14

2.5 based on 14 customer reviews

1
4
2
1
6
Performance

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

A7III Works great, instructions need help.

RMT-P1BT 04/05/2019 by Bill W (USA)

If you are having problems connecting this to your camera make sure your "Bluetooth Remote Cntl" setting is turned on. It's on the 3rd page of the Network tab all by itself on V3 firmware of the A7III. Once setup, this thing works great and as advertised. Continuous shooting, bulb mode, time lapse trigger, all great. Without obstacles and in line of sight I was able to fire the camera reliably from about 60ft. Complaints: The documentation that it comes with AND the help documents online do not mention the Bluetooth Remote Cntl setting on the camera, this needs to be fixed. Also, not a big deal but it has a place for a lanyard which is nice but it does not come with one.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Zoom function

RMT-P1BT 23/05/2019 by SoBlessednTX (USA)

I bought this and just received it today. The zoom function will not work when you are taking raw plus jpeg or raw only. It will only work if taking jpegs. this is just crazy because most professional photographers shoot in raw. So this function is basically useless to us. What's up with that?

Performance

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

14 Customer Reviews

0

SONY A9, FOCUS ZOOM OPERATION

RMT-P1BT 19/08/2019 by maxjam (USA)

I can't use this with A9, looking at compatibility guide this remote should with new A9 firmware after v5.01 to be released this summer 2019. From other comments it seems that zoom/focus operation is only supported while shooting JPEG. Any word from SONY mentioning this in manual or notes on use for this remote??

Design

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/08/2019

Hi, maxjam! Details about the update are currently unavailable. Please refer to our support website for the latest news and updates about the camera:
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/e-mount-body-ilce-9-series/ilce-9/downloads
~Ralph

0

Great but....

RMT-P1BT 07/08/2019 by SonyUser10 (USA)

This remote works very good, but ONLY if there is no menu open on the camera ! It does not cancel menu like regular shutter button does. SONY - why ? I've lost a lot of sessions because someone accidentally pressed c1 or c2 button on a camera ! Please keep in mind, that this is a REMOTE - you don't see camera's screen !

Performance

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/08/2019

Hi, SonyUser10!

Thank you for sharing your experience and thoughts of your Sony RMT-P1BT remote commander. We will forward this to the right department. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

Needs to support the RX0 II

RMT-P1BT 03/08/2019 by John91 (USA)

This remote is the perfect size and a much better design to the old style Sony wired remotes. I wish that the firmware is updated soon to add support for the Sony RX0 Mark 2. Sony brings innovation and quality, but it needs to keep its camera accessories (firmware etc...) up to date with the latest models, the Bluetooth Remote Commander needs to work with the RX0M2 etc.. Otherwise customers feel abandoned. This remote would be perfect if you could toggle between Zoom & Focus.

Performance

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/08/2019

Hi, John91! Greetings and thank you for your message. On this site, we are able to provide assistance for customers in the US and Canada. We highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/. ~Ralph

0

Works well with the a7RIII

RMTP1BT 14/07/2019 by gt5man (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I already owned the IR remote but I needed to trigger the shutter from a position where line-of-sight would not work, that's why I bought this bluetooth remote. It does work well with the a7RIII and it does provide a quick shutter release but with ONE BIG CAVEAT: You cannot use GPS tagging and this remote at the same time! Apparently the camera can only handle one bluetooth connection at a time. Boo! Another minor inconvenience is that to go back to the IR remote, you must re-enable "IR Remote Ctrl" in the menu which is fine but unfortunately, you cannot assign this to the function menu or to a custom button! Also, these two functions are in different areas of the menu: "IR Remote Ctrl" is in Setup3/Tab3 and "Bluetooth Rmt Ctrl" is in Network3/Tab3. Finally, you can only use the zoom buttons if you are NOT shooting RAW! Say what?!

Performance

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Video with A7iii 18-105PZ

RMT-P1BT 28/05/2019 by EKW1 (USA)

Works great for video with the 18-105 f4 power zoom, perfect slow fixed speed zoom... does increase in speed a little when transitioning to clear image zoom. Great improvement over the on lens control which was hard to keep on the desired slow speed.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Zoom function

RMT-P1BT 23/05/2019 by SoBlessednTX (USA)

I bought this and just received it today. The zoom function will not work when you are taking raw plus jpeg or raw only. It will only work if taking jpegs. this is just crazy because most professional photographers shoot in raw. So this function is basically useless to us. What's up with that?

Performance

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

4

0

0

Dose not connect with Sony A9 after v5 update

RMT-P1BT 11/05/2019 by AJR14 (USA)

Currently there is no way to connect this Bluetooth remote to the Sony A9 when you have updated the firmware to v5. Sony please update! Right now I’m holding your flagship camera and a brand new remote that’s just a useless piece of plastic.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

0

Works pretty well

RMT-P1BT 09/05/2019 by RBatey (USA)

Works pretty well on my a7iii. I agree the paper documentation is nearly useless, basically just describes the obvious and no indication of more detailed manual online. That said, for me pairing was easy enough. The remote functions nicely as a basic trigger. The great thing is you don’t need to have a receiver in the hot shoe like on third party triggers. The zoom function seems to just be a digital zoom. I should probably have realized it would not actually zoom my 24-105 lens but they should be more clear about this. It may zoom lenses like the 16-55 (a6xxx kit lens) I haven’t tried that. And the C1 and AF-ON don’t seem to do much, and the online manual does not provide any help. Pressing the AF-ON does bring up the custom function I have programmed to that button (in my case Face/Eye Priority On/Off) but does not let you turn it on or off from the remote. Same with the C1 button, it brings up the menu on the camera (in my case it is ISO setting) but does not let you change it with the remote. Having Bluetooth on seems to be pulling the battery down rapidly. On the plus side, the greatest thing for me is the focus button. In AF mode the +- focus buttons don’t do anything. The camera will auto focus when the shutter button is pressed. But in MF mode it will invoke the focus magnifier in the viewfinder and you can see the focus change in small increments as you keep pressing the button. This is an awesome for macro work and gives you a precise ability to focus stack accurately. Now if they would just automate this. Still not as good as CamRanger, which llet you automate focus stacking from an iPad.

Performance

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

only works with newest models

RMT-P1BT 09/05/2019 by colaidian (USA)

no a7R2 or a 6000 compatibility. not great for $72

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

3

0

A7III Works great, instructions need help.

RMT-P1BT 04/05/2019 by Bill W (USA)

If you are having problems connecting this to your camera make sure your "Bluetooth Remote Cntl" setting is turned on. It's on the 3rd page of the Network tab all by itself on V3 firmware of the A7III. Once setup, this thing works great and as advertised. Continuous shooting, bulb mode, time lapse trigger, all great. Without obstacles and in line of sight I was able to fire the camera reliably from about 60ft. Complaints: The documentation that it comes with AND the help documents online do not mention the Bluetooth Remote Cntl setting on the camera, this needs to be fixed. Also, not a big deal but it has a place for a lanyard which is nice but it does not come with one.

Performance

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Not working

RMT-P1BT 04/05/2019 by woodw98 (USA)

Cannot get it to work with A7III. It appears to pair but will not trigger the camera. When I press the shutter button on the remote it flashes quickly as though there's no connection. I've read and followed the help guide and cannot get it to work.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

4

0

Won’t pair with my cameras

RMT-P1BT 03/05/2019 by Alphaxp (USA)

I have a Sony a7riii and an a9. Both have updated firmware. The only pairing available in the camera menus is for the smartphone apps. No way to pair with this remote. Not sure why Sony says it works on these cameras. Guess I wasted my money

Ease of Use

Poor

3

6

0

Doesn't even work

RMT-P1BT 01/05/2019 by Andrew P (USA)

On camera screen, it say it's connect to the device and paring is complete. But when I tried pressing the remote button, it doesn't do anything! Frustrating! Will return this asap.

Performance

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

Hard to figure

RMT-P1BT 26/04/2019 by hogrim (USA)

Can't find an online manual at Sony. The paper manual is poor and not intuitive. Camera and remote seem to pair, but nothing else happens.

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

4

Response From Sony Social Support
26/04/2019

Hi hogrim, We regret to hear that it hasn't been an easy experience for you. Here is the manual of the remote:
https://helpguide.sony.net/ilc/1820/v1/en/index.html
For troubleshooting steps, kindly check on this link:
https://helpguide.sony.net/ilc/1820/v1/en/contents/TP0002240393.html
Regards,
~Ralph