205

4.4 based on 205 customer reviews

116
72
9
5
3
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

I Love My a5000 Digital Camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 26/09/2014 by Elko (USA)

We bought the camera for our family vacation, to Chicago. Small, light-weight, and pocket-friendly. With built-in flash, and automatic settings, talking pictures was effortless, and the picture quality is crisp and dazzling.

21

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Very flimsy camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 17/09/2016 by WhyDoYouNeedNickname (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Sony a5000L 4 months ago and have already sent it for repairs. There are burnt pixels on the back screen and the camera now fails to recognise the kit lens. I had much higher expectations from Sony, but it seems this camera is very flimsy compared to other entry level DSLRs from Cannon or Nikon.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

205 Customer Reviews

0

a5000L Camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 14/06/2018 by rainbloke (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this product as a second body for my NEX5. It has features not available on my NEX5 including WiFi connectivity and the capacity to download specific apps such as time laps etc. However I have found the standard lens to be less sharp when used in the maximum zoom and I have lost a number of images because they were fuzzy. The standard manual zoom on my NEX5 is sharp throughout the zoom range. This is most definitely a snapshot camera and I don't find it up to the standards I require. The selfie flip up screen is a gimmick that is far less useful than the multi position screen on the NEX5. The absence of a viewfinder is a serious deficiency as in bright light it is difficult to frame the image on the LCD screen. Given the choice again I wouldn't buy one

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

concerned

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 18/05/2018 by ed291 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I usuallly use a Canon DSLR T6 Rebel in Travel and sometimes want a smaller, more portable camera. On recent trip, comparing photos on both, I was disappointed with my Sony, i.e. not as sharp or crisp; just lacking zip

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Easy to use

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 05/05/2018 by Radio man22 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Exactly what I need for compactness and features...

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

So easy

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 24/04/2018 by Watto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this early so I can practice before my holiday. At the same time I’m doing a weekly photography course on line with a view to get off AUTO. So far so good, fits in great with my course, easy to understand and takes great pictures

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great travel camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 23/04/2018 by visual adventure (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as I wanted a travel camera smaller than my DSLR but with the flexibility of interchangable lenses and a great sensor. This does it all at an affordable price. It also has great HD video capability and with the flip up screen would make a good travel vlogging setup small enough to be discreet.Haven't travelled yet so will wait and see how it stands up to wear and tear.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great foto quality in daylight

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 09/04/2018 by HadesLTU (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought 3y ago. Good foto quality. I am happy. Hard to connect Wi-Fi to PC

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Sweet and little mini

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 28/02/2018 by LP93 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and I am satisfied. As a beginner I think it's perfect till you choose what exactly will your needs be.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony A5000

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 18/02/2018 by Hutchybaby (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this about one month ago, the size and weight are great, the picture quality not what i hoped for. But i should not expect equal to l series lenses.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Super love this camera!

ILCE-5000 KIT 15/01/2018 by kissykithy (USA)

I bought this camera last December as a Christmas gift for myself and I have not regret my decision. This is first mirrorless camera ever and 2 of my friends recommended this particular model for a beginner like me. The super love it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice size, weight and features.

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 07/01/2018 by Des001 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Camera looks and feels professional. Haven't used extensively yet, still a lot to learn. The automatic setting makes point and shoot so easy. Images are fantastic. I love that I can transfer images to my smart phone or computer without wires. Perhaps could have done with flash unit that could throw light further.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

sony

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 10/12/2017 by Aldad (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

no problem i like sony company is amazing mark in the marketing

0

0

0

good entry mirrorless

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 04/12/2017 by biyan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought a mounth ago.. body is great, coz i look for camera compact with good image result..

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Wondeful pictures!

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 07/11/2017 by Fat Cat (United Kingdom)

I was using an 8MP point & shoot as well as an iPhone camera - but - I was getting more and more disappointed with the results (my reference was Kodacolor ...). I wanted to upgrade to a proper camera and started investigating. My first discovery was that most of the cameras with the small lenses have an even smaller sensor behind them! For me this meant that I would not be better off with a compact 20 MP camera. The Sony A5000 looked like the answer: A proper lens, a sizable sensor and just as important, a small body. I also liked the fact that the lens that was included goes from wide angle to some zooming, but without taking a huge volume of space. Once I got the camera, my first subject was of course our cat...I was amazed by the results! Each hair on the nose was visible, even the dust. I then took some more general pictures and then noticed two big differences to my phone camera: - The colours were always just right. Normally I have to edit each picture to get back to reasonable colours. - The other item was that the exposures were also just right. I was used to getting dark shadows on almost all pictures, whereas the Sony A5000 captures what I see with my eyes - which in fact don't see such dark shadows. I tried a picture of some plants that were in front of the window. Here the plants came out just right (of course, the windows over exposed, but that is what I wanted) I come to my main conclusion: That just using the camera in its default settings results in wonderful pictures. Of course, I have the possibility to use the manual settings for some special cases, but the point is that the combination of lens and internal image processing gives excellent results without having to fiddle with anything!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Very nice compact camera.

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 30/10/2017 by John653 (United Kingdom)

Have had this camera for two weeks and I am very pleased with the results and quality of the photos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Poor Camera

ILCE-5000 KIT 20/10/2017 by Allie12345 (USA)

Nice camera with good quality, but it broke after only two months of barely being used. I would not recommend this product if you don't want it to break for no reason.

1

1

0

Nice compact camera with extras

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 01/10/2017 by shaman1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have not had time to fully use this camera but my husband has managed to set it jup well. It is very compact and the photos are great, Can see that it would be a good idea to have a spare lens cover as it is not attached to the camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfect for my needs.

ilce5000lb 25/08/2017 by Skippy33 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera offers a great design and good resolution in a smaller package. I specifically did NOT want to move to a DSLR due to bulk, weight of lenses, etc. The 5000 offers a fairly intuitive menu and adaptability with a good range of option/accessories to cover most photographic needs. I recently used this camera on the 2017 eclipse with excellent results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great video quality

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 25/08/2017 by sincpara (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was pleasantly surprised how good the video quality was, and the pictures are also great

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 11/08/2017 by Msl67 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just got the camera 2 weeks ago so still getting to know it. Reason for purchase wanted small good general camera. So far it look good

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Super Camera Whe You Need Something Compact

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 09/08/2017 by John DM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'd become a bit disappointed with my point and shoot Lumix but didn't wasn't the bulk of an SLR. The A5000 seems like a pretty good compromise. Early days yet but I'm impressed with the shots I've taken so far. A bit surprised that the flash needs to be raised via a button and setting up the wifi connection is downright clunky, almost last century.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

top marks for a top camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 22/07/2017 by gr4h4m (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I selected the a5100 after looking at a lot of reviews and when Ted Forbes from the Art Of Photography gave a great review then I knew this was the small camera of choice. It comes with a really good kit lens but I bought an adapter that enables me to fit my old Canon FD lens which gives me a whole range now. The camera works very well with these lenses and even have a magnified focus screen to get the best results. Very happy but the real test is to come when I take it to a couple of music festivals.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Not For the price

ILCE-5000 KIT 16/07/2017 by sonny215 (USA)

Lightweight and stylish. great picture quality but overheats to quick

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
20/07/2017

Hi sonny215, We appreciate you taking the time in writing this feedback. Sony cameras do not overheat as long we are within the product specified limitation between 0°C and 40 °C (32 °F and 104 °F). You may check out this link for more details. https://docs.sony.com/release//ILCE-5000_DigitalCamera_HelpGuide_EN.pdf -Jerome

0

Awesome camera at an affordable price

ILCE-5000 KIT 16/07/2017 by CEuC (USA)

Super pictures, great design, all at a reasonable price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great pictures and video But Overheats Very Quick

ILCE-5000 KIT 15/07/2017 by sonny215 (USA)

purchased the sony a5000 for vlogging and picture taking. After a very short time of recording indoors in air conditioning it over heated and stopped recording which leads me to believe if taking video outside the time would be cut in half due to overheating. pictures and video are amazing light weight and stylish.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

great slim camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 09/07/2017 by zfarks (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I+ve have 3 cameras and this one have been by far the best. Recommended

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony a5000

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 08/07/2017 by Trail turtle (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I always wanted a mirror-less camera. Picked the Sony a5000 as my very first. I am completely satisfied

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Outstanding product

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 07/07/2017 by Tee28 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently purchased this camera for occasions such as holidays, weddings and overall family events. I am absolutely impressed with the quality of the photos I have tested out. They are sharp and extremely clear which I am excited about. The camera is a good compact shape which is very handy if you are using it to take pictures on holidays etc as well as having a handy grip on the side. Also the camera features are easy to get your head around. The only downside of this is that it doesn't include a camera battery charger which is a shame due to the price I paid for the camera. I would have also liked it to have a case to protect it as it is a heavy-ish camera. But overall very impressed!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Ease of use

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 06/07/2017 by Buford (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera and happy with with what i brought would recommend this a5000 to someone who is looking for something a step up from a lower end point and shoot camera

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

love the time lapse

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 29/06/2017 by Hyduk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Cant fault the camera has everything I need like charge with the USB for when your on the go with a power bank, using your phone to point focus and save a copy of what you caputured

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing clarity

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 24/06/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got my a5000 as a gift from my Son and Daughter. I have always loved taking pictures but never had a good camera. Even though I am just learning the settings and when to use different settings, I have already taken some breathtaking photos! I am in love with my new camera and can't wait to learn more about it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Compact and lightwieght

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 11/06/2017 by Hayden75 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this a couple of weeks ago and I have found it very easy to use and already the quality of the photos is excelent. Two negative points. 1) The lack of an attachment for the lens cap.(solved by buying one on line) 2) The lack of a viewfinder,on bright days it is difficult to see the screen. (one can be purchased but it looks bulky and spoils the look of the camera)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect camera for a novice picture taker

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 11/06/2017 by Tyrone TJ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great Price Great Quality No complaints Easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Sony a6000

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 10/05/2017 by Eemrose (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I absolutely love this camera. Very impressed by the the quality of the photos it takes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A lot of camera in a small package

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 10/05/2017 by Coggers (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera as a replacement for a 14mp, much loved fixed lens compact and it has impressed me hands down.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great for its price

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 05/05/2017 by Me_7711 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it about a year and a half ago. Its is a great little camera for its price. I wouldn't expect miracles from it though. It works well enough in good light, and I wouldn't push it anywhere above 1500 ISO. Also, if you are planning to stick to the kit lens, bare in mind that it works best at f/5.6. Its performance in low light is quite dissapointing, especially taken into account the performance of its older brother the a7sII (and yes, I realize taht they have a 10x price difference). I am certainly happy with this camera, and I certainly would recomend it, though if you can save a little bit of money I would recommend getting the a6000 at least for its EVF and a flip-out display that can be face down.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Value cam for the price it costs

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 01/05/2017 by MantasT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

For the price costs it`s quite good camera. Good video and picture quality in normal conditions. Some negative things: In low light it performs not so good as expected. I have some doubts if it really makes ~3 pictures in a second (in burst mode). It's difficult to physically press video button. In my opinion additional applications for this cam costs way to much. In selfie mode it's little bit difficult to press shutter button.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Although I have only taken a few photographs.

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 25/04/2017 by Mr Magoo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only used this camera to take comparative shots. The results were amazing. Can't wait to use this lovely piece of kit for real.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

SMART AND GOOD VALUE

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 24/04/2017 by BillMcC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this several weeks ago and love it, great quality for the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good focussing camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 11/04/2017 by cooperman51 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Received this for a birthday present. Good features and excellent choice of accessories available including lenses and filters.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0