22

3.5 based on 22 customer reviews

5
5
9
2
1
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Fantastic Upgrade to my Ultra Limited

XAV-AX7000 11/09/2020 by Flucker Obrien (USA)

This unit exceeded all my expectations. It is so easy to use and navigate. The ability to fine tune the frequencies with the EQ to your exact preferences to me, is worth the price alone. the radio amp ran my Rockford's flawlessly my my Rockford amp went out. on the radio only, the music was crystal clear at 65 plus MPH. I highly recommend this system. I've since removed the Rockford gear and replaced it with the Wild Boar Audio WBA Ultra Kit. Add this to your list of upgrades, blows the RF out of the water!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Had this unit since orderable

XAV-AX7000 06/09/2020 by TheDawgOfWar (USA)

Overall I like this unit and the sound is good. The CarPlay is very glitchy. I have to repeatedly disconnect the USB and reconnect to get it to recognize CarPlay. I have it disconnect and will not recognize CP Until the unit is rebooted. As others have said the fact we are in 2020 and do not have Wireless CarPlay is disappointing. Icons for XM as an example should be able to be reordered or removed. Also limited brightness/contrast controls. I thought that there would be more rapid firmware faster to make the interface better. only web link which is not useful since I bought.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

22 Customer Reviews

0

not happy

XAV-AX7000 21/10/2020 by NICK 2018 (USA)

I PURCHASED THIS RADIO IN MAY 2020 WHEN IT WORKS IT IS GREAT BUT NOT IN THE RAIN TURNS ON TURNS OFF GOES INTO TO DEMO MODE FOR NO REASON BUT IT'S ADV. FOR HARLEY DAVIDSON I DO NOT THINK IT IS WORTH IT

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Great upgrade in My Toyota Tacoma

XAV-AX7000 07/10/2020 by G3150 (USA)

Upgraded the stock radio in my 2015 Toyota Tacoma. My Assessment Pros - Extra power is great. Wasn't looking to install amps and this gets me closer to where I want to be without a huge expense. Installed aftermarket speakers with the unit and the sound is leaps and bounds over what I had before. The extra power really cleans up my music. I did wire power direct to the battery to get the most out of the unit. A little over $1000.00 spent with speakers and installation gear; well worth it! - Simple Interface - many aftermarket radios have some pretty sophisticated interfaces. I particularly enjoy the simple software interface on this unit. I don't have to spend a lot of time staring at the unit trying to figure out what I want to do. - Apple Car play - makes listening to music and using google maps/Maps/Waze pretty easy. Cons - Web Link - I have messed around with it and find it limited especially when it comes to video. Often times I get the audio from the video and no video. As a result, I rarely use it. - Apple Car play connection - one would think a wired connection would link right up; one would be wrong. It's about 50/50 right now. Sometimes it connects right up; others I have to disconnect the cable and reconnect in order to get it to recognize my phone. I've tried different cables and I even bypassed the extension I installed and went direct to the input on the back of the unit - same thing. Apple products can definitely be finicky sometimes when connecting; more so with a non apple product. - Dimming function is very limited. On very dark roads I cannot dim the unit enough and have to shut the display off. For the price, superior sound and features the radio would be a 5 except for the Apple connectivity being a little clunky and the display dimming being limited. That's why I gave it a four.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Upgrade to my Ultra Limited

XAV-AX7000 11/09/2020 by Flucker Obrien (USA)

This unit exceeded all my expectations. It is so easy to use and navigate. The ability to fine tune the frequencies with the EQ to your exact preferences to me, is worth the price alone. the radio amp ran my Rockford's flawlessly my my Rockford amp went out. on the radio only, the music was crystal clear at 65 plus MPH. I highly recommend this system. I've since removed the Rockford gear and replaced it with the Wild Boar Audio WBA Ultra Kit. Add this to your list of upgrades, blows the RF out of the water!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Had this unit since orderable

XAV-AX7000 06/09/2020 by TheDawgOfWar (USA)

Overall I like this unit and the sound is good. The CarPlay is very glitchy. I have to repeatedly disconnect the USB and reconnect to get it to recognize CarPlay. I have it disconnect and will not recognize CP Until the unit is rebooted. As others have said the fact we are in 2020 and do not have Wireless CarPlay is disappointing. Icons for XM as an example should be able to be reordered or removed. Also limited brightness/contrast controls. I thought that there would be more rapid firmware faster to make the interface better. only web link which is not useful since I bought.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Android Auto is awful

XAV-AX7000 03/09/2020 by Fireman24 (USA)

The install on this unit was great because of the kit I bought from a bike shop. The android auto connection is terrible. The unit keeps disconnecting and reconnecting while riding. This makes it impossible to use the map apps on my phone. The audio output is not as good as the factory radio that was in my Streetglide. The hand controls could be better also. Some functions need to be done on the screen instead of hand controls, which on a bike is not good. I am thinking seriously about removing and putting factory unit back in.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

3

0

Wish it had a volume knob like the ax210

XAV-AX7000 11/08/2020 by Knight9000 (USA)

I like the product and its OEM appearance but the lack of wireless CarPlay and a volume knob is a major turn off. I really wish this unit had the same form factor of the xav-ax210 with the volume knob but with all of the features of the 7000.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Solid Unit, no wireless CarPlay

XAV-AX7000 16/07/2020 by JacksonB (USA)

Good unit, but in 2020, really wish it would've come with wireless CarPlay. Sony, any chance we'll see this in a software update? :)

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

2

0

Alternative to the H.D. Boombox

XAVAX7000 26/06/2020 by Blueskies (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

It’s a good radio but where this radio falls short is it doesn’t Bluetooth up to the SENA headset line. By going to this Sony, you lose your H.D. radio headset jacks. Everything you do has to run through your IPhone. The Sony Radio works great thru your normal bike speakers.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/06/2020

Hi Blueskies, We appreciate the feedback. We're glad to hear you like the product. Thank you for choosing Sony. -Sam

0

great features

XAVAX7000 16/06/2020 by harley1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought couple months back, very easy install. sounds are greats

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/06/2020

Hi harley1,

Awesome! We're really glad to hear you're happy with the overall performance of your XAV-AX7000 High Power Media Receiver.

Thank you so much for commending Sony!

- Romeo

0

Amazing

XAV-AX7000 02/06/2020 by ChrisPh16 (USA)

(+) Works very well. Fast. Poweful (-) Can't set personal wall paper like in my XAV-AX100

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/06/2020

Hi, ChrisPh16, We are glad you are happy with your XAV-AX7000! Thank you for choosing Sony! -Vincent

0

Dont buy

XAV-AX7000 24/05/2020 by Sonysux187 (USA)

Got yesterday my installer laughed at install kit after having to shim it a few inches and making his own install kit. Cant. set anything on screen till tonight when it is dark and you can see the screen

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

13

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/05/2020

Hi there, we regret to hear about the issue you have experience with your newly installed car stereo, This is definitely not the experience we want you to have. Please try following the troubleshooting steps available on the Help Guide to isolate the problem.
https://helpguide.sony.net/ev/xav-ax7000/v1/en/index.html



If this does not help, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

Only a few complaints...

XAV-AX7000 24/05/2020 by ReDo (USA)

I love almost everything about my 7000. There are just a few things I’d like to see improved: 1) Ability to pair a wireless headset for CarPlay. 2) Screen a little brighter. 3) Ability to arrange screen icons. 4) Ability to upload custom wallpaper. 5) USB2 recognize and play video content from USB drives.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

8

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/05/2020

Hello ReDo,

We greatly appreciate your feedback. We'll be informing the team about your suggestions and let's hope that they become available in the future as they sound useful for a lot of xav-ax7000 users.

Regards,
David

0

Works great. But got some bugs

XAVAX7000 22/05/2020 by MyBikeisBetter (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the radio. I enjoyed the 5000 better though. Recently I’m experiencing it resetting when I’m on the road. Completely turning off and coming back on.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/05/2020

Hi MyBikeisBetter, we are glad that you like the car stereo. Enjoy powerful, clean sound throughout the car. Voice control from Apple CarPlay and Android Auto™ helps with directions, calls, and more, and thanks to dual USB ports, you can connect your smartphone and USB device at the same time. Our new anti-glare bezel-less touchscreen gives you a seamless display with improved visibility in bright daylight.

With regards to the issue you have encountered, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details for further assistance:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely, Erin

0

No Wireless CarPlay Let that sink in

XAV-AX7000 07/05/2020 by Shaun the ex Sony guy (USA)

There is no wireless CarPlay let that sink in For a minute. whoever designed this should be fired and I mean ASAP. I wanted to buy one so bad until i found that out. Total kick to the groin

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

20

0

Great radio but bad handlebar controls for Harley

XAV-AX7000 27/04/2020 by jam4775 (USA)

This 7000 head unit itself has an a grade upgrade on my 2018 Harley Davidson Road Glide compared to the factory radio. And this heading unit is much much cheaper then Harley wants for their updated head unit that has similar functionality. The big problem though is this 7000 head unit doesn't seem to support external controls for navigating the UI. For example Harley-Davidson touring bikes have two joysticks, one on the right and one on the left handlebars, to control the factory head unit. The joystick on the left handlebar controls volume and channel navigation it is also a home button. The joystick on the right handlebar is for navigation, up, down, left, right, and Center to select. But with the Sony head unit both joystick controls do exactly the same thing control volume and channels. Looking at the reviews and comments on this radio it seems that there are a lot of people putting these in Harley-Davidson motorcycles. Given that said I know there would be a lot of people who would appreciate if Sony would put some Focus on this this line of radio to have better support for Harley-Davidson handlebar controls. This head unit would be a five-star head unit for me if it had better support for the Harley controls. I also would really like to see Wireless Android Auto in Future head units like the 7000 that will fit in Harley Davidson.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

5

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
29/04/2020

Hi jam4775, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks!

~Earl

0

Radio

XAV-AX7000 26/04/2020 by Biker62 (USA)

Easy install I have metra radio kit the wire harness that was made for this install does not work it somehow turns my four ways on

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/04/2020

Hi Biker62, we are sorry to hear that wire harness does not work. We appreciate all of your feedback as it helps improve the product. We recommend checking with a professional installer to check the installation. Erin

0

I pod fail

XAV-AX7000 27/03/2020 by baumannsrt (USA)

I have been a sony fan for 20+ years and never had a problem with any of there produces before today. I have two I pods one form 2008 and brand new one of 2019 and the radio doesn't support any of them!!! Come on sony!!

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
28/03/2020

Hi baumannsrt, we regret if the radio did not meet your expectations. We'd like to know more details from you and help you out. Please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
Erin

0

2014 Harley Davidson ultra limited

XAVAX7000 14/03/2020 by Scott cogburn (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

2014 Harley Davidson ultra limited I bought this to put in my Harley Davidson motorcycle to replace the bad boombox so far so good so far it performs excellent looks great I think they need to do a software update though to be a little bit more user-friendly but other than that so far so good I would recommend it

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
15/03/2020

Hi Scott cogburn,

Thank you for choosing Sony! Enjoy your car stereo.

Regards,
David

0

Great Product

XAVAX7000 14/03/2020 by Redheat (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Installed in my 2015 Road Glide Special.....Absolutely great!!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/03/2020

This is indeed a great car stereo, Redheat. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing Sony! -Erin

0

SO FAR SO GOOD

XAVAX7000 20/02/2020 by BIG CELL (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

OK IM NOT AN EASY PERSON TO PLEASE ESPECIALLY WHEN IT COMES TO AFTERMARKET PARTS AND ACCESORIES. HOWEVER I INSTALLED THIS RADIO ON MY HARLEY DAVIDSON MOTORCYCLE IN EXCHANGE FOR MY FACTORY ONE, AND WELL AGAIN SO FAR SO GOOD, IM STILL LEARNING THE RADIO AND HOW TO FULLY MAKE IT ALL FUNCTION.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

Response From Sony Social Support
21/02/2020

@ BIG CELL, That's nice to hear. Thank you for choosing Sony! ~Zac

0

Love the Sound

XAV-AX7000 06/02/2020 by Edro (USA)

I just bought this unit . Works on my 2016 Harley Street Glide. I have and newer Ipod , and have a Droid Phone . the Ipod only will work on Bluetooth. and i can't run the map system from Phone on the droid if the Bluetooth is on for the Ipod . I travel alot on the open road need my maps and music. Any advice on what to do would be helpful. . The USB will not work with the Ipod . This is a new Ipod that like a phone .

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/02/2020

Hi Edro,

Unfortunately, using CarPlay and Bluetooth at the same time is not supported. You can use the music of your iPhone when using CarPlay. We'll consider this as a feedback and we will surely take note of this for the betterment of our products.

~Ralph

0

It's all great

XAV-AX7000 27/09/2019 by adamjabr (USA)

U guys are the best I love Sony just if u guys make more advertising and better customer service you will be number one again

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

14

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
01/10/2019

Hi, Adam9!

We greatly appreciate your feedback. Thank you for sharing this positive review. Enjoy your car stereo!

Regards,
David