394

4.7 based on 394 customer reviews

306
66
13
2
7
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Simply stunning!

Body Only 03/05/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My colleague and I now have 4 of these which (having transferred from Canon after 15 years) we use in both our studio and for wedding photography and video. It isn’t perfect but it’s close! Stunning autofocus, which in itself is worth the purchase, superb GM glass makes this so sharp you could cut yourself, amazing low light quality and brilliant button customization. The DR is brilliant and with our tests have pulled back from nearly 3 stops!!! All the photos below were taken with 24-70 f2.8 GM or 70-200 f2.8 GM. Improvements for the future: fully articulated screen!!! Brighter screen!!! Improve that menu!!! Give us a battery charger please guys! We all know you may call this the “basic model” but that’s just marketing! This was always going to be a winner with us pros so come on, don’t be tight (I say with tongue in cheek because that price is simply remarkable and can only be to annoy the other market leaders!) :-)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Not Currently Viable for Low Light/Long Exposure

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 28/06/2019 by SierraMike (USA)

I shoot a lot of astro and nightscape timelapse. I recently upgraded to this camera from my Nikon D5300. I love many of the features the A7 III brings to the table, but there is a serious defect with how it handles long exposures especially in low light conditions. If you take an image with the shutter on, you'll see that there are hot pixels all throughout the image when it should be completely black. This still persists when shooting a long exposure in low light conditions. I've opened a ticket with Sony to try to confirm if this is expected behavior, or something that could be fixed with a firmware update. So far this issue is persistent on both of the A7 III bodies I've tested with multiple lenses, so it seems to be an inherent defect. Until this is addressed, this camera is absolutely unusable for long exposure in low light conditions, are very poor for long exposure in normal conditions. If this issue is fixed, I would readily give a full 5 stars to this camera. If it operated as expected in the scenarios mentioned above, it would be a nearly perfect camera.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

396 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

A73III First time with Sony

Body Only 09/07/2020 by Caterpiller (United Kingdom)

Oh wow, 2 short but so descriptive words that represent what this camera is and why on earth I didn't go Sony sooner

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great features

Body Only 08/07/2020 by Nazir Y (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product 2 weeks ago and I'm still training with the setting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Highly Recommended

Body Only 06/07/2020 by Baljinder (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am an amateur photographer. I recently upgraded to A7iii from A6300. I researched all the competitors before the upgrade and in the end concluded that A7iii was the best choice. The image quality is excellent both for stills and video - far more superior to A6300. All issues related to older Sony models, such as grip, battery life, colour etc. have been pleasantly resolved (this is an older model now anyway). The lens choice is very good now. The price is good as well. So I am a very happy user.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Beginner User

Body Only 01/07/2020 by LaurenO (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm new to photography with my limited experience so far the camera has performed well and is easy to use. I followed tutorials on youtube to help me with customising the settings.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best camera I've owned

Body Only 30/06/2020 by Krisuk2008 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as an upgrade to the a7ii and it beats it completely

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera all round

Body Only 29/06/2020 by W jean (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted to upgrade to full frame, but the weight was an issue as I suffer with tennis elbow and can't easily hold the D750 or other brands. I found that this body is comfortable and a good fit for raving all the controls, I like the eye af and the flight control style view telling when I'm level, apparently I can't see straight!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The Quality

Body Only 23/06/2020 by Alisa12 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had been wanting a Sony ever since I used my friends briefly. It made me realize it was time to upgrade. I saved for almost a year to purchase it and I love it! The digital viewfinder is amazing and so helpful when adjusting ISO/F stop/ shutter speed. It shows a live view of what your photo will look like. I love the look of the photos and also the slow shutter speed for night photography!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

What an amazing piece of kit.

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 23/06/2020 by djron_dna (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera as needed one that I could film content without having a film crew attached. With a little help on the correct settings needed for my use, this camera has turned out to be ideal purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great design

Body Only 22/06/2020 by B607 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought one and then after a while I part exchanged it for another non Sony camera. The other camera is good but I regretted selling the first A7 iii so bought another. I’m glad I did it’s a great full frame camera and takes really good photos.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great piece of tech

Body Only 16/06/2020 by Ur Review Buddy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera is small, compact and light. It feels good in hand, the body is made of magnesium alloy and it supports e mount lens. I strongly suggest not to use this camera on rainy weather, if you look at the ports, these are covered but not sealed. On one side there are the microphone jack, the audio jack, the mini HDMI port, the micro USB and the C type port. On the other side it has the SD card slots - one for SD XC II and the second one for SD XC I. It is handy to have 2 slots. One thing to improve on the mack IV is the way the SD card plugs in. I have to flip the memory card to actually see which one is or what size it is. At the bottom it has the battery slot. Make sure that the shoe cap is on all the times when there are no accessories attached to the camera. There are situations when a drop of rain felt on the shoe mount and managed to damage the camera. The lens from this pack is a telephoto one, the focal length is 28-70mm with the maximum aperture of f/3.5 - f/5.6 and a minimum aperture of f/22 - f/36. It uses Optical SteadyShot as Imagine Stabilisation. The Sony a7III uses a 2280 mAh battery. The camera can be charged via those 2 ports. I charged it with my Samsung C type cable and to fully charge the battery it took around 6 hours. It is quite a decent battery, on paper it is said to last around 710 shots. It is a beautiful piece of tech, very capable, packed with loads of technology and features. So, what made me buy this camera? I have spent loads of days, probably a couple of weeks trying to come to a conclusion about the camera that I want. And I can’t say that I bought the camera that I want but I bought the camera that I need and it’s best for me. These are the factors that I looked at before I took the final decision: * Budget * Great photos * Great 4K video * Great autofocus * Full-frame sensor for low light situations and better image quality * In body image stabilisation * Fully articulate screen * Long life battery * Easy to use and store The a7m3 takes amazing photos, it has a full-frame sensor which is almost twice as big as APS-C sensors. There is no crop factor so what you see through the viewfinder is what you shoot and delivers great depth of field. The sensor features a 24.2 megapixels resolution, it captures loads of details and offers extraordinary sensitivity and dynamic range. In terms of light sensitivity, there are some differences: the A7 III has a native range of ISO 100-51,200, with extended levels as low as 50 and as high as 204,800. In terms of video, the highest quality is 4K UHD at 30 fps. It captures plenty of information for easier colour grading in post-production. It can also shot in 1080p at 120 fps. The camera is packed with preset profiles which helps with the style that you are looking for. The autofocus is brilliant, 693-point phase-detect AF system. The Alpha 7 III supports a wide variety of AF modes, enabling you to make things as simple or as advanced as you need depending on the shooting situation. While it can on occasion get tricked by fast and erratically moving subjects, overall it's an impressive and reliable system. If you're planning to shoot action with the Alpha A7 III, don't be in any doubt that this is one of the best systems out there for tracking your subject, and it's very exciting for a camera at this price point. The A7 III also gets Sony's latest Eye AF focusing mode. This is a great feature for portrait and social photographers, as with this activated the system will continuously track and focus on your subject's eye, even if they look down or away from the camera. The Sony a7m3 has a 3 inch touchscreen at 922,000 dot resolution but that feature is only useful for tapping the screen to focus. Nothing else. The screen can be tilted but I would prefer a fully articulated screen. Above the screen there is an EVF (electronic viewfinder) which is large and bright. It is 2.3 million dot OLED display with the a magnification factor of 0.78 times. The a7m3’s 5-axis image stabilisation system works fine. It’s not as good as the Panasonic GH5’s but it’s good to have. I can shot handheld without a tripod. For smoother videos I recommend using a tripod or a gimbal. The a7III ticks nearly all of the boxes: great photos with awesome depth of field, great 4K video but only at 30 fps, amazing autofocus, full-frame sensor, ok in-body stabilisation, long life battery life, easy to use and store. I had to compromise the fully articulate screen and the more expensive lenses but I got what I NEED and this is the most important thing. I probably left aside a few important features like Wi-Fi, Bluetooth 4.1 and NFC or the number of customisable buttons that this mirrorless camera offers. Some of them are not so important and shouldn’t be a key factor when you choose a camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing Camera

Body Only 12/06/2020 by Psm1970 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera on reviews and recommendation from a family pro photographer, At first I was very sceptical about switching from my trusty old canon that I'd had for years but this camera is amazing - still learning new things about it every day Would definitely recommend for high end beginner or a pro photographer

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

When you start to understand is great

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 09/06/2020 by uCampture Series (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had this dream that on one day I could be outside and capture some of the moments of this world. I waited for 29 years to make that dream come true. I'm not a professional photographer, I'm an amateur, but I'm passionated about it and I will improve. Sony a7 iii gave me the confidence to actually put me outside of my comfort zone. It gave me the confidence to go outside and show the world what my eyes see. Sony a7 iii it is not a simple product, but we are talking about a piece of tech that requires knowledge and time. The menus, buttons, lenses, etc., can be overwhelming, but as soon as you understand it Sony becomes part of your body. It becomes a sort of extension of what you see and what can you take with your hands.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

My first Sony mirrorless

Body Only 07/06/2020 by danek1973 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice and compact. Stunning picture quality. A bit unfriendly buttons position.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Needs dial locks!

Body Only 06/06/2020 by Rich n Lukang (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had my a7III for almost a year. I like using it. I like the quality of the images it produces. However, there is one huge error in the design. No locks on the dials. The exposure compensation dial always seems to want to wander. I usually don't have any problems with the mode setting dial moving, but it has moved a couple of times. Sony must have had tripod shooters in mind when they designed this camera and not people who hand carry their cameras 99% of the time. Is it an oversight by Sony to not include locks in the design? Yes. Is it a deal breaker on me recommending this camera? On to other things. This is an easy camera to use right out of the box, but a hard camera to learn. While there is always auto mode (why would you by an expensive camera to use auto mode?) you can easily learn to use aperture and shutter modes to get you out and taking pictures. Then, I highly recommend you watch a few tutorials on the internet to learn to use all the other features this camera has to offer. It's been a year, and I'm still learning. A touch screen menu would be helpful here. I still find myself fumbling with buttons and dials to change settings. While not a deal breaker, a touch screen would be so nice... Sony! Are you listening?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing

Body Only 05/06/2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’m happy about it. And I actually wrote to Sony about loyalty in you. But I am still waiting for the reply. :(

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great build quality

Body Only 05/06/2020 by crim9 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Coming from Panasonic and Nikon, I’d never used Sony other than an old cyber shot and was never a fan. The a7iii is truly a great piece of kit. The build quality is amazing and the customisation of the menus are great once you’ve understood most of the functions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Value for money

Body Only 10/05/2020 by Sami6680 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Value for money, I strongly recommend this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera!

Body Only 04/05/2020 by Kenthewizard (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought 3 weeks ago and really pleased with the output. Can’t fault it at the moment. With a 18-135 lens it’s a great combination.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Good features

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 02/05/2020 by Nikon Alan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I’ve only had this a couple of weeks and haven’t used it much as wildlifephotography is my thing and need to get a good lens. Coming from Nikon and a big D5 it’s neat, compact and lightweight and has good options for assigning features to easy to reach buttons. Compared to Nikon I find the menu complicated and long winded but if you put all the main options you want to change into your custom “my menu” it should make it easier. Looking forward to getting a 200-600 lens and seeing how good the focus system is for wildlife.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Timeless features

Body Only 28/04/2020 by elhow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's still outperforming cameras that are coming out that are much younger than itself. it's only competition will be the new model itself

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Switched from Nikon and never looked back

Body Only 22/04/2020 by Hasan_A (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Last year i purchased my first Sony a7iii and since then I have purchased another two a7iii bodies and lenses to go with my setup. With over 125000 photos taken over last 12 months I must say that I have put this camera through decent test.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great camera overall

Body Only 19/04/2020 by bazuk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera for both video and audio. Need to improve: touch screen! Menu system is below average! Software attached is hard to understand. But go for it! worth it all

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

My first camera Sony

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 12/04/2020 by walter8531 (USA)

Is my first camera Sony and can I say the best too. Excellent photos, quality and durability.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

good all round

Body Only 08/04/2020 by richie1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

bought for my daughter doing a degree she wanted the most versatile equipment for her work

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

it's just perfect and everything on point

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 05/04/2020 by Saudialalami (USA)

Simply that's my second Sony a7 iii i owned it's just perfect and i cant think for another honestly

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I love this camera

Body Only 03/04/2020 by Alvi (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best system I have ever owned compared to some Canon products I have purchased in the past.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The best camera I’ve ever owned

Body Only 25/03/2020 by Rupert Wilkey (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I stepped into the mirrorless world with the A6000 and was astonished by the quality of images. I then had the A6300, finally upgrading that to an A7. When wildlife eye focus arrived on the A7iii it was time to upgrade again. The A7iii is an outstanding camera, logical button placement and durable battery life. The quality of the images has blown me away. I write field guides on snakes and super sharp images of snakes is critical to me. This camera always delivers. I cannot recommend this camera enough. Well done Sony for being the market leaders again.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Outstanding Camera!

Body Only 12/03/2020 by Dorsetgirl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having bought the a7iii a couple of months ago I have to say I could not be happier. After using a heavy, full frame DSLR for several years I found the reduced weight of a mirrorless camera much easier to carry around (I'm getting old!). Once you have studied the menu settings they are quick and easy to use, the Finder/Monitor feature is great and saves time. Overall the best camera I've had to date, wish I'd made the change sooner!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 11/03/2020 by SatyanMistry (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is still a great Mirrorless Camera with great capabilities. My only issue is the menu system, I moved from Canon to Sony and there is a huge difference in the user interface.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Getting to love this camera

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 06/03/2020 by GrahamOJ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Camera will be used for video only. So far so good. YouTube is great for understanding the extensive features and options. This is clearly an amazing little camera although the inbuilt image stabilisation isn't great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Very compact easy to use

Body Only 05/03/2020 by Daisymay173 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have enjoyed finding my way around this camera. Much simpler to use than my Sony 6000. Lots of options for all lights, lenses etc.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Perfect All Around

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 02/03/2020  (USA)

I bought this upgrade from a canon 7D. The settings and controls are something to get used to just like anything moving from one brand to another. I bought this camera with the kit lens and a 50mm f1.8(the cheap one). I'm not nerding out on specs and numbers, I judge a camera on performance, ease of use, and longevity. The camera and lenses are easy to update with firmware. THis camera along with intermediate knowledge in photography is should last for many years.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
04/03/2020

Hi, DavyJones,

The Sony ILCE7M3 is an excellent choice for an upgrade! You should play with it more often. I'm sure you are going to love it even more. Thank you for trusting Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

Amazing camera

Body Only 22/02/2020 by Phil haslam1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought in December. Fantastic pictures and video. Huge dynamic range, even the jpegs! I'm not sure i understand why the jpeg are so good. Hardly shoot in RAW anymore. Customisation of menus and buttons makes this camera very easy to use. Forget what people say about complex menu system.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

All around great camera

Body Only 21/02/2020 by Kap_man (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera in December 2019 and since then it has worked wonderfully even with 3rd party lenses. It even performed well in temperatures below freezing. I only gave it 4 stars because it still gets dust on the sensor very easy. I know it's not a big deal but I try my best to have the camera in a way that keeps the dust away from the sensor and I had the same issue on my a7r ii. I keep cleaning it but I have to clean after every shooting outing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony Social Support
22/02/2020

@Kap_man, Great! Good to know that this is what you are looking for in a product. Thanks for choosing Sony. ~Zac

0

Amazing quality

Body Only 19/02/2020 by Kuldeep (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Totally happy with the quality of the pictures and instrument

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent camera

Body Only 18/02/2020 by Picadily (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this camera a month ago as have been loving it ever since. As a videographer, it’s important for me to have all my features where I want them and when I want them. The Sony A73 does just that. A menu system that makes it easy for me to change my picture to capture what I want in an instant

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

My first really good camera

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 18/02/2020 by S4Ducati (USA)

Been shooting the a7iii for 18 months and love it. So versatile. Fast auto focus I shoot wildlife, Astro and landscape. It is truly a versatile camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/02/2020

Hi S4Ducati,

We are more than glad to hear that you appreciate our product. We are always looking to make SONY better. Thank you for your feedback.

~Earl


0

Master of Some

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 16/02/2020 by StudioArkhive (United Kingdom)

Massively improved from the previous A7 iterations. For most semi-professional uses, the A7III should have you covered. Great for mild commercial work, documentation or product shots. Autofocus is very very capable. Picture quality, with the right lens, is very impressive. Menu system still a bit of a slog but you'll put up with it for the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Great Camera - but Problem Mic Port

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 12/02/2020 by jaminjamin (United Kingdom)

Love the camera - but the mic input port broke after 3 months. This is not my first Sony Camera that has had this problem

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

A great camera

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 11/02/2020 by Happy snapper 1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it the end of December and it has performed very well very happy with the camera

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Camera for Intermediate Photographers

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 09/02/2020 by dan0513 (USA)

I upgraded to this camera about 8 months ago. Before I was very much a beginner using an entry level Nikon. I wanted to upgrade to take my photography to the next level as my skill level increased and this camera provided the most bang for my money without spending a lot of $$$ on professional level cameras. This camera is extremely easy to use. The menu and buttons were a little difficult to navigate at first but I attribute that to my lack of experience combined with the switch from Nikon DSLR to a Sony full frame mirrorless camera. After a about two weeks I was able to figure everything out. I recommend pairing this camera body with the Sony FE 24mm f1.4 GM and the Sony FE 70-200mm f2.8 GM OSS lenses.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
10/02/2020

Hi dan0513!

Thanks for the cool review! We're glad that you're having an enjoyable experience with our camera.Thanks for choosing Sony!

Regards,
Sam

0

Well designed

Body Only 08/02/2020 by davidpym73 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I got this a few weeks ago, and so far very pleased with the quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

brilliant piece of kit

Body Only 07/02/2020 by retseb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

father xmas was very kind and i love it. the images are brilliant and the autofocus is really great. the only thing i would have preferred, is to have the menu button on the right hand side of the camera rear.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Ridiculous menu system!

Body Only 07/02/2020 by Not got one 2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

With I’d kept to Nikon and not spent all this money

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

1

4

0

Great hand comfort

Body Only 06/02/2020 by Yvus (United Kingdom)

Great product with a huge value, really satisfied for this Sony A7iii

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent

Body Only 06/02/2020 by saty193 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A new way of photographing - EF and the new techonology makes it a joy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great DR

Body Only 04/02/2020 by kyawmin aye (United Kingdom)

Sony’s latest A7 cameras represent the vanguard of the mirrorless camera movement because they’re the most accessible full-frame systems on the market. The A7 III and A7R III are smaller, lighter, and more durable than their DSLR counterparts, and have narrowed the gaps in image quality, performance, and lens selections. These two new cameras are directly related to Sony’s flagship released last year: the sporty $4,500 A9. In fact, everything from EVF design, to the grip, controls, SD card slots, and software are derived in some form from their big brother, the A9. The A9 has all of Sony’s bells and whistles, but it comes with a price tag to match. The new A7 models, however, bring many of the A9’s advancements down to more pedestrian price levels. These are certainly still professional level cameras — the A7 III runs for $1,999 without a lens, while the higher-resolution A7R III commands $3,199 — but the difference in price from the A9 leaves a lot of room for lenses or other necessary equipment. It’s easy to determine if the A9 is right for you: if you don’t shoot high-speed sporting events, it’s probably too much camera. But Sony’s made it a bit tougher to distinguish between the newest A7 models, so I’ve put them head-to-head for this comparison. TheThe new A7 models are the third generation of Sony’s professional mirrorless line, so their main features are well known at this point. But just to recap: these are professional-level cameras with full-frame image sensors that are significantly smaller and lighter than comparably equipped DSLRs from Canon or Nikon. Despite a nearly $1,200 price difference, the A7R and the A7 III are more related than one might assume. Starting with sensors, they both use a backside illuminated (BSI) structure, a novel arrangement allowing the sensor to perform better in low light. Sony was the first to put this tech in a mirrorless camera with the original A7R. However, BSI structure sensors aren’t a Sony exclusive — they’ve been found in the iPhone 4S, Nikon’s D850 pro camera, and even the HTC Evo 4G smartphone. DESPITE THEIR PRICE DIFFERENCE, THE A7 PAIR ARE MORE SIMILAR THAN YOU MIGHT ASSUME The A7R III uses a 42.4-megapixel sensor while the A7 III tops out at 24.2 megapixels. Thanks to the BSI tech, both full-frame sensors are able to capture more light than conventional sensors. Compared to a conventional sensor and previous generation Sony Alpha, the BSI chips process data faster and produce images with less noise. In terms of light sensitivity, there are some differences: the A7 III has a native range of ISO 100-51,200, with extended levels low as 50 and as high as 204,800. Meanwhile, the A7R III goes up to 32,000 (native) and 102,400 (extended), making the A7 the better low-light performer on paper (spoiler: it is in practice, too). Both cameras have the same dimensions (though the A7 is 7 grams lighter), shoot video at 4K up to 30fps or 1080p at 24 / 30 / 100 / 120fps, use the same battery, have dust / moisture resistance thanks to a magnesium alloy frame, and are equipped with dual UHS SD card slots. They also both use the X AVC S codec for video, with creative styles (vivid, natural, mono, etc.) to drastically change the color profile of your photos. Some other commonalities between the two cameras, include the Wi-Fi / NFC / Bluetooth radios, USB-C port and tethering, 1 / 8000s max. shutter speed (1 / 250s flash sync), max 10fps with AF / AE tracking (8fps with live view / blackouts), 14-bit RAW (compressed or uncompressed), and finally, the exact same button layout with the exception of a shooting mode lock button on the A7R (a useful feature seen on the A9). Ports-wise, both cameras share mic input, headphone output, USB 2.0, USB Type C, and Micro HDMI Type D. Still, the A7R III edges it out with an extra port for flash synchronization. Of course, let’s not forget batteries. Both cameras use Sony’s new NP-FZ100 battery. It’s a big improvement over the last battery model used in the Alpha range, which was criticized for being small and inefficient. In real-world usage, I get around 600 shots before depleting the A7R. The A7 III fairs better, at over 700 photos before needing a charge. A LARGER BATTERY PROVIDES MUCH BETTER BATTERY LIFE THAN PRIOR GENERATIONS That’s enough to make it through a day of casual shooting or at least one studio shoot on a full charge, probably with either camera. But if you’re using these for event photography, you’ll definitely want a spare battery or two charged up and ready to go. Both cameras have 3-inch touchscreens — the A7 III’s at 921,600 dot resolution while the A7R has a better 1,440,000 dot version — but that feature is only useful for tapping the screen to focus. Nothing else. Unfortunately, Sony disabled them or mostly everything else they’d be useful for, like navigating the 36 pages of settings (please Sony, redesign the interface). My advice is to get familiar with creating custom settings to avoid the byzantine menu system. Let’sLet’s talk about the A7R first. This is the best camera Sony has ever produced when it comes to dynamic range (15 stops) and resolution (42.4MP). In short, it can take some incredibly crisp and vibrant photos in a wide range of lighting situations. It can even retain the dynamic range while in burst mode! It’s awesome and incredibly useful in scenes where you don’t have time to fiddle around with settings, but also want different versions of the same photo. Also, you can turn it off completely, or have it run automatically so you don’t have to worry about how to set it up. Despite having fewer total AF points than the A7 III and the A9 (399 compared to 693 points) that cover 68 percent of the sensor area, both cameras have the same number of contrast detection points (425), so that’s okay. The majority of AF points are centered in the frame, allowing the joystick to become the perfect precision tool for picking your foci. In practice, the A7R III system still yields fast and accurate AF like the A7 III’s, just not with as many points. To make 42MP stills and 4K video actually useful, the picture needs to be sharp. The A7R has Sony’s famous five-axis stabilization system, which when used with optically stabilized lenses, employs three axes on the sensor and the two inside the lens. The A7R’s official specification for this is 5.5EV, but this isn’t much better than the A7 III’s 5EV rating. However, the A7R struggles below one-fourth second shutter speeds, producing washed-out images and with slower autofocus. The A9 and A7 III both performed better in these scenarios. Another area where high resolution held the A7R back was with image buffering, obviously. With large 42-megapixel files to write at 10fps, you can only save 76 frames in JPG or 76 in compressed RAW format. The A7 III clicks away at 10fps, too, but it can shoot 177 JPGs or 89 RAW images before its buffer fills up and shooting screeches to a halt. In addition, the A7R III has another gimmick, a feature called PSMS (Pixel Shift Multi Shooting). Basically, it takes four images in a row by moving the sensor a pixel between each shot. The four images are then composited into one frame, with supposedly better detail and color accuracy, without hampering the 42MP resolution. It’s different than other pixel shifting techniques, such as Hasselblad’s, which aim to increase the resolution output. THE A7R III’S SHIFTING PIXEL MODE IS LITTLE MORE THAN A GIMMICK Here’s the catch: it won’t work hand-held, won’t work on a moving object, and finally, can’t even be stitched together on the camera; instead you need Sony’s free Imaging Edge software for Mac or PC. It works, but the results aren’t mind-blowingly different from a regular old photo shot on the A7R. Of course, a photographer purchasing a $3,000+ camera isn’t going to solely rely on the rear screen for taking photos in live view mode. What you’d need is a great EVF (electronic viewfinder) that’s only comfortable and pleasing, but useful as a information tool, with accurate framing and high resolution. The A7R wipes the floor with the A7 III in this category. The A7R’s EVF is a joy to use because of its incredible refresh rate of 100-120fps with a 3,686k OLED panel — the perfect marriage between perception and image quality. You’ll notice it most when manually focusing, or zooming with a mid-range to telephoto lens. Overall, it’s simply easier to look through and work with.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camera for a mid-level professional

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 03/02/2020 by khossain (USA)

I bought this camera at the beginning of September 2019 and I paired it with a Sony FE 24-105mm F4 G OSS lens. What a great match and a decision I made. I simply love the camera and how it handles. It also fits perfectly in my hands when I am shooting. I still love my Canon cameras but Sony definitely has the edge and far advanced when it comes to mirrorless cameras. Only negative thing I do not like is how the charging location of the camera and how it dangles from the body when charging.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
27/02/2020

Hi khossain,

We're glad that you like our product! We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks!

~Earl

0

A truly supreme camera which thrills beyond words

Body Only 31/01/2020 by KeithNic (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Such a fabulous piece of engineering and development – I cannot fully put my appreciation in words. Supported by some superb advice readily found on YouTube, by the Sony Ambassadors- my A7 iii with 24-105 G F4 Lens - has catapulted my photography experiences - to previously unheard of levels. I loved my long-standing trusty Nikon, but this is just another world entirely!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Handles well

Body Only 29/01/2020 by Tagster (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I made the change from a Nikon DSLR, it’s going to be a learning curve, but looking forward to the challenge.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic camera

Body Only 24/01/2020 by Graham 33 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera at the beginning of December. I paired the camera with a Sony FE 24-105mm F4 G OSS lens. What a great match. I could list the benefits of this pairing but I won’t! I just highly recommend these products

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

low light master

Body Only 24/01/2020 by Manray67 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago (literally) and it was a great choice at a great price. I have owned many cameras over the years and they have always been Canon. Recently, I decided that my Canon M5 was not helping in my photography and images required too much PP to get the quality I wanted. So, the Sony pre Christmas double cash back offer pushed me to see the light. Since my purchase I have been very happy with the results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

4

0

Great products

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 23/01/2020 by Gerrott_toxic (United Kingdom)

This camera is very good, especially when it comes to video shooting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

GREAT

Body Only 20/01/2020 by eddie06 (United Kingdom)

I bought this a month ago and really please with it

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

A7 mk3

Body Only 19/01/2020 by Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I Bought the camera mainly for video and very happy

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Surpassed my expectations!

Body Only 17/01/2020 by Beazergood (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this just after Xmas having saved up for over a year. My only previous interchangeable lens camera was a Nikon D7000 that’s done me very well for over 10 years. I also own an RX100M5 which has been great for travel the past few years. The a7iii has blown me away in terms of image quality and features. I’m pleased I’ve waited this long as it appears to be a relative ‘bargain’ for a full frame camera with this feature set. I’m not sure how much is down to the camera and how much is down to the Zeiss 55 1.8 lens I’ve paired it up with... either way, I’m suuuuper happy with this setup!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

What would I add

Body Only 14/01/2020 by Focusdown (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Eye focus simple turned my world around , it's amazing , especially when you wedding photographer with documentary style and everyone around you moves fast )))) The only one thing I am missing after using canon - I am missing touch screen menu function , can touch for focus ( wich is great ) ,but to change settings can't . Hope in a7 IV you will add and make my wish came through ( if you are real Santa )))))) Love Edit

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Wow! Finally a camera that I am pleased with!

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 13/01/2020 by KurtVinion (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

So I have had it only a week and the testing I have done so far puts my Canons to shame. I do not say this lightly as I have been using Canon's for 25+ years and I am extremely fussy about file quality. I own or have owned nearly everyone of the Canon pro line of cameras - except the 1dxMarkII. With my line of work (full-time portrait & wedding photographer)I needed a camera that was lighter, responsive and one that excels at night time shooting. As many of my portrait sessions are at night - I need clean files at high iso and a camera that can focus. This Sony A7III is just what I have been waiting for. The bonus, my EF lenses work beautifully (1.2 and 1.4's) Now the questions is A9 or pick up an A7IIIR or the A7IV? Thanks Sony for creating such a wonderful product!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Well designed and well built

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 13/01/2020 by John 1943 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this because I use other cameras with e-mount lenses. Typical Sony, designed to be used rather than an item of Jewellery. Have no doubt that it will be as reliable as other Sony professional products.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Great product! Quick delivery!

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 12/01/2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I finally managed to upgrade to A7III, I cannot say enough how happy I am with it and how happy it makes me to finally shoot on this piece of gear!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

fast autofocus, great low light performance

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 10/01/2020 by gil_mere (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera has very fast and reliable autofocus; Relatively less noise when increasing iso. Camera body feels very solid and well made. One thing i wish this camera has is a flip screen. For Lightroom users, older version of lightroom does not read this camera’s raw files, but you can either update to a newer version of lightroom or download dng converter (which is free). Alternatively, you can use sony’s imaging edge software to process your raw files.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Sony a7iii

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 10/01/2020 by S Slavov (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing camera. Provides rich features, high image quality, excellent performance in low light situations.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fast

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 09/01/2020 by Calum198773 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a fast camera for sports and an all rounder with excellent image quality. I am an amateur photographer and love the camera it’s not to complicated for a beginner and has lots of amazing features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great product

Body Only 09/01/2020 by Nobbyb (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very happy with it, and would look at other Sony products

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Superb sensor, great capabilities

Body Only 07/01/2020 by GeeManLeg (United Kingdom)

This is an excellent camera, and if you find a good deal such as a cashback offer it comes for excellent value. The build quality is great. This sensor easily competes with the very best and shines in dynamic range, low light capability and colour rendering. Good handling too. I love the advantages of the IS, too. I’ve experimented with the A7riii before and whilst that has killer resolution, the file sizes are frustratingly large and the colour rendition, is not as good as the A7iii. Ideally it would have 4K @ 60fps, more visible focus point (the current grey box can get lost), stronger IS for videos and video autofocus tracking. However, Sony have to leave some features for the successor to the a7sii Nevertheless, for its price point, there is nothing which can compete with this camera body in 2020 so far. This is a game changing camera and will do for this decade what Canon’s 5dm3 did for the last.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Curate's egg

Body Only 06/01/2020 by Cat man (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I read all the reviews before buying and would agree with most of what they said... but there are things to think about. The menus are pretty awful but I haven't found them to be a problem in use. There are plenty of ways of customising it all to suit your own preferences. It would be nice to have touch screen capability to go with the menus and I don't understand why Sony have not implemented this. Coming from a Canon with fantastic menus and touch screen, this is a step backwards. It isn't a particularly comfortable camera to hold but neither is it as uncomfortable as some would suggest. The AEL button, which I use a lot, is a bit awkward, but not impossible. The AF-ON for back button focusing is fine. Animal eye AF works surprisingly well at shorter ranges in good light. This was a huge selling point for me! (firmware 3) The viewfinder isn't great but ok once I had shifted the white balance a bit. It is large making it easy to frame. Dioptre adjustment is very good. The big issue for me is a software one - Sony seem determined to add a lot more sharpening/contrast/saturation into the raw files than Canon do so it has been hard to get to the more natural looking colours that I am after. I appreciate that the modern way is a very contrasty saturated look - not my taste at all. I've been using Capture One and have had to work hard to get around this and have not been totally successful. Even with the sharpening turned off, I still think the images - particularly pet hair - look over sharpened. I guess a lot of you will see it differently to me, but be warned if you are after a natural look. It will take some work! Noise levels aren't too bad and better than my APS-C images. I am very touchy about noise and think noise reduction software ruins images so always turn this off in RAW software. I would be willing to use ISO 400 on this camera for larger prints up to 15 by 10 or so. The little plastic doors that cover the inputs are really not up to the job and feel very cheap. Come on Sony - you can do better! Joystick is great. I haven't had any problems with changing my settings unintentionally as I hold and use the camera. The Northrups seem to find this a big problem. USB battery charging is very slow - several hours for a full charge. I bought the camera for its sensor and full frame loveliness. As you can tell I haven't quite got what I wanted yet and there is no doubt in my mind that IF the canon 5dmkiv had been a similar price, I would have gone with that. At the time of purchase the A7iii was over £1000 cheaper. The pet eye AF and availability of tiny little Samyang primes won the day! I only shoot raw so no idea about jpeg images. Happy shooting!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Super focus system

Body Only 06/01/2020  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this camera only a couple of weeks and have not had the opportunity to try the camera out fully but I am impressed with the portraits that I have done so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Stunning pictures in low light

Body Only 03/01/2020  (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera in November 2019. I also have Canon 80d (not selling this camera though) but also wanted a full frame camera after learing a lot about this camera. I certainly have no regrets of buying this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Great

Body Only 03/01/2020 by Piorun (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera for price!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Everything i need

Body Only 29/12/2019 by Andrius35 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love it so far had it only for couple of weeks. Easy to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

0

2

0

This Camera’s a beast!!

Body Only 29/12/2019  (United Kingdom)

I love this Camera!! It’s amazing and the quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great Camera, but very complicated

Body Only 26/12/2019 by iatros666 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I wanted a full frame travel camera, and rejected the full frame offerings by Canon and Nikon, and knew I could use Canon lenses on this system. Camera feels great and looks good. All the people I know say it is complex to set up, and you have to spend a bit of time to get the best out of it. I bought the 24-240 FE zoom which has turned out to be a lot better than reviews suggested. Reluctant to buy other lenses as they are so expensive. Results comparable with my Canon 5D mk II. Smaller than my Canon, but no lightweight with lenses attached. Very fine performance in automatic mode. Can use cheaper E mount APSC lenses, but they will crop.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0