Skip to Content
89

4.5 based on 89 customer reviews

57
25
1
3
3
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Superb focus tracking system that works wonder.

Body Only 25/07/2016 by Lukias (United Kingdom)

I bought the ILCE 6300 as a second camera to take with me on photographic holiday and have recently returned from photographing migrating seabirds. I thoroughly enjoyed using the A6300 for shooting birds in-flight. It has an impressive fast focus tracking system that works so well. The A6300 fitted with an FE lens is small and light enough for you to carry around and keep on shooting handheld for hours with ease. I'm so glad that I bought it! The sample photos were all taken handheld.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

worked less then a year

Body Only 23/01/2017 by poco_bw (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

is just dead, didnt last even 1 year. Suddenly wont turn on, took less then 300 photos with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

2

89 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Nice bit of kit.

Body Only 13/10/2017 by Chunky Pete (United Kingdom)

I wanted something smaller and lighter than the DSLR combination I have been used to, and after a good deal of research, decided on the A6300 as the best combination of value for money and performance. After a couple of weeks use, I am very happy with my decision. Image quality is better than my NIKON D5300, plenty of useful features, excellent video, and all in a smaller, lighter and more convenient package. Well done, Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great combination for travel convenience

Body Only 01/10/2017 by Gibjr (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I used this on a month long trip to China during September 2017. I also purchased a 16-70 Zeiss lens, and together, it was great for traveling due to the small size, weight and higher functionality than a point and shoot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent camera

Body Only 27/09/2017 by Lissa (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a beginner w/ this kind of camera and i am very satisfied w/ this product, easy to use and very light to handle.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great quality images from a beautiful camera

Body Only 21/09/2017 by Gordon B (United Kingdom)

Bought this to replace my ageing NEX7 before going on a month's walking holiday in Spain. Already had a Nikon d750 but didn't want to take that as far too heavy/big. Teamed it up with a decent lens and was delighted with the image quality. It feels great to hold and feels very satisfying and intuitive (once you've set up the menus how you want them) to take photos. Don't really use the video much but I believe it is of great quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A ++++++

Body Only 06/09/2017 by JCNrevere (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

WONDERFUL CAMERA I recommend for use day by day....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing camera but with a some annoying niggles.

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 04/09/2017 by Colinire (United Kingdom)

The footage that comes out of this little gem is totally amazing and in my opinion totally wipes the floor with the new GH5 from Panasonic (I bought it and returned it the same week). The inclusion of the Log profiles is also a big bonus and offers so many more possibilities for the creative film maker. However the lack of a headphone output on the A6300 and the A6500 is unforgivable and the placement of the movie button is frankly bizarre. A big improvement to the 'A' range for movie makers would be the addressing of the two issues mentioned and also the following additions (I'm sure people would be willing to pay a bit more for them) :- 1. 10bit recording. 2. The ability to change the main shutter button to 'Movie' function. 3. 60p in 4K mode. 4. The inclusion of AF-S and DMF in Movie mode.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

good useful ilce

Body Only 03/09/2017 by ekroy (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera a while ago. It is used as a 2nd camera the results are A1.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

High performance wth less bulk

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 27/08/2017 by Sporty1 (United Kingdom)

Having owned nex 5, nex 7, and then rx10 mk111, it was a real treat to swap to my a6300. ! Great definition and 'depth' to my pictures and the ability to use some of the newer lens designed for the full-frame 7 series bodies, has opened up a new world of landscape photography. Helped in no small measure by the light weight and compactness of one body and just 2 lenses to carry.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

all you need in a camera

Body Only 19/08/2017 by pugsly (United Kingdom)

I've only had this beauty a short while but it's the best i have ever bought, and i have had a few cameras. It has a first class sensor, slow motion, 4K, HD, I would need a A4 piece of paper to finish telling you about this camera, try it out and you will see what I mean

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera

Body Only 04/08/2017 by Griffin73180 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Works great above and below the water. Bought this camera fro a trip to the Bahamas and I am happy that I did. Took lots of photos and videos and even put it in and underwater housing for some extra sharky shots.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Issue with Built in Flash

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 27/07/2017 by NEhsani (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The Camera take great picture and I like everything about it. The problem is that when ever I use the built in Flash in the Auto mode, only after a few back to back pictures from the same object, the camera suddenly blacks out (looses power completely) for about 10 to 15 sends then turns back on. I loose the last picture that was taken or it is saved incorrectly (washed out or rainbow color.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/07/2017

Hi NEhsani, We apologize for the inconvenience. Please check the link provided for troubleshooting steps. https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/39713/

If the issue persists, you may have the unit checked by an authorized service center. For repair related concerns, you may visit our eService website. https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/service.pl

Regards,
Jerome

0

Best of the best

Body Only 22/07/2017 by MackemAB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The a6300 really does have everything you want in a camera. From the high quality photography it products, the unmatched auto focus and the stunning 4k video. I had used an a5100 previously and decided to upgrade to this for the video's I had seen it produce. Very happy to make the upgrade and have since bought an extra lense to help my content.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great quality photographs

Body Only 18/07/2017 by Dunechka (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm new to photography and wanted something capable yet easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awesome camera

Body Only 16/07/2017 by Hecsas79 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought this camera after reviews , it's easy to use , the 4k video is easy to edit and convert to mp4

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic camera with fantastic features

Body Only 15/07/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having been a keen photographer and videographer my whole life, but never investing the money into a proper camera (only using smartphones or compact cameras), I felt it was time to put my money where my mouth is and spent months investigating what was the best camera I could invest my money into. After all was said and done, I finally invested my money into an a6300, and my god am I glad I did! Not only is the 4K video recording absolutely stunning, and has helped add a layer of polish to my youtube channel, the photo's taken by the a6300 and kit lens are so detailed and vibrant that I'm sold on DSLR's in the future. I'm about to start buying new lenses, and to say I'm excited is an understatement. If you're considering the a6300 for video, maybe invest a tiny bit more for the a6500, but otherwise the a6300 is a bargain, and I look forward to spending many more years with Sony mirrorless DSLR cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great pictures

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 10/07/2017 by Brin485 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought camera about a month have only had chance to use it twice at family function. Quality of the colors and detail captured are fantastic, can't wait to have a full day by myself, to explore the features with out interference by others just wanting to have a look. Looking forward to some post production of the pictures to explore the captured detail.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Up to expectations

Body Only 07/07/2017 by Bagspacking (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Now compliments my NEX 6, RX100V and HX90. I have been happy with all of my Sony products and this is no exception.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A6300 Best AF system & Great Low Light Images!

Body Only 02/07/2017 by Mura_Vision (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A6300. Best AF system. Great Low Light image quality! Very portable, small and is non-intrusive when taking pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

First 24 Hours

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 25/06/2017 by tmgparsons (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

research on camera has payed true. easy setup, update of firmware. Pictures just just on automatic have been fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best Camera I've Owned

Body Only 24/06/2017 by Robert Male (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is by far the best camera I have owned so far, from the compact design to all the features it has to offer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A6300

Body Only 20/06/2017 by M jamil (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Top camera great quality. 4k is amazing and slow motion is awsome.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Not sure about this camer

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 19/06/2017 by LelaLisa (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Setting up camera is difficult. Directions are minimal. Trying to link to PlayMemories Home to upload picture. Where can I get phone support

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
26/06/2017

Hi there! We're sorry to hear that you are having difficulties setting up the camera. You can reach our technical support team by visiting this link. https://esupport.sony.com/US/p/support-contacts.pl?mdl=ILCE6300

0

Great!!

Body Only 16/06/2017 by Doku28 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

wonderful camera. It does amazingly well in low light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Inspiring. Truly Inspiring.

Body Only 14/06/2017 by Mr Reefy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

So, on paper I'm a complete novice. I do get paid for my work with cameras though so on paper I suppose I'm also a professional. My business partner and good buddy recently made the shift from Nikon to Sony by taking a plunge and buying the Sony A7sii and I thought as I was just starting to learn the ropes it would be best for me to follow suit. Another good buddy of mine was shooting on the A6300 and I simply adore everything about it. However, my main deciding factor was that my shooting partner and I had an easy time in Post Production and didn't have to start matching his incredible A7sii footage with my Nikon D5300 footage. What can I say...as a guy who has to quickly learn the ropes and deliver good results and no excuses, this camera has changed my life and made it a walk in the park. I always have the camera on my hands; I'm always wanting to know more about it; I'm always wanting to shoot with it; and I cannot describe how good the video footage and photographs are with this piece of pure gold from Sony. I did my diligent research and I didn't feel I was worthy to wield the A7sii. The A6500 didn't have anything additional that I would need either, so the A6300 was a no brainier. I'm not gonna bore you any longer with in depth detail but I would like to add that while I'm a novice of sorts I am kicking out a serious workload and getting some incredible results from this camera. From Music Videos to Documentaries, and from Portrait Phography to Landscape Photography this thing just takes everything you throw at it. The camera really soars when you take the time to utilise the features and attach a good lens to it. I've been shooting in S-Log 2 which has been an eye opener and a Godsend. This little camera blew my buddy's Nikon D810 out of the water and it is a perfect shooting partner for the A7sii. Thank you Sony! You have inspired me to raise my game and delve further into the beautiful world of photography and videography! xx

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

A Giant Leap Forward

Body Only 16/05/2017 by Dibdobdad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased to replace an a6000 and immediately I noticed how well put together it was, feeling much better in my hands than the a6000. AF is suberb and so far picture quality seems better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera loaded up with technology

Body Only 12/05/2017 by Dennyboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a long time user of sony cameras. This latest one doesn't disappoint. It's packed with useful features and takes really good images at a high resolution

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Quality Images

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 10/05/2017 by Al BMW (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Thought I'd step up as a novice from my Sony superzoom. So easy to use straight out of the box and great features. Continuous shooting just goes on and on and first outing captured more than ever. Excellent pictures and resolution from BSB last weekend.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

This camera is brilliant in every way

Body Only 09/05/2017 by Ridd1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded from Nex6 and can see from initial results it was a good move. The only minor issue was I had to upgrade my lightroom 5 to 6 also think it could have had a more pictorial instruction handbook.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Awesome feature and easy to use for a novice

Body Only 30/04/2017 by ravisgoli (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a week ago and since then trying on shooting my kids. it has very good features that need for kids photography.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

A little super film camera!

Body Only 21/04/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great quality and features to make videos! For photos, i think Sony need to make some improves.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

6

0

Phenomenal Camera!

Body Only 14/04/2017 by VAA MEDIA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The A6300 has exceeded all of my expectations. Image quality is fantastic, sensor is absolute perfection, this baby is the fastest DSLR on the market!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Best video camera under 1000 pounda

Body Only 09/04/2017 by Sayanthan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It does everything you want it do like the 20/24mp sensor for pictures and photos

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing results, when it works.

Body Only 02/04/2017 by Nick28 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the end results of this camera, but it can be a pain to reach them. The actual quality is excellent, but Sony's poor color space leaves me with tons of work in Lightroom. The menu is somewhat confusing, and I've had multiple bugs with the camera. Sometimes it won't turn on right away, and in general it's just been unreliable. Though I'm proud of the final images I achieve, I find myself enjoying shooting less and less as this camera continues to give me issues.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

2

1

0

A great little mirrorless camera

Body Only 23/03/2017 by Brightonbigphotoday (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 6 months ago to make some small films in 4K, There are two main issues, 1 when panning the subjects bend, 2 no in camera stabilisation But also the camera could do with a headphone port. It takes great photos just misses the video markers by a few points.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Completely sold on Mirrorless technology!

Body Only 13/03/2017 by Emckinley15 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Initially, I was hesitant to stray away from the major DSLR brands along with the old school mirrored cameras. I bought the Sony A6300 because it was lighter, smaller, and had new technology that seemed extremely innovative. I like that the mirrorless cameras have less moving parts so they will operate in more extreme environments. This camera takes incredible photos and is fun to use. Although many people complain about the about the user menus, it is easy to learn and makes sense. I am excited to see what the future holds for SONY and this incredible technology.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Excellent camera

Body Only 12/03/2017 by la46 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this camera nearly a year now, I have loved using it more than any other camera I have owned. I use it mainly with the Sony 90 on, I love macro work and its a medium telephoto, The camera has all the features that you could want and I have no faults with it at all.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 03/03/2017 by Cheap (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great photos and videos - very pleased with my purchase. As an unexpected bonus it also works well with my very old Minolta MD lenses

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great upgrade from the a6000

Body Only 03/03/2017 by bosphotoman (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love the 4k, the audio jack, fast focus, best camera I have ever owned

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Is full frame necessary

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 13/02/2017 by This is unnecessary (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a fortnight ago. I have since used it in some challenging conditions such photographing a dance students in a dark theatre. A3 size prints made from 12,800-25,600 ISO RAW files using Phase One Capure One Express for Sony are remarkable for their sharpness and fine gain.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

A6300,Great Little camera

Body Only 30/01/2017 by johnnyfb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this A6300 as a replacement/upgrade to my previous A6000, This is a much sturdier camera and has the better viewfinder and level indicator (surprising how you miss useful features!) I bought into this system when the NEX7 was introduced and have acquired several lenses to suit my needs. The results are excellent and, being more portable than a DSLR system, means it makes an excellent travel camera. Early days with this camera but I'm enjoying the focussing system and the silent shooting mode is just brilliant as I do a lot of theatre work in low light. The high ISO performance is also excellent for the above work too. Overall very pleased, only difficulty is the Menu system being complicated and not always intuitive, however there are a lot of adjustments that can be made so I'm working through setups to make the camera set up just right for my type of use. So , in precis, a Camera that is capable of excellent results and,generally, a joy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

5

0

worked less then a year

Body Only 23/01/2017 by poco_bw (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

is just dead, didnt last even 1 year. Suddenly wont turn on, took less then 300 photos with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

5

2

0

Amazing camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 20/01/2017 by VibeMeister (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought last year as a birthday present for myself. This is my first sony camera and so far it exceeded my expectations. It creates great image for everyday shooting and will surprise you about how good it is. Planning to buy another lens to upgrade my photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Novice videographer

Body Only 13/01/2017 by Oliver2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I haven't used this product for long enough to provide a proper, thorough and informed review. What I can comment on though is my initial impressions. At first glance the camera is much smaller than I though which is great as it is easy to handle and keep away from hazards. The image quality seems really good, although I am a complete novice. The interface seems easy to cycle through and in time I hope the controls will be come second nature. I would like to review this camera in about 4 months to give a proper overview of my experience using it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A6300

Body Only 08/01/2017 by jerry320 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best ILC camera on the market. Sony continues to develop this model but I agree with others that they should have either skipped a model or waited longer before introducing the a6500.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb Camera

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 04/01/2017 by Chris01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A retirement gift which was a great surprise as I have wanted this after reading some brilliant reviews and owning one of the first Sony A5000 cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent IQ, speed, and features. Woeful UI.

Body Only 24/12/2016 by Photonic (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

a6300 packs exceptional image quality into a tiny form factor. Shooting speed, AF speed, operation speed are all very good. Dynamic range and high ISO performance are best in class.User interface and documentation are woefully substandard and the only significant issue with this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

0

Just great!

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 22/12/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sadly I had to move away from my outstanding Canon5D Mark III camera and superb Canon 24-70mm f4 L lens too. The combined weight was proving too much when walking on tours etc.. I researched another lighter camera body and similar lens - looking for the first time at lighter mirrorless cameras. After considerable research, looking at image quality, camera characteristics, I finally selected the Sony a6300 and 24-70mm f4 Sony lens. Wow!! This combination is barely half the weight of my treasured Camera and Lens. Only had the pair a couple of weeks and with must prep for Christmas, I haven't really had time to enjoy all its features. BUT, I know I have made the perfect decision for me. Can't wait to put the time in and become very familiar with this Sony camera and lens. No regrets whatsoever. Thank you Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

VIEW Finder doesn't work/ I can't charge battery

Body Only 13/12/2016 by Leojunior10 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 45 days ago and the view finder stopped to work properly and I can't charge the battery via the USB micro cable

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Excellent allrounder

Body Only 19/11/2016 by bigboytwin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just exchanged a Nex6 for it and haven't been disappointed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great features

Body Only 08/11/2016  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this camera a month ago and this is one of best low light camera, i am very happy with the result.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

The true sucessor to the NEX7

Body Only 25/10/2016 by Jonwerg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this camera and then a week later Sony announced the A6500. I feel a little disappointed and have to keep reassuring myself that the priced difference out weighs the extra features that the A6500 has to offer.The new sensor performs really well and has closed the gap to the A7ii full frame sensor and the silent shutter and the adjustable min speeds for auto ISO are much appreciated. Its a pity that Sony didn't include the larger (A6500) grip on this camera and more custom buttons as I feel its ergonomics is the only thing that lets his camera down. On a plus note the auto focus system is very good, far better than my A7ii. I have owned a NEX7 for 4 years and have been very happy with it, I did buy a A6000 but didn't keep it as it lacked an electronic level and felt a bit down market. I feel that with the A6300 Sony now have a true premium quality APS camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Great product... I think

Body Only 04/10/2016 by Sykophunk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent image quality for photos but unable to test video as camera keeps switching itself off after 3-5 mins recording. Initially happy though. Item sent for repair.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

What a camera!

Body Only 01/09/2016 by Doc MJM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this last month as an upgrade for my old NEX-6, what an improvement! The NEX-6 was a good camera but the 6300 is in another league. The new features are great, the image quality is unreal. Definitely worth the money!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Worthy replacement for the a6000, but...

Body Only 28/08/2016 by keefm (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Much better solid replacement for the a6000, which I loved. Good build quality, focusing (amazingly) & image quality improved. Feels more solid in the hand, a joy to use. For me I love the interchangeability of lens & accessories for my A7Rll (35=50, 55=82 24-70=36-105 etc). So it works as a lighter 'street camera' & extends the focal lengths when needed. What is disappointing is the lack of IBIS for the price hike. All it's competitors have IBIS (but lower quality sensors) & the A7 range has IBIS, why 'not' the a6300? It would make it the perfect APSC street portable. Mystifying. Oh, & a control wheel under the shutter button like the A7, so you could configure the top dial to exposure compensation! Hi Sony, you guys listening?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Sony a6300 - A good Product with some problems

Body Only 26/08/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's a very nice camera, good ergonomics, well built, great image quality. Be aware that it overheats when exposed to direct sunlight and recording in 4K and 1080P. It's a pitty that this happens, if sony could solve this problem with firmware update , it will make almost a perfect hibrid camera ( photo and video). Also theres a big rolling shutter effect, be aware of that too. Overall it's a good camera for the price, and still hoping Sony makes a firmware update to resolve most of the problems. Sony menus hard to get used to it, but soon as you get it it's ok.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

0

Product 5 star. Manual poor.

Body Only 24/08/2016 by Old_wump (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as upgrade to NEX-7. Worthwhile extra &/or better features. Menu navigation better than NEX-7 but still a tedious process. Fn, C1, C2, M1 & M2 very flexible & avoid most forays into the menu. I love manuals & enjoy reading them. But not the manual for this camera - it is very tough going & downright unintelligible in some parts. Using my DSLR & NEX-7 experience, I managed to wade through the manual. Not withstanding the manual, the camera body is still worth 5 stars. My rating of picture quality is using the SEL 1670ZA lens!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Dodgy Wi-Fi on Sony 6300

Body Only 15/08/2016 by 146822 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Overall, I am quite pleased with my recently purchased Sony 6300. However, one problem that is causing me intense irritation is the continuing failure of the camera to connect to my home wi-fi network, thus not allowing me to utilse the Wi-Fi features comensurate with the products claims.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

not very pleased and thinking of returning it.

Body Only 11/08/2016 by oaaworld (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

the main feature i use all of the time is very lacking. i use the timelapse feature almost 98% of the time. trouble is this feature on this camera does not re-acquire focus each time before it takes the next shot. This is a very very big problem for me.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

4

16

0

Superb focus tracking system that works wonder.

Body Only 25/07/2016 by Lukias (United Kingdom)

I bought the ILCE 6300 as a second camera to take with me on photographic holiday and have recently returned from photographing migrating seabirds. I thoroughly enjoyed using the A6300 for shooting birds in-flight. It has an impressive fast focus tracking system that works so well. The A6300 fitted with an FE lens is small and light enough for you to carry around and keep on shooting handheld for hours with ease. I'm so glad that I bought it! The sample photos were all taken handheld.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

0

0

Very good, but it is flawed

Body Only 25/07/2016 by Jeremyg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've not been able to buy a Sony lens yet as the supply chain seems to have gone very thin... I'm using an adapter and an old Nikon lens in very very manual mode. The manual is pretty poor, you need to know Sony's name for everything and the descriptions are extremely economic. Not all the side effects of all modes are clear. I don't like the fact that in video mode the lowest ISO is 800, though in fairness so far this has not done significant damage to my images. This is also true for silent shooting because it also uses the electronic "shutter". The screen and EVF are very clear but the sensor that switches between them is over sensitive and putting your hand near the left side of the screen can turn the screen off. I initially thought I had a faulty unit. The bit I really don't like is the video trigger. It is too hard to press, though a second of wobbling head and tail handles is no big deal I guess, they can just be edited out later. But why can't I set them both to the shutter release button in setup? It is a bit of a pain working through the menus to change between my chosen setups (I use completely different configs for still & movie) but the two memories are great for this. Four extra memories stored on the SD card are pretty pointless - you lose them if you change SD card. The fn button and quick selectors for user chosen functions help enormously. No touch screen (which is fine by me) should mean more customisable buttons (there are only two). Another oddity is the brilliant focus peaking indication is not sent to any remote screen so it doesn't appear on Sony's own remote control app nor on a connected HDMI screen. The two viewfinders are really too small for serious video work so an external screen makes a huge difference but I will need to buy an EVF that does its own focus peaking now. This all sounds grumpy but do not get me wrong, I love this camera and would recommend it to anyone. Sony, please make a few small changes in the 1.1 software!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

7

0

0

Excellent travel camera

Body Only 20/07/2016 by Peter101 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera for travel due to its compact size and light weight, whilst still producing excellent quality photos. Saves having to lug around my heavy full frame on a family holiday, without the sacrifice of quality photos.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Technological marvel

Body Only 18/07/2016 by GagaD (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bougt this 3 weeks ago.Images are great , 4k video superb however there are limitations due to overheating which reduces the amount of time available for recording.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Highly recommended

Body Only 15/07/2016 by Jhp604 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this ad an upgrade to my old nex camera. I wanted faster af and better quality pics . The af speed is insane. And the quality of the pics is night and day better. All the other stuff like 4k video comedy fast 11fps and so on are a massive bonus too. I love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Compliments my A7rii

Body Only 08/07/2016 by RDDimages (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera as an option to give me different focal lengths for my collection of Sony FE mount lenses and for the smaller raw files available for less critical work. It's a great little camera, let down by it's lack of image stabilisation. Overall very pleased with it. It handles really well and the picture quality is excellent. One down side is that I have a Sigma 150-600 lens with a MC-11 adapter and I was hoping that the crop factor and the focusing system would make this an awesome lens to own, however the focusing with this combination is next to useless (as it is with my A7rii) Not sure if this is due to The camera or The lens combination. Really hope that somebody updates their firmware as this adapter really adds to the viability of the Sony camera range

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

A great improvement on the a6000

Body Only 17/06/2016 by rupt (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded my a6000 to the 6300 a couple of months ago- and LOVE it- this is about the 5 Sony camera I have bought - currently using the RX 100M3 and 6300- Perhaps it is time to leave my 30 year N*k*n attachment and usage?- Yes they are different beasts, and have differing use- Love the N*k*n but also LOVE the smallness of Sony - and the image quality of amazing ! but the time being I'll use both-

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Great all round ILC for travel

Body Only 13/06/2016 by StuartNM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lives up to it's excellent ratings. I also have an a7ii and bought this for its smaller form factor for horse back safari and travel - coupled with Sony's small form factor prime lenses and its a great camera for travelling light.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Many pluses

Body Only 10/06/2016 by Taid (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The 6300 is an excellent walkabout camera. It I'd light, compact and can be set up to suit the style of any photographer.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Sony A6300 Best camera I ever owned!

Body Only 07/06/2016 by Terryh123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Used it a few times now and impressed with every aspect of the camera especially the bokeh

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

3

0

My sony

Body Only 01/06/2016 by Colliedog (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good product, if overpriced, and too complicated for general social use. You almost need a degree in nuclear physics.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

4