Skip to Content
32

4.4 based on 32 customer reviews

21
4
6
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Sony Hits A Home Run!

Body Only 08/01/2017 by dfwatt (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

PROS: 1) FF sensor that is clearly Sony’s (and industry’s) best. Combines high resolution and high speed FPS, 4k, and variable frame rate video (both time lapse plus slow motion effects). Very good high ISO and excellent detail. Amazing functional ability and versatility in a single package. Not available in any other FF camera and Sony isn’t selling this sensor to anyone else, unlike previous 36MP FF sensor. 2) Excellent 5 axis IBIS worth (on paper – but see discussion) 4+ stops that is functionally invisible (i.e., does not adversely impact IQ), and available on all lenses. Allows you to drop ISO several stops over all but the best OS lens-based image stabilization systems, and is advertised to be ~2 stops better than previous IBIS system (in A77ii). Decent IS options in video as well, in 1080p and 4k (but see discussion). 3) Ability to use the full range of A-mount glass, with full IS benefits (but see Con #1 and discussion). This gives many options: both modern (and expensive) Zeiss and Sony G glass but also high-value legacy Minolta glass options to the user, depending on budgets and priorities. 4) 4k is amazingly detailed, and competes with best in class (A7RII/A7SII/A6500/GH5), with excellent low light ability. Exceptionally versatile video specs and codecs (but see Con #2). 5) Compact form factor body, very slightly smaller than A77ii (but feeling like the same camera) and with excellent ergonomics and customizable controls – making this the most compact FF body out there, outside of the A7x series (but without the ergonomic limitations of the A7x group). 6) Hybrid AF system combining 399 on-sensor PD elements, combined with 79 focus points from dedicated PDAF array, fed by SLT mirror (but again see Con #1 and discussion). 7) Much better organized operating system and menu structure, with major degree of potential customization of control architecture to suit end user preference and style. Additionally the Fx button gives instant access to 12 selectable camera functions of the users choice to streamline menu access. 8) Ability for Wi-Fi and NFC to send images to your smartphone. 9) Dramatically improved Wi-Fi remote control app over the A77II – which was appallingly bad. This version of smart phone remote control appears as capable the apps for RX10/100 models, and for E-mount, which are class leading. 10) Multiple point MFA, wide and telephoto ends for zooms, plus separate settings for the four corners and center for lenses that do hybrid AF (but seen con #7) 11) A reasonably deep buffer, with ability to review images immediately, enhancing usability in sports and action photography – 9 seconds roughly of 8 FPS with my card if shooting full sized JPEGs or RAW. Enormous flexibility too – if shooting RAW or JPEG, at 8 FPS, and utilizing crop sensor mode (18MP files), the buffer is almost unlimited (153 RAW images using my card Samsung Pro SDXC I card - but see Con #8). 12) Real functionality for your crop sensor DT lens library – (don’t reflexively dump your lens library in other words if your coming up from APS-C). If you want smaller files (18MP) or a lighter lens/camera combo, you get increased buffer depth, extra reach on your telephoto lenses, and still plenty of image information. Works brilliantly with the DT 16-50 2.8 as a default Super 35 video or walk around lens. A major and almost totally unappreciated plus of that 42MP. CONS: 1) Only Sony lenses (and not quite all of them) allow access to hybrid AF system, although the dedicated PDAF system (upgraded version of system in A77ii) by itself is still quite competent and flexible. 2) Sony continues to limit AF in movie modes to Program mode only, with fixed aperture (3.5, or widest if lens doesn’t reach 3.5). Reasons for this are unclear, but perhaps to reduce competition with the more video-friendly E Mount? 3) Modest ½ stop light loss from SLT mirror. Much is made of this, but tests have shown that even at higher ISOs, individuals can’t reliably discriminate ½ stop of extra noise, without pixel peeping A/B displays, and never at typical viewing distances. Tradeoff to achieve better AF performance, as OSPDAF still hasn’t caught up to the best dedicated PDAF. If this is still troubling, the SLT mirror can be removed for landscape and any other MF shot if that last bit of ISO is deemed important (a dicey practice and not for the technically inept as semi-transparent mirror is fragile and impossible to clean without damaging it). 4) Speaking of ISO, according to initial DxO testing, ISO scale is almost one full stop optimistic (indicated 200 is ~ 110) – and a slightly less than one stop ‘boost’ to indicated ISO continues on up the ISO scale. Not clear if this is simply unusual sample variation (DxO tested a funky sample) or Sony’s thinly veiled attempt to exaggerate the apparent low light performance of the camera. Some ‘fudging’ on ISO is commonplace - almost universal - but typically it’s ~1/4 to 1/3 a stop, not ~ 1 stop. 5) Menu system is still rather bulky and complex (but not excessively so for pro/FF class of camera). 6) Joystick control is sometimes ‘fiddly’, making selection and scrolling processes somewhat unsure. Could Sony just spring for the premium switchgear in its flagship model, instead of something that feels like it cost .43 cents from a discount parts bin? 7) MFA can be complex, most esp. for H-AF lenses. Top, bottom, left and right corners, plus center (five points) X2 (wide and tele end for any zoom lens). Better for sure than NOT having multiple points of adjustment, but with these many places to check and calibrate, some form of auto setting might be desirable? Or at least a menu setting that allows you to clone center, corner, upper and lower into a single value for wide and in another single value for telephoto. This means you would only have to enter two values instead of the current 10. 8) Buffer clearing is a bit slow (~30 sec if shooting RAW in 42MP, and running out to full buffer depth of ~60 images), even though this is substantially mitigated by ability to review immediately. Unfathomably, Sony doesn’t support SDXC II cards, with their roughly 3x faster read/write times. You can still use a SDXC II, which will speed workflow from camera to your computer (in USB 3.0), but it won’t help with write times to speed up buffer clearing. Overall, what’s the bottom line? The camera is very smooth, and responsive in all its operations, from shooting to reviewing images, while color, contrast, detail and DR are all superb, as one would expect in this class of camera. And it’s just a pleasure to have it configured in a way that is ‘simpatico’ with how and what you shoot – kudos to Sony for making the camera so easy to configure “your way”. With the Fx menu setup properly, you can avoid menu diving almost completely, and rapidly access and segue through settings that you tend to modify. It’s just such a pleasure to shoot with, operate, and then enjoy the spectacular images and video that it can effortlessly generate. It’s nothing less than a screaming home run for A Mount and Sony. It might be the best ‘all arounder’ FF camera anyone has yet made, if you weigh 4k, sports, and landscape equally. It will, I predict, be back-ordered for all of 2017.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

26

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Limited Lens Options

Body Only 11/10/2017 by Farhad M (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a Sony A99-II about 7 months ago. I also had purchased a mirrorless camera model made by Sony several years ago. I, however, prefer the DSL to the smaller mirrorless cameras. A99-II has an impressive 42 Mega pixel sensor and the camera has great features. It appears Sony has a love and hate feelings toward the camera it introduced a year ago. The Sony engineers have been manufacturing a number of great lenses for the E-mount models and not for this A-mount unit. Also, the third party lens manufacturers are making interesting lenses for Canon and Nikon, but not for Sony A-mount units. Based on my frustration for limitation of the lenses for this camera, I doubt I will buy Sony products in future for not knowing how well that product will be supported.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

32 Customer Reviews

0

Superb

ILCA-99M2 10/11/2017 by Joe go wild about (United Kingdom)

Only had the camera a month but it has far exceeded my expectation.Great speed in all conditions and brilliant images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A pleasure to use

ILCA-99M2 29/10/2017 by HanselAdamsrevived (United Kingdom)

Very pleased with the body. Everything works as it should. Video control is limited and a big minus is the inability to use downloadable apps. (E.g. timelapse)

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Limited Lens Options

Body Only 11/10/2017 by Farhad M (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a Sony A99-II about 7 months ago. I also had purchased a mirrorless camera model made by Sony several years ago. I, however, prefer the DSL to the smaller mirrorless cameras. A99-II has an impressive 42 Mega pixel sensor and the camera has great features. It appears Sony has a love and hate feelings toward the camera it introduced a year ago. The Sony engineers have been manufacturing a number of great lenses for the E-mount models and not for this A-mount unit. Also, the third party lens manufacturers are making interesting lenses for Canon and Nikon, but not for Sony A-mount units. Based on my frustration for limitation of the lenses for this camera, I doubt I will buy Sony products in future for not knowing how well that product will be supported.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Limited Lens Options

ILCA-99M2 11/10/2017 by Farhad M (USA)

II bought a Sony A99 II about 7 months ago. It has an impressive 42 Mega pixel sensor and the camera has great features. It appears, however, Sony has a love and hate feelings toward the camera it introduced a year ago. There are a number of great lenses available by Sony for the E-mount models and not for this A-mount unit. I had also purchased a mirrorless camera model made by Sony several years ago. I prefer the DSL to the smaller mirrorless cameras. Also, the third party lens manufacturers are making interesting lenses for Canon and Nikon, but not for Sony A-mount units. Based on my experience with this camera, I doubt I will buy Sony products in future for not knowing how well that product will be supported.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great Camera so far....

Body Only 20/09/2017 by Earl872 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a week ago and I love it so far. I upgraded from the Sony a77ii and it is huge step up. I just hope that Sony continues the A-mount line.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

great photos

Body Only 13/09/2017 by LARUE (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I HAVE BEEN REVIEWING THIS CAMERA FOR ALMOST A YEAR AND WHAT I FOUND OUT WAS THAT IT IS A GREAT CAMERA AND SINCE I PURCHASED ONE FOR MY SELF, I FOUND THAT THE CAMERA TAKES GREAT PICTURES. THEY ARE VERY SHARPE, CLEAR AND VIVID. M I REALLY LOVE THIS CAMERA. THANK YOU SONY!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

High End product

ILCA-99M2 01/09/2017 by truthinshredding (United Kingdom)

I was looking for excellent low light capability and this product does an amazing job. Love the ergonomic design and build quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

This camera has a problem with overheating

Body Only 23/08/2017 by Darko975 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 3 months ago.Today at a temperature of 30 degrees after capturing 10 video files lasting of 13 seconds a warning occurred that the camera was overheated.It was disappointing and shameful in front of clients. That's unbelievable for Sony.If anyone had a similar problem, let me know

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Beats up Canon and Nikon

ILCA-99M2 18/08/2017 by Mickeyb105 (USA)

After agonizing for months between upgrading to either this or an a7rii, I am very happy to be an a99ii shooter. Pros: --pro-level AF, FPS --elite IQ --very customizable --deep grip. --handy articulating LCD screen --no noticeable blackout shooting high FPS. --solid high-speed performance --native Zeiss and Minolta glass is outstanding Cons: --paralyzed menus when buffer fills --May end up being last a-mount body ever made

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Exceptional camera

ILCA-99M2 11/08/2017 by Welsh Kerry (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera as it does everything I need - rarely can this be said about any camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent Camera too many options

Body Only 28/07/2017 by GEGJr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Well I've had this camera for almost 3 months now and I have taken less than 100 pictures. Prior to this I owned an A99V, A700, KM-7D, and several Minolta film cameras. This camera, the a99II is the most complicated camera yet. There are entirely too many options. There are options inside of options. In my opinion many of the options are useless just there so Sony could say they have x# of options. As a result, I am still trying to set up the camera for my kind of use. As an example of options inside of options, there is an option for center AF lock, then there is an option to lock center on AF. What that heck is that all about? A better example of nested options is that there are 7 memory registers, however, 4 of them are recorded to the SD card in the camera so if you happen to have another a99II you can carry the memorized settings to the second camera. Really!? As my wife always says, "take the picture already"! Then there's the fact that Sony decided to get rid of button for direct control of Steady Shot and it is instead a custom button (C1). Then there's a second custom button (C2) on the top front of the camera. Really?! In order to enable or disable Steady Shot you must actually go into the memory or you can assign the Steady Shot function to one of the custom buttons. So why have the second custom button at all? I can't remember what memory register is for what type of shooting. I would have liked to see a way to label each memory register e.g. landscape, sports/wildlife, portraits. Also, I can't remember what menu holds what options.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

1

4

0

step learning curve

ILCA-99M2 21/06/2017 by rhidav90 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

brought as a retirement present to me, there is a lot to learn from my a77 but I will have time to learn.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent camera, very useable, superb images

ILCA-99M2 15/06/2017 by ifi99 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good points: It's very useable straight out of the box. Superb image quality, with great dynamic range and low shadow noise across a wide range of ISOs. All your good lenses perform better (but it reveals the limitations of any weak ones). The AF is quick and accurate, and it's easy to adjust if you need more control for different subjects. Face-detection and eye-AF are really useful too. Low-light AF is very impressive, although it needs fast lenses to be most effective. Also, you get focus-peaking in MF. The Steady-Shot stabilisation system is excellent, and works with any A-mount lens. Movies are smooth when hand-held, even with long focal lengths. It's chunky, yet well balanced, with a natural and intuitive control layout. You can customise most of the dials and buttons to suit your style, and all settings are quick to reach and adjust once you have set it up. Limitations: It gets through batteries quickly, so at least two spares are recommended for a day's work. Not all A-mount lenses are compatible with the wide-area focal-plane AF (although in practice the dedicated 79-point phase-detection area is large and works impressively well). Auto-review is linked in the viewfinder and monitor so that when it's enabled, the viewfinder image is interrupted. I want live view continuously in the viewfinder, and the last recorded image automatically displayed on the monitor, but there doesn't seem to be any way to do that. Summary: The best A-mount camera ever. You can use your legacy lenses, you get superb image quality and great handling. It's fast, quiet, responsive, and adaptable. The SLT technology means you benefit from the advantages of both mirrorless and DSLR: it's like having several cameras at once. There are some minor limitations, but these are far outweighed by this camera's good points. It’s quick and satisfying to use, with a huge depth of abilities when you dig deeper. Fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing camera

Body Only 05/06/2017 by jan0126 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have own the Sony A100 for at least 12 years, and still use it. Until recently the A100 served all my photographic needs, even took it to Alaska and it performed beautifully. I began researching a full framed camera about 2 years ago and was disappointed when I found I would have to switch to an E mount (at that time with Sony) and none of my lenses would work without an adapter. So, I did look at other cameras. To my delight, the Sony A99 II was introduced. This camera is amazing! The picture quality, the focus points, built in level, 12 frames per second the capabilities of this camera are endless. I have to admit when I pulled it out of the box, I was a bit imtimated, but after a few days of reading the manual and practicing I feel comfortable. I know it will be some time before I realize what I can do and how far I can push it. I’m looking forward to night photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Exceptional image quality meets high fps

ILCA-99M2 02/06/2017 by Aardwolf6886 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having had the ILCA-88M2 for a few weeks now, I believe it ios one of the best cameras made so far, I have previously used Canon 1 & 5 series cameras aswell as Nikon D4 & 810's , I find the 42mp image quality of the a99 II to be far better than any of these and coupled with the abillity to shoot 12fps while autofocusing and tracking a subject makes this camera exceptional. I do not shoot video, but my understanding is that the 4k video output is also excellent. There is currently no other camera that can do all the things that this one does so well. My only slight gripe is that the full Hybrid Phase detection AF can not currently be used with 3rd party lenses, but hopefully Sony, Sigma and Tamron will get this sorted out.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Superb

ILCA-99M2 27/05/2017 by Squirrel1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this and have found the speed, quality and megapixel count brilliant. Still practising though. Would always choose Sony quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Camera

ILCA-99M2 14/05/2017 by Womble67 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Owned the Sony A99ii for a couple of weeks now and used it primarily for motorsport. The focus side of things is a big improvement over my A99, and the resolution is superb. This is where I had to hang back from giving 5 stars though, I'm really disappointed that the camera doesn't utilise UHS2 memory cards. My uncompressed raw files have been in the region of 83mb, and UHS2 would have dealt with this so much better. I attended the Speedway GP in Warsaw this weekend and was finding I'm hitting the buffer far too soon and waiting for saving images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Quite a few software issues - Regretting Purchase

Body Only 12/05/2017 by efoss (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I feel like I should preface this review with the fact that I am a professional videographer. I work on adventure reality, nature, and travel shows for Discovery Channel, Travel Channel, and many others. The camera does everything is advertises but it has a few big problems. 1 is banding issues when shooting in LED lighting. This effects stills and video and the video is unusable. So basically every concert I shoot now has an added challenge which makes half of my footage trash. My previous Canon camera never had this issue with stage lighting. I have tried every combination of settings on the A99 II to no avail. The second big problem is while shooting time lapses with an intervalometer (I wanted the full 42 MP for an animation I was doing) the exposure fluctuated by about 1/8 of a stop between shots with the exact same settings. This is an obvious problem as time lapse flickers when it is compiled. Again, I never had this problem with my previous Canon camera. I have read that Sony iris' are closed until you trigger them which leaves room for error as opposed to an iris that remains consistent once you set it. Huge setback for my work. The last problem I have recently been experiencing was when playing back 4k and 120 fps footage in camera the clips appeared to be extremely overexposed. It freaked me out at first until I put the footage into my computer. It seemed to be fine in the computer. I have not tried the playback via the hdmi output on an external monitor yet but that problem could be detrimental on set when showing clients what was just shot. The menus are also extremely confusing. I'm slowly memorizing them but the design could be vastly improved. That being said, I wouldn't mind if the above problems did not occur. The saving grace of the camera is the dynamic range and the low light capabilities. I'm loving the S-log and ITU709 settings.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

3

3

0

Great Camera - wished I held off & have A9 envy

ILCA-99M2 11/05/2017 by Pspy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good replacement for the A99 and although customer satisfaction was low on the camera after a return issue. I had a meet up at the camera show at the NEC and this made me switch my other A99 for an A99ii. I have problems with the rear preview screen not switching from the viewfinder. Great photos but pro photographers friend of mine from Nikon background didn't manage to get autofocus to work for him and still find my A99 more reliable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Great camera but some features seem already old

Body Only 26/04/2017 by amitzinman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

As advertised, Sony put a lot of current technology from the A7 family into this camera, which is great. That said, a few things remain the same, lagging behind the competition and Sony's own e-mount offering. 1. Camera does not support USB 3 and higher rate cards, causing the cache to take time to clear even with fast SD cards. 2. Video modes are still not operating like Stills Modes, wasting a lot of time when doing jobs that require both video and stills. Wish when setting camera to M I could also capture a video with the same settings without switching to video mode. Adjusting the dial just takes too much time since you have to look a it to get it right, not a good practice while in a middle of a documentary shoot. 3. No Touch Screen :(

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

A heavyweight such fast burst rates at full res.

ILCA-99M2 15/04/2017 by Bartpx (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

At last a real heavyweight. I shoot in a lot of different situations but one of the most common is sports and it can stand anything I throw at it. The metering is tops and the focusing has not missed out much. I am still taking it through it's paces and I am simply amazed at this Thoroughbred.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Well worth the wait

Body Only 03/04/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy to switch from the a99 to the new a99ii. I am enjoying the video side of it as well. I also got the battery grip as well. I like using the SONY XLR-K1M which makes my job easier with video editing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony - α99 II with Back-Illuminated Full-Frame

Body Only 23/03/2017 by Dale the Freelancer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my camera two weeks ago, and love it. Especially the Full Frame and the 42.4MP resolution.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Bells and Whistles

ILCA-99M2 11/03/2017 by RogersG (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it less than three weeks ago and delighted with the upgrade from A77. What a pity I have to wait up to twelve (12) weeks for a full frame 24-70 Sony Zeiss lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

5

0

Image sensor, metering and auto focus are stunning

ILCA-99M2 03/03/2017 by Trevor125 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pros: 1. The image sensor captures over a very wide dynamic range with very high picture quality. 2. The metering system is superb, accurately capturing the correct settings in challenging lighting conditions, particularly back-lit scenes. 3. The auto focus system is excellent for moving subjects. 4. Frequently accessed features and settings are easy to get to and are customisable. 5. The screen can be moved and rotated over a wide range, making it easy to shoot with the camera help away from you. 6. The view finder is very clear. Cons: 1. The configurable menu options can seem a bit overwhelming. 2. Auto focus for still images, particularly landscape, really requires centre-only focusing. Any other auto focus setting requires frequent tuning. 3. That's about it. This camera really is excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

2

0

All that I expected

Body Only 27/02/2017 by Fuzzy66 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought and used an A65 3 years ago and was very happy about using it. I had a couple of lenses. As my experience has grown I wanted to move to a full frame version. When I saw the A99m2 I thought it would be ideal. I was right. I brought it primarily too improve overall sharpness for my pictures and for the ability to maintain focus while tracking moving images. The camera exceeded my expectations in both areas, based on my initial test shots. There is enough similarity with that the learning curve for the use of this camera has not been too steep. From the first, I have been happy with all my photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Best Sony Alpha camera

Body Only 13/02/2017 by pelai138 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple months ago . I took hundred pictures of the Bald Eagles they turned out better than expected . The tracking is fast and sharp.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

13

6

0

Great Camera

ILCA-99M2 11/02/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Professional level features without the higher price tag of other well know brands

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

5

0

Sony Hits A Home Run!

Body Only 08/01/2017 by dfwatt (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

PROS: 1) FF sensor that is clearly Sony’s (and industry’s) best. Combines high resolution and high speed FPS, 4k, and variable frame rate video (both time lapse plus slow motion effects). Very good high ISO and excellent detail. Amazing functional ability and versatility in a single package. Not available in any other FF camera and Sony isn’t selling this sensor to anyone else, unlike previous 36MP FF sensor. 2) Excellent 5 axis IBIS worth (on paper – but see discussion) 4+ stops that is functionally invisible (i.e., does not adversely impact IQ), and available on all lenses. Allows you to drop ISO several stops over all but the best OS lens-based image stabilization systems, and is advertised to be ~2 stops better than previous IBIS system (in A77ii). Decent IS options in video as well, in 1080p and 4k (but see discussion). 3) Ability to use the full range of A-mount glass, with full IS benefits (but see Con #1 and discussion). This gives many options: both modern (and expensive) Zeiss and Sony G glass but also high-value legacy Minolta glass options to the user, depending on budgets and priorities. 4) 4k is amazingly detailed, and competes with best in class (A7RII/A7SII/A6500/GH5), with excellent low light ability. Exceptionally versatile video specs and codecs (but see Con #2). 5) Compact form factor body, very slightly smaller than A77ii (but feeling like the same camera) and with excellent ergonomics and customizable controls – making this the most compact FF body out there, outside of the A7x series (but without the ergonomic limitations of the A7x group). 6) Hybrid AF system combining 399 on-sensor PD elements, combined with 79 focus points from dedicated PDAF array, fed by SLT mirror (but again see Con #1 and discussion). 7) Much better organized operating system and menu structure, with major degree of potential customization of control architecture to suit end user preference and style. Additionally the Fx button gives instant access to 12 selectable camera functions of the users choice to streamline menu access. 8) Ability for Wi-Fi and NFC to send images to your smartphone. 9) Dramatically improved Wi-Fi remote control app over the A77II – which was appallingly bad. This version of smart phone remote control appears as capable the apps for RX10/100 models, and for E-mount, which are class leading. 10) Multiple point MFA, wide and telephoto ends for zooms, plus separate settings for the four corners and center for lenses that do hybrid AF (but seen con #7) 11) A reasonably deep buffer, with ability to review images immediately, enhancing usability in sports and action photography – 9 seconds roughly of 8 FPS with my card if shooting full sized JPEGs or RAW. Enormous flexibility too – if shooting RAW or JPEG, at 8 FPS, and utilizing crop sensor mode (18MP files), the buffer is almost unlimited (153 RAW images using my card Samsung Pro SDXC I card - but see Con #8). 12) Real functionality for your crop sensor DT lens library – (don’t reflexively dump your lens library in other words if your coming up from APS-C). If you want smaller files (18MP) or a lighter lens/camera combo, you get increased buffer depth, extra reach on your telephoto lenses, and still plenty of image information. Works brilliantly with the DT 16-50 2.8 as a default Super 35 video or walk around lens. A major and almost totally unappreciated plus of that 42MP. CONS: 1) Only Sony lenses (and not quite all of them) allow access to hybrid AF system, although the dedicated PDAF system (upgraded version of system in A77ii) by itself is still quite competent and flexible. 2) Sony continues to limit AF in movie modes to Program mode only, with fixed aperture (3.5, or widest if lens doesn’t reach 3.5). Reasons for this are unclear, but perhaps to reduce competition with the more video-friendly E Mount? 3) Modest ½ stop light loss from SLT mirror. Much is made of this, but tests have shown that even at higher ISOs, individuals can’t reliably discriminate ½ stop of extra noise, without pixel peeping A/B displays, and never at typical viewing distances. Tradeoff to achieve better AF performance, as OSPDAF still hasn’t caught up to the best dedicated PDAF. If this is still troubling, the SLT mirror can be removed for landscape and any other MF shot if that last bit of ISO is deemed important (a dicey practice and not for the technically inept as semi-transparent mirror is fragile and impossible to clean without damaging it). 4) Speaking of ISO, according to initial DxO testing, ISO scale is almost one full stop optimistic (indicated 200 is ~ 110) – and a slightly less than one stop ‘boost’ to indicated ISO continues on up the ISO scale. Not clear if this is simply unusual sample variation (DxO tested a funky sample) or Sony’s thinly veiled attempt to exaggerate the apparent low light performance of the camera. Some ‘fudging’ on ISO is commonplace - almost universal - but typically it’s ~1/4 to 1/3 a stop, not ~ 1 stop. 5) Menu system is still rather bulky and complex (but not excessively so for pro/FF class of camera). 6) Joystick control is sometimes ‘fiddly’, making selection and scrolling processes somewhat unsure. Could Sony just spring for the premium switchgear in its flagship model, instead of something that feels like it cost .43 cents from a discount parts bin? 7) MFA can be complex, most esp. for H-AF lenses. Top, bottom, left and right corners, plus center (five points) X2 (wide and tele end for any zoom lens). Better for sure than NOT having multiple points of adjustment, but with these many places to check and calibrate, some form of auto setting might be desirable? Or at least a menu setting that allows you to clone center, corner, upper and lower into a single value for wide and in another single value for telephoto. This means you would only have to enter two values instead of the current 10. 8) Buffer clearing is a bit slow (~30 sec if shooting RAW in 42MP, and running out to full buffer depth of ~60 images), even though this is substantially mitigated by ability to review immediately. Unfathomably, Sony doesn’t support SDXC II cards, with their roughly 3x faster read/write times. You can still use a SDXC II, which will speed workflow from camera to your computer (in USB 3.0), but it won’t help with write times to speed up buffer clearing. Overall, what’s the bottom line? The camera is very smooth, and responsive in all its operations, from shooting to reviewing images, while color, contrast, detail and DR are all superb, as one would expect in this class of camera. And it’s just a pleasure to have it configured in a way that is ‘simpatico’ with how and what you shoot – kudos to Sony for making the camera so easy to configure “your way”. With the Fx menu setup properly, you can avoid menu diving almost completely, and rapidly access and segue through settings that you tend to modify. It’s just such a pleasure to shoot with, operate, and then enjoy the spectacular images and video that it can effortlessly generate. It’s nothing less than a screaming home run for A Mount and Sony. It might be the best ‘all arounder’ FF camera anyone has yet made, if you weigh 4k, sports, and landscape equally. It will, I predict, be back-ordered for all of 2017.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

26

0

0

Less than I expected!

ILCA-99M2 02/01/2017 by Zako (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

1) Advertised that it pairs with Playmemories on mobile and it does not. 2) The multi-selector is very difficult to use even after following recommendations. 3) unable to find out how to remove focus off shutter

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

10

54

0

Exactly what an upgrade should be.

ILCA-99M2 26/12/2016 by Timvasvi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having owned the A99 alongside the A77, I decided to add this to my kit bag and go entirely full frame. The A99II is a model example of how an upgraded version to a camera should be... Better in every way compared to it's predecessor. The Auto Focus system is vastly improved over the A99 and is now locks onto it's target faster and with less hunting. AF in low light conditions has also been improved too. This goes hand in hand with low light performance overall, as ISO performance on this camera is quite simply amazing. I find myself being able to shoot at ISO levels a lot higher than I have ever previously been able to and still manage to get usable shots in relation to noise. NFC transfer of images is a great addition, allowing me to upload to my social media whilst on a shoot which is great for engaging with clients, both current and potential. The WiFi remote via the Play Memories app is another feature that is welcomed and should come in handy when I am shooting my landscape shots and the camera is on it's tripod. Overall, I couldn't be happier with the decision to purchase this. The only thing I would have liked to see is support for 3rd party lenses with the new 4D Hybrid focusing system as I do feel like I am being limited when using some of my lenses with this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

42

1

0

The best camera produced by Sony.

ILCA-99M2 02/12/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony has finally produced a camera that can compete with the professional cameras from Nikon and Canon. The size has been reduced from the original Alpha 99 and has a similar size to the Sony Alpha 77II. The grip has been redesigned and feel very comfortable in your hand, especially when combined with the optional Sony VG-C77AM vertical grip. Those familiar with other cameras in the Sony Alpha DSLT line will feel at home with layout of the buttons. The majority of buttons can be customised to meet your needs. A very useful button is the function (FN) button which can display 12 different camera functions on either the viewfinder or monitor. These functions are fully customisable and allow you change functions without the need to access the camera menu. Another very useful button is the customisable front multi control button. This button allows you to change settings such as ISO very quickly while shooting. The full frame 42.2 megapixel back illuminated CMOS sensor produces the best photos I have seen from a Sony DSLT camera. The cameras have excellent low light performance. There is minimal noise, even at an ISO off 12800. The photos I took so far was very sharp and reproduced very accurate colours. I believe that the absence of an optical low pass filter has improved the sharpness of photos compared to the Alpha 99 or Alpha 77II. In addition to shooting in full frame mode you can shoot stills in APS-C mode or movies in Super 35 mode. In this mode, the camera shoots at 18 megapixels. This can be very useful to gain extra reach with a telephoto lens. The cameras AF and AE is very accurate even when shooting at 12 fps due the newly designed hybrid phase detection system. The camera was able to lock onto and track even fast moving targets. I was able to shoot a fast-moving subject at 12 fps with all the photos taken being in focus. I was able to review the images immediately after shooting compared to other cameras where there was a delay. When shooting at 8 fps live view is continuously available making it easier to track a moving subject. The 5-axis in body stabilisation also works very well when hand shooting both stills or movies. I was able to produce consistent results under fluorescent and other artificial lights due to the presence of a flicker free shooting mode. You have the option to add copyright information to your files on the camera. The OLED viewfinder makes it very easy to compose your image. You can clearly see what your picture will look like before taking it. The effect of changing the shutter, aperture, ISO, white balance etc. on your image is displayed in real time on the viewfinder. The camera also takes high quality 4K movies. Unfortunately, you are unable to change aperture when shooting with auto focus mode. The aperture is locked at F3.5. When shooting in manual focus the aperture and shutter can be adjust. In manual focus mode both aperture and shutter can be adjusted.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

77

24