Skip to Content

Starting at

$599.99

31

4.6 based on 31 customer reviews

21
9
1
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

31 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Sony A68

Body Only 27/11/2017 by chris111 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to replace my ageing Sony A350 - pleased with the enhanced performance of the A68 and looking forward to another 10 years of trouble free use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Upgrade from a Sony A700

Body Only 21/11/2017 by Aggersnelli (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recent upgrade and still in the process of fully evaluating the features in comparison to my A700. The owners guide book that came with it is very basic, useful more in-depth explanations and tips on the various settings can be found on the Sony website. I have yet to fully try the camera out which will be the real test hence just a 4* for now. One problem I have found (so far) is the need to make exposure adjustments (shutter or aperture) using the rear Control Wheel. It needs to be turned clockwise/anticlockwise using the thumb, awkward enough but could be more of a problem if you have a large thumb! The Wheel itself needs to be larger or a return to a Rear Control Dial for these adjustments as with the A7. I think this could be even more of a problem when out photographing in cold weather - big or small thumb! This winter coming will be the time to test this theory. On the plus side, it is light and compact; histogram is live and indicates exposure as exposure adjustments are made. Peak Level for focus (manual) is a new and useful feature as is the exposure highlight indication with the Zebra function, new to me and yet to be fully tried out. "Scene Selections" (Shooting Mode) look useful. I normally use "A", "S" or "Manual" but these options might be worth trying. Disappointed that there is no compatible Vertical Grip for this model which I really found useful with my A7. Having used my A7 for several years, it will take some time to get to grips with the new technology and features to be found in the A68. To sum up, it is early days yet for a full evaluation but based on first impressions it will hopefully prove be a good replacement and a justifiable upgrade once I get used to all the functions available.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sony A68

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 14/11/2017 by ashleyd (United Kingdom)

I acquired this camera about two weeks ago and up to now I am quiet impressed for the ease of use and picture quality, the menu's are well designed and quiet easy to get round. I also like the fact that I can use my old Minolta AF lens which work perfectly well with good results

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 22/10/2017  (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera about a month ago and couldn't be happier with it. It is sturdily built and takes amazing photos. The auto focus is amazing in sports mode and the portrait mode is unbelievable at capturing high quality images of loved ones. I would definitely recommend the Sony Alpha 68 to anyone looking at taking their photography to the next level. Good job Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Lots of new features since my a65 model

Body Only 10/09/2017 by Jud71 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple of weeks ago and am still familiarising myself with all the new additions. It will probably take me sometime but I look forward with anticipation of good photography in the future.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great focus system. Terrific upgrade from Canon

Body Only 24/08/2017 by Marinedtcom (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had Canon EOS and its focus system tortured me for years. I should have changed to Sony a long time ago!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Easy to Configure

Body Only 21/08/2017 by Old Car (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had the camera for less than a month. However I am happy with the results so far. I have been able to configure the camera to suit my tastes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Some great features, some missing

Body Only 03/08/2017 by ErnieS (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as an upgrate to my A57 mainly because of the 50% more pixels, which is great. There are some extra features which are good (like the angled display on the back, and the programmable buttons) but I am going to miss the ability to remote release the shutter and the single point focus (which may be there but I haven't found it yet). I also need to buy a new flashgun as the fitting is not the same as the A57. The handbook (in many languages) explains what everything is on the camera, but not allways how to use it. Overall, a good camera which I will enjoy using.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Upgrade

Body Only 04/07/2017 by srjc51 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a month ago as an upgrade to my Sony A33, it is a major advance over my old camera and I'm still getting used to the sophistication and with what is possible

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Pro features in an enthusiast body!

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 25/06/2017 by Eugene51 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had been reluctant to "go SLT", but when my a580 developed a fatal problem, and I still had a bag of a-mount lenses, I took the leap. From the moment it powered up, I could see that Sony had achieved with this camera. The menu, while initially mindboggling, makes sense, once you explore it, and is backed with features that I will spend weeks trying out. The functions and set up are simple and clear to use, and within a couple of hours, I had my settings to my liking, and programed into memory number one. I have seen criticism of the shutter release elsewhere, with reviewrs saying it is too sensitive. Well, maybe they aren't experienced Sony users, or maybe Sony have improved it since the camera was launched, but I have found it just as easy to use as those on the a100, 200, 350 & 580, and have had no accidental releases. The other criticism has been the size and resolution of the LCD. Yes, it is slightly smaller, but the resolution is the same as on the a580, I think, so to me, it is a non-issue. The resolution of the EVF is excellent, and the responsiveness is amazing. Having the option to display all settings in it, and the 100% view is fantastic, and it means I have no excuses for having the wrong settings! The image results are very good in both Jpg and RAW, though I did get a shock at the size of an XFine Jpg, at between 14-15mb, almost 3 times that of my a580. The picture effects settings are fun, and will be fully explored, in the fullness of time. My favourite is the high contrast B&W, which is one of my memory settings. The creative styles are a massive improvement on the a580, with adjustments possible within each style, in saturation, sharpness & contrast. The only criticism I have of the camera package is the user manual. They typeface is small, and not too clear, and it's also incomplete. Personally, I'd prefer a slightly larger page, and single language, with more detail on the functions, memory setting, and picture effects. I had to go online to find this, not convenient if you are out shooting, and find you aren'r sure how something works. Other than that, I am mightily impressed with the camera, and looking forward to a lot of happy hours capturing images with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Quality photos!

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 02/06/2017 by Stinger2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I treated myself to this for my birthday and I'm very happy. The video and recording are very good quality and the continuous shot is extremely fast!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camera

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 31/05/2017 by Mysteryman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera especially for the price, auto focus is good and the quality seems good. Downside is it seems prone to under exposure and also changing some settings auto changes others like exposure and aputure

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Upgrading a 350

Body Only 09/05/2017 by Caveboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have now had this camera for a year and found it to be excellent. I'm learning about astro- and filter photography and it's nice and easy to get to all the settings I need to know about, and therefore easier to remember. Support from Sony is non-existent though. No link to the full manual (which I had but lost with the death of an iPad) and no response to my requests for help finding it. My only concern is that, occasionally when using long exposures or when half-holding the shutter release to focus, there is a 'grinding' type noise. I hope it's not serious long-term. When I contacted Sony about it a few weeks after purchase, I was told about noise reduction options, the man couldn't understand 'noise', 'sound I can actually hear!' Ah well.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Overall really great, although some misses

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 14/03/2017 by Nina2754 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as my first DSLR and was quite pleased. Although I really dislike that it doesn't have wifi, and then screen is such low pixels that it is hard to see if the picture is in good quality or not.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great

Body Only 25/02/2017 by Andw (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So happy with this. Upgraded from an order Alpha. Really pleased.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very pleased!!

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 13/02/2017 by clivethediver (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about a month ago and I'm so happy with the quality of the pictures and of the camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Absolutely Pleased!

Body Only 23/01/2017 by Macboo (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am so glad that I purchased the A68. It is by far the best camera I have had. It's image quality (IQ) and focusing is absolutely amazing. I am a photography enthusiast that has a limited budget. The images I get from this camera are very good and highly praised by other photographers that I share them with in photography groups and clubs. It has an entry level price with some above entry level features. I love it because I can use vintage Minolta Maxxum Lenses and they work great. I cannot wait until I am able to purchase the Sony 16-50mm 2.8. The kit lens is good, but I have a used 18-70mm 3.5-5.6 that is razor tack sharp... Thank you Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Another Sony to my collection.

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 13/01/2017 by Vindastu (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased the ILCA-68K to replace my trusty A200 and I am so pleased I did, it is a superb camera. This may sound odd to some but as a left hander it had to feel right (to my knowledge they don't make cameras for left handers) and as it is not far removed from the A200 it was a perfect fit. It has been developed and some additional features have been added, nice easy to view top mount display. It is easy to get familiar with, very user friendly, light and well balanced. One thing that soon became apparent was just how quiet is was, great if like me you like to photograph wildlife, plus if you pay for a decent quality card you get a fast, quiet transfer. I have had the camera almost 2 months and I have yet to find anything I would change. I did read several reviews and did consider other brands but once I tried the cameras in store it was only ever going to be a Sony, just a case of which one. I also own a Sony DSC-HX90 compact which I use for travel mainly and with the experience of owning the A200, plus not having to buy new lenses the choice was easy. I can highly recommend the SonyILCA-68K it really is a quality piece of kit.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Superb feel and great photos

Body Only 07/01/2017 by HoobyWinch (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received this as a Christmas present. Absolutely fantastic quality photos and a great feel to handling the camera. Am very happy with it and would recommend it to all amateur photographers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Upgrade for my Sony A57

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 02/01/2017 by Gerrymac (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera as a update to my Sony A57 which I have owed for four year so over due a replacement. I much prefer the rear LCD screen and build quality of my A57 come on Sony this screen on the A68 is rubbish if your competitors can put a top quality rear screen so can you, The body also feels lower quality but picture quality is where it counts and this camera is top notch in that department.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great for the price

Body Only 19/11/2016 by Number10ox (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted the a77ii but couldn't stretch to the price. Got the a68 instead. I'm very happy with what I got. I could have done with a quick start guide. It took me a few minutes to realise the battery was completely empty and therefore had to wait three hours for the battery to charge. However once charged I was not disappointed. I was very impressed with the image stabilisation capacity of the camera when I took a photo of Orion by hand, no tripod, at a 1second exposure, almost negligible shake.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Still learning good features

Body Only 15/11/2016 by drakey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about a month ago and I am still learning the differences between my old alpha58 and the newer alpha68

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Amazing features for the price

Body Only 29/08/2016 by Sirkipalot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Every time I pick the A68 up I learn something new and there is still a lot to learn about this camera. It is a massive step up from the A57. I cannot wait to get it out and about with and see what results I get from this amazing camera. It's money well spent

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Upgrading my camera

Body Only 25/07/2016 by AndyPandy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought about a month ago. At first had problems understanding some of the features that I had never seen before. Some are not essentials, and are available through different access modes, which I think is unnecessary and confusing for the first time user. I am still playing with the multiple access options for the features. Optics ... the focus can be fine tuned for each of the lenses I am using, still not sure if this is working as my eyesight is not the best. The camera is a lot heaver than the A58 and A37 that I have been used to so initially takes some controlling. After a period of use I have now become an avid lover of this camera. Some people say that it is not worth while not upgrading for a 4mp increase in picture quality. I disagree. If you want it go for it. The sample pictures are all under 5mp. A hard task to find as this camera produces pictures of over 19mp in in extrafine jpeg mode.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

8

1

0

Lightening fast AF

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 23/07/2016 by SnapHappy67 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera as an upgrade to my well used a37. The bigger body is far more comfortable to hold having big hands. The AF is very responsive and works well even in low light levels. Still so much to learn with the camera but does everything well - the auto mode produces some excellent results for those times where you need to just point and shoot. The only slight disappointment the plastic lens mount ring just seems a bit cheapskate for what is otherwise a good quality capable camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Awesome camera with great features

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 13/07/2016 by dcvdorset (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera as an early 40th to myself. Having used a NEX-5 I decided it was time to step up. No regrets.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Great features at a great price

Body Only 08/07/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this over the phone after a long internet search as I've been waiting for one to become available following the recent devastating events of the earthquake in Japan. Well worth the wait! I have had this camera for about a month so far and it has already proven to be a fantastic buy. The only minor featur that seems to be a dissapointment to some is the screen size and screen quality but it's not something that worries me and is more than adequate for the purpose or live view and shot review. the screen is very versatile and can be viewd at any angle thanks to an adjustable screen bracket. I love the top view screen that has all the information I need to see at a glance rather than having to look at the rear view screen. I also like the easy selection of things like ISO, WB, Apeture and Shutter speed controls by use of dedicated buttons although it'll take me some time to remeber thjeir positions. This camera has plenty of great options and gadgets that I have yet to fully discover and for me, a beginner in photography, it has hit all the rights spots. For the price, it has plenty to offer such as ease of use, multiple pre-set functions (that can be modified to suit) and isn't as heavy as some may make out. the balance is ok but a little one sided but this is of little consequence for me. all in all, so far, I'm impressed and is a long way up from my previous sony which was an A230, an entry level DSLR that was 10 years old and had more than paid it's way and is now my back-up camera. I chose this after reading many reviews online and in magazines compared to other makes. But I already have four lenses that are Alpha mount so Sony was my obviouse choice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Its got all I need on board.

Body Only 22/05/2016 by Noddyish (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had to wait some months to get my hands on this camera but as soon as I got it I knew it was so much more advanced than my previous A100. The translucent mirror and almost silent operation was a revelation to me. To date I have only used it in Auto but that has produced an outstanding range of images. Highly recommended product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Sony a68

Body Only 06/05/2016 by petejac (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had the camera a week so still finding my around all it's features

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great beginner/enthusiasts camera

Body Only 24/04/2016 by vphil86 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great camera for those looking to take a step up from their phone or point and click cameras. Easy to learn, great picture quality, and all at a reasonable price.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

3

0

Very Good

Body Only 14/04/2016 by Onemooretime (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I still have a lot to learn about my A68 body but so far all my results have been Very positive. Love the sensor (massive improvement over my aging A550),resolution, speed, and dynamic range fantastic!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

0