178

4.1 based on 178 customer reviews

106
25
18
12
17
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Absolutely Bonkers Headphones

WH-1000XM4 26/09/2020 by Chat123 (United Kingdom)

Hi everyone, I am going to attempt to make a review of these absolutely bonkers headphones. Well that's just given my opinion away! Too be serious, let's stop messing around and get on with it. The packaging is superb, typical Sony. Class. The inner packaging slides out gracefully. Lift the flap and there's the carrying case. Unzip the case and inside there's all the gear. It's all nicely laid out, the headphones are carefully twisted and flattened, well not actually that twisted and flattened, but carefully laid out, displayed in all their glory. Headphones plus cables. One usb and another for hard wiring them. Finally there is a connection block for use in airplanes. The usb cable is far too short. I don't really want to be charging expensive headphones on a hard floor. You could I suppose, cosset them on a gold coloured cushion so as not to scratch them. Let's be serious. Quite simply, the correct solution is for Sony to include a longer cable. Come on Sony, don't skimp on the cheap stuff after all they are a premium product. I had also sent for and received a separate mains power adapter. Something else that Sony should have included. I am pleased to say that this fits inside the case, keeping everything together. The headphones themselves are nice and light and when straightened out and fitted over your head and sitting on your ears, you start to feel right away how comfortable they are. Please don't do what I did and started playing on them without updating them first. It created all sorts of problems, like not being able to pair and use two devices simultaneously. One device wouldn't stay connected, it was like a Jack in the box, connecting and disconnecting on and off. Finally updated they were working as they should have been. Included in the pack is a code for 90 days, free trial to Tidals top tier. Connect to this and that's when the magic begins. The 360 Reality Audio is without a doubt incredible. I've got to admit that I can't hear all this about instruments here there and everywhere. But the sound coming into your ears is definitely a real pleasure to listen to. Battery life looks like that stated. They were 70 per cent out of the box add several severe listening sessions and when it had dropped to 20 per cent I fully charged them. They are feature packed, when you start talking they stop playing so that you can hear replies. The down side to this is the time that they take to restart playing is far too long. 15 secs is the shortest, which needs to be 5 secs max. You can restart them yourself by double tapping on the centre of the right ear cup after going into the systems settings and altering it to manual mode. Also when you start to sing along with the song, yeah you've guessed it, they stop playing. Quite annoying for all those budding stars out there. I have now discovered that this can also be altered to manual mode. We live and learn. The noise cancelling worked very well for me, with no complaints. Telephone calls are a feature that is really good well according to the person who I was speaking to. They said that it was crystal clear and to be true, it was. Please bear in mind that while you are listening to your music, it can be heard by people who are near to you. Pairing with another device is flawless. I also connected them to my PS4 controller with the cable provided. The sound that a horses hooves made while walking in a river, just made me smile with pleasure. The right pad takes care of most of the controls. Volume, skipping tracks etc. It is easy to control. The left pad is for turning on and off, pairing, noise cancelling etc. At the end of the day it's down to sound, usability and to a lot of people price. The first two hit the spot, the bulls eye without a doubt. The last one is a very different kettle of fish, personally I'd like to see them cheaper. Finally..... They are ago to set of Premium Headphones. Well done Sony. Give yourselves a big pat on the back. They are a thoroughly enjoyable to listen to and use. Thoroughly recommended. Enjoy..........

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

12

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Device switching does not work properly.

WH-1000XM4 12/01/2021 by TSeattle (USA)

While the headphones sound great, the device switching feature does not work properly. While it will connect to both devices, there is no way to choose which device you want the headphones to connect to. Instead, the headphones try to figure out which device your listening on based on whether music/audio is playing on the device---this process does not work consistently and routinely results in the headphones not connecting to the device you want to be listening to. This is particularly an issue if you are using them for calls on your computer.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

183 Customer Reviews

0

UNRECOGNISABLE FROM XM3 GEN.

WH-1000XM4 26/01/2021 by pete9 (United Kingdom)

unlikely to use Alexa, but appreciate the upgrade in noise cancelling technology, would have appreciated something more sturdy for this premium price tag, seem very fragile just like the previous generations yet still probably the best ones that can cancel noise. tested XM3 on very noisy planes and these in a car. the difference is noticeable. My reseller/dealer is not on the list so I had to record 'other' hoping it will not affect my guarantee in any way. if I could afford it, I would preferred to have bought it from an authorised shop. However all of these are no manufactured in the East / Malaysia so just hoping the comrades in the factory got it alright. not as overheating as the xm3 earmuffs which made my sweat at times; the only thing sony needs to crack now is durability of the outer materials - not everyone can afford to buy premium headphones every three or four years.....

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Not for conference calls

WH-1000XM4 26/01/2021 by Mihail_ (USA)

Beside the great quality of the product it gives horrible experience in conference calls as there is no way to mute the microphone on the headphones.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/01/2021

Hi Mihail_, Thank you for sharing your experience with our WH-1000XM4 headphones. While we are glad to hear that you are happy with the quality of the headphones, we are sorry to hear that the headphones did not meet all of your expectations. We took note of your feedback as this will help improve our product. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Carl

0

A quiet life with detailed and semi-powerful music

WH-1000XM4 22/01/2021 by Lennydrums (USA)

I got my XM4s through an official Sony distributor and the service and logistics were great. The box arrived fully sealed and in perfect condition. The headphones are really beautiful and minimalistic. Mine are black ones, the case is really elegant and the charger and the 3.5mm cables are alright, although a bit short and flimsy. I own several pairs of headsets, but my purpose for these ones was to create a relaxing and comfortable reading environment wherever I decide to be in my noisy house or anywhere else. I was thinking that the bass was going to be overpowering but it's really engaging and balanced with the other frequencies. Definitely, they are not loud enough, requiring at least a 20% in volume to reach crazy party levels, but the reason for its existence is to have them for long hours on your ears as a detailed music companion and a disturbing noise cleanser. I'm also using them with a FiiO DAC/AMP Q5s and I can get the performance boost that I need. I haven't experienced any video lag with my tvs, tablet, laptop or phone, so I'm alright with the lack of AptX, although I would prefer to have that codec over many of the useless features. Overall, they are very pleasing to most ears and I definitely recommend them, but please, do not make them your only pair, because you'll need something more well-rounded and powerful for other music genres or for sweaty workouts. Thanks.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/01/2021

Hi Lennydrums,

Thank you for the feedback. We really appreciate the time you took to share so many details about your experience with the headphones. The WH-1000XM4 is a new design, with intelligent and intuitive Ambient Sound Control features that include improvements to Multipoint connection and our industry-leading Noise Cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and Smart Listening that adjusts to your behavior and location.

Thank you for choosing Sony!
David

0

Love them!

WH1000XM4/B 18/01/2021 by Rette (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got them for my birthday and they're worth all approximately 350 dollars! They're lightweight and comfortable and the battery life and quality are both outstanding. I loveeee them, 10/10 would recommend. They're good looking too, not bulky looking, they have a very clean, classy look to them. I wired them up to the headphone jack of my wireless xbox controller and had no trouble with them then. They come in a slick looking carrying case with space for the headphones and cord and charger/adapter for planes. I can not overstate how much I really love these headphones. The noise cancelling is pretty amazing to me. Makes focusing on studying muchhhh easier for me since I'm very sensitive to sound and noise distraction.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/01/2021

Hi Rette,

We're glad that your investment is worth it. The WH-1000XM4 is a new design, with intelligent and intuitive Ambient Sound Control features that include improvements to Multipoint connection and our industry-leading Noise Cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and Smart Listening that adjusts to your behavior and location. Thank you for choosing Sony!

-Ralph

0

Great sound and smart features

WH-1000XM4 17/01/2021 by enamarak (USA)

A smarter version of the previous model. Great sound and improved noise cancellation are complemented by upgraded features. 'Speak to chat' feature is especially handy, it automatically recognizes your voice and pauses noise cancellation and music whenever you speak. Also, it is great to be able to connect my headphones to two devices simultaneously. Battery life is impressive as ever. Great experience.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/01/2021

Hi enamarak, we're glad you like our newest industry-leading noise canceling headphones. Intelligent and intuitive, the WH-1000XM4 headphones offer further improvements to our industry-leading noise cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and smart listening that adjusts to your behavior and your location. Using the Sony Headphones Connect app, Ambient Sound Control lets you adjust the volume of background sound and gives you the option to allow voices alone to be heard. For total convenience, WH-1000XM4 headphones can be paired with two Bluetooth devices at the same time. So when a call comes in, your headphones know which device is ringing and connect to the right one automatically. You'll also be able to quickly, smoothly switch your headphones to either of the two devices at the touch of a button. Thanks for choosing Sony. ~Earl

0

Some annoying things but overall good headphones

WH-1000XM4 16/01/2021 by camman12 (USA)

First the good stuff: the audio quality is excellent. Further, more than any other headset I have ever purchased, these are incredibly durable. For someone who overuses headphones (even falling asleep in them, etc.), this is very important. Compared to something like Beats Studio3, which I used to own, these have lasted far longer. One thing that really bothers me is the voice notification system. Specifically, every time you connect or disconnect to the headphones, there is a beep and a loud robot voice interrupts to tell you about the connection or disconnection. It takes like 10 seconds during which the headphones are unusable. Ex: you are connected to your phone and your laptop, but you decide to go for a run, leaving your laptop at home. Once you get away from your house, the robot voice interrupts your podcast/song/audiobook to notify you that your second device was disconnected. Ex: you connect to your laptop to listen to a YouTube video. You start watching the video but the voice interrupts and you miss the beginning of the video, so you have to rewind. It is extremely annoying and unnecessary. And there is no way to turn this off in settings, I have tried. I know it seems very small but it is actually very frustrating, and for a product that is this expensive they should’ve removed such an obnoxious feature. I hope this is fixed in an update or in the next model, otherwise I will have to look around for other headphone options. If I’m paying 400 for headphones they should be devoid of poorly designed features like this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/01/2021

Hi camman12,

We're glad that you like the sound quality and durability of the headphones. It's unfortunate that you're not having a complete experience because of the voice guidance function. You can turn off this function on the Sony Headphones Connect app. You may refer to this link for more information:

https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/hpc/v1/en/contents/TP0002935906.html

Sony takes all feedback seriously. Rest assured that this will help us improve our products. Thanks for sharing your review and for choosing Sony.

-Ralph

0

replacement purchase

WH-1000XM4 16/01/2021 by Ashyboy (United Kingdom)

recent purchase, initial looks are very pleasing the proof of the pudding will only come with time as to sound quality and other features.i cant wait to get started.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not enough customization for the price

WH-1000XM4 16/01/2021 by ruboveiga (USA)

Sound and noise canceling is great. However, the software experience makes it confusing and annoying. You cannot customize the multifunction or the power button. You just can choose one of two configurations. Neither of them is useful. I would like to customize the use of every action (e.g. 1 click to switch noise cancelation, 2 clicks to change source, log press to activate google assistant). No way of manually changing the audio source with one of the buttons (sometimes does not work very well the automatic change). Please, le me customize the power off time.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/01/2021

Hi ruboveiga, Thank you for the feedback on your experience with your WH-1000XM4. We're glad to hear you like the great sound quality and industry-leading noise cancelation. We appreciate your feedback about the app customization. Unfortunately, the power button cannot be switch to a different function. However, the multifunction/custom button can be customized.

Please refer to the link below for more information:

https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/hpc/v1/en/contents/TP0002935904.html?search=custom

 Intelligent and intuitive, the WH-1000XM4 headphones offer further improvements to our industry-leading noise cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and smart listening that adjusts to your behavior and your location. Using the Sony Headphones Connect app, Ambient Sound Control lets you adjust the volume of background sound and gives you the option to allow voices alone to be heard. Meanwhile, the Equalizer lets you customize sound levels to suit your music. Thanks for choosing Sony.

Regards,
Sam

0

Beats Chiltern Railways infernal screeching tannoy

WH-1000XM4 14/01/2021 by Sturg666 (United Kingdom)

Anyone who commutes on Chiltern Railways needs the new Sony 1000XM4 headphones. The diabolical screeching tannoy announcements every few seconds on what could be a peaceful commute needs something extra ordinary to block out. I have used all the top headphone brands but Chiltern rail work tirelessly in turning the volume and frequency up, no headphones before have been able to truly cancel this diabolical experience. Now, with the new Sony headphones I stream music and watch netflix in true peace. I'm sure Chiltern will examine Sony's new hardware and find fixes to scupper my commute again but until then it is bliss. It is an expensive cure but well worth it. The controls take a bit of getting used to but are actually geniusly simple. Best purchase of 2020

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Device switching does not work properly.

WH-1000XM4 12/01/2021 by TSeattle (USA)

While the headphones sound great, the device switching feature does not work properly. While it will connect to both devices, there is no way to choose which device you want the headphones to connect to. Instead, the headphones try to figure out which device your listening on based on whether music/audio is playing on the device---this process does not work consistently and routinely results in the headphones not connecting to the device you want to be listening to. This is particularly an issue if you are using them for calls on your computer.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/01/2021

Hi TSeattle,



Thank you for purchasing the WH-1000XM4 Wireless Noise-Cancelling Headphones.



While we're glad you like the sound quality, we're sorry to hear that you are having an issue with your headphones particularly with multipoint connection. Please make sure that the headphones has the latest software update, please use the Headphones Connect app to update the software. Multipoint is a function which allows you to connect 2 Bluetooth devices to the headset and use one device for music playback (A2DP connection) and the other for calls (HFP/HSP connection).



• Music playback when the headset is connected to 2 devices via Bluetooth connections

- When playing music by operating the headset, the music is played from the device that played last.

- If you want to play music from the other device, stop playback on the device that is playing the music, and start playback by operating the other device.

Even if you start playback by operating the second device while playing music on the first device, the music from the first device will continue to be heard via the headset. In this state, if you stop playback on the first device, you can listen to music from the second device via the headset.



• Talking on the phone when the headset is connected to 2 devices via Bluetooth connections

- When the headset is connected to 2 smartphones, etc. via Bluetooth connections simultaneously, both devices will be in standby mode.

- When an incoming call arrives to the first device, a ring tone is heard via the headset. When an incoming call arrives to the second device while talking on the headset, a ring tone is heard via the second device.

If you finish the call on the first device, the ring tone from the second device will be heard via the headset.



For more details, you may find this link helpful: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-bluetooth-headphones/wh-1000xm4/articles/00249936



Should you need further assistance or more information about our product, please email the below information to socialsupport@am.sony.com.

Apologies if you disclosed some of this information in your review and to customer service, we just want to ensure that we have your accurate details at the time of communication.



Full Name:

Sony.com Username:

Telephone Number:

Sony Headphones Model Number:

Additional Information regarding your experience with the WH-1000XM4



We are sorry for the inconvenience and hope to speak to you to resolve this matter.

We appreciate you and thanks again for shopping Sony!



Sincerely,

Jess

0

Excelent

WH-1000XM4 12/01/2021 by DLaboy (United Kingdom)

Great Product, easy to use and friendly to handle.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Still a Killer choice

WH-1000XM4 12/01/2021 by Micboy (USA)

These are still the king of headphones, the noise cancelling is the best, sound is great, and fit and comfort are top notch. Design is basically the same as the Xm3 but the feel has improved, kinda hope the design changes and improves, would like to see the ear cups slimmer, and Love an easy quick design for swappable ear-pads. Appreciate the ability to connect to two devices at once now.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/01/2021

Hi Micboy, Thank you for this amazing review! We're thrilled to hear you appreciate the industry-leading noise cancelation, excellent sound quality, comfortable fit, and overall features of your new WH-1000XM4.

 Intelligent and intuitive, the WH-1000XM4 headphones offer further improvements to our industry-leading noise cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and smart listening that adjusts to your behavior and your location. Using the Sony Headphones Connect app, Ambient Sound Control lets you adjust the volume of background sound and gives you the option to allow voices alone to be heard. Meanwhile, the Equalizer lets you customize sound levels to suit your music. Thanks for choosing Sony.

Regards,
Sam

0

Great features, not the best functioning

WH-1000XM4 10/01/2021 by tavoargento (United Kingdom)

It offers awesome features, I'm very happy with it. Onbly a small issue detected when connecting to my Samsumg TV, sometimes, for some reason, the sounds starts to desynchronise with the images.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Amazed that it works with Linux' bluetooth!

WH1000XM4/B 10/01/2021 by NicolasR (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My son recommended me this headset because one can hear speak when using social connectivity software like Slack, MS Teams, Skype, etc... Since my computer runs linux, I was a bit apprehensive about how well this would work. Although it is a bit tricky to configure properly. On the other hand, the dual connection feature is really helpful to configure the headset from the mobile app so that the 2nd connection from linux' bluetooth works properly. For example, conference calls w/ Slack require turning off "Speak to Chat" and leaving on "Ambient Sound Control" to hear oneself in the headset. I was most pleasantly surprised that the headset's touchpad for music control (stop, forward, backward) works with music software on Linux -- e.g., Spotify! If only there were support for 360 reality audio on linux; this would be the perfect headset. The noise cancelling capability of this headset is fantastic. While listening to music at a moderate volume, I couldn't hear a person talking to me less than 3 feet away! I had to put my right hand to the headset to listen to ambient sounds to hear this person talk!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/01/2021

Hi NicolasR,

Awesome! The WH-1000XM4 is a new design, with intelligent and intuitive Ambient Sound Control features that include improvements to Multipoint connection and our industry-leading Noise Cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and Smart Listening that adjusts to your behavior and location.

Thank you for choosing Sony!
David

0

Warning! not wireless with laptop and not compatib

WH-1000XM4 09/01/2021 by Disgruntled Canada (USA)

I bought this and was so excited to have a high quality headphone specifically so I could be wireless with my laptop and use this with spotify. I told the staff (manager) at London Drugs I was using these for video meetings on my laptop and spotify was the platform I use for music streaming he said that would be fantastic. Now I have opened them (rendering them inelgible for return) and when I tried to pair them I can't switch them to be the primary audio source. I can use a JBL external speaker but not these specific Headphones. They say they are pairder but I am not given the option to use them wirelessly. I can plug in the cord...Really? A cord? I just bought a $500.00 (canada) pair of wireless headphones. I then tried to listen to Spotify and when I pull up the headphone options, there are only 5. Sony is not one of them. BOSE is. This is now a useless purchase for me.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/01/2021

Hi Disgruntled Canada, thank you for purchasing our newest industry-leading noise canceling headphones. We're sorry to hear that you have an issue with your SONY unit. We recommend following the steps on the link below when using the headphones for video calls with a computer:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-bluetooth-headphones/wh-1000xm4/articles/00250089

Additional links when pairing and connecting your headphones to a computer:

(Windows 10)
https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wh1000xm4/v1/en/contents/TP0002752744.html

(Mac)
https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wh1000xm4/v1/en/contents/TP0002754729.html

We have our support team that always happy to assist you. If you require any additional support in regards to this product, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number:

~Earl

0

Light and comfortable

WH-1000XM4 09/01/2021 by Faymous (United Kingdom)

Wonderful sound! Aesthetically good-looking. But I found it easily slipped off my head if I bent over. I now have on the end of a lanyard when I go to the beach!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

For Autistic People & Sensory Processing Issues

WH-1000XM4 09/01/2021 by MagdalenaS (USA)

As a diagnosed Autistic Person (Aspergers) I gave these headphones a 5 Star review because even though they have some faults I do think they serve their purpose. These headphones are great for basic use like travel and at home / at work use. I personally use them to drown out the noise from a very noisy daycare I live next door to, or if i've had a long day of Sensory Processing and I'm drained and can't cope with background noises or volume control of other people's voices any more. I definitely recommend them for people who are ASD or with Sensory Processing issues. I enjoy wearing them when i'm working too as they help me concentrate on my tasks without having my attention diverted by auditory distractions. The things that aren't the greatest about them - * I do not recommend them for exercise such as Running. They are very sensitive and even when i go outside I turn down all noise canceling sensors on the app, just to stay quiet at the lowest level. * The Speak to Chat function is cool, but can be annoying when you just clear your throat and it activates. The headphones are so sensitive that sometimes when I try to return back to Noise Canceling it switches off the function all together. * Volume adjustment is not the greatest either. Having to slide your finger up and down one little bit at a time makes the whole function extremely slow. The skip or go back swipe function is cool but again, it's so sensitive that if you swipe accidentally or a little off angle it feels that. * I also don't really like the material they are made of. Be sure to give them a wipe every day as the material easily gathers natural occurring oils form your skin and hair. * It has this cool all surrounding music function, but you can't get that unless you purchase a specific music app for it. Spotify doesn't support that sadly. * It's great that it can pair with 2 devices at a time, but sometimes that causes one device's volume to not work and I have to switch off the other device and start all over again with pairing. * For some reason it constantly switches on itunes every time i connect it to my computer. But as I said, I do love to wear them a lot and they help me out immensely, especially around the house, everyday tasks and with concentration. I hope that with future products these things will be adjusted, but for now we're so lucky to have such cool technology.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/01/2021

Hello MagdalenaS, We are thrilled to hear that you like your Sony wireless headphones and you are using them in your daily activities. The WH-1000XM4 is a new design, with intelligent and intuitive Ambient Sound Control features that include improvements to Multipoint connection and our industry-leading Noise Cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and Smart Listening that adjusts to your behavior and location. We value your input and appreciate your feedback. Thank you for trusting Sony! - Vincent

0

Best headphones I ever used

WH-1000XM4 08/01/2021 by Jj1999 (USA)

I bought these 3 months ago CASE FEELS PREMIUM headphones FEEL like cheap plastic but these handle extremely well I used these for GAMING if you want to chat you can just buy a aux with mic on it because these aren't gaming headphones but once you hook up a adapter you get all the amazing features these headphones have to offer plus you can game and chat with friends I watched movies listened to music and I have to say after trying premium limited edition crushers from skull candy beats solo 3s pros studios this is the best headphones I have ever used battery literally last forever and highs and lows are seriously forgiving especially once you hook up the sony headphones app I literally have no complaints A 1UP would be if it had water resistant or sweat resistant capabilities but you can have TOO MUCH PREMIUM but have it be sensitive I love these

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/01/2021

Hi Jj1999, Thank you for the 5-star rating! We're thrilled to hear that you feel the WH-1000XM4 is the best headphones that you've used. The WH-1000XM4 is a new design, with intelligent and intuitive Ambient Sound Control features that include improvements to Multipoint connection and our industry-leading Noise Cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and Smart Listening that adjusts to your behavior and location. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Sam

0

Great ASN

WH1000XM4/B 08/01/2021 by GrumpyDaddy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I received this as a gift for Christmas. I wasn't sold on it initially, but that quickly changed after I had it setup and began using it. Granted, I haven't owned a pair of noise cancelling headphone or earbuds before, but I was pretty impressed with what I experienced. I have had a couple of issues with the connectivity to my tablet however. Sometimes, the headphones are out of sync with the Youtube video I'm watching (i.e., the lip movement doesn't match the sound from the headphones). This has happened multiple times. On one occasion, the headphone froze and wouldn't connect to the my phone or tablet. Thankfully, this was an isolated incident, and I've not experienced it since. Overall, I would recommend these headphones (though they are a little pricey).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/01/2021

Hi GrumpyDaddy,

Thank you for the recommendation If in case you encounter the same issue, update the software of your headphones. A firmware update improves the functionality and features of your device. It can provide fixes to any performance issues that may occur.

The WH-1000XM4 is a new design, with intelligent and intuitive Ambient Sound Control features that include improvements to Multipoint connection and our industry-leading Noise Cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and Smart Listening that adjusts to your behavior and location.

Thank you for choosing Sony!
David

0

Terrible

WH-1000XM4 07/01/2021 by NjAj (USA)

After using them for two weeks the color and silver faded I open a ticket and they said is it working I said yes, but the color faded they said sorry cosmetic is not covered under warranty - dumb I spend $300 on it, and less than two weeks the colors faded. Sound-wise zoom calls people to keep here a lot of static noise - works great on phone apps but MAC, Windows lot of issues. does not have the option to mute the call silly I say

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/01/2021

Hello NjAj,

We are sorry to hear what happen with your headphones but cosmetics are not part of the limited warranty of the headphones. Please be assured we take this feedback very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
David

0

Excellent Noise Cancelling

WH-1000XM4 06/01/2021 by Mirage123456 (United Kingdom)

Excellent Noise Cancelling, highest sound quality I have ever seen. 360 Audio experience is unique. Really good product, very happy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

One of the best noise cancellation in the world

WH-1000XM4 05/01/2021 by Harsh Jhunjhunwala (United Kingdom)

Its too good ! Xm4 is successor Just go for it ! Its the best noise cancellation

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Not Disappointed

WH-1000XM4 05/01/2021 by Edwart (United Kingdom)

Bought these for the noise cancelling function and am not disappointed. However, the comfort levels when worn over long periods, the sound quality and all the amazing built in features have super impressed me. Very pleased I made the decision to purchase these, worth every penny in my opinion.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great headphones with a major drawback.

WH-1000XM4 05/01/2021 by ilya yatsyshyn (USA)

These headphones provide excellent sound quality and comfortability level. Everybody knows that this product is great, therefore, I am going to tell you about a couple of points preventing me from calling these headphones "ideal". It is hard to use this product for online conferences and impossible for gaming. As far as I know, the Bluetooth bandwidth does not allow receive high-quality sound and use the microphone simultaneously. It means you can not talk to your friend and play the game with the sound turned on. I understand that this is a connectivity type limitation. However, I do not see any reasons why not to use a wired connection in order to use both stereo sound and a built-in microphone. However, a 3.5 mini-jack cable from the complect only has 3 pins. That means only sound can be delivered through this cable. I bought an additional 4-pin cable, but it seems headphones do not support this as well. This is a major inconvenience for my use case. I will need to buy an additional headset or an external microphone for my laptop. Also, the assembly quality does not seem to be good enough. After a couple of months with this headset, a creaking sound appeared in plastic parts of the band and cups. This issue is not so critical, however, this is not expected after paying $300+ for headphones. Moreover, sometimes the sound gets interrupted for a moment with a 20-30 seconds interval. It only happens when playing sound from my laptops (several ones to make sure the problem is not caused by the laptop itself). It usually happens when only one device is connected to headphones. I use the following steps to overcome this issue: - choose "Headset" as a playback device on my Windows laptop. - play any sound at least for a moment - choose "Headphones" as a playback device again. I tried playing with the "Priority on sound quality/stable connection" option in the application, but it does not help. Please let me know if you have other ways to get rid of this problem. Finally, I must say it is hard to change the playback device when using multiple connection feature. It is totally fine when somebody calls on your phone (the connection is changed instantly). However, audio-messages/videos from your phone need to be played for 10-20 seconds before headphones understand that the playback device must be changed. It implies that the audio on the previous device is paused (as the instruction says). I hope you will consider these points (especially the first one) in your following model. Looking forward to seeing wh-1000xm5. Regards

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/01/2021

Hi Ilya, Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/. Regards, Carl

0

Inexplicable warbling

WH-1000XM4 01/01/2021 by TreS23 (USA)

When these headphones are working properly, they've got the best sound quality of any modern, consumer headphones. Unfortunately, during every single use so far (each of the past 6 days since Christmas), out of nowhere, the sound either drops out or becomes distorted and this will last for several seconds or a couple of minutes. The problem will resolve itself only to return later. When I looked online for help, I saw that "wireless LAN" could cause interference, but at the same computer station, I have never had this problem with the Sony CH710 or the XB900N or their predecessors.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/01/2021

Hi TreS23, thank you for purchasing our newest industry-leading noise canceling headphones. We're sorry to hear that you have an issue with your SONY unit. We recommend setting the headset to “Priority on stable connection” mode using the Headphone Connect app. You may also follow the link below to better isolate the issue:

https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wh1000xm4/v1/en/contents/TP0002752755.html

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number:

~Earl

0

Awesome!

WH-1000XM4 30/12/2020 by njpassey (United Kingdom)

Sound quality is excellent and noise cancelling 5 star

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

4

0

Fantastic features, but....

WH-1000XM4 30/12/2020 by Libravirgo7895 (USA)

They are almost perfect, except for the fact that when I pair them to my 2018 and 2019 Samsung tvs, not only is there static, they lag pretty badly. This has continued even after I exchanged the first pair for a second pair and purchased a bluetooth transmitter, upon the Sony reps advice.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/01/2021

Hi Libravirgo7895, we are really sorry about what happened and for the inconvenience. This is definitely not the experience we wanted you to have in our premium headphones. Let's isolate the problem by following the steps below:

• To stream high-quality music, the headphones must be paired to a Bluetooth® enabled TV that supports the A2DP (Advanced Audio Distribution Profile) profile.

• Update the firmware of the headphones to the latest version (v.2.0.7) as it includes key features, applications, bug fixes, and feature improvements. For instructions, please visit https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-bluetooth-headphones/wh-1000xm4/downloads/00017022.

If this does not help, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com so we can better assist you. Apologies if you disclosed some of this information in your review and to customer service, we just want to ensure that we have your accurate details at the time of communication.

Full Name:
Sony.com Username:
Telephone Number:
Issue:
Model Number:

We're looking forward to your message, and thanks for considering Sony!

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

A bit expensive but 100% worth it

WH1000XM4/B 30/12/2020 by DumbKrab (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

These headphones are extremely comfortable to wear. The sound is amazing, and the noise canceling is out of this world. My only complaints is that it is made of all plastic (which doesn't bother me too much but its a downside), And the touch controls will take you a minute to get used to

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/01/2021

Hi DumbKrab,

Thank you so much for the 5-stars review! We are really delighted to hear you are satisfied with the superb performance and features of our newest industry-leading, Noise Canceling headphones WH-1000XM4! The WH-1000XM4 is a new design, with intelligent and intuitive Ambient Sound Control features that include improvements to Multipoint connection and our industry-leading Noise Cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and Smart Listening that adjusts to your behavior and location. Using the Sony Headphones Connect app, Ambient Sound Control lets you adjust the volume of background sound and gives you the option to allow voices alone to be heard. Meanwhile, the equalizer lets you customize sound levels to suit your music.

We will have your feedback about the build noted as we always strive to make this a better experience.

Thank you so much for choosing Sony!

- Romeo

0

Excellent product

WH-1000XM4 30/12/2020 by Ali al Nemer (USA)

Nothing to say . It is best headphone I use it until now . I love it

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/12/2020

Hi Ali al Nemer, Awesome! We are glad that you are enjoying your newest noise canceling headphones. The WH-1000XM4 is a new design, with intelligent and intuitive Ambient Sound Control features that include improvements to Multipoint connection and our industry-leading Noise Cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and Smart Listening that adjusts to your behavior and location. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
Sam

0

Great headphones.

WH-1000XM4 29/12/2020 by Majesticly (United Kingdom)

So comfortable and effective. Really Great. If there is one thing that could be improved it’s the app. Could Sony give us a volume control on the app for notifications, like email and messages?...it’s deafening without it when they arrive!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Glad I upgraded from the XM3

WH-1000XM4 29/12/2020 by HumbleRoJo (USA)

Pros: - Sound is more refined - Bluetooth 5 gives me the 8-12’ of extra distance from devices that I needed. - Connecting to the TV and iPhone at the same time is very useful. Whichever device is sending audio gets auto-selected. Better auto-connection to devices when first turned on. - Noise Cancelling is ~20-30% better with a side to side comparison. - Can be listening to TV and get a phone call from 2nd device. CONS: - Battery seems to fade faster (~10-15% faster than XM3) but probably due to the 2 added mics, extra bluetooth signal, bluetooth strength, and deeper, fuller sound quality. - Even with the new superior Bluetooth 5, some TVs (ex. 2015 Samsung LED) have continual audio glitches. (Not the headphones fault but rather a Samsung problem that may occur on other TVs as well). Love the updated XM4s and can’t wait to see the XM5s improve on the battery. Perhaps offer a second upgrade padding for we people with big heads and big ears.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/01/2021

Hi HumbleRoJo, Thank you so much for the 5-stars review and for choosing Sony! Intelligent and intuitive, the WH-1000XM4 headphones offer further improvements to our industry-leading noise cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and smart listening that adjusts to your behavior and your location. Using the Sony Headphones Connect app, Ambient Sound Control lets you adjust the volume of background sound and gives you the option to allow voices alone to be heard. Meanwhile, the Equalizer lets you customize sound levels to suit your music. -Carl

0

Best headphones out there

WH1000XM4/B 28/12/2020 by Soni68 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Absolutely fell in love with these and wanted to own one forever. I finally have a pair and this did not disappoint. Noise cancelling is on point and the sound is just amazing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/01/2021

Hi Soni68, Awesome! We are glad that you are enjoying your newest noise canceling headphones. The WH-1000XM4 is a new design, with intelligent and intuitive Ambient Sound Control features that include improvements to Multipoint connection and our industry-leading Noise Cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and Smart Listening that adjusts to your behavior and location. Thank you for choosing Sony! Erin

0

Perfect, Class ANC, Amazing Sound

WH-1000XM4 28/12/2020 by TZaman (United Kingdom)

I received and tested with various different music and it sounds amazing with a little tweaking of the equalizer. The ANC is extremely good I have used it outside for a run and could barely hear my surroundings. Overall best headphones I have bought to date.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent headphones with missing useful feature

WH1000XM4/B 27/12/2020 by MaximusLegion (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I only give these headphones 4 stars because one very big annoyance for me. It doesn't save and restore last settings I used for Active noise cancellation, even when I use Sony he4adphones app. For example if I set ANC to level 12 (or even turn ANC off completely) and then turn headphones off, when I turn them back on it kicks full blown 0 level setting ANC from the start and doesn't restore last used settings even when I have these settings in Sony headphone app. For 350 USD headphones it must save last used settings, it just must! Now the good, sound is just amazing, any type of music sound great. ANC also is very good, but it is so annoying that custom ANC settings cannot be saved.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/12/2020

Hello MaximusLegion, We are happy that you like the sound quality and the noise canceling feature of your Sony headphones. The WH-1000XM4 headphones offer further improvements to our industry-leading noise cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and smart listening that adjusts to your behavior and your location. Using the Sony Headphones Connect app, Ambient Sound Control lets you adjust the volume of background sound and gives you the option to allow voices alone to be heard. We value your input and appreciate your feedback. Thank you for choosing Sony! Vincent

0

Superb headphones

WH-1000XM4 27/12/2020 by SamBob (United Kingdom)

These headphones were bought for me as a Christmas present. The sound reproduction is fantastic as is the noise cancelling feature - the best I've experienced in all the headphones I've owned/used.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Acoustic Excellence

WH-1000XM4 25/12/2020 by Fellwanderer (United Kingdom)

These Headphones offer acoustic excellence and enhance any music listened to. Speakers are my usual audio but when I want to discover small nuances I use these headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Constantly Exceeded Expectations

WH1000XM4/B 24/12/2020 by Cisco1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since the inception of Sony what haven’t they done to make a mark in Pop-Culture, Movies, Music, Photography and many more fields requiring top of the line innovations for all hobbies alike. I would absolutely love to be a tester of products for Sony. They produce one of the absolute best Smart Phones but largely Ignored because of Apple. I know I can change that and it does start with the PS5. Sony products prove time and time again their superiority over others, but “fan boys” feel a sense of being faithful. Let’s change that!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/12/2020

Hi Cisco1, We are thrilled to hear that our industry-leading noise cancelation headphones exceeded your expectation. WH-1000XM4 headphones incorporate two technologies to maximize noise-canceling performance. These headphones have a built-in analog amplifier integrated into the HD Noise-Canceling Processor QN1 realizes an unmatched signal-to-noise ratio for low distortion and exceptional sound quality for portable devices. We appreciate your feedback. our continued support means so much to us. Thank you for trusting Sony! -Vincent 

0

The best headphones and impressive technology

WH-1000XM4 23/12/2020 by Tigro (United Kingdom)

My wife bought this headphones as a gift, and im impressive about the quality of the sound and technology, i like it very much when i take the headphones off is stop the music so is save the battery, also i can play in same time on 2 devices, and i like it so much when the volume is with touch on the headphone also can change the melody from there. Great sound, great technology, great brand. I love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Amazing

WH-1000XM4 22/12/2020 by Leo S (USA)

I got this for my birthday, had been wanting mx3s for a while and saw that these dropped. They are way better than my Bose headphones, the sound quality is amazing, they fold great, awesome bass, and durable case. They can fold up, and with the amazing eq app you can make them sound however you want which is a GAMECHANGER. If you're debating buying these and have enough money... BUY THEM. I do feel that the multi device pairing could be slightly improved with some software tweaks, but only really have issues when I'm on a video call on one device and then it refuses to play audio on the first one, even tho my call output isn't through the headphones. This is a very minor issue and is only present if you are on a video call all day. It would be nice if through the app you could chose which device you were playing audio through or turn off connection to one temporarily without removing it. But overall you have to get these, I will definitely buy the next ones that come out, with Sony forever. The touch controls work way better than I thought they would too and so does assitant.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/12/2020

Hi Leo S,

Thank you for this amazing review. This is a nice birthday present and we're glad that you are enjoying your new headphones. Good to know that you choose the headphones when comparing to other brands in the market and we're looking forward to your next purchase. The WH-1000XM4 is a new design, with intelligent and intuitive Ambient Sound Control features that include improvements to Multipoint connection and our industry-leading Noise Cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and Smart Listening that adjusts to your behavior and location. We appreciate your feedback about the bass quality. You can use the equalizer function of the Sony Headphones Connect app to tailor-fit the sound quality to your needs. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. Thank you for sharing your feedback and for choosing Sony! - Kris

0

It's great!

WH-1000XM4 18/12/2020 by HBJT (USA)

The noise cancelation and sound quality are amazing! It's also very comfortable. I'm still considering more expensive Sony headphones for better sound though.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/12/2020

Hi HBJT, we're glad you like the sound quality of our newest industry-leading noise canceling headphones. Intelligent and intuitive, the WH-1000XM4 headphones offer further improvements to our industry-leading noise cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and smart listening that adjusts to your behavior and your location. Using the Sony Headphones Connect app, Ambient Sound Control lets you adjust the volume of background sound and gives you the option to allow voices alone to be heard. For total convenience, WH-1000XM4 headphones can be paired with two Bluetooth devices at the same time. So when a call comes in, your headphones know which device is ringing and connect to the right one automatically. You'll also be able to quickly, smoothly switch your headphones to either of the two devices at the touch of a button. Thanks for choosing Sony. ~Earl

0

Awesome all around

WH1000XM4/B 16/12/2020 by Acidsounds (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was debating about either getting these or a more expensive fruit flavor ones I went with these and I am so glad I did sound is awesome fit is perfect and I could wear these all day and get tired of em being on my head just one thing the m5s could you make em with replaceable cups other than that its perfect!!!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/12/2020

Hi Acidsounds, We are thrilled that you like most of the features and capabilities of our industry-leading noise cancelation headphones. WH-1000XM4 headphones incorporate two technologies to maximize noise-canceling performance. These headphones have a built-in analog amplifier integrated into the HD Noise-Canceling Processor QN1 realizes an unmatched signal-to-noise ratio for low distortion and exceptional sound quality for portable devices. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

Disappointing Noise cancelling headphone

WH-1000XM4 16/12/2020 by Lavanya P (USA)

I went with this headphone because they were highly rated noise cancelling and sound. Not Sound Canceling At All . Even small whispers can be heard. I am highly disappointed in this pair. When had call with the representatives they are mentioning it is not a 100% noise-cancelling model. Poor customer service

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

4

31

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/01/2021

Hi Lavanya, thank you for choosing and purchasing our WH-1000XM4 Noise Canceling Headphones. We are sorry to hear that the WH-1000XM4 headphones did not meet your expectations. We'd like to troubleshoot the problem and make this a better experience for you. In the meantime, please follow these steps to troubleshoot. For the noise canceling, make sure that the noise canceling function is turned on. Adjust the headset into a comfortable position. The noise canceling function is effective in low frequency ranges such as airplanes, trains, offices, near air-conditioning, and is not as effective for higher frequencies, such as human voices. Check the setting of the Adaptive Sound Control on the “Sony | Headphones Connect” app. When the Adaptive Sound Control is turned on, the noise canceling function may become insufficient.



May we contact you to help? If so, please email the below information to socialsupport@am.sony.com

Apologies if you disclosed some of this information in your review and to customer service, we just want to ensure that we have your accurate details at the time of communication.



Full Name:

Sony.com Username:

Telephone Number:

Model Number:

Issue:



Regards,

Carl

0

Quality kit

WH-1000XM4 16/12/2020 by Gan boy (United Kingdom)

New to wireless headphones, massive improvement, should have bought them months ago.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Better than Bose or Beats

WH-1000XM4 14/12/2020 by Rosie52 (USA)

I bought these about 2 months ago for working in my lab so I could move around without being tethered by a headphone cable. For reference, I work in a robotics lab that's usually filled with the sound of yelling or mini-battle bots fights (so essentially, so loud I can't hear myself think sometimes). Not only are these headphones the best noise-canceling products I own, but they're also so incredibly comfortable. I've worn these for up to 12 hours straight while studying for midterms/finals and not once did I get the usual headphone headache. The battery life is superb, connecting them to my devices is a breeze, and the sound is beautiful. I never write reviews so the fact that I'm taking time to do this should be a testament to how good these headphones are. If you're on the fence about getting them- do it. You'll thank yourself later.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/12/2020

Hi Rosie52, Thank you for the 5-star rating! Intelligent and intuitive, the WH-1000XM4 headphones offer further improvements to our industry-leading noise cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and smart listening that adjusts to your behavior and your location. Using the Sony Headphones Connect app, Ambient Sound Control lets you adjust the volume of background sound and gives you the option to allow voices alone to be heard. Meanwhile, the Equalizer lets you customize sound levels to suit your music. -Carl

0

Good

WH-1000XM4 13/12/2020 by sjjsjsjs (USA)

I bought xm4 1 month ago, I don’t have xm3, I think it is the best headset.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/12/2020

Hi sjjsjsjs,

We're very grateful for this positive feedback! The WH-1000XM4 is a new design, with intelligent and intuitive Ambient Sound Control features that include improvements to Multipoint connection and our industry-leading Noise Cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and Smart Listening that adjusts to your behavior and location.

Thank you for choosing Sony! Jay

0

Awesome headphones

WH-1000XM4 12/12/2020 by Jacksen99 (USA)

I just bought these headphones and wow am I amazed. Bose is the pioneer of noise canceling technology but Sony sure did beat them this time. The head phones are amazing, the sound quality is great and every thing else is awesome as well. As a person who has used both beats and Bose head phones, Sony is definitely the better of the three.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/12/2020

Hi Jacksen99, thanks for sharing your feedback. We are glad that you are enjoying your newest noise canceling headphones. The WH-1000XM4 is a new design, with intelligent and intuitive Ambient Sound Control features that include improvements to Multipoint connection and our industry-leading Noise Cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and Smart Listening that adjusts to your behavior and location. Thank you for choosing Sony! Erin

0

unusable audio when paired to windows10 laptop

WH-1000XM4 11/12/2020 by karl hungus (USA)

these are awesome with android. the app works great. they fall apart on windows. the audio stutters almost constantly. if a product is priced this high, I'd expect thorough software design and verification. sony needs to write a decent windows driver, which can handle the inevitable occasional dropped bluetooth packets....

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/12/2020

Hi Karl,

We're glad that you like the app of the headphones. it's unfortunate that you're having sound issues with the headphones. Make sure to update the software version of the headphones (via the Sony Headphones Connect app) for optimum performance. The communication between the devices will be poor if there is an obstruction between the unit and the connected device. Try the following:

-Change the position or location of the unit or connected device.
-If the connected device has a cover on it, take it off to improve the communication distance.
-If the connected device is in a bag or in a pocket, try moving the position of the device.
-Place the devices closer together to improve signal transmission

You may try setting the Sound quality mode to Priority on stable connection and see if it resolves the problem.
- Launch the Sony | Headphones Connect app.
- Set the Sound quality mode to Priority on a stable connection.

Bluetooth communications may be disabled, or noise or audio dropout may occur under the following conditions.
-When there is a human body between the headset and the Bluetooth device
-In places with wireless LAN, where a microwave oven is used, electromagnetic waves are generated, etc.
-Use the headset at least 10 m (30 feet) away from the wireless LAN device or turn off the wireless LAN device.

If you are enjoying music with your smartphone, the situation may be improved by shutting down unnecessary apps or restarting your smartphone.
Connect the headset and the Bluetooth device once again.

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

We are sorry for the inconvenience and hope to speak to you to resolve this matter. We appreciate you and thanks again for shopping Sony!

Sincerely,
Kris

0

Very good but wry thing has some problems

WH-1000XM4 11/12/2020 by Dillion1313 (USA)

I really like the product but some of the controls are really confusing while other are not the headphone are also a little heavy

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/12/2020

Hi Dillion1313,

We appreciate your 5-star review of these amazing headphones. We understand how the controls can be confusing. If you're referring to the touch sensor, you may find these links helpful:

https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wh1000xm4/v1/en/contents/TP0002752781.html
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-bluetooth-headphones/wh-1000xm4/articles/00204192

Your feedback about its weight is greatly appreciated. Thanks again for sharing your review and for choosing Sony.

~Ralph

0

Garbage Bluetooth Connection

WH-1000XM4 10/12/2020 by Robert_13135 (USA)

I have had these Headphones for about 3 months and I couldn't be more upset that I didn't go with BOSE... I went with these headphone because they where highly rated for adaptive noise cancelling and sound. I can say first hand that everything seemed great at first until and was working great until an update on November 4 and since that point the headphone are basically useless. The Bluetooth basically stops working 75% of the time and the adaptive noise cancelling went from great to poor... not sure what happened. I wish Sony would figure out this issue as I'm very dissatisfied with my purchase.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

9

15

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/12/2020

Hi Robert_13135,



Thank you for purchasing the WH-1000XM4. We regret to hear that you're having Bluetooth connection and noise cancelling issue after the update. We'd like to help troubleshoot the issue and make this a better experience for you.



If you're not able to make Bluetooth connection, please check the following steps:

Check that the headset is turned on. Check that the Bluetooth device is turned on and the Bluetooth function is on.

If the headset automatically connects to the last connected Bluetooth device, you may fail to connect the headset to other devices via Bluetooth connection. In that case, operate the last connected Bluetooth device and disconnect the Bluetooth connection.

Check if the Bluetooth device is in sleep mode. If the device is in sleep mode, cancel the sleep mode.

Check if the Bluetooth connection has been terminated. If terminated, make the Bluetooth connection again.

If the pairing information for the headset has been deleted on the Bluetooth device, pair the headset with the device again.



If the effect of noise canceling is not sufficient.

Make sure that the noise canceling function is turned on.

Adjust the headset into a comfortable position.

The noise canceling function is effective in low frequency ranges such as airplanes, trains, offices, near air-conditioning, and is not as effective for higher frequencies, such as human voices.

Check that the Adaptive Sound Control is turned off.

Check the setting of the Adaptive Sound Control on the “Sony | Headphones Connect” app. When the Adaptive Sound Control is turned on, the noise canceling function may become insufficient.



Resetting or Initializing the headset may resolve the issue.

If the headset cannot be turned on or cannot be operated even when it is turned on, press both the power button and the CUSTOM button simultaneously while charging. The headset will be reset. The device registration (pairing) information is not deleted. If the headset does not operate correctly even after resetting, initialize the headset to restore factory settings.



If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:



Name:

Username:

Model Number:

Issue:

Telephone Number:



We are sorry for the inconvenience and hope to speak to you to resolve this matter. We appreciate you and thanks again for shopping Sony!



Sincerely,

Kris

0

Great headphones

WH1000XM4/S 10/12/2020 by LucasG (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought the the WH-1000XM4. I love the way they sound. Thanks, Sony

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/12/2020

Hi LucasG,

Great! We're glad that you like the sound quality of the headphones. The WH-1000XM4 is a new design, with intelligent and intuitive Ambient Sound Control features that include improvements to Multipoint connection and our industry-leading Noise Cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and Smart Listening that adjusts to your behavior and location. Thanks for choosing Sony!

~Ralph

0

Awesome Headphones

WH-1000XM4 09/12/2020 by Tcase (USA)

Best headphones I’ve ever listened to, hands down. Noice canceling is unbeatable.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/12/2020

Hi Tcase, That's awesome! We're thrilled to hear that you feel the WH-1000XM4 is the best headphones you ever owned and listened to. Good to know you're enjoying the amazing features, noise canceling and overall sound quality of the unit. Intelligent and intuitive, the WH-1000XM4 headphones offer further improvements to our industry-leading noise cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and smart listening that adjusts to your behavior and your location. To get the most out of your WH-1000XM4, download the Sony | Headphones Connect App. It includes Adaptive Sound Control—which automatically adjusts noise canceling based on your activity and an equalizer—which can be customized to fine-tune your music. Using our advanced noise canceling technology, we designed these headphones so you can block out noise and experience next-level silence. Plus, you have the ability to use the convenient smart features including Quick Attention, Google Assistant/Alexa/Siri compatibility, and touch controls. Thanks for choosing Sony! -Jess

0

Clear Vocals but bad bass

WH1000XM4/B 04/12/2020 by aliraza (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought these headphones and I don't feel any bass at all and lots of noise leakage. Please help, I have Samsung Galaxy Buds Live as well, and the bass on those feel way more punchy than these sony's.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

25

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/12/2020

Hi aliraza, we regret to hear that the headphones did not meet your expectations. We understand that not everyone likes bass and we appreciate your feedback.



There is good news, however! Download the Sony Headphones Connect app as it includes all sorts of tools that can be customized to fine-tune your music. There is even an EQ for bass and treble sound. This will give you more control over your headphones and their performance.



Should you need further assistance, please let me know and email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:



Name:

Sony.com Username:

Model Number:

Issue:

Telephone Number:



Sincerely,

Erin

0

Excellent Headphones!

WH-1000XM4 04/12/2020 by MJohnsonJr (USA)

Best headphones I've ever owned. I wear them most of the day for work and listen to music in between phone calls. I hear everyone I speak to crystal clear and never have issues with dropping calls or people not being able to hear me. Very comfortable not once I have even noticed a bit of discomfort. The sound quality of both my phone calls and the music is outstanding. I've been through a lot of headphones over the years and I can tell you this is one of the best purchases I've made in a long time. I also love how quickly these charge. I get a lot of phone calls from work through the day and at this point I'm so spoiled being hands free. Thankfully if I need a quick charge in just 5-10 minutes I get enough of a charge to get me through the day. The full charge doesn't take long at all either. Very impressed all the way around. No complaints. Extremely happy with them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/12/2020

Hi MJohnsonJr,

Thank you so much for the perfect star rating! We are really delighted to hear you are extremely happy with the amazing features and outstanding sound quality of our newest industry-leading, Noise Canceling headphones WH-1000XM4. The WH-1000XM4 is a new design, with intelligent and intuitive Ambient Sound Control features that include improvements to Multipoint connection and our industry-leading Noise Cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and Smart Listening that adjusts to your behavior and location. Using the Sony Headphones Connect app, Ambient Sound Control lets you adjust the volume of background sound and gives you the option to allow voices alone to be heard. Meanwhile, the equalizer lets you customize sound levels to suit your music.

Thank you so much for purchasing our WH-1000XM4 & 5-stars review and for choosing Sony!

- Romeo

0

Sound quality is awesome!

WH1000XM4/B 01/12/2020 by MIN0729 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've never used the noise canceling headphones and got this as a gift. The experience is really amazing and I can't use my earbuds anymore because of this :) I love sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/12/2020

Hi MIN0729,
Awesome! Thank you for the 5-star rating. We're glad to know that you love your new headphones. The WH-1000XM4 is a new design, with intelligent and intuitive Ambient Sound Control features that include improvements to Multipoint connection and our industry-leading Noise Cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and Smart Listening that adjusts to your behavior and location. Your feedback about the touch sensor is greatly appreciated. Thanks for sharing your review and for choosing Sony. - Kris

0

Not compatible with PS4

WH-1000XM4 30/11/2020 by TwinNo2 (USA)

I bought this last week on a recommendation from a friend. First, I made the mistake of selling my beats to get these (as an upgrade) my previous headphones had a better noise cancelling functionality than these. I can hear the air conditioning from the vent in my office even with the noise cancelling feature turned on. My husband was also disappointed because they are not supported with the PS4 (although there are claims they work with the PS5) and although they connected seamlessly to his PC while gaming, he had a lag with his microphone because it seems that this headset has two separate drivers (one for the audio, and the other for the mic input). I will be returning his headset since I paid too much for him not to be able to use them for all purposes. And I'm debating whether or not to return mine...the noise cancelling feature was not as good as my previous headset.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

9

19

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/12/2020

Hi TwinNo2,



We regret to hear that you are having issues with your Sony wireless headphones. This is definitely not the experience we want you to have. One of the best ways to isolate and most of the time, resolve any software-related issues, is by updating the firmware of the headphones. The software update includes key features, applications, bug fixes, and feature improvements. Feel free to test the headphones again and verify if it resolves the issues. For PS4, we highly recommend using the dedicated PlayStation headphones for a better gaming experience.



Should you need further assistance, you can email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:



Name:

Sony website Username:

Model Number:

Issue:

Telephone Number:



Sincerely,

Vincent

0

Greate Features good.

WH1000XM4/S 30/11/2020 by babu1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought thgis Week Greate Features good I'm so Happy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/12/2020

Hi babu1,

Amazing! We're glad to know that you're happy with your new WH-1000XM4 Wireless Noise-Canceling Headphones. These headphones is a new design, with intelligent and intuitive Ambient Sound Control features that include improvements to Multipoint connection and our industry-leading Noise Cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and Smart Listening that adjusts to your behavior and location. Thanks for choosing Sony! - Kris

0

Well pleased

WH-1000XM4 30/11/2020 by athelflaeda (United Kingdom)

Happy with the product which works well with my phone. Problem is I can't get it to work with my Windows 10 desktop pc. My old bluetooth headphones paired easily with my pc but these new Sony headphones won't pair at all! Have you encountered thid problem before?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

11

0

0

The App is terrible!

WH1000XM4/B 28/11/2020 by J1234567810 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It should be simple to enable me to toggle between two devices on the app. The headphones will allow me to toggle from a laptop to my iphone by double tapping on the right earpiece. But I can't easily switch back and forth any other way. Sorry, that's just lazy engineering!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

5

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/12/2020

Hi J1234567810,



We're sorry to hear that you're experiencing switching issue from your iPhone and laptop on your WH-1000XM4 Headphones. We'd like to help troubleshoot the issue and make this a better experience for you. Note that Multipoint connection works with only two devices at a time. Make sure that the headphones have the latest software update as it improves the overall performance of the headphones. Resetting and initializing the headset may resolve the switching issue. Please follow the steps below:



Resetting the headset

If the headset cannot be turned on or cannot be operated even when it is turned on, press both the power button and the CUSTOM button simultaneously while charging. The headset will be reset. The device registration (pairing) information is not deleted. If the headset does not operate correctly even after resetting, initialize the headset to restore factory settings.



If the headset does not operate correctly even after resetting, initialize the headset. Turn off the headset while the USB Type-C cable is disconnected and then press and hold the power button and the CUSTOM button simultaneously for 7 seconds or more.



The indicator blue flashes 4 times and the headset is initialized. This operation resets volume settings, etc. to the factory settings, and deletes all pairing information. In this case, delete the pairing information for the headset from the device and then pair them again.



We value your opinion regarding with switching devices on the Sony Headphone Connect App. We will have this noted as it helps us to improve the performance of our product quality and services.



If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:



Name:

Username:

Model Number:

Issue:

Telephone Number:



We are sorry for the inconvenience and hope to speak to you to resolve this matter. We appreciate you and thanks again for shopping Sony!



Sincerely,

Kris