14

3.9 based on 14 customer reviews

7
3
2
0
2
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Outstanding product!

XAV-AX210 29/05/2019 by steinway b (USA)

I had this radio installed with a backup camera in my 2008 VW EOS last month as my teenage daughter is learning how to drive and I wanted to have a backup camera like my newer car has. I also liked the fact that it came with Apple Carplay. The unit looks stock as you are able to customize the background colors of the controls so was able to easily match the red theme of the dash. You can also change the wallpaper background if you'd like even adding a custom photo, but I chose to keep the stock default blue background. The FM receiver pulls in tons of stations, the CD player sounds great, and the Apple Carplay works flawlessly. I did update the firmware to the most current version, and that was an easy process. While there are many units out there that offer more bells and whistles, I really like the fact that it looks stock, it doesn't have a lot of distractions in the display, the display dims when the headlights are on (and you can adjust how dim you'd like it to go), and you can easily turn off the display. The volume control knob is also a great plus. In summary, if you are looking for an OEM look, simply controlled and great sounding radio, I do not think you will go wrong with this one.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

my volume knob is stuck, wont turn left or right

XAV-AX210 09/03/2020 by tranaz (USA)

over a year, volume button stuck, don t know where to get it fix, please help sony please help me fix it, unit still work but the remote control isnt as good as the volume knob

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

14 Customer Reviews

0

Great Features

XAVAX210 08/10/2020 by Team611 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been in love with Sony radios for about 20 years now. The XAVAX210 is performing great so far. The touch screen is easy to use, and the remote is easy to use. This was the only Data radio available from Sony at the time of purchase. I who Sony will add more Data radios to their line up to give customers more options.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

USB cable is garbage

XAV-AX210 17/07/2020 by Jworsky (USA)

I bought this unit in April of this year. After one month every time I hit a bumper the usb cable would stop reading. I had to removed the unit and wiggle the cord for it to work. I thought it may of been my cord but it wasn't. Now fighting with Sony because 1. They do not want to send me a upgraded unit due to this issue being known 2. Their customer service is horrible

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

great features

XAVAX210 11/05/2020 by depling01 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

got as a replacement for a defective head unit. has great features. works great. love the android auto it is layed out great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/05/2020

Hi depling01, awesome! we are glad that you are satisfied with your purchase. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing Sony! -Erin

0

Hands Down the Best Aftermarket Head Unit

XAV-AX210 12/04/2020 by Greek Audiophile (USA)

Been a year or so since I've bought this unit. I felt guilty for always forgetting to come back and leave a review. You cannot go wrong with this head unit. Perfectly designed and resonates quality. As always Sony delivers. The reviews don't do this product enough justice. Literally has everything you need. EVEN steering wheel controls (that feature surprised me actually). I hope Sony plans to keep this unit in their lineup for many years to come, for when I need to install another. The only constructive criticism/improvement would be providing wireless Android Auto / Apple Car Play. Would be nice if they offered a 75 RMS x 4 channel pro option (I understand this has limits due to heat transfer in such as small envelope and external constraining factors).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/04/2020

Hi Greek Audiophile, Awesome! We're thrilled to hear that this is what you're looking for in a car stereo. We appreciate your feedback about your xav-ax210. Thanks for choosing Sony. -Sam

0

my volume knob is stuck, wont turn left or right

XAV-AX210 09/03/2020 by tranaz (USA)

over a year, volume button stuck, don t know where to get it fix, please help sony please help me fix it, unit still work but the remote control isnt as good as the volume knob

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/03/2020

Hi tranaz,

I am glad that the unit still works. However, I am also sorry if the volume button was stuck. It seems that the car stereo requires service already. Please contact United radio, our Authorized facility for repair assistance or visit https://us.esupport.sony.com/support/s/service?language=en_US for information on how to reach them.

You may also contact your seller or dealer for local service options.


Sincerely,
Erin

0

SOUND QUALITY STEALS THE SHOW

XAV-AX210 18/01/2020 by JOHNNY19 (USA)

I PUT THIS UNIT WITH XM RADIO IN A 2019 TACOMA. THE FACTORY RADIO WITH NAVIGATION WAS FINE BUT APPLE CARPLAY IS FAR SUPERIOR SO I WENT WITH SONY BECAUSE ALL OF MY SONY PRODUCTS ARE GREAT. YES IT DOES BOOT SLOW AND I HAD RANDOM BACK UP CAMERA ISSUES ALSO. IN THE MAESTRO SETTINGS I PLAYED AROUND WITH THE CAMERA SETTINGS AND DID SOMETHING THAT SEEMED TO RESOLVE THIS. IT DOESN'T SEEM TO BE ABLE TO PLAY MP3 CD'S EITHER. THE APPLE CARPLAY IS GREAT. ACCURATE MAPPING, IHEART RADIO AND HANDS FREE PHONE CALLS. NOW THIS IS WHERE THIS THING REALLY SHINES, THE SOUND QUALITY!!! WITH THE 10 BAND GRAPHIC EQ,TWO LEVELS OF BASS BOOST, BALANCE AND FADER, CROSSOVERS, DSO AND 55 WATTS PER SPEAKER. I WAS ABLE TO VERY EASILY DIAL THE SOUND IN TO TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THE NATURAL ACOUSTICS OF THE CABIN OF THE TRUCK AND TOTALLY TRANSFORM THE SOUND COMING FROM THE FACTORY SPEAKERS. IT'S ADDICTING TO LISTEN TO. COMPLETELY CHANGES THE DRIVING EXPERIENCE. YOU CAN HEAR THE SEPARATION FROM ALL OF THE INSTRUMENTS. IT'S WARM AND PUNCHY, SUPER CLEAR AUDIO. THAT TRUCK IS "TOO MUCH" FUN NOW!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony Social Support
20/01/2020

Hello, JOHNNY19!

Great! Good to know that this is what you are looking for in a product. Thanks for choosing Sony. ~Zac

0

Lot of great features and options

XAVAX210 01/01/2020 by Green Onions (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had the radio for little over a month and have enjoyed it.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Leaning how to operate.

XAVAX210 23/12/2019 by JulioG (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just had it installed and not a bit happy nor satisfied with the location (depth) of the volume knob. The volume knob does not stick out enough for regular sized fingers to use (turn). Installer showed option(s) included w/mounting kit and no logical solution. Please help. The unit is an upgrade for what I had and it does sound great.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
27/12/2019

Hello, JulioG!

Awesome! We’re glad you like the product. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Zac

0

Great aftermarket purchase

XAVAX210 10/11/2019 by Tbone54 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wish I had this in all my Vehicles but it’s perfect in my 02 F250.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/11/2019

Hi, Tbone54! We’re glad you like the product. Thank you for choosing Sony. ~Ralph

0

Works ok but....

XAVAX210 24/10/2019 by goatman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pros: Nice display, decent GUI, usable remote control, real volume knob, easy Bluetooth pairing, adjustable output x-overs for outboard amps, works well with Maestro interface. Cons: Slow to start (20-30 secs), no analog audio input, camera input screen pops up randomly, fussy with USB storage devices. At this price point, I expected a smoother user experience and the ability to use an external DAC/audio device. Perhaps future firmware updates will fix some of the cons.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/11/2019

Hi, goatman!

We regret to hear that you're having some issues with this unit. To better isolate the issue, please reset the unit to factory default settings:

https://docs.sony.com/release//Manual_4743453121.pdf (page 18)

Also, make sure that the firmware is up to date:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/downloads/00016142

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Outstanding product!

XAV-AX210 29/05/2019 by steinway b (USA)

I had this radio installed with a backup camera in my 2008 VW EOS last month as my teenage daughter is learning how to drive and I wanted to have a backup camera like my newer car has. I also liked the fact that it came with Apple Carplay. The unit looks stock as you are able to customize the background colors of the controls so was able to easily match the red theme of the dash. You can also change the wallpaper background if you'd like even adding a custom photo, but I chose to keep the stock default blue background. The FM receiver pulls in tons of stations, the CD player sounds great, and the Apple Carplay works flawlessly. I did update the firmware to the most current version, and that was an easy process. While there are many units out there that offer more bells and whistles, I really like the fact that it looks stock, it doesn't have a lot of distractions in the display, the display dims when the headlights are on (and you can adjust how dim you'd like it to go), and you can easily turn off the display. The volume control knob is also a great plus. In summary, if you are looking for an OEM look, simply controlled and great sounding radio, I do not think you will go wrong with this one.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

great features as well as interface

XAV-AX210 29/12/2018 by Btownz (USA)

beautifull touch with the mystro! very easy to use,sony really did do an amazing job on this unit!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Very Solid Device

XAV-AX210 26/11/2018 by Bubbatech (USA)

Early experience has been that this is reliable device with an intuitive interface that is not unnecessarily complex. The integration with the idatalink interface is a worthwhile feature, especially in my case since the PAC interface would not play well with my 2011 Prius. Excellent sound, displays the reverse camera almost instantly even before boot up, apple CarPlay performs well, and control placement allows operation of major functions with minimal distraction. Would buy again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Good over all

XAV-AX210 20/11/2018 by Whisper2000 (USA)

Great radio for the most part but no HD radio and I feel for the price it should have it. Sense there is no GPS. But the rest of the features are great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

4

Response From Sony Social Support
20/11/2018

Hi Whisper2000, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Regards, ^Ron