16

3.6 based on 16 customer reviews

7
3
2
1
3
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

My new stereo

MEX-N5100BT 24/04/2016 by Casper256 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this stereo as a replacement For another Sony stereo I tried others but like the Sony I also like the song pal app The only downside is no front storage case With the unit

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Was great until a couple of days ago

MEX-N5100BT 28/05/2017 by AMGMG (USA)

This car stereo worked pretty well for two years until it just stopped functioning completely. Completely out of the blue. There were a handful of times when I had issues connecting to the blue tooth but never something like this. The display doesn't even turn on. So there's not only no BT, but no radio or CD player either. It's not responding at all. I've tried contacting support three times (one never-replied email and two "timed out due to inactivity" chats; the inactivity was on your part, not mine) about this and have gotten no help at all. I'm honestly really disappointed. The sound quality was great leading up to this. Commute to work is pretty unbearable now.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

16 Customer Reviews

0

quality & power

MEX-N5100BT 27/05/2019 by Struman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beautiful head унит, 98% satisfied, 2% left on a deaf, cheap microphone ...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Unacceptable, very low quality

MEX-N5100BT 04/12/2018 by wespe123 (USA)

This unit keeps resetting itself all the time. I'm tired of setting up everything from scratch every single week.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great except for one thing

MEX-N5100BT 26/06/2018 by nazrisg (USA)

Hi, i just installed the head unit and there is one problem. When tuning the radio stations, it only stops at odd numbers. So i am able to tune to FM 89.7, 91.3, 93.3, but i am unable to tune to 94.2, 95.0, 98.0. Any idea how to fix this?

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/06/2018

Hi nazrisg, to tune manually, press and hold SEEK +/– to locate the
approximate frequency, then press SEEK +/– repeatedly to fine adjust to the desired frequency. For more information on how to use this unit, please visit the link below. Thanks! ^Ron

https://docs.sony.com/release//MEXN5100BT_N4100BT.pdf

0

This thing blows

MEX-N5100BT 22/05/2018 by TheBlackKnight (USA)

I mainly bought this because of the feature set...BT, USB, Pandora etc. but I primarily use MP3's on my USB stick. Let me tell you, USB play back is TERRIBLE. I put my files by artist and it takes the radio about 2 min to start playing a song when I start my truck. My junk alpine played immediately. The fix here is to not put them in folders, but then you have to hit next a hundred times or more to get to the middle of the pack. The app lets you VIEW all the files/folders but can you click on the file to play it? Nope. Save your money. Buy something else.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/05/2018

Hi TheBlackKnight,


Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services, we're always looking to make Sony better.

We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

0

Great features

55 W 14/01/2018 by Bird1970 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really love this radio it was a gift. My son bought it for me about a year ago and I just got it put in.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best radio in the market

55 W 08/08/2017 by AntMar7299 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this radio last year and i don't regret it. This has to be the greatest radio in the market. i installed it in my 1994 Toyota Camry and it has not disappoint as of yet. I will definitely recommend it. Also, i have noticed that it has given a little boost to all my speakers. Music is loud and clear. My favorite feature is the lights that changes to different colors.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Everything is great, except for...

MEX-N5100BT 30/06/2017 by AskingA (USA)

I have always been a sony fan for as long as I can remember, mainly their consoles which I love. The complaints that I have with this stereo is 1. I have to adjust the clock every few months because it gets ahead of my phones time and 2. I cannot adjust the bass mid and treble. Have owned it for almost 2 years and have not been able to find I'm assuming it doesn't come with it. Every other stereo I have used comes with them except this one I understand it comes with the mega bass but I need more customization. I really wish it came with the bass mid and treble

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/07/2017

Hi AskingA , Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. You can refer to this link to isolate the issue: https://docs.sony.com/release//MEXN5100BT_N4100BT.pdf see page 26. -Erin

0

Was great until a couple of days ago

MEX-N5100BT 28/05/2017 by AMGMG (USA)

This car stereo worked pretty well for two years until it just stopped functioning completely. Completely out of the blue. There were a handful of times when I had issues connecting to the blue tooth but never something like this. The display doesn't even turn on. So there's not only no BT, but no radio or CD player either. It's not responding at all. I've tried contacting support three times (one never-replied email and two "timed out due to inactivity" chats; the inactivity was on your part, not mine) about this and have gotten no help at all. I'm honestly really disappointed. The sound quality was great leading up to this. Commute to work is pretty unbearable now.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/05/2017

Hi AMGMG, we are sorry to hear what happened. You may check this link for your repair option: https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/service.pl. Regards, ~Erin

0

Completely broke withing 6 months

55 W 10/03/2017 by Ned4483 (USA)

This unit had reset issues from the beginning. It reset itself a bunch of times and I had to reset all the channels over and over. Then it just stopped working altogether. It also ate my disk which they say they can not return to me.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

GREAT BENEFITS

55 W 19/10/2016 by MY HONDA AND SONY (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

THIS IS MY SECOUN CAR STERIO I WANTED TO UPGRADE AND GET AN UPDATED ONE SONY COMES OUT WITH NEWER MODELS SONY STERIOS CAN LAST A LONG TIME BUT FOR ME I UPGRADE EVERY 2 YEARS ITS AWESOME TO TRUST A BRAND U CAN REALLY ENJOY.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Generally Great

MEX-N5100BT 21/08/2016 by andrew007 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace an old radio in my aging BMW. It's a great upgrade with all the features. But it isn't that easy to control, although the app is much better. And why the gimic lights? OK for some I suppose but distracting and I've turned them off.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

0

Pair it with the SongPal app. - Brilliant.

MEX-N5100BT 23/05/2016 by abuyer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It just........ works. .The one let down is that Sony don't include an adapter for the Ariel. - an 0.10p solution. I had to wait 3 days for it. That baffles me. Anyway, a great all round unit. - highly recommended.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

My new stereo

MEX-N5100BT 24/04/2016 by Casper256 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this stereo as a replacement For another Sony stereo I tried others but like the Sony I also like the song pal app The only downside is no front storage case With the unit

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Excellent car stereo

MEX-N5100BT 25/02/2016 by Harry42 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with this stereo. Display and sound very good with all the features that I wanted, such as USB, Bluetooth and cd

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Awesome car stereo

55 W 07/08/2015 by Joker2003 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The player itself is great, with lots of functions so that I can fine tune how the radio sounds. The Pandora application and Bluetooth connectivity works very well. The only issue I have had is the remote app for my phone makes the control of the stereo tricky. One example is that the apps settings page doesn't have the dim function (and the automatic dim function doesn't work in my vechicle). So if the app on my phone connects automatically at night, I have to fiddle with the phone to disconnect the app and then manually change the dim function and then reconnect the app. Minor but still kind of a pain. Other than the problems with the app, the stereo is great.

10

10

Response From Sony Support
11/08/2015

Hello Joker2003! Thank you for sharing this feedback with us regarding the application and the dimming feature not working, we will make sure to pass this information to the proper department for future reference.

0

Great radio

55 W 15/07/2015 by WickedDK (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I like this deck a lot. Its got a lot of features, custom colors and I can hook it up to my Android.

8

5