101

4.8 based on 101 customer reviews

83
12
6
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Simply stunning!

Body Only 03/05/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My colleague and I now have 4 of these which (having transferred from Canon after 15 years) we use in both our studio and for wedding photography and video. It isn’t perfect but it’s close! Stunning autofocus, which in itself is worth the purchase, superb GM glass makes this so sharp you could cut yourself, amazing low light quality and brilliant button customization. The DR is brilliant and with our tests have pulled back from nearly 3 stops!!! All the photos below were taken with 24-70 f2.8 GM or 70-200 f2.8 GM. Improvements for the future: fully articulated screen!!! Brighter screen!!! Improve that menu!!! Give us a battery charger please guys! We all know you may call this the “basic model” but that’s just marketing! This was always going to be a winner with us pros so come on, don’t be tight (I say with tongue in cheek because that price is simply remarkable and can only be to annoy the other market leaders!) :-)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great, Game Changing Camera, Awful Menu.

Body Only 02/05/2018 by SmilingG (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera to explore the exciting developments in auto focusing. Compared to previous Sony models, and to other manufacturers’ models, the A7iii is so much better. But the big let down is the awful menu. Where do you find all the settings to get the most out of the auto focusing ? All over the place ! It has been trial and error finding out what works and what doesn’t work. Two of us who own this camera have spent hours ” fiddling “ to find out how to track, find out when Eye AF works. It isn’t intuitive, it is not a camera for the faint hearted. When focusing using the viewfinder or in live view, the light grey box is almost impossible to see, it should be yellow or orange. If there had been a fully articulating screen with proper touch screen using the camera would be so much easier.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

7

4

101 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Mind = blown

Body Only 18/09/2018 by funkiegomez (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace my ageing Nikon APS-C DSLR and it has totally changed how I approach videography and photography. I'm stunned by how good this camera is, on almost every level. Whilst many amateurs will recoil at the price tag, if you know anything about cameras, you'll know that this is worth every penny it's worth. Sony have turned the consumer photography world on it's head, and now the big players are playing catch-up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Fantastic camera

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 17/09/2018 by CWL74 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace my A7 Mark 1, although similar in appearance, its a completely different beast. The main reason for the upgrade was for better battery capacity, faster autofocus and in-built stabilisation. The camera has exceeded all expectations. Pros: better image quality, better dynamic range, fast autofocus, the autofocus system, custom buttons, larger grip for better handling, 2 memory card slots, great video quality and in-built stabilisation. Limited touch screen function could be a pro or con for some. I have a works Panasonic G7 with fully functioning touch screen, its ok but I don't miss it on the A7. The layout of the buttons are so good, its quicker and more accurate than a touch screen. Cons: Slightly heavier than the Mark 1 especially with the FE 24-240mm lens, the menu is extensive but I guess there's no getting away from it with such a sophisticated camera, no separate charger and poorly placed USB charging port. When charging via USB, the cover has to be rotated 90 degrees downwards so the cover extend beyond the base of the camera. This prevents the camera from being placed on a flat surface during charging - something so simple that causes great inconvenience.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best camera ever tried

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 17/09/2018 by Fedelefff (USA)

Coming from Canon, then Nikon. My last camera before the iii was Nikon D750, I must say this one is a big jump up in terms of image quality especially in low lights, weight and AF / eye AF. Well done Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing camera for daylight shooting

Body Only 17/09/2018 by frasershotphoto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love it, I shoot on DSLR all the time and was amazed at how well this camera works in low light and focuses so well in comparison to the Canon pro cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

so far so good

Body Only 17/09/2018 by wilhelmjw (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this about 3 weeks ago been happy with it so far. still scared of how it will handle the weather tho.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Still testing, but happy

Body Only 12/09/2018 by erethilclaw (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera itself is great, the stabilzer is awesome, can shoot at 1/8 shutter speed without problems and 6400 iso is quite clean. I miss a user guide, has a lot of custom options and will like to have an eplanation of every option inside the camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic all round camera

Body Only 09/09/2018 by Sanduk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera last month and have learnt so much already. The camera is packed full of features that will satisfy all my needs for a long time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Only complete mature full frame system.

Body Only 09/09/2018 by A Gandhi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased after the Nikon Z6/Z7 revealed and now after seeing the Canon R I can say I’m very happy about going to Sony alpha E mount. Love the massive amount of features as a hybrid shooter. I’m completely new to having a hybrid mirrorless system. So I don’t have any old glass to adapt or sell. As a new person I was glad to see what canon and Nikon are coming out with. Why the Sony alpha series is and will remain my choice. Firstly I can’t fault the sheer amount of features on the a7iii. Great sensor with amazing dynamic range with IBIS. And as a video shooter the 4K s-log is amazing even in low light. The IBIS could be better and also I would like 4:4:4 or atleast 4:2:2 even if it’s only 8 Bit. This to me would be much more useful. And I want this internal I don’t want to have a external recorder as I use this a lot with the DJI ronin S. Speaking of which I hope DJI and Sony fix the pull focus and control focus using the Ronin S. I know the they are making a update to control shutter. But overall I still can’t fault the camera compared to the alternatives. The 4K might be the best out the camera and with the amazing autofocus for both stills and video I’m truly impressed given the price. A someone new to a full frame system, E mount Glass is at a level I can do everything I want. I got the Tamron 28-75 F2.8 and can’t fault it. Very very sharp lens. Tried the Zeiss Batis and think they will be fantastic for hybrid use. Battery life is not an issue, love usb charging one wire can charge MacBook, ronin S and a7iii makes it simple just wish my phone had usb c. Use the two SD cards one for photos and one for video makes post processing easy. Play memory’s app sucks sharing photos. Works but isn’t fun or easy to use. But haven’t seen anything good by any camera manufacturer. Wish they would learn from android or iOS. Touch screen should be able to control menu but can’t. First time menu and button set up is complex but once done is set up is perfect. No issue but touch screen for menu control is annoying. Overall I have complaints that I’m keen so say as I’m now pouring money into E mount but the thing is I know if we all complain they will put these fixes into mark 4 versions Sony seem to listen and get better and better. With out a doubt there over 5 years head start is giving them a massive advance compared to the others for mirrorless.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very Happy with my Purchase

Body Only 09/09/2018 by Asken (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this for a few weeks only so its fairly new to me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

A camera that will reach cult status. here's why :

Body Only 05/09/2018 by K_Dua (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm mostly a people photographer, either candid or studio stuff. I shoot a lot of architecture and some landscape too... but my gigs mostly rely on events. I shoot big Nikon FF cameras, but i also shoot small Fuji and now SONY, also. Which fits more or less in the middle, size-wise. I must say that .. if you are in doubt, towards an A7III.. don't be. Its a really really solid camera. It does everything i need, in a smaller package..than a FF DSLR. In fact, ergonomics are the only thing i dislike about this camera. I got an L-Bracket with a biffier grip for my tiny Fuji..and i got a similar one for the A7III. Be used to a big camera..this was the way i dealt with this change. Mirrorless is different ! The added bonus is _ whenever i need a smaller camera, i just remove the L-bracket.. Great ! No i can pack a FF body on a tiny waist pouch. Once one gets used to the tighter space for controls&buttons.. one can customize just EVERY single thing, in this camera. It's been growing on me, and soon... i know i won't be picking my DSLR that much, anymore. AF points throughout almost all of the sensor area..and pretty good focus accuracy. To me, mirrorless wins because of : . Silent shooting _ which is awesome, i repeat awesome, namely at indoor venues..and street photography.. (be careful with banding) . . realtime exposure on the EVF. I'm quicker to balance and compose my shot now. The online criticism over the viewfinder resolution is overhyped. It does the job well. The camera performance is unchallenged and at least 2 years ahead of Nikon & Canon's mirrorless.. As soon as Sony gets enough glass on the more niche focal distances it will grab a solid place on the FF market.. and a place to stay. As a Nikon shooter for years.. i must say i'm staying with Sony. 10 or 15 years from now.. i will still be a proud owner of a A7III, i will still brag about the pics i took with it .. and i will be able to say that in deed, it was a game changer. Because it is ! It changed the market.. because it changes the way we shoot. The only ones that don't like it are the ones that are resisting the adaptation to a more capable concept. The video is awesome (although if i was video based i would wait for the A7SIII for the 10bit encoding), the battery is EXCELLENT.. i repeat EXCELLENT.. and the main reason why i got the Sony in the 1st place; the eye AF is just one of those things that no one else is doing.. For stills, colour science is very solid, high ISO noise is brilliant and dynamic range is still raising the bar, on FF sensors. And....all of this for 2000€. It's a no-brainer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best mirrorless camera for its money!

Body Only 02/09/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had it for about a month and I can safely say that exceeds all my expectations. From its hardware, to its weight and endless settings, the a7iii is the best camera for pro-summer photographers. Whether you plan on shooting video or photography, be sure to test this camera before spending ridiculous amounts of money on other high end cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The future

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 02/09/2018 by sadphil01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

For years I've struggled with cameras being too expensive for indoor sports photography but not anymore! This camera is amazing. I've been a nikon guy for years but that's gone now. This is just the most amazing camera in low light. Even with the stock lens it takes amazing photos & the tracking is unbelievable. Oh yes & it shoots 4k video! It's amazing & has just changed the game as far as cameras are concerned. This is the one!, don't delay, get out there & get one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Blew my socks off

Body Only 01/09/2018 by Wanderer3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was taken with the 100-400mm G master lens handheld from approx. 200 metres. I am blown away by the detail and sharpness of the image. I had a High end Nikon camera prior to this and using a 200-500mm lens and tripod I could not get results this good

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best camera ever !!!

Body Only 29/08/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Made research, checked pros and cons and decide to go for Sony A7III. None of my friends has Sony but after so many good reviews I made my decision. I bought few weeks ago and it's exactly I wish for. I hope now to get some lenses ... the price is still a bit expensive for me but until now so fa so good :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony A7M3

Body Only 28/08/2018 by dcash (United Kingdom)

Pros Noticeable improvement of image quality from the A7M2. Excellent battery duration upgrade Dual SD slot Cons Charging body cover, prone to breakage Unable to view Histogram & electronic level simultaneously in EVF (same issue on A7M2 - easy firmware fix) No Panoramic picture mode No allowance to view focus point location in software

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Glad I made the switch

Body Only 27/08/2018 by alkalloyd (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As a former Nikon user it took me a while to get use to all the changes of this camera but I wouldn't look back, the autofocus is crisp and you get use to it very quickly. My first outing was in Indonesia on a campaign and Ive got some of the best photos i've ever taken on that trip. Cant wait to use it some more!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfect Pictures

Body Only 27/08/2018 by Big Mal (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this to reduce the weight while still shooting full frame, it takes a little while to get used to the menu layout, but the use of allocating buttons for different modes is really useful. The whole design and layout is great together with fantastic glass makes this a joy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Outstanding value for money

Body Only 23/08/2018 by mchoudhury (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this from Jessops over a month ago. The camera is nicely weighted and is constructed with excellent materials. Went for body only and bought the FE 85mm and FE 28mm prime lenses instead. The pictures are stellar sharp, and focus is exceptionally fast. Low light capability is incredible. If the articulated screen could come round to the front for vlogging it would be perfect. Favourite features are the silent shutter and the ability to customise the buttons for fast and simple shooting. Using this camera for portraiture and street photography. Size makes it less conspicuous and easier to take candid shots. In short it’s a camera packed with features found normally in premium cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

This camera delivers!

Body Only 22/08/2018 by Belendax (United Kingdom)

I'm not a new costumer to Sony mirror-less cameras. But this camera surprise me again although I knew what am I going to get from it. I've upgraded from the basic and the first a7 to a7iii. The quality of the sensor is amasing, auto focus is like wow (thanks to a9 technology), low light performance is not an issue at all. I tried this camera on weddings, live show performances photography , portrait and beauty shots, dancing photography and street photography. it delivers all.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best camera ever

Body Only 16/08/2018 by brinx (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really enjoying using this camera, so smart focus and user friendly teachers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Too good to be this cheap

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 15/08/2018 by nunordm (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The build quality is amazing but the pic quality is even better! I could not believe what I was capable to do with this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

It seems to have all I want going full full frame

Body Only 14/08/2018 by Camera Pete (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have a A6000 but wanted to go full frame. Only had the A7 for a few days but seems to have every thing I need to go full frame

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Comparison with D750

Body Only 11/08/2018 by Blackwood57 (United Kingdom)

Normally camera is a D750, but after reading about the focus capabilities of the A7iii, in particular the eye focus, I decided to buy. Impression after taking it on a 3-week holiday and about a months use at home are: 1. Smaller form factor, but no noticeable difference in weight. 2. Focusing system is as good as they say. 3. Low light does not produce as good a result as the D750, both cameras were hand held, so there may be a difference when on a tripod. 4. I’ve be struggling to find a camera bag that fits it, most that I have end up with the Sony at the bottom and I have to reach down to get, rather than as with the D750 where its right to hand. Overall I’m happy I changed, but will continue to use the D750 for night work.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Fully spec'd full frame mirrorless priced right!

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 10/08/2018 by cvctiger (USA)

Coming from owning Nikon DSLR's I never thought of looking into mirrorless cameras because I thought they still had disadvantages with battery life and mirrorless being relatively new tech. After doing much research and seeing what Sony has done, where they have surpassed others in mirrorless tech, I decided that it was time to upgrade not only to mirrorless but also into full frame. Hence my purchase of the Sony A7III w/ 28-70mm. The physical dimensions and features just outdoes I believe the top 2 camera mfgs, Nikon and Canon which their mirrorless line is abysmal. Don't get me wrong, being that I was a loyal Nikon user, I looked at their now defunct Nikon1 @14mp, that just clued me in even more that they were WAY behind Sony. I am glad I made the switch over. I am still overwhelmed with the features this camera offers. Being somewhat between a beginner and intermediate photographer, I am eager now more than ever to learn what I can do with this camera compared to when I used Nikon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Almost perfect camera

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 09/08/2018 by Didiermobiles (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Comming from Canon 7dm2 it's the best step I ever did! This camera makes my shoots less complex and much more fun.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 08/08/2018 by kostas307 (United Kingdom)

One of the best cameras money can buy. Offers a lot of features that other camera companies can't compete.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent responsive camera, great pics!

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 03/08/2018 by chiark (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having moved from a Nikon D70 to an NEX-5, I liked the size of mirrorless cameras as my camera went more places with me, but wanted better handling and picture quality than the NEX-5 delivered. After quite a lot of research, I decided to go for the A7 mark 3, with kit lens, and am delighted with it. The results are stunning: what I particularly like is the dynamic range which seems way better than any other camera I've used, but not unnatural. The ability to shoot in low light with no flash is a league above previous cameras too, with ISO 4000 being great in my eyes, and higher ISOs perfectly acceptable. Focus is lightning fast (even with the kit lens), accurate, and easy to control - customizable buttons (or the function menu) provide the ability to change to other modes of focus, metering, drive, whatever when shooting. The memory recall settings work brilliantly, and I can hand the camera over to family members and get good results in auto. I did buy the 24-240 lens quickly afterwards, and whilst somewhat compromised as a megazoom always will be in terms of absolute sharpness and contrast, it meant I walked around Rome with 1 lens on, and could get shots in every situation. For me the combination of outstanding image quality, great focus, metering and ISO, and exceptionally good handling is a winning combination

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great video quality

Body Only 03/08/2018 by ianr2304 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a quality 4K image for my projects and I found one in this camera with great focusing speed ... which is essential for video shooting

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great

Body Only 02/08/2018  (United Kingdom)

Was more than expected, low light performance second to none.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Greate use

Body Only 02/08/2018 by Marcin7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this month ago and it was excellent decision

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera, lack of lenses

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 29/07/2018 by verb (USA)

While this is clearly an outstanding camera in most respects, the lack of a fully articulated screen and viable lenses holds it back. Too many people are looking at 3rd party converters to enable the use of canon ef lenses. The lack of a supplied battery charger, coupled with the ridiculous price of the sony charger and sony battery is ridiculous considering the price of the camera, this is also applicable to the below average camera strap.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31/07/2018

Hi Verb, We're sorry to hear that this camera didn't meet your expectations. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. Rest assured that your feedback will not go unseen and will be directed to the proper department. Regards, Jen

0

No regrets!

Body Only 28/07/2018 by RichC58 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is truly excellent! My local dealer put two boxes down on the counter, one containing the A7lll body and the other, the Zeiss 24-70 f4. This is what you are looking for, period! Once set up, the above combination is unbeatable. Handling and balance in the hand is superb when used with the above mentioned lens, Image quality is the best of any digital camera I have used so far. Colour balance is spot on every time using auto, colour rendition second to none. OSS as good as it gets, low light shooting is a breeze! High ISO noise is good, although I don't like to take it beyond 1600 for my purposes. Key with this camera is that I have more keepers for less shots. It is far more reliable and consistent than other manufacturers cameras that I have used, more often than not, one shot will do it!!! Down side, I hate long winded menus and pressing buttons, and this camera has both to the point of annoyance, but, I'll put up with it for the picture quality I'm getting. Eye wateringly expensive, but then I guess you get what you pay for! Hopefully Sony will come up with a camera body that relies less on buttons and more on old fashioned dials. In the mean time, I intend to use this camera until it drops dead from over use!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

so far so good

Body Only 24/07/2018 by phil wade (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Still testing. It is wonderful to have so many menu choices, but it could take a few hours to sort out what setting does what, or goes with which other setting. Thank goodness the battery now gives me much more playtime for discovery.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Serious Dust Problems!

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 24/07/2018 by johnross (USA)

I have shot for 5 years on Canon cameras and never had a single piece of dust on a sensor. On the a7iii every single picture I have ever taken has dust on it. I have to manually clean the sensor almost daily, and dust will still find its way to the sensor in the second it takes to put a lens back on it. No automatic dust cleaning? Serious design flaw here. Also, no in-camera intervalometer and very limited time-lapse movies. Also has occasional white balance issues indoors. Other than that it's great. Excellent picture quality and ergonomics - so long as you're ok with photoshopping dust spots off every single picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

3

0

Fabulous first full frame camera

Body Only 21/07/2018 by Chilled1963 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first full frame camera and I’ve not regretted the upgrade. Paired it initially with the Tamron 28-75 and am very impressed!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Grate quality

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 20/07/2018 by Datang00 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Moved from Canon with high expectations which were exceeded

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great and handy

Body Only 19/07/2018 by Antony56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought nearly one month I am happy with this product .thank you sony

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great all round camera

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 16/07/2018  (United Kingdom)

I bought thi camera to months ago and i have been hapy with this purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent 42MP quality.

Body Only 16/07/2018 by Google plus (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent IQ. As you'd expect from 42MP. Lucky enough to capture this on my first day of shooting with it. (If you don't like insects look away now)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

5

0

Exciting

Body Only 12/07/2018 by DBro (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recently bought so these are only first impressions, but Ii am so far very pleased with my camera. it seems easy to use and the results are excellent bu I have alot to learn to make best use of it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

PRICE

Body Only 11/07/2018 by JONNA (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

/Volumes/Untitled/DCIM/101MSDCF/DSC00099.JPG/Volumes/Untitled/DCIM/101MSDCF/DSC00108.JPG

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good camera, but overheats and turns off

Body Only 03/07/2018 by EddJ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this camera just over 1 month, it is a good camera, but the overheat is a big problem - and thats just I the cold UK, imagine when I take it somewhere hot like the Middle East or Asia!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

3

2

0

excellent camera for its value

Body Only 30/06/2018 by Shabi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera 2 months ago and that's my 3rd camera I'm so happy with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best Camera

Body Only 28/06/2018 by Dyllan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Incredible features, even better price point. There is no better camera at the price point. I bought it a month ago, and could not be happier. Converted all my previous gear to Sony, and haven't looked back.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Best camera of the year

Body Only 25/06/2018 by yukyankee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A big step up from DSLR APS-C for me. Everything is great except the screen and EVF.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Well impressed

Body Only 24/06/2018 by Stridles (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first full frame sony having bought the A6000 a couple of years ago. I have several canon bodies and lenses and was going to use adapters but decided to go the whole way and purchased two zoom lenses. The pictures I'm getting are excellent and the features on the camera excellent especially the eye focus .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Exceeded My Expectations!

Body Only 19/06/2018 by KhaledC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having long awaited this camera I was very excited to receive it. It does exactly what you want it to do and easy to get used to (I moved from a Nikon D800); the dual UHS-II SD card slots is a life saving feature for someone who constatnly forgets his SD cards hanging on the computer. The aspect of this camera I was most surprised about was video; it’s just flawless, even in low-light! I am very positive you won’t be disappointed with it. However, if I want to be fair and very critical, I would say that the only downsides I found were the screen and viewfinder that seemed to be a bit too pixellated at times ... Otherwise, I am thrilled to have this camera and can’t wait to see what more I can do with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

Simply put.... Wow.

Body Only 18/06/2018 by Tom_W (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nothing more needs to be said really, all the reviews are true, it is quite a special thing. Absolutely brilliant. 2 niggles though, as a Mac user you won't be able to preview raw files, you'll have to load them into Lightroom/photoshop/equivalent to view them (Apple problem) You also won't be able to delete the raw files from the computer (again, I assume apple problem) besides that. Amazing. Just consider the grip if you have big hands!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

2

0

Everything I hoped it'd be

Body Only 16/06/2018 by AndyKMil (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've owned this camera for about a month now and have loved it. I am onlu using it with adapted Canon lenses, but I've been blown away by the results. I've found it very easy to use, it seems very robust, the picture quality is excellent. The much critisised menu system is no where near as bad as I'd feared and the customisable user menu makes it easy to find your most used options anyway. I love the customisability of the well layed out buttons. OK so it doesn't come with a seperate battery charger, but I found cheap 3rd party options very easily and the battery life is nothing short of amazing. I change the battery on my Canon 5d mk IV far more frequently. The only real down side is the dreadfully awful software that sony provide to manage your photos, PlayMemories (it's certainly unforgetable). I've not seen a worse photography utility anywhere, it's such a shame that more effort has not been put into this very important part of the process. I give the product 5 stars because I've found ways around it's two weakest features (battery charger missing and PlayMemories)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great value for money

Body Only 16/06/2018 by Anders82 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Packed with features alongside a practical well-built body and great battery life, this is incredible value for money. The image quality, auto-focus, dual card slots, and eye AF are fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Job Done

Body Only 15/06/2018 by WeeMalky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently purchased this as all the reviews raved about it and it had some of the features that I missed on the A7ii 10frames p/s being one of them and although I have the excellent A6500 I like the full frame format.I have found that the focusing has improved over the A7ii which pleased me no end.This photo was taken with the FE100-400 + x1.4 teleconverter I am pleased with this shot as gannets are pretty fast moving birds

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera

Body Only 14/06/2018 by Coyleybhoy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very Good Camera , having upgraded from the a6500 , this camera is so much better, not that the a6500 is bad its also great , but this just feels so much more professional, the battery life is amazing as it the focus , my only gripe is not tiimelapse function

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Blown away

Body Only 10/06/2018 by 20andrew20 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Blown away at the quality of this entry level Sony monster. The 4k video, the image quality, the eye autofocus, the picture profiles, the size of the camera, the connectivity options, tiltable back screen just impressed with so many functions that make life as a photographer easier.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Brilliant Camera

Body Only 09/06/2018 by rthom631 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a couple of weeks ago. I wanted a full frame camera and it came down to the Sony or Nikon D750. I looked at both and opted for the Sony. This camera has so many features packed into the body. Everything works well and the autofocus is amazing. Its early days yet but Im so happy with the cameras performance so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Big leap from DSLR to mirrorless for me.

Body Only 01/06/2018 by StarPostman63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this at an open day at a well known photography store and after a long two week wait, I finally had it in my posession. The features are many, the size fits great in the hand and it looks beautiful. The price tag may put many people off but spec for spec with DSLR, its cheap. Throw in a lens converter and your Canon fit lenses are good to go. I haven't really touched many of the options it offers as I am learning a completely new camera system, but so far my photos look great. The electronic viewer is excellent for previewing shots and what is in the viewer before the shutter button is pressed is what you get. The days of playing around with settings are over with this camera. The only criticism I have is that it does not have a panorama or time lapse feature. Something that hopefully could be added with firmware in future. I am new to Sony and I hope they are not like other brands who release new bodies every 12 months with minor upgrades. Only time will tell if this is the case.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Very nice and powerful camera overall

Body Only 31/05/2018 by borolr (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera is a great powerhorse, perfect for a profesional or a new starter into the Full frame camera world. The Sony A7III have an amazing image quality even in a low light enviroment, the shutter speed is the fastest I have seen. This camera is not perfect, have some pros and cons, but overall is the best camera for the price. I really recommend it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great quality, great features

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 30/05/2018 by wes7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this after my NEX7 and I am very pleased with the results. I like particularly the continuous eye focusing, very useful for very active grandchildren.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Wow

Body Only 25/05/2018 by Nogg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had the camera a few weeks now and very impressed. Eye focus is excellent, lenses are very good but remember to budget for them

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Dream Camera - The Definitive Review

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 22/05/2018 by Stingray2049 (USA)

Was waiting for the a7sIII, but this had all the features I was interested in -nearly an a9 or a7rIII with smaller file size. I won't go into any features because everyone knows exactly how good it is. Several things stand out: Got one word. Zeiss. I got the Zeiss Batis 18 2.8, 25 2.0 and 85 1.8. I also got the Sony Zeiss 55 1.8, 35 1.4, I've had the 24-70 2.8G. The Zeiss lenses are legendary and simply the best lenses on the market period. The 18 and 25 have no detectable distortion, tremendously capable lenses. Color, contrast and sharpness and swift focusing are unmatched. I specifically got these because I was tired of lenses with terrible spherical distortion. The 24-70 2.8G at 24mm has really bad distortion. One other extremely important factor that also blows away the competition (Sigma) is the extremely light weight of the Zeiss Batis - under 12 oz's for the 18 and 25!! I love how the lenses feel in my hand even using the battery grip - very balanced and I can focus on my imagery while the camera sits perfectly in my hand. You don't have to spend your energy trying to keep the lens level. Two Zeiss Batis lenses are the weight of one Canon L or Sigma lens. Roger Deakins, the most most nominated Cinematographer of all time and Oscar winner of Blade Runner 2049 said he only uses Zeiss prime lenses - a major reason I bought all Zeiss and finally made the switch - no more metabones. I'm absolutely in love with photography again after 19 years ad a professional photographer. This combo is truly truly the best camera on the market today. Price point is simply unheard of. With every new version that comes out, you'll most likely lose about 50% of the price so at this price point you're still way ahead and the a7III I doubt would even lose 25% of it's price in two years. Can things be improved on this yes? I suggest the same viewfinder and LCD as the a7rIII, better menu's (they still are super confusing and all over the map) and a larger body so your pinky finger doesn't hang off. I usethe battery grip because the camera just feels better - my hand was also crimped after a day shooting on the a7sII. Add the a9 dial on the top left. Buttons are good, menus are slow. Haptic quality is a good thing. Also I sold my Canon 5DMKIII, 5 Canon L lenses - finally!!!! (Canon used prices are dropping like crazy). It was time and I have not looked back whatsoever. Zeiss lenses are far superior. It's also nice to have a new system that looks completely different than Canon which over 28 year looks really, really boring.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

7

1

0

They squeezed Helvetica!

Body Only 22/05/2018 by chiefdesigner (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pros: • Very good image quality • Works well with my C**** DSLR lenses over 3d party adaptor • Eye focus for portraits is great and very reliable • Very solid low light performance, working ISOs even beyond 12800 • The best system in the market to use with legacy lenses Cons: • Slow turn-on time. Feels around 2.5 seconds to the point where AF is ready. • Colours are good but surprisingly not on par with my 6y.o. DSLR. And lag behind my L**** mirrorless. Sony's rendering is too mass-market — all bright, contrast and saturated and lacks subtlety, accuracy and delicacy. Colours in the shadows are usually overcooked or compromised. • Terrible lack of attention to designing details. Squeezed(!) Helvetica in the menu. That really hurts. • Generally poor ergonomics and usability. • Non-removable useless marketing labels on the body (4k ready, T*). I can't understand why I have to look at those helpless marketing efforts for the rest of my ownership of this camera? It's just a very bad taste. • At the same time port covers lack any designation and you have to open them one by one to find what you need. • Menu is awful. Poor English translation, poorly structured, torture to use. • Body design is just poor. All button labels made with different font size, haptic feedback differs between similar controls, some discs just unpleasant to use. • EV correction disc is pretty useless. You may have +0 on the disc and -3 in the camera simultaneously which is not very clever. • Lock-on autofocus is a bit unpredictable. Works well for one object on plain background but in most of environments it tends to suddenly jump from one are of the image to another. • The display and EVF show different colours and generally lag behind other cameras I used in terms of quality. Also EVF tends to noticeable flicker. Conclusion: A very good sensor in a mediocre body. Very poor design culture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

6

2

0

Overly rated

Body Only 20/05/2018 by dino124 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera is trying to do much work itself.. it constantly trying to focus and trying to be smart. I really don't rate the support from Sony either... they have a lack of knowledge of their own products. In Phase detection AF the cameras is constantly jumping. In contrast AF the camera is constantly focusing.. Although the clarity of the images and colour is fantastic, the camera is overshadowed by the lack of support. I would rather have less of a camera and better support.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

The Future is here

Body Only 19/05/2018 by JPRolley (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used Nikon for years, latest being a D500 for sports and wildlife, a D610 for portraits. Both excellent for what they do. The A7 III does both jobs in a smaller body. Full frame and 10 frames a second. Awesome focus with amazing eye detect and tracking. I have read plenty of complaints about the menu system, after spending a few hours on youtube, I have no issues with the system and love the function menu. Image quality is excellent, colour and sharpness. The one down side G lenses are very expensive. The upside my Nikon lenses work very well manual with adapter, in fact my Nikon 85 1.8 produces fantastic images, they seem sharper than they did on the Nikon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Simply brilliant

Body Only 16/05/2018 by Syashinka (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera to replace my bulky Canon kit around a month ago. The combination of size, resolution and features is simply streets ahead of anything at a similar price and above. I also use a Leica X2 and the Sony is threatening this for portability vs features. I use this for my work as a designer and also for travel shots which I take a lot of. I cant recommend it enough.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Early days but highly delighted

Body Only 13/05/2018 by Kennuk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had the a7iii about two weeks. Limited use as yet. Rings are great very detailed and drisp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

High specification using latest technology

Body Only 13/05/2018 by Laverdaman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera at the Photography Show at the National Exhibition Centre in March. Have not really used it yet, but first impressions are good. I have switched to a Sony DSLR having found my 8 year old Pentax set-up wanting on a recent overseas trip. I will need to invest in a telephoto lens and a flash gun and Sony seem to have a high quality range of accessories - but they are not cheap! I have bought a 16-35 f4 lens and because the camers is small and quite heavy, the essential grip extension which screws onto the underside of the body.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Awesome camera

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 13/05/2018 by Rqmin (USA)

I bought this camera few days ago ago, its my first full frame experience and im loving it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Early days but Wow what a camera

Body Only 12/05/2018 by Flyingtame (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had this camera for a few weeks but love it. For a so called entry level camera it’s stunning.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Once Sony, never go back DSLR

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 10/05/2018 by Bilibily (USA)

The mirrorless camera is great, you would never regret buying it. I was concerned about its image quality before, since Canon and Nikon have a large number of lenses to select. However, for general user, we never go to that professional area to use that lenses. What's more, this is my second time re-entering photograph, I give it up last time because I was too tired to carry the heavy camera and lens everywhere. This series is small, light, but still guarantee the high quality of the image. You can't imagine how delicate it is until you see the real one. It is the future of camera, and it is time to get one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

0

0

Great! Insane video

Body Only 09/05/2018 by Mwnija (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The video out of this thing is insane. It’s an amazing camera, and great in low light. The only two little things I don’t like: the screen is not fully articulated and the door covers on the side are a bit annoying. Otherwise it’s crazy what you get out of this little camera, battery lasts all day too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Disappointing

Body Only 08/05/2018 by Lowlander (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Problem with shutter mode and aperture mode images overexposed. Auto was fine if a little vivid.

0

9

0

Great camera

Body Only 07/05/2018 by wiseolsimon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Considering it’s price position amongst the A7 family, this camera offers the best features. Video performance, still performance, responsiveness, battery life are brilliant. Touch operation should be expanded to other uses including menu operation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Life Changing

Body Only 07/05/2018 by kore86 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Super happy with the a73. Shot on Canon for around 11 years, more recently shooting on two 5d4 bodies. Played with a friends a73 and just couldn't believe the features and ability. So sold one of the 5d's for the A73 as an experiment to see how I would get on with a totally new system. At first it was just my dedicated video work system using an adaptor with Canon lenses, however it slowly became my main tool for stills work as well. The focus system is insane. The low light performance is ground breaking. The video quality is better than anything I have had in the past (I know there is better stuff out there but this is comparing it to Canon DSLR video output). I primarily shoot commercial stuff for print and promotion, events and weddings. As for Video, I work as part of a team making documentaries. Up to now it has fit both sides of my work flow perfectly. My first Native Sony lens arrives tomorrow so this will give me even better AF performance. I was a real Canon fan boy. So much that I worked for them for 5 years! And resisted trying anything else. Anyone who has a mixed workflow of stills and video, I recommend giving one of these bad boys a go. I can focus on peoples eyes man! Anyone who claims they can't be used in a professional output is wrong. It's a steep learning curve but worth every second. Quite Enjoy 10/10

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0