17

4.2 based on 17 customer reviews

11
3
0
1
2
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Excellent sound and CarPlay integration

XAV-AX1000 20/04/2019 by RFC001 (USA)

I had this unit installed a few weeks ago. At first not so sure of going full multimedia, but it has proven to be an excellent decision. Sound is crisp and clear using only my iPhone. Mostly iTunes And Spotify. Phone calls are easy with Siri. In short, I love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Excellent design but having issues with CarPlay

XAV-AX1000 09/06/2019 by dpmredwing (USA)

I bought this unit a month ago and had it installed and much like the review by AckMan I too cannot get this unit to work consistently with my iPhone X. I have to constantly plug and unplug the cable in hopes that it will eventually activate CarPlay. It works occasionally but it disappointing right now as I cannot make it work every time and I've tried several cables too.

2

1

21 Customer Reviews

0

Touchscreen doesn’t function

XAVAX1000 02/12/2019 by Mj224 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it from Best Buy and after a month or so, the touchscreen doesn’t work and of course I can’t return it

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Awesome hidden gem

XAVAX1000 24/11/2019 by Darkwo7f (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this for my 4runner. Cuz my first receiver burnt out. This like I said is a hidden gem. It works awesome and love the way it shows and displays things. I'm very happy and satisfied with this unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So far so good.

XAVAX1000 18/11/2019 by Me Bass man (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Started right up as expected. All s good on day one. Great sound on the stock speakers of my 2006 Mustang which had the factory Shaker 500 system. Added a pair of 10” subs with amp in the trunk and still have some tweaking to do. Thanks Sony for a great head unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sleek Design

XAV-AX1000 04/11/2019 by papabless (USA)

bough this two weeks ago. Very easy to install into my jeep grand cherokee 2002. Had to buy a dash kit and cut the inside of my dash to fit this stereo, but now it fits like a charm. Looks sleek and not flashy, almost as if its the factory made stereo.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great value choice overall

XAV-AX1000 22/09/2019 by mjkmjk (USA)

Bought this due to a new handsfree law in my state, plus the NY Times had a review that called this the best value buy for carplay radios. I'd agree with that. It's easy to use and I like that it has a volume knob instead of buttons. Really like that it keeps playing the radio in the background while in carplay mode. One quibble is that there are only about eight characters for the RDS feature, meaning it takes about four or five lines before you get an artist or song, which is annoying when you're driving and just want to get it at a glance. There's plenty of screen real estate to show it all at once, so maybe they can fix this via an update in the future.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
23/09/2019

Hello, mjkmjk!


We’re glad you like the product! Thank you for choosing Sony!

~Zac

0

Crutchfield Experience

XAVAX1000 17/09/2019 by Caldog55 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this product on Sep 10th and it was delivered on the 19th in excellent packed condition. All instruction sheets were received to remove and install the new unit and they were precise and on point. I absolutely am satisfied with this Sony product. Certainly exceeded my expectation. Carplay is absolutely wonderful and a joy to play with. The output wattage is also more than ample for this unit. Did not know about DSO but it certainly makes a difference with door speakers that are mounted toward the bottom. Would certainly recommend this product and also Crutchfield for their excellence in technical expertise and overall purchase experience. Good Job.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/09/2019

Hi, Caldog55!

Thank you for sharing this positive review. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thank you for choosing Sony.

Regards,
David

0

needs android suport

XAV-AX1000 30/06/2019 by joecool2356 (USA)

make it work with samsung. otherwise its a great unit

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

5

0

Love it ! but some problems with apple car play

XAV-AX1000 28/06/2019 by Gank360 (USA)

Bought this to replace factory radio in my Truck I love the Apple Play its great but some time it randomly diconnects and i wish you could and your own images for custom wallpapper but is sounds amazing threw the factory sony amp and speackers and I love the ability to acces my phone and music right from the screen.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent design but having issues with CarPlay

XAV-AX1000 09/06/2019 by dpmredwing (USA)

I bought this unit a month ago and had it installed and much like the review by AckMan I too cannot get this unit to work consistently with my iPhone X. I have to constantly plug and unplug the cable in hopes that it will eventually activate CarPlay. It works occasionally but it disappointing right now as I cannot make it work every time and I've tried several cables too.

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/06/2019

Hi dpmredwing, we are sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. Please try following the steps on the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/mobile-cd-players-digital-media-players-xav-series/xav-ax1000/articles/00199422

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Erin

0

Horrible During Phone Calls

XAV-AX1000 02/05/2019 by Smokey88 (USA)

We had Best Buy install this system in my wife's car. Unfortunately, every time I call her, I hear all her phone alerts (emails, texts, meeting reminders) plus all her directions from Google Maps. This is extremely annoying and disappointing. Perhaps we received a bad unit? Best Buy doesn't know how to correct it.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

6

0

Excellent head unit!

XAV-AX1000 21/04/2019 by B stacks (USA)

I bought this to replace an older Pioneer I had. It’s like night and day! This is a fantastic unit that won’t break the bank.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Excellent sound and CarPlay integration

XAV-AX1000 20/04/2019 by RFC001 (USA)

I had this unit installed a few weeks ago. At first not so sure of going full multimedia, but it has proven to be an excellent decision. Sound is crisp and clear using only my iPhone. Mostly iTunes And Spotify. Phone calls are easy with Siri. In short, I love it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound and Apple Carplay - brilliant!

XAV-AX1000 15/04/2019 by KJB01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Prevents me from being inclined to use my phone whilst driving as the touch-screen does everything I need it to do.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

6

0

Great modern touch for older cars!

XAV-AX1000 01/03/2019 by KFortune227 (USA)

This definitely improved my 94 Toyota celica by adding features like touch screen, Bluetooth and apple car play.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

I love CarPlay

XAV-AX1000 10/12/2018 by AckMan (USA)

I bought this at Best Buy and it has changed the way I enjoy the minivan. I'm able to play all the music I want from my phone and use Apple CarPlay to use directions.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

Great Buy

XAV-AX1000 06/12/2018 by kmee (USA)

I recently bought, I love the unit just wish there were more background options.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

GOOD UNIT, BUT IT DOESN’T WORK WITH AN iPhone X

XAVAX1000 30/11/2018 by AckMan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I just bought the stereo. I loved it. Then I bought an iPhone X and it won’t work Apple Carplay.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

18

Response From Sony Social Support
02/12/2018

We regret that the stereo failed to meet your expectation, Ackman. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you.



Regards,
Erin

0

Great but sometimes hard to push buttons

XAV-AX1000 13/11/2018 by Ethan1212 (USA)

Push buttons hard when first turning on..............

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

3

0

love the layout

XAVAX1000 03/11/2018 by FreddieNC (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It met my requirements of having an easy to get to USB port and CarPlay. The audio is very good. The siri handsfree works very well. My only gripes are nitpicks. The software needs has some items that will probably be fixed in the next few releases.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Amazing I love it

XAV-AX1000 28/10/2018 by John9718 (USA)

Bought this and I love it wallpapers could be better but that’s the only downside of it everything else is perfect works like magic when you plug your iPhone into it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Thank you Sony!

XAV-AX1000 27/09/2018 by Roxanne (USA)

Absolutely the best when it comes to technology and fit!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2