44

3.8 based on 44 customer reviews

22
7
3
7
5
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

great features, awesome app. but need support for.

WI-1000X 09/10/2017 by ZebraBABA (USA)

great features, awesome app. but need support for muti-devices connection( which all the bose headsets have).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great sound and NC, but bad for calls

WI-1000X 06/04/2018 by PaulieP (USA)

I've used these for a few months alongside a competitors' neckbuds and I can say that Sony's noise cancellation is either the best or among the best in the category. The sound quality along with all the control and ambient sound options in the app are also excellent. However there is one clear weakness that is worse than competitors' here, and its calling. I have had callers on the other end complain about background noise, more than other headsets and neckbuds I use. Noise that isnt coming through on the users end due to the NC - which apparently isn't being applied to the audio that's being passed through to the people you're talking to, or not done well. Also any kind of wind, WI 1000X cannot handle well. Neckbud competitors (esp one whose name begins with a P) in this price range handle calling distinctly better. Seemsel to be software or firmware tuning needed at a minimum. It's really the only weakness of this model, otherwise a great piece of kit. Sony - please fix the problems with call quality, background noise, and wind noise rejection. If you can do this you would have the most solid and well rounded product in the category, with class leading noise cancellation.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

45 Customer Reviews

0

NC has annoying low frequency hum without input

WI-1000X 21/11/2018 by yoginero (USA)

Noise cancellation has persistent low frequency hum into my right ear, that only stops when music is being played. You can tolerate it if you are outside on the street, but indoors, I cannot keep the Noise cancellation on or I'll get dizzy. When classic music plays at low volume, it keeps toggling between quiet and humming many times within a few seconds. Noise cancellation has a problem when there is low volume input and it's very annoying. I updated the headphone firmware as suggested, but no improvement, possibly worse.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Bad Mic, died after 6 month. But still good sound.

WI-1000X 15/11/2018 by Kirill D (USA)

TL;DR Buying premium headset doesn't mean premium design and long-time reliability which you usually expect from expensive headset. I've bought my pair in April 2018 from flagship store in EU. I've read about charging issues so I only carefully charged them from my MacBook. But here we are, mine WI-1000X died after 6 month. Pros: + Great sound and fairly clear sound for that price pair of headset. + Good ANC. + Fairly convenient neckband design and overall better materials quality in comparison to rubber parts at Bose QC30 after 6 month of use (pah!). Cons: - Critical. Both mics are in-ear and while they do a good job in ANC-mode, they are poor on call-mode. In that case ones need to keep one plugged into ear, and one tucked into neckband or hold it in front of your mouth when speaking. It makes you look ridiculous with a premium headset for that price. And your listener can barely hear you. Even 5$ pair of Apple headset with a mic over chest is doing better on mic recording. - Charging issues. A lot of people complain about it. Mine died after 6 month of gentle use and proper charge. - Connectivity. Paired mine with MacBook, iPhone and iPad. I usually switch between those 3 devices during the day. It often shows WI-1000X is paired and connected when in fact you need to tap on connect again. Or choose 'forget device' and pair headset again. - Battery holds 6-7hr at mid volume and ANC. Still enough for 1 day but you had to recharge it quite often in comparison to other 100$+ no-ANC neckband headsets. - Earplug's embouchures tends to disassemble and get lost when tucked into neckband (when accidentally hooked by topwear, scarf or backpack's strap). Good news there are +7 exchangeable pairs of embouchures within a box. Bad news – you can't purchase a spare one. - Anodized engraved metal part with Sony logo at the back is easily scratched by headrest at office chair or transport. Still better than QC30. - Mini-USB cap is weak, easy to tear. What could be better for that price: • Additional Mic built-in into neckband and/or Bi-DIRECTIONAL Mics built-in into earplugs. Otherwise there is no need for Mic at all for that price. • 3+ year warranty • x2 Battery life and/or cordless charge. • Wind-proof barrier for earplug. Wind sound in ear could be annoying when driving a bike. • Splash-proof design (rain-proof). • Spare earplug's embouchures available for buying. Not sure if I will ever pay that much for professional headset from Sony. I expect a way better design and build quality for earplugs that expensive.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

Response From Sony Social Support
17/11/2018

Hi Kirill D, we are sorry to hear what happened with your headphones. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.


Regards,
Erin
Sony Social Support

0

Dissapointing headset function

WI-1000X 14/11/2018 by FRD89 (USA)

I bought this over a month ago, and it is really really dissapointing the headset function (mic. quality). Sony service rep. told me that that is normal for them, a design flaw. Unbelivable for an expensive Sony headset.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

Response From Sony Social Support
17/11/2018

Hi FRD89, we regret that the headphones failed to meet your expectations. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.


Regards,
-Erin
Sony Social Support

0

Forgot how terrible Sony can be

WI-1000X 07/11/2018 by Foolmeonce (USA)

Bought on impulse 8 months ago. Sound ok, noise cancelling useless, microphone unusable and blinking lights can't be turned off which is surper annoying at night. My fault for buying a Sony, going back to Bose

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/11/2018

Hi Foolmeonce, Thank you for your feedback on your experience with your headphones. We are sorry for any inconvenience you had experienced. Please be assured we take this very seriously and continuously strive to improve our products. Please send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you. Regards, Erin

0

Great sound let down by poor in-call microphone

WI-1000X 28/10/2018 by FredBC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been more than impressed with the sound quality and noise cancelling of my new Sony’s. The rub, however, is that I needed something for both business and pleasure. the ability if the microphones to pick up my voice when in a call is poor, and people really battle to hear me. The current solution is to remove one earpiece and hold the mic closer to my mouth, but then that is not hands-free. My Bose QC 35 delivers a much better in-call experience. The Sony’s just need an engineering design review - find a position for a dedicated call mic on the neckband and then they will be perfect.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

cheap

WI-1000X 26/10/2018 by ralexander (USA)

They suck and the warranty sucks! Will not buy any more Sony products.

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/10/2018

Hi ralexander, we regret to hear that your unit failed to meet your expectations. We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you. Regards, Erin

0

sub par microphone and blue tooth connection

WI-1000X 24/10/2018 by zsiberian (USA)

I'm on the phone constantly, switched to this set from Plantronics over-the-ear

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
24/10/2018

Hi zsiberian,

We regret to hear that you're having issues with this Headphones. Let's try to isolate the issue by following some troubleshooting steps included on this link:

https://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wi1000x/v1/en/contents/TP0001513197.html

0

Give Bose a run for their money!

WI-1000X 22/10/2018 by SozzleChopper (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These have a great feature where it can auto detect the noise and change the level of noise reduction required based on this making desk conf calls in an open (noisy) environment not sick a bad thing anymore. No more looking for a quiet zone to have that conversation.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing Headphones

WI-1000X 16/10/2018 by Mickie69 (United Kingdom)

I never expected in-ear headphones to sound so great. These have everything one needs - bluetooth connectivity, noise cancelling, ambient sound, wired option and airplane connector option. Use as standard headphones, or noise cancelling or wireless with/without noise cancelling. The Sony headphone app opens up a whole new world of experience. Music has never sounded this good. The noise cancelling is good enough to help when using a vacuum cleaner. I look forward to my next flight.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent sound quality and battery life

WI-1000X 23/09/2018  (USA)

Yes, they are pricey, but the sound quality and battery life are truly excellent. The build quality is very good. Noise cancellation works very well but it's, of course, important that the earbuds are inserted tightly into the ears.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Overall excellent

WI-1000X 23/09/2018 by Xrd8d (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Compact, practical for light travellers. Excellent noise cancelling. Bluetooth works great with my S8+. My current concern is the flashing noice cancelling button. I can't figure out to turn off the flashing light when the NC is off. Not a big problem. I still would like to get this solved. Overall a absolute great product. Make sure you choose the right ear buds for optimal quality. There are plenty to choose from. For future version I'd like to see a wireless charging solution. Sony, you did great. Over and out.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best in-ear headset

WI-1000X 13/09/2018 by Kevlah (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I originally bought the BOSE QC30 as I the Sony Wi 1000x was out of stock. After returning 2 sets of these, due to the microphone being to noisy for people to listen to calls, I decided to go back to Sony. The WI 1000x was almost £50 cheaper than the BOSE but more importantly worked exactly as I wanted it to. The music quality is great, and although I have heard better noise cancelling on over ear headphones it fits the purpose for these headsets. The call handling and quality is excellent and the Google Assistant feture being able to read notifications is very handy. Very comfortable to wear and seems a strong enough design. So very happy with the change of mind, I would definitely recommend these headsets.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Battery very long lasting

WI-1000X 09/09/2018 by Roy91 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I fully charged once for over 3 hours and it lasted for more then a week by using for just an hour each day.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Amazing sound..a bit too pricey

WI-1000X 22/08/2018 by Humanity (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing sound and features, best headphones so far...a bit on the pricier side

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

What's Not To Love?

WI-1000X 17/08/2018 by pjkelsey1 (USA)

SOUND: Outstanding. I did not expect the level of customization that the associated app gives you. After some playing around with different settings these now sound as good (or better) than all the other headphones I've tried. NR: Very good. Effectively kills outside noise (airplane, traffic, office background) to the point you can forget where you are with your eyes closed. I like the ability to adjust the ambient noise filter so I can easily hear voices without having to take them off. For those of you who've never had NC-ear buds before, it's very important to try all of the different sized buds that are included to find the right fit. If you don't use the right set, the NR's effectiveness can be seriously impaired, or negated completely. COMFORT: Outstanding. Once I decided on the right size bud to use, I wore them on a 5 hour flight non-stop and didn't get any of the "ear fatigue" other ear-buds gave me. BATTERY LIFE: As advertised. No problem getting a full 10 hours with the NR on. Haven't had a chance yet to see how long they'd go with the NR off. Charging time seems to average around 1 1/2 hours. CARRYING CASE: This is the only negative I've found. With the associated price tag for these, I'd wish they could upgrade it to a solid case. The loose, floppy nylon bag is an unfortunate add on. For travelling I'm worried these could be damaged too easily if in a carry-on. Would be nice if they could at least offer the option of upgrading to something more solid. DURABILITY: I can't speak to this yet as I've only had them a couple of months. Hopefully the negative things in some of the other reviews are one-offs. ADD-ONS: The app is outstanding. Easy to use and really gives the headphones a level of customization lacking from other high-price ear buds. Also love having the 3.5 mm cord included, especially when flying, don't have to use the airline's cheapo's to watch a movie. OVERALL: I love these, they do everything I had expected and more. I definitely feel I've gotten my money's worth (this, of course, is based on the expectation of more than 5 months problem free). However, I'll still put in my request for a hard storage case.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Missed the mark for this frequent flyer

WI-1000X 16/08/2018 by PLShutterbug (USA)

Bought at a Best Buy last night and returned this evening. I currently own a competitor’s wired in-ear NC buds and want to go wireless. Wires get tangled in blankets and seatbelts, they jerk if you move the wrong way, etc. In 2018 we should have great wireless options. Not here ... after purchasing and trying different “fixes” I found online I’ve been told by a Sony support rep that these ‘phones require either an active BT connection or a wire connected to source, or they turn off after five minutes. Other Sony headphones share the same “feature.” Please, Sony, realize that this is not desirable! The rep said they do this to save battery ... I just want a wireless solution that cancels jet engine noise whether I’m listening to something or merely want to close my eyes and enjoy silence, and I don’t want to have to drain my phone’s battery with a needless BT connection to do so. I will take responsibility for battery management, ok? You just give me a headphone that keeps out the noise.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

7

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/08/2018

Hi PLShutterbug, We regret to hear that your device's performance failed to meet your needs. We'll make sure that this feedback reaches a relevant team if ever changes are needed as we want our consumers to have the best user experience. Thank you very much for your input. ~Ralph

0

Loved them until left side died after 8 months.

WI-1000X 27/07/2018 by mark508 (USA)

I bought this in November 2017 and 8 Months of light usage at an office desk and the left side has just died. I split my time using these and the 1000xm2. I usually love my sony products but this has been a HUGE disappointment considering the cost. I don't sweat on them, i don't abuse them, I don't even use them everyday. These should've lasted YEARS. It'll make me think more twice before ever dropping this kind of money on a Sony product.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

4

0

Excellent sound great comfortability!

WI-1000X 11/07/2018 by Mark44444 (USA)

Got this headphones 3 months ago in Japan and never regretted my choice! I had owned alot of headphones because im very particular with how sound is delivered but this is the best i had so far compared to more pricier headphones I have tried. What i dont only like a about it is its travel pouch which is only a sack that doesn't protect it from bending. They should have made a hard case for traveling.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great Headphones

WI-1000X 09/07/2018 by SteveDux (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had these for around a month and after a few changes on the app these are now brilliant. Great look, sound and feel.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

DO NOT BUY - MINE DIED AFTER JUST 7 MONTHS

WI-1000X 09/07/2018 by foodie561 (USA)

The quality of these headphones is just aweful. I bought mine from Best Buy on November 24, 2017 and they have been used sparingly as I mainly used my Bose QC35. Today, July 8, 2018, these headphones just died during use without any warning. I could no longer power them on or charge them. Neither resetting nor restoring factory setting work. They are just totally, completely dead!!! I guess that's the reason why Sony only offers 90 days warranty on them - they aren't supposed to last much longer than 90 days. I should probably consider myself lucky for getting 7 months of sparing use out of them. I am horrified by the poor quality of these headphones and will not be buying any Sony product in the foreseeable future.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

1

0

Disappointed

WI-1000X 30/06/2018 by CantTalk2018 (USA)

Spent twice the money and they work great for music and noise cancelling however call quality is bad! I can hear them but they hear everything around me, while I sound muffled and low. I miss my LGs.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

6

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/06/2018

Hi CantTalk2018, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! ~Erin

0

Good quality Headphones

WI-1000X 21/06/2018 by Kiwi cd (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great sound and noise cancelling. Probably the best on the market for the price.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Great quality sound

WI-1000X 09/06/2018 by Northernren (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought these a month ago to replace in ear wired bose noise cancelling headphones. I am pleased I did. The quality of the sound coupled with the freedom of not having to be tied to the device by wires is great. I like that you can change the ambient settings so when I'm in the noisy office I can put these on and concentrate on my work. When I leave to commute I like that it still keeps you alert to your surroundings. The battery life is good as well I probably charge every 2 days with all day usage

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great sound quality

WI-1000X 08/06/2018 by shafiek (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Either Bose QC30 or Sony 1000X..i have QC35.I have no regret every time when i put my Sony in it's a great experience full sound low /high all very clear and present. And the Noise cancellation is amazingly good. Very surprising as i am used to Bose. There so many useful features that i have not 1sec regret. Well done Sony..

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Excellent NC for In Ear headphones

WI-1000X 30/04/2018 by DavidBlaney1984 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These sound amazing and the noise cancelling works excellently! Okay, it’s not to the standard of the over ear model but these are small in ear buds; better than any other competitor easily!!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Very nice headphones

WI-1000X 28/04/2018 by Wille396 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best headphones I ever had. Great sound. Perfect fit. Noise reduction is very good, however there is a slight noise when there is no music playing. That is why I can give only 4 stars. I hope Sony makes a update to salve this.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Good, not great - a couple issues

WI-1000X 23/04/2018 by Michael 8888 (USA)

I have had these for a couple months now and am a very heavy user. Quick disclaimer: I was a Bose user for several years, most recently using the Bose wireless noise cancelling ear buds, which is equivalent to this product. I stopped using the Bose because they simply stopped working - multiple times. The good: I find the sound quality very good for listening to music. The battery life is amazing. I don't know if I make it 10 hours or not, but I think it's very close to that. The not great: These ear buds are not all that comfortable. Listening for long stretches begins to irritate my ears, and they don't stay in very well. The noise cancellation is just ok. Here's my ultra scientific evidence: I have a white noise maker next to my bed, and another in the hall. With the Bose, I could not be certain that either noise maker was turned on. With these, I still hear the noise pretty well, although at a reduced level. Auto shut-off: On a regular basis I forget to turn off my earbuds only to come back hours later and find that they had been on the whole time. I use the app to set the "Standby with power saving" set to "on" but it still happens.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Fairly good product

WI-1000X 15/04/2018 by Magnus10000 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recommend it for office and listening to music. Not ideal for working out or sports. Points of improvement: to be able to connect it to devices simultaneously, better battery, to be able to use it while charging.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

Quality Neckbuds

WI-1000X 10/04/2018 by JxxB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

They could be classed as ‘expensive’, but then, you tend to get what you pay for. These are a quality product. The neck band is very comfortable and hardly noticeable, as is the fit in the ears. They are easy to connect via Bluetooth and can also be used via a wired connection. The sound quality is excellent, and they have various really good noise cancelling settings. The app works very well and can be used to make many adjustments to the sound, the sound direction and noise cancelling settings. Battery life is very good. Overall, for me, they are well worth the cost.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Great sound and NC, but bad for calls

WI-1000X 06/04/2018 by PaulieP (USA)

I've used these for a few months alongside a competitors' neckbuds and I can say that Sony's noise cancellation is either the best or among the best in the category. The sound quality along with all the control and ambient sound options in the app are also excellent. However there is one clear weakness that is worse than competitors' here, and its calling. I have had callers on the other end complain about background noise, more than other headsets and neckbuds I use. Noise that isnt coming through on the users end due to the NC - which apparently isn't being applied to the audio that's being passed through to the people you're talking to, or not done well. Also any kind of wind, WI 1000X cannot handle well. Neckbud competitors (esp one whose name begins with a P) in this price range handle calling distinctly better. Seemsel to be software or firmware tuning needed at a minimum. It's really the only weakness of this model, otherwise a great piece of kit. Sony - please fix the problems with call quality, background noise, and wind noise rejection. If you can do this you would have the most solid and well rounded product in the category, with class leading noise cancellation.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
08/04/2018

Hi PaulieP, thank you for sharing your feedback about the unit. I will have your feedback forwarded to the relevant department as we always looking to make Sony better. Once again, thank you. Regards, ~Erin

0

Unbelievable

WI-1000X 28/03/2018 by Yournicknameruleisdumb (USA)

I am wearing them right now in a noisy work environment. Streaming Alison Balsom's Royal Music of Purcell and Handel. I can hear the bows of the background strings making contact,. Its unbelievable! Worth every penny. Went straight to Van Halen Unchained. I'm beyond impressed.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Very Impressed!

WI-1000X 24/03/2018 by mmp1953 (USA)

I'm very impressed with the sound quality of these earbuds. I've just listened briefly and still trying to get used to the ear buds but there's no question about how open and spacious these headphones sound. Once again another product that just let's the music come through. I ordered the WH-900 and they're charging right now, I can hardly wait to listen to music through those. I also have quite a few cans and wireless cans earbuds, from Plantronics BB Pro 2 to Bowers & Wilkens PX to Audio Technica's pure digital. The earbuds I have are just too many to list. I love the evolving technology and having access to so many great products. I'm really impressed with the WI-1000X. I haven't even played with all the options these have, noise canceling and sound shaping. Wow...

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Fantastic bluetooth headphones

WI-1000X 02/03/2018 by SeanMon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

These were for using at work and I wanted wireless to avoid cable getting in the way on my desk. So glad I got these as a gift as they are stunningly good. Sound quality is great as I listen to a lot of lossless and hi-res music. Don't notice the band on your neck and its really handy to be able to pause sound so quickly using the buttons. Very happy.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Bluetooth not always working

WI-1000X 28/02/2018 by Kjell01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am not able to connect the 1000X with a new Sony TV 43X8305C. Strange.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

1

0

Excellent wireless headphones

WI-1000X 20/02/2018 by Thepioneerman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Each of the press button controls could be easier to locate due to location is touch only when wearing headphones.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Very good but not perfect for me

WI-1000X 13/02/2018 by Mulhod (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded from a pair of MDR-EX750 which I really liked but wanted Bluetooth connection because I use an iPhone 8. The sound quality is much improved and the app is a very useful add on which works very well. The downside is that the 1000x simply don’t fit my ears as comfortably as the EX750. To make them comfortable I lose some of the effectiveness of the noise cancelling. Having read the reviews I expect it may simply come down to the shape of your ears. I am prepared to live with the compromise. The noise cancelling is good enough, the sound quality is excellent and the convenience of Bluetooth and the build quality are top class. The most expensive headphones I have bought by quite some way, but overall I’m very pleased and would recommend.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Impressive Noise - Cancelling

WI-1000X 25/01/2018 by Benny7 (USA)

I love these headphones they sound great and provide excellent noise cancelling. Only issue I have is that after having the headphones for a month the Sony logo is beginning to peal off.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Marvellous!

WI-1000X 05/01/2018 by Niksles (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as a replacement for a Bose product and absolutely delighted with the choice. Fantastic sound quality, comfortable & excellent noise cancelling abilities. Expensive but worth the extra.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

3

0

Returned within minutes of first use; sad

WI-1000X 28/12/2017 by dtoubmd (USA)

I researched this and was looking forward to what sounded like a great pair of ANC-capable earbuds with good audio quality. I have a pair of wired Bose QC20s that are wonderful, but I'd love a good pair of wireless noise-cancelling earbuds and this sounded like the ones to get. But there are several problems: 1. The sound was low-volume, no matter what I did (and yes, the phone had its volume to the max). I finally created my own EQ in the Sony Connect app that maxed out everything, and that made it tolerable but still not great. 2. I read that one can't use chargers with the included microUSB cable (first, odd that this one cable is specifically required by Sony since it's no different from any of a number of third-party microUSB cables most people have). I don't believe it, but apparently some folks were told by Sony that not charging via a computer would void their warranties. Very strange since most chargers from Anker, etc are intelligent enough to not output too much wattage for specific devices. 3. The controls are hard to access. I had to keep taking off the device to see what I was touching since it was not that obvious via tactile feedback. 4. The entire setup with the Connect app was complex and in the end, I could never tell if I actually did have ANC engaged. Much of the additional complexity was unnecessary; the ambient sensor seemed to be best when turned off, and the same with the pressure control. In contrast, the Bose QC20's have one switch to turn everything on and the ANC is then automatically engaged and clearly on (the difference in sound when the ANC kicks in after 2 seconds is very marked; that was never the case with the 1000x earbuds from Sony). So sound and ANC were both pretty poor in my opinion. 5. Finally, the cover for the charging port is so tight that it was impossible to open without a metal part like a letter opener. Had I kept the earbuds, I would have ended up ripping that part off since it was just impossible to open even with a credit card. Also odd is the fact that when wired (nice touch, in theory), the volume and forward/back controls no longer work. That's not how any wired earbuds work and I have no idea why they essentially would cripple this functionality. Also weird that charging takes nearly four hours (my QC20's have 14-16 hours longevity and take no more than an hour to charge). So this was not what I would have expected, given many positive reviews and the cost.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

11

12

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/12/2017

Hi dtoubmd, thank you very much for taking the time in writing us your honest review regarding the device. These suggestions are very much welcome for further improvements to our products and we are more than happy to take a look at this matter. Thanks, _Bob

0

Read this before buy the headphone!!!

WI-1000X 12/12/2017 by Phat Pham (USA)

The headphone will not charge with portable charger or any charger. It only charges when plug into a computer, and that computer have to be on. Not in standby, sleep or hibernation mode, otherwise it will not charge "almost all headphones in the market do charge when the computer in standby or sleep mode except this headphone" . This is very inconvenient. If you use the headphone to travel and it runs out of battery. Good luck with that.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

9

21

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/12/2017

Hello Phat Pham, we apologize for the inconvenience. Please make sure that you're using the supplied cable for charging. Kindly check the link below for more information:
http://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wi1000x/v1/en/contents/TP0001513178.html
Thanks, _Bob

0

Good headphone but need few improvements

WI-1000X 12/12/2017 by tomtp3 (USA)

I just bought the Sony WI1000X few days ago. Everything operated smoothly, until I charge the headphone with my MacBook. When I put my MacBook into sleep mode and put it away the headphone stop charging. That's very weird because my Mac always charge other devices while it in sleep mode. So every time I charge the headphone I have to leave my Mac on. Also, the adaptive sound control is very slow and the sound of the headphone phone slow when listen to rap. Are these software issues or the headphone was designed this way? By the way I already reset the headphone but it's still like that.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

3

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
13/12/2017

Hi tomtp3, we are sorry to hear that. For us to properly charge the headset using a MacBook is we need to make sure that the laptop is on and not on sleep, standby or hibernation mode. For reference, please check the link below:
http://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wi1000x/v1/en/contents/TP0001513178.html

Also, you may try to reset the unit by following the steps on this link: http://helpguide.sony.net/mdr/wi1000x/v1/en/contents/TP0001513197.html
Thanks, _Bob

0

They done changed the game with these!

WI-1000X 07/11/2017  (USA)

Unmatched sound quality, app is amazing! 10 out of 10 for sure! Wow Wow Wow!

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

High quality noise cancelling wireless headphones

WI-1000X 31/10/2017 by hanspeed (United Kingdom)

Great sounding compact wireless headphones with variable noise cancelling.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

6

0

great features, awesome app. but need support for.

WI-1000X 09/10/2017 by ZebraBABA (USA)

great features, awesome app. but need support for muti-devices connection( which all the bose headsets have).

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

0

Awesome Idea

WI-1000X 14/09/2017 by Sherbear (USA)

Love the ease of wear, sound reduction. It's small enough to travel, wear as I walk. But, what about running will it sit securely on your neck and shoulder? No it bounces and just irritates. The price a bit steep, but hey it's made excellently. I enjoy knowing these are so well built by Sony.

Picture Quality

Good

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

4