96

3.2 based on 96 customer reviews

26
19
18
10
23
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

customize Wallpaper

XAVAX5000 14/05/2019 by Tree Bear (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I want to be able to upload a customized wallpaper like other sony car stereos allow. For some reason, they left this option off this radio. I hope they can fix it!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

15

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Nice clean user interface but has SiriusXM issues

XAV-AX5000 26/05/2018 by jmz15 (USA)

I just installed the AX5000 in my truck. I really like how the user interface is very simple, clean, and responsive. The CarPlay functionality is also very responsive. However, I also have a problem with the sound quality of satellite radio. Using the SiriusXM tuner module I hear a lot of crackling/distortion in the signal, even on simple stuff like the traffic and weather channel. It sounds like the input level is set too high inside the unit and is being clipped/over-driven.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

96 Customer Reviews

0

Great sound and easy interface!

XAV-AX5000 20/05/2020 by Junior217 (USA)

Very happy with this purchase. The sound is great and it's so much easier to use than my previous radio. I have found that the Android Auto issue is with the cable I was using. Once I spoke with my local Sony dealer and bought the 3' Anker USB cable, Android Auto has been great ever since. Highly recommend Sony products!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/05/2020

Hi Junior217, Great! We're glad to hear you're satisfied with your purchase. Thanks for choosing Sony. -Sam

0

Has never worked right

XAV-AX5000 15/05/2020 by Carl34711 (USA)

Lots of issues - doesn't recognize USB device when plugged in, issues with Android Auto and Pixel phones connecting to radio, the list goes on. $$$ spent with a tuner to show for it. Very disappointed.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/05/2020

Hi Carl34711, we regret to hear that you are having multiple issues with your car stereo. This is definitely not the experience we want you to have. Please refer to page 22 of the manual for the troubleshooting steps to follow.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4732/455f40ecf39615259f1d8a12231c8e8f/47320621M.pdf


If this does not help, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

Not impressed

XAVAX5000 05/05/2020 by Sonysucksoverthetop (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The last firmware update after 8 months waiting for a unit shutdown fix failed again. Nobody from Cruthfield can figure out this issue either.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/05/2020

Hello there, we are sorry to hear about this. We understand how frustrating this issue must be. The car stereo receiver may shut off or lose power if there is an issue with a loose or dirty connection. IMPORTANT: It is recommended that all car video and audio installations be performed by a qualified, professional installer. Follow these steps to try to resolve this issue: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/mobile-cd-players-digital-media-players-xav-series/xav-ax5000/articles/00025683

The car stereo has a 1 year manufacturer's warranty. Should you need further assistance, do not hesitate to drop us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

Great radio with one shortfall

XAV-AX5000 03/05/2020  (USA)

I installed this in my 2016 Jeep Wrangler and it is a huge upgrade. The sound settings are perfect and it has great sound. The one weak part is the SXM interface. I have had satellite radio in my cars for 15 years; a combination of factory and after market. All of them have been able to store song and artist alerts as well as direct tune capability...these two features do not exist on this radio. 

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/05/2020

Hi Stevegrady64, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks!

~Earl

0

Dual USB!!!

XAV-AX5000 23/04/2020  (USA)

Worked great for my 2002 Z28. Glare does suck. But other then that 300$ for a double din with CarPlay! Awesome product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/04/2020

Hi ChrisFahQ, we are glad that you are satisfied with your purchase. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing Sony! -Erin

0

Excellent Head Unit

XAV-AX5000 02/04/2020 by Vincent Hardeman (USA)

This is my second head unit. First one was bought over a year ago. Had issues with Home and Option button not working. Customer service replaced without any issues. However, after professional installation and over the warranty period the issues has begun again. No issues with the touchscreen but no response when pressing the home and option button. Reached out to customer support and basically I was told there was nothing they could do. Since I cannot access the home button there is no way to locate the serial number to research issues online. Was in love with the unit now its just a complete nightmare where I am unable to obtain all the features the unit was actually purchased for. Any help or suggestions would be highly appreciated at this time.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/04/2020

Hi Vincent, We regret to hear about what happened. For further assistance with this issue, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Case ID:
Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Look no further, best brand and best model

XAVAX5000 21/03/2020 by saint42 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A while ago I installed a AX1000 in a truck. I was actually surprised by the speed and simplicity of the unit. A couple of weeks ago, I decided to upgrade the radio in my old 2008 Volvo XC90 and picked another well known brand. I was so annoyed by the fact that the unit was sluggish and WAY too many options on the screen. Then I remembered about the AX1000 that I installed in the past. So I ordered the AX5000 because of its big screen, and installed it with success in my 2008 XC90. What a BOMB this unit is. First of all, it starts in NO time. Then you have ZERO useless option showing up on the screen (meaning nothing about AppleCarPlay until you plug an iPhone, and nothing about Android until you plug an Android phone): This allow the screen to be simple and clear. Settings, USB1 and 2, XM, and sound options. Frankly what else do you need? The sound is really great and that's a reminder for me that if someone ask me to install an upgraded unit in their Volvo, I will only work with SONY. No reason to try anything else and be disappointed. Just go to the best right away. For $350, it is absolutely worth it. Having showed in my install to some of my friends, they all regret (no exception)having chose another brand and are trying to send return whatever they have in order to install the same as mine. My favorite 3 things about the unit beside an awesome sound: Speed at which it starts, responsive, and SIMPLE INTERFACE

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/03/2020

Hi saint42, we appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you! ~Earl

0

Everything I need

XAVAX5000 06/03/2020 by Bmcgarah (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the easy to use functions of this radio, I have been using the CarPlay feature on my Harley Davidson SGS, and so far it’s holding up without any issues, the only flaw is direct sunlight on the screen makes it difficult to see being out in the sunlight on a motorcycle but in a car would probably not be an issue. Love it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/03/2020

Hi Bmcgarah,

We're glad that the functions of the media receiver. We do appreciate providing us your feedback for the betterment of our product. Thanks for choosing Sony.

~Ralph

0

Oh my goodness. The sound is horrible!

XAV-AX5000 25/02/2020 by Slice0flife (USA)

Wow. I love the display, and the simpleness but boy... It’s so flat and I can’t get any quality out of ANY song. it turned my stock speakers into muddled music with no range whatsoever. I would rather have no music than this. Awful product. I’m usually a huge fan of SONY but this was their chance to win me over cause I usually buy Pioneer. Guess not. You lost me like Android has every time they entice me. I’m even considering moving to XBOX. SONY has been very lackluster as of recently. I’m just disappointed cause I like Sony. I do...I really wanted to like this but I would rather have my stock radio with no features cause it doesn’t make my ears bleed.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

Response From Sony Social Support
26/02/2020

@Slice0flife, Thank you for sharing this feedback. Don't worry, we are working hard to make Sony better. -Zac

0

Disappointed

XAV-AX5000 09/02/2020 by Thumbs18 (USA)

Made it exactly 12 months with no issues. 2 weeks after warranty expires the USB input stops working. Go figure. Sony says “ too bad, buy another unit”.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/02/2020

Hi, Thumbs18,

I'm sorry to hear about this issue with your car stereo. Make sure the files from your USB device do not exceed the maximum capacity of folders or files that your car stereo can recognize: https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/articles/00223275. You can also format the USB drive and test it again.

If still getting the same issue, kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com with your case number and the following details:

Name:
Sony Website Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:


Sincerely,

Vincent
Sony Social Support

0

Sony XAV-AX5000/Q is an Excellent Radio

XAVAX5000 20/01/2020 by TGerm (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellant Radio, easy to install, this radio outperformed my expedtations by far, I would buy it again if I sold my vehicle.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good product lacks some detail.

XAVAX5000 11/01/2020 by RL Sink (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Need the ability to change wall paper, only because of this I should have chosen a different unit.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/01/2020

Hi, RL Sink!

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
David

0

Lacking features for something of this decade

XAV-AX5000 10/01/2020 by yoshiismyhomeboy (USA)

Came in the truck I bought. Was originally pretty excited to see a double din touch screen but became very disappointed when I discovered how little features it has. Not being able to add a custom wallpaper in 2019 is a joke. Much better with a pioneer or cheap tablet

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/01/2020

Hi, yoshiismyhomeboy!

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
David

0

Awesome Receiver, Quick Boot Time

XAV-AX5000 30/12/2019 by GoeHeels (USA)

I bought this head unit along with the Sony XM-S400D Amplifier and could not be more impressed. The system boots quick. The interface is immediate. CarPlay is fantastic. When connected with the amplifier the sound is crazy clear and loud.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Like its looks and features

XAVAX5000 11/12/2019 by Tom42 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have had this radio about 2 or 3 weeks and am very happy with it.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor connection with android

XAV-AX5000 21/11/2019 by Bradki (USA)

I have a s10 plus phone all updates done and will connect to head unit for 2-10 minutes and then disconnect and say USB device not supported I reconnect couple minutes later same issue. Tried with my wife's phone and my work phone and same issues. Very disappointed I paid 1300 to have installed with camera and it's just a touch screen radio now.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

8

1

Response From Sony Social Support
25/11/2019

Hello, Bradki!

We regret to hear about this experience, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details so we can help you out:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:



Sincerely,

Zac
Sony Social Support

0

CarPlay Issues, Lack of Features

XAV-AX5000 19/11/2019 by KVW4 (USA)

Expectations were let down in almost every department other than screen size. Yes, the screen is large, and there is even an equalizer...but that's pretty much all you get with this unit. CarPlay rarely works as intended. Restarting unit, updating firmware, restarting phone, shorter cables...every "solution" exhausted and still nothing from Sony. I really wanted to like this unit, but I really don't. SONY, fix the problem and release firmware updates. Please stop pretending like resetting units is going to fix an across-the-board problem with your product.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

10

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/11/2019

Hi, KVW4!

Thanks for the feedback. For us to better assist you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:


Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
 
Sincerely,
David

0

Great Unit!!

XAV-AX5000 18/11/2019 by JeepJK (USA)

I use this in my Jeep Wrangler & love the carplay feature. Over all it is a great unit

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

I love it

XAV-AX5000 25/10/2019 by Lukifer (USA)

I have had this unit for six months now the capacitive touch screen over resistive, was the kicker for me It works so well I am afraid to upgrade the firmware ( if it ain't broke don't try to fix it) once every three months or so the the screen will glitch or go dark home and back fixes the glitch and restarting the car the dark. When installing I had the issue with the dropping of the phone I fixed that and haven't had a problem by routing the actual USB connection on the back of the unit to the key tray under the unit in front of the shifter and hooking my USB cable directly into the units USB connecter. Problem solved hope this helps somebody who is having issues. Works great with my Pixel 3 XL Only wish they would drop Sirius for maestro integration or just give us the ability to remove the Sirius icon

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/11/2019

Hello, Lukifer! Thanks for the 5-star review! We are happy to hear that you love the performance and quality of our xav-ax5000. We will surely take note of your feedback to improve our products and services. Thank you so much for choosing Sony! - Romeo

0

Simple operation

XAV-AX5000 18/10/2019 by Sunzu (USA)

You don't buy a Sony for its software which is best described as 'simple' and a bit clunky or it's phone connectivity. You buy a Sony for its signal processor which everyone knows is the best. They don't make Walkmans that cost $3000 for no reason, but their $170 one sounds terrific. My AX5000 makes it very easy to get perfect sound with the bare minimum of adjustment.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/10/2019

Hi, Sunzu!

We are glad that you are happy with your purchase. We appreciate sharing your lovely feedback and thank you for choosing Sony!

Erin

0

Galaxy S7 Edge constantly needs to be reconnected

XAV-AX5000 10/10/2019 by JMCJR (USA)

I bought this 2 days ago and had it professionally installed, I am completely disappointed. I bought it SPECIFICALLY to work with my Android phone(Samsung S7 Edge). It works fine for about 3-10 minutes at a time then disconnects. I tried reviewing every setting on the phone and the Sony 5000. With no luck. Now on Sony forums I am reading that This Unit the 5000 has had this compatibility issue for a long time? Something that people are changing to a shorter USB cord out the back of the head unit? How the heck do I figure that out?

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/10/2019

Hi, JMCJR!

We’re sorry to hear you did not have a great experience. To isolate the issue, please try to use a shorter USB cable. Also, try to connect another android phone if possible.

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Sam

0

Amazing Headunit

XAV-AX5000 04/10/2019 by MrMoo (USA)

Most of these reviews complain about one little thing and bump the raiting down to 2 or 3. You should do research before spending hundreds on something. If it doesn't have the features you need don't buy it! This headunit is super responsive. It made my stock system sound better. Android Auto and Carplay work flawless (if it doesn't replace your usb cable).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/10/2019

Hi, MrMoo!

We're very glad to hear that! Thank you for your balanced and fair review of the unit!

Regards,
Sam

0

Pretty Averege

XAV-AX5000 16/09/2019 by Jaswinder (USA)

I got this unit installed a week ago in 2013 Camry. I mainly bought this to use apple and android Car play. When I use the Waze app with android auto the top One-inch area is little blurry and it does't show the name of the road you are on as the Waze app shows on your phone.The second problem I encounter with my steering wheel controls. In my Camry I can not use the call button anymore instead I have to use voice to make a phone call. As a non-native English speaker it is not that easy to make Siri or google understand what you saying. I should be able to zoom in on maps and keep my desired settings as default but that option is not there. other than that its a good looking unit with a very responsive screen. I hope sony will consider addressing these issues in their next firmware update.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/09/2019

Hi, Jaswinder!

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
David

0

Best looking headunit...and that's it...run away!

XAV-AX5000 15/09/2019 by ericperry72 (USA)

I have had this unit since 3/2019 and I love the look. People think it's OEM in my Jeep Grand Cherokee. Problem is the unit itself in regards to Android auto. Useless. I have updated the firmware, same issue, random disconnect, shutdown, I even went out and purchased a new Android phone, LG Stylo 4..same issue. I used the oem cable that came with the phone, same issue. Then tried it with a Note 10+...same issue. So not only can I not okay CD's, as this is a media player unit and it's what I wanted, but Android audio doesn't work with dropping. The car audio shop replaced the headunit...same issue. I give up. Sony I thought you were back esp after your amps and that nice hi-res headunit but now...I can't recommend your product. And 2v output? And lack of a decent xover section with some form of DSP is crazy considering what pioneer and Kenwood offer in their media only models. I would sell this radio but I don't wanna scam somebody else.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

6

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/09/2019

Hi, ericperry72!

We are sorry to hear about what happened. Please allow us to help you. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:


Regards,

Erin

0

Update

XAV-AX5000 14/09/2019  (USA)

After reading all the issues with Apple CarPlay I wish I had seen these reviews before purchasing. I tried a couple things I read about for trouble shooting. Changing cables-didn't work. Reboot my phone - didn't work. Deleting "Sony" from Car play memory - worked twice. Then I had to reboot the phone again. Worked once, then no longer worked even though I was removing Sony from Car play EVERY SINGLE TIME I UNPLUGGED THE PHONE. I bought this for the Car play. Obviously the reviews I read were from people that had the product for a short time. Piece of carp and waste of money.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

3

Response From Sony Social Support
16/09/2019

Hello, RP68pissed!

We regret to hear about this experience, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details so we can help you out:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:



Sincerely,

Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Great while it worked

XAVAX5000 14/09/2019 by Ronp68 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about six weeks ago, it was installed five weeks ago and now Apple CarPlay does not work. I have switched cables, using multiple cables. Sporadically it will work, maybe once every ten times yet it shows the phone is charging every single time. I have rebooted my phone- no luck. Reading the warranty it says I need to send the radio in. I didn't install it for a reason, Im certainly not going to try to remove it. I will call customer service tomorrow to see how frustrated they can make me.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

4

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/09/2019

Hello, Ronp68!

We sincerely regret that you're having an issue with your car stereo receiver. Let's try to isolate this by performing some troubleshooting steps on the links below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/mobile-cd-players-digital-media-players-xav-series/xav-ax5000/articles/00199422
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/mobile-cd-players-digital-media-players-xav-series/xav-ax5000/articles/00008075

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Romeo
Sony Social Support

0

Bad Wrap

XAV-AX5000 13/09/2019 by BlurryFace (USA)

So I have to admit, I was a bit reluctant after reading all of the reviews about this head unit, but I took the plunge anyways and couldn't be happier. What piqued my interest was the obvious, Android auto and Apple carplay after playing around with a few of my friends' cars that had these features. I had the unit professionally installed and have not had a single problem with it. The display is very responsive, Android auto works flawlessly and the power out of this thing is enough to make my rear view mirror vibrate with pretty much any song with the volume at 1/3 it's capacity. I'm convinced the negative reviews may be due to user error because I absolutely love this thing.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/09/2019

Hi, BlurryFace!

We appreciate sharing your review of your car stereo. We're happy to hear that the feature work flawlessly. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Erin

0

Affordable

XAV-AX5000 03/09/2019 by Michael_ATL (USA)

I am very disappointed by the quality of this stereo. Software crashes on apple car play and sometimes doesn't read the USB 1 port. I changed the cable but no improvements. I checked the software version and it is up to date. I would not buy this thing again.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

3

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/09/2019

Hi, Michael_ATL!

We regret to hear about what happened. You may try resetting the unit to help isolate the issue (refer to page 17):
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4732/455f40ecf39615259f1d8a12231c8e8f/47320621M.pdf

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony Website Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

Nice package but alas, CarPlay is unreliable

XAV-AX5000 23/08/2019 by E477 (USA)

Just purchased this unit. I like everything about it, except that CarPlay is unreliable. Sometimes it works, most of the time, not. I spent a lot of money to purchase the unit and get it installed with a backup camera. And the one feature I really wanted was CarPlay. Why is there no CarPlay icon on the screen to invoke it if the cable connection doesn't work? I've done all the troubleshooting steps, reset the unit, checked phone restrictions, swapped cables, etc. It just doesn't recognize the phone as being CarPlay enabled most of the time when it's plugged in. What a big disappointment. I'm taking it back and getting a competitive product.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

5

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/08/2019

Hi E477,

I understand that your xav-ax5000 is having issues with Carplay. Please try following the steps on the link below:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/mobile-cd-players-digital-media-players-xav-series/xav-ax5000/articles/00227942


If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Amazon Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Earl

0

Terrible Purchase

XAV-AX5000 09/08/2019 by Morgan24 (USA)

Bought my first AX-5000 in May, had it professionally installed and had an issue of not being able to hear people on the other end of the phone call. Sony sent a replacement radio to try and solve the initial issue. When I had the second radio professionally installed the same issue arose where no sound would come out of the speakers when on a phone call. BT radio worked, but never on phone calls. When I contacted Sony about a refund due to fear of the 3rd radio not working as well, I was informed that they couldn’t guarantee a refund, only a replacement and they could not reimburse any money paid for either install. I will never purchase another Sony radio period.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

4

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/08/2019

Hi, Morgan24!

We are sorry to hear what happened. To further help you, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Case Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


-Erin

0

Don't waste your money

XAV-AX5000 08/08/2019 by Jenn7522 (USA)

I bought this specifically for Android Auto and it never works. I have tried different cables etc. Nope. Junk. I can't make it 5 miles without it shutting down, freezing, etc. Save your money and buy something better.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/08/2019

Hello, Jenn7522!

Please try to reset the car stereo and try again. See link below on how to.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4732/455f40ecf39615259f1d8a12231c8e8f/47320621M.pdf (page 8)

Regards,
David

0

Very easy to use!

XAVAX5000 20/07/2019 by Waterboy (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the apple car play and Sirius radio and it’s so easy to use. Brought my 2006 Tacoma back to life!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Apple CarPlay does not work!

XAV-AX5000 28/06/2019 by Jon O (USA)

This unit is fantastic and I could say so many great things about it but there’s one glaring issue. Apple CarPlay does not work, I’ve tested several phones and several cables and nothing makes it work. I always get “usb device not supported”. Or it might actually connect for a second then it starts freezing and eventually stops entirely and disconnects. Sony please help me with Apple CarPlay. I’m not the only one on this issue. Several people on the forums have this issue. I’m on the latest firmware.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/08/2019

Hi, Jon O!

We regret to hear about this. It seems like you already manage to perform some troubleshooting steps. If none of those steps worked, the unit may require service. To further assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony store Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:
Best Time to Call:


Sincerely,
Sam

0

Car Play not supporting

XAV-AX5000 29/05/2019 by Dalip (USA)

Excilent to use & touch panel but not supporting car play

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

5

0

Great product.

XAV-AX5000 26/05/2019 by Davis246 (USA)

I love this receiver. I wanted it from the first day I saw it on Sony website. The features are good. I have an android so the android auto works.. ( you need to download the app on your phone ) . I just wished it played videos like Netflix and others

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

customize Wallpaper

XAVAX5000 14/05/2019 by Tree Bear (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I want to be able to upload a customized wallpaper like other sony car stereos allow. For some reason, they left this option off this radio. I hope they can fix it!

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

15

0

0

Terrible Device /Lack of Support & Poor Car Play

XAV-AX5000 07/05/2019 by Unhappy_Sony_buyer (USA)

Main reason for purchase was to support Apple Car Play - it does not as of March 2019. Bluetooth reception is poor unless phone is close to the receiver. Looking to trade it in.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

3

4

Response From Sony Social Support
08/05/2019

Hello Unhappy_Sony_buyer,

We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name, your contact details and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you.

Regards,
Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Very Smooth.... But I Wish It Had MirrorLink!!!!

XAV-AX5000 06/05/2019 by NC508 (USA)

Very nice looking and sounding radio... The system's touch screen works very smooth and is also easy to understand the day to day operations of the radio.... My only complaint is there is not enough features like MirrorLink, A/V Inputs, Or a simple AUX plug... I understand that everything works threw the USB 1 or 2 on this radio but a few more features would put this radio over the top on all the other "high-end" systems out there..

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

Response From Sony Social Support
07/05/2019

Hi NC508, We value your opinion and we would like to apologize if our product did not meet your expectations. Please be assured we take this very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products. Regards, -Erin

0

Not waterproof

XAV-AX5000 30/04/2019 by NO H (USA)

I had this installed in my 2016 CVO SG and the installer did not ask me the type of riding I do. I ride whenever, wherever. I don't trailer my bike. Well one slight rain day in Dallas and I lost all my display. Carplay functions work when I plug in my phone but I have nothing on the display. I loved the radio prior to this day and Lucky 7 Customs Cycles did nothing to help me out so most likely I will be going back to stock HD head unit until someone comes out with a waterproof unit.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

24

Response From Sony Social Support
30/04/2019

Hello NO H,

Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Love it

XAV-AX5000 17/04/2019 by JNM3 (USA)

I had the 5000 installed on my Harley and it's a world of difference.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Simple and clean

XAVAX5000 12/04/2019 by Frankielb72 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was a great deal on a multimedia product. Went online to crutchfield, got the kit and harness. Done, sleek and loud for a head unit

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Pretty disappointed

XAV-AX5000 08/04/2019 by jamills68 (USA)

I’ve had this system and I’m not so satisfied , they did not get the rear view camera hooked up so it only comes on when you are in reverse , I have to manually go to camera and turn it on and off. The call back quality isn’t so great , and last it has glitches where it has lost my settings and once it went to rear view camera and I had no control of system at all . When I had arrived home and turned key off and removed it then it functioned again. This is a lot to deal with for a 400 buck piece of equipment .

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

3

Response From Sony Social Support
10/04/2019

Hi jamills68, Thank you for your feedback on your experience with your car stereo. We are sorry for any inconvenience you had experienced. Please be assured we take this very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products. We will forward this to a relevant team. -Erin

0

apple carplay and simplicity, perfect

XAV-AX5000 08/04/2019 by Pablo Jr (USA)

I bought it about a month or 2 ago, the head unit powers up instantly and connects to my phone in no time. For the price I could not find anything better with the same elegant look and features. Plan on adding a back up camera eventually so that is also a major plus. Cannot beat the value, and its a Sony which means it will outlast my car. Only downside is not being able to upload images to display as screen wall paper.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Extremely annoying

XAV-AX5000 03/04/2019 by Michigan worker (USA)

I use my truck for work. It's somewhat of a mobile office. This keeps disconnecting while on the phone with clients, disconnects from gps while in route to job sites, and WONT disconnect my phone when I turn my truck off. I'm constantly calling clients back after my car stereo drops them. Constantly disconnects my phone. The bottom model factory stereo worked all the time. I can't go an hour without some error, disconnect, then total restart. How is it still connected to my phone when I turn my truck off away? Same for both of my phones. AA takes over my phone controls so I can't switch to the headset. WARNING, AVOID THIS UNIT 2017 RAM 3500 Samsung S9...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

2

Response From Sony Social Support
06/04/2019

Hi Michigan worker, we regret that the car stereo failed your expectation and our apologies for the inconvenience this caused you. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email for further assistance. Hope to hear from you.


Regards,
Erin

0

Good features after a day. Will post more later!

XAVAX5000 09/03/2019 by mboatner (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sounds great so far! Will cone back after we've used iy so far and elaborate, but so far so good!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Worth Every Penny.

XAV-AX5000 10/02/2019 by Uncle Nutzy (USA)

I bought this for my Nissan Xterra (standard factory 6 speaker sound system not the Rockford Fosgate premium system so no factory amp or subwoofer) and am very impressed with the wide range of functions and capability yet operation is so simple. The touch screen is very responsive and intuitive without being overly sensitive and fingerprints/smudges don't show as much as others I've seen. The display is bright and clear but not glaring. The sound output is breathtaking with crystal clear highs, mid ranges are not papery at all and bass is layered, deep and full with zero distortion at high volume. Works flawlessly with android auto using Waze and Spotify apps. I see some people reporting problems here and I think those may be due to them having bluetooth and USB 1 (Car Play/Android Auto) connected simultaneously. Use a good USB cable and disable bluetooth completely (not just disconnected but DISABLED) on your phone before connecting to Android Auto or Apple carplay. The backup camera is fantastic. The remote is good to have mainly for skipping tracks and adjusting volume without having to reach out to the unit and though I have seen much worse it could benefit from being a little more tactile and intuitive. The volume buttons are easy to locate though. I am beyond happy with this puchase. It doesn't just improve the vehicles sound system it improves the entire driving experience through better, broader yet simpler functionality, enhanced safety and refinement. I highly reccomend this unit for just about anyone.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Good Unit

XAV-AX5000 10/02/2019 by BIG MOOSE (USA)

Got the unit for Christmas and I installed it myself. Great sounding unit. Only issue is that I can't use the USB cables for my Apple I-POD that I wish I could.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Nice Unit but with Issues

XAVAX5000 24/01/2019 by lawmac (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this unit primarily for the Android Auto function. When it works, it works great, but there seems to be a problem that I do not think is unique to this particular unit but all after markets units. The USB connection is very sensitive and will disconnect the phone from the head unit without warning. All I can recommend is using the best quality USB cable available. My particular phone uses a Type C which appears to be even more sensitive than other types of cable connectors. I usually have to disconnect the cable from the phone and reconnect, and AA will run again.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Horrible Voice call quality

XAV-AX5000 21/01/2019 by Jimbo33 (USA)

Let’s start off with the good. CarPlay is responsive and works well. I don’t spend much time outside of CarPlay, as the Bluetooth calling and folder music search features are rather clunky. Now the bad. I’ve had this unit for 3 months, and have upgraded firmware, tried 3 different mics, and still have terrible voice call quality whether on Bluetooth or over Carplay. I get cutouts on the speakers during a call, but never with radio or music playing. The call receiver consistently cannot hear me, and says it sounds like I’m talking from inside a fishbowl. Putting the OEM car stereo back in immediately solves phone call distortion, as does using airpods, so this is not a poor cell reception or location issue. It only involves this unit. It so bad with this unit, that I pop in airpods for a call, then have to remove so music will play from the speakers afterwards. There’s been many wasted hours on tech support, and tearing the dash apart to try different mics, mic locations, and eventually trying the OEM stereo (which sadly works flawlessly). I’ve been a devout Sony purchaser for 20 years, but never again for automotive.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

5

0

Great sound

XAV-AX5000 13/01/2019 by dinoroar (USA)

I had a fun time installing this device in my 2002 Honda CRV, but it worked out at the end. Great sounding system. The only thing that caught me by surprise was that you have to use the USB cord for android auto and carplay, but that was my fault.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Screen goes blank

XAVAX5000 12/01/2019 by Bonefish (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

With in a few hours of installation the screen went blank, you have to hit the home button then select whatever function you were using and it comes back up. Sometimes steering controls work and sometimes not.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/01/2019

Hello Bonefish, we do apologize for the inconvenience. You may try to reset the unit to its factory default settings. Kindly refer to the link below to know how:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4732/455f40ecf39615259f1d8a12231c8e8f/47320621M.pdf, see pages 16 to 17.
Regards, _Bob

0

Amazing!!!!

XAV-AX5000 08/01/2019 by OrangeAvy (USA)

The sound quality of this radio is amazing!! Super easy to use and the Apple CarPlay is great. Google maps and Waze work amazing! A must buy!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great upgrade for Harley Davidson

XAV-AX5000 08/01/2019 by Brnrbr247 (USA)

Bought unit for my Harley Davidson and it works great. Screen looks sleek mounted in dash and is very visible during the day when riding. I liked it so much I had 2 more installed in my vehicles.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Absolutely the BEST Value!!

XAV-AX5000 08/01/2019 by Reillys77 (USA)

I absolutely love this unit! Super clean design, easy user interface and CarPlay works flawlessly

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Best CarPlay unit on the market

XAV-AX5000 08/01/2019 by Caraudioguy (USA)

Fast, responsive, easy to use, not over done with complicated features and menus

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

great value, great features

XAV-AX5000 07/01/2019 by ghettojay (USA)

Great unit easy to use. Looks great indash and sounds amazing

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best in dash on the market.

XAV-AX5000 07/01/2019 by Dobslob (USA)

I can’t say enough good things about this piece. It seems most reviews complain that it isn’t something else, but I’m thrilled with what it is and what it does. I have had zero issues with my iPhone connected to the radio and it does everything I want. I will have one in every vehicle that I can fit one into.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Does not work with ipod Touch

XAV-AX5000 29/12/2018 by NickAudio (USA)

Bought the unit to use with ipod touch, will not read using USB. Is there a fix to this or do I need to return it?!

3

18

Response From Sony Social Support
04/01/2019

Hi NickAudio,

This Car stereo is only compatible with the following:

USB flash drive, digital media player, Android™ phone using the USB port. You may connect your iPod touch if it supports Bluetooth connections.

0

Looks good but Functions weirdly

XAV-AX5000 29/12/2018 by EDisEPIC (USA)

I bought this thinking I was getting a high end product and in some aspects I did. The unit itself looks nice, runs noticeably fast on Android Auto and the back up camera and radio functions work great. But Android Auto on this unit is buggy. The screen will randomly go grey making you exit completely to restore what you were doing or will randomly just exit to the stock Sony screen which then you have to click on the AA button to go back to AA and then you have to go back into maps and let the maps recalulate. all these things take away from the safety aspect of having a smart/Android auto unit.and for costing as much as it does I expected better. I really hope that Sony releases a firmware update with some fixes. these bugs are present on my Pixel 3, OnePlus 6T and Samsung Galaxy S7. None of these bugs have showed up on any other Android auto units I've used. The last thing I think this unit needs is a brightness slider for the rear camera. my camera is really washed out with this unit and if I had the ability to tone it down that'd be great

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

13

0

AA works great but Bluetooth calls are an issue

XAV-AX5000 20/12/2018 by DanNJ (USA)

Had this unit for over a month and had to have a second one installed due to poor call quality through Bluetooth and AA. Speakers are crackling when on a call. No issues with playing music or receiving directions from AA. Unit is bright, responsive, and fast. playing music off a thing drive is tedious and you can only shuffle within one folder so if you have music organized by band and then album no dice on shuffling that discography you proudly made. Truly hope Sony is able to address these or I'll be looking for a new unit and a refund

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

11

Response From Sony Social Support
22/12/2018

Hi DanNJ, we regret that the car stereo failed to meet your expectations. Have you tried resetting the unit to isolate the issue? If not yet, we recommend doing so.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4732/455f40ecf39615259f1d8a12231c8e8f/47320621M.pdf


Regards,
Erin

0

Android Auto drops, Charges slow, the rest works

XAV-AX5000 20/12/2018 by AlessioTheTruth (USA)

Well. You buy this unit because it has android auto. Which is very problematic on my android OnePlus3t phone. Fully updated new firmware installed on the head unit. My phone is the latest android 8.0.0 i found it to work better when i removed facial unlock features. Now i have to restart my phone once a day to get it to work. All the music apps have to be opened on the phone first then you can get them o function on the head unit. Pretty dissapointed. Hope they fix this if its on sony side ,which i believe it is since my phone works fine on my mothers subaru with built in AA and Carplay 2018 model. I also tried my fathers onplus 5t and the same issues with this head unit. The other features work fine, radio is great, back up camera which i installed is great. The phone option works wonderfully and everyone can hear me fine with no funny noises or echoes.=, honestly the phone is the best part of this head unit which i use often. THE FAST CHARGING is the opposite. NOT FAST its actually so slow that if your phone is on it will drain while plugged in. NOT GOOD, especially if your phone is on and running apps while charging, my 7-eleven charger with 2.1 and 1.1 amps work much faster. Head unit always tells m it does not recognize my usb source when using my phone to play songs off it. had to get a usb stick and even then it was only able to recognize certain file types. movies in mp4 but not mp3 weirdd. If sony doesnt fix this via firmware. Ill never buy another sony head unit ever and instantly go to alpine. Sorry. Wanted to love this headunit but it just has basic core functions that dont work. The screen is responsive, which in 2018 not a shocker but at this point ill take anything I can to brag about this head unit. I hear the 100 model sony is better. Maybe stick with that.,

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

13

Response From Sony Social Support
22/12/2018

Hi AlessioTheTruth, we are sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! ~Erin

0

Nice display, siriusxm and backup camera.

XAVAX5000 08/11/2018 by Nickyd (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works great as advertised. Has siriusxm and backup camera

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Lacking

XAV-AX5000 07/11/2018 by subsquoch (USA)

Installed this into my wifes vehicle. Updated the firmware. Unit works fine but is lacking in terms of features. My main complaint is that her new 6th gen, 32gb, Ipod touch isnt compatible with this unit via either of the USB ports. When I connect the touch via BT I am able to make the connection and play the music but I cannot select different folders - I can only listen to the music in the order it is in the ipod and when all songs from a particular artist are played, the music stops. Pretty disappointed...

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

20

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/11/2018

Hi subsquoch, thank you for sharing your feedback about the unit. I will have your feedback forwarded to the relevant department as we always looking to make Sony better. Once again, thank you. Regards, ~Erin

0

You get Android auto and good sound but thats it.

XAV-AX5000 05/11/2018 by 9walker (USA)

If you are looking for a unit that plays music and do android auto. This is it. Android auto works perfectly. The sound quality is exceptional. But come on!! Its year 2018 and I cant change the wallpaper or customize desktop. Is that too much to ask for a 400 dollars unit?

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

15

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/11/2018

Hi 9walker, thank you very much for taking the time to share your concerns with us. Sony takes the voice of our customers very seriously and hearing all feedback - good and bad is important to us. We appreciate your feedback. Regards, ^Ron

0

It Would be a great Head Unit.....

XAV-AX5000 26/10/2018 by Bevinet (USA)

As far as I am aware this is pretty much the top of the line, but Android Auto is failing and see lots of people in the support forum having the same experience as I am. My installer did a great job and the unit works fine, but AA keeps disconnecting and I know this is not an issue with my phone or cables as my wifes car (which has AA) is just fine. In my opinion, Sony need to provide an update for this to fix these know issues. I have no idea if Apple Car Play has similar issues or not.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

13

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/10/2018

Hi Bevinet, Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/. Regards, -Erin

0

JoJo-75

XAV-AX5000 21/10/2018 by JoJo 75 (USA)

Had this for awhile now and have found some odd quirks with this unit. First, when starting a song using Carplay, the very beginning gets chopped off. Same happens when making a call, Siri’s voice gets chopped off at the beginning when she asks, Who do you want to call. Happens all the time. Also happens when she reads a text back to you. Secondly, I periodically lose my eq settings when using Carplay. The 10 band eq reverts back to off, the fader changes my speaker settings to front only, and the Extra bass shuts off completely. Again, these 3 things happen all at once when this issue occurs but oddly enough I have found that if you just change your output source to Sirius, or AM/FM, the settings revert back to where you had them, keeping you from having the manually fix all of the above settings. Again, only happens while using Carplay. Very frustrating while driving. I applaud them for fixing the Sirius issue with the first firmware update but I’m hoping they don’t abandon this stereo as I’ve noticed they’ve rolled out 3 new Carplay units. Sidenote, I also have purchased an XAV-AX3000 which is very simliar, and am having the same exact issues with that unit as well.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

9

0

Decent, but not worth the price

XAV-AX5000 17/10/2018 by Joshuadj22 (USA)

This head unit was decent, but nothing worth getting excited about. The display was average, there were NO customization options in the menus (no changing wallpaper, changing icons, setting a timed dimmer and so much more) you will get bored quickly. It does a great job with Android auto. That is the center piece of this device. I returned my unit.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

12

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/10/2018

Hi Joshuadj22,

We regret to hear that this unit have to be returned, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services, we're always looking to make Sony better.

We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
Zac

0

Lack of basic features

XAV-AX5000 11/10/2018 by NAVIGATOR0790 (USA)

No custom Wallpapers or the option to change the buttons lights, beside that it’s a nice sterio.....simple and elegant:-) .....Sony please update it with the missing basic features that every other manufactory normally include in their product

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

21

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/10/2018

Hi NAVIGATOR0790, thank you very much for taking the time to share your concerns with us. Sony takes the voice of our customers very seriously and hearing all feedback - good and bad is important to us. We appreciate your feedback. Regards, ^Ron

0

Disappointing

XAV-AX5000 05/10/2018 by Jeff Harless (USA)

I bought this after reading reviews under many doubts that it would be everything I wanted. The salesman assured me I could return it if things didn't work out, my biggest concern being my high storage IPOD not working with it. I've used it more than a week now and I do love using Android Auto with the hands free voice controls and Spotify. That does however require me to have Spotify Premium in order to avoid ads and allow the playing of albums in their entirety. There has been a time or 2 that it's needed reset but nothing habitual. That's about the extent of what really works though. My 7th generation IPOD classic will not work at all, not recognized. No way at all to play it through the USB inputs. Using it is going to require me to get a Bluetooth adaptor and use it that way. People have mentioned before that any device over 32G will not be recognized, but it also does not recognize my wife's IPOD touch of 32G. I'm seriously doubting anything besides a phone is going to be recognized with the USB ports, so rather pointless having 2 of them that aren't going to work with anything. Miss my high storage music greatly on the IPOD being controlled by the head unit as was my old stereo. So added expense of Bluetooth adaptor and IPOD will now have to be charged on cigarette lighter with separate source. Spotify to me is nothing but annoying without being ad free and full albums, so there's that monthly expense to make this unit somewhat enjoyable. Seems like they could have made this thing a LOT more compatible with other common tech. Will keep it but it's highly annoying to have to buy so much additional equipment and subscriptions to get it functional.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

3

14

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/10/2018

Hi Jeff, Thank you for your feedback on your experience with your car stereo. Please be assured we take this very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products. We'll have this forwarded to the relevant department as we always looking to make Sony better. Once again, thank you. Regards, -Erin

0

Follow up from yesterday's review

XAV-AX5000 03/10/2018 by pkysjcAgain (USA)

I posted a review yesterday (as physic) about CarPlay not working anymore after a phone upgrade. I kept trying things and finallyI got CarPlay working. I had to delete the connection (CarPlay in Settings app), reboot the phone and then reconnect, and now it works. Not sure why, since I did not have to do this with the other car with CarPlay that I use the same phones with. It would have been nice to have some help from Sony on this.. Oh well Now, the big remaining complaint is with Sirius XM.. it just shows channel numbers not names like every other SXM compatible receiver I have ever used. If that was fixed, then I would give it a 5 star rating. Sony would not let me revise the review or post a second one, so I had to do this with a different user name and email address.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Does not work with new iPhone XS Max

XAV-AX5000 03/10/2018 by pkysjc (USA)

I got this about a month ago, and was initially quite happy with it. Good sound, Car Play worked fine with our iPhone X's on iOS 11. I just upgraded the iPhone to an XS Max. The AX5000 does not see it at all. If I try my wife's iPhone X, now with iOS 12, it works fine. My XS Max works fine in our other car with a non-Sony audio system, with full Car Play functionality. So, that says its the Sony unit that is not compatible. I looked at the firmware upgrade instructions, and you need access to BOTH USB ports. Well, my install only has one of them brought out of the dash. So I have to go back to the installer to get him to open things up to do the update. A real major pain! And in a half hour of searching this website, there is NO way to actually ask a question! Lots of FAQ's, none of which cover this situation. Summary, I was quite happy at first, but now I really want to return the unit! Oh by the way.. the Sirius XM works fine, but the display only shows channel numbers, not the channel name. Not so great

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

3

13

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/10/2018

Hi pkysjc,

We regret to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations.
Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services, we're always looking to make Sony better.

We appreciate your time sharing this feedback.

Regards,
Zac

0

Needs another firmware update

XAV-AX5000 13/09/2018 by batomato (USA)

Upgraded my old xav ax100 with the ax5000 but kinda regretting it now. The only thing better than the previous model is the really fast boot up time, bigger screen and the sound quality is a little bit better. also updated the firmware to 1.01 after installation. what i miss from the ax100 is the USB music folder sort, every folder in the flash drive was so organized, and on the ax5000 total opposite. and if you have a lot of files in the drive selecting a folder and song gets really slow or unresponsive. didnt have that problem on the ax100. also had a problem with bluetooth calls once in a while where after placing a call there's no sound coming from the speakers, so i have to hang up then call again. i wouldn't recommend upgrading your ax100 or 200 for the ax5000 if your main source of music is from your usb flash drive until sony fixes this problem.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

6

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/09/2018

Hi batomato, Thank you for your feedback on your experience with your car stereo. We are sorry for any inconvenience you had experienced. Please be assured we take this very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products. You may send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com to further assist you. Erin