13

2.0 based on 13 customer reviews

1
1
1
4
6
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

RF400

WH-RF400 15/12/2018 by Steve39 (USA)

Very easy setup; great sound; no static or unwanted signal noise; reasonably comfortable headset.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Doesn't work with A9F TV w/o plug & unplug

WH-RF400 18/05/2019 by Lisa358 (USA)

Bought headphones for Sony A9F TV. Was told by salesperson at store where I bought the TV that they would work easily. Plugged them in; paired; and connected. Turned them on and had great sound. Turned them off and TV speakers didn't work. Apparently I have to unplug headphones to get TV speakers to work and re-plug when I want the use headphones. I contacted Sony help and no response. Tried online help. No help there. Very expensive earmuffs.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

13 Customer Reviews

0

Average item

WH-RF400 14/01/2020 by Urch (USA)

I bought this a month, I haven't been able to connect it with my TV and now i wished I can connect it to my Android phone but no.

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/01/2020

Hi, Urch!

Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in the US and Canada. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,

Erin

0

Bought these for my father to watch TV with us.

WH-RF400 04/01/2020 by Helene K (USA)

I bought the headphones so my father can watch TV with us. I wanted him to put the headphones on and raised the volume on the headphones and keep the TV at regular volume for the rest of the family. When I plug the cord into the TV, the headphones worked for my dad but there was no volume for us. Could you help?

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/01/2020

Hi, Helene!

If you're also using a Sony TV, please refer to the link below for the guidelines and step by step procedure on how to get sound on your headphones and TV speakers at the same time.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00049501

Regards,
Sam

0

MATERIAL FALLING APART

WH-RF400 17/12/2019  (USA)

PIECES OF BLACK MATERIAL FALLING OFF ON MY FACE.I HAVE TO CHECK MY FACE BEFORE I GO ANYWHERE. PADS HAD TO BE REPLACED TWICE ON BOTH OF MY SETS. VOLUME ADJUSTMENTS NOT HIGH ENOUGH FOR SENIORS. STATIC NOISE WHEN YOU TURN THEM ON.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
23/12/2019

Hello, there!


We value your opinion and we would like to apologize if our product did not meet your expectations.


~Zac

0

Worth Every Penny!!

WH-RF400 16/12/2019 by Art39 (USA)

I don't know why the negative reviews! I bought these headphones about 2 weeks ago and have been perfectly happy with them. The range is great (I can walk through the house while listening with them and the reception doesn't drop off). Also the audio quality is excellent! I would give them five stars if the controls weren't so small and hard to use. Overall, though, this is a great product for the price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disappointed

WH-RF400 17/11/2019 by SilentCinemaSadBoy (USA)

I read a lot of good reviews for these on Amazon and picked up a pair locally from Best Buy. After setting up I was getting a distorted signal with a high pitch whine and occasional slight drop out, but it was clean when audio wasn't transmitted. I could sometimes turn my head and get static.Tried charging them longer, same thing. Tried changing adapters for the phone jack on my receiver. Same problem. Exchanged them for another set, same problem. Connected them to another device. Same thing. Returned.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/11/2019

Hi, SilentCinemaSadBoy!

We are sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. Please try following the steps on the link below to isolate the issue.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-rf-headphones/wh-rf400/articles/00026035

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:


Regards,

Erin

0

RF400 don't work consistently after 9 months

WH-RF400 26/08/2019 by Phil from Michigan (USA)

Wonderful sound for 8 months, after which they go dead suddenly and cannot be revived. When this happens they are fully charged, so that is not the reason. I also tried pushing the frequency button - that didn't help at all. Finally I gave up and just turned the TV volume up to the annoyance of my wife. The previous Sony model, which I threw in the garbage, exhibited the same deficiency. I thought it was my fault. That's why I purchased these. Now that I read the almost unanimous terrible feedback from other customers I realize I made a mistake buying these.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/08/2019

Hi Phil,

We are sorry to hear about what happened. For further assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:


Regards,

Erin

0

Worked great for a couple months

WH-RF400 31/05/2019 by scwalker909 (USA)

After figuring out that I had to plug the audio in to the back of the cable box (tv had no usable output), I learned that use on streaming sites was not easily possible. That was okay. Then, after a couple of months, the phones quit consistently working. No green light, no sound. Other days they mysteriously worked fine. Now it's steadily been nonfunctional for the past two weeks. Like the concept, but embarrassed by my loyalty to Sony and this product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/06/2019

Hi scwalker909, We value your opinion and we would like to apologize if our product did not meet your expectations. For further assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Erin

0

Poor quality plastic parts crack

WH-RF400 24/05/2019 by Richard1944 (USA)

I received a pair of these wireless head phones in June of 2018 for my birthday from my Daughter. They started to peel off the black head set and after 10 months the plastic that hold the ear pieces on started to crack and had to be glued because Best Buy refused to make an even exchange. Save you money not worth the money..

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/05/2019

Hi Richard1944, We value your opinion and we would like to apologize if our product did not meet your expectations. Please be assured we take this very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products. With that said, we'll make sure this feedback reaches the right channel for future improvements.


Regards,
Erin

0

Doesn't work with A9F TV w/o plug & unplug

WH-RF400 18/05/2019 by Lisa358 (USA)

Bought headphones for Sony A9F TV. Was told by salesperson at store where I bought the TV that they would work easily. Plugged them in; paired; and connected. Turned them on and had great sound. Turned them off and TV speakers didn't work. Apparently I have to unplug headphones to get TV speakers to work and re-plug when I want the use headphones. I contacted Sony help and no response. Tried online help. No help there. Very expensive earmuffs.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/05/2019

Hello Lisa358,

I understand that your WHRF400 is having audio issues. Please try following the steps on the link below: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/wireless-headphones-rf-headphones/wh-rf400/articles/00024939

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Excellent sound but pads don't last

WH-RF400 19/04/2019 by Flaps 70 (USA)

Headphones continue to give great sound, but the faux leather cushions don't last; after a couple of years the cushions deteriorate and deposit bits of black residue on whatever you are wearing. Not worth the money for just a couple of years of use.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

Response From Sony Social Support
22/04/2019

Hi Flaps 70, Thank you for your feedback on your experience with your headphones. We are sorry for any inconvenience this caused you. Please be assured we take this very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products. we'll forward this to the proper department. Regards, -Erin

0

Hoping...

WH-RF400 07/03/2019  (USA)

İ hope Sony Upgrade his 9.1 dolby digital HW700-DS Headphone after 5 years!

Sound Quality

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

Response From Sony Social Support
28/03/2019

Hi FerdosParadiseh,

Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,
Sam

0

Don't buy them

WH-RF400 14/02/2019 by Mal S (USA)

These are great when they work, I bought a set in Best Buy about 2 years ago, and they worked fine until about 8 months ago when they just stopped working. Having bought the extended warranty with them I brought them back and get them exchanged, the replacement failed within two months, they exchanged them again, the second replacement failed in November, they exchanged them again, the replacement failed last week, they just stop working, no sound! It is a pain because the set is mounted on the wall, getting to wires and connecting and reconnecting is difficult. Also, they don't work with Netflix or Amazon. I have had it they are junk! I am going to get a refund and look for other headsets. Malcolm

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

Response From Sony Social Support
18/02/2019

HI Mal S,

We regret to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations. We're always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Have a wonderful day!

0

RF400

WH-RF400 15/12/2018 by Steve39 (USA)

Very easy setup; great sound; no static or unwanted signal noise; reasonably comfortable headset.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0