80

4.3 based on 80 customer reviews

52
12
7
2
7
Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Simply Amazing

MDR-XB50AP 08/10/2017 by Chelsea2804 (USA)

I've have used a LOT of mid-range and high-end earphones and these blow all of them out of the water. The bass is beautiful, and the quality of sound is so pristine I don't have to have my volume up full blast to feel the music. The design is superb, these stay in my ears and don't hurt, you do have to twist them in to get the counterweight working, it feels like there's nothing in my ear at all! Something not a lot of people have mentioned is the microphone quality, people have said my voice sounds clearer through these than I do on my brand new Galaxy S8 unit by itself. I'm also really impressed with the price and will no longer be on the search for other products, I'll be repurchasing these for sure. I listen to a lot of dynamic tracks, bass variants and a wise range of genres so I can say with confidence these perform brilliantly no matter what you listen to. I also like that they're not totally noise-cancelling, but can easily drown out any environment including planes and trains to an enjoyable level.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Issues

MDR-XB50AP 28/11/2018 by Coldstatic (USA)

I got these headphones just over 5 months ago. They sounded great. But for the last month when I plug them in they keep pressing the volume down. At first it was once or twice and now it's almost constant. I haven't used them in any rough way or sports like environment. I put them in the pouch when not in use. They still sound good but almost unusable due to them pushing volune down.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

80 Customer Reviews

0

Great Value

MDR-XB50AP 18/02/2021 by AlasdairM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent product for the price. Replaced tips with Comply Premium ones and both sound and fit are enhanced.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not suitable

MDR-XB50AP 15/02/2021 by Eliasde (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Returned them as faulty and was refunded Would not connect to my iphone contacted Sony who said return as faulty

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

my fav headphones!

MDR-XB50AP 04/02/2021 by asdfghjklmnbvccxz (USA)

the best headphones out there! .....................

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant

MDR-XB50AP 19/11/2020 by Smigger (United Kingdom)

Great sound quality and easy to use and to link up with other so y products

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Best sound quality but not durable

MDR-XB50AP 06/10/2020 by dfvddujebdoe3536373 (USA)

These have the best sound quality of all headphones I’ve used to date, and I love them for that, but they always end up breaking within the year. I’ve bought these twice, because the first time I thought I broke them somehow, but it happened again the second time around as well. I have not bought these since because I don’t want to keep replacing them, but I would buy them again in a heartbeat if they were made to be more durable because the sound quality is just that good.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

No bass when you use it with iphone

MDR-XB50AP 30/07/2020 by Erdony (USA)

I have a problem with it. I connect it to my iphone but there is no bass. After i set my phone to bass booster, there is still no bass. Is there anything i need to do to have better bass sound?

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Sound's great for classical music; mic not working

MDRXB50AP/L 19/06/2020 by Musik (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sound is excellent, squarely in the back of my head, nicely mixed. Only problem is that I can't get the mic to work with my Pixel 3a phone or my iPad; can't talk to my Google assistant with it, can't call. Downloaded the Smart Key app, and couldn't find this model number. Really wanted to use the mic for phone calls, so will keep trying. No troubleshooting I can find so far for this issue.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/06/2020

Hi Musik, we're glad you like our product. We're sorry to hear that you have an issue with your SONY unit. If you connect to an unsupported smartphone, the
microphone of this unit may not function, or the
volume level may be low. This unit is not guaranteed to operate digital music
players. You may check the link below for more information:

https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/res/manuals/4527/45271353M.pdf

Should you need further assistance, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details: Name: Username: Model Number: Issue: Telephone Number: ~Earl

0

Comfertable, useful headphones

mdrxb50apb 15/06/2020 by Danoe (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a pair of decent headphones. That is what I received. Really decent quality and sound for the price.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
18/06/2020

Hi Danoe, Hi, That's great! Good to know that you're having a great time using the MDRXB50APB. Thank you for choosing Sony. -Sam

0

good sound, horrible durability

MDR-XB50AP 27/05/2020 by zakisbigboy (USA)

Hi, I bought a pair of these and absolutely loved them, but they ended up breaking within weeks. Disappointed that the sound was great but the quality of the material was so fragile that it broke so fast.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
12/06/2020

Hello zakisbigboy,

We are sorry to hear about the issue with your headphones. This is not the experience we want you to have. For further assistance, you can email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony website Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,
David

0

Affordable, but not durable

MDR-XB50AP 08/05/2020 by MDRXB50AP_user (USA)

Bought as backup, seldom use but internal speaker damaged after 13 month.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/05/2020

Hi MDRXB50AP_user, Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in North America. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/. Erin

0

Good headphones but ...

MDR-XB50AP 02/05/2020 by KitB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

... the instructions told me to download software, but then they are not on the drop down menu of listed products. Which took me about ten wasted minutes to find out

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Great

MDR-XB50AP 22/03/2020 by Chillrock (USA)

I used to buy Beats By Dr. Dre for the past 15 yrs or so. Beats are great but these knock Beats out. Way better than beats!!! The overall sound on these Sonys is greater and the bass is like being in the clubs. I bought 2 pairs. I keep the 2nd pair in the unopened box as backup. Gonna stack up and buy more for the crib cause the price on these babies is nice. You can buy 3 pairs of these for $10 bucks less than 1 pair of the beats.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/03/2020

Hi Chillrock, we appreciate your positive feedback. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you! ~Earl

0

Best earbuds ever

MDR-XB50AP 11/03/2020  (USA)

These are the best earbuds I've ever owned. I accidentally put them in the washer and they sound just as nice as before.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/03/2020

Hi jimmy_stevens, we are more than glad to hear that you appreciate our product. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you for your feedback. ~Earl


0

Good but just the controls

MDR-XB50AP 20/02/2020 by 6ix9ine (USA)

Good When I got it it was so good quality jus the controls

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/02/2020

Hi 6ix9ine,

We're glad that you like its quality. If you're having issues with the controls, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony.com Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:

Sincerely,

Ralph
Sony Social Support

0

extra bass as the name says

MDR-XB50AP 20/01/2020 by suuthe (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It lives up to its name- extra bass, but its not something everyone would enjoy. Mid and high frequencies compromised in favour of big muffled bass but with this price range I am happy with the sound. It broke after 5 months but was able to use one year warranty, so i am happy.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

2