REMOTE COMMANDER

Product Reviews

$79.99

22

2.7 based on 22 customer reviews

3
6
3
1
9
Performance

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

A7III Works great, instructions need help.

RMT-P1BT 04/05/2019 by Bill W (USA)

If you are having problems connecting this to your camera make sure your "Bluetooth Remote Cntl" setting is turned on. It's on the 3rd page of the Network tab all by itself on V3 firmware of the A7III. Once setup, this thing works great and as advertised. Continuous shooting, bulb mode, time lapse trigger, all great. Without obstacles and in line of sight I was able to fire the camera reliably from about 60ft. Complaints: The documentation that it comes with AND the help documents online do not mention the Bluetooth Remote Cntl setting on the camera, this needs to be fixed. Also, not a big deal but it has a place for a lanyard which is nice but it does not come with one.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Works as expected - when it stays connected.

RMT-P1BT 08/10/2019 by egp1 (USA)

The remote works fine when it can actually stay paired to my a7riii (running the latest firmware release). It loses connection constantly and without any predictable pattern. Sometimes it will reestablish connection if I activate the shutter on camera. Other times I have to power cycle the camera. About 50% of the time it needs to be re-paired via the bluetooth menu on camera. I shoot 2-3 times daily in sessions lasting 1.5-4 hours and it happens on every, single, shoot. If Sony could get the bluetooth thing down it would be a far better product. As it stands currently it's hard to recommend this to professionals.

Performance

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

22 Customer Reviews

0

Will not hold connection

RMT-P1BT 24/05/2020 by ramigrafx (USA)

Just purchased item with great hopes for it with my new Sony A7R4 camera. Tried to set it up but each time within a few seconds of pairing the connection was lost. Tried several times and still the same. Camera ok with other bluetooth connections. I should have read the reviews first. Going back to Amazon tomorrow

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From DI PRO
27/05/2020

Hello, we're sorry for the negative experience. If you'd like further assistance, please give us a call at 1-239-245-6360

0

Excellent remote for landscape photography

RMT-P1BT 04/03/2020 by Pete N (United Kingdom)

Works perfectly on my A7RIV. Ideal for photography on a tripod. Can configure one of the buttons to your choice of function . Also can keep in pocket away from rain and cold and has decent range. Much more useable than remotes with annoying tangled wires. Highly recommended.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

It's so brilliant... . No more cables...

RMT-P1BT 09/02/2020 by Decco (USA)

What a fantastic piece of inginuity, so so handy, all you have to do is remember to bring it with you..

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/02/2020

Hi, Deccoaa935abf4d5e545caf2a6f9ddbfbd9155b18!

We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thank you for choosing SONY!

0

Great but Focus is so slow

RMT-P1BT 30/01/2020  (USA)

In there a way to speed up the Focus granularity? it takes 1min to go through the Focus range

Performance

Average

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Pointless. Can't use location GPS when using this!

RMT-P1BT 03/12/2019 by Rafal_Lacki (United Kingdom)

It's a completely pointless device.When using it, you can't use the GPS location services, i.e. linking to your mobile phone app via Bluetooth. It should be VERY CLEARLY stated in the description of the item. In fact it is mentioned in the manual, but this is not highlighted strongly enough! Much better to buy a 3rd party remote for much less money. I totally discourage anybody from buying this thing.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

10

9

0

Doesn't work with A9

RMT-P1BT 28/10/2019 by FarmerRoz (USA)

I bought your most professional camera (before a9II was released) expecting to get all of your top performances and tools. How funny that this remote doesn't work with a9! Your really wasting time and money here!

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
30/10/2019

Hi, FarmerRoz!

Please check if your camera has the latest firmware version. If it is outdated, please update the software then test the remote again.

If you are unable to resolve your concern, please email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com with the following details:

Name:
Sony website Username:
Model Number:
Issue:
Telephone Number:


Sincerely,

Vincent
Sony Social Support

0

Works as expected - when it stays connected.

RMT-P1BT 08/10/2019 by egp1 (USA)

The remote works fine when it can actually stay paired to my a7riii (running the latest firmware release). It loses connection constantly and without any predictable pattern. Sometimes it will reestablish connection if I activate the shutter on camera. Other times I have to power cycle the camera. About 50% of the time it needs to be re-paired via the bluetooth menu on camera. I shoot 2-3 times daily in sessions lasting 1.5-4 hours and it happens on every, single, shoot. If Sony could get the bluetooth thing down it would be a far better product. As it stands currently it's hard to recommend this to professionals.

Performance

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/10/2019

Hi, egp1!

Good to know that your unit is working fine. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,
David

0

Expensive but useful.

RMTP1BT 02/10/2019  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a remote because the cheap IR device I had been using needed a battery. This item is a new product so I gave it a try. It works just as advertised. I still think it is way too expensive for all it does. Adding the touchless shutter app to the firmware would have given me all I really needed. I have used this device to trigger the camera while taking family group shots so for that it works exceptionally well. I also like not having to open a flap on the side of the camera when connecting. And yes, it works from a reasonable distance away from the camera. And yes, it works from behind the camera outside in bright sunlight, something the IR device struggled with. I recommend this device to anyone that has enough disposable cash. At $20.00 U.S. this device would get a HIGHLY RECOMENDED.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/10/2019

Hi, CharlieMoser! Your feedback is highly appreciated. It will be a big help in improving the quality of our products. Thank you for sharing your review. ~Ralph

0

SONY A9, FOCUS ZOOM OPERATION

RMT-P1BT 19/08/2019 by maxjam (USA)

I can't use this with A9, looking at compatibility guide this remote should with new A9 firmware after v5.01 to be released this summer 2019. From other comments it seems that zoom/focus operation is only supported while shooting JPEG. Any word from SONY mentioning this in manual or notes on use for this remote??

Design

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/08/2019

Hi, maxjam! Details about the update are currently unavailable. Please refer to our support website for the latest news and updates about the camera:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/e-mount-body-ilce-9-series/ilce-9/downloads
~Ralph

0

Great but....

RMT-P1BT 07/08/2019 by SonyUser10 (USA)

This remote works very good, but ONLY if there is no menu open on the camera ! It does not cancel menu like regular shutter button does. SONY - why ? I've lost a lot of sessions because someone accidentally pressed c1 or c2 button on a camera ! Please keep in mind, that this is a REMOTE - you don't see camera's screen !

Performance

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/08/2019

Hi, SonyUser10!

Thank you for sharing your experience and thoughts of your Sony RMT-P1BT remote commander. We will forward this to the right department. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

Needs to support the RX0 II

RMT-P1BT 03/08/2019 by John91 (USA)

This remote is the perfect size and a much better design to the old style Sony wired remotes. I wish that the firmware is updated soon to add support for the Sony RX0 Mark 2. Sony brings innovation and quality, but it needs to keep its camera accessories (firmware etc...) up to date with the latest models, the Bluetooth Remote Commander needs to work with the RX0M2 etc.. Otherwise customers feel abandoned. This remote would be perfect if you could toggle between Zoom & Focus.

Performance

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/08/2019

Hi, John91! Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in the US and Canada. We highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/. ~Ralph

0

Works well with the a7RIII

RMTP1BT 14/07/2019 by gt5man (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I already owned the IR remote but I needed to trigger the shutter from a position where line-of-sight would not work, that's why I bought this bluetooth remote. It does work well with the a7RIII and it does provide a quick shutter release but with ONE BIG CAVEAT: You cannot use GPS tagging and this remote at the same time! Apparently the camera can only handle one bluetooth connection at a time. Boo! Another minor inconvenience is that to go back to the IR remote, you must re-enable "IR Remote Ctrl" in the menu which is fine but unfortunately, you cannot assign this to the function menu or to a custom button! Also, these two functions are in different areas of the menu: "IR Remote Ctrl" is in Setup3/Tab3 and "Bluetooth Rmt Ctrl" is in Network3/Tab3. Finally, you can only use the zoom buttons if you are NOT shooting RAW! Say what?!

Performance

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

Video with A7iii 18-105PZ

RMT-P1BT 28/05/2019 by EKW1 (USA)

Works great for video with the 18-105 f4 power zoom, perfect slow fixed speed zoom... does increase in speed a little when transitioning to clear image zoom. Great improvement over the on lens control which was hard to keep on the desired slow speed.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Zoom function

RMT-P1BT 23/05/2019 by SoBlessednTX (USA)

I bought this and just received it today. The zoom function will not work when you are taking raw plus jpeg or raw only. It will only work if taking jpegs. this is just crazy because most professional photographers shoot in raw. So this function is basically useless to us. What's up with that?

Performance

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

7

0

Response From DI PRO
01/04/2020

Hello. Please give us a call at 1-239-245-6360 for further assistance.

0

Dose not connect with Sony A9 after v5 update

RMT-P1BT 11/05/2019 by AJR14 (USA)

Currently there is no way to connect this Bluetooth remote to the Sony A9 when you have updated the firmware to v5. Sony please update! Right now I’m holding your flagship camera and a brand new remote that’s just a useless piece of plastic.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

5

0

0

Works pretty well

RMT-P1BT 09/05/2019 by RBatey (USA)

Works pretty well on my a7iii. I agree the paper documentation is nearly useless, basically just describes the obvious and no indication of more detailed manual online. That said, for me pairing was easy enough. The remote functions nicely as a basic trigger. The great thing is you don’t need to have a receiver in the hot shoe like on third party triggers. The zoom function seems to just be a digital zoom. I should probably have realized it would not actually zoom my 24-105 lens but they should be more clear about this. It may zoom lenses like the 16-55 (a6xxx kit lens) I haven’t tried that. And the C1 and AF-ON don’t seem to do much, and the online manual does not provide any help. Pressing the AF-ON does bring up the custom function I have programmed to that button (in my case Face/Eye Priority On/Off) but does not let you turn it on or off from the remote. Same with the C1 button, it brings up the menu on the camera (in my case it is ISO setting) but does not let you change it with the remote. Having Bluetooth on seems to be pulling the battery down rapidly. On the plus side, the greatest thing for me is the focus button. In AF mode the +- focus buttons don’t do anything. The camera will auto focus when the shutter button is pressed. But in MF mode it will invoke the focus magnifier in the viewfinder and you can see the focus change in small increments as you keep pressing the button. This is an awesome for macro work and gives you a precise ability to focus stack accurately. Now if they would just automate this. Still not as good as CamRanger, which llet you automate focus stacking from an iPad.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

only works with newest models

RMT-P1BT 09/05/2019 by colaidian (USA)

no a7R2 or a 6000 compatibility. not great for $72

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

3

Response From DI PRO
11/04/2020

Hi, we apologize that the model you listed does not work with the remote commander RMT-P1BT. For a7r2 and a6000 cameras please refer to remote commander model : RMT-DSLR2.
Best Regards,
Pakorn

0

A7III Works great, instructions need help.

RMT-P1BT 04/05/2019 by Bill W (USA)

If you are having problems connecting this to your camera make sure your "Bluetooth Remote Cntl" setting is turned on. It's on the 3rd page of the Network tab all by itself on V3 firmware of the A7III. Once setup, this thing works great and as advertised. Continuous shooting, bulb mode, time lapse trigger, all great. Without obstacles and in line of sight I was able to fire the camera reliably from about 60ft. Complaints: The documentation that it comes with AND the help documents online do not mention the Bluetooth Remote Cntl setting on the camera, this needs to be fixed. Also, not a big deal but it has a place for a lanyard which is nice but it does not come with one.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Not working

RMT-P1BT 04/05/2019 by woodw98 (USA)

Cannot get it to work with A7III. It appears to pair but will not trigger the camera. When I press the shutter button on the remote it flashes quickly as though there's no connection. I've read and followed the help guide and cannot get it to work.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

2

4

0

Won’t pair with my cameras

RMT-P1BT 03/05/2019 by Alphaxp (USA)

I have a Sony a7riii and an a9. Both have updated firmware. The only pairing available in the camera menus is for the smartphone apps. No way to pair with this remote. Not sure why Sony says it works on these cameras. Guess I wasted my money

Ease of Use

Poor

4

7

0

Doesn't even work

RMT-P1BT 01/05/2019 by Andrew P (USA)

On camera screen, it say it's connect to the device and paring is complete. But when I tried pressing the remote button, it doesn't do anything! Frustrating! Will return this asap.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

2

0

Hard to figure

RMT-P1BT 26/04/2019 by hogrim (USA)

Can't find an online manual at Sony. The paper manual is poor and not intuitive. Camera and remote seem to pair, but nothing else happens.

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

4

Response From Sony Social Support
26/04/2019

Hi hogrim, We regret to hear that it hasn't been an easy experience for you. Here is the manual of the remote:
https://helpguide.sony.net/ilc/1820/v1/en/index.html
For troubleshooting steps, kindly check on this link:
https://helpguide.sony.net/ilc/1820/v1/en/contents/TP0002240393.html
Regards,
~Ralph