11

3.8 based on 11 customer reviews

6
1
1
2
1
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

11 Customer Reviews

0

Very good but not perfect for me

WI-1000X 13/02/2018 by Mulhod (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded from a pair of MDR-EX750 which I really liked but wanted Bluetooth connection because I use an iPhone 8. The sound quality is much improved and the app is a very useful add on which works very well. The downside is that the 1000x simply don’t fit my ears as comfortably as the EX750. To make them comfortable I lose some of the effectiveness of the noise cancelling. Having read the reviews I expect it may simply come down to the shape of your ears. I am prepared to live with the compromise. The noise cancelling is good enough, the sound quality is excellent and the convenience of Bluetooth and the build quality are top class. The most expensive headphones I have bought by quite some way, but overall I’m very pleased and would recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Impressive Noise - Cancelling

WI-1000X 25/01/2018 by Benny7 (USA)

I love these headphones they sound great and provide excellent noise cancelling. Only issue I have is that after having the headphones for a month the Sony logo is beginning to peal off.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great for Music Not for Phone Calls

WI-1000X 16/01/2018 by BLC1 (USA)

Best in class sound quality for Music. But when making a phone call the other party can hear all the conversations around you - even if people are talking 10 feet away. For some reason, the noise canceling reduces the background noise for what you hear but not for what the person you are calling hears. One other thing. I tried chatting with Sony Tech Support on the issue. They don't know anything about this unit. It took her 5 minutes just to find out where the pickup mics are for a phone call. She said they were in both ear pieces.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/01/2018

Hello BLC1, thank you for providing your feedback. We sincerely value customers feedback such as this, as it helps us gauge consumer's interest in our products. This will surely be forwarded to the proper development. Thanks again, _Bob

0

Marvellous!

WI-1000X 05/01/2018 by Niksles (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as a replacement for a Bose product and absolutely delighted with the choice. Fantastic sound quality, comfortable & excellent noise cancelling abilities. Expensive but worth the extra.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Returned within minutes of first use; sad

WI-1000X 28/12/2017 by dtoubmd (USA)

I researched this and was looking forward to what sounded like a great pair of ANC-capable earbuds with good audio quality. I have a pair of wired Bose QC20s that are wonderful, but I'd love a good pair of wireless noise-cancelling earbuds and this sounded like the ones to get. But there are several problems: 1. The sound was low-volume, no matter what I did (and yes, the phone had its volume to the max). I finally created my own EQ in the Sony Connect app that maxed out everything, and that made it tolerable but still not great. 2. I read that one can't use chargers with the included microUSB cable (first, odd that this one cable is specifically required by Sony since it's no different from any of a number of third-party microUSB cables most people have). I don't believe it, but apparently some folks were told by Sony that not charging via a computer would void their warranties. Very strange since most chargers from Anker, etc are intelligent enough to not output too much wattage for specific devices. 3. The controls are hard to access. I had to keep taking off the device to see what I was touching since it was not that obvious via tactile feedback. 4. The entire setup with the Connect app was complex and in the end, I could never tell if I actually did have ANC engaged. Much of the additional complexity was unnecessary; the ambient sensor seemed to be best when turned off, and the same with the pressure control. In contrast, the Bose QC20's have one switch to turn everything on and the ANC is then automatically engaged and clearly on (the difference in sound when the ANC kicks in after 2 seconds is very marked; that was never the case with the 1000x earbuds from Sony). So sound and ANC were both pretty poor in my opinion. 5. Finally, the cover for the charging port is so tight that it was impossible to open without a metal part like a letter opener. Had I kept the earbuds, I would have ended up ripping that part off since it was just impossible to open even with a credit card. Also odd is the fact that when wired (nice touch, in theory), the volume and forward/back controls no longer work. That's not how any wired earbuds work and I have no idea why they essentially would cripple this functionality. Also weird that charging takes nearly four hours (my QC20's have 14-16 hours longevity and take no more than an hour to charge). So this was not what I would have expected, given many positive reviews and the cost.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

4

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/12/2017

Hi dtoubmd, thank you very much for taking the time in writing us your honest review regarding the device. These suggestions are very much welcome for further improvements to our products and we are more than happy to take a look at this matter. Thanks, _Bob

0

Read this before buy the headphone!!!

WI-1000X 12/12/2017 by Phat Pham (USA)

The headphone will not charge with portable charger or any charger. It only charges when plug into a computer, and that computer have to be on. Not in standby, sleep or hibernation mode, otherwise it will not charge "almost all headphones in the market do charge when the computer in standby or sleep mode except this headphone" . This is very inconvenient. If you use the headphone to travel and it runs out of battery. Good luck with that.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

4

13

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/12/2017

Hello Phat Pham, we apologize for the inconvenience. Please make sure that you're using the supplied cable for charging. Kindly check the link below for more information:
http://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wi1000x/v1/en/contents/TP0001513178.html
Thanks, _Bob

0

Good headphone but need few improvements

WI-1000X 12/12/2017 by tomtp3 (USA)

I just bought the Sony WI1000X few days ago. Everything operated smoothly, until I charge the headphone with my MacBook. When I put my MacBook into sleep mode and put it away the headphone stop charging. That's very weird because my Mac always charge other devices while it in sleep mode. So every time I charge the headphone I have to leave my Mac on. Also, the adaptive sound control is very slow and the sound of the headphone phone slow when listen to rap. Are these software issues or the headphone was designed this way? By the way I already reset the headphone but it's still like that.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/12/2017

Hi tomtp3, we are sorry to hear that. For us to properly charge the headset using a MacBook is we need to make sure that the laptop is on and not on sleep, standby or hibernation mode. For reference, please check the link below:
http://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wi1000x/v1/en/contents/TP0001513178.html

Also, you may try to reset the unit by following the steps on this link: http://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wi1000x/v1/en/contents/TP0001513197.html
Thanks, _Bob

0

They done changed the game with these!

WI-1000X 07/11/2017  (USA)

Unmatched sound quality, app is amazing! 10 out of 10 for sure! Wow Wow Wow!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

High quality noise cancelling wireless headphones

WI-1000X 31/10/2017 by hanspeed (United Kingdom)

Great sounding compact wireless headphones with variable noise cancelling.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

great features, awesome app. but need support for.

WI-1000X 09/10/2017 by ZebraBABA (USA)

great features, awesome app. but need support for muti-devices connection( which all the bose headsets have).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

8

0

0

Awesome Idea

WI-1000X 14/09/2017 by Sherbear (USA)

Love the ease of wear, sound reduction. It's small enough to travel, wear as I walk. But, what about running will it sit securely on your neck and shoulder? No it bounces and just irritates. The price a bit steep, but hey it's made excellently. I enjoy knowing these are so well built by Sony.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

4