119

4.7 based on 119 customer reviews

95
17
6
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Simply stunning!

Body Only 03/05/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My colleague and I now have 4 of these which (having transferred from Canon after 15 years) we use in both our studio and for wedding photography and video. It isn’t perfect but it’s close! Stunning autofocus, which in itself is worth the purchase, superb GM glass makes this so sharp you could cut yourself, amazing low light quality and brilliant button customization. The DR is brilliant and with our tests have pulled back from nearly 3 stops!!! All the photos below were taken with 24-70 f2.8 GM or 70-200 f2.8 GM. Improvements for the future: fully articulated screen!!! Brighter screen!!! Improve that menu!!! Give us a battery charger please guys! We all know you may call this the “basic model” but that’s just marketing! This was always going to be a winner with us pros so come on, don’t be tight (I say with tongue in cheek because that price is simply remarkable and can only be to annoy the other market leaders!) :-)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Great, Game Changing Camera, Awful Menu.

Body Only 02/05/2018 by SmilingG (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera to explore the exciting developments in auto focusing. Compared to previous Sony models, and to other manufacturers’ models, the A7iii is so much better. But the big let down is the awful menu. Where do you find all the settings to get the most out of the auto focusing ? All over the place ! It has been trial and error finding out what works and what doesn’t work. Two of us who own this camera have spent hours ” fiddling “ to find out how to track, find out when Eye AF works. It isn’t intuitive, it is not a camera for the faint hearted. When focusing using the viewfinder or in live view, the light grey box is almost impossible to see, it should be yellow or orange. If there had been a fully articulating screen with proper touch screen using the camera would be so much easier.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

7

4

119 Customer Reviews

2 Models

Models

0

Great camera

Body Only 12/11/2018 by Salomon1 (United Kingdom)

I have the camera for two months now, and it is very good. I use it for filming and photo.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent camera

Body Only 09/11/2018 by tomh9 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a good value full frame camera - any from the a7 line are good value. The 7iii is outstanding, very pleased with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great product and value for mooney

Body Only 08/11/2018  (United Kingdom)

I'm so happy and brought this couple of week before

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A7iii is a Beast!

Body Only 05/11/2018 by Uddini81 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have upgraded from Sony a7s. This camera is WOW!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

WHAT A CAMERA!

Body Only 30/10/2018 by TimDTNT (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A phenomenal camera with amazing features. The AF is spot on, Eye AF amazing... A wedding photographers dream

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

camera from future

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 22/10/2018 by dykumu vejas (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought a camera for the sony 7 III a few months ago. I used to be my colleague, so I was so familiar with the camera. I met the quality for commercial purposes, but I did not like the life of the battery. After this problem was released, I did not doubt it and drastically shifted from the other firm to the iSony. Take 5-year warranty, quiet shutter speed, dual-focus system, full-screen focus. fantasy Face Detection The focus on the eye system is also unrealistic. I was not going to put 1600 in the past to keep up with quality. Now that quality is up to 5000. Of course, there is a lot of determination for glitches, but to understand and what is needed. instruction is poorly informative. Plus, the battery is not recharged through the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Fabulous camera!!

Body Only 18/10/2018 by Fred55 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a few days ago and immediately put it through its paces by taking it on a short trip to Eskdale in the Lake District. This camera replaces my trusted Canon 5D Mark iii which is an amazing camera but is getting too heavy for me. I am so pleased I made the switch to Sony. The Alpha 7 mark 3 is as good if not better than my Canon full frame DSLR. I am so impressed with the fast auto focus, the quality of the pictures (beautifully crisp) and the eye recognition focus. This feature is a real game changer for me. I also bought a Sigma converter which allows me to use my Canon EF lenses (Be careful, it will NOT work with EF-S lenses though!). I bought this Sony camera with a Sony/Zeiss 24-70mm lens and the Sigma converter for Canon lenses from Jessops in Nottingham and I was very impressed by the service. Tom who is their Sony specialist was superb and gave me some excellent advice.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

good

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 13/10/2018 by SokPhin (United Kingdom)

i would like this produce so much ! and i will try take time with it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

No brainer

Body Only 13/10/2018 by joaolpinho (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I finnally arrived from my first trip with this camera and it delivered what was promised, good quality photos with amazing low light capability and a smooth slow motion footage. It's size is compact and when combined with a small lens it becomes easy to fit it into a backpack along with other necessities for the day, BUT when using a lens like for instance the GM 24-70mm f2.8 you start to feel like there could be 2 more centimetres in height to enable you to grab the camera with all your fingers. Now, I have to say that when shooting all my fingers are accounted for on the camera, but when reveiewing or walking with the camera in my hand my pinky starts feeling lonely on the bottom of the camera. Overall it is a great great product, the best value for money right now. I just wont give it 5* for the size issue (even though mirrorless are supposed to be small they don't need to be the minimum size possible) and also for the body that could feel more heavy duty like the DSLR cameras feel.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Awesome gear

Body Only 12/10/2018 by Youdonneedtoknow (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great auto white blalance, great ergonomic great sensor, great dinamic range. just need something to cover the senzor when changing lenses, i have sony 7 iii for two weeks now and I have dust spots on my sensor,that's something what needs to be develop and fix the problem.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Speedy focus

Body Only 12/10/2018 by gordonelll (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This still a recent purchase and I am coming from Canon DSLRs so am still on a learning curve but so far everything I read seems spot on.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Very disappointing

Body Only 11/10/2018 by fabio_dell (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bough this A7 MIII one month ago after a long research on the web. I come from a Nikon D7100 and I wanted to switch to a higher performance camera. In the beginning I was not so convinced about going for a Full Frame camera but after many many hours spent watching reviews and reading specs, the INTERNET convinced me to for a SONY A7 III + Tamron 28-75 f2.8. They were saying "it's worth 2000$ more it's worth more than a D850 which cost much more...". For these lenses reviews were sensational as well. Once received my sony and unboxed, it seemed to me to have a cheap camera in my hands. Mounting the lenses I noticed a weird friction but at the end the lenses mounted easily, it was just a strange feeling. Now going straight to the point I will summarize here the good and the bad points: GOOD POINTS: - Low light performances during videos. Here I'm really impressed by this camera, I never seen something like that before. - Very good ergonomics. I have medium hands and the camera fits perfectly in them. BAD POINTS: - I thought AF speed was much faster especially during videos. With photos, my Nikon D7100 was faster than sony. About videos I really can't compare but I expected a much higher speed. - During video recording, if there are several people in in the shot, the camera continuously changes focus from a person to another one because maybe it choose that another face is better than the previous one. - EYE autofocus once catched, is very unstable and the little square appears and disappears continuously. It's confusing during the shot. - Center lock on AF is not very stable on the subject and actually you can't trust it. Sometimes the focus on the subject it's not very accurate, sometimes it is completely lost. - Turn on time very slow compared with my D7100 (2 seconds and strange noises happening during this time). - Very expensive lenses. - Low monitor quality: not so big, not so bright. The resolution is not very high considering this will be your main window on the world. The space for the monitor has not well optimized considering the total space available. - Viewfinder has different colors than the monitor. Here the resolution is even lower than the monitor and looking through that it's very irritating. - Smartphone APP very poor. It's almost impossible to use that for professional purpose. You only can use that like a game. - Maybe my unit is defective but there is a problem with the SD card slot 1. Inserting the SD card is not very easy. In my case to attach the SD card you have to push very deep with fingernails. Sometimes it happens that when you turn the camera ON for a couple of seconds it shows "NO CARD" message. Some other times it is ok. So now I'm very disappointed with this camera, it seems to be a game where time after time I discover a new defect with this camera. It seems to me like a fake Ferrari, where maybe there is something really taken from a Ferrari. The rest is taken from FIAT. Nevermore SONY, I'm really sorry about that, I almost want to cry.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

4

6

0

Amazing all round performance and features.

Body Only 03/10/2018 by I3R0k3N7FEET (United Kingdom)

I bought this just as the Canon EOS R came out, and I was very tempted to go for the Canon, would have saved a little money over the A7III + the 24-105 G lens. however, I am glad I went with Sony, despite a few niggly problems, such as 1. it is heavy! 2.non flippy screen! 3. takes a while to get around the UI. 4. takes a little while to get used to the focus modes and how they can change. 5. the 'weather sealing' is a little underwhelming. the fact is, this thing takes amazing shots all thanks to that sensor, and right now for my uses, that sensor means everything, when combined with the fantastic range of lenses available, this simply captures the moments I want regardless of lighting conditions. I have barely got used to it and am blown away, and the battery life is fantastic. The primary things that would make this 5 stars is, a full flippy screen, and an improved UI, but on that latter note, its far better than Nikon's UI. Overall Glad I went to Sony, and this camera delivered.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

1

0

0

Excellent camera. Very fast autofocus! Love it!

Body Only 03/10/2018 by Gert1972 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera 3 weeks ago. Still very happy that i got it. I really love the camera with my tamron 28-75mm F2.8 lens. Very fast! Awesome photo quality!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony A7 111 What a camera

Body Only 26/09/2018 by Spitfire7950 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

What a camera! leave Nikon and Canon for dead This is the best camera I have ever own

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

fast focussystem and many possibilities

Body Only 25/09/2018 by Revodiver (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

with the different focusing systems it really easy to make pin sharp pictures

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Amazing top quality in every way!

Body Only 23/09/2018 by JaWalUk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Amazing. Sharp. Detailed images. Ergonomics, buttons, switches are fantastic. Battery life amazing. Beautiful upgrade from my previous APSC cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

An awesome camera !

Body Only 20/09/2018 by Emgee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 2 weeks ago and i used it at a wedding for video. I am still learning this camera but I am in love with it so far. It brings a lot of value to my projects. It is a well built camera with magnificent capabilities.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Mind = blown

Body Only 18/09/2018 by funkiegomez (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace my ageing Nikon APS-C DSLR and it has totally changed how I approach videography and photography. I'm stunned by how good this camera is, on almost every level. Whilst many amateurs will recoil at the price tag, if you know anything about cameras, you'll know that this is worth every penny it's worth. Sony have turned the consumer photography world on it's head, and now the big players are playing catch-up.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Fantastic camera

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 17/09/2018 by CWL74 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to replace my A7 Mark 1, although similar in appearance, its a completely different beast. The main reason for the upgrade was for better battery capacity, faster autofocus and in-built stabilisation. The camera has exceeded all expectations. Pros: better image quality, better dynamic range, fast autofocus, the autofocus system, custom buttons, larger grip for better handling, 2 memory card slots, great video quality and in-built stabilisation. Limited touch screen function could be a pro or con for some. I have a works Panasonic G7 with fully functioning touch screen, its ok but I don't miss it on the A7. The layout of the buttons are so good, its quicker and more accurate than a touch screen. Cons: Slightly heavier than the Mark 1 especially with the FE 24-240mm lens, the menu is extensive but I guess there's no getting away from it with such a sophisticated camera, no separate charger and poorly placed USB charging port. When charging via USB, the cover has to be rotated 90 degrees downwards so the cover extend beyond the base of the camera. This prevents the camera from being placed on a flat surface during charging - something so simple that causes great inconvenience.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Best camera ever tried

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 17/09/2018 by Fedelefff (USA)

Coming from Canon, then Nikon. My last camera before the iii was Nikon D750, I must say this one is a big jump up in terms of image quality especially in low lights, weight and AF / eye AF. Well done Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Amazing camera for daylight shooting

Body Only 17/09/2018 by frasershotphoto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love it, I shoot on DSLR all the time and was amazed at how well this camera works in low light and focuses so well in comparison to the Canon pro cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

so far so good

Body Only 17/09/2018 by wilhelmjw (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this about 3 weeks ago been happy with it so far. still scared of how it will handle the weather tho.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Still testing, but happy

Body Only 12/09/2018 by erethilclaw (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera itself is great, the stabilzer is awesome, can shoot at 1/8 shutter speed without problems and 6400 iso is quite clean. I miss a user guide, has a lot of custom options and will like to have an eplanation of every option inside the camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Fantastic all round camera

Body Only 09/09/2018 by Sanduk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera last month and have learnt so much already. The camera is packed full of features that will satisfy all my needs for a long time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Only complete mature full frame system.

Body Only 09/09/2018 by A Gandhi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased after the Nikon Z6/Z7 revealed and now after seeing the Canon R I can say I’m very happy about going to Sony alpha E mount. Love the massive amount of features as a hybrid shooter. I’m completely new to having a hybrid mirrorless system. So I don’t have any old glass to adapt or sell. As a new person I was glad to see what canon and Nikon are coming out with. Why the Sony alpha series is and will remain my choice. Firstly I can’t fault the sheer amount of features on the a7iii. Great sensor with amazing dynamic range with IBIS. And as a video shooter the 4K s-log is amazing even in low light. The IBIS could be better and also I would like 4:4:4 or atleast 4:2:2 even if it’s only 8 Bit. This to me would be much more useful. And I want this internal I don’t want to have a external recorder as I use this a lot with the DJI ronin S. Speaking of which I hope DJI and Sony fix the pull focus and control focus using the Ronin S. I know the they are making a update to control shutter. But overall I still can’t fault the camera compared to the alternatives. The 4K might be the best out the camera and with the amazing autofocus for both stills and video I’m truly impressed given the price. A someone new to a full frame system, E mount Glass is at a level I can do everything I want. I got the Tamron 28-75 F2.8 and can’t fault it. Very very sharp lens. Tried the Zeiss Batis and think they will be fantastic for hybrid use. Battery life is not an issue, love usb charging one wire can charge MacBook, ronin S and a7iii makes it simple just wish my phone had usb c. Use the two SD cards one for photos and one for video makes post processing easy. Play memory’s app sucks sharing photos. Works but isn’t fun or easy to use. But haven’t seen anything good by any camera manufacturer. Wish they would learn from android or iOS. Touch screen should be able to control menu but can’t. First time menu and button set up is complex but once done is set up is perfect. No issue but touch screen for menu control is annoying. Overall I have complaints that I’m keen so say as I’m now pouring money into E mount but the thing is I know if we all complain they will put these fixes into mark 4 versions Sony seem to listen and get better and better. With out a doubt there over 5 years head start is giving them a massive advance compared to the others for mirrorless.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Very Happy with my Purchase

Body Only 09/09/2018 by Asken (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this for a few weeks only so its fairly new to me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A camera that will reach cult status. here's why :

Body Only 05/09/2018 by K_Dua (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm mostly a people photographer, either candid or studio stuff. I shoot a lot of architecture and some landscape too... but my gigs mostly rely on events. I shoot big Nikon FF cameras, but i also shoot small Fuji and now SONY, also. Which fits more or less in the middle, size-wise. I must say that .. if you are in doubt, towards an A7III.. don't be. Its a really really solid camera. It does everything i need, in a smaller package..than a FF DSLR. In fact, ergonomics are the only thing i dislike about this camera. I got an L-Bracket with a biffier grip for my tiny Fuji..and i got a similar one for the A7III. Be used to a big camera..this was the way i dealt with this change. Mirrorless is different ! The added bonus is _ whenever i need a smaller camera, i just remove the L-bracket.. Great ! No i can pack a FF body on a tiny waist pouch. Once one gets used to the tighter space for controls&buttons.. one can customize just EVERY single thing, in this camera. It's been growing on me, and soon... i know i won't be picking my DSLR that much, anymore. AF points throughout almost all of the sensor area..and pretty good focus accuracy. To me, mirrorless wins because of : . Silent shooting _ which is awesome, i repeat awesome, namely at indoor venues..and street photography.. (be careful with banding) . . realtime exposure on the EVF. I'm quicker to balance and compose my shot now. The online criticism over the viewfinder resolution is overhyped. It does the job well. The camera performance is unchallenged and at least 2 years ahead of Nikon & Canon's mirrorless.. As soon as Sony gets enough glass on the more niche focal distances it will grab a solid place on the FF market.. and a place to stay. As a Nikon shooter for years.. i must say i'm staying with Sony. 10 or 15 years from now.. i will still be a proud owner of a A7III, i will still brag about the pics i took with it .. and i will be able to say that in deed, it was a game changer. Because it is ! It changed the market.. because it changes the way we shoot. The only ones that don't like it are the ones that are resisting the adaptation to a more capable concept. The video is awesome (although if i was video based i would wait for the A7SIII for the 10bit encoding), the battery is EXCELLENT.. i repeat EXCELLENT.. and the main reason why i got the Sony in the 1st place; the eye AF is just one of those things that no one else is doing.. For stills, colour science is very solid, high ISO noise is brilliant and dynamic range is still raising the bar, on FF sensors. And....all of this for 2000€. It's a no-brainer.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Best mirrorless camera for its money!

Body Only 02/09/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had it for about a month and I can safely say that exceeds all my expectations. From its hardware, to its weight and endless settings, the a7iii is the best camera for pro-summer photographers. Whether you plan on shooting video or photography, be sure to test this camera before spending ridiculous amounts of money on other high end cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The future

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 02/09/2018 by sadphil01 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

For years I've struggled with cameras being too expensive for indoor sports photography but not anymore! This camera is amazing. I've been a nikon guy for years but that's gone now. This is just the most amazing camera in low light. Even with the stock lens it takes amazing photos & the tracking is unbelievable. Oh yes & it shoots 4k video! It's amazing & has just changed the game as far as cameras are concerned. This is the one!, don't delay, get out there & get one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Blew my socks off

Body Only 01/09/2018 by Wanderer3 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was taken with the 100-400mm G master lens handheld from approx. 200 metres. I am blown away by the detail and sharpness of the image. I had a High end Nikon camera prior to this and using a 200-500mm lens and tripod I could not get results this good

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Best camera ever !!!

Body Only 29/08/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Made research, checked pros and cons and decide to go for Sony A7III. None of my friends has Sony but after so many good reviews I made my decision. I bought few weeks ago and it's exactly I wish for. I hope now to get some lenses ... the price is still a bit expensive for me but until now so fa so good :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony A7M3

Body Only 28/08/2018 by dcash (United Kingdom)

Pros Noticeable improvement of image quality from the A7M2. Excellent battery duration upgrade Dual SD slot Cons Charging body cover, prone to breakage Unable to view Histogram & electronic level simultaneously in EVF (same issue on A7M2 - easy firmware fix) No Panoramic picture mode No allowance to view focus point location in software

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Glad I made the switch

Body Only 27/08/2018 by alkalloyd (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As a former Nikon user it took me a while to get use to all the changes of this camera but I wouldn't look back, the autofocus is crisp and you get use to it very quickly. My first outing was in Indonesia on a campaign and Ive got some of the best photos i've ever taken on that trip. Cant wait to use it some more!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Perfect Pictures

Body Only 27/08/2018 by Big Mal (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased this to reduce the weight while still shooting full frame, it takes a little while to get used to the menu layout, but the use of allocating buttons for different modes is really useful. The whole design and layout is great together with fantastic glass makes this a joy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Outstanding value for money

Body Only 23/08/2018 by mchoudhury (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this from Jessops over a month ago. The camera is nicely weighted and is constructed with excellent materials. Went for body only and bought the FE 85mm and FE 28mm prime lenses instead. The pictures are stellar sharp, and focus is exceptionally fast. Low light capability is incredible. If the articulated screen could come round to the front for vlogging it would be perfect. Favourite features are the silent shutter and the ability to customise the buttons for fast and simple shooting. Using this camera for portraiture and street photography. Size makes it less conspicuous and easier to take candid shots. In short it’s a camera packed with features found normally in premium cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

This camera delivers!

Body Only 22/08/2018 by Belendax (United Kingdom)

I'm not a new costumer to Sony mirror-less cameras. But this camera surprise me again although I knew what am I going to get from it. I've upgraded from the basic and the first a7 to a7iii. The quality of the sensor is amasing, auto focus is like wow (thanks to a9 technology), low light performance is not an issue at all. I tried this camera on weddings, live show performances photography , portrait and beauty shots, dancing photography and street photography. it delivers all.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best camera ever

Body Only 16/08/2018 by brinx (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really enjoying using this camera, so smart focus and user friendly teachers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Too good to be this cheap

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 15/08/2018 by nunordm (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The build quality is amazing but the pic quality is even better! I could not believe what I was capable to do with this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

It seems to have all I want going full full frame

Body Only 14/08/2018 by Camera Pete (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have a A6000 but wanted to go full frame. Only had the A7 for a few days but seems to have every thing I need to go full frame

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Comparison with D750

Body Only 11/08/2018 by Blackwood57 (United Kingdom)

Normally camera is a D750, but after reading about the focus capabilities of the A7iii, in particular the eye focus, I decided to buy. Impression after taking it on a 3-week holiday and about a months use at home are: 1. Smaller form factor, but no noticeable difference in weight. 2. Focusing system is as good as they say. 3. Low light does not produce as good a result as the D750, both cameras were hand held, so there may be a difference when on a tripod. 4. I’ve be struggling to find a camera bag that fits it, most that I have end up with the Sony at the bottom and I have to reach down to get, rather than as with the D750 where its right to hand. Overall I’m happy I changed, but will continue to use the D750 for night work.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Fully spec'd full frame mirrorless priced right!

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 10/08/2018 by cvctiger (USA)

Coming from owning Nikon DSLR's I never thought of looking into mirrorless cameras because I thought they still had disadvantages with battery life and mirrorless being relatively new tech. After doing much research and seeing what Sony has done, where they have surpassed others in mirrorless tech, I decided that it was time to upgrade not only to mirrorless but also into full frame. Hence my purchase of the Sony A7III w/ 28-70mm. The physical dimensions and features just outdoes I believe the top 2 camera mfgs, Nikon and Canon which their mirrorless line is abysmal. Don't get me wrong, being that I was a loyal Nikon user, I looked at their now defunct Nikon1 @14mp, that just clued me in even more that they were WAY behind Sony. I am glad I made the switch over. I am still overwhelmed with the features this camera offers. Being somewhat between a beginner and intermediate photographer, I am eager now more than ever to learn what I can do with this camera compared to when I used Nikon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Almost perfect camera

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 09/08/2018 by Didiermobiles (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Comming from Canon 7dm2 it's the best step I ever did! This camera makes my shoots less complex and much more fun.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great features

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 08/08/2018 by kostas307 (United Kingdom)

One of the best cameras money can buy. Offers a lot of features that other camera companies can't compete.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent responsive camera, great pics!

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 03/08/2018 by chiark (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having moved from a Nikon D70 to an NEX-5, I liked the size of mirrorless cameras as my camera went more places with me, but wanted better handling and picture quality than the NEX-5 delivered. After quite a lot of research, I decided to go for the A7 mark 3, with kit lens, and am delighted with it. The results are stunning: what I particularly like is the dynamic range which seems way better than any other camera I've used, but not unnatural. The ability to shoot in low light with no flash is a league above previous cameras too, with ISO 4000 being great in my eyes, and higher ISOs perfectly acceptable. Focus is lightning fast (even with the kit lens), accurate, and easy to control - customizable buttons (or the function menu) provide the ability to change to other modes of focus, metering, drive, whatever when shooting. The memory recall settings work brilliantly, and I can hand the camera over to family members and get good results in auto. I did buy the 24-240 lens quickly afterwards, and whilst somewhat compromised as a megazoom always will be in terms of absolute sharpness and contrast, it meant I walked around Rome with 1 lens on, and could get shots in every situation. For me the combination of outstanding image quality, great focus, metering and ISO, and exceptionally good handling is a winning combination

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great video quality

Body Only 03/08/2018 by ianr2304 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was looking for a quality 4K image for my projects and I found one in this camera with great focusing speed ... which is essential for video shooting

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great

Body Only 02/08/2018  (United Kingdom)

Was more than expected, low light performance second to none.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Greate use

Body Only 02/08/2018 by Marcin7 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this month ago and it was excellent decision

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great camera, lack of lenses

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 29/07/2018 by verb (USA)

While this is clearly an outstanding camera in most respects, the lack of a fully articulated screen and viable lenses holds it back. Too many people are looking at 3rd party converters to enable the use of canon ef lenses. The lack of a supplied battery charger, coupled with the ridiculous price of the sony charger and sony battery is ridiculous considering the price of the camera, this is also applicable to the below average camera strap.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
31/07/2018

Hi Verb, We're sorry to hear that this camera didn't meet your expectations. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. Rest assured that your feedback will not go unseen and will be directed to the proper department. Regards, Jen

0

No regrets!

Body Only 28/07/2018 by RichC58 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is truly excellent! My local dealer put two boxes down on the counter, one containing the A7lll body and the other, the Zeiss 24-70 f4. This is what you are looking for, period! Once set up, the above combination is unbeatable. Handling and balance in the hand is superb when used with the above mentioned lens, Image quality is the best of any digital camera I have used so far. Colour balance is spot on every time using auto, colour rendition second to none. OSS as good as it gets, low light shooting is a breeze! High ISO noise is good, although I don't like to take it beyond 1600 for my purposes. Key with this camera is that I have more keepers for less shots. It is far more reliable and consistent than other manufacturers cameras that I have used, more often than not, one shot will do it!!! Down side, I hate long winded menus and pressing buttons, and this camera has both to the point of annoyance, but, I'll put up with it for the picture quality I'm getting. Eye wateringly expensive, but then I guess you get what you pay for! Hopefully Sony will come up with a camera body that relies less on buttons and more on old fashioned dials. In the mean time, I intend to use this camera until it drops dead from over use!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

so far so good

Body Only 24/07/2018 by phil wade (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Still testing. It is wonderful to have so many menu choices, but it could take a few hours to sort out what setting does what, or goes with which other setting. Thank goodness the battery now gives me much more playtime for discovery.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Serious Dust Problems!

ILCE-7M3 / ILCE-7M3K 24/07/2018 by johnross (USA)

I have shot for 5 years on Canon cameras and never had a single piece of dust on a sensor. On the a7iii every single picture I have ever taken has dust on it. I have to manually clean the sensor almost daily, and dust will still find its way to the sensor in the second it takes to put a lens back on it. No automatic dust cleaning? Serious design flaw here. Also, no in-camera intervalometer and very limited time-lapse movies. Also has occasional white balance issues indoors. Other than that it's great. Excellent picture quality and ergonomics - so long as you're ok with photoshopping dust spots off every single picture.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

Fabulous first full frame camera

Body Only 21/07/2018 by Chilled1963 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first full frame camera and I’ve not regretted the upgrade. Paired it initially with the Tamron 28-75 and am very impressed!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Grate quality

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 20/07/2018 by Datang00 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Moved from Canon with high expectations which were exceeded

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great and handy

Body Only 19/07/2018 by Antony56 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought nearly one month I am happy with this product .thank you sony

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Great all round camera

Body + 28-70 mm Zoom Lens 16/07/2018  (United Kingdom)

I bought thi camera to months ago and i have been hapy with this purchase

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Excellent 42MP quality.

Body Only 16/07/2018 by Google plus (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent IQ. As you'd expect from 42MP. Lucky enough to capture this on my first day of shooting with it. (If you don't like insects look away now)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

5

0

Exciting

Body Only 12/07/2018 by DBro (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Recently bought so these are only first impressions, but Ii am so far very pleased with my camera. it seems easy to use and the results are excellent bu I have alot to learn to make best use of it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

PRICE

Body Only 11/07/2018 by JONNA (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

/Volumes/Untitled/DCIM/101MSDCF/DSC00099.JPG/Volumes/Untitled/DCIM/101MSDCF/DSC00108.JPG

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good camera, but overheats and turns off

Body Only 03/07/2018 by EddJ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this camera just over 1 month, it is a good camera, but the overheat is a big problem - and thats just I the cold UK, imagine when I take it somewhere hot like the Middle East or Asia!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

4

3

0

excellent camera for its value

Body Only 30/06/2018 by Shabi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the camera 2 months ago and that's my 3rd camera I'm so happy with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Best Camera

Body Only 28/06/2018 by Dyllan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Incredible features, even better price point. There is no better camera at the price point. I bought it a month ago, and could not be happier. Converted all my previous gear to Sony, and haven't looked back.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Best camera of the year

Body Only 25/06/2018 by yukyankee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A big step up from DSLR APS-C for me. Everything is great except the screen and EVF.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Well impressed

Body Only 24/06/2018 by Stridles (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first full frame sony having bought the A6000 a couple of years ago. I have several canon bodies and lenses and was going to use adapters but decided to go the whole way and purchased two zoom lenses. The pictures I'm getting are excellent and the features on the camera excellent especially the eye focus .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Exceeded My Expectations!

Body Only 19/06/2018 by KhaledC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having long awaited this camera I was very excited to receive it. It does exactly what you want it to do and easy to get used to (I moved from a Nikon D800); the dual UHS-II SD card slots is a life saving feature for someone who constatnly forgets his SD cards hanging on the computer. The aspect of this camera I was most surprised about was video; it’s just flawless, even in low-light! I am very positive you won’t be disappointed with it. However, if I want to be fair and very critical, I would say that the only downsides I found were the screen and viewfinder that seemed to be a bit too pixellated at times ... Otherwise, I am thrilled to have this camera and can’t wait to see what more I can do with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Simply put.... Wow.

Body Only 18/06/2018 by Tom_W (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nothing more needs to be said really, all the reviews are true, it is quite a special thing. Absolutely brilliant. 2 niggles though, as a Mac user you won't be able to preview raw files, you'll have to load them into Lightroom/photoshop/equivalent to view them (Apple problem) You also won't be able to delete the raw files from the computer (again, I assume apple problem) besides that. Amazing. Just consider the grip if you have big hands!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Everything I hoped it'd be

Body Only 16/06/2018 by AndyKMil (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've owned this camera for about a month now and have loved it. I am onlu using it with adapted Canon lenses, but I've been blown away by the results. I've found it very easy to use, it seems very robust, the picture quality is excellent. The much critisised menu system is no where near as bad as I'd feared and the customisable user menu makes it easy to find your most used options anyway. I love the customisability of the well layed out buttons. OK so it doesn't come with a seperate battery charger, but I found cheap 3rd party options very easily and the battery life is nothing short of amazing. I change the battery on my Canon 5d mk IV far more frequently. The only real down side is the dreadfully awful software that sony provide to manage your photos, PlayMemories (it's certainly unforgetable). I've not seen a worse photography utility anywhere, it's such a shame that more effort has not been put into this very important part of the process. I give the product 5 stars because I've found ways around it's two weakest features (battery charger missing and PlayMemories)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great value for money

Body Only 16/06/2018 by Anders82 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Packed with features alongside a practical well-built body and great battery life, this is incredible value for money. The image quality, auto-focus, dual card slots, and eye AF are fantastic.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Job Done

Body Only 15/06/2018 by WeeMalky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I recently purchased this as all the reviews raved about it and it had some of the features that I missed on the A7ii 10frames p/s being one of them and although I have the excellent A6500 I like the full frame format.I have found that the focusing has improved over the A7ii which pleased me no end.This photo was taken with the FE100-400 + x1.4 teleconverter I am pleased with this shot as gannets are pretty fast moving birds

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Camera

Body Only 14/06/2018 by Coyleybhoy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very Good Camera , having upgraded from the a6500 , this camera is so much better, not that the a6500 is bad its also great , but this just feels so much more professional, the battery life is amazing as it the focus , my only gripe is not tiimelapse function

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Blown away

Body Only 10/06/2018 by 20andrew20 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Blown away at the quality of this entry level Sony monster. The 4k video, the image quality, the eye autofocus, the picture profiles, the size of the camera, the connectivity options, tiltable back screen just impressed with so many functions that make life as a photographer easier.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Poor

1

1

0

Brilliant Camera

Body Only 09/06/2018 by rthom631 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a couple of weeks ago. I wanted a full frame camera and it came down to the Sony or Nikon D750. I looked at both and opted for the Sony. This camera has so many features packed into the body. Everything works well and the autofocus is amazing. Its early days yet but Im so happy with the cameras performance so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0