Starting at

$1,199.99

224

4.5 based on 224 customer reviews

156
47
11
3
7
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

A99II Baby Brother!

Body Only 27/08/2018 by chetcoriver1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony A77II, my third Sony camera. A giant upgrade to my Sony A58!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Is it a great camera?

Body Only 12/08/2014 by Clark pt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was excited about upgrading to the Mk2 A77. Far too early to say how good it can be, and it may take a white to find out what it can do. The reason it may take a while, is that Sony provide a pitiful handbook that barely scratches the surface of the capabilities. Example in case, the Zebra button. Never came across this before and the handbook offers no explanation. I've had to use You Tube to find out about what it is actually for. So in a nutshell, very good looking, sturdy, camera - poor info on the product from the manufacturer. Shame.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

5

0

224 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Great all around camera!

ILCA-77M2 Body / Kit 09/11/2020 by DickHettinger (USA)

I have the a33, the a58 and the a 77 ii. That spoiled me. Sadly, mine is out of commission now and I cannot find a replacement. That, I am told, is due to age. The fit in the hand, placement of buttons, speed and fast focus are wonderful. Would love to have a new one or one close to it that accepts a mount.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best camera I’ve ever touched.

Body Only 05/11/2020  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The a77ii does everything I need without exception and I shoot a LOT of professional, volunteer, and personal projects of wide variety.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

0

0

0

Simple to use

Body Only 30/10/2020 by Marcomajik (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been shooting with my A7711 since 2013 and totally rely on it's performance. The only recommendation I would forward is the design and layout of the operators manual. I know, with a little effort this issue could be improved. It took me a year to figure out. Not user friendly to say the least. The saving grace is the performance of the A7711. The design engineers did a great job!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

WE NEED AN UPGRADE ON THIS MODEL KEEP THE A MOUNT

ILCA-77M2 Body / Kit 03/08/2020 by KITTY CAT (USA)

always used your DSLR CAMERAS a joy to handle will keep purchasing your product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Still an Alpha Male

ILCA-77M2 Body / Kit 02/08/2020  (USA)

My beloved Sony a65 developed spots inside the image sensor that I was told were not economically feasible to fix :-(. It takes fine photos at f/5.6 and wider, but closed down more and the spots show up on every shot. and by f/16 they're in sharp focus. I can edit them out but whatta PIA!. So I purchased this a77 II used, like new, with the 16-50mm f/2.8 lens, and like <<WOW>>! Images are sharp, bright and colorful, Sony hallmarks. My a65's white balance skewed towards overly warm, even in Auto, but this a77 II is spot on, a pleasant change for the better. It does have a few piddling issues, however. The joystick is an interesting control switch but mine is so sensitive certain settings can get switched unexpectedly. The hotshoe required me to get an adapter so I can use my old HVL F43AM flash, but I always wondered why that crummy old Minolta-proprietary plastic hotshoe ever saw the light of day. Good riddance! Sony still seems to favor overly sensitive shutter release buttons, but I've gotten used to it having the same hair trigger on my a65. Images taken at ISO 1600 or more will reveal unappealing artifacts (bright pixelated grainy spots) with no real assist from the 3 level noise reduction. The Multi Frame NR is nearly useless as is just darkens shadows in a furtive effort to obscure graininess. The only other gripe is Sony's menu, which on this camera is extensive but occasionally haphazard in its layout. Worse yet, there's no Menu Start: Top/Previous option, unless it's buried somewhere in the menu that I haven't found yet. Fortunately, most operational controls are easily accessible via the Fn button or the various customizable buttons. Despite my nitpicks, overall, this is a great camera, a fine flagship for Sony's APS-C Alpha "line", dwindling though it may be. Sony is clearly emphasizing their mirrorless e-mount series and phasing out their a-mounts, which is why I could never recommend this or any a-mount camera to anyone unless you either already have compatible lenses or plan to obtain some. Don't get me wrong, they're great cameras, but they're orphans. Maybe someday I'll venture into their e-mount series, but for now, I'm still an Alpha male.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Not the quality I expected

Body + 16-50 mm Zoom Lens 13/07/2020 by Yezhulinli (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The water sealed body broken with a gap I can see some circuits inside with normal use. Other than that the camera takes good cameras. It made use of a lot of my old lenses.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Overall just a fantastic camera

Body Only 28/06/2020 by Stuarts57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera 6 months ago. It’s the second Sony camera I have owned. My first was an A37. That camera inspired me to purchase this one. I was not disappointed! It’s easy to use and packed with great technology and features that you would only expect in professional kit. It will sadly be my last Sony though as they have discontinued with the A mount lenses. Because of this I wouldn’t want to recommend it to anyone else which is such a shame as the kit is made up of both lenses and camera. Losing one inevitably means that you are forced to lose the other at great expense. I am sure Sony will ultimately regret that decision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

1

0

"A MOUNT POWERHOUSE"

ILCA-77M2 Body / Kit 17/06/2020 by Patrick1954 (USA)

First off, this is my MOST used "A" Mount Camera. The Fully articulating screen is FANTASTIC! This camera has perfect button layout WITHOUT being heavy. the following photos were taken with super wide angle and a 35 year old Minolta Super Telephoto 300mm 2.8. All photos were taken on a Monopod. All photos were shot @ 1 frame/SEC.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

15

1

0

IF YOU LOVE MINOLTA OR SONY UPGRADE NOW

Body Only 07/06/2020 by Discocop (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to upgrade from my old film Minolta A9000i and Sony A100, this camera is so fast and the focussing so precise it makes taking pictures a joy again. As a bonus it allows you to use all your older A Mount Minolta Lenses, brilliant.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Can Use Older Minolta Lenses

Body Only 01/05/2020 by BlueEidgeMedia (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my 3rd a77 II Camera. I have a big selection of Minolta AF lenses and some Sony lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Nice camera, does what it's supposed to do.

Body Only 29/04/2020 by Klystron (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Okay, a camera is a tool and what it can do is greatly dependant on the user. No one ever asked Hemingway what brand typewriter he used (actually, he write a lot with a pencil and legal pads!). That being said, I've used a myriad of cameras, both film and digital and the Sony cameras have been my go to camera for years. I like the controls layout, they have been dependable and capable of making excellent photos. I like the 77 II; it is reasonably priced, and with a 24 megapixel sensor, unless you're make wall sized murals, the image resolution is excellent. Since I print no larger than 13X19, I would hazard that the Sony 77 II would stand up to most any multi-thousand dollar camera which images were printed to the same 13x19 size. The camera uses what is almost the ubiquitous alpha mount with a plethora of Minolta & Sony lenses available, making it very flexible, and able to handle 99% of any possible situation the photographer might find themselves in. A worthy investment for the discerning photographer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Good camera

Body Only 05/03/2020 by MartinM80 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as an update to an a-58, which it is. Main issue is the complete lack of a browsable detail manual which properly explains the many high end features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great auto focus

Body Only 29/02/2020 by Phillip 65 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I find the auto focus quick and responsive, Photos I have taken have great dynamic range and the movable back screen very useful. Overall pleased I chose this camera to upgrade from my a200.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

PERFECT FOR MY SPORTS PHOTOGRAPHY

Body Only 21/02/2020 by JOUZINU (United Kingdom)

A great camera, quality &n build are perfect for me. amazing quality shots. As a semi pro photographer of powerboat racing, i love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pretty good camera for A-mount lenses

Body Only 13/01/2020 by Milan33 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my third A-mount Sony DSLR camera. I enjoy it very much. You can do everything with it using both old Minolta and Sony lenses. Acurate effective focusing and versatile photography use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great alround camra for intermediate user

Body Only 24/09/2019 by puffin man (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've used this type of camera for years.Sony has made this a more user friendly and well built model. also make the updates to meet todays user

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Disappointed

Body Only 14/09/2019 by gratimhow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this in conjunction with a Tamron 150-600 lens. The camera was supplied but the lens didn't. I discovered from Tamron that the A-mount version was discontinued, I can't find anything with that focal range with an A-mount. Apparently Sony are moving focus to E-mount hence the lack of lens options. Now have an expensive A77 body with no lens.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Quite disappointed

Body Only 11/09/2019 by mikadin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had a Sony apha 100 for several years and it never disappointed me, however I upgraded to the alpha 77II in 2016 and soon after the waranty had passed the lcd screen started to fail and the repair was nearly half the price that I had paid for the camera, so I did not get it fixed. Now the camera is starting to act strangely, the timer sometimes does not work, jumps scene modes... Just did not expect this to happen on such a pricy camera... Good high resolution pictures, quick and accurate focus, burst mode is quite amazing, but very heavy and... unreliable...

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Sony a77 II

Body Only 24/07/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera with lots of features to learn. Upgraded from the a77. I have many Sony cameras all of which I am happy with. Shame their customer service does not live up to their products.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

A year with my A77ii

ILCA-77M2 Body / Kit 19/06/2019 by ubordsc (USA)

A little better than a year ago I purchased this camera (A77ii) because I got a good deal. I was looking at the A68, but couldn't resist the discounted A77ii price. So far I am pleased with the A77ii. Build quality appears good. And the features are impressive. And it's fast. I bought the book (Busch's) and learned a lot. The only negative (besides price) - I would like a little better resolution. The A77ii's crop sensor limitation is apparent. But a full frame A99ii is probably required for what I seek. Unfortunately, at over $3K (!) it'll be a while before I own one of those, unless Sony offers up a deal similar to the discount I got with my A77ii.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Early Success

Body Only 11/06/2019 by rbmcdill (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had this camera for about 2 months. I have been learning the features since I have not had a lot of time to work with the many options. I have enjoyed the quality of the photos I've taken using a simple set up. The camera is easy to setup and use without going overboard. The biggest issue I have is the camera's ability to focus. It is very fast and sometimes focuses on a area I had not expected. I believe as I get more experienced with the camera this will not be an issue. I have used many of my lenses with the camera. I have a collection of Sony, Konica/Minolta and Sigma lenses. All work seamlessly with this camera. I selected this camera for two main reasons. One is the group of lenses I have. The other is the way the camera fits my hands. It just feels right.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

East to connect and use

Body Only 19/05/2019 by BJ C (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Does what it says was able to use my Metz flash unit previously used on my Minolta Dynax 7 on my new Sony alpha 7 II

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony abandon A mount already!

ILCA-77M2 Body / Kit 11/04/2019 by Tutututu (USA)

This camera compared with Emount is worthless. It only had 79 point and 1 point is F2.8 sensitive, while the E mount has 399 AF point that coverage 90% area! For still life, it is fine. But the real pain for this camera is it’s mirror that result of 1/3EV light loss, makes its high iso beyond 800 not usable at all! Just too much noise and losses of detail! This camera should be stop production and get upgraded! Not recommend at all unless you are still life with Tripod for ISO100 all the time! But definitely not a choice for sport or wild life due to very very poor ISO!

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

6

Response From Sony Social Support
12/04/2019

Hi Tutututu, We always appreciate customers who take the time to give us their feedback. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We will forward this to the relevant team.
Regards,
Vincent

0

Phenomenal camera- speed, accuracy, flexibility

ILCA-77M2 Body / Kit 05/03/2019 by Viggenboy (USA)

Superbly flexible, get great results in a wide range of subject matter, lighting conditions and applications. I have used this for wildlife, sports and portrait work and get first class results every time. Particularly like that the viewfinder pretty much displays the result you are going to get.... especially useful in low light and high contrast situations

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Easy to use

Body + 16-50 mm Zoom Lens 25/02/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased a short while ago to replace model a68 which I had for some time

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

GREAT ALL ROUNDER

Body Only 13/01/2019 by ANDY M (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this A77 Mark 2 as a direct replacement for my life expired A57 which had been a totally reliable unit. The A77 has proven to be the same having now used it for the past three years at a large number of events,its ease of use has continued in the family of Alpha cameras. It has also proven to be a very robust camera in many varied weather conditions, and the A mount has covered a wide range of lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

The best amature camera on the market

Body Only 09/01/2019 by Sucoli pictures (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had one before and sold it and got a top rated Canon EOS6Dmk2 and after 12 months bought a refurb Sony A77 again . Takes better pictures well balanced camera and just got a battery grip for it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

spicy camera

Body Only 27/11/2018 by Froufrou55 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm glad I bought the Sony Mark II. It's light, handy, and it makes beautiful pictures! I have a 50 mm lens and I am happy with it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Defects Sony will not recognize or fix

ILCA-77M2 Body / Kit 22/11/2018 by spotty camera (USA)

Fogging lcd viewfinder and spot from (I guess) bad sensor make this camera a waste.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

Response From Sony Social Support
24/11/2018

Hi spotty camera,

We apologize for the inconvenience.

Please refer to the link below for further assistance;
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/a-mount-body-ilca-70-series/ilca-77m2/articles/00021745

Regards,
Jen

0

Great camera loaded with features

Body Only 17/11/2018 by MIDNIRDR (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I finally wore out my Sony A55 after 6 years and wanted an great camera to help me grow as a photographer. Although I admit to being a self-professed Sony fanatic, this camera has exceeded my every expectation and I’ve only owned it for 3 weeks. The a-mount with interchangeable glass is a hands down great choice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

All you could ask for

Body Only 06/11/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera helps me produce great photos but also enables me to be creative and produce images that are more than just snapshots. It alos enables allows me to use some great heritage lenses with ease.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

2

0

0

Great camera

ILCA-77M2 Body / Kit 14/09/2018 by Scoots42 (USA)

I am just a Dad taking photos, amateur photographer at best. Great for my kids sports(soccer, bball) and VG for general everyday photos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A99II Baby Brother!

Body Only 27/08/2018 by chetcoriver1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony A77II, my third Sony camera. A giant upgrade to my Sony A58!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

0

really good features. love the panarama shooting.

Body Only 29/06/2018 by volvo47 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought it a year ago and I've been happy every since. Make sure you buy the Sony a772 ILCA-77M2 guide to Digital Photography by David D. Busch

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Everything I wanted, and more.

Body Only 12/05/2018 by OlyEd (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this to replace a Minolta film camera because of all of the A-Mount lenses that I owned. This was the first digital camera to come out with all of the feature that I was looking for. In many ways I am still learning how to use it, but it has not let me down in any way.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic camera

Body + 16-50 mm Zoom Lens 05/05/2018 by Brian57 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently bought this camera as I have a pod of dolphins near me and I was looking for a camera that could take great photos and video. This camera is perfect due to its world class auto focus system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

A 77ii

Body Only 26/04/2018 by Royde (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought to replace my ageing A700. Not used all features as yet but very happy wit hthe purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Good piece of kit!

Body Only 17/04/2018 by Gravityinca (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this product a week ago to replace my ageing A77 mark 1

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Super detail

Body Only 14/04/2018 by Wildlifeman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The detail and colour rendition that this camera produces are in my opinion unbeatable when paired with the Sony 70-300mm g ssm lens, if your thinking of buying a camera over look this camera at your peril

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Why do I have to have my stabilizer fixed AGAIN

ILCA-77M2 Body / Kit 31/01/2018 by TwoHerbs2 (USA)

I love this camera, however, I had to send it in (took almost 2 months to get back) to have the in camera stabilizer fixed. Then, it went out agin about a month or so, but I need the camera thus have not sent it in and the warranty is off. This should not have happened.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

At last, I have control of my focussing again!

Body Only 15/01/2018 by MikeJK (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I used to be able to use my old Minolta 8000i to reliably focus on a piece of wire rigging on a radio controlled yacht at up to 100 metres away. A succession of digital cameras since then failed to reliably emulate that performance - until now! The Alpha 77 II has returned that ability, with interest. It allows me to pick out one yacht in a bunch of six or more and lock onto it for a sequence of shots, and it can use the same favourite lens I used on the Minolta: and at 300mm hand held. My photography is coming back to life! Plus, short range for candid shots of my grand-kids is great too. I've only had the body for a couple of weeks so I have yet to learn all the controls but it can only get better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

looks good

Body Only 23/12/2017 by petsy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

at first glance an improvement on my a55 look forward to finding out

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good camera, not so the software for Mac

Body Only 30/08/2017 by Innominate (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Haven't really put camera through its paces but the software for my iMac is hopeless as far as I can see. Nothing like the software for my previous A77 which was quite simple to use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

The Greatest Upgrade ever

Body + 16-50 mm Zoom Lens 25/08/2017 by flyer2005 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera was purchased as an update for my A100 and although I have not had much time to use the camera my initial assessment is that it is an excellent camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good upgrade from my Sony a57.

Body Only 26/06/2017 by silverback117 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this a couple of weeks now and am very pleased with it. I had a bit of a problem with viewing my images on the screen after I had taken them, but it appears to be a teething problem only, and is sorted. The one thing that I am not too happy about is the user manual, if you are new to Sony cameras, you will find that there does not appear to be enough information. I have always used Sony, but I have still had to google a few things about the camera. However, the focusing system is fantastic (once you master it). All in all, I am very pleased with my purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Great camera with grat features

Body Only 29/05/2017 by jimma (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great camera for birds, wildlife and action

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

My first real camera.

Body Only 27/05/2017 by Godzilla51 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very daunting at first but bought David Busch's book on Sony Alpha a77 11 Which explains all. I am now getting quite adept in understanding & using this great Camera. I am so pleased that I chose this particular Camera. It is outstanding & in my opinion as good or even better than similar priced big name Camera's. I highly recommend this for the novice & expert alike.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Great improvement from A65

Body Only 21/05/2017 by Darky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It has been a month since purchasing this new camera body. Originally I had a Sony A65 with two lenses that came with it. It was great to use it. Last year I replaced the two lenses with new SSM lenses of 2.8/16-50 and 4.5-5.6/70-300. The colour and definition of pictures improved noticeably with the new lenses. It was time for a new body Son a7 11 fitted the bill as I could use the SSM lenses. There are a lot of improvements and refinements to make life easier. Takes great pictures. Battery use is more than old camera so I have two spares fully charged at all times. Please only buy genuine Sony batteries. A very happy customer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Greay Features

Body Only 01/05/2017 by Anthony 10 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Up grade, delivery very quick easy to use picture quality Excellent.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Excellent camera. Improvement over the Alpha 77

Body Only 28/04/2017 by Bill61 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Alpha 77 II camera takes the best photos of any camera in it's price range. I have 3 lenses, 2 filters and a remote control. The Sony camera's have the most accessories available compared to any other make. This is my 3rd Sony camera and I'm very glad I stuck to Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

4

0

Fast Processor

Body Only 23/03/2017 by photosbymeta (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having upgraded from a Sony a65, the first thing I noticed is the increased speed of the processor, which is demonstrated in HDR Mode. HDR now takes less than 2 seconds to process, much faster than the older a65 processor.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Upgrade

Body Only 08/01/2017 by gardenman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased 2 weeks ago as a replacement for original A77 and very pleased with it so far, lots of updated feature.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

Very impressive camera.

Body Only 08/01/2017 by zeuspd (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not used the camera to it's full abilities yet as I'm awaiting delivery of a commercially written manual, Sony's own is totally inadequate. What features I have used are brilliant, giving so much more than I was expecting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

3

0

Excellent features

Body Only 19/12/2016 by Jozee (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Ready to go right out of the box. Able to use other Sony equipment with it - battery, charger, wireless remote, lens, etc. Nice articulation in LCD screen. Great for multiple situations. Still has panorama feature which most cameras don't have. Just wish the overall weight was a bit lighter. Camera is well built, excellent hand grip, weather sealed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Sany Alpha 77ii

Body Only 16/12/2016 by Herdwick (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought a couple of weeks ago to replace an A580 that didn't quite survive a tropical deluge. Still trying get get to grips with all the features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great value for money camera

Body Only 03/12/2016 by Acient Mariner (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been wanting to upgrade my camera for some time and i Went for the A77 Ii after reading the reviews and compering specifications. I am really please with it as it has some great new and updated technologies. One Great simple addition is the level indicator in the view finder. I am frequently taking crooked photos and then editing them in Photoshop. I recommend this camera to anyone who wants to take some great photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Great features, easy to use.

Body Only 01/12/2016 by warrior mark (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

absolutely fantastic camera, had my eye on it for a while, could not resist, so I thought why not!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great features

Body Only 22/11/2016 by The ace (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have got not photo yet to which I'm pleased with when I have taken a pic I will post it to you going to take time of how to use product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Sony A77mk2

Body Only 17/11/2016 by Retired2016 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's a fantastic camera very easy to use,but I would have preferred GPS over WiFi

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

New features but no GPS

Body Only 28/09/2016 by Sharad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been using the Sony a77 II for the last three months rather infrequently so the review is based on the limited use I have made of it. The first thing to mention is that the GPS function has been replaced with wi-fi and NFC connectivity. While this connectivity is useful, especially the ability to link to a smartphone, I really miss the GPS function, available on my a65, the older a77 and even a few compacts, that I used for tagging my photos. Manually tracking location of the pictures is tedious! I was aware of this major design omission before I bought the camera but it seems to be industry trend to remove GPS and I would have had to shell out a lot more cash to obtain this feature in another camera in the same class as the a77 II. I previously used my dSLR in mostly auto mode but with this one I have been able to be more adventurous and used some of the other modes without difficulty. The dial to change the shooting mode is locked and you have to press a button on the centre to unlock. This gets in the way when you are used to just rotating the dial and you could miss a shot if you having got used to pressing the centre release button. However, I believe there is an option to keep the shooting mode dial unlocked and not have to press the centre button to change modes. I am looking forward to using the object tracking function, which I have to read up on before trying. Which is another thing, the manuals that comes with it and ones you download from Sony, are very limited in usefulness. You have to spend more hard earned cash to buy a proper instruction from independent publishers to be able to make sense of the additional features (which I have never previously used on any camera) that this camera evidently has. Similarly on other features, I have not had the opportunist to try them out yet so unable make any comment. Finally, to mention again, the GPS function is a great loss and I think a lot of users have complained about it so Sony might reintroduce it, no consolation to those who have already purchased the a77 II.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Overdue upgrade to existing Sony DSLR

Body Only 15/09/2016 by Groot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had the A77ii for just four weeks and I love it. This camera is unbelievably feature rich for the price, buying it has really rejuvenated my interest in photography and I am enjoying learning all about it. It feels good in the hand (which I never understood before) it's very ergonomic with well laid out buttons and being able to customise buttons is very useful. The screen articulates well and its great to be able to view live the effects of adjustments you make with the camera, the electronic viewfinder is very bright and responsive and takes no getting used to after using old fashioned vf. Seriously fast auto focus means I get the pictures I want wether I'm photographing my 8 week old or using 12fps to capture the action at my rugby club. The menus are large but allow so much fine tuning of the camera that it's worth getting familiar with them.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Comprehensive range of features

Body Only 06/09/2016 by Chris247 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as an update for my alpha77 (mark1) which had served me well as a second camera (my first is an alpha 99) but has developed a fault since I dropped it! The new focussing capabilities work well. When coupled with the Sony / Zeiss 16-80mm Zoom Lens it produces great images with a good colour rendition. A worthwhile upgrade.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Upgrade

Body Only 08/08/2016 by Herefordian (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing! Replaces my al580,big jump forward.Most definitely made the right choice.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

As per usual thought through by nerds.

Body Only 19/06/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very disappointed, I have stuck with Sony because I have a suite of Minolta lens. That has been a big mistake, should have junked the lens and gone back to Canon or over to Nikon. My 350 was not working as it should be after 4 years so upgraded to the 77ii. Trying to get an auto or programme focus for fast moving objects/ subjects is extremely difficult. It should not be. By the time you have studied( as if you were taking a professional exam) the 230 page manual the subject has gone past and is 40 minutes into your past. I sail and need a camera that can focus quickly on a scene as it unfolds. Also your chance of getting that fish as it surfaces in focus is very unlikely with this camera. I also like air shows and expect to be able to photo the whole or part of the plane as it passes. Again very difficult with this camera. The camera reviews rated the 77ii as one of the best for fast moving objects. All in all very disappointed. Would not recommend.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

3

15

0

Not Happy

Body Only 06/06/2016 by Manxman1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this just over a week ago and I am about to send it back . The camera keeps freezing on me , also the eye piece keeps falling off , Nothing more to say

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

4

0

Satisfied customer

Body Only 02/06/2016 by GDW1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera 3 weeks ago to update my A 330,which I had owned for 6 years. It is a superb camera,a vast improvement on the A 330. I have the Zeiss 18 - 80 zoom lens - superb. Lots to learn to get the best from the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Hours and hours of endless fun.

Body Only 12/05/2016 by Peten (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A very well designed camera fast, accurate, robust, very well put together does everything I want it to do what more can I say.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Amazing camera!

Body Only 09/05/2016 by jeffT (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

When I held the camera in my hands for the first time at the store, I immediately knew that was the one I wanted to have. I could feel the excellent build quality and the grip was perfect for my hands. My main concern was the electronic view finder, as I had preconceived ideas against it. But the display is excellent and you quickly forget that you are looking at a screen and not an optic view. Most important is picture quality. With its 24 mega pixels APS-C sensor this camera rivals with much more expensive pro SLRs. The autofocus is blistering fast and accurate. I like to shoot asport and actions pictures. With 11 images/second continuous shooting and the stabilized sensor you capture everything! The different auto modes achieve very good results, but I prefer to use my camera mostly in aperture priority mode or shutter priority mode for action shooting. As there are tons of functions in this camera, it takes a while to explore all the possibilities. The quick start guide describes only the basics and you'll have to dive into the voluminous PDF user manual to discover all the functionality. One regret though, there is no built-in timelapse mode. Meaning that if you want to shoot timelapses you need to use an external remote control. Not big deal but this could have been included. No built-in GPS neither, but wifi is there if you want to quickly connect without using a USB cable. The 18-135 mm lens included in the kit I bought is good for general use, but this camera will deliver its best with better lenses. With the 50mm F1.4 lens from Sony you can shoot amazingly beautiful portrait and take advantage from the max aperture to produce beautiful defocusing effects. Highly recommended!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

At last I got camera.

Body Only 01/05/2016 by thecoddy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had been saving hard, but fortune came my way, to buy early. So far it's doing what I expected. Downside not enough info in the book to find what every think dose, but you do have YouTube, now I am really getting more from the a77mkll mill.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Still getting to know the camera

Body Only 27/04/2016 by clemb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the auto focus and picture quality and being able to customise the the Fn menu. Wish the instruction manual was better, it's a bit lacking in detail.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Value for money

Body Only 08/04/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I spent a lot of time reading on-line reviews of the camera. I have not been disappointed and have found the camera value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent AF features !

Body Only 31/03/2016 by jasb75 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Still getting used to the excellent auto-focus and exposure features. Colours of the JPEG's (Fine setting) are vibrant and rich. Noise levels up to 640 ISO are minimum. Only bad point is that it tends to underexpose by 0.3 EV but with bracketing this can be overcome. Well done SONY on an excellent UPGRADE !

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1