5mm connecting lead and charger lead accessories are also a good addition, carry case functional but would have expected an AC charger for the price. Keep up the good work, but consider how many more units could be sold at a more lucrative and appealing lower price?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great headphones!

WH-1000XM2 07/05/2018 by Alexk53 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only had the a week and used them with a TV Bluetooth Transmitter but so far they are flawless. My wife had the radio on loud only 6 feet away and the noise cancelling reduced the radio to a whisper!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great sound

WH-1000XM2 07/05/2018 by comerchrisco (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great noise cancelling. Not sure about Adaptive Sound Control, seems to beep, cut-out, then change, then come back on. A bit heavy but comfortable. Sounds really good with any setting.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Mind - Blown

WH-1000XM2 05/05/2018 by PeteST205 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After taking the leap from in-ears, I wanted a product that could make the most of Spotify and SoundCloud streaming on the go (320kb/s) without going 'too high end' for my mobile device. These headphones outdid themselves song-after-song and just the features alone amazed me. Controlling the music and ambience without a control pad is a very neat way to show the product off, especially with friends. Highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Seriously impressive

WH-1000XM2 04/05/2018 by perfectly4med (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have a very loud fan cooled machine in my studio, and working alongside it has been very unpleasant. Ear defenders weren't an option as I wanted to listen to the radio. Listening to the radio wasn't an option as the machine noise was too loud. 'How about combining ear defenders with headphones?', I thought. Oh, my word. Noise cancelling is so effective it's as if the world has been silenced. With various options for how much external noise you want to hear, the headphones along with the smartphone app give plenty of choices. There's a quick cancel option by paradoxically covering your right headphone to hear more ambient noise, and fingertip control of volume. Pairing is quick and simple and provided different codecs are used, two devices can be paired at the same time (e.g. computer and smartphone). As effective as ear defenders, without complete isolation. Perfect.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Better than Bose!!

WH-1000XM2 04/05/2018 by Vinny34 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Did a lot of research and tried out in 4 different places before Purchase Depth and Sound Quality fantastic. The NR is fab - Just the best wireless headphones with massive battery life

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just love them

WH-1000XM2 03/05/2018 by Wato (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Previously to these used my Bose quiet comfort headphones, due to I phone upgrade ( I phone X) needed a blue tooth set, having read proffesional reviews went for these, part reason was my wife was going on business trip to Tokyo Japan so could possibly save a little money, we did but not much, quality of sound is just superb, noise cancelling is also very good and as reviews says every bit as good as the highly rated Bose if not slightly better, when used with the Sony headphone app you can adjust sound to your preference, they come suppled in a quality case complete with USB charging lead + plug in cable for use on aircraf together with the 2 pin plug adaptor, only had them for a couple of weeks and everything is good Bluetooth connectivity is fast and easy, my only concern is issues being reported ref cracking of the headband at the earphone swivel point although my pair seem sound and strong so Sony might have fixed the issue, no regrets at the moment just enjoying them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Wow

WH1000XM2/B 03/05/2018 by Eric13579 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

What an amazing headphone. Sounds like you are there in the music.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/05/2018

Hi Eric13579, We always appreciate customers who take time to give us their feedback. We're always looking to make Sony better. Thanks for choosing Sony! -David

0

Great but little ear space & callin to be improved

WH-1000XM2 03/05/2018 by adam108 (USA)

One of the best headphones on the market, yet: TO BE IMPROVED - ear space: there is not much depth for ears (i don't have big ears, very average), ears start hurting after ca. 3 hours of using. need to add more. Used to have Parrot Zik 2, could wear them for 12 hours without any pain on the ears. Sony, you can learn from Parrot Zik. - calling needs to be improved - the microphones collect so much background noise, that calling is impossible when outdoors, on a bus, etc, because people will not understand you. even when in the room, the people i'm calling tend to say that there is echo, sound is not clear, it sounds like I would be in a bottle PROS: - great noise cancelling - great app - great battery - great connectivity over ca 20 - 30 meters

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Awesome music quality

WH-1000XM2 03/05/2018 by Key92 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased these headphones about a month ago and I can honestly say that these are the best headphones by far I've ever owed the only down side is there premium price tag

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A joy to my ears

WH-1000XM2 02/05/2018 by DAVE J (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I did not know how music through a quality pair of headphones could sound so good. The noise cancelling technology made them a joy to wear

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

AMAZING

WH-1000XM2 02/05/2018 by graypes (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and I can't believe how amazing it has been. I have never been able to put it down. It sits comfortably. I used to own a pair of Bose QCs but this is amazing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Light weight, Confort.

WH1000XM2/B 30/04/2018 by Luismael (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Its great. I had a pair of beats before, i showed it to a family member and they liked too. But now that i got these New Sony WH1000 i see that i was just been ignorant. I love to listen to music and i'm amazed on how sony present it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

A very good buy, but not quite perfect

WH-1000XM2 30/04/2018 by racingyacht (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound quality! One of the best sounding noise cancelling headphone's on the market, if not the best. Placing a hand over the right housing to pause noise cancelling to have a conversation is a really great feature. On the downside, I can hear a high pitch hiss when in noise cancelling mode, especially when no music is playing. Noise cancelling is good, but not perfect.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Anti wife (or husband) headphones

WH-1000XM2 29/04/2018 by Steveb50 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good headphones. Excellent sound quality, for me it’s just the right balance between bass and treble and good clear speech. The headphones are comfortable to wear and not sweaty after a couple of hours use and not too heavy. The main feature is the noise cancellation, and to be clear these headphones do not remove all external sounds but the vast majority of them. To put an arbitrary estimated figure on it I would say 90% of external noise is filtered out. It means if I am in a room with the tv playing at normal volume and people talking I can use the headphones to listen to music or watch a program on a tablet and be completely engrossed and uninterrupted. During quiet moments you can hear slight external noise but not enough to interrupt your music or programme. This also means if the wife (or husband) talks to you you can’t hear them! There is a control to allow you to turn off the noise reduction if required or to allow ambient noise through which is good if you need to hear external noise (like listening out for your child calling) but without disturbing those around you. Very little if any noise leakage from the headphone to your outside environment. I’ve not tried these headphones on a train or plane, but I would expect 90% of noise to be removed. Easy to pair to devices.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound!

WH-1000XM2 28/04/2018 by Mööki (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best choice of the three rivals, definitely would recommend

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Audiophile grade headphones!

WH-1000XM2 27/04/2018 by Mike5726 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound quality was top of the list for me and these knock it out the park! Add great noise cancelling plus excellent battery life and not much can match them

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

NC is brilliant and so is the battery life

WH-1000XM2 27/04/2018 by Smithy72 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these headphones for a trip to the US and they have changed the way I travel. The NC is amazing. Excellent headphones

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The best you can find

WH-1000XM2 27/04/2018 by EmadK (USA)

after weeks of research and testing , today i bought this and im 100% sure these are the best headphones on the market.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Incredible

WH-1000XM2 26/04/2018 by Leader (USA)

This one of my first top of the end headphones and I would say that I'm totally impressed. Sure it was weird to have touch controls, but in a day, I have gotten really used to it. Touch control can be a little bit too over-sensitive at times, but it still is an incredible technology to feature in headphones. These are the headphones to buy if you're looking for the innovations and the noise cancellation.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

No bass

WH-1000XM2 24/04/2018 by Costi_ionut (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The quality of the sound is perfect but it has no bass. The bass is not enough for a perfect pair of headphones.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Good but not perfect

WH-1000XM2 22/04/2018 by MFW86 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Noise cancelling is very good. Sound quality is excellent for a pair of noise cancelling headphones. Pairing and control is good with the app. The main annoyance is the touch controls on the ear cup. They seem to have that annoying balance of being overly sensitive when you don't want it, and a bit too dead when you do.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Four and a half stars

WH-1000XM2 22/04/2018 by James27 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been using the headphones for a couple of weeks now, and so far they've proved even better than I'd hoped. They only took about 2 hours to fully charge (the instruction sheet suggested 4) and have shown a battery life much longer than the 2 or 3 hours I usually spend listening to music (battery level still "high" when I've finished). Very easy to use. Noise cancellation excellent. Few if any real criticisms, but as the merits speak for themselves, here goes: - I would like the Bluetooth volume to be louder (although it's actually quite loud) - It's better with rock and pop music than with classical recordings, and can sometimes show up the limitations of old recordings (although it may be easier to fine-tune the sound with the app, which is available for smartphones and tablets - I just have a Mac) - It sometimes cuts out briefly if you jerk your head, even slightly Otherwise a great purchase.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Incredible

WH-1000XM2 22/04/2018 by Ian84 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These are not only the best headphones I have ever owned, they are far superior to similar from the likes of B&W, Bose, Sennheiser, etc. A bit pricey, but in my opinion definitely worth the investment.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Best sound you can imagine

WH-1000XM2 21/04/2018 by Jason73 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unbelievable round quality, deep base and large soundstage and the ANC is very, very good indeed. I couldn't hear an external noise when I was hurtling underground on the central line, and I didn't think that would be possible. Top value and make the Bose WC35's sound like a children's headset.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Good sound, if you can get it to connect

WH1000XM2/B 20/04/2018 by ecd12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Loved the sound in the store. However, i cannot get it to connect to my ipad. Not sure how a product like this is made without connectivity to an ipad. I continue to troubleshoot, and have not given up hope, but I am extremely frustrated at the moment.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Amazing sound and noise cancelling

WH-1000XM2 20/04/2018 by Jazzingo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had these about a month now and am so happy. Worth every penny. The sound and build quality are incredible , the noise cancelling amazing and really comfortable to wear, I wear glasses so this can be hard to find.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The Very Best Noise-Cancelling Headphones

WH-1000XM2 18/04/2018 by Ben Bacon (USA)

As a frequent traveler, I am no stranger to audio on the go. Over the years, I have used the incredible several iterations of Bose's QuietComfort line, Klipsch's astounding Reference Over-Ear model, Samsung's underrated and beautiful Level Over, and a host of other high-end cans. CNET rated the WH-1000XM2 4.5 stars (out of 5)—notching an 8.8 (out of 10). David Carnoy, CNET's most authoritative voice for technology (and especially audio) saved about the 1000XM2s, stating, "Sony's top noise-cancelling headphone matches Bose for best." While the Bose QuietComfort 35 II is a slightly iterative improvement over its predecessor, Sony made massive gains over their popular 2016 model, the MDR-1000X. Sony exceeds Bose in three very important categories: • Performance • Aesthetics • Features *** PERFORMANCE *** The WH-1000XM2s are the pinnacle of audiophile/traveler convergence. The audio is crisp, with a wide, expansive atmosphere, and rumbling low ends. In my experience, Sony outperforms Bose’s QuietComfort line with this release. The sound from Sony’s WH-1000XM2s feels more lively—more consuming. Sony’s noise cancelling is absolutely spectacular—they have set a new bar for all other competitors to reach—and a high bar at that. Atmospheric pressure optimization fine-tunes noise cancelling for airplane cabins. Simply turning on ANC (Active Noise Cancelling)—even without music—creates one’s own private oasis of peace. This feature is far, far beyond brilliant. *** AESTHETICS *** Bose's QC line is all business: an audio workhorse with excellent noise cancelling. The form factor has always been an afterthought. Sony, however, took an opportunity to stand out. The build quality is incredible (a huge step up from its predecessor), and the silhouette is artistic, minimalist, and very eye-catching. *** FEATURES *** The WH-1000XM2s are simply THE most feature-packed headphones on the market today. Sony’s Headphone Connect app allows for a wide variety of customization, such as Adaptive Sound Control, which automatically adjusts the noise cancelling to your activity. “Staying” receives a full blockout of surrounding noise, while “Walking” allows enough noise to pass through to keep the listener aware of their surroundings. This feature can be toggled on/off to the user’s desires, and the noise cancelling itself can be toggled to the user’s own liking, as well. Another incredibly useful feature only found on Sony’s WH-1000XM2 is the ability to “muffle” the audio by placing your hand over the right ear cup. The inline microphone springs to life, passing through audio around you. This is helpful when quickly speaking with someone, bypassing the need to remove your headphones. While I don’t wear glasses, or have a hairstyle that interferes with my listening experience, users who do can finally overcome these “seal” issues through the app. The right ear cup also features an touch pad, so the user can adjust volume, skip songs (forward/backward), play/pause, answer/end calls, and even interact with Google Assistant. *** CONCLUSION *** While it may be easy buyers in the market for top-of-the-line noise-cancelling headphones to default to Bose, they are missing out on a superior product—one that looks, sounds, and performs better than the very best Bose has to offer.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Outstanding set of headphones

WH-1000XM2 18/04/2018 by Twinny (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Quality in every sense. I am in love with these headphones!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sound is not great

WH-1000XM2 17/04/2018 by Jimbob409 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these headphones for the house but disappointed with the sound quality.i also bought the in ear WI 1000X for when I'm out & about & think the sound quality is far superior.i listen to hi res music but the quality of sound is poor more so when I turn up the volume.to me it sounds tinny

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Super happy

WH-1000XM2 16/04/2018 by fredek1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had to make the tough decision to choose between the Bose QM II, B&W PX and the Sony. Decided on the Sony and I am very happy with them

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very disappointed in ease of use for the price

WH1000XM2/B 16/04/2018 by AmyJSN (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this model in 2017 and it worked fine for about 10 months but quit working. Sony replaced it no questions asked but it's not reliable. I bought this item to use for court transcription. This replacement item, every time you end for the day it disconnects, so to begin again you have to re-pair it, sometimes have to reload the drivers. Wastes a LOT of time. When it's up and running it's great. But getting there is very laborious and the directions are diagrams only and basically non-useful.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

Need service after 1 use!

WH-1000XM2 16/04/2018 by Mhel (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it two weeks ago and I cant charge it. I have to put it to service. I am very disappointed!!

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Excited. . . . not!

WH-1000XM2 16/04/2018 by STXX (USA)

After charging according to manufacturer's directions the headset automatically turn off in 10 minutes if not connected via bluetooth.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/04/2018

Hi STXX,

Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America, Latin America, and the Asia Pacific. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.



0

Started out fantastic

WH1000XM2/N 15/04/2018 by MitchinThai (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This product was to replace an old version of Bose. Reason, I didn't replace Bose with Bose they are not IOS compatible. OKAY, after 1 hour of wonderful enjoyment with the product . . . it now constantly turns itself OFF, in about 10 minutes of use.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/04/2018

Hello MitchinThai, we do apologize for the inconvenience. Make sure that the unit is properly charged before using. To isolate, kindly check the links below:
http://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wh1000xm2/v1/en/contents/TP0001513177.html
http://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wh1000xm2/v1/en/contents/TP0001513148.html
Regards, _Bob

0

Superb set of Noise Cancelling headphones

WH-1000XM2 14/04/2018 by PeterJD (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These are superb headphones however they do not work with my Sony 2017 Bravia TV am sure a firmware upgrade could solve this problem

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent choice

WH-1000XM2 14/04/2018 by Jonny w (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought 1 month ago after trying various other options in depth. Although pricey I’m very pleased with these for their quality and features which are surprising useful. Noise cancelling make tune dnd train journeys a calming and restful experience. Highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best on the market!!

WH-1000XM2 13/04/2018 by Crawfjk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I did a lot of research and looked at the Bose QC35 and Bowers&wilkins P9. I currently have wired Bose and really find them comfortable. When choosing Sony I preferred the features sound and noise cancelling. Bose were more comfortable but had google assistance that I’d never use, especially on a plane. The B&W P9 had a nifty pause and play when you removed them but were too expensive. So I decided on Sony and they are comfortable and all round they are awesome. 10/10!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Sound and Features

WH-1000XM2 12/04/2018 by Jonp39 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These were bought as a birthday present by my wife, it was a toss up between Sony and Bose. Sony won, more features, better build quality and sound that matches Bose. Noise cancelling- first class performance. Battery performance- 30 hours

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0