24

3.5 based on 24 customer reviews

10
3
4
3
4
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Nicely Outfitted, Android Auto is a Bit Buggy

XAV-AX200 14/06/2018 by Particular Patty (USA)

Summary: As a working engineer and very particular person I believe this is a very nice unit and the root stereo functions seem to work very well. Bluetooth, radio, CD, DVD, and USB are all very clear and have not given me problems. The Android Auto also works well but it seems to be buggy. It is true the unit has reset on me after driving for a period of time, and generally when it comes back up I have to unplug my device and plug it in again. However, it's also very nice that I can talk to my stereo and call people, lookup addresses, start music, or whatever else Android Auto currently supports. OK what's the drawbacks? As an engineer working with interfaces I don't know that the head unit is the problem for the restarts and Android Auto is a relatively new open source feature so the interface likely has some bugs to work out. I hope it's mostly on the Android side because updates are pushed more regularly to my mobile than this stereo. I guess only time will tell, and in the mean time if you want to listen to music for longer periods you can always go with Bluetooth and it will still let you control your device with the head unit and display song titles for you. What surprised me? The steering wheel controls work off variable input voltage like most manufacturers steering controls provide, so you don't need one of those fancy steering control modules. If you can find their harness you can do that or just use a simple headphone jack, connect the shield to ground and the other two wires to the steering inputs. Honestly as long as you get the ground wire connected correctly the other two don't matter because the programming is really simple. But how does it sound? I am not an audiophile but I'm also not blown away by the sound quality, in fact my previous unit seemed to be better, however the other unit had a terrible user interface. My guess is that this unit is so competitively priced because Sony is trying to break into this market and they are catering to features over sound quality. What about that annoying parking brake connection? So this unit works off a ground signal to the head unit. The parking brake on most vehicles simply connects the circuit and ground is detected. For example, to test that it works while installing you can simply ground the wire and play DVDs. Then of course you would go back and connect the parking brake switch. Bottom line, don't expect this to compare to a $1000 unit, but it is nicely equipped, easy to use, easy to install, and sound quality is nice.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Good unit but backup camera is terrible

XAV-AX200 20/07/2018 by dennisl32 (USA)

The rear view camera (park assist) is a total disappointment. Why Sony thought it would be smart to replace the traditional parking guides with a 3 stupid lines is beyond me. Regretting the purchase because of this

4

0

24 Customer Reviews

0

Trash

XAV-AX200 09/08/2019 by Shark1134 (USA)

The stereo only lasted 8 months and within that time I had problems. From the very beginning there were glitches, when I played the CD the sound would cut off after a while, same with the radio and eventually the DVD wouldn’t work. Yes I know about updates and I did them and I know my iPhone was a little bit of the problem, yet eventually the screen started going white and the stereo would shut off and reboot. At the end the screen went white and never came back. Sent the stereo to be repaired, came back and the CD and DVD player didn’t work, sent back again and finally technicians decided to trash the radio and give me back full credit for the stereo. Sony concentrates on PlayStation not car stereos.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/08/2019

Hi, Shark1134!

We are sorry to hear what happened. Please try to update the car stereo software and try again. See link for details.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/mobile-cd-players-digital-media-players-xav-series/xav-ax200/downloads/00016141

Regards,
David

0

Great vehicle entertainment system

XAV-AX200 07/07/2019 by Andyf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this item and so far am delighted. It works really well.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Easy to use

XAVAX200 03/05/2019 by Squirtshine (USA)

I like the map feature that you can use with your phone. I got the system for a drive all the way across the country. Glad I did. I use the system every day and haven't been misdirected once. Love the Sirius radio too! And the back up camera is very large and clear. Really like it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

GREAT I DO RECOMEND

XAV-AX200 20/03/2019 by ABURASHED (United Kingdom)

I AM VERY HAPPY GREAT SOUND EASY TO FUNCTION NO MUTE WHEN YOU ARE DRIVING

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Disappointing for a Multimedia Device!

XAV-AX200 20/02/2019 by Birdrands (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Apple Carplay, IOS, Android Auto, Bluetooth, CD / DVD, USB player support etc. All great you would think except it is the only comparable player on the market from a major brand - (check for yourselves) that does not support an iPod. All the others that list both Carplay and Android Auto at this price level and much cheaper, also support iPods along with iPhones, therefore I took it as read that a respected brand like Sony would also follow this well trodden spec path. No they don't it's only when you connect it to the USB port that you are told it's not compatible! The same day I contacted Sony Support to flag that they should highlight this as they are the only ones in their field that do not support both iPhone and iPod (even latest versions running the same IOS). I requested that I return the item for a refund - they are still trying to make real poor excuses over a week later! I have purchased many Sony products in the past and have very recent items in use now, however this episode and their response makes me believe that the customers are more loyal to the brand than the brand is to the customer! I will not be staying loyal in future based upon my experience.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

10

0

Average with some major flaws

XAV-AX200 06/01/2019 by tsprings (USA)

I see that my first review of this product has either been taken down or deleted. I've had this unit for about 9 months. Issues: 1. Adroid Auto is buggy and doesn't always work. Inconsistent and annoying. 2. When in Android Auto mode it takes over the whole screen and you can't see what XM, FM, or AM station you are on. So channel surfing is a pain. This gets more and more annoying over time 3. When listening to mp3 from your phone, or podcasts you CAN'T fast forward or rewind!!! So if you are in the middle of a 45 min podcast and you want to jump ahead 10 minutes, too bad. This is a basic feature that all music listening devices have had back to the days of vinyl records and tape decks. How the heck did they leave this out. HUGE MISTAKE! Makes listening to anything from your phone very difficult. 4. Too bright at night. Auto dimming feature does not work 5. Terrible AM and FM antenna. My guess it has only about 25% strength of a factory antenna. 6. Will not let you search and scroll through your music library on your phone while driving. 7. I love the volume knob but it needs to be larger. 8. Start up screen is annoying and can't be removed. 9. Many more issues but I don't want to bore you. I wish Sony would do some real world testing before releasing products like this. I have a hard time believing someone field tested this before production and said "yes, perfect in every way. Let's go!" Had I known that this unit hard so many oversights in design I would not have purchased it.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

4

3

Response From Sony Social Support
10/01/2019

Hi tsprings,

We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name, your contact details and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you.

0

Nice but (for me) some major flaws

XAV-AX200 14/12/2018 by jll7033 (USA)

Pretty nice but for my purposes it has some major flaws 1) won't play .mp3 files from a CD (never even crossed my mind that this was not supported before I purchased the unit, if I had realized that I never would have bought it). Now any .mp3 audio cds I have need to be copied to a usb drive in order for me to listen to them. 2) When playing a .mp3 you cannot advance into the song, so if you are listening to a audio book, the the chapter is 20 minutes long and something causes it to reset, you have to listen to the whole chapter again 3) AM radio quality is so-so, local baseball team is only on AM so that is a disappointment all summer long. 4) Issues with Android Auto, not sure if it is the unit or AA, but sometimes the AA sound just does not work (frustrating when a call comes in and you cannot hear anything), also attempting to select choices in AA causes it to scroll instead of select. Won't necessarily blame the unit, but it is disappointing

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

3

0

Response From Sony Social Support
16/12/2018

Hi jll7033, Thank you for your feedback on your experience with your car stereo. We are sorry for any inconvenience you had experienced. Please be assured we take this very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products. We will forward this to a relevant team. Erin

0

Android auto

XAVAX200 18/10/2018 by Bama2537 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my second unit. Went from an ax100 to a 200. Android auto does not work on either devices. Main reason I bought it. Now I'm stuck with it

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/10/2018

Hi Bama2537, we regret to hear that your car stereo failed to meet your expectations. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you. Regards, Erin

0

It's Only OUTTA 5 STARS

XAV-AX200 22/09/2018 by The Cabooose12 (USA)

So rather this review is only out of 4. looks good so far we'll see how she runs with "the ol' Sherlock Holmes routine". Had a xav(numerical here)-68BT and hated it towards the end.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Can't Go Wrong With This Head Unit

XAV-AX200 12/09/2018 by Rockets84 (USA)

I bought this head unit to replace my XAV-612BT as it's iPod function was a bit hit and miss with my iPhone X. It had worked reliably with my iPod Classic for a number of years. Plus I wanted CarPlay and the option of Android Auto if required in the future. I still use CD's for music occasionally so that's a nice to have over the XAV-AX100. Also this unit has a rotary volume dial. I hate Volume up/down buttons that most head units use so a volume dial is a big. The XAV-AX200 has lovely subtle styling with a nice clean look and minimal buttons. The change over from the XAV-612BT with XAV-AX200 was relatively straight forward as my car just has a standard double din and I previously purchased a 3rd party harness kit that converted my cars default GM harness to ISO which then connected a ISO to Sony harness to that.The third party harness had a steering wheel control module on it that worked with 612BT perfectly. I had to buy a new ISO to Sony harness as the connector on the AX200 is smaller from the 612BT but the necessary harness was in stock at my local auto shop which made it plug and play rather than using Sony's supplied harness in the box. I spent a bit of time getting the adjustment right of the unit as the first time I fitted it it was a bit too recessed in the console to comfortably get a grip on the volume knob. I also used the USB extension cable provided so I could run that to a location where I could change the USB cable to my phone if necessary or plug in a USB thumb drive. This proved a good idea after a week of having the unit. First impressions. The volume dial is quite stiff and it doesn't stick out as much as the 612's & it's a bit smaller which make it's a bit fiddly to use compared to the old head unit. Hopefully the stiffness will decrease with time.The light around the dial edge is a great touch to easily find it when driving at night. The touch screen is very responsive and excellent to use. My only complaint with the screen it is it's a bit too recessed into the unit which can make getting into the corners a bit fiddly but otherwise the screen is significantly better than the 612's in response and make the unit easy to use. I'm not a fan of having the icon for the settings on a second view, a second row of icons would have been better & easy to use in my opinion. My single biggest gripe with this unit is that there's only one USB port and it's on the back. The 612 has 3 USB ports, two on the back and one on the front. Having a front USB port makes it easy to connect a thumb drive or different USB cable than you'd normally use. I'd strongly recommend using the supplied USB extension cable and running it to somewhere like the glove box or an easily removable piece of trim so you can change the USB cable you're using to connect to your phone. eg USB A to Apply Lightning or USB C or USB Micro etc. Having to remove the console trim and un-mount the unit to just change a USB cable is painful. The annoying warning message when the head unit turns on didn't go away after a bit of time like it did with the 612.This is where the ability to easily change the USB cable came in handy as there was a newer firmware update (1.01.00) that changed the message to a timed one (Yay!). Applying the firmware update via a USB thumb drive was quick and easy to do. Sound quality is pretty good. It certainly has more power than the older 612 & can get much louder. I can have the music up really loud before it distorts too much which is an improvement. CD playback was as expected but the unit doesn't support CD text like the 612 did, not the end of the world but it was a nice feature. I haven't tested DVD's as it's not something I use. All my steering wheel controls work expect volume down, which is odd but I believe it's the third party harness to be the issue. I've contacted their support to see what can be done but I don't tend to use the steering controls as the volume dial is so much nicer & quicker to use. CarPlay is the main reason why I bought this head unit and it's brilliant to use. All my CarPlay enabled apps work and navigating my massive music collection is easy. Siri is able to read and reply to any messages I get. I tested Android Auto after changing my Lightning cable with a USB micro cable with an old Marshmallow based phone I had. It initially crashed on the phone. After removing and re-installing the Android Auto app it worked properly. I don't have a reverse camera on my 14 year old car so I haven't tested that but I do intend to install one in the near future. In summary this is a great unit. If you want CarPlay or Android Auto with the ability to play a CD this unit is fantastic. My only gripes and these are minor. I think the volume dial could be a tad larger, stick out further and not quite as stiff, the single USB port on the rear could be an issue in future if you don't carefully plan the install and the screen is bit too recessed. I'm sure in a few months I won't notice these. Otherwise I'm a very happy customer.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Most Bang for the Buck

XAV-AX200 08/09/2018 by ewb1948 (USA)

This unit has lots of features you want and then some extras. Nice interface layout. Radio has RDS, but no way to scan channels. BTM searches for all channels and displays in order. It does have EQ easily accessible at press of the volume knob, but the balance and fade features must be accessed through settings. You can also set a blank screen via the volume knob too. It is SiriusXM ready, mine came with it SXV300 and a free 90 day trial. It has Bluetooth to make and receive calls, and play music. The USB port can play music and videos. Android Auto works fairly well, try to mount mic as close to you as possible. Has video out port for rear seat monitors, back up camera port and optional GPS module XA-NV400 for TomTom navigation. Notes: The backup camera display has 3 horizontal lines that you can remove in settings by pressing the >< button until they disappear. The dimmer adjust feature adjust the illumination from -5 to +5. Does not have enough adjustment to dim lower. Volume changes when changing sources, example radio, siriusxm, Android Auto or phone call so you have to keep adjusting the volume level.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Product Great User interface and Features

XAV-AX200 25/08/2018 by laketown (USA)

The AX200 was pleasantly easy to use with a vibrant screen and great sound quality. Fits into my dash much better than the Pioneer we had previously.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Looks great

XAV-AX200 21/08/2018 by Parks P (USA)

No High Definition radio internal or available as add-on makes it a no go.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/08/2018

Hi Parks P,

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

0

Good unit but backup camera is terrible

XAV-AX200 20/07/2018 by dennisl32 (USA)

The rear view camera (park assist) is a total disappointment. Why Sony thought it would be smart to replace the traditional parking guides with a 3 stupid lines is beyond me. Regretting the purchase because of this

4

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/07/2018

Hi dennisl32, thank you very much for taking the time to share your concerns with us. Sony takes the voice of our customers very seriously and hearing all feedback - good and bad is important to us. We appreciate your feedback. Regards, ^Ron

0

Nicely Outfitted, Android Auto is a Bit Buggy

XAV-AX200 14/06/2018 by Particular Patty (USA)

Summary: As a working engineer and very particular person I believe this is a very nice unit and the root stereo functions seem to work very well. Bluetooth, radio, CD, DVD, and USB are all very clear and have not given me problems. The Android Auto also works well but it seems to be buggy. It is true the unit has reset on me after driving for a period of time, and generally when it comes back up I have to unplug my device and plug it in again. However, it's also very nice that I can talk to my stereo and call people, lookup addresses, start music, or whatever else Android Auto currently supports. OK what's the drawbacks? As an engineer working with interfaces I don't know that the head unit is the problem for the restarts and Android Auto is a relatively new open source feature so the interface likely has some bugs to work out. I hope it's mostly on the Android side because updates are pushed more regularly to my mobile than this stereo. I guess only time will tell, and in the mean time if you want to listen to music for longer periods you can always go with Bluetooth and it will still let you control your device with the head unit and display song titles for you. What surprised me? The steering wheel controls work off variable input voltage like most manufacturers steering controls provide, so you don't need one of those fancy steering control modules. If you can find their harness you can do that or just use a simple headphone jack, connect the shield to ground and the other two wires to the steering inputs. Honestly as long as you get the ground wire connected correctly the other two don't matter because the programming is really simple. But how does it sound? I am not an audiophile but I'm also not blown away by the sound quality, in fact my previous unit seemed to be better, however the other unit had a terrible user interface. My guess is that this unit is so competitively priced because Sony is trying to break into this market and they are catering to features over sound quality. What about that annoying parking brake connection? So this unit works off a ground signal to the head unit. The parking brake on most vehicles simply connects the circuit and ground is detected. For example, to test that it works while installing you can simply ground the wire and play DVDs. Then of course you would go back and connect the parking brake switch. Bottom line, don't expect this to compare to a $1000 unit, but it is nicely equipped, easy to use, easy to install, and sound quality is nice.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Great Sound, but

XAV-AX200 25/05/2018 by MerlinRider (USA)

The player is really great but what I do not like is when paired with my Sony High Resolution Walkman it does not give the same functionality as Apple's iTunes. There is no menu like iTunes has and I have to use the Walkman to make selections or just leave the Walkman on shuffle. I'm not recommending it due to this fact. A Sony to Sony product should result in a full working menu display on the unit, similar to an Apple iPod connected to a car unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

5

6

0

Fantastic Headunit

XAV-AX200 08/04/2018 by Cantuki (USA)

I just bought it barely 2 weeks ago for my 13’WRX Limited Hatchback and it’s amazing. Clean and clear audio with a great ability to adjust on the equalizer. I love that I have a volume knob and that the display is very simple to use. I have the DVD player also set up to run while driving so on long road trips I can listen to movies while my boyfriend can watch. I’m glad that I purchased this headunit and having apple car play has greatly reduced the risks of distractions now that I can use voice control on apple car play for all operations of my phone. Thank you Sony for designing a great product, one of the best investments for my car.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Awesome stereo for my silverado

XAV-AX200 26/03/2018 by Carpdawg82 (USA)

I had a Sony xav651 I think that was in my trailblazer was awesome stereo but wanted car play so decided to buy this and came with Sirius Apple car play so it was a big thing I wanted for my Silverado to bring my 07 classic to the feature I ended up give my old Sony to my brother but all the features on this plus came with Sony speakers and amp for my Silverado and sounds so much better the factory Bose and like how I can get Apple Music and nav and also blutooth I’d diffently recommend this to any one other then sometimes the time screws up not a big deal or the warning o get had on both Sony’s but not a biggie

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Better choices out there

XAV-AX200 23/03/2018 by Oldguy1959 (USA)

Had this installed at a pro stereo shop. Installation is fine. Whats with the warning every time I turn this on? Also, clock will not keep time. Adds 4 hours and 4 minutes every time I correct it. Not recommended.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

7

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/03/2018

Hi Oldguy1959, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com to further assist you. -Erin

0

NIce unit

XAV-AX200 04/02/2018 by speedfan (USA)

Bought this unit after owning a similar Sony before, wanted to add Apple Play. Do not like the screen scrolling constantly, may get used to it in time. Easy to set up, have not used Apple Play at this time, wanted for camping trips in warm weather. Looks are as good as more costly units and it has great value in features.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Would be a great unit

XAV-AX200 13/12/2017 by rnvcrl (USA)

were it not for the annoying warning screen which demands attention on each startup, and will not go away no matter how long you try to avoid it. SONY, please fix! This is not safety! This is stupidity!!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

27

8

0

Lots of features at a good price

XAVAX200 14/11/2017 by Just meeeeeeee (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I chose this receiver because it offered a factory look I wanted and wasn’t overly done with lots of blinking lights. One missing feature...the ability to scan favorite SXm stations with steering wheel controls, up/down scrolls through all stations offers. Defeats the use of steering wheel controls. Also wish AM/FM/SXM would be grouped as one like most modern vehicles. Much easier to scan thru stations when you’re looking for something. I do like the CarPlay features, one of the main reasons I chose this radio...CarPlay and SXM!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

7

4

0

Great, with a couple of issues.

XAV-AX200 04/11/2017 by Joe75 (USA)

Basically, this is the XAV-AX100 with a DVD player and SiriusXM added on. All other features are exactly the same. I LOVE this stereo other than 2 issues. The volume for Sirius is incredibly low compared to the other outputs. I’m hoping they fix this in a firmware update because it’s a pain to spin that tiny volume knob back and forth, which brings me to my other issue. I’m not sure if the face of the stereo is too wide or if the 3 dash kits that I own are too small, but this thing will not fit into any of them, making that little volume knob sit in the recess of the dash because the stereo doesn’t sit flush with the dash, and making it even harder to spin because it’s so close to the edge of the dash kit. I own other Sony stereos that fit just fine but this one doesn’t. Overall, this stereo sounds great, and the UI is very simple and clean, making it easier to use while you’re driving. Some of the other systems out there by other makers are just ridiculous with all the nonsense they cram into the home screen, etc. Hope this was helpful.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

18

5

0

Great unit, frustrating startup message

XAV-AX200 01/11/2017  (USA)

Great head unit, but there's a tiresome disclaimer warning/acceptance screen at startup, prompting you to press ok every single time you turn on the unit. It's seemingly a minor issue at first, but after 20 rides on your car it becomes frustrating, unacceptable for a car radio enough to seek an alternative replacement. A simple "Accept and do not show again" option would be sufficient, at maximum on initial installation, after a firmware update, even once a month is perhaps ok, but every single trip, ever single turn on, is frustrating. Sony please sort this out, it's disappointed an otherwise satisfied customer. In my view, the warning is already spelled out and satisfied in the user manual, so shouldn't need to be displayed on the screen at all (perhaps with reboot after a firmware update it's necessary to display just once). Otherwise the integration is good and great features. It's a user friendly device generally.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

26

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/11/2017

Hello Cooperjames, we appreciate your feedback. For further assistance regarding your concern, please contact the Sony offices/Sony representative offices nearest to your place of residence in Asia Pacific region http://www.sony-asia.com/countryselector.html?hpid=countryselector:AsiaPacific. Due to proximity, they are in a better position to respond to your questions or concerns.
Regards, _Bob