Starting at

$1,199.99

184

4.5 based on 184 customer reviews

120
48
8
3
5
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

A6500 Premium E-mount

Body Only 06/02/2017 by WeeMalky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I only recently purchased this Model I also have the A6000 & the A7mk2 having returned from a Recent four day trip to the Malaga area of Spain where my shooting was very mixed street,landscape,night shots I used a Sigma 18-300mm + Sigma MC11 for most of the time.I can honestly say that i was very impressed with the A6500 .Whether there is much difference in IQ from the A6000 can leave that to the pixel peepers .Would i recommend this most definately. Still to try it out on sport and wild life but thats for another time.A bit about me I am a retired enthusiast photographer who enjoys all types of photography also not a Sony fanboy just someone that knows a good product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Is reliability an issue?

Body Only 07/11/2018 by no one 111111111111111111 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the third a6500 that I have tried, the other two cameras had, or quickly developed faults. The first refused to focus and was returned, the second worked well for about 6 months before succumbing to a software error message. When I got the money back for these purchases I decided to add the extra insurance of buying the third camera from John Lewis, I know they will fix any issues. I persisted with this camera as when it works it is outstanding, image quality, portability, and functionality are better than expected. Image quality is almost as good as my full frame DSLR, very hard to tell equivalent images apart. So far this last version has behaved impeccably and is the camera I now use as my default choice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

185 Customer Reviews

3 Models

Models

0

Memory card doesn’t function

Body Only 28/10/2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My Sony camera a6500 is practically new haven’t used it for a year after buying it. After using for a short period of time it suddenly doesn’t want to read memory cards. I tried updating software but still nothing. Now I have to pay for repairs

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Camera with great featue

Body + 16-50 mm Power Zoom Lens 23/09/2020 by vs198907 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera to persue my hobby. I know it an expensive hobby to pressure but hoby is a hobby. This camera has great features and I am loving it. I had it with 18-135 sony lenses, the feature like image stabilization is great. The only down side is the video can't go over 30 minutes.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Can't send to computer thru WiFi

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500KIT / ILCE-6500M 23/08/2020 by RedCat (USA)

I don't understand. Follow all procedure. Setup Access Point access correctly. Download to PlayMemories Desktop via USB is fine. But when choosing "send to computer", it just can't work. Very frustrated with SONY software.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

2

1

0

"E MOUNT POWERHOUSE!!!!!"

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500KIT / ILCE-6500M 22/06/2020 by Patrick1954 (USA)

First off, this is by far my MOST used camera. I purchased it when it first came out.Besides this camera taking AWESOME photos, I also like the fact that the BUFFER provides 36 seconds of continuous shooting!!!! (Approx. 307 photos.) The following photos were taken between Iso 200 and 6400 under EXTREME Mixed Lighting conditions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

16

2

0

Simply a great camera

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500KIT / ILCE-6500M 28/03/2020 by Emijp (USA)

I’ve had my Sony a6500 for several years. I have other, more ‘technically advanced’ Sony cameras, I prefer using the a6500 for a lot of my photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

EXCELLENT IMAGES

Body Only 08/03/2020 by JORTEGA (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

THE ONLY ISSUE IS THE TEMPETURE, SHUT DOWN THE DEVICE, RELLY BAD, MISS ALOT OF GOOD MEMORIES, MODEL 6500 NOT RECOMENDED, BUT A FRIEND GET THE 6400 BECAUSE OF ME.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/03/2020

Hi Jortega,

Have you tried using ‘Auto PWR OFF Temp’ setting on your ILCE6500? If not, try using the 'High' setting to help with this issue.

0

Not a good as my old Canon

Body Only 06/03/2020 by Izzy61 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very much an amateur photographer and bought this as I wanted to update from my 15 year old Canon digital SLR. Disappointed! The old Canon was simple to use - instruction were included whereas the Sony instructions are all online which takes times to register and download, two types of software need, one of which is £7.99. Not a happy - should have stuck to Canon.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

6

0

Decent photos. Limited ratios.

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500KIT / ILCE-6500M 03/03/2020 by Jayden Lee (USA)

Despite taking excellent photos in both 16:9 or 3:2 ratios, this camera limits itself by ignoring popular aspect ratios found in both cheaper and older Sony cameras. This forces any user after a few quick 1:1 pictures to guess where the borders will be, and crop the image in post, potentially losing image quality and trimming details from the photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/03/2020

Hi, Jayden Lee,

You appear to be located outside the U.S. For further assistance regarding your product, we highly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

Regards,

Vincent

0

Excellent quality, small enough for travelling

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500KIT / ILCE-6500M 28/02/2020 by JeffLex (USA)

My 2nd APS-C Sony (first was NEX-7). Much better autofocus and low-light performance. I like the optical stabilization. Lenses are smaller than full-frame making the package easier to travel with. Resulting images are excellent.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

Response From Sony Social Support
29/02/2020

@JeffLex, Great! Good to know that this is what you are looking for in a product. Thanks for choosing Sony. ~Zac

0

Great camera, well worth the price

Body + 18-135 mm Zoom Lens 12/02/2020 by Boothead (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have been using my A6500 for several weeks now, and very pleased with the images I've produced

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Good camera with bad battery

Body Only 04/02/2020 by Oxigen (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is pretty good, but the battery lifespan is killing me everytime.. Battery go down to 0 from 100 in 1hour..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

I regret

Body Only 03/02/2020 by Salih34 (United Kingdom)

I regret. time lapse is not installed. applications that are not purchased in my country.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Capable but Complicated

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500KIT / ILCE-6500M 12/01/2020 by morty man (USA)

First time with semi-pro camera. The camera is light and has a lot of capabilities. I would rate it 4 or 4.5 but have to rate less because its so complicated to use. Ok I know I am not experienced user but I am no dummy either. From my knowledge it seems all camera manufacturers do not streamline operation by intelligent user interface software design, and over-all functional software design. Should be 3 clicks or less to operate. For example, just doing a software update is confusing. I should click " connect camera to wifi access point" , click "sony.com a6500 update URL" , click start download.... yet can not do that. This is the prime example of the software term "creeping elegance" .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/01/2020

Hi, morty man!

We appreciate your feedback. You may want to check out the help guide of your camera to be familiarized with it: https://helpguide.sony.net/ilc/1640/v1/en/index.html. We will forward your feedback to the relevant team.

Regards,

Vincent

0

Great camera!

Body Only 07/01/2020 by matharvey23 (United Kingdom)

This is my first "big" camera. Its great for travel as it is small and lightweight and still great photo and video quality!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great travel camera

Body Only 29/12/2019 by KevinSM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used many of the A6000 series products and they work well. The A6500 is a good goto camera for video and stills for run and gun type photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best APS-C camera

Body Only 23/10/2019 by haxxy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded from a6000 and I'm so glad I did. It has few features I needed like IBIS and mic. input. There's also improved AF, especially noticeable with 3rd party lenses. I know a6400 is the newer, better camera, but for me IBIS is more important

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Good quality, light and fast.

Body Only 11/10/2019 by Smutz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Through problems with my hand, i needed to change from a excellent heavy camera to something lighter. I am delighted with the size, weight and speed of this camera. The quality of the photos are superb.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent camera

Body Only 23/09/2019 by JRugby (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Well made camera that has improved over time from the NEX7 I still own. Have not owned the camera very long, but I am very pleased with the picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Great

Body Only 06/09/2019 by Jayzz (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I needed a light camera for travel and wanted to upgrade. After looking at the 6300 and 6400 i decided on the 6500 for little features such as the upgraded stabalisation sending photos on the move to a phone etc. All in all after coming back from the first trip the photos are amazing and clear, the camera is easy to us, lightweight and compact. Everything i was looking for and more.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Solid feel and results

Body Only 04/09/2019 by andy3214 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera build quality feels solid and dependable, the image results are as good as you could hope in this class. The size is attracitve for travel, being smaller than it's full frame counterparts. The lense range is relatily limited ot some of the other big names, but my hobbiest needs are covered quite well.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

I love it for videos

Body Only 28/08/2019 by aaphotography (United Kingdom)

I recommend it for video ,it make amazing video and portable for travelling

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features, versatile

Body Only 18/08/2019 by Daptone (United Kingdom)

Holiday ahead with my new camera. Much to look forward to.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great performer

Body Only 29/07/2019 by Soundguy88 (United Kingdom)

I've been using the a6500 during my travels for both photography and filming and it has performed great. Photos and videos have plenty of detail and sharpness in part thanks to the image stabilisation. The battery life could be better and I wish the LCD monitor would maintain high brightness during shooting in 4K and some slow motions modes. The video record button is badly placed so I have had to use a custom button to active movie capture when filming. A fine camera deserving the use of quality lenses to get to best out of it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Usability

Body Only 29/07/2019 by Jblogs (United Kingdom)

Good handful of photographic capability. Very surprised to find Can't upload a picture here. Reports file to large?

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Good all rounder

Body Only 21/07/2019 by Peres123 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this a few weeks ago because of the new features . I already have the original A7,this is just another lighter option to the full frame camera with the latest updates. My only quibble is the screen, it should swing out instead of over. Or perhaps the camera could be a bit taller so the screen could come all the way up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A very good camera

Body Only 18/07/2019 by Sinclair (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this one month ago and am very happy with the purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Small and powerful

Body Only 14/07/2019 by normanf (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Solid-Modern sophisticated camera with massive specification. Should be supplied with an external battery charger due to poor battery life. Full hard copy manual should come with camera (some of us only have a desktop pc, which you cant take on holiday with your new camera. The manual itself is poor, and needs someone able to write a manual- difficult to understand therefore cant tae advantage of the high spec.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Fast focus

Body Only 05/07/2019 by Gamgam (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have only had the camera a short time but am very pleased with the pictures that it has produced so far.The focusing system is very good and allows you to capture scenes that lesser cameras would have missed.Build quality is high, it feels like it will travel well which is important to me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best camera i ever owned

Body Only 30/06/2019 by ColiCol (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it for my daughters wedding and got great results

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great color rendition

Body Only 15/06/2019 by DarkRican (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Compact, lightweight, maneuverability. Impressive colors.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

Body Only 13/05/2019 by Trevor Trev (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having moved from Nikon as I wanted a lighter set up, I wasn’t disappointed. The build quality is excellent the features too numerous to mention but was able to start shooting straight away. I find the downloaded apps useful and the wireless picture transfer is amazing. No need to get home and stick them on a computer and adjust etc. Overall having only had it a short time, I would definitely recommend it. My only negative is the camera manual is useless and you have to review on it on line.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony A6500

Body Only 20/04/2019 by Keithathome (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good all round performer BUT don't like the control wheel, it's too sensitive. I'm forever hitting the ISO when trying to adjust shutter speed.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

my time with the 6500

Body Only 03/04/2019 by amarko (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I previously owned the 6000 and it has been a good camera , I read all the reviews for the 6500 and decided to upgrade , so far the camera is performing very well, however I was a little annoyed to read about the 6400 and the fact that several items are much improved with the not premium 6400, feature like automatic eye AF , after all the PREMIUM 6500 should have all the best features or be upgraded in software. get a grip Sony .. that aside the camera performs well in most photo applications ,however for video if i'm honest the IBS is not as good as I expected it to be (and was a main reason for buying it) and the menu system even though i'm fairly well up on it, is still clunky and not intuitive, and the TINY rotary / select dial can too easily be mis-moved and settings changed with gloved hands in cold conditions..

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

fantastic

Body Only 31/03/2019 by brum1234 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

upgraded from my a6000. ibis was a great feature has I am unsteady.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Travel Camera

Body Only 30/03/2019 by Happy Jack (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just getting back into Photography after many years. Great camera to learn all the new stuff.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Has the features I need.

Body Only 25/03/2019 by PhilPhantom (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have previously owned the a6000 and the a6300. I loved both of them, but the a6500 takes things to another level. I don't shoot video, so the main improvements over the a6300 are the in body stabilisation (I have some non stabilised lenses) and the larger continuous shooting buffer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great features.

Body Only 25/03/2019 by Stephen333 (United Kingdom)

I’ve bought this camera 2 days ago. I traded my Nikon D610 for it. I haven’t regretted it. Great pics.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

ideal companion

Body Only 18/03/2019 by andy19 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

had my A6500 for about 6 weeks now and still much to learn but was up and running taking quality photos within minutes .... the image quality of the camera and teh 18-135 sony lens is spot on sharp making good quality crops when i need to get closer. not used video yet as mostly a stills photographer...but i have total confiidence the quality would be just as good. currently being used on our travels in Australia, its light enough to be carried around all day without feeling heavy. this setup with be my primary equipment for sometime.....impressive.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Camera

Body + 18-135 mm Zoom Lens 07/03/2019 by golan3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very happy with this Camera. I now have some amazing pictures without having to carry lots of heavy equipment around.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Useful upgrade

Body Only 05/03/2019 by anothermyob (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as an upgrade to my well used A6000 and a supplent to my A7M2 It is a significant improvement in focus performance and the in-body stabilisation is a great benefit as I use a lot of unstabilsed lenses. The new menu system is a slight improvement on the old chaotic system. It's no object of beauty giving a warm feeling of pride in its ownership a good functional camera which should give good service.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Worth everything!

Body Only 19/02/2019 by Mcgarcia13 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this unit to start my videography business and I am really happy with the output!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Small camera with Big features

Body Only 18/02/2019 by Dal T (United Kingdom)

Working as a professional photographer, I had a job come up working with a client who wanted pictures taken in the 02 at a concert, professional cameras (large DSLR) cameras are not permitted in the 02. So u did some research, price Vs quality Vs size. The Sony A6500 was a small camera packed with features, I was pleasantly surprised, having always had a Nikon, I even purchased Nikon Coolpix cameras for my kids. After purchasing the Sony I put it to the test, and was very impressed the quality of the pictures given it's size we're very good. Reasonable low light capability. On the day of the assignment, the Sony was small enough to fit in my jacket pocket, and I was able to take some great pictures. The client was very happy. Moving forward, I carry this little camera when I'm out with the family, never any complaints. I have also used it to capture video at a professional level for clients amazing results. However longer periods of constant capture this camera will over heat so do be careful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Perfect, excellent quality, long lasting

Body Only 18/02/2019 by Sarahv (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this camera for 10 months, it is such a lovely compact camera to own, so much to learn. The slow motion features and low light features are two of my favourites to name a few, if you invest in this camera you will not regret it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A good buy!

Body + 18-135 mm Zoom Lens 16/02/2019 by Salopian (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent images. I am finding it difficult to set up as I want but pleased I purchased it. Would welcome some more Sony lenses just for APSC format especially telephoto zoom.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Good equipment

Body Only 13/02/2019 by Narumi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera for my son as christmas, so I am answering considering his comments. He lives in Brazil.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best cam I ever had

Body + 16-70mm Zoom Lens 12/02/2019 by Nisg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm so impressed with the picture quality. This is the best camera I ever had

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Fantastic camera

Body Only 08/02/2019 by nananananana (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

You have a nearly unlimited choice of settings to suit all types of photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Good overall package

Body Only 29/01/2019 by Big foot (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought two months ago and love the quality in a small package

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great good size CSC Camera

Body Only 28/01/2019 by Williare (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have just brought this camera which is a upgrade from my Sony a5000 . I love the features of this camera the dial for the shooting mode is nice and it clicks into the operation you require and stays in position the dial next to this is great for changing your aperture etc. The camera is very fast to focus and automatically focuses without any issues and takes great photographs. The camera is a good size and is reasonably light with some great features I am still getting use to the camera but the menu is very similar to my a5000 which is helpful. I can fit the camera in my backpack when I go cycling as it is reasonably light and compact so I’m sure I’ll get some good shots in the future.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

First mirrorless camera

Body Only 27/01/2019 by brannen6 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera a couple of weeks a go for photography and videography. So far, happy with the features and flexibility the camera offers over my previous point and shoot.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great step up for an amateur photographer

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500KIT / ILCE-6500M 24/01/2019 by MNDads (USA)

We had an a6000 when they originally came out. Sadly, we lost the camera during the holidays. I liked the a6000 enough that I would have gladly replaced it, but since the a6300 and a6500 were newer since I originally bought, I decided to do some research. After a lot of reading, I upgraded to the a6500. So far, the experience has been great. Image quality is impressive. Can't wait to try out more features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice camera

Body Only 30/12/2018 by Andy 66 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

its a good camera. feels more solid than my a6000. I'd like a simpler menu and I think the video record button is too fiddly, otherwise, difficult to fault.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

great upgrade

Body Only 30/12/2018 by Yippip (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as an upgrade from my much used and loved NEX 5. Very pleased to find it as easy to use and the image quality and extra speed of response has justified the upgrade.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Fits my requirements.

Body + 18-135 mm Zoom Lens 20/12/2018 by PRRkent (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this camera for some weeks and am now used to its systems. It was purchased to replace my GX8. To date, apart from the lack of a pivoting viewfinder, I am pleased with its systems and quality. I need something compact & lightweight, for when I need to use a system camera, to fit in rucksacks & bike bags. I like a clean shape with no bulges to catch when removing it from the bag. The image quality is good with a good dynamic range, enabling me to bring out detail in difficult conditions. I would have preferred to have a second knob to control some functions and to add further functions, but I can live with it!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Awesome camera but needs improvement.

Body Only 15/12/2018 by Abhi722 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this camera about a month ago, replacing my good old A6000. The A6500 is a huge improvement over the A6000. Lots of new features in the same form factor as old was the reason I was attracted to it and brought it after using my A6000 for nearly 2.5 years. Looking at the video improvements I think I can finally get into making videos as well. The only thing which need improvement is i think is the IBIS & battery life. Other than that I think that the camera is good for both professionals as well as amateurs.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Easy to use, fast with multiple shots

Body Only 13/12/2018 by Mark Ardern (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I switched from a DSLR of another brand to an A5000 and then upgraded to the A6500 More megapixels (24 vs 19.8MP), Better image quality in very dark and bright conditions. It does 4K video vs 1080. It shoots at higher frequency of shots so more FPS, it’s weather proofed and has a silent shutter mode so you don’t frighten the birds. IS is built in so allows for a sharper image. Love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Professional camera in compact size

Body Only 09/12/2018 by Diodio (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am in knowledge phase of the camera settings. I used to own Rx100 M1 and part of menu is familiar to me. Very disappointed from the LCD visibility, not able to see anything outdoor. Only solution the viewfinder use.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic !!!

Body Only 24/11/2018 by BernieS (United Kingdom)

I really love my camera !! My first camera and I 'm super happy about. super light to carry around and with all the feature I need.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Is reliability an issue?

Body Only 07/11/2018 by no one 111111111111111111 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the third a6500 that I have tried, the other two cameras had, or quickly developed faults. The first refused to focus and was returned, the second worked well for about 6 months before succumbing to a software error message. When I got the money back for these purchases I decided to add the extra insurance of buying the third camera from John Lewis, I know they will fix any issues. I persisted with this camera as when it works it is outstanding, image quality, portability, and functionality are better than expected. Image quality is almost as good as my full frame DSLR, very hard to tell equivalent images apart. So far this last version has behaved impeccably and is the camera I now use as my default choice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Feels great

Body Only 25/10/2018 by JeffG53 (United Kingdom)

I bought this almost a year ago and remain impressed. The camera feels solid as a rock. The steady shot is brilliant, the steady shot manual settings that allow me to hand hold some vintage telephoto lenses. Silent shooting is which had absolutely nothing to do with my reasons for purchasing the camera has proved to be of great use. The only downsides are the camera strap which feels terrible and the lack of Linux/Ubuntu support which involves me booting up an otherwise defunct laptop in order to down load Sony apps or to update the firmware.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Good upgrade on Alpha 6000

Body Only 23/10/2018 by Richard McL (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as an upgrade to the Alpha 6000 which I have used for a few years. One of the triggers was that I upgraded my Alpha 7R to the Mk 2 model and found that the in-body stabiliser made a huge difference to getting perfect results first time. The added 4K video is another big step up. Results seem excellent, the various tools in the viewfinder display are great and the touch screen opens up lots of new possibilities. Looks small and a bit of a toy, but being small and fairly light I carry it very often, unlike say a bulky Nikon SLR with a similar sensor and quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

A Premium Camera for the Price!

ILCE-6500 / ILCE-6500KIT / ILCE-6500M 01/10/2018 by Sacalait (USA)

I started researching video cameras seriously about July, 2018. I narrowed it down to this bad boy. I'm happy with the purchase! The quality of the 4K video is off the charts! I know there are better cameras but man, I think this technology may finally be catching up to audio! This camera rocks! I'm using it mostly for Youtube content and it's all I could actually want. I can't say spending a lot more money would get me exponential results. Anyway, I'm a happy a6500 user. The only slight drawback is the menu system but I have a Nikon D3300 and the menu system on this camera is better.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Stunning Camera

Body Only 03/09/2018 by proud dad (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had many Sony cameras and this one by far is the best one yet...Took pictures of my daughter with ease but with pro results ....She already wants me to become PRO..lol Great camera thanks for the memories...

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Brilliant little camera

Body Only 02/09/2018 by Hector the Bear (United Kingdom)

I wanted a high quality yet compact CSC and after considering many I opted for the Sony a6500. I previously owned the Olympus OMD EM1 MkII, nice camera but the MFT sensor can't match the Sony. What I like is the compact size, ok the menus can be a pain but in may experience all cameras suffer the same issue. I'm getting used to it though. Image quality is the key priority for me over features though this camera has features in abundance, but if the pictures aren't good the features are pointless. Im please to say the images from the Sony are excellent and better than I expected.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

So much easier to carry around than my DSLR,

Body Only 16/08/2018 by Justjeff (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this 6/7/18 just enough time to get used to it before my holidays

Features

Excellent

0

0

0

My best camera yet.

Body + 18-135 mm Zoom Lens 16/08/2018 by Dh47 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pleased with all the features and results of the Sony A6500

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Cam

Body Only 10/08/2018 by Flinny (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera round about three month ago and I'm very happy with this cam. It is very easy to take wonderfull pichtures with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A step change

Body + 18-135 mm Zoom Lens 08/08/2018 by Stephen R (United Kingdom)

I have had the camera a couple of months and have now had chance to use it in anger. It is an upgrade from my Nikon D3200. It has overcome the lack of ISO performance, the lack of critical focus due to lack of lens calibration, gives me image stabilization. Then there are all the other bits like you can see what depth of field you are getting and the exposure rendering on the image before you press the button. Ability to detect and focus on the subjects eye, I have some amazingly sharp portraits as a result. Small Negatives/ opportunities to improve I expected it to use a lot of battery power to drive the view finder and so bought a spare battery as you do. However out of the box I found there was no separate battery charger. The camera was the charger and could not be used for hours whilst charging the battery, after paying all that for the camera I thought it a bit off to buy a separate charger. Infrared remote release; The Nikon has the sensors front and back this does not. So if you are shooting landscapes from a tripod and naturally stand behind you have to reach around the camera to get the remote to work. We all don't want to use the remote to take selfies! Instructions; Your products come with a vast amount of paper but finding the bit in your language takes ages and then it's not comprehensive. It was a few weeks before I found what I needed to know on the internet and I still have not managed to get it to work with my Sony Experia phone!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Almost perfect

Body Only 31/07/2018 by Grip1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Early days yet and I've not put it to a full test, but I reckon this is a good upgrade to my a6000 (which I was seriously impressed with). I particularly appreciate the added weight, the in-body stabilisation and the levelling indicator, and, of course, the excellent image quality. A couple of minor negatives: the lens mount is very tight and, as a user of prime lenses, I find the stiffness - particularly when removing a lens - somewhat disconcerting. The menu system, whilst better than before, is still something of a maze. The worst thing about the camera is the poor battery life. The claim is 300 shots - even with the a6000, I never achieved anything close to that and the a6500 is no better. Given the demands of the camera and the price of Sony batteries you would expect much more. As it is, you need to splash out extra cash on extra batteries. That said, this is a brilliant camera and I'm glad I have it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

great little camera

Body Only 30/07/2018 by big gar1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought this to update A6000. very happy with upgrade

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Light and excellent AF

Body Only 21/07/2018 by Kamasoto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very happy with the camera. I had to study a bit its characteristics and how to use it to get the most benefit of it. I am still waiting for other lenses to optimise the results. Very bad user interface with the iPhone X. I could not get it to work wireless. Clumsy software in this aspect

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0