HIGH-SPEED FLASH

Product Reviews

$549.99

6

3.2 based on 6 customer reviews

0
2
3
1
0
Performance

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Good Flash - A Few Minor Quibbles

HVLF60RM 21/08/2018 by MNPNW (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have two of the HVL-F60RM flashes which I use in combination with a HVL-45RM. They work well; however take a bit longer to setup than the Canon radio units I used with that system. You need to make changes on the camera and flash for remote use and if you decide to use a different unit as the commander, it requires a re-pairing. The swivel head is quite useful, just a bit weak in holding the flash head position. TTL works quite well, better than third party units I've used (Godox). Switches and controls superior to third party units. Wish OEM's would start making LiOn units, perhaps using the same battery as the camera. Overall, a good OEM quality radio flash unit.

Performance

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Won't allow more than one master

HVL-F60RM 05/04/2019 by CGPhoto (USA)

Only one master is allowed to trigger slaves. If you are a wedding photographer and use two bodies you can't trigger a single slave with both bodies. You can do this with any other flash system on the market.

Performance

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

6 Customer Reviews

0

Defiantly not worth the asking price

HVL-F60RM 24/10/2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I liked this flash when I first got it a month ago but feel seriously let down after using it. Its big bulky and the head is so loose that its near enough impossible to use light modifiers. The head does not lock and so moves about on its own after the slightest movement. there are lots of flashguns available at a fraction of the cost of this one with better facilities and with a locking flash head. At the asking price of this flash it should be perfect and it isn't and far from it. I tested this one at the side of a Nissan Di700A using a Seconic flash meter there appear very similar in power output, the Nissan has a locking head and facilities are very similar at a price nearly a quarter of this one from Sony. The facilities on the flash work well and are easy to learn but at over £600.00 they are not outstanding. When I bought this Sony flash had I known then what I know now I would have defiantly chosen a different flash

Performance

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Overheats after minimal use!

HVL-F60RM 04/08/2020 by johp (USA)

I have used this flash for awhile but recently it has been overheating with minimal use on my Sony A7RIV camera. At this price point I am disappointed.

Performance

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Prolonged Pain Amidst The Beauty

HVL-F60RM 28/04/2020 by Sky Born Visual (USA)

‘WITHOUT THE HEAVY MAGMOD ATTACHMENTS this flash will FALL OFF YOUR SONY ALPHA 7,9 CAMERA! One day. And surprise you!’ Have been using two of these for years. I LOVED THEM WITH ALL MY HEART in the beginning. Was super impressed by the speed and quality when syncing at events and for real estate. Prom, portraits - used them both endlessly. Then one day one fell of the hot shoe mount. And then the other...is it the mount, me or the flash locking mech!? And the bitterness in my heart turned the sweetness into a distant memory. It took a few more bounces off the floor to make me spend on ‘off camera’ items - like the remote driver (which doesn’t fall off my Sony Alphas!) and a couple of MagMod grips to attach them to tripods. Yeah! What a pain when all you want is an on camera flash for bouncing light. And run and gun. But it saves them from their next tumble to the floor! as I said Bitter Sweet! But I can safely say I feel emotionally unstable when shooting a portrait and the LOCKING MECHANISM OBVIOUSLY DOESNT STAY LOCKED! Should rename this the Sony High Impact Flash

Performance

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Excellent

HVL-F60RM 16/02/2020 by JarJar (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used Nikon flash units for the majority of my photography work (Weddings) When I moved over to Sony I was reluctant to purchase the rather expensive HVL-F60RM and opted for a cheaper non branded flash to work with my Sony’s A7iii and found them to be inconsistent and unreliable. I recently purchased the Sony flagship flash several weeks ago and find the unit to have a quality build (which it should be for £619) the light is consistence and the HSS works with the flash head in any position. The design of this flash is revolutionary with it’s rotating mount (the flash is in the same position in horizontal as it is in the vertical) The recycle time is excellent and with my line of work is more than adequate for my environment . The menu system is simple and easy to navigate unlike the menus system on my A7iii. I would have paid the asking price of £619 but if you look around I purchased the unit from Wilkinson camera shop based in the Uk for £449. Having been in the wedding g photography business for 12 years you get used to overpriced gear but as stated earlier in this basic review you get what you pay for and in my opinion this unit is excellent (

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Won't allow more than one master

HVL-F60RM 05/04/2019 by CGPhoto (USA)

Only one master is allowed to trigger slaves. If you are a wedding photographer and use two bodies you can't trigger a single slave with both bodies. You can do this with any other flash system on the market.

Performance

Fair

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

Response From Sony Social Support
08/04/2019

Hello CGPhoto,

We regret to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations. We're always looking to make Sony better. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.


Regards,
Zac
Sony Social Support

0

Good Flash - A Few Minor Quibbles

HVLF60RM 21/08/2018 by MNPNW (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have two of the HVL-F60RM flashes which I use in combination with a HVL-45RM. They work well; however take a bit longer to setup than the Canon radio units I used with that system. You need to make changes on the camera and flash for remote use and if you decide to use a different unit as the commander, it requires a re-pairing. The swivel head is quite useful, just a bit weak in holding the flash head position. TTL works quite well, better than third party units I've used (Godox). Switches and controls superior to third party units. Wish OEM's would start making LiOn units, perhaps using the same battery as the camera. Overall, a good OEM quality radio flash unit.

Performance

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

9

0