Skip to Content

Starting at

$1,199.99

182

4.5 based on 182 customer reviews

125
41
9
2
5
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Excellent Buy

Body Only 16/04/2015 by richerchess1 (USA)

I have waited a long time before finally buying a Sony a77 mark 2. I researched all my other camera options, both Sony and the competition. I can say I made the right choice. After you use the electronic viewfinder for a while, you'll never go back to optical. It's truly amazing. Just one single example: If you're the photographer at a wedding and reception, the locations are dark, as you may know. But with the 77 mark 2, just flipping up the built-in flash(or turning on an attached flash) greatly brightens up the viewfinder. This makes it very easy to check autofocus accuracy before shooting. It also makes manual focusing a snap because it looks like someone suddenly turned on the lights!. Back when I was still using optical viewfinder cameras, accurate focusing was stressful and nerve-racking every time, in a typical reception or any dimly lit location. The camera looks awesome with the vertical grip. My only disappointment is camera A-mount support. Sony chose to push their new E-mount based cameras and lenses. I wanted, and waited...and waited... for Sony to upgrade the 100mm macro to a SSM version. It never came. A new macro 90mm came in E-mount but there is no way I can use it now. But there ARE ways to put A-mount lenses on E-mount cameras! Would I recommend the Sony a77 mark 2? You bet! Just be aware that NOW there is a "Sony A" and a "Sony B". I'm very happy with my 77 mark 2. The only things that would make it even better is a second memory card slot, and an option to attach copyright notice to the images and videos.

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Is it a great camera?

Body Only 12/08/2014 by Clark pt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was excited about upgrading to the Mk2 A77. Far too early to say how good it can be, and it may take a white to find out what it can do. The reason it may take a while, is that Sony provide a pitiful handbook that barely scratches the surface of the capabilities. Example in case, the Zebra button. Never came across this before and the handbook offers no explanation. I've had to use You Tube to find out about what it is actually for. So in a nutshell, very good looking, sturdy, camera - poor info on the product from the manufacturer. Shame.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

5

0

182 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Good camera, not so the software for Mac

Body Only 30/08/2017 by Innominate (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Haven't really put camera through its paces but the software for my iMac is hopeless as far as I can see. Nothing like the software for my previous A77 which was quite simple to use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The Greatest Upgrade ever

Body + 16-50 mm Zoom Lens 25/08/2017 by flyer2005 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera was purchased as an update for my A100 and although I have not had much time to use the camera my initial assessment is that it is an excellent camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good upgrade from my Sony a57.

Body Only 26/06/2017 by silverback117 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this a couple of weeks now and am very pleased with it. I had a bit of a problem with viewing my images on the screen after I had taken them, but it appears to be a teething problem only, and is sorted. The one thing that I am not too happy about is the user manual, if you are new to Sony cameras, you will find that there does not appear to be enough information. I have always used Sony, but I have still had to google a few things about the camera. However, the focusing system is fantastic (once you master it). All in all, I am very pleased with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great camera with grat features

Body Only 29/05/2017 by jimma (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great camera for birds, wildlife and action

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

My first real camera.

Body Only 27/05/2017 by Godzilla51 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very daunting at first but bought David Busch's book on Sony Alpha a77 11 Which explains all. I am now getting quite adept in understanding & using this great Camera. I am so pleased that I chose this particular Camera. It is outstanding & in my opinion as good or even better than similar priced big name Camera's. I highly recommend this for the novice & expert alike.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Great improvement from A65

Body Only 21/05/2017 by Darky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It has been a month since purchasing this new camera body. Originally I had a Sony A65 with two lenses that came with it. It was great to use it. Last year I replaced the two lenses with new SSM lenses of 2.8/16-50 and 4.5-5.6/70-300. The colour and definition of pictures improved noticeably with the new lenses. It was time for a new body Son a7 11 fitted the bill as I could use the SSM lenses. There are a lot of improvements and refinements to make life easier. Takes great pictures. Battery use is more than old camera so I have two spares fully charged at all times. Please only buy genuine Sony batteries. A very happy customer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Greay Features

Body Only 01/05/2017 by Anthony 10 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Up grade, delivery very quick easy to use picture quality Excellent.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Excellent camera. Improvement over the Alpha 77

Body Only 28/04/2017 by Bill61 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Alpha 77 II camera takes the best photos of any camera in it's price range. I have 3 lenses, 2 filters and a remote control. The Sony camera's have the most accessories available compared to any other make. This is my 3rd Sony camera and I'm very glad I stuck to Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Fast Processor

Body Only 23/03/2017 by photosbymeta (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having upgraded from a Sony a65, the first thing I noticed is the increased speed of the processor, which is demonstrated in HDR Mode. HDR now takes less than 2 seconds to process, much faster than the older a65 processor.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Upgrade

Body Only 08/01/2017 by gardenman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased 2 weeks ago as a replacement for original A77 and very pleased with it so far, lots of updated feature.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Very impressive camera.

Body Only 08/01/2017 by zeuspd (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not used the camera to it's full abilities yet as I'm awaiting delivery of a commercially written manual, Sony's own is totally inadequate. What features I have used are brilliant, giving so much more than I was expecting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Excellent features

Body Only 19/12/2016 by Jozee (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ready to go right out of the box. Able to use other Sony equipment with it - battery, charger, wireless remote, lens, etc. Nice articulation in LCD screen. Great for multiple situations. Still has panorama feature which most cameras don't have. Just wish the overall weight was a bit lighter. Camera is well built, excellent hand grip, weather sealed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Sany Alpha 77ii

Body Only 16/12/2016 by Herdwick (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a couple of weeks ago to replace an A580 that didn't quite survive a tropical deluge. Still trying get get to grips with all the features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great value for money camera

Body Only 03/12/2016 by Acient Mariner (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been wanting to upgrade my camera for some time and i Went for the A77 Ii after reading the reviews and compering specifications. I am really please with it as it has some great new and updated technologies. One Great simple addition is the level indicator in the view finder. I am frequently taking crooked photos and then editing them in Photoshop. I recommend this camera to anyone who wants to take some great photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great features, easy to use.

Body Only 01/12/2016 by warrior mark (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

absolutely fantastic camera, had my eye on it for a while, could not resist, so I thought why not!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great features

Body Only 22/11/2016 by The ace (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have got not photo yet to which I'm pleased with when I have taken a pic I will post it to you going to take time of how to use product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Sony A77mk2

Body Only 17/11/2016 by Retired2016 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's a fantastic camera very easy to use,but I would have preferred GPS over WiFi

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

New features but no GPS

Body Only 28/09/2016 by Sharad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been using the Sony a77 II for the last three months rather infrequently so the review is based on the limited use I have made of it. The first thing to mention is that the GPS function has been replaced with wi-fi and NFC connectivity. While this connectivity is useful, especially the ability to link to a smartphone, I really miss the GPS function, available on my a65, the older a77 and even a few compacts, that I used for tagging my photos. Manually tracking location of the pictures is tedious! I was aware of this major design omission before I bought the camera but it seems to be industry trend to remove GPS and I would have had to shell out a lot more cash to obtain this feature in another camera in the same class as the a77 II. I previously used my dSLR in mostly auto mode but with this one I have been able to be more adventurous and used some of the other modes without difficulty. The dial to change the shooting mode is locked and you have to press a button on the centre to unlock. This gets in the way when you are used to just rotating the dial and you could miss a shot if you having got used to pressing the centre release button. However, I believe there is an option to keep the shooting mode dial unlocked and not have to press the centre button to change modes. I am looking forward to using the object tracking function, which I have to read up on before trying. Which is another thing, the manuals that comes with it and ones you download from Sony, are very limited in usefulness. You have to spend more hard earned cash to buy a proper instruction from independent publishers to be able to make sense of the additional features (which I have never previously used on any camera) that this camera evidently has. Similarly on other features, I have not had the opportunist to try them out yet so unable make any comment. Finally, to mention again, the GPS function is a great loss and I think a lot of users have complained about it so Sony might reintroduce it, no consolation to those who have already purchased the a77 II.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Overdue upgrade to existing Sony DSLR

Body Only 15/09/2016 by Groot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had the A77ii for just four weeks and I love it. This camera is unbelievably feature rich for the price, buying it has really rejuvenated my interest in photography and I am enjoying learning all about it. It feels good in the hand (which I never understood before) it's very ergonomic with well laid out buttons and being able to customise buttons is very useful. The screen articulates well and its great to be able to view live the effects of adjustments you make with the camera, the electronic viewfinder is very bright and responsive and takes no getting used to after using old fashioned vf. Seriously fast auto focus means I get the pictures I want wether I'm photographing my 8 week old or using 12fps to capture the action at my rugby club. The menus are large but allow so much fine tuning of the camera that it's worth getting familiar with them.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Comprehensive range of features

Body Only 06/09/2016 by Chris247 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as an update for my alpha77 (mark1) which had served me well as a second camera (my first is an alpha 99) but has developed a fault since I dropped it! The new focussing capabilities work well. When coupled with the Sony / Zeiss 16-80mm Zoom Lens it produces great images with a good colour rendition. A worthwhile upgrade.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Upgrade

Body Only 08/08/2016 by Herefordian (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing! Replaces my al580,big jump forward.Most definitely made the right choice.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

As per usual thought through by nerds.

Body Only 19/06/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very disappointed, I have stuck with Sony because I have a suite of Minolta lens. That has been a big mistake, should have junked the lens and gone back to Canon or over to Nikon. My 350 was not working as it should be after 4 years so upgraded to the 77ii. Trying to get an auto or programme focus for fast moving objects/ subjects is extremely difficult. It should not be. By the time you have studied( as if you were taking a professional exam) the 230 page manual the subject has gone past and is 40 minutes into your past. I sail and need a camera that can focus quickly on a scene as it unfolds. Also your chance of getting that fish as it surfaces in focus is very unlikely with this camera. I also like air shows and expect to be able to photo the whole or part of the plane as it passes. Again very difficult with this camera. The camera reviews rated the 77ii as one of the best for fast moving objects. All in all very disappointed. Would not recommend.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

3

13

0

Not Happy

Body Only 06/06/2016 by Manxman1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this just over a week ago and I am about to send it back . The camera keeps freezing on me , also the eye piece keeps falling off , Nothing more to say

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

3

0

Satisfied customer

Body Only 02/06/2016 by GDW1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera 3 weeks ago to update my A 330,which I had owned for 6 years. It is a superb camera,a vast improvement on the A 330. I have the Zeiss 18 - 80 zoom lens - superb. Lots to learn to get the best from the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Hours and hours of endless fun.

Body Only 12/05/2016 by Peten (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A very well designed camera fast, accurate, robust, very well put together does everything I want it to do what more can I say.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Amazing camera!

Body Only 09/05/2016 by jeffT (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

When I held the camera in my hands for the first time at the store, I immediately knew that was the one I wanted to have. I could feel the excellent build quality and the grip was perfect for my hands. My main concern was the electronic view finder, as I had preconceived ideas against it. But the display is excellent and you quickly forget that you are looking at a screen and not an optic view. Most important is picture quality. With its 24 mega pixels APS-C sensor this camera rivals with much more expensive pro SLRs. The autofocus is blistering fast and accurate. I like to shoot asport and actions pictures. With 11 images/second continuous shooting and the stabilized sensor you capture everything! The different auto modes achieve very good results, but I prefer to use my camera mostly in aperture priority mode or shutter priority mode for action shooting. As there are tons of functions in this camera, it takes a while to explore all the possibilities. The quick start guide describes only the basics and you'll have to dive into the voluminous PDF user manual to discover all the functionality. One regret though, there is no built-in timelapse mode. Meaning that if you want to shoot timelapses you need to use an external remote control. Not big deal but this could have been included. No built-in GPS neither, but wifi is there if you want to quickly connect without using a USB cable. The 18-135 mm lens included in the kit I bought is good for general use, but this camera will deliver its best with better lenses. With the 50mm F1.4 lens from Sony you can shoot amazingly beautiful portrait and take advantage from the max aperture to produce beautiful defocusing effects. Highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

At last I got camera.

Body Only 01/05/2016 by thecoddy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had been saving hard, but fortune came my way, to buy early. So far it's doing what I expected. Downside not enough info in the book to find what every think dose, but you do have YouTube, now I am really getting more from the a77mkll mill.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Still getting to know the camera

Body Only 27/04/2016 by dartmoor imp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the auto focus and picture quality and being able to customise the the Fn menu. Wish the instruction manual was better, it's a bit lacking in detail.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Value for money

Body Only 08/04/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I spent a lot of time reading on-line reviews of the camera. I have not been disappointed and have found the camera value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent AF features !

Body Only 31/03/2016 by jasb75 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Still getting used to the excellent auto-focus and exposure features. Colours of the JPEG's (Fine setting) are vibrant and rich. Noise levels up to 640 ISO are minimum. Only bad point is that it tends to underexpose by 0.3 EV but with bracketing this can be overcome. Well done SONY on an excellent UPGRADE !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

A77ii. More a sinking ship than a flag ship prod.

Body Only 27/03/2016 by Davcat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased the A77ii with great expectation of its focus and image quality. What a let down when every image is soft. The auto focus will capture the first image but every image after is way off is focus making it useless for sports photography which is what the camera is aimed at. I have tried every setting and at best single shot is best. I have checked the focus against many alignment tools which shows it to be central with all my lenses how ever the image is never sharp and is always soft. Please Google A77ii image quality and focus issue and read the many reviews and comments. As a photographer for over 15 years I'm left disappointed by a product that promised so much and delivered nothing but poor image quality.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

16

0

Terrific Performance

Body Only 14/03/2016 by woody71 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this Camera last week, & so far it performs very well, I will use it with a variety of lenses, taking photos from Landscapes to Motor Racing at Silverstone regularly, & feel it will be the best camera in the DSLR range of cameras that I have had in 50 years of Photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

A faster and sensitive improvement on my a7OO

Body Only 02/03/2016 by nanne (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera to improve on my closeup nature photos. The fast bracketing allows photos to be taken in breezy days. The greater sensitivity makes for enlargements with more detail. I am hoping to take this to Spain on my next holiday

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Great Camera

Body Only 23/02/2016 by meadowd (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera as I already have a Konica-Minolta and range of A mount lenses, also I went for the SLT function for increased CS speed for motor sport compared to Canon, Nikon equivalents. I have been delighted with the quality of the camera and the images produced together with the body size - I prefer a larger camera as I have big hands. There are pros and cons with all manufacturers and I don't think there's a bad camera on the market these days, however given the choice I would still go for the Sony particularly as image stabilisation is in the body making the range of older minolta lenses (Some are pin sharp) still functional. Its got a bright screen and viewfinder and its very intuitive to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great camera not very compatible with sigma lens

Body Only 22/02/2016 by Gedas35 (United Kingdom)

Just had a few weeks and had issues with my new sigma 70-200mm 2.8 hsm every second picture was out of focus so posted my camera and lens to sigma for calibration paid extra delivery costs Still waiting for news from Sigma

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera

Body Only 05/02/2016 by Grabber (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera about a month ago but to date due to very poor weather I have had very little chance to use it to take any photos, this is an upgrade from my original a77v Mk1, so most of my comments are based around the use of this model, if the Mk2 proves to be as good as the Mk1 then I shall be well pleased, I find the the external layout of the controls and buttons very good and the hand grip is well placed, I love the translucent mirror and the picture quality is excellent, the addition of WiFi on the Mk2 is very good but it's a pity that the GPS on the Mk1 could not have been kept on the new model, all in all an excellent camera, I would recommend to anyone.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Top,of the class

Body Only 04/02/2016 by SnapperAl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This us my third Alpha series, the others being a 100 and a 55. The 77 ll is a superb bit of kit and married to my Sigma 50-500 lens is proving to be the bees knees for my wildlife photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Fast but confusing autofocus modes

Body + 16-50 mm Zoom Lens 24/01/2016 by blonkster (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A nice all round camera, but the screen mechanism is fiddly and does not cover all the required angles e.g. looking straight down from above.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Just what I've been looking for

Body Only 18/01/2016 by The Don (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had this one week. Amazing camera professional specification top quality manufacture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

A great upgrade from A77

Body Only 12/01/2016 by Superslam (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'd been looking at this for a while, my wife surprised me at Christmas with the new body. It's new features are awesome, the menu is so intuitive. There are so many little changes that make the upgrade well worth it. I love sony A mount cameras, they seem balanced in hand and when combined with vertical grip make using even the biggest lens comfortable. The screen is better & the WiFi feature combined with play memoires app means you can use your mobile as a remote/screen. I can't fault it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Features are great and its speed is incredable

Body Only 11/01/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera recently and have been truly impressed with the way I have become used to it. Although I have not used the camera for a long period and have not learned everything about it it just feels second nature and the results are impressive.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Quality camera, great lens kit.

Body + 16-50 mm Zoom Lens 17/12/2015 by Retsil (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Managed to pick the body and lens kit up in Italy for a great price. So far the camera has proved to be an excellent piece of kit. The only downside (not the cameras fault) is the Android app isn't compatible with Android 6.0.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great features

Body Only 07/12/2015 by Arty 60 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought 2weeks ago happy with ease of use still learning about some of the features battery does not last long

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

It is better than SLT - A 77 .

Body Only 28/11/2015  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I owner of two Sony A 77 and Sony (ILCA) A 77 II --I am very happy .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

A77ii

Body Only 19/11/2015 by Pike22 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A very good upgrade from the A77, but beware of the new hotshoe, so an additional adaptor will need to be brought to use old flashes and triggers from the A77

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

fantastic and feature rich but wifi is appalling

Body Only 11/11/2015 by gmcc (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

the camera itself is great does everything I want and more! but since sony advertise it is wifi enabled it should at least match the lesser cameras in the range

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 08/11/2015 by Salmonswim (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only just upgraded to an A77ii and I am very impressed. The focusing system helps you frame the subject matter and the tracking is great. I have a lot to learn to get the best out of the camera but already it is living up to its reputation of punching above its weight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Nice size camera, easy to operate.

Body Only 25/10/2015 by twinpots (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to handle, I bought 2 of them so I don't have to change lenses, also bought 2 battery grips for extra battery life. Love the fast shutter speed, I am surprised that I found this camera very easy to operate almost from the beginning, great semi pro camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent Camera

Body Only 02/10/2015 by Peter77 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Given three months ago after failure of an A55. Pictures excellent, use excellent but transfer of pictures to computer causing significant difficulties.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Feels like a proper camera

Body Only 28/09/2015 by memsec2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace my a55 which was a good performer but far too small and with poor battery life. The a 77 feels solid in the hand and makes you feel that you own a proper enthusiasts camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A lot of focus options!

Body Only 15/09/2015 by phil39 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace my a77 for the reported much improved autofocus options. It is taking time to absorb the alternatives and when to use them

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great upgrade from A77

Body Only 14/09/2015 by Majotpat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera as am upgrade from the Sony Alpha A77 and it does not disappoint

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

fantastic easy to use so smooth

Body Only 13/09/2015 by noblerone (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this less than a month ago and have just used it for a wedding after reviewing the photos on my laptop I was blown away by the quality of the pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Super fast and extensive functions

Body Only 12/09/2015 by apwip (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Coming from the Sony A33, I considered the A58 but I'm glad I purchased the A77ii with its speed and advanced capabilities. Great for motorsport and any fast action photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Big improvement , great camera.

Body Only 12/09/2015 by Mouselicker (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace my Sony A580 and I'm glad I did. It's a big improvement in, almost, every way. Focusing is much better, especially on moving targets. Better white balance. I like the ability to adjust the focus distance of each lens perfectly and have it saved. Only thing I didn't like is the new joystick selector. It's far to easy to click it in rather than move it up Down left or right. So 99/100 instead of 100/100 and no regrets at all.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

My new baby

Body Only 11/09/2015 by kazza45 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this in the summer and it has surpassed all my expectations. Easy to grasp as i already use a nex 6 (similar set up) and the quality is superb

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Simply the best...

Body Only 14/07/2015 by Luigi_03 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my Sony A77 MkII two months ago as a replacement for my A77. I thought the A77 was very good, but the MkII is really brilliant. The sophistication of the focussing system needs practice and some homework to get the best out of it, but as my experience has grown, my results have improved to a level I didn't think I could attain. This camera gets the very best performance out of my lenses, and I feel that it gently encourages me to do my best. I just love this camera!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice features solid build

Body Only 13/07/2015 by Stubby (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only had this camera a month and am getting back into serious photography after a break. Digital is very different from my old SLR and I am in testing mode at the moment. So far though I am very impressed with the features, controllability and handling. The viewfinder is the most impressive thing because of the clarity and info displayed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

So easy

Body Only 21/06/2015 by Simplysimon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My first proper camera since 1980's. No more film!!!!!!! What a joy to use. Re discovering manual operation after so many years with full auto is SO rewarding. Superb quality, feels and looks good and allows for individual expression in the hands of a nearly novice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A Great pro-sumer DSLT camera

Body Only 18/06/2015 by rboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought nearly a month ago and I'm still finding ways to customise the buttons and menus to enhance the speed at which I can react to situations. And of course enable even better images. I particularly like the features that allow older/cheaper lens to perform beyond their normal capacities. Such as in camera vibration reduction that works in the viewfinder during composition as well as when taking the shot. Also the electronic focus limiter that prevents near and far objects distracting the lightning quick auto focus. Other notable features are the AF system which is the most accurate and complex I've ever used. I also like the connectivity of the camera both wired and wi-fi and the 1/8000 sec max shutter speed and 1/250th sec flash sync.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A gem of a camera

Body Only 17/06/2015 by rickshaw (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have now had this camera for two months and the results I am getting have delighted me.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

excellent camera

Body Only 16/06/2015 by Kenny1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

recently upgrade from sony alpha A58 so far can't fault it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

New AF System needs getting used to!

Body Only 08/06/2015 by Bernieb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had an alpha 65 which I thought had the potential to be a really great camera, and when I started having problems with the electronic viewfinder, I thought it would be a good time for an update. I have some good quality Sony lenses, so the a77 mark 2 seemed the best option. I am having , like it seems many others, problems getting used to the new AF system. It got great reviews, but I am having problems getting the images really sharp. I have taken advice, which is keep persevering and practicing, which I must say I am now getting better images, but not yet totally trusting the camera to get me shots which I really want at the first attempt. Will keep on practicing until perfect.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A77ii great autofocus so much quicker than a77

Body Only 26/05/2015 by mikel56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

auto focus great,very easy to use, would have preferred to still have gps, wifi good.Menus not has good as a77.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Greatly improved features and button layout

Body Only 13/05/2015 by Graybe (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fast and accurate focusing, clear vision viewfinder and display. Programmable ISO range. Memory recall of your favorite settings. Takes awesome still photographs and good video. Only one negative is the manuals lack of depth in explanations, assuming you understand the terminology. If you are a beginner take your time and learn the functions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfection has a name...it's A77II.

Body Only 12/05/2015 by TCGC (USA)

I own all Sony products...some A mount Zeiss glass and now FE mount A7, etc. What I can say is that the A77II is the best camera Sony makes at the current moment. I admit I haven't tried the A7II but I've tried all the rest. There is no lack of wanting with this camera. At lower ISO's..good luck noting any difference between this and Sony's full frame 24MP cameras. FPS is lightning fast and accurate, the build quality is fantastic. The price point is a steal. They took the A77 and perfected it- done and end of story. Everything you want in a Sony body with nothing missing. Perfect ergonomics for glass big or small, decent battery life. Focus peaking, zebra- best fold out screen in the business. The A77II is a total sleeper and IMO showcases what Sony can really do. The magic is in A mount land and I can't freaking wait until they unleash the A99II beast. A77II is a camera I'll have in my bag until it stops shooting. Great job Sony.

14

18

0

Great price for a great product

Body + 16-50 mm Zoom Lens 06/05/2015 by sdr10 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am realistic. Is there such a thing as a perfect camera? Well this isn't either. So why 5 stars? I teach photography and handle all sorts of cameras. Okay, it could be better in low light and that's my only gripe. However, in every other way it really shines. I looked seriously at the Canon 7d ii but it didn't give me anything more and in a lot of ways less, and it cost a lot more. It made more sense to purchase this and put the 'saved' money into the lenses (16-50 f2.8 - came with it, and I decided on a Tamron 70-200 f2.8). I already have access to various other lenses. So pleased with all my purchases and I honestly thought I wouldn't be because I have mainly used a Sony A57 or a58 for teaching with for years and proudly proved just what you can do with with an entry level camera and helped to inspire my learners. It's not all about the equipment. I have previously sold sporting images around the world but I am not a "machine gun" photographer. If you want to see some images, search for Snappy Squiggle on Flickr.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic Camera.

Body Only 29/04/2015 by Chris77m2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm delighted I took the plunge and updated to the Alpha77m2. 12fps, 79 focus points, fantastic EVF. Really enjoying using this superb camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

No 1 APS-C sensor size camera with great AF

Body + 16-50 mm Zoom Lens 23/04/2015 by Kimyban (USA)

I've owned Sony A77M2 for half year now. I have to say that I did a lot of research prior to make my decision and I was having on my mind Nikon D7100 and Canon 70D until I've seen this one... And I have to say I'm definitely satisfied with it's performance so far. Although as a beginner in this field I'm still exploring it's endless possibilities. Great AF, 12 fps in burst mode nails every moment between moments and delivers great over 90% in focus photos. I've done also some footage with it and have to say that I'm lovin' it's LCD screen that you can shift in literally every direction. However, could be LCD touch... I hope that maybe in future Sony will consider to improve this.

8

5

Response From Sony Support
24/04/2015

Hi Kimyban, We are happy that you are having a great time with the camera. We will note you review for future improvements of our products.

0

Excellent features,with many improvements over A77

Body Only 21/04/2015 by AcemanPaul (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Simply one of the best DSLR type cameras, even though its really SLT New autofocus system is very impressive, but can take a while to sort all the options For sports it is really good. Used for wakeboarding and I could get at 12fps virtually all the jumps/actions in focus in a single sequence. Also this can be done in RAW or Jpeg now the buffer is bigger. You need good quality fast lenses to get the best out of the A77ii for sports. The image quality is excellent and video is simply the best I have seen from a DSLR. I highly recommend the A77ii. Well done Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not what was expected despite the reviews

Body Only 19/04/2015 by Wookiee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently bought the A77mk2 to replace my A77mk1 and to take with me to NYC. I have to say I'm a little disappointed with it, apart from the increased AF system and built in Wifi it's really no different from the MK1. In hindsight despite all the positive reviews for the A77mk2 I should have put a little extra into getting the A7ii full frame.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Born again

Body Only 19/04/2015 by Farfar (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great improvement on my old Alpha 500 still learning the new features but very pleased with results so far

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0