64

4.2 based on 64 customer reviews

39
10
6
5
4
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Fantastic Headphones

WH-1000XM4 03/09/2020 by Fifibelle (United Kingdom)

So glad I waited for this model to be released. Sony did not disappoint. These headphones are amazing!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Bring Back VPT!

WH-1000XM4 13/09/2020 by ElectroJunkie77 (USA)

Don’t take away the custom EQ, but please bring back VPT as an added feature set. Nothing more to say...if VPT returns with a software update these will be hands down the BEST HEADPHONES WORLD WIDE, and the sells will flourish. For now I’m keeping mine. Purchased Silver but I won’t change my 3 STAR review to 5 Stars until the VPT is brought back with a software update.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

68 Customer Reviews

0

Bad implementation of basic features

WH-1000XM4 21/09/2020 by doms1221 (USA)

I bought it a month ago and while my experience with them is good - all of the features are there, but the implementation of a lot of basic functions is pretty bad. Tap controls are often registered after third or fourth try and after headphones register it, the controls work just fine. This is definitely a bad optimization for battery saving. Chose one - physical buttons and battery optimization or touch controls and no battery optimization. You can't have both. "Pause when taken off" function isn't great either - it often starts playing when my headphones are around my neck. Turn on/off with button hold is a bad implementation (even if you must use the hold button, why is it so long? It's long enough so that it feels cumbersome and instead of instant turn on/off, it's an operation onto itself). Also, there is no way of seeing battery level while the headphones are charging which is laughable.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Superb High-End Headphones

WH-1000XM4 21/09/2020 by Mel2955 (United Kingdom)

As expected for a Sony product, the high quality packaging tells a story before you even get to the goodness inside which doesn't let down. The headphones have a premium look with a soft faux leather centre section of the headband and ear cups which made them comfortable to wear for long periods. After around 4.5 hours of continuous use they still felt comfortable and could easily have worn them for a few hours more. Only small issue I could raise here is with the ear cups being so well isolated and close fitting I felt my ears getting a little bit warm, maybe just me. The headband has a good adjustment range to get the best fit and they didn't feel tight across my head. Even while wearing the headphones with power off the ear cups were great at reducing external noise. With Noise Cancelling activated the world outside went very quiet with only some higher pitched sounds creeping through occasionally, excellent. Controlling volume and music tracks worked well for the most part using the right ear cup touchpad sensors. Occasionally had to repeat the vertical sliding action to change volume, but didn’t have any problem changing tracks sliding finger horizontally. Plus point, good to find the sensitivity was not limited to a small area of the touchpad sensor. As for sound, the quality is excellent. For me, playing high quality FLAC files on my Walkman which has the LDAC codec is when you really hear the music as it should be heard. These headphones are not particularly Bass punchy, so if you like heavy Bass in your music without making any adjustments to the standard settings, or can't if you don't have a smartphone, these may not be your first choice. The phone app equaliser can push the Bass effect quite a bit if needed. Trying the DSEE Extreme setting using the SBC codec playing various MP3 music files, unfortunately I couldn't detect much of a difference. Maybe its just too subtle an enhancement for my ears. Speak to Chat worked great for times in shops etc, the headphones paused music instantly when hearing my voice. Nice feature but need to remember this will happen every time you speak or maybe hum along with the music. Fortunately it can easily be switched on or off using the phone app or two fingers against the right ear cup touchpad if not like it. The Ambient Noise feature was really handy while moving around busy areas and wanted to hear some of the sounds around me like traffic, and Voice Focus worked better than expected while waiting in a train station, clearly heard the 'the next train is for ***' while music playing. Using the Speak to Chat and Ambient Noise features depends much about what you're doing and where you are, useful in certain circumstances. Bluetooth range has been great with no drop-out issues while walking outside or around my home upstairs and downstairs through numerous walls at some distance from the computer playing music using a Bluetooth v5.0 dongle. Also tested connecting to my Sony NW-A45 Walkman which uses Bluetooth v4.2, no issues whatsoever and a nice match for these headphones. Battery power has been very good, pretty close to the times quoted I would say, albeit can't say 100% because I keep changing settings during use to find how well or not various settings work for me in different situations. All in all an easy recommendation for anyone considering purchasing these superb high-end headphones, cost may be the one thing that puts some off.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

0

0

0

A significant improvement over XM3 0 Go buy.

WH-1000XM4 21/09/2020 by Dr Dee (United Kingdom)

This is an evolution of the XM3 which was already one of the best. Four things stand out for me. First, the XM4 has superior comfort versus XM3 and you can wear it all day. I found for example the B&W PX& had a vice-like grip. The XM3 was comfortable but the XM4 with its better cushioning now makes it possible to wear all day. Second, the musicality has been significantly improved and now far exceeds competitor brands like B&W P7. With its noise-cancelling already excellent on XM3, Sony now is far ahead. Sony’ has used its Dual Noise Sensor tech, making use of two mics in each earcup to suck in sound and analyse it with the QN1 noise-cancelling processor. The treble response is improved and so are the mids using the DSEE extreme processing capability. The introduction of DSEE Extreme, an AI-driven process that looks to restore detail from lossy compressed formats, d Third, when you pairing and multi-device usage is seamless with my phone and Macbook. The benefit of being able to use the better transmission through Sony's own LDAC codex with my Sony portable NW A105. I player is a plus. I would have preferred Sony to have kept Aptx HD which is a Qualcomm codex and is not as good as LDAC but is more available on portable devices. Finally, while Sony's XM3 was one of the best musically, Sony has also improved speaking and working with this headphone on. A new Speak-to-Chat feature. With this option switched on, the headphones’ microphone will intelligently recognise when you’ve started talking, and pause your music while ramping up ambient noise being funnelled into the cans. It’ll let you have a chat naturally without taking your headphones off, with a short pause occurring after you stop chatting before resuming music playback. Loved using the XM3's but love the XM4 even more.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

0

0

0

Amazing noise cancelling

WH-1000XM4 20/09/2020 by Bilbob2002 (United Kingdom)

I recieved the xm4s 2 weeks ago and am super impressed with how good these headphones are. They are well packaged and come with a handy carry case to make sure they stay in top condition if travelling. They are super light for all the functionality they contain and once on barely notice there there the ear cups are so well padded my glasses are no problem and don't dig in with the fit of the headphones. Once on and the app downloaded they where so easy to set up and configure to my ear shape to maximise sound quality. The noise cancelling is AMAZING!! I was able to sit in my living room with the tv on and my dog barking and completely loose myself in the music. The speak to chat function was nice and it works well but I ended up turning it off so I can sing along without interrupting the music. They charge in no time and the battery lasts forever. But the biggest thing was being able to connect to two devices my pc headset has now been replaced so I can play games on my laptop and also take calls. The sound quality is what you would expect from Sony 1st class. I would definitely recommend these headphones with no problem at all

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

0

0

0

The best is back and this time refined

WH-1000XM4 19/09/2020 by Joey B (USA)

An extremely satisfying Sony product that with truly helpful features. The noise cancelling improved over the last generation and the sound signature is more balanced and refined in the tuning of the driver. Pairs seamlessly with my Xperia 1 II.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/09/2020

Hi Joey!

Wow! It is really nice to hear you're happy and satisfied with the amazing sound quality, features, and industry-leading, Noise Canceling function of your new WH-1000XM4!

The WH-1000XM4 is a new design, with intelligent and intuitive Ambient Sound Control features that include improvements to Multipoint connection and our industry-leading Noise Cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and Smart Listening that adjusts to your behavior and location.

Thank you so much for the 5-stars review & feedback and for choosing Sony!

- Romeo

0

Great headphones but...

WH-1000XM4 18/09/2020 by BGHNY (USA)

I've been wearing these for a few weeks and there is an annoying clicking sound that developed in the left headphone. When I move my face or turn my head... click, click, click. It is driving me crazy and not what I would expect after doing my research and buying what I thought would be the best bluetooth noise cancelling headphones on the market.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/09/2020

Hi BGHNY,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we're so sorry to hear you're having an issue with the left side of your WH-1000XM4. This is definitely not the experience we'd like you to have in our newest industry-leading, Noise Canceling headphones. We would really like to understand the issues you're having and help you out. We have some troubleshooting that might help you in solving the issues, and 1-year limited warranty for service if more than troubleshooting is needed. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details so we can assist you further.

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Fantastic headphones great sound

WH-1000XM4 18/09/2020 by Colin (United Kingdom)

Have been using these headphones for two weeks now I have had quite a few different types of head phones over the years but these Sony noise canceling headphones are quite simply the best headphones I have ever used Sony app is fantastic and easy to use lots of great features. The lovely tones and the bass sound is brilliant the best headphones I have ever used the design is stunning so comfortable to wear no Bluetooth drop off while using them. Headphones com3 in a great carry case charge lead and airplane adapter. The 360 reality sound is brilliant changes the sound complete for the better.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

6

0

0

Awesome Headphones

WH-1000XM4 18/09/2020 by Rio 44 (United Kingdom)

These are the best headphones on the market in my opinion,super quality,first class noise cancelling,excellent sound quality and very comfortable to wear for long periods of time.The battery life is really good charge them up for a couple of hours and easily last all day.I would recommend downloading the Sony headphones app and install the latest firmware and use the app to customise to your liking.I would have no problem recommending these headphones to anyone,they deserve this Five Star review.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

5

0

0

Sensational Sound - Listen In Comfort

WH-1000XM4 18/09/2020 by GeorgeL (United Kingdom)

From the moment you put these headphones on you relaise how comfortable they are! Using the headphone App helps to configure the headphones for hi fi sound using TIDAL. A very dynamic sound performance. From a band to an orchestra the music plays so sweetly in your head. Connectivity is excellent via Bluetooth; quality sound from my iPod or iPad or IMac with streamed music. The comfort is so good that I am able to wear them for as long as I want. But overall it is the sound quality from them that makes them so good. I have other SONY headphones but the lates take the prize for being first rate. I love them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Review collected as part of incentivized promotion

2

1

0

Good, potentially great with firmware improvements

WH-1000XM4 17/09/2020 by paul9991 (USA)

I upgraded from wired Bose QC25 headphones. Thus far I have found the microphones to be not quite as good as Bose, but the audio quality is exceptional. My main issue right now is that the dual bluetooth is causing problems. For example, I am often on a video conference and then I get a phone call. The headphone switches to the call before I even answer it. And then it completely drops the bluetooth on my computer. I have to power the headphones off and then back on to rejoin my conference. This needs to be fixed. So far the ambient control and speed to chat are more distracting than helpful so I turned them off. Pausing when I take off the headphones is nice, as are the touch controls on the headphones. My only other complaint is that the headband pushed down a bit too hard on my bald head. The Bose were more comfortable because of that.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/09/2020

Hi paul9991, we're glad that you like the sound quality of the headphones. We appreciate your feedback about the microphone, multipoint function, and fit of the headphones. Make sure to update the software version (via the Sony Headphones Connect app) for optimum performance. Sony takes all feedback seriously. Rest assured that this will help us improve our products. Thanks for sharing your review and for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Nice headphones

WH-1000XM4 17/09/2020 by Prime41 (USA)

The Good: Sound quality is fantastic Noise canceling is fantastic Connection to iphone is fantastic The not so good: The touch controls are okay. I had a little trouble with them picking up what I was trying to do. The "speak to hear outside noise" feature often picks up a cough. The comfort is so-so. I don't think I would use these for very long sessions. The bad: These headphones are completely unusable on Windows 10 with a bluetooth connection. My drivers are up to date but I get constant stuttering and skips made me resort to using the cord which defeats the wireless purpose. Overall: They're a good pair of headphones and would be 5/5 if not for the Windows 10 issues.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/09/2020

Hi Prime41, we're glad you like the sound quality and the noise canceling feature of our newest industry-leading noise canceling headphones. We're sorry to hear that you have an issue with your SONY unit. You can switch the settings and check the sound quality mode with the “Sony | Headphones Connect” app. Please make sure to set the "Priority on stable connection mode which prioritizes the stable connection. If you require any additional support in regards to this product, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number: ~Earl


0

Fabulous headphones

WH1000XM4/B 14/09/2020 by TrrkMol (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The WM-1000XM4 is replacing my Nokia headset. The unit is very comfortable to wear for long periods. Controls are easy to manipulate. The Headphones Connect app (iOS & Android) customizes the listening experience. It can take into account ambient background noise, switching to chat mode simply by speaking, and even switching listening modes depending on where you are located! All these features can be turned off. The noise canceling feature is one of the best I’ve experienced. You still get that “air pressure” feeling, but it is not as prevalent as many other units. The ability to connect to 2 devices is a great plus! I usually have my phone with me so I use the app to easily switch between my iPhone and laptop. I haven’t used the headset making calls so not sure how I sound on the phone. Overall a fabulous purchase. Warning to those purchasing on Amazon, I purchased a new unit but what I received was a returned unit. It was like-new so didn’t have any real issues, but not happy with Amazon.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/09/2020

Hi TrrkMol, thank you for sharing your review of your WH1000XM4. Intelligent and intuitive, the WH-1000XM4 headphones offer further improvements to our industry-leading noise cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and smart listening that adjusts to your behavior and your location. Using the Sony Headphones Connect app, Ambient Sound Control lets you adjust the volume of background sound and gives you the option to allow voices alone to be heard. Meanwhile, the Equalizer lets you customize sound levels to suit your music. Thanks for choosing Sony. Erin

0

Bring Back VPT!

WH-1000XM4 13/09/2020 by ElectroJunkie77 (USA)

Don’t take away the custom EQ, but please bring back VPT as an added feature set. Nothing more to say...if VPT returns with a software update these will be hands down the BEST HEADPHONES WORLD WIDE, and the sells will flourish. For now I’m keeping mine. Purchased Silver but I won’t change my 3 STAR review to 5 Stars until the VPT is brought back with a software update.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/09/2020

Hi ElectroJunkie77,

We want to say sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the VPT. You can set both Equalizer and Surround (VPT) settings. We recommend, however, that you turn off the Surround (VPT) setting when you listen to 360 Reality Audio tracks..We will surely take note of this feedback as it helps us improve our products/services.

If you need further assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Regards,
David

0

Awesome !!!

WH1000XM4/B 13/09/2020 by Mrmoemoe (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought these headphones a week ago I'm liking them each time I listen to them as I compared them to my klipsch headphones. Listening to Tidal MQA is amazing. Although the head band should be wider for a 349.00 headphone feels kinda cheap.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/09/2020

Hi Mrmoemoe, we are glad to hear that you like our newest noise canceling headphones. Intelligent and intuitive, the WH-1000XM4 headphones offer further improvements to our industry-leading noise cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and smart listening that adjusts to your behavior and your location. Using the Sony Headphones Connect app, Ambient Sound Control lets you adjust the volume of background sound and gives you the option to allow voices alone to be heard. Meanwhile, the Equalizer lets you customize sound levels to suit your music. Thanks for choosing Sony. Erin

0

Overall really nice

WH-1000XM4 12/09/2020 by Vlad96690 (USA)

There are better detailed reviews than what I could compose above. Still I am curious... This is my first Sony "premium" product, and i became very curious in what VPT modes would sound like now. Is this a feature that can be added back to the app?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/09/2020

Hi Vlad96690, thanks for sharing your feedback on your WH1000XM4. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/. Erin

0

Amazing and disappointing

WH-1000XM4 12/09/2020 by Nashville (USA)

I purchased these headphones for the office. If I’m listening to music they are fantastic, best headphones I have used. The sound quality and noise canceling on the audio to your ear is top notch. However, the microphone noise canceling is near worthless. I need to have my office door closed or people on the phone can hear my co-workers from down the hall. Even after spending time fine tuning the headset with the app, the microphone problem didn’t improve. This did enhance the quality of the music I listen to however. If you like only listening to music, buy these. If you take phone calls in a noisy environment, get something different.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/09/2020

Hi Nashville,

We are sorry to hear about the issue with your headphones. This is not the experience we want you to have. We highly recommend updating the software of the headphones. Update the software using the Sony Headphones Connect app. Visit the link below for more details.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-bluetooth-headphones/wh-1000xm4/downloads/00016873

If you need further assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Regards,
David

0

Best wireless headphones ever!

WH-1000XM4 09/09/2020 by John Christendom (USA)

This past week I was looking for some headphones at my local retail store and saw a pair of these on the shelf. The second I put them on the noise canceling brought me into another world, that's the thing that originally and truly sold me on these headphones. Honestly, these are the best wireless anc headphones, and over the best wireless headphones I have ever used. Whether you are experienced in audio or just starting these are perfect for all. If you want base, you can have as much base as you could need in the extensive app, if you would like to listen to audio from more of a professional standpoint, they are completely perfect for that too. At the price point, and at the quality, and every feature packed into these headphones, they are completely worth every penny.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/09/2020

Hi John Christendom, we're glad that your investment is worth it. Sony’s industry-leading noise cancellation evolves to further immerse you in your music. The addition of Sony’s proprietary HD Noise Canceling Processor QN1 masterfully eliminates the noise around you. Listen all day with up to 30 hours of battery life. Quick charging gives five hours of playback with just a 10-minute charge.

To get the most out of your WH-1000XM4, download the Sony | Headphones Connect App. It includes Adaptive Sound Control—which automatically adjusts noise canceling based on your activity and an equalizer—which can be customized to fine-tune your music. Using our advanced noise canceling technology, we designed these headphones so you can block out noise and experience next-level silence. Plus, you have the ability to use the convenient smart features including Quick Attention, Google Assistant/Alexa/Siri compatibility, and touch controls. Thanks for choosing Sony.

~Ralph

0

Disappointed.

WH-1000XM4 08/09/2020 by ORBIKOX (USA)

I wait several months for this headphones, I had QC25, QC35I AND II, decided to get SONY beacuse sound quality, but unfortunately after using this headphones for 2 hours it hurts my ears. Inside can space it's too small, my ears were touching inside components. Hope Sony fix this in the future. At this moment I'm sadly returning my headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

9

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/09/2020

Hi ORBIKOX,

Your feedback about comfortability is greatly appreciated. This will surely help us improve the quality and performance of our products. Thanks for sharing your review.

Regards,
David

0

My Favourite Headphones. My Problems With Them.

WH-1000XM4 06/09/2020 by Eclectic Sound Consumer (United Kingdom)

I bought the WH-1000MX4 model a month ago and I'm glad I did. The noise cancelling is fantastic, it will not silence a fighter jet taking off from 200m away, but what it will do is make day to day travel more peaceful. The noise cancelling coupled with a low volume of music (around a quarter volume) will immerse you into a land of tranquillity, privacy and give you the focus to really concentrate on what it is your doing or listening to. The coffee on the go and the line at the station with this product what you hear is now fully in your control. Also the noise cancelling is great without sound being played, but it does still let some noise through. But, to get complete silence anywhere on earth is impossible, and these make a really good go at it. The battery life is great and the fit is comfortable. I have gone full day with high volumes and noise cancelling and the battery lasts with some to spare. And after long listening periods I am not left with aching ears, which I have had from other products. I highly recommend these headphones to anyone who travels a lot. Or anyone who likes have wireless headphones with great audio performance and also some clever features. The features I like are the Pause/Play that you can customise for when you take your headphones Off/On. It isn’t noticeable at first, but the time I will save over the years from not having to press pause and play and fussing with wires when leaving a room, answering a call or even if you just want to have a scratch without missing a paragraph of a new audiobook. I also like the slider option for if you do want to let ambient noise in. Scenario: You’re in a busy city centre and you are dodging and weaving traffic and people running late for your next engagement. You can have the headphones set to let ambient noise in. Meaning safer passing on dangerous roads. However, the touch gestures on the earphones are unresponsive, especially to someone who is used to handling a modern smart phone. And when you turn the volume up or down, the content your listening to is rudely interrupted by the intrusion of a confirmation of the action you just performed. There isn’t an option available in the accompanying smartphone software to change this. I find this both annoying and useless. I have turned the touch features off. Unless an update is released where you can decide what touch features actually do and have this done silently it will stay that way. Speaking off software and updates. If you don’t own a smartphone you can’t customise the headphones at all. I can’t find a version of the application for Computer Desktops. Also, the Bluetooth quality is sometimes poor. It will connect to the hands-free channel and this will reduce sound quality and turns whatever your listening to into what sounds like a remix of the old internet dial-up connection sound and whatever soundbites your trying to listen to. Overall, this is a Premium product and its worth the money it’s priced at. I’m a happy customer. But if there was a version with a better touch function and better recognition of when you are connected to a phone call instead of a music platform or video streaming site. It would get 5 Stars. For me I give it 4 ½.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

2

0

I've got 2 pairs

WH-1000XM4 06/09/2020 by Jacksondore (USA)

Bought a pair of these for my wife for her birthday and I loved him so much I bought a pair too and everybody that I speak to I refer them. Excellent battery life awesome sound quality we wear ours outside during yard work we also wear them while mowing on our ZTR the noise cancellation works great! I wish I could turn the volume up louder on the ambient aware would be the only thing I would change

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/09/2020

Hi Jacksondore,

Wow! That's awesome! We're really happy to hear you're overall satisfied with the features and functionality of your new industry-leading, Noise Canceling headphones WH-1000XM4. Intelligent and intuitive, the WH-1000XM4 headphones offer further improvements to our industry-leading noise cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and smart listening that adjusts to your behavior and your location. Using the Sony Headphones Connect app, Ambient Sound Control lets you adjust the volume of background sound and gives you the option to allow voices alone to be heard. Meanwhile, the Equalizer lets you customize sound levels to suit your music.

Thank you so much for purchasing our WH-1000XM4 & 5-stars review and for choosing Sony!

- Romeo

0

Fantastic Sound Quality

WH-1000XM4 05/09/2020 by Kenny Bear (United Kingdom)

I’m have the Air buds , but decided to treat myself to the WH10004, and was not disappointed. As the sound quality is second to none , I found it a bit strange , when it wanted photographs of my ears , but after having the experienced the 360 degree sound , I now know why. Even better sound quality, and so many different functions . Expensive but you pay for quality, and that’s what you get with these earphones .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Missing Surround (VPT)) settings

WH-1000XM4 05/09/2020 by Scott14 (USA)

Without the VPT surrounds settings, in specific the concert hall setting, these headphones sound terrible for classical music. Had the WX-1000MX2 and the VPT settings made classical music sound great. Just recently upgraded to the MX4 and was very disappointed to see that setting removed.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/09/2020

Hi Scott14,

We're so sorry if these headphones did not meet your expectations. Currently, the Surround (VPT) feature is not supported by our WH-1000XM4. We will surely take note of your feedback as we always strive to make this a better experience. Should you need more assistance or information, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com.

Sincerely,

Romeo

0

Way better than my old BOSE

WH-1000XM4 05/09/2020 by David Bobo (USA)

I purchased this when released and could not be happier. Comfortable, sound great, and don't hear the Tasmanian devil (dog) that lives above me in an apartment. Great for wireless gaming and watching TV..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/09/2020

Hi David Bobo,

We're glad to hear how you are comfortable with your headphones. Intelligent and intuitive, the WH-1000XM4 headphones offer further improvements to our industry-leading noise cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and smart listening that adjusts to your behavior and your location. Using the Sony Headphones Connect app, Ambient Sound Control lets you adjust the volume of background sound and gives you the option to allow voices alone to be heard. Meanwhile, the Equalizer lets you customize sound levels to suit your music.

Thank you for choosing Sony! Jay

0

Upgrade from 1000x M2

WH-1000XM4 04/09/2020 by KeishaB580 (USA)

I love these headphones, they were a necessary upgrade from my M2's which have a cracked headband on both sides. I'm not an audiophile so you can take this with a grain of salt, but listening to my music using these headphones was incredible. I use a custom EQ with the bass turned up to the max with my Tidal HIFI subscription and my music sounds amazing. It was definitely a better sound experience than my M2's which could tend to get a little muddy when the bass is turned up to high levels. I like the fit and overall design of these headphones. They are definitely lighter than the M2's, I could feel the difference immediately, and they are very comfortable on my head. I wore them for a straight 12 hours with no pain/irritation to my ears. The material feels like it will be more sturdy than the M2's, but I'll have to wait and see about that. This was a nice upgrade in features. I've used the speak to chat, and it works as it says it does. I'll be listening to my music and when my son comes over to talk, as soon as I say the first word out of my mouth the ambient sound is activated and then maybe 10-15 seconds after the conversation is over, the music or whatever I'm listening to automatically starts playing again. This feature will be clutch when I'm back in the office for work. The Noise cancelling is amazing, no surprise there. I can now connect to two devices at the same time, but switching between them isn't always as seamless as I would like it to be. I'm not sure if this has anything to do with the devices I'm connected to, but this feature can be a little buggy at times. There is one feature in the app that Sony took away with this upgrade in headphones, and that is the Surround VPT. I loved using this feature with my M2's. I was a little disappointed when I realized this was no longer available in the app. I hope SONY can put this feature back with an upgrade in the near future. I don't love the call quality. Of course it's an upgrade for me, but it's still not there yet, but It's not a deal breaker for me. Overall, these headphones are almost perfect for me. SONY just keeps knocking it out of the park with these 1000x headphones. If they can give us the Surround VPT back, make some improvements to the call quality, and these will be the perfect earphones. I'm very happy with my purchase (which i made with my own money) and I would enthusiastically recommend these to anyone!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/09/2020

Hi KeishaB580, we're glad you like our newest industry-leading noise canceling headphones. Intelligent and intuitive, the WH-1000XM4 headphones offer further improvements to our industry-leading noise cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and smart listening that adjusts to your behavior and your location. Using the Sony Headphones Connect app, Ambient Sound Control lets you adjust the volume of background sound and gives you the option to allow voices alone to be heard. For total convenience, WH-1000XM4 headphones can be paired with two Bluetooth devices at the same time. So when a call comes in, your headphones know which device is ringing and connect to the right one automatically. You'll also be able to quickly, smoothly switch your headphones to either of the two devices at the touch of a button. Thanks for choosing Sony. ~Earl

0

Prefer the Sony wh1000xm3 to the new ones

WH-1000XM4 04/09/2020 by Sonyxm34 (USA)

I bought the xm4 a few days after the release , I expected better quality than the xm3 but I was disappointed. The feature for surround sound vpt setting was removed and that was one of the best feature in my opinion. If they release an update in which they can be used again I would rate these headphones the best yet. Hopefully they’ll be an update soon. Design was also not as good compared to the xm3 it has more a matte finishing and not as comfortable feel as the previous generation. Overall I would have stuck with the xm3

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

3

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/09/2020

Hi Sonyxm34, we're sorry to hear that our product failed to meet your expectations. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! ~Earl

0

Fantastic Headphones

WH-1000XM4 03/09/2020 by Fifibelle (United Kingdom)

So glad I waited for this model to be released. Sony did not disappoint. These headphones are amazing!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Too Many Flaws for the Price

WH-1000XM4 03/09/2020 by jose22 (USA)

I had been waiting for these headphones for a long time to upgrade my Bose QC25s and purchased them on the day they became available. I'll break my review up into sections: Fit/Comfort: The first thing I noticed when I tried these on was my ears touched the fabric that covers the audio driver. This never happened with my Bose, but I figured maybe I could get used to it (although I've had these for 3 weeks and this still bothers me). Ideally I think the foam should be thicker to prevent this. I also noticed these headphones didn't seem very comfortable after about 30-45 minutes, which isn't very long for me. Maybe I have an odd-shaped head based on other reviews I read, but I was disappointed by this especially considering I never had this problem with my Bose headphones. The headphones also get very warm, which can probably be attributed to the seal around my ears for noise cancelling. I can't really fault the headphones here as noise cancelling is a priority, but this is just an observation. Sound: The sound is really good. I still don't think it competes to headphones that don't have ANC but I don't really think that's possible. Overall I was happy with the sound. The noise cancelling is phenomenal, and these headphones do a great job of cancelling even mid-frequency rather than just low frequencies. Features: I'm not really sure if something is wrong with my pair, but the switching between bluetooth devices is very buggy. I still have to manually disconnect and connect my devices fairly often which is disappointing as that's probably the biggest feature of these headphones versus the X3. I've also had devices that are connected and playing but no audio comes through these headphones (and I have confirmed only 1 connected device was playing audio at a time). The touch controls are pretty nice, I do wish the custom button could be used for the conversation mode but that's a minor gripe. The swiping controls work great and I love the feature of putting my hand on my ear cup to hear my surroundings. Overall: I really can't justify the price of these headphones for the poor fit (which may just be a personal problem) and the buggy tech such as the multi-device bluetooth support (which is the biggest upgrade from the X3 in my opinion). At this price I would expect a nearly flawless device. I really wanted to love these, but unfortunately I think I'll be returning them and trying out some other pairs. I really hope I got a bad pair which I think is a possibility based on other reviews I've read, and I think these headphones are definitely worth a try from a store that allows returns.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/09/2020

Hi jose22, We regret to hear that you are having issues with your wireless headphones. If the headphones are still with you, please make sure to update the firmware of the headphones. The software update fixes an issue where, when there are 2 Bluetooth devices connected at the same time, the connected devices repeatedly disconnect and reconnect. It also improves the performance of the headphones. Fit of the headphones can be a very personal thing. For these the length of the headband is adjustable. Please try to adjust the headband according to your preference to see if that will fix your concern about comfort/fit. We value your input and appreciate your feedback. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services.

Should you need further assistance, you can email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony website Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Vincent

0

Great sound, poor comfort

WH-1000XM4 02/09/2020 by seajamcom (USA)

I love these headphones. Such great sound and noise cancelling. Unfortunately the headband is the most uncomfortable I have ever tried, and I can't listen to them for more than 10 minutes without getting a sore head.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/09/2020

Hi seajamcom, we're glad that you like the sound quality and noise canceling function of the headphones. Make sure to adjust the headband for maximum comfort.

On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in the US and Canada. We highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

~Ralph

0

Great sound!

WH-1000XM4 31/08/2020 by Jakeinger_sdt (USA)

I preordered these and have been listeneing about 2-3 a day. Very comfortable, great sound and features

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/09/2020

Hi Jakeinger_sdt,

Great! We're happy to hear that you're enjoying the comfort and sound quality of the headphones. Intelligent and intuitive, the WH-1000XM4 headphones offer further improvements to our industry-leading noise cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and smart listening that adjusts to your behavior and your location.

To get the most out of your WH-1000XM4, download the Sony | Headphones Connect App. It includes Adaptive Sound Control—which automatically adjusts noise canceling based on your activity and an equalizer—which can be customized to fine-tune your music. Using our advanced noise canceling technology, we designed these headphones so you can block out noise and experience next-level silence. Plus, you have the ability to use the convenient smart features including Quick Attention, Google Assistant/Alexa/Siri compatibility, and touch controls. Thanks for choosing Sony.

~Ralph

0

Turns off on its own while watching YouTube

WH-1000XM4 31/08/2020 by Jorge G (USA)

I love everything about them except one thing. they turn off on their own while I am watching YouTube. Not sure as to why and I see a few posts online that they have done the same to other users. Hopefully, Sony figures out the why and fixes it. Otherwise, great product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/09/2020

Hi Jorge G, we appreciate your review of the headphones. Make sure to update the unit to the latest software version for optimum performance. You can turn off the "Automatic Power Off" function of the Sony Headphones Connect app:
https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/hpc/v1/en/contents/TP0002935917.html

In case you need further assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

Lower quality when in dual device mode

WH-1000XM4 31/08/2020 by dantm (USA)

This is my third Sony high res headset I own. I bought last week mainly because of 2 new features I didn't have on WH-1000XM3. I really lowed WH-1000XM3s because excellent sound quality. On XM3 NC worked fine in the office, but sometimes had issues outside withe repeated sounds, let's see how XM4s will perform.. I use the headphones in the office and support for 2 devices is finally supported, but NOTE there is something specs and advertisements don't say. If you enable this feature the LDAC is gone and it will switch headphones to AAC 44khz/16bit only. So my question to Sony is if it would be possible to keep for example LDAC (2 channels) on phone and AAC for laptop with some future firmware update? I'm switching between modes often to enjoy TIDAL music in better quality, but another issue is that headphones don't reconnect to second device automatically. So you need to enable second device support in the menu and go to different menu to reactivate second device. Another idea to Sony: Make this as an option to button and reconnect to second last used device automatically. Second new feature I really like is new sensor which will stop music when you take headphones off. I experienced some small issue today. Not sure if it was the trigger, but I walked with phones off my ears and heard email notification coming to headphones an then music started playing. I just moved them a bit and music stopped again. I was hopping for redesigned touch control which is quite a pain. Maybe next time? I have a feeling that NC is better even passive when headset is off. Comfortable to wear even outside on the street. Didn't experience any troubles like on previous model, but maybe I didn't met similar conditions yet. With XM3 the issue was for example in train when window was open and columns along the trail were creating specific noise. The headphones generated even louder noise and the only solution was turn this feature off. There are new mics inside which might hopefully prevent this situation. So some improvements are still needed, but overall the sound quality is still outstanding and I'm still ranking 5 stars.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/09/2020

Hi dantm, greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in the US and Canada. We highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/. ~Ralph

0

I love the Sound and the Noise Cancellation

WH1000XM4/B 30/08/2020 by Music010 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Im a student and with all the online classes these headphones are a real treat.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31/08/2020

Hi Music010,

That's great! We're very happy to hear you love the sound quality and the Noise Cancelling feature of these headphones. Intelligent and intuitive, the WH-1000XM4 headphones offer further improvements to our industry-leading noise cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and smart listening that adjusts to your behaviour and your location. Using the Sony Headphones Connect app, Ambient Sound Control lets you adjust the volume of background sound and gives you the option to allow voices alone to be heard. Meanwhile, the Equalizer lets you customize sound levels to suit your music.

Thanks for choosing Sony!
-Sam

0

New listen in life

WH-1000XM4 30/08/2020 by behearknow (USA)

All my music sounds brand new. My blood pressure thanks you!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31/08/2020

Hi behearknow,

Thank you for the 5-star rating! Intelligent and intuitive, the WH-1000XM4 headphones offer further improvements to our industry-leading noise cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and smart listening that adjusts to your behavior and your location. Using the Sony Headphones Connect app, Ambient Sound Control lets you adjust the volume of background sound and gives you the option to allow voices alone to be heard. Meanwhile, the Equalizer lets you customize sound levels to suit your music.

Regards,
David

0

Great sound, issue connecting with windows 10

WH-1000XM4 30/08/2020 by HemantK (USA)

Hey Sony Team, Awesome headphone and so good sound quality. so easy to connecting with IPhone, however it is not connecting with laptop have OS Windows 10. Please help me or suggest me.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/08/2020

Hi HemantK, awesome! We are happy to hear that you like the sound quality of or newest noise canceling headphones. Intelligent and intuitive, the WH-1000XM4 headphones offer further improvements to our industry-leading noise cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and smart listening that adjusts to your behavior and your location. Using the Sony Headphones Connect app, Ambient Sound Control lets you adjust the volume of background sound and gives you the option to allow voices alone to be heard. Meanwhile, the Equalizer lets you customize sound levels to suit your music.

This can be paired with Windows 10. Please refer to the Help Guide below for assistance.
https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wh1000xm4/v1/en/contents/TP0002752744.html

If this does not help, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

Sound quality is very impressive.

WH1000XM4/B 29/08/2020 by MRANKINS (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

https://www.sony.com/image/050074ffeea1c1ca40a0c834176dd371?fmt=pjpeg&wid=1014&hei=396&bgcolor=F1F5F9&bgc=F1F5F9

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31/08/2020

Hi MRANKINS,

We appreciate the 5-star rating! Intelligent and intuitive, the WH-1000XM4 headphones offer further improvements to our industry-leading noise cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and smart listening that adjusts to your behavior and your location. Using the Sony Headphones Connect app, Ambient Sound Control lets you adjust the volume of background sound and gives you the option to allow voices alone to be heard. Meanwhile, the Equalizer lets you customize sound levels to suit your music.

Thank you for choosing Sony and enjoy your headphones.
David

0

Best headphones ever

WH-1000XM4 28/08/2020 by Forceman Prime (USA)

The headphones have been the best thing I have bought this year. The specs are insane especially when comparing charge speed and battery life. Easy to set up and works great with apps like spotify, tidal and audible. Thanks to the noice canceling I can focus on work without distractions. The smart features work great and are a great addition. The headphones also fit great and are comfortable no matter how long you wear them. For me this was a real surprise since my earshape normally disagrees with headsets.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/08/2020

Hi Forceman Prime, Wow! Good to know that you like our newest noise canceling headphones. Intelligent and intuitive, the WH-1000XM4 headphones offer further improvements to our industry-leading noise cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and smart listening that adjusts to your behavior and your location. Using the Sony Headphones Connect app, Ambient Sound Control lets you adjust the volume of background sound and gives you the option to allow voices alone to be heard. Meanwhile, the Equalizer lets you customize sound levels to suit your music. Thanks for choosing Sony. Erin

0

You got Bose by the toes!

WH-1000XM4 27/08/2020 by Hshehegee (USA)

As an ex-Bose NC700 owner, I can resoundingly say this is a significant enough of an upgrade in nearly all areas. The sound quality destroys the Bose. ANC is on-par but outstrips Bose in feature sets. Comfort dominates the NC700 bc it doesn’t pinch your head or ears, especially if you wear glasses or sunnies. One area it needs to improve on is the self-voice that’s heard from the headphones as it’s currently very muffled and unnatural. Bose did this right by having the option to tweak how much one’s own voice can be heard over a call.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/08/2020

Hi Hshehegee, thank you for sharing your review on your headphones. The WH-1000XM4 headphones offer further improvements to our industry-leading noise cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and smart listening that adjusts to your behavior and your location. Using the Sony Headphones Connect app, Ambient Sound Control lets you adjust the volume of background sound and gives you the option to allow voices alone to be heard. Meanwhile, the Equalizer lets you customize sound levels to suit your music.

We’ve also taken note of your feedback on the self-voice. We take this matter very seriously into consideration of our products.

Thanks for choosing Sony.

Regards,
Erin

0

Better sound than Bose

WH-1000XM4 27/08/2020 by Gyroscannt12 (United Kingdom)

Got the headphones as a birthday present to replace my Bose headphones, sound quality is superior, howevever, noise cancelling is not so good, on quiet sections of music you can still hear the TV,

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

6

0

Great, but has issues...

WH-1000XM4 26/08/2020 by ZoesBass (USA)

I bought this about a week ago and it arrived just a few days ago. I really liked it, simple enough setup. However, my headphones randomly disconnect (still turned on) from my phone, and are unable to be phone via bluetooth. I am using an iPhone, and it’s not pairing to any other devices. I’ve factory resetted it. This bug can happen anywhere from about 10 minutes to 40 minutes from connecting my phone with the headphones. The sound is amazing, comfort is also amazing, and the design and ease of the headphones + case is very good as well. However, if I were to know that this headphone had a bluetooth issue as severe as this, I likely would not have purchased it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

11

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/08/2020

Hi ZoesBass, we're glad you like the comfort and sound quality of the headphones. It's unfortunate that you're having connectivity issues. Make sure to update the software version by using the Sony Headphones Connect app for optimum performance.

For further assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:


Sincerely,

Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

Lacking bass and no Virtual Surround Sound anymore

WH-1000XM4 25/08/2020 by Larcenciel (USA)

I owned WH-1000XM3, and one of the features I like is to have different settings of sound from the Virtual Surround Sound. By setting it to Arena or Club this will boost the bass which makes big difference. The XM3 have a nice vibration to them that tingles your ears if your pump it to the max, that's sorely lacking in the XM4. Even though there is a default EQ which can be changed, the bass still lacking, very weak, and the feature of Virtual Surround Sound has been removed by Sony. There are plenty other people who have same opinion about this missing feature, and weak bass. I hope the Sony support will pass on this feedback and hoping with the new firmware or Headphones app update, Sony can bring back the Virtual Surround Sound or something similar.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

10

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/08/2020

Hi Larcenciel, we appreciate your honest review of the headphones. Your feedback about the Surround (VPT) function and bass quality is greatly appreciated. Rest assured that this will help us improve the quality and performance of our products. Thanks for sharing your review. ~Ralph

0

not enough info

WH-1000XM4 22/08/2020 by Andrea_MN (USA)

These are the first noise cancelling headphones I''ve bought and I'm using them for college. I did some google reviews and for the most part everyone said amazing things about them. I will say that they amazing for sound quality (see what happens when I use them at a busy Starbucks). My issue is that I cannot connect them through bluetooth on my Mac even though it says they are compatible. When I initially turned them on with my iPad and iPhone also own, very briefly did the headphones show up under system prefrences, then disappeared and now no matter what I do I can't get them to show up under my bluetooth. Also, I read that these headphones are great because you can be connected to two devices at the same time and switch effortlessly between them. That is not the case. I can't get the headphones to work at all if 2 devices are on. My iPhone has to be turned of or the iPad if I want them to work. So I can't be connected to my iPad and doing work with my iPhone on in my purse. Spending almost $400 shouldn't give problems like this, especially if these are not the first headphones you guys have made, those simple bugs should be worked out. The app isn't that great at all. Worked ok on my iPad then same problem, had to shut it off in order for my iPhone to be able to find the headphones and pair correctly. The only way I'm able to wear these headphones on my Mac is by plugging them in to the Mac- if they didn't come with this cable I'd be returning them right now and being AirPods Pro, In fact I'm still thinking about it if this issue doesn't resolve since it would save me $100 and I know they would work with all my apple devices. But the sound quality is amazing. The instruction booklet needs more information and not just relying on an app that may or may not work

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

9

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/08/2020

Hi Andrea_MN, good to know that you like the sound quality of the headphones. It's unfortunate that you're not able to connect these headphones to your computer and having issues with the mutlipoint function. Make sure to follow the steps on this link to enable the multipoint function:
https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wh1000xm4/v1/en/contents/TP0002935899.html

To help resolve the issue you're having when connecting it to a computer, please refer to this link:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-bluetooth-headphones/wh-1000xm4/articles/00008539

If you need further assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Additional Information regarding your experience with the WH1000XM4.

We are sorry for the inconvenience and hope to speak to you to resolve this matter.

Sincerely,

Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

ANC does not work as advertised.

WH-1000XM4 22/08/2020 by DisappointedCustomer99 (USA)

- I returned my Bose NC700 headphones and purchased these in the hope that they are better at ANC. - I use ANC headphones for studying, with ANC turned on (to the max), without music playing in the background. - At coffee shops, these headphones let in: 1) music, 2) its lyrics, 3) people's and cashiers' voices about 35 feet away from me (both muffled), and 4) coffee machines in the background (loudly). - Latest firmware/software. - Informed customer service, they recommended exchanging the device, I exchanged the device but I am still experiencing the same issue. - This leads me to believe that this is a software/firmware issue. - I hope that Sony addresses this issue in the near future.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

7

25

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/08/2020

Hi DisappointedCustomer99, oh no! We regret to hear that the ANC did not meet your expectations. This is definitely not the experience we'd like you to have. Please allow us to help you.

If the effect of noise canceling is not sufficient. Please check the following:


Make sure that the noise canceling function is turned on.
Adjust the headset into a comfortable position.
The noise canceling function is effective in low frequency ranges such as airplanes, trains, offices, near air-conditioning, and is not as effective for higher frequencies, such as human voices.
Check that the Adaptive Sound Control is turned off. Check the setting of the Adaptive Sound Control on the “Sony | Headphones Connect” app. When the Adaptive Sound Control is turned on, the noise canceling function may become insufficient.


For reference, please check the Help Guide:
https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wh1000xm4/v1/en/contents/TP0002752735.html


I hope this helps but if you still need assistance, do not hesitate to drop us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

XM4 FTW! The New Kings

WH-1000XM4 22/08/2020 by LexineGroup (USA)

Wow Just Wow, Sony Finally Did It. You know its a good headset when you just have to buy two pairs, the only other headphone I got twice was the HD650. Not even the QC35, nor the 700's made it to the double list, the XM3 got purchased and those I returned the same day due to dummy sound and that dummy cloth touching your ear inside the ear cups. This here, truly is one of the best things of 2020. Good Job Sony! Good Job!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/08/2020

Hi LexineGroup, Awsome! Good to know that you like the WH1000XM4. Intelligent and intuitive, the WH-1000XM4 headphones offer further improvements to our industry-leading noise cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and smart listening that adjusts to your behavior and your location. Using the Sony Headphones Connect app, Ambient Sound Control lets you adjust the volume of background sound and gives you the option to allow voices alone to be heard. Meanwhile, the Equalizer lets you customize sound levels to suit your music. Thanks for choosing Sony. Erin

0

Quite satisfied

WH-1000XM4 22/08/2020 by TimNW (USA)

Jumped up from a pair of Bose QC15's owned for many a year. Tried out the two newest Bose models as well as the XM3. Decided to wait on the XM4 release. My expectations for sound quality in any pair of cans with noise cancellation not too high, but using the EQ in the app I have it where it is acceptable, and actually quite good. Comfort is acceptable which is all one can expect (ears still get warm with extended use). Features are really nice. Overall I'm glad I waited (months) and purchased the XM4.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Really Disappointed

WH-1000XM4 22/08/2020 by somedude (USA)

I was very much looking forward to using the new headphones and taking advantage of some of the new features added with the XM4 such as multi device pairing and improved comfort. I have to say my initial excitement was only matched by my disappointment when I learned multiple device pairing requires LDAC to be disabled. I spend hours with headphones on every day due to lengthy web conferences and listening to music. My first conference call was met with complaints about my robotic voice or garbled speech. It was obvious to everyone I had an issue with my bluetooth headset. I tried changing almost every combination of setting to alleviate the issue. I ultimately ended up reverting back to my tried and true WH-1000XM3 and the WH-1000XM4 is on its way back to the store. It's too bad because I was expecting to recommend these to my employees and approve a few expense reports for them.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

8

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/08/2020

Hi somedude, we're sorry to hear that you had returned your new SONY unit. This is definitely the experience we don't want you to have. You may need to confirm if the connected devices also support LDAC. When music in supported codecs is transmitted from a connected device, the headset switches to that codec automatically and plays back the music in the same codec. Install the latest headset software using the “Sony | Headphones Connect” app to enjoy new functions or to resolve a certain number of issues with the headset. Always use the headset with the latest software installed. The call issues could also be isolated by initializing the unit:

https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wh1000xm4/v1/en/contents/TP0002752746.html

We have our customer support that always happy to assist you. you may email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number:

We hope you reconsider SONY again. Thank you. ~Earl

0

Ear Cavity too small

WH-1000XM4 21/08/2020 by annoyed12345 (USA)

If you have big ears beware buying these. They have the same exact problem as the 1000mx3 where my ears hit the inner wall of the headphones and I'm extremely uncomfortable after barely 20 minutes of use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

2

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/08/2020

Hi annoyed12345, we regret to hear that the earpad did not meet your expectations. This is definitely not the news we'd like to hear from you. We’ve taken note of your feedback on the earpads. We take this matter very seriously into consideration of our products. Sincerely, Erin

0

Fantastic buy

WH-1000XM4 21/08/2020 by Rockboatground (USA)

Purchased these recently and am thoroughly impressed, would recommend to anyone looking for a pair of ANC headphones who doesn't mind spending the high asking price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/08/2020

Hi Rockboatground,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback in our newest Industry Leading Noise Canceling Overhead Headphones WH1000XM4! The WH1000XM4 utilizes DSEE Extreme (Digital Sound Enhancement Engine) which upscales compressed digital music files in real-time. Dynamically recognizing the instrumentation, musical genres, and individual elements of each song, such as vocals or interludes, it restores the high-range sound lost in compression for a richer, more complete listening experience.

Thank you for choosing Sony!
David

0

Not loud enough

WH-1000XM4 21/08/2020 by Z5380 (USA)

I got these today and wanted to love them. They aren't as loud as my old Beats. Sound quality and noise canceling is great, but I just wish they could go louder. I have downloaded the headphones app and tried every setting, but I still find it annoying they don't go quite loud enough.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

13

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/08/2020

Hi Z5380,

We are sorry to hear about the issue with your unit. This is not the experience we want you to have. For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Hope to hear from you,
David

0

Sound is unbelievable

WH-1000XM4 20/08/2020 by mallorysd (USA)

I just got these from Amazon today and the sound quality for music is amazing. I'm hearing a bit of an echo on a few iPhone to headphone calls but haven't played with the app yet. I also am updating the software and they connected perfectly to my Lenovo A940 computer. I'll also be connecting them to the iPad Pro and the new iMac when it arrives. They are quite comfortable but I haven't worn them for an extensive period of time. The noise cancellation is spot on.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/08/2020

HI mallorysd,

We are so glad you are pleased with the performance of your headphones. To get the most out of your WH-1000XM4, download the Sony Headphones Connect App. It includes Adaptive Sound Control which automatically adjusts noise canceling based on your activity and an equalizer—which can be customized to fine-tune your music. Visit the link below for more details.

https://www.sony.com.ph/electronics/headphones-connect-app


Regards,
David

0

Superior Headphones - None Better!

WH1000XM4/B 19/08/2020 by IronAztec (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beautiful headphones that deliver as promised. There is no better way to describe them. Quality construction, ease of customization and noise cancelling technology are superior to anything else on the market.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/08/2020

Hi IronAztec, Great! We're glad that these headphones have lived up to your expectations. Intelligent and intuitive, the WH-1000XM4 headphones offer further improvements to our industry-leading noise cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and smart listening that adjusts to your behavior and your location. Using the Sony Headphones Connect app, Ambient Sound Control lets you adjust the volume of background sound and gives you the option to allow voices alone to be heard. Meanwhile, the Equalizer lets you customize sound levels to suit your music. Thanks for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Best ANC and comfort, not so great phone calls

WH-1000XM4 19/08/2020 by Mic666 (USA)

Pros: Best ANC, usage comfort, features, battery - comparing to some mid level competitors like Sennheiser 4.5BT - there is no comparison at all honestly in Sonys favor. Cons: There is only one really. Phone calls in quiet environment are good but when there is quite noisy Sony doesn't cope well. Mics harvest too much ambient noise and people on the other side complaints very often. If Sony can fix this with firmware and isolate Your voice like Bose 700 can, it will be great! Unknown: will it be compatible with PS5...

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/08/2020

Hi Mic666, we're glad you like our new industry-leading noise canceling headphones. Intelligent and intuitive, the WH-1000XM4 headphones offer further improvements to our industry-leading noise cancelation. To get the most out of your WH-1000XM4, download the Sony | Headphones Connect App. It includes Adaptive Sound Control-which automatically adjusts noise canceling based on your activity and an equalizer-which can be customized to fine-tune your music. Using our advanced noise canceling technology, we designed these headphones so you can block out noise and experience next-level silence. Plus, you have the ability to use the convenient smart features including Quick Attention, Google Assistant/Alexa/Siri compatibility, and touch controls. You can also switch the multipoint connection (Connect the headset to 2 devices simultaneously) on/off setting.

We're sorry to hear that you have an issue with your SONY unit. Use the Bluetooth device to re-establish the connection. Select HFP or HSP for the profile. Reset the unit by pressing both the (power) button and the CUSTOM button simultaneously while charging. The headset will be reset. The device registration (pairing) information is not deleted.

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number: ~Earl

0

Frustrating

WH-1000XM4 18/08/2020 by Macrep (United Kingdom)

When they connect ok. Trying to connect to a win 10 computer either laptop or desktop absolutely hopeless. Work with a tablet or phone. Don`t know if its the product or windows 10

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

15

34

0

best headphones

WH-1000XM4 18/08/2020 by itsmephenom (USA)

Best Headphones I've owned totally recommend them worth every dollar

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/08/2020

Thank you Itsmephenom, for purchasing our Sony WH-1000XM4 Industry leading noise canceling headphones. To get the most out of your WH-1000XM4, download the Sony | Headphones Connect App. It includes Adaptive Sound Control—which automatically adjusts noise canceling based on your activity, The ability to connect multiple devices at once, and an equalizer—which can be customized to fine-tune your music. Using our advanced noise canceling technology, we designed these headphones so you can block out noise and experience next-level silence. Plus, you have the ability to use the convenient smart features including Quick Attention, Speak to talk, Google Assistant/Alexa/Siri compatibility, and touch controls. Were happy you’re a member of the Sony family. Enjoy your new WH-1000XM4 headphones.

Sincerely,
David

0

Almost unusable with Bluetooth

WH-1000XM4 17/08/2020 by Stuartalive (United Kingdom)

Lovely sound and great noise reduction, but as wireless headphones they have me tearing my hair out. Constant issues with connecting to devices, using these headphones causes me so much frustration. I gave their helpline a call and the person I spoke to wasn't even aware they existed. After she tried a few things from the manual they are worse. Will probably take these back for a refund which is a real shame because the sound quality and noise reduction are excellent, but not much good if there is nothing to actually hear.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

11

33

0

Awesome !!

WH-1000XM4 16/08/2020 by Amy89 (United Kingdom)

Excellent quality just 3 things I don't like -always the audio jack cable looks weak -are really big -says 10 metres (I dont think so) It would be amazing if sony improve those 3 things. But still are so good option. Of course price a little bit expensive but if you are thinking about it. The airpods pro are £249 and the battery run out really fast in the sony are 30-38 hours ITS INSANE JUST I LOVE IT

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

3

0

Amazing noise cancelling and sound quality

WH-1000XM4 14/08/2020 by Rose1432 (United Kingdom)

I only received these today and I am pleasantly surprised at how good these are. The noise cancelling on these headphones is amazing and the sound quality is top notch, as an avid music listener this is very important (you’re able to optimise your settings in the equaliser). They’re also very comfortable and sleek in design. Would totally recommend, definitely worth the money.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

27

2

0

Utterly Awesome

WH-1000XM4 13/08/2020 by Johnny P (United Kingdom)

I haven't headphones since the days of the 80`s Walkman! So imagine the complete and utterly awesomeness of these noise cancelling stereophonic headphones! Used almost everyday,travelling listening to music or podcasts and completed indulging in a world glorious music without any interruptions from the outside world! Features wise...!? Amazing 5* control at your fingertips...literary!! The ability to block out or let in the outside world as much or as little as you like! Hold conversation without taking off headphones,answer calls or text messages leaving your hands free to keep doing whatever your doing...just outstanding. Sound wise? Glorious,sumptuous, what your ears have been waiting for!! If you can get a pair...it would be worth every single hard earn`t penny for them.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

26

1

0

Great headphone!

WH-1000XM4 11/08/2020 by samee007 (USA)

Features seem to be promising with the added sensor and codec support.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

11

11

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/08/2020

Hi samee007, we're glad that you're enjoying the upgraded features of these headphones. Intelligent and intuitive, the WH-1000XM4 headphones offer further improvements to our industry-leading noise cancelation, exceptional sound quality, and smart listening that adjusts to your behavior and your location. Using the Sony Headphones Connect app, Ambient Sound Control lets you adjust the volume of background sound and gives you the option to allow voices alone to be heard. Meanwhile, the Equalizer lets you customize sound levels to suit your music. If you have interest in connecting your headphones to multiple devices at once this can also be accomplished through the app. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Ralph