7

3.9 based on 7 customer reviews

3
1
2
1
0
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Sony's Flagship and worthy of the title Best Ever

MEXGS810BH 08/08/2015 by gstokes (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My previous head unit was pretty nice and this Sony just blows it out of the water with features and performance.. Start with a faster processor, it does everything quick from booting the OS to changing stations on XM, it feels the need for speed.. NFC or Near Field Control allows you to tap the compatible smartphone to the head unit and the BT is activated.. Built-in Time Alignment lets you adjust the position of each speaker by delaying the signal and will really put the finishing touch on your multi-speaker system. I use a 2-way front stage with a pair of subwoofers and run full active with a 5-channel amplifier and this is by far the best it has ever sounded.. When the BT is activated the compatible smartphone with app remote software will mirror itself with the head unit, Sony calls it Mirror Link and it works flawlessly, some head units require a ritual but this Sony MEX-GS810BH is a beast and functions without a hitch.. No need to grab the remote to control the head unit, just pickup the smartphone.. Pandora BT also functions flawlessly as does the BT Phone, can't find a fault with the rig and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone that wants a full featured head unit with HD Radio, Sirius/XM, Pandora, BT, Front and Rear USB, Time Aiignment and much much more..

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

BLUETOOTH AND RESET ISSUES ABOUND

MEXGS810BH 16/02/2017 by Chozen1278 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this radio a week ago looking for something with app control, rear USB, multiple pre outs. This radio fit the bill and checkboxes in regards to all I wanted. That is, until I used it for a couple of days. Radio doesn't auto connect to my tablet and it factory resets itself every 2-3 days. I took it back to the dealer and they did a firmware upgrade to see if that would fix the issue. It did not. Radio reset itself as soon as I got home (30 minutes later) and shut my car down. While this radio does fill all the checkmarks in regards to what I want from a radio, it remains a pain in the butt to have to restore my settings (manually mind you) every couple of days. Also, why doesn't the app (APp Remote v2) allow me to search through my ipod the way the face of the radio allows? Will be returning this radio.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

7 Customer Reviews

0

Need Firmware update!!!

MEX-GS810BH 18/07/2018 by John Q (USA)

I have had the radio for less than two years and loved the App portion of it. Now since I've upgraded my phone the app does not work with the newest version of Android. I had to replace my battery in the car and now all the custom settings done by the app are gone and no way to get them back. Now the radio sounds terrible.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

HD Radio, but no USB charging

MEX-GS810BH 07/01/2018 by BravoOscar (USA)

The two main features that made me pick this model from Sony, over other capable and excellent choices, are (1) HD radio and (2) USB maximum current of 2.1A in the rear port. Certainly Bluetooth and a 10-band EQ being expected at this price point. Unfortunately the USB capabilities turned out to be a dud. The unit is barely able to keep my phone alive while driving. The trickle charging is so low that after hours of driving the battery level barely moves. I end up having to to Bluetooth with an external charger. But than what's the point? HD radio sounds awesome, but only when the reception is great, which is often isn't and when the reception of weak, the analog signal has more static than my old stereo. Meaning for the most of the time on the highways I am worse off with the radio than my OEM unit had.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy to navigate features

MEXGS810BH 04/11/2017 by fubaru4 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have an 97 Benz and needed a new radio. This product was at the right price and provide easy BT phone access with a CD and radio. Enjoying the music in the car again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Radio is great

MEXGS810BH 17/04/2017 by BlackJack09 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace my factory radio which was dying. I got it installed and love it. Did everything I wanted and some more. My only reason for the 4 stars instead of 5 is the remote app for phones to control the radio. It needs an overhaul. Last update was in January of 2014 over 3 years ago. Both Android OS and iOS have added many features and left some behind. My iPad and iPhone tell me the app is unusable with the current iOS.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

BLUETOOTH AND RESET ISSUES ABOUND

MEXGS810BH 16/02/2017 by Chozen1278 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this radio a week ago looking for something with app control, rear USB, multiple pre outs. This radio fit the bill and checkboxes in regards to all I wanted. That is, until I used it for a couple of days. Radio doesn't auto connect to my tablet and it factory resets itself every 2-3 days. I took it back to the dealer and they did a firmware upgrade to see if that would fix the issue. It did not. Radio reset itself as soon as I got home (30 minutes later) and shut my car down. While this radio does fill all the checkmarks in regards to what I want from a radio, it remains a pain in the butt to have to restore my settings (manually mind you) every couple of days. Also, why doesn't the app (APp Remote v2) allow me to search through my ipod the way the face of the radio allows? Will be returning this radio.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great Radio

MEXGS810BH 16/10/2016 by wins77 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My old radio went out so replaced it with this Sony great product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony's Flagship and worthy of the title Best Ever

MEXGS810BH 08/08/2015 by gstokes (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

My previous head unit was pretty nice and this Sony just blows it out of the water with features and performance.. Start with a faster processor, it does everything quick from booting the OS to changing stations on XM, it feels the need for speed.. NFC or Near Field Control allows you to tap the compatible smartphone to the head unit and the BT is activated.. Built-in Time Alignment lets you adjust the position of each speaker by delaying the signal and will really put the finishing touch on your multi-speaker system. I use a 2-way front stage with a pair of subwoofers and run full active with a 5-channel amplifier and this is by far the best it has ever sounded.. When the BT is activated the compatible smartphone with app remote software will mirror itself with the head unit, Sony calls it Mirror Link and it works flawlessly, some head units require a ritual but this Sony MEX-GS810BH is a beast and functions without a hitch.. No need to grab the remote to control the head unit, just pickup the smartphone.. Pandora BT also functions flawlessly as does the BT Phone, can't find a fault with the rig and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone that wants a full featured head unit with HD Radio, Sirius/XM, Pandora, BT, Front and Rear USB, Time Aiignment and much much more..

8

0