364

4.7 based on 364 customer reviews

282
60
13
2
7
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Simply stunning!

Body Only 03/05/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My colleague and I now have 4 of these which (having transferred from Canon after 15 years) we use in both our studio and for wedding photography and video. It isn’t perfect but it’s close! Stunning autofocus, which in itself is worth the purchase, superb GM glass makes this so sharp you could cut yourself, amazing low light quality and brilliant button customization. The DR is brilliant and with our tests have pulled back from nearly 3 stops!!! All the photos below were taken with 24-70 f2.8 GM or 70-200 f2.8 GM. Improvements for the future: fully articulated screen!!! Brighter screen!!! Improve that menu!!! Give us a battery charger please guys! We all know you may call this the “basic model” but that’s just marketing! This was always going to be a winner with us pros so come on, don’t be tight (I say with tongue in cheek because that price is simply remarkable and can only be to annoy the other market leaders!) :-)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Not Currently Viable for Low Light/Long Exposure

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 28/06/2019 by SierraMike (USA)

I shoot a lot of astro and nightscape timelapse. I recently upgraded to this camera from my Nikon D5300. I love many of the features the A7 III brings to the table, but there is a serious defect with how it handles long exposures especially in low light conditions. If you take an image with the shutter on, you'll see that there are hot pixels all throughout the image when it should be completely black. This still persists when shooting a long exposure in low light conditions. I've opened a ticket with Sony to try to confirm if this is expected behavior, or something that could be fixed with a firmware update. So far this issue is persistent on both of the A7 III bodies I've tested with multiple lenses, so it seems to be an inherent defect. Until this is addressed, this camera is absolutely unusable for long exposure in low light conditions, are very poor for long exposure in normal conditions. If this issue is fixed, I would readily give a full 5 stars to this camera. If it operated as expected in the scenarios mentioned above, it would be a nearly perfect camera.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

364 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Amazing camera

Body Only 22/02/2020 by Phil haslam1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought in December. Fantastic pictures and video. Huge dynamic range, even the jpegs! I'm not sure i understand why the jpeg are so good. Hardly shoot in RAW anymore. Customisation of menus and buttons makes this camera very easy to use. Forget what people say about complex menu system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

All around great camera

Body Only 21/02/2020 by Kap_man (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera in December 2019 and since then it has worked wonderfully even with 3rd party lenses. It even performed well in temperatures below freezing. I only gave it 4 stars because it still gets dust on the sensor very easy. I know it's not a big deal but I try my best to have the camera in a way that keeps the dust away from the sensor and I had the same issue on my a7r ii. I keep cleaning it but I have to clean after every shooting outing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony Social Support
22/02/2020

@Kap_man, Great! Good to know that this is what you are looking for in a product. Thanks for choosing Sony. ~Zac

0

Amazing quality

Body Only 19/02/2020 by Kuldeep (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Totally happy with the quality of the pictures and instrument

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent camera

Body Only 18/02/2020 by Picadily (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this camera a month ago as have been loving it ever since. As a videographer, it’s important for me to have all my features where I want them and when I want them. The Sony A73 does just that. A menu system that makes it easy for me to change my picture to capture what I want in an instant

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

My first really good camera

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 18/02/2020 by S4Ducati (USA)

Been shooting the a7iii for 18 months and love it. So versatile. Fast auto focus I shoot wildlife, Astro and landscape. It is truly a versatile camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/02/2020

Hi S4Ducati,

We are more than glad to hear that you appreciate our product. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you for your feedback.

~Earl


0

Master of Some

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 16/02/2020 by StudioArkhive (United Kingdom)

Massively improved from the previous A7 iterations. For most semi-professional uses, the A7III should have you covered. Great for mild commercial work, documentation or product shots. Autofocus is very very capable. Picture quality, with the right lens, is very impressive. Menu system still a bit of a slog but you'll put up with it for the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Camera - but Problem Mic Port

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 12/02/2020 by jaminjamin (United Kingdom)

Love the camera - but the mic input port broke after 3 months. This is not my first Sony Camera that has had this problem

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A great camera

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 11/02/2020 by Happy snapper 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it the end of December and it has performed very well very happy with the camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Camera for Intermediate Photographers

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 09/02/2020 by dan0513 (USA)

I upgraded to this camera about 8 months ago. Before I was very much a beginner using an entry level Nikon. I wanted to upgrade to take my photography to the next level as my skill level increased and this camera provided the most bang for my money without spending a lot of $$$ on professional level cameras. This camera is extremely easy to use. The menu and buttons were a little difficult to navigate at first but I attribute that to my lack of experience combined with the switch from Nikon DSLR to a Sony full frame mirrorless camera. After a about two weeks I was able to figure everything out. I recommend pairing this camera body with the Sony FE 24mm f1.4 GM and the Sony FE 70-200mm f2.8 GM OSS lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/02/2020

Hi dan0513!

Thanks for the cool review! We're glad that you're having an enjoyable experience with our camera.Thanks for choosing Sony!

Regards,
Sam

0

Well designed

Body Only 08/02/2020 by davidpym73 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this a few weeks ago, and so far very pleased with the quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

brilliant piece of kit

Body Only 07/02/2020 by retseb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

father xmas was very kind and i love it. the images are brilliant and the autofocus is really great. the only thing i would have preferred, is to have the menu button on the right hand side of the camera rear.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Ridiculous menu system!

Body Only 07/02/2020 by Not got one 2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

With I’d kept to Nikon and not spent all this money

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Great hand comfort

Body Only 06/02/2020 by Yvus (United Kingdom)

Great product with a huge value, really satisfied for this Sony A7iii

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent

Body Only 06/02/2020 by saty193 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A new way of photographing - EF and the new techonology makes it a joy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great DR

Body Only 04/02/2020 by kyawmin aye (United Kingdom)

Sony’s latest A7 cameras represent the vanguard of the mirrorless camera movement because they’re the most accessible full-frame systems on the market. The A7 III and A7R III are smaller, lighter, and more durable than their DSLR counterparts, and have narrowed the gaps in image quality, performance, and lens selections. These two new cameras are directly related to Sony’s flagship released last year: the sporty $4,500 A9. In fact, everything from EVF design, to the grip, controls, SD card slots, and software are derived in some form from their big brother, the A9. The A9 has all of Sony’s bells and whistles, but it comes with a price tag to match. The new A7 models, however, bring many of the A9’s advancements down to more pedestrian price levels. These are certainly still professional level cameras — the A7 III runs for $1,999 without a lens, while the higher-resolution A7R III commands $3,199 — but the difference in price from the A9 leaves a lot of room for lenses or other necessary equipment. It’s easy to determine if the A9 is right for you: if you don’t shoot high-speed sporting events, it’s probably too much camera. But Sony’s made it a bit tougher to distinguish between the newest A7 models, so I’ve put them head-to-head for this comparison. TheThe new A7 models are the third generation of Sony’s professional mirrorless line, so their main features are well known at this point. But just to recap: these are professional-level cameras with full-frame image sensors that are significantly smaller and lighter than comparably equipped DSLRs from Canon or Nikon. Despite a nearly $1,200 price difference, the A7R and the A7 III are more related than one might assume. Starting with sensors, they both use a backside illuminated (BSI) structure, a novel arrangement allowing the sensor to perform better in low light. Sony was the first to put this tech in a mirrorless camera with the original A7R. However, BSI structure sensors aren’t a Sony exclusive — they’ve been found in the iPhone 4S, Nikon’s D850 pro camera, and even the HTC Evo 4G smartphone. DESPITE THEIR PRICE DIFFERENCE, THE A7 PAIR ARE MORE SIMILAR THAN YOU MIGHT ASSUME The A7R III uses a 42.4-megapixel sensor while the A7 III tops out at 24.2 megapixels. Thanks to the BSI tech, both full-frame sensors are able to capture more light than conventional sensors. Compared to a conventional sensor and previous generation Sony Alpha, the BSI chips process data faster and produce images with less noise. In terms of light sensitivity, there are some differences: the A7 III has a native range of ISO 100-51,200, with extended levels low as 50 and as high as 204,800. Meanwhile, the A7R III goes up to 32,000 (native) and 102,400 (extended), making the A7 the better low-light performer on paper (spoiler: it is in practice, too). Both cameras have the same dimensions (though the A7 is 7 grams lighter), shoot video at 4K up to 30fps or 1080p at 24 / 30 / 100 / 120fps, use the same battery, have dust / moisture resistance thanks to a magnesium alloy frame, and are equipped with dual UHS SD card slots. They also both use the X AVC S codec for video, with creative styles (vivid, natural, mono, etc.) to drastically change the color profile of your photos. Some other commonalities between the two cameras, include the Wi-Fi / NFC / Bluetooth radios, USB-C port and tethering, 1 / 8000s max. shutter speed (1 / 250s flash sync), max 10fps with AF / AE tracking (8fps with live view / blackouts), 14-bit RAW (compressed or uncompressed), and finally, the exact same button layout with the exception of a shooting mode lock button on the A7R (a useful feature seen on the A9). Ports-wise, both cameras share mic input, headphone output, USB 2.0, USB Type C, and Micro HDMI Type D. Still, the A7R III edges it out with an extra port for flash synchronization. Of course, let’s not forget batteries. Both cameras use Sony’s new NP-FZ100 battery. It’s a big improvement over the last battery model used in the Alpha range, which was criticized for being small and inefficient. In real-world usage, I get around 600 shots before depleting the A7R. The A7 III fairs better, at over 700 photos before needing a charge. A LARGER BATTERY PROVIDES MUCH BETTER BATTERY LIFE THAN PRIOR GENERATIONS That’s enough to make it through a day of casual shooting or at least one studio shoot on a full charge, probably with either camera. But if you’re using these for event photography, you’ll definitely want a spare battery or two charged up and ready to go. Both cameras have 3-inch touchscreens — the A7 III’s at 921,600 dot resolution while the A7R has a better 1,440,000 dot version — but that feature is only useful for tapping the screen to focus. Nothing else. Unfortunately, Sony disabled them or mostly everything else they’d be useful for, like navigating the 36 pages of settings (please Sony, redesign the interface). My advice is to get familiar with creating custom settings to avoid the byzantine menu system. Let’sLet’s talk about the A7R first. This is the best camera Sony has ever produced when it comes to dynamic range (15 stops) and resolution (42.4MP). In short, it can take some incredibly crisp and vibrant photos in a wide range of lighting situations. It can even retain the dynamic range while in burst mode! It’s awesome and incredibly useful in scenes where you don’t have time to fiddle around with settings, but also want different versions of the same photo. Also, you can turn it off completely, or have it run automatically so you don’t have to worry about how to set it up. Despite having fewer total AF points than the A7 III and the A9 (399 compared to 693 points) that cover 68 percent of the sensor area, both cameras have the same number of contrast detection points (425), so that’s okay. The majority of AF points are centered in the frame, allowing the joystick to become the perfect precision tool for picking your foci. In practice, the A7R III system still yields fast and accurate AF like the A7 III’s, just not with as many points. To make 42MP stills and 4K video actually useful, the picture needs to be sharp. The A7R has Sony’s famous five-axis stabilization system, which when used with optically stabilized lenses, employs three axes on the sensor and the two inside the lens. The A7R’s official specification for this is 5.5EV, but this isn’t much better than the A7 III’s 5EV rating. However, the A7R struggles below one-fourth second shutter speeds, producing washed-out images and with slower autofocus. The A9 and A7 III both performed better in these scenarios. Another area where high resolution held the A7R back was with image buffering, obviously. With large 42-megapixel files to write at 10fps, you can only save 76 frames in JPG or 76 in compressed RAW format. The A7 III clicks away at 10fps, too, but it can shoot 177 JPGs or 89 RAW images before its buffer fills up and shooting screeches to a halt. In addition, the A7R III has another gimmick, a feature called PSMS (Pixel Shift Multi Shooting). Basically, it takes four images in a row by moving the sensor a pixel between each shot. The four images are then composited into one frame, with supposedly better detail and color accuracy, without hampering the 42MP resolution. It’s different than other pixel shifting techniques, such as Hasselblad’s, which aim to increase the resolution output. THE A7R III’S SHIFTING PIXEL MODE IS LITTLE MORE THAN A GIMMICK Here’s the catch: it won’t work hand-held, won’t work on a moving object, and finally, can’t even be stitched together on the camera; instead you need Sony’s free Imaging Edge software for Mac or PC. It works, but the results aren’t mind-blowingly different from a regular old photo shot on the A7R. Of course, a photographer purchasing a $3,000+ camera isn’t going to solely rely on the rear screen for taking photos in live view mode. What you’d need is a great EVF (electronic viewfinder) that’s only comfortable and pleasing, but useful as a information tool, with accurate framing and high resolution. The A7R wipes the floor with the A7 III in this category. The A7R’s EVF is a joy to use because of its incredible refresh rate of 100-120fps with a 3,686k OLED panel — the perfect marriage between perception and image quality. You’ll notice it most when manually focusing, or zooming with a mid-range to telephoto lens. Overall, it’s simply easier to look through and work with.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera for a mid-level professional

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 03/02/2020 by khossain (USA)

I bought this camera at the beginning of September 2019 and I paired it with a Sony FE 24-105mm F4 G OSS lens. What a great match and a decision I made. I simply love the camera and how it handles. It also fits perfectly in my hands when I am shooting. I still love my Canon cameras but Sony definitely has the edge and far advanced when it comes to mirrorless cameras. Only negative thing I do not like is how the charging location of the camera and how it dangles from the body when charging.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A truly supreme camera which thrills beyond words

Body Only 31/01/2020 by KeithNic (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Such a fabulous piece of engineering and development – I cannot fully put my appreciation in words. Supported by some superb advice readily found on YouTube, by the Sony Ambassadors- my A7 iii with 24-105 G F4 Lens - has catapulted my photography experiences - to previously unheard of levels. I loved my long-standing trusty Nikon, but this is just another world entirely!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Handles well

Body Only 29/01/2020 by Tagster (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I made the change from a Nikon DSLR, it’s going to be a learning curve, but looking forward to the challenge.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic camera

Body Only 24/01/2020 by Graham 33 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera at the beginning of December. I paired the camera with a Sony FE 24-105mm F4 G OSS lens. What a great match. I could list the benefits of this pairing but I won’t! I just highly recommend these products

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

low light master

Body Only 24/01/2020 by Manray67 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago (literally) and it was a great choice at a great price. I have owned many cameras over the years and they have always been Canon. Recently, I decided that my Canon M5 was not helping in my photography and images required too much PP to get the quality I wanted. So, the Sony pre Christmas double cash back offer pushed me to see the light. Since my purchase I have been very happy with the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Great products

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 23/01/2020 by Gerrott_toxic (United Kingdom)

This camera is very good, especially when it comes to video shooting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

GREAT

Body Only 20/01/2020 by eddie06 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and really please with it

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

A7 mk3

Body Only 19/01/2020 by Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Bought the camera mainly for video and very happy

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Surpassed my expectations!

Body Only 17/01/2020 by Beazergood (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this just after Xmas having saved up for over a year. My only previous interchangeable lens camera was a Nikon D7000 that’s done me very well for over 10 years. I also own an RX100M5 which has been great for travel the past few years. The a7iii has blown me away in terms of image quality and features. I’m pleased I’ve waited this long as it appears to be a relative ‘bargain’ for a full frame camera with this feature set. I’m not sure how much is down to the camera and how much is down to the Zeiss 55 1.8 lens I’ve paired it up with... either way, I’m suuuuper happy with this setup!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

What would I add

Body Only 14/01/2020 by Focusdown (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Eye focus simple turned my world around , it's amazing , especially when you wedding photographer with documentary style and everyone around you moves fast )))) The only one thing I am missing after using canon - I am missing touch screen menu function , can touch for focus ( wich is great ) ,but to change settings can't . Hope in a7 IV you will add and make my wish came through ( if you are real Santa )))))) Love Edit

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Wow! Finally a camera that I am pleased with!

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 13/01/2020 by KurtVinion (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So I have had it only a week and the testing I have done so far puts my Canons to shame. I do not say this lightly as I have been using Canon's for 25+ years and I am extremely fussy about file quality. I own or have owned nearly everyone of the Canon pro line of cameras - except the 1dxMarkII. With my line of work (full-time portrait & wedding photographer)I needed a camera that was lighter, responsive and one that excels at night time shooting. As many of my portrait sessions are at night - I need clean files at high iso and a camera that can focus. This Sony A7III is just what I have been waiting for. The bonus, my EF lenses work beautifully (1.2 and 1.4's) Now the questions is A9 or pick up an A7IIIR or the A7IV? Thanks Sony for creating such a wonderful product!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Well designed and well built

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 13/01/2020 by John 1943 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this because I use other cameras with e-mount lenses. Typical Sony, designed to be used rather than an item of Jewellery. Have no doubt that it will be as reliable as other Sony professional products.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great product! Quick delivery!

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 12/01/2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I finally managed to upgrade to A7III, I cannot say enough how happy I am with it and how happy it makes me to finally shoot on this piece of gear!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

fast autofocus, great low light performance

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 10/01/2020 by gil_mere (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera has very fast and reliable autofocus; Relatively less noise when increasing iso. Camera body feels very solid and well made. One thing i wish this camera has is a flip screen. For Lightroom users, older version of lightroom does not read this camera’s raw files, but you can either update to a newer version of lightroom or download dng converter (which is free). Alternatively, you can use sony’s imaging edge software to process your raw files.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony a7iii

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 10/01/2020 by S Slavov (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing camera. Provides rich features, high image quality, excellent performance in low light situations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fast

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 09/01/2020 by Calum198773 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a fast camera for sports and an all rounder with excellent image quality. I am an amateur photographer and love the camera it’s not to complicated for a beginner and has lots of amazing features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great product

Body Only 09/01/2020 by Nobbyb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with it, and would look at other Sony products

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb sensor, great capabilities

Body Only 07/01/2020 by GeeManLeg (United Kingdom)

This is an excellent camera, and if you find a good deal such as a cashback offer it comes for excellent value. The build quality is great. This sensor easily competes with the very best and shines in dynamic range, low light capability and colour rendering. Good handling too. I love the advantages of the IS, too. I’ve experimented with the A7riii before and whilst that has killer resolution, the file sizes are frustratingly large and the colour rendition, is not as good as the A7iii. Ideally it would have 4K @ 60fps, more visible focus point (the current grey box can get lost), stronger IS for videos and video autofocus tracking. However, Sony have to leave some features for the successor to the a7sii Nevertheless, for its price point, there is nothing which can compete with this camera body in 2020 so far. This is a game changing camera and will do for this decade what Canon’s 5dm3 did for the last.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Curate's egg

Body Only 06/01/2020 by Cat man (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I read all the reviews before buying and would agree with most of what they said... but there are things to think about. The menus are pretty awful but I haven't found them to be a problem in use. There are plenty of ways of customising it all to suit your own preferences. It would be nice to have touch screen capability to go with the menus and I don't understand why Sony have not implemented this. Coming from a Canon with fantastic menus and touch screen, this is a step backwards. It isn't a particularly comfortable camera to hold but neither is it as uncomfortable as some would suggest. The AEL button, which I use a lot, is a bit awkward, but not impossible. The AF-ON for back button focusing is fine. Animal eye AF works surprisingly well at shorter ranges in good light. This was a huge selling point for me! (firmware 3) The viewfinder isn't great but ok once I had shifted the white balance a bit. It is large making it easy to frame. Dioptre adjustment is very good. The big issue for me is a software one - Sony seem determined to add a lot more sharpening/contrast/saturation into the raw files than Canon do so it has been hard to get to the more natural looking colours that I am after. I appreciate that the modern way is a very contrasty saturated look - not my taste at all. I've been using Capture One and have had to work hard to get around this and have not been totally successful. Even with the sharpening turned off, I still think the images - particularly pet hair - look over sharpened. I guess a lot of you will see it differently to me, but be warned if you are after a natural look. It will take some work! Noise levels aren't too bad and better than my APS-C images. I am very touchy about noise and think noise reduction software ruins images so always turn this off in RAW software. I would be willing to use ISO 400 on this camera for larger prints up to 15 by 10 or so. The little plastic doors that cover the inputs are really not up to the job and feel very cheap. Come on Sony - you can do better! Joystick is great. I haven't had any problems with changing my settings unintentionally as I hold and use the camera. The Northrups seem to find this a big problem. USB battery charging is very slow - several hours for a full charge. I bought the camera for its sensor and full frame loveliness. As you can tell I haven't quite got what I wanted yet and there is no doubt in my mind that IF the canon 5dmkiv had been a similar price, I would have gone with that. At the time of purchase the A7iii was over £1000 cheaper. The pet eye AF and availability of tiny little Samyang primes won the day! I only shoot raw so no idea about jpeg images. Happy shooting!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Super focus system

Body Only 06/01/2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this camera only a couple of weeks and have not had the opportunity to try the camera out fully but I am impressed with the portraits that I have done so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning pictures in low light

Body Only 03/01/2020  (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera in November 2019. I also have Canon 80d (not selling this camera though) but also wanted a full frame camera after learing a lot about this camera. I certainly have no regrets of buying this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Great

Body Only 03/01/2020 by Piorun (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera for price!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Everything i need

Body Only 29/12/2019 by Andrius35 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love it so far had it only for couple of weeks. Easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

This Camera’s a beast!!

Body Only 29/12/2019  (United Kingdom)

I love this Camera!! It’s amazing and the quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great Camera, but very complicated

Body Only 26/12/2019 by iatros666 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a full frame travel camera, and rejected the full frame offerings by Canon and Nikon, and knew I could use Canon lenses on this system. Camera feels great and looks good. All the people I know say it is complex to set up, and you have to spend a bit of time to get the best out of it. I bought the 24-240 FE zoom which has turned out to be a lot better than reviews suggested. Reluctant to buy other lenses as they are so expensive. Results comparable with my Canon 5D mk II. Smaller than my Canon, but no lightweight with lenses attached. Very fine performance in automatic mode. Can use cheaper E mount APSC lenses, but they will crop.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Amazing camera, better than I expected

Body Only 23/12/2019 by DanBuk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had my reservations about going from Canon to Sony but it was the right thing to do, I use my Canon lens on Sony body with Sigma adaptor and it works a treat. I needed some advice and the guys at Wex were really helpful to answer all my questions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

My best decision this year

Body Only 17/12/2019 by The_Grumps (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

In over 45 years of photography I had only used two makes of camera, Canon for 40 years and then because I needed to cut the weight I carried, Olympus Micro Four Thirds for the last 5 years. Then I saw the Sony A7III advert promising low noise levels and an enormous dynamic range from a full frame sensor. I had toyed with changing from Olympus because of noise levels at high ISO amongst other things so I bit the bullet and bought the A7III with the 24-105 f4. Now the Olympus kit has gone and I'm wondering why I didn't change cameras sooner. In the short time I have had the A7III it has proved a delight, superb image quality, great handling and in terms of weight very similar to my former Olympus kit. I am now waiting for the weather to improve so I can do what I love doing, taking photographs with good kit

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Exdeeded expectations

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 16/12/2019 by Mr P H (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only had the A7III for a couple weeks but I am very impressed with the functionality of the camera and the quality of the photos that I've taken so far. Camera operation is easy to learn and customization options for buttons and My Menu work great. The only thing that I would like is for the grip to be larger for all four fingers to hold the camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Excellent camera

Body Only 14/12/2019 by radio l (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had my camera for a week I new it would be worth getting as I had it’s predecessor but the mark 3 has so much more quick auto focus tracking ability low light with less noise I love it. It’s good to have different scenes setting too. I think it will take me some time to go through all the features it has every thing. I don’t do video but I may have a go with this one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Amazing low light photos

Body Only 13/12/2019 by MrC1951 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Initial impression is very favourable particularly in low light situation. Tour of Speke Hall today when flash was forbidden and some truly wonderful results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Excellent camera A7 iii

Body Only 13/12/2019 by geoff41 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have only had it for a week or so but my photos are much, much better already! With the kit f/1.8 lens at ISO 3200 and 1/80 second superb skin tones for portrait!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

very good to handle it

Body Only 12/12/2019  (United Kingdom)

I expected this camera can give fantastic image and it did it. well done sony

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

11

0

Amazing value

Body Only 12/12/2019 by Kiki86 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

From a a6300 to a a6500 to this one....in love with this product

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great features

Body Only 12/12/2019 by MDG 2019 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very intuitive to use looking forward to taking lots of images

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Superb camera

Body Only 09/12/2019 by JJF 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brought this camera three weeks ago very impressed with it superb features and fantastic detail in the photographs as well .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

5

0

A slightly Flawed Titan.

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 09/12/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Anybody seriously thinking of buying this camera be prepared for a bit of a steep and arduous learning curve. I purchased the first incarnation of this camera (A7) and quickly gave up on it. With the release of the A7III I decided to sell my existing mirrorless camera and lenses and give Sony another go. It's been a little bit of an uphill battle....BUT the end results are really worthwhile. Get to really learn the camera and it's abilities and it will repay with amazing good, and consistent, results. I'm Really glad that I stuck with it! Amazing Value for money!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

0

Great quality

Body Only 07/12/2019 by Sim1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just so easy to capture great quality shots, and was an easy step up transition from my a6000. Lots of features and enjoying the lenses. Only difficulty (at the moment) is importing Sony RAW files (ARW) into Adobe PS Elements. There is a workaround but I just want to use it straight from the file. Hope I'll figure it out, but may be an issue for some.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fantastic opportunities

Body Only 05/12/2019 by LapsinsVideo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really like to use this camera, great camera with great features!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Amazing camera.

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 30/11/2019 by Gregpatryk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I used to be a Canon user for 15 years. I was waiting a whole year, reading every day a lot of comments and rewievs online. In October 2019 I decided to switch to Sony eventually and BOOM ! I am so happy with the camera. So many great features, excellent AF and manual focus system picking, wow ! Sharpness of images . Hi ISO quality much better than in Canon and many more. Great colours and final jpg straight from the camera is brilliant. Native lenses are extremely fast and tack sharp. I am really impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing and great looking camera

Body Only 19/11/2019 by Luksha (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love every single aspect of the camera. It's very sharp and very compact. Would appreciate 4k 60fps.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

2

0

not god but not bad

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 16/11/2019 by Travis_k (United Kingdom)

im happy 50to50. i still dont know where is the problem , focus system go out of control. time after time just change focus point just like that.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Really the best camera ever!!!

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 15/11/2019 by CarolS7 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have bought this camera. First I did a research about all cameras in the market and this camera is absolutely amazing!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Sony A7 III Very Good! =)

Body Only 11/11/2019 by avp40 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have the camera for a month now and it is excelent!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great camera menu system needs simplifying

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 02/11/2019 by Fat bob (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve had to watch a lot of videos to learn how to configure for different types of shoot to get the results I aspire to. Could do with some profile settings e.g sport, portrait etc

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Focussing speed

Body Only 01/11/2019 by kthomas2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this for my latest trip to Africa, all excellent, only issue so far is connecting remotely to my Lenovo tablet, was easy with the ii's not sure why this has changed, still having problems

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Great camera all round

Body Only 29/10/2019 by Craig616 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this now 2 months and what a cracking camera, I came away from nikon d7100, which in all honesty thought was a cracking camera but I realised was no competition with the Sony a7 mk3. I will never go back sony is number 1.....

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

OUTSTANDING CAMERA,AT AN AFFORDABLE PRICE.

Body Only 26/10/2019 by masterofimages24 (United Kingdom)

the A7m3 is strrets ahead of my previous dlsr;s, paired with the FE 2.8/90 macro G OSS. There is no equal .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Almost perfect

Body Only 25/10/2019 by Rgerg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera about a month ago and been experimenting with it. I am really missing my Canon's touchscreen control (of focus points) and would have been happier if it shot 4k 60fps. Other than these two the camera is amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

New mirror less

Body Only 23/10/2019 by Trevor52 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am delighted with my new mirror less camera. It’s light, fast, quiet and many hidden features I am still discovering.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Camera! Would like a few improvements...

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 21/10/2019 by Intoski (USA)

I've had this camera since it was released. It is wonderful in so many ways (autofocus, dynamic range, etc.), with two issues, and one request: 1. The camera sometimes stops to tell me that an accessory is not compatible. I believe this is related to the overly complex multi-function hot-shoe. This interface should be more robust. 2. Menus are not great - but tolerable due to the available customizations and menus. 3. Request: I am very happy with 24mp for almost all of my work. I would, however, really love to have pixel-shift high resolution mode. This would allow me to use the feature when needed without having crazy huge files for everything else. My main interest is to eliminate color moire, which is good, but not perfect. To recap, I love the camera for lots of reasons, but would like these few things improved.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
23/10/2019

Hi, Intoski!

We appreciate your detailed feedback. We will forward your concerns to the relevant team. Thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

FANTASTIC LOW LIGHT PERFORMANCE

Body Only 21/10/2019 by tarka2 (United Kingdom)

When you've out grown your dslr and need to up your performance, go mirrorless, this camera ticks all the boxes, for me out in the field all the wildlife seems to be out when the light levels are low, this camera enables me to shoot at a higher iso and achieve remarkable images.. an image taken at 64000 iso was better quality than my old boy at 800 iso.. so impressed with eye focus, face recognition, and array of programmable buttons, silent shooting. Just brilliant..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Brilliant all round camera.

Body Only 21/10/2019 by niborski (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only just received my A7iii, but it is a fantastic camera, loaded with features. I will use it for video, and have usually been against crude auto focus, but the A7iii has such a sophisticated AF system that I've paired it with Sony lenses that AF brilliantly, (great for gimbal work, it's small and light too). Add the fact it is full frame, good in low light, has HD and 4K and can shoot Log, means it is a tremendously versatile little camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

great features compact size & value for money

Body Only 10/10/2019 by man with blue alfa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 2 weeks ago and so far have been extremely impressed with it's performance

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Many options in small camera

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 09/10/2019  (United Kingdom)

I bought a month ago , I need to learn so much how to use it, the menu is very wide. I thought is more intuitive camera. Also I still need a program in order to convert the format ARW. The size is brilliant, the quality too A bit shame to don't be able to flip the LCD screen, I still discovering. The metal holding it will be better to don't be metal, because of the noise in video.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Amazing Quality and Performance

Body Only 09/10/2019  (United Kingdom)

I've been with this camera for around 2 month and the performance is amazing. I've been using the camera while traveling and the weather resistance is amazing, it endures dust, rain (never used in heavy rain) and snow. It is lightweight and the pictures are really sharp. This is my main camera for photo, video and vlog and the autofocus in all of them has been really fast. In my perspective it is the best cameras to own at an affordable price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0