45

4.9 based on 45 customer reviews

40
5
0
0
0
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

45 Customer Reviews

0

Powerful little ones

SSCS5 07/08/2020 by Ed1226 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased a pair of this Sony Model bookshelf speaker and the sound was awesome! 3-way speakers really make a difference with great bass and treble.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/08/2020

Hi Ed1226, we’re happy to hear how much you’re enjoying your new SS-CS5 Bookshelf Speakers. At first, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase and for choosing SONY! ~Earl

0

Really was skeptical about buying a small speaker

SSCS5 21/07/2020 by Jane10 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

But they surprised me in the sound Quality , I think they'll work out just fine . If your needing a punch in a speaker I think your be happy with these . The Bass surprised me in the size they are , was going to give close too three hundred for a pair of speakers and read the reviews on these and I thought I'd take a chance . I miss my big floor speakers , but didn't want those big things taking up space. These are sounding just great .....

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/07/2020

Hello jane10,

We’re happy to hear how much you’re enjoying your new SS-CS5 Bookshelf Speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase and have a nice day!

Regards,
David

0

Good speakers, Great highs

SS-CS5 21/07/2020 by Petalmasher (USA)

For the two years I”ve had these speakers in my house I have had the chance to compare them directly with 4 other sets of speakers (Jamo C93 II, Elac Debut F5, Onkyo D-SX9A, Infinity Reference 2000.2) in both my living room and kitchen and using 4 very different amps. (Onkyo A-905tx, Elac EA101EQ-G, Cambridge CXA60, Fosi Audio BT20A) In other reviews I’ve watched and read it has been said that these speakers lack bass or the amount of bass is highly dependent on the amplifier. In my experience the bass in these speakers has behaved as well as one expects based on specs in comparison to other speakers. Compared to the 4-inch Onkyos, the Sonys put out a lot more bass. Compared to the Elac F5 or the Infinity 2002.2, the bass doesn’t go and less low, but it’s less impactful… it doesn’t thump you in the chest as hard, which is unsurprising for a 5-inch bookshelf speaker compared to a Floor stander with 3, 5-inch drivers or a bookshelf speaker with a 6.5 inch driver. The Sonys bass is every bit as tight and clean as its rivals. The Jamo does go a little lower but doesn’t hit any harder. Since I wasn’t there for the original recording, and I haven’t taken measurements I wouldn’t claim these are true to the source, or that the frequency response is flat, but the mid-range falls directly in between the Jamos, which have a comparatively recessed mid-range and the Elacs which are thick in the middle. The highs are undoubtedly the strong point of these speakers and the reason why I love them. The Jamos are the only ones that compare. They both provide plenty of detail and excellent imaging, but If I had to use one speaker to pick out fine details in track, I’d use the Sonys and if I had to place where the details were on the stage, I’d use the Jamos. These speakers are either more sensitive than Sony claims, or they are the only ones giving honest measurements for sensitivity. Compared to the Jamos, the Sonys are a bit louder with the volume at the same point despite the fact that they are both 6 ohm speakers and Jamo claims 88 db sensitivity and Sony claims 87. They are also a bit louder compared to the 8-ohm, 99 db infinities.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/07/2020

Hello Petalmasher,

We’re happy to hear how much you’re enjoying your new SS-CS5 Bookshelf Speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase!

Regards,
David

0

Great Speakers

SS-CS5 15/07/2020 by Kydraiden (USA)

I bought this a month ago and I'm Glad I did. Speakers sound amazing and they fit perfect in my office.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/07/2020

Hi Kydraiden, Great! We’re happy to hear how much you’re enjoying the sound quality of your new SS-CS5 Bookshelf Speakers and good to know it fits perfectly in your office as well. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase! -Sam

0

Fantastic Depth, Range, and Clarity! Excellent!!!

SS-CS5 07/06/2020 by BigCory (USA)

I purchased the Sony speakers from a link in the Sony site. They arrived quickly. My first impression was amazement at the build quality and clean design. Great feature is the dimension of the cabinet - not excessively deep as many manufacturers are doing. The perfect size. Onto the sound. I have these driven by a Sony STR-DH190 stereo receiver- a perfect match. The initial sound was a bit shallow, and I wasn’t impressed. But, as many audiophiles recommended, I gave them a two week break in (burn in) period. WOW! Once broken in the transformed into dynamic and spacious powerhouses with incredible detail and response. The upper range is crystal clear and nuanced, without being shrill like so many other brands have seemed to me. I hear details in music that I haven’t heard with other speaker. The bass and lower frequencies are precise, punchy, and accurate without any distortion. I can put a lot of power into these and the respond without breaking up or distorting- the simply are AMAZING!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/06/2020

Hi BigCory, Wow! We're very happy to hear you're enjoying your new ss-cs5 Bookshelf Speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase! -Sam

0

great sound

SSCS5 30/05/2020 by Dang2 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these speakers 10 days ago and very pleased with the sound. We needed some smaller speakers due to downsizing our home and these fit the need perfectly. They were on sale and priced right. We can't believe how good the sound is for the size and price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/06/2020

Hi, Dang2,
We are glad you are happy with your speaker! Thank you for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

perfect size

SSCS5 17/05/2020 by smuck (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

great sound. we love these speakers. these were a gift so i have no other purchase information.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/05/2020

Hi smuck, Awesome! We’re happy to hear how much you’re enjoying your new SS-CS5 Bookshelf Speakers. At first listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase! -Sam

0

Quality sound , very well built speakers

SSCS5 11/05/2020 by Mr Cast (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great speakers with quality sound. You would think music is coming from a bigger size speaker. Was very satisfied with the outcome of quality music and size of speakers. Look very well built. Very good appearance.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/05/2020

Hi Mr Cast, Awesome! We're happy to hear you're enjoying your SS-CS5 bookshelf speaker. At first, listen, these new Core Series speakers will make your favorite audio tracks unfold throughout your listening environment, thanks to precise instrument reproduction, positioning, and even depth relative to an expansive soundstage. Thanks so much for your purchase! -Sam

0

Great sound

SSCS5 16/04/2020 by JSL1975 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Saw good reviews for these online, and the price was very reasonable, so I upgraded my old speakers, and these are as amazing as the reviews said.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/04/2020

Hi JSL1975, we're glad you like the sound quality of our product. These speakers are built on sound foundations. A strong, ported enclosure allows for rich, resonant acoustics. The bass reflex duct, positioned at the rear of the speaker, suppresses unwanted noise and improves low-frequency sound reproduction. Thank you for choosing SONY. ~Earl

0

Fantastic soundstage with great detail!

SSCS5 01/03/2020 by Joz7108 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great speaker for the price! Great inner detail with fantastic soundstage!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/03/2020

Hi, Joz71086017772990!

Great! Good to know that this is what you are looking for in a product. Thanks for choosing Sony.

0

Speakers seem to work well with my equipment.

SSCS5 27/01/2020 by JLHarper (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

One of the speakers came with a tear in the fabric on the front of the speaker. Could you send me a new front panel for the one that is torn? Thank you.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31/01/2020

Hi, JLHarper!

This is definitely not the news that we would like to hear. Please reach out to your dealer for further assistance.

~Ralph

0

Great Quality and Sound

SS-CS5 09/01/2020 by Mad Cow (USA)

I decided to go across the board and get a new stereo system. Got a Sony STR-DH190 receiver, 2 Sony SSCS5 speakers, 2 SSCS3 floor standing speakers, and a Audio Technica AT-LP120XUSB turn table. Wow, great quality sound and definition from FM, Phono, and audio input from TV. A lot of quality that will not break the bank. Instrument solos come thru bright and crisp. Bass well defined without being overpowering. Really brings out the quality that underlies old 70's LP's. Just a great setup. I link in my Apple Laptop and iPhone via Bluetooth to the Sony receiver. Though I have a preference for analog LP's, the digital via bluetooth is fantastic also. Highly recommend. A solid investment.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good sound with my equipment.

SSCS5 05/01/2020 by jasl63 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

One speaker came with a tear in the fabric on the front of the speaker. Can you send a replacement front panel? Thank you.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Book shelf speakers

SSCS5 23/12/2019 by Ltcausret (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was very satisfied with the speakers. I will recommend it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

nice speakers

SSCS5 16/12/2019 by Tony Yoga (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very satisfied with these speakers, they fill the space nicely, I have 1,800 sq, ft, and was curious if these speaker would be enough, they do really well for my needs.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Almost there

SS-CS5 09/10/2019 by LennyM (USA)

A little over months ago I was looking for a second pair of speakers to go withy Polk Audio speakers. I was, and still am using the Sony Strdh190 100W Receiver and an Audio Technica 120xusb turntable. At that same time, I was due a birthday present. So, I received these Sony speakers. Prior to the purchase, I did a good bit of research looking for good performance at a nice price. I read more than a few reviews both professional and from the customer. Weighting all this information, I decided to go with these Sony speakers. To be sure, I had a few concerns. Three way speakers at this price point seemed like a bit of overreaching. And, as always with bookshelf type speakers I was worried a bout the smallish bass speaker. However, after my first listening, all my concerns were put to rest. These speakers provided good quality sound much in excess of what I expected. To be a little specific; the hifh end was superb. The presented music was clear, without a hint of cymbal breakup. The mus range was very strong as voices jumped out of these speakers. The low, bass end was very smooth without the often harsh, booming bass that smothers the rest of the music. I went in to play various genre in my vinyl collection: rock, classical, and pop. I played the records at different volumes. Finally, I pushed them pretty hard, listing for any problems. In all the sound was well presented without any noticeable distortion. The stereo imaging was good. Their construction is nice, if somewhat plane in appearance. The speakers were enclosed in with smooth, black, wood panels except for the face which was composed of what looks like a high impact plastic holding the three speakers. The grills are composed of black foam held in place by push in pegs. The port is located on the back panel just above the nice twist on wire posts. The speakers have the look and feel if high quality. These are very well made speakers. If I have any issues it’s with the low end. At times the bass seemed to need more push. This was not often and indeed for the most part went unnoticed. I think this issue might be exasperated by the rear facing port. However, this is not a deal breaker. All things considered, I believe these to be an excellent example of very good hifi at a bargain price. They sound so good I often listen to them without any other speakers. They could easily be your main speakers. A great buy.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Response From Sony Social Support
11/10/2019

Hello, LennyM!

Wow, what an awesome review! We are happy to know that the unit meets your expectation. Thank you for choosing Sony!

~Zac

0

Excellent home theater speakers

SSCS5 27/06/2019 by stretch13579 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

These speakers plus the matching center channel speaker are the beginning of my HT 5.1 system . In addition I utilized an older Sony 10 subwoofer which provides great output. These speakers are highly recommended for a decent system.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Sony SS-CS5 speakers

SSCS5 23/06/2019 by busterboy1956 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love them, I want another pair ! Great clear sound I don't know if you can get better.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

They are good.

SSCS5 07/05/2019 by Krenshaw45 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

They're great for movies because they are clear, as far as dialogue goes. For music, you will need a bass speaker. The speakers aren't bass-less but, they don't have the lows that really brings music alive, or makes you feel the music. But for my use I needed clarity, and for that I am satisfied.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great sound at an affordable price!

SSCS5 24/04/2019 by Hunt247 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I actually bought 4 of these to complete my 5.1 surround sound system and I couldn't be happier.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Speakers--for the price!

SSCS5 24/04/2019 by Hankxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I ordered these through Amazon(seems to be a way of life now), totally unsure of what quality I might be getting, but relied on past experience with Sony--all good so far in life. For the price these are outstanding. I wanted some way to have music while working out on my Total Gym in the basement and these FILL THE BILL!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

AWESOME

SSCS5 06/04/2019 by EDHER (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I NEVER EXPECT THE SOUND AND QUALITY OF SUCH SMALL SPEAKERS, CAN'T WAIT TO GET THE CENTER CHANNEL TO HAVE THE COMPLETE SERIES

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not even broken in already extraordinary!

SS-CS5 20/03/2019 by Alfonse (USA)

Could not believe reviews! I am truly amazed at the sound (comparing to very expensive Klipsch Forte and JBL L36). Will run these 24/7 for break in, the sound can only improve. Super absurd buy! Everyone can have great sound for an unbelievable price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

WOW

SS-CS5 23/12/2018 by Wolfsburg (USA)

Picked these up on sale right before Christmas to replace a rather flat sounding pair of speaker... I kept reading glowing reviews and thought there was no way they were that good, but for the price, I decided to find out. I could not be any happier that I chose to give the Sony's a chance! Currently they are hooked up to a Sony STR-1800 from the 70s (rated around 15wpc), and the sound they deliver is phenomenal! Tone dials are pretty much flat, and the bass is warm and accurate, with the highs being very pleasant and not at all harsh. Phenomenal product for the price! I did audition them on two other receivers I own, and they shined no matter what the source was when compared to my old speakers. In the end, I preferred the look to the old Sony so it will used until I find something I like better. If you are on the fence about these, get them!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Really Satisfied

SSCS5 25/10/2018 by beesqueek (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's going on a month now that I've had these speakers and they're sounding better by the day! The quality honestly sounds breath taking, at least for the price.. i found them on sale too.. they fill my bedroom with sound easily , im using a denon s530bt receiver with them.. i plan on getting the sony 10'' sub in the future and hopefully the floor standing pair speakers but for now these will do !

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Gorgeous! SSCS5's with SACS9 and STR-ZA3000ES.

SSCS5 08/07/2018 by Jonathan56 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recently bought two of these SSCS5 speakers to match on separately purchased stands with an SACS9 subwoofer I have enjoyed for three years and an STR-ZA3000ES (July, 2018). The STR-ZA3000ES has been replaced in the Sony ES lineup by the newer 3100ES, which includes Dolby Atmos, DTS-X, Ihiji, Phantom Surround Back, and other upgrade features. Cutting to the chase, the SSCS5 speakers are simply superb to my ears, and seem to work perfectly in the match with the Sony ES audio video receiver and my great old workhorse, my Sony Core Series subwoofer. I did endless research and auditions of many products and brands. I have read most of the reviews about the Core Series speakers and countless other speakers, many of them superb and possibly on my future shopping lists. The accolades for the SSCS5 are not hype, at all, in my humble opinion. Anyone interested in getting amazing stop-you-in-your-tracks sound out of reasonably affordable audio gear would be very wise to put these extremely capable and affordable bookshelf speakers on his or her short list to consider. One caveat I offer is that although the SSCS5 has fine, present, defined, clear, and punchy bass, adding a fine subwoofer such as the SACS9 can definitely help you feel better and get your bass on if you happen to be one of those "needs more cowbell" types. For reference, I just played Jethro Tull's remastered Thick As A Brick and also some of the best and most bass-demanding Led Zeppelin remastered tracks on CD's - up very loud (>100 db but not quite to pain threshold) with and without the Sony sub engaged. It all sounded satisfying with and without the subwoofer on, and I would have been perfectly happy to have kept listening without the sub; but I guess with a very nice (or naughty) subwoofer like that SACS9 just lying around with nothing else to do, I just wanted "a little more cowbell." I hope this helps. Cheers!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

great looks and wounderful sound

SS-CS5 15/06/2018 by alfreme (USA)

I bought this set of speakers few months back and, i m very happy with the clarity of sound they produce.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Excellent Speakers

SS-CS5 30/03/2018 by kamion4o (USA)

They are excellent as front high speakers. I use them from a day but I'm very satisfied.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

0

Great sound

SSCS5 27/03/2018 by kenneyboo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is really a great speaker for the price. I use them for my tv.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great audio speaker fos action and scifi films

SS-CS5 12/03/2018 by 91 firebird (USA)

Well have over 30 pair of speakers,these Sony speakers with the super tweeter And the woofer design and a standard tweeter bring out sounds I never heard Before.for the money they can't be beat plus they look great with the grill off!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

WOW

SS-CS5 11/03/2018 by FENDER83 (USA)

I AM A AUDIO VIDEO NUT OWN OVER 30 PAIRS OF SPEAKERS.HAVE THESE RUNNING AS THE FRONT SPEAKERS IN MY MOVIE ROOM.ALL I CAN SAY IS WOW !!!!!!!!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Amazing audio

SS-CS5 10/03/2018 by raynbot (USA)

These went well beyond my old school expectations! So much music from such an efficient design. Resting on top of a oak media cabinet, these are about chest level and meant to transmit harmonics that can be felt. Skip the visuals and feel the acoustic magic. Way to go Sony!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great sound, powerful!&

SSCS5 20/01/2018 by Redevul (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I very impressed with the quality of the sound produced from theses speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sony-SS-CS5 bookself Speakers

SSCS5 09/12/2017 by Marie ll (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought these speakers for my Husband on line last week for Christmas, he couldn't wait so i connected them today sound great. thank you

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Outstanding Sony quality in a little package

SSCS5 24/11/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

These are absolutely the best bookshelf speakers I could have found for the price. If you're like me and you like your audio to sound good but are on a budget and don't have much space, run, don't walk to pick up these wonderful speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Great Sound!

SSCS5 25/01/2017 by John in SC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought them a month ago and I'm very happy with them!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Grreat speakers

SSCS5 09/06/2015 by jab134500 (USA)

As a past owner of AR3 and Heil speakers I am sp pleased with the mid to high freq. response of these speakers. Clarity and range are top notch.

17

1

0

SSCS5 31/05/2015 by Davey7 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

3

0

Response From Sony Support
31/05/2015

Hi Davey7 , We appreciate you posting your review here. Thank you for choosing Sony.

0

One Bedroom Apt. Sound Reinforcement. Best Ever!

SSCS5 30/01/2015 by pressanseal1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

They together will put most to shame. They ROCK!!! I am positively pleased with the set. Nice sound every in my apt. Sony Rocks!

19

1

0

Awesome speaker

SSCS5 20/01/2015 by Solaris72 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm using this surround back on a 7.2 setup. while my other speakers are energy, I'm hearing sound clearly. I wish i will use it as front speakers, but i have energy wall mounted.

7

1

0

Great speakers

SSCS5 08/01/2015 by Boricua (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great speakers for the money.

7

8

0

Great Bargain!

SSCS5 27/12/2014 by MarkWellman (USA)

I have owned many pairs of speakers over the years. These have super detail and balance. The midrange is top notch. The bass is OK, but for many a subwoofer would be necessary. These little gems plus my trusty Sony subwoofer make for some great listening. I am quite pleased with how they sound.

17

0

0

Unbelievable Wide Sound Stage For Tiny Speakers!

SSCS5 10/12/2014 by sandiegodom (USA)

In many ways the SS-CS5 reminds me of the vintage Baby Advents designed by the legendary Advent Corporation (founded by the even more legendary Henry Kloss). The Baby Advents had a big sound and decent bass response for their small footprint. While Sony has bragging rights for innovations on the electronic side of things they have been lauded quite a bit less on speaker design. The SS-CS5 are an impressive step forward. BUILD The solid, well built enclosure itself is an uninspiring rectangular box with what feels like a vinyl finish (although, according to Sony, underneath the finish is actual wood). Yes, they are inexpensive bookshelf speakers…but a wood finish feels so much more high-end in my opinion. The cloth grills are also rather standard and boring. Remove the grills though and you are looking at a very handsome face: the three drivers are quite attractive and when exposed give the set a much more contemporary feel. BASIC FEATURES & SETUP The cabinet is a three-way design featuring what Sony calls a ¾-inch super tweeter (output up to 50 kHz), 1-inch tweeter and 5-inch woofer (output down to 53 Hz). There is also a port directly behind the woofer. The port is an obvious necessity with a bass driver of this size. SOUND I connected the SS-CS5s to a two channel amp and fed it the optical output from my Apple TV. I used vocal tracks from Diane Schuur, Dire Straits as well as Lorde to evaluate the overall balance of the system. As usual with Sony speakers (and especially given the inclusion of the super tweeter) the high-end response was more than enough (too much). After making some adjustments with iTune's onboard EQ I was able to tame the highs and balance out the sound to where it was very listenable, clear and full. That last adjective is what I will talk about a bit more: full. In what on the surface looks like a simple three way design Sony has managed to create a speaker that with no active electronics creates a sound field that literally wraps around you. The sound is incredibly live and expansive with the vocals rock solid in the middle of the soundstage. Especially when listening to the Lorde tracks I kept looking to see if somehow my main system was on and powering the rear speakers! Placed on the floor and with a few EQ tweaks you can tease some pretty decent bass out of SS-CS5 (although I feel the bass is not tight as would be the case with a sealed design). They perform well with modern pop music (with it’s electronic rhythm section) and excel with jazz and classical. As there is a separate optional subwoofer you can add this to the set at a later date if you really want more on the low end. I also placed them on stands and was a bit less satisfied with the overall balance. I feel that these speakers will produce a more balanced sound when they can interact with the surfaces around them (e.g. the floor, wall, bookshelf or table). CONCLUSION As strictly bookshelf speakers, and with a little equalization applied, the system provides a balanced sound that should satisfy casual and even more discerning listeners. The expanded soundstage and articulate vocals though put it in a very different class. I can’t overemphasize how impressed I was with the width and depth of the soundstage created by these very unassuming little speakers. And they are dirt-cheap.

28

2

0

HEARING A DIFFERENCE

SSCS5 04/12/2014 by BeJay2 (USA)

I’m not an audiophile or technophile; although I do appreciate good-sounding music. I was initially skeptical around “Hi-Res Audio” and whether adding Hi-Res components to my home audio equipment could justify the cost. Short answer: it’s definitely worth the price, in part because these new Hi-Res SS-CS5 Bookshelf speakers are surprisingly affordable for their quality. So, I recently added a Sony UDA-1/B USB DAC as the hub of my computer-based digital music system. This digital-to-analog converter/amplifier is meant to power a pair of quality bookshelf/desktop speakers or to drive high-end headphones. Naturally those devices need to be of sufficient quality before you can appreciate what your Hi-Res Audio amplifier will supply – hence my addition of a set of Sony’s SS-CS5 speakers (see photo below). These remarkable 6-ohm speakers are part of Sony’s new Core Series and these are a three-way design with a 5.1-inch foamed mica-reinforced woofer, a 1-inch polyester dome tweeter, and a 0.75-inch dome super tweeter that extends the high-frequency response up to 50KHz. There is a bass port and heavy-duty speaker wire connectors on the back panel of each 7x13.3x8.6 inch enclosure. The other three Core Series products are a floor-standing tower, a center-channel and a 10-inch subwoofer. Used all together, the Core Series speakers would form a 5.1 channel home theater configuration. I discovered that high-resolution audio really does sound better even to my over-60 ears, or should I say, especially with my compromised hearing. I read in reviews that the SS-CS5s had “superior detail and clarity.” I was anxious to put that to a test. As soon as I set up my UDA-1/B with a pair of these bookshelf speakers, my digital music files seemed to burst open with tone and texture. Over time I had forgotten how fine the original recordings ought to sound. And, the combination of the DAC with these particular speakers works nicely in both sound quality and level. At the 20 watts per channel that my DAC can output, these speakers will fill a good-sized room (see photo below). Specs aside, it’s all in the hearing. I particularly like to listen to cello solos and cello with full orchestra. It was a revelation to hear pieces that I am very familiar with sounding so clear and, well, exciting! I’ve only had the SS-CS5s for a short time and already find I am listening more often and enjoying what I can hear now. The very first track I played, YoYo Ma playing the first movement of Elgar’s Cello Concerto (Chicago Symphony), convinced me. But you’ll need to hear your own music through them to agree. Curious now, I decided to throw additional tracks at the SS-CS5s to see how they handle different musical situations. First, the second movement of Charles Ives’ Symphony No. 4 (Chicago Symphony) where the music builds to several riotous climaxes – I could hear detail and separation that surprised me given the complexity of Ives’ compositions and the small footprint that the SS-CS5s have. Next I switched genres to a live digital recording of T-Bone Walker’s “Stormy Monday” by Hummingbird (a band from Connecticut’s Northwest Corner that plays an eclectic blend of blues, jazz, and country). It pleased me to recognize the acoustic ambiance of Miranda Vineyard’s club-like tasting room behind Bobbi Soares’ melodic, jazz-influenced voice – nicely resolved by the DAC and voiced by the SS-CS5s. To represent another chunk of my listening time, I wanted to try a close mic’d track without instrumental distraction. I chose the title track of singer-songwriter Shane Faubert’s new “Line in the Sand” album on the French Bam Balam label. It’s a non-compressed Folk/Pop recording with a lot of air around his smooth, buttery-voiced and intimate vocals. Again, the SS-CS5s performed with a presence that felt as if the artist was in the room with me. Very nice, indeed. For convenience, I have been using the source configuration in the accompanying photograph. That’s my Xperia Tablet Z attached to my Sony DAC’s front-panel USB port and playing tracks from their Walkman app. I am also a MacBook Pro user. So, to listen to digital music that lives on my laptop I downloaded and installed a free app called Hi-Res Audio Player and a driver named SONY USB DAC Amp Driver (Mac). The Player launches from the OSX 10.9.5 Desktop, finds Sony’s UDA-1/B, and presents a straight-forward playlist interface, see screenshot below. There is also iTunes…. Like most of Sony’s home audio products, the SS-CS5s have a clean design that is quite compact. Of course, you will need to supply speaker wiring (don’t skimp) and sound sources like mine that have the ability to provide the fine Hi-Res Audio this speaker system is capable of delivering. For my listening taste there is more than enough bass, eliminating any thought to add a sub woofer. I am more than satisfied with my SS-CS5s. I can recommend this Hi-Res Audio speaker system without hesitation – you’ll get a lot of enjoyment from them.

20

2

0

Great value

SSCS5 28/09/2014 by Belenbaa (USA)

These speakers were recommended to us by store salesman who said I could return them if not satisfied. I was skeptical that speakers in this price range would be good enough. I have been very pleased. They sound better than my other much more expensive top brand speakers in my living room.

29

3