Skip to Content
125

4.8 based on 125 customer reviews

100
23
1
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Tiny yet Mighty

ILCE-7RM2 26/01/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've always liked small cameras because the essence of photography, for me, it to go places and photograph what I see, and a heavy, bulky camera has many drawbacks for this use. Until now small cameras have come with compromises, but the A7RII leverages Sony's technology and design expertise to put everything that's needed into a very small package. The viewfinder has removed all my previous doubts about non-optical finders, the silent shutter option is brilliant in many situations and the image quality is spectacular. I've paired the camera with the Sony 28mm f2.0 lens and the Wide Convertor that gives me a 21mm f2.8, also a Leica 50mm lens which is very fast to focus using peaking. This setup fits into a very small bag, one that was originally bought for a Leica M kit. I'm able to continue using my Canon EOS lenses using a third-party adaptor. AF performance is excellent but long term I'll be switching to native Sony FE-mount lenses to unleash all the camera features, e.g. eye focus. It's no small thing to switch camera systems, especially when you rely on them as tools to make a full-time living, but after 25 years it looks like "sayōnara" Canon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Broke Down after 3 Weeks!

ILCE-7RM2 12/09/2015 by Taid (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I sold my A7 and had my A7r2 for 3 weeks when it went wrong on me. It kept switching itself off.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

7

1

125 Customer Reviews

0

Fantastic camera

ILCE-7RM2 09/11/2017 by KANAPATHI (United Kingdom)

easy to carry any where and use full frame camera, takes very good picture.Trying to learn more about it, too early to review fully

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Amazing camera

ILCE-7RM2 30/10/2017 by Pauld77 (United Kingdom)

I bought this camera because of the resolution and great dynamic range. I do a lot of interior shots in low light and the dynamic range in the 42MP raw files give me the exposure latitude I need in difficult lighting situations. The silent shutter mode is also a very useful feature. Coupled with the new FE 12-24 mm f4 G lens I am getting great sharp detailed images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Just a great camera.

ILCE-7RM2 25/10/2017 by Mike Mce (United Kingdom)

As a professional I have moved over from Nikon, to the Sony range of cameras and are extremely pleased with the results. And have no regrets about moving over to Sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Extraordinary piece of equipment!

ILCE-7RM2 23/10/2017 by GritsnSalsa (USA)

I upgraded from a Sony NEX 5r that I absolutely LOVE. I am so impressed with the quality of the a7RII! I purchased it in June 2017 and I am still learning to use all the really cool features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The camera is everything I hoped it would be.

ILCE-7RM2 14/10/2017  (United Kingdom)

I have only had the camera a couple of weeks, and so far it has impressed me.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Overall - The Best Camera I've Owned

Body Only 11/10/2017 by Ben S (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I decided to move to Sony's platform from shooting Nikon's D810 and I'm really glad I did. While the controls might not be quite as intuitive as my Nikon D810 and this camera definitely wouldn't work well as a weapon in a pinch, the image quality is so perfect and amazing that it's forgivable. Here are the pros and cons as I see them to owning the SonyA7rII: Pros: Amazing image quality - the best I've ever seen - and I did a lot of side by side with the D850. When dealing with high end camera's that occupy very top of the DxoMark scale, it really comes down to specific needs and personal preference. The EVF is absolutely fantastic to use. It's clear, the colors are wonderfully vibrant and true to life, and the ability to zoom in on far away objects from the viewfinder for perfect focus is a great benefit worth the extra demand on the battery. Silent mode which uses an electric front shutter is great and now (after upgrading to the latest firmware version) appears to work when uncompressed RAW is selected Though small, this camera feels solid and, with the grip, fits my large hands comfortably Though Sony doesn't have a large lens selection, the lenses they do have are insanely sharp and bar none among the best I've ever owned, particularly their Zeiss lenses and new Sony "G" lenses. To give some perspective - the best lens for Nikon ends at a 36 sharpness rating, Sony's lens lineup almost starts where Nikon leaves off and goes up to an insane 46 rating (per DxoMark). I can use this camera with ALL of my vintage glass including Nikkor AI and NAI MF lenses, Helios, Pentacon, Zeiss, and INDUSTAR, etc. All that's needed is a simple adapter and each of every one of theses lenses benefits from Sony's 5-axis in-body image stabilization. the shallow depth of the camera body ensures it's compatible with virtually every 35mm camera lens ever made - something that I ran into trouble with on my D810 because Nikon actually has the widest body of all camera makes. My M42 mount lenses (for example) would have to be mounted slightly inside of the D810 body to get the right magnification and infinite focus. And that's not even an option because doing this risks destroying the mirror. Even vintage Nikkor AI and NAI lenses can't be used without fairly major modification which also ruins the lens value. A lot of people seem to really dislike the A7 line UI. I personally kind of like the interface. Maybe it’s because I work with a lot of technology, but I find it pretty simple to use and after owning my camera for a few weeks have the placement of everything committed to my long-term memory. It also looks more modern than Nikon or Cannon’s UI. It might seem a little segmented at first, but in the end, everything kind of makes sense as a whole so I’m counting it as a pro. Love that Sony included two batteries and a charger. This really makes me feel like I bought a high-end camera. If they’d throw in a screen protector (see my grumble below), I’d be completely happy with the included accessories. Cons: The battery life could be better I'd love to see the build quality be just a bit more robust. I.e. I wouldn't take this on out in sub zero weather, do a photo-shoot in a sand storm, or bring it with me white water rafting. Even decent weather sealing would be a nice gesture. This one is probably on the top of my list - I'd love to see dedicated controls for all major settings that I use every day. I can set the aperture from the back dial and the exposure from the front dial, but it would be great to have a control for the ISO. I virtually always shoot in full manual mode and having to right click on the wheel to bring up an ISO dialogue before selecting the ISO is just the tiniest bit annoying. The camera should come with a snap on screen protector like Nikon provides. When you spend this much on a camera and don't get basic protective equipment, you feel like Sony is being a tad on the penny pinching/apathetic side. Some tips: Knowing how short the battery life would be I loaded on six batteries and bought a grip for the camera so I can use two at a time. With the grip I can shoot about half of what I used to get away with using my D810, which is workable Get a good protective carrying case/backpack for this camera to keep it safe. My final verdict: It's overall the best camera I've ever owned. While it is quirky in some way, some of the quirks are starting to grow on me. Now we'll see about longevity. The shutter is rated at 500,000 actuations (which isn't everything), but I'm hopeful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Love the expanded dynamic range

ILCE-7RM2 02/10/2017 by GailJo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the camera - my second Sony full frame - so I found the menu system easy to operate, but I still struggle changing focus points. However 90 % of the time I chose zone focusing and it always seems to focus on what I want - I change to spot focus only when necessary. The Dynamic Range is amazing as well as the low light performance. Love the new silent shooting - but shame this is not possible with some of teh features, if you want to use them

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Career Changer

ILCE-7RM2 01/10/2017 by Neilisin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this after being 10 months without a larger format camera. Since getting it I'm changing the hobby to a more professional occupation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

phenominal piece of kit

ILCE-7RM2 24/09/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera 2 weeks ago from my local camera shop after siginifcant research. I already owned the a7ii so the plan was for this body to become the back up and the a7rii to become my main work camera. I easily configured the camera to my needs as I was used to the menu systems on the a7ii and rx1rii. The camera produces amazing images especially when combined with the G master range of lenses. I shoot everything but enjoy landscapes more than anything and the RAW files that this camera produces is phenomenal. Due to the high megapixel count, I am able to easily stitch panoramas together or crop huge images to highlight key areas of landscape without any loss of clarity or sharpness. I have no issue with the battery life, it is to be expected in a mirrorless camera so I use a battery grip and have a few spare batteries. The build of the camera us good, I haven't tested out the weather sealing yet so I can't comment as only having it for a couple of weeks. The feel of the camera in the hand is good and solid, I don't need the battery grip to increase the stability. I would like to have a bit more time to get used to the camera before writing a more detailed review but I am really happy I have bought this system and really look forward to putting it through its paces in the next few months.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Beautiful Camera, Amazingly Detailed Photos

ILCE-7RM2 23/09/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera back in April 2017 with the new Sony FE 85mm 1.8 Lens and that is definitely the first thing that made me fall in love with this camera. The colours are fantastic, the resolution is like nothing I have ever seen before and the build quality is a huge improvement from my old Canom which now really does feel like a toy compared to my A7Rii. The huge focus area is something that I never thought I would need, but I now find myself using it every day. This camera works very well in the dark (authough that crown is taken by the a7Sii) and I have got many great shots. I then decided to invest some real money into my camera and purchased the Beautiful Sony Zeiss 35mm 1.4 T* Distagon, which is my current lens as of two weeks ago. And wow. I know this is more of a review for the lenses but the amazing detail that this sensor collects is outstanding. In my opinion, the A7Rii is by far the best Photography Mirrorless Camera on the market for High resolution shots. (Untill the A7Riii comes out that is) I didn't give this a 5 Star rating however because no product comes without its fault. And to some people it could make or break the decision to buy this camera. The decision to not include 2 SD slots or even UHS-II support or USB3 is a bad choice in my opinion. If there is one thing all Photographers want, it is security... To know that even if their main card fails, there would be a second back up mirroring the main. And that is a big deal breaker for people. The only other thing I have found to be not so good with the camera is the sometimes severe rolling shutter recording video with this camera. It's not the biggest off out for me as I won't be using video alot but to most it would. And for that I recommend instead getting the a7Sii. Overall, this camera has been a true amazement. The quality is fantastic, the pictures are always sharp, the auto focus is lightning fast and the features like the NFC and remote controlling is amazing. If you want to delve deeper into the world of Photography with a professional camera, you have completed the sesrch. Look no further than the A7Rii

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera for performance and usability

ILCE-7RM2 07/09/2017 by revdavephotography (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this two weeks ago. Easy to get to grips after the A7R. But so much better handling, shutter and ease of use. Very excited by getting 42MP sharp images at 1/15sec HANDHELD! Fast autofocus especially when use with Eye AF for people shots. Fits well in the hand and the shutter button falls under the finger more naturally. Weather sealing stood up to an early morning shoot in thick mist. Overall, couldn't be happier.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

3

0

Heavyweight camera that doesn't break my arm

ILCE-7RM2 31/08/2017 by Holly Pips Mum (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was and still am a happy Nikon D810 user, but also a middle aged female with an illness that effects my muscles and strength. I wanted a camera system that matches the quality of what I am used too, but that is easier to carry around and use. I also use manual lenses and when I heard about the focus peaking feature I was very interested and not disappointed. I also like the camera stabilization feature.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony A7RII

ILCE-7RM2 28/08/2017 by Libra G (USA)

This is excellent features world class Camera Body

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent

ILCE-7RM2 15/08/2017 by linval (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lightweight and a joy to use, excellent image quality, not tested the low light capabilities yet but so far I am enjoying the experience of the a7rii

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The perfect stills camera!

Body Only 08/08/2017 by Clouder (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I mainly take landscape photos and this camera delivers and then some! The only thing I would like to see is a better touch screen and a flip out screen with enough brightness to see in daylight.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Nasty side efect under LED light.

Body Only 04/08/2017 by franhuer (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Are you aware of this problem? Is there a solution for it? I took these photos inside a museum in Seville, Spain. It uses LED lights to illuminate the sculptures and got this nasty effect. Only there and only under that illumination. Any comments?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Solid and shines quality

ILCE-7RM2 24/07/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'll be learning to use this for a very long time, it is so packed with features, but it is easy to use straight out of the box.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Best Camera I have ever owned

Body Only 18/07/2017 by jcowger (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used the A7r II for about 3 months now. Its my first mirrorless camera and I love it. I chose it because I like to shoot landscapes in the back country. Its light weight, shoots great in low light, and the 5-axis steady shot performs incredible. The mirrorless sensor is amazing but because its mirrorless the sensor is so close to the lens it gets dirty easily. My only other criticism would be that it isn't the most durable camera. At the end of the day it is a dream camera for what I like to shoot which is landscapes and street photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A decent switch

ILCE-7RM2 18/07/2017 by robpotter22 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera three weeks ago, so after a long period of umming & ahhing I made the switch from Canon to Sony. I'm a big fan of canon glass, so I awaited the arrival of the 6D MKII, but the body of the A7RII offered a variety of functions I couldn't have with my 6D (And the newly announced 6D MKII) so I decided to go make the jump. Some of the appeals were 4K filming, with 720p footage of up to 100fps & obviously the camera sensor itself. I use the A7RII for both filming & photography & it blows a lot of previous cameras I've used out of the water for both. The slow motion footage obviously isn't the best, but with the right post production it can look fantastic. In terms of photography, when taking photos in the RAW format, the images are a dream to edit in lightroom/photoshop etc. So as a digital camera, this ticks most of the boxes for me. The menu is a lot more complex than that of the canon menu, but after three weeks of use, I'm already getting used to it. Negatives are - the battery life isn't fantastic in comparison to the 6D & the lens functionality could be better (bearing in mind I'm using canon lenses with a sigma adapter).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Love it!

ILCE-7RM2 11/07/2017 by Sarnia (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The quality of the images surpasses my expectations and I particularly love the silent shutter option and the excellent low-light capability. I get sharp shots at very slow shutter speeds and hand held. It is battery-hungry but at least Sony now supply two as standard. This has all the functions/features of a heavy, bulky DSLR and more on top. I love the balance in the hand, the fact that it is relatively compact with a 50mm prime and I found the controls highly adaptable so that both me (ex Canon) and hubby (ex Nikon) made the transition without any hassle. We liked it so much we bought a second one so that we didn't fight over it! The icing on the cake would be to have either a screen that flips toward the body for protection when not in use (Canon) or at least a protective cover to prevent damage to the screen when putting in and out of bags - you can buy a very good hard cover but I think that this should be provided as standard as you pretty much need one from the get-go. I would also like a screen that flips out in both the horizontal and vertical planes for portrait orientation but, hey, I guess you can't have it all. The range of lens is a little limited but is growing and Canon lens fit (I believe) with full functionality. Otherwise, happy, happy, happy!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

It is amazing toy!!!

ILCE-7RM2 10/07/2017 by gora666ks (USA)

Verry good camera!! I have a fun take when I a photo!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony A7RII Camera

Body Only 07/07/2017 by cyclesue (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased my camera in December 2015. Recently the sensor need to be reattached. Done. I have the Sony batteries but I still get the message "batteries are incompatible". Why am getting this message and how can I fix it? Thanks!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

The perfect camera

ILCE-7RM2 03/07/2017 by Marcus67 (USA)

Boosted with possibilities and can be amazingly "beginner easy" to use as well as utterly advanced depending of your skill level and ambition. I had decided to stop upgrading my gear (Nikon Df, Canon 6D and Olympus EM 5) when I lay my eyes on this masterpiece. Truly an edge camera and with a bit of a learning curve even for the experienced photographer due to all the enourmously many built in features it offers.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

LIVING UP TO EXPECTATIONS

ILCE-7RM2 28/06/2017 by Yelmottob51 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product to replace my D7200 as I wanted to go full frame. After considerable research I came to the decision to buy this product and even after a short time I can see and feel the difference in handling and results. To date I am more than happy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

I love it

ILCE-7RM2 27/06/2017 by Greg20 (USA)

I bought this camera and love it. I love the images that come out of the camera. Photos look very iPhone like since Sony makes the sensor for iPhones... Sure, here the images are much sharper, much higher resolution, and better dynamic range than from an iPhone. The only only thing I don't like about this camera is the menu system. They should work a little harder on making that menu system more intuitive and easier to use. I could also use a short explanation in certain settings further explaining what that actual setting does. That would be very handy for beginners, too. It takes effort to make something complicated simple. And Sony didn't take enough effort to make that menu system really simple. The good news is it's very hard to take bad pictures with this camera even if you just set everything to auto. If you are professional and do manual everything you will be fine, too. The manual focus works so good you will probably not use the auto focus that much. And you can manually set any 2 out of the 3 major setting (aperture, iso, shutter speed) and have the camera set the third. Love that too.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Superb Images

ILCE-7RM2 27/06/2017 by Gwahir (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have now had my A7R ii for three weeks, after trying one for a fortnight a few months ago.It is a truly stunning camera, however I find the controls and particularly the menus very difficult to navigate and not in the least bit intuitive compared to my Canon 5D Mk 4. The Image quality is exceptional and well worth making the effort learning the camera operation.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

very good camera

ILCE-7RM2 17/06/2017 by Bigboytwin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have just bought the camera and am very happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

2

0

Awesome Camera

Body Only 17/06/2017 by aviatordino (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best camera I ever had. I used to have a Nikon and I switched over to Sony. Excellent features and the AF is great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Weight

Body Only 16/06/2017 by beachmonk (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Coming from DSLRs, this a dream camera if you travel.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The Camera with all the Excellent Features!

Body Only 13/06/2017 by AFREEMAN (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

After reading and watching reviews online for 9 months, I finally took the plunge and bought my first A7R2. (With the 24-240 lens). I took it to DisneyWorld and tested it out in bright sun, low light, rain, fog, alligators! OK, maybe not alligators but it passed all my tests with flying colors! After that I couldn't even pick up my Nikkon D4 or Df anymore.....so I sold all of my 10 years worth of Nikon top of the line gear! It's been a year now and I've not looked back. Instead I now own just about all the Sony FE lenses and two A7R2's!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nearly there.

ILCE-7RM2 29/05/2017 by Trev Staff (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just got the A7Rmk 2. What a camera. Does everything I want it to.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant

ILCE-7RM2 27/05/2017 by Pencaled (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have only had a few days with the camera but so far very happy. I liked the alpha 7r but this is such an incredible improvement.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The A7RII is a beauty and a beast.

ILCE-7RM2 18/05/2017 by Sharky61 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had this camera a few weeks having moved from a Canon 5DMkIII and it's simply amazing with so much packed into such a small body. The AF and IQ is top notch and the EVF allows me to get the correct every time. Looking forward to adding more Sony Zeiss and G Master lenses to my camera bag. Thank you Sony and long may your development in the full frame mirrorless system continue.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic Camera

Body Only 13/05/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Always loved Sony products. The Alpha A7II is one of the best camera, I've owned so far. I take photographs of automotives, landscape and portraits Instagram: @2JZyota. Thank you sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best Digital 35mm Full Frame Camera out there

ILCE-7RM2 09/05/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent in every way, very fine pictures, the full frame sensor is beautifully sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing camera

ILCE-7RM2 01/05/2017 by JimmyG76 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the A7rii 3 weeks ago mainly for landscape photography. Having heard reviews of its complicated menus I wasn't sure how easy it would be to get used to but I've been simply amazed. I find the menus intuitive, with the custom buttons easy to set up. The camera is the most forgiving I've ever used. It allows you to make something out of even a mediocre shot with its gorgeous sensor. Coupled with a couple of Zeiss lenses, the pictures are rich and the colours pop to an extent that you almost get a 3D look if the lights right. Build quality is excellent and it's already taken several knocks with no damage as I've clambers up and down rocks and through streams. I honestly couldn't ask for any more out of a system except a longer life battery although adding an extra couple isn't the most expensive thing in the world. Certainly up there with the best cameras you can get at the moment

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Great Features

ILCE-7RM2 29/04/2017 by John4p (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera. Fun to use. Lots to learn. Looking forward to getting the best out of it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

The Best.

ILCE-7RM2 28/04/2017 by malcitmoon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having had over the years cameras from the other manufactures i.e. Canon and Nikon I decided to change to Sony to reduce the overall size of my gear and I was pleased I did and pleasantly surprised. I started with the A7ii and moved up to my present camera which is the A7rii and I must say its just what I've been looking for its compact has every thing i need and very customisable. The files it produces are excellent clear and crisp and ripe for cropping if needs be. An all round excellent camera, Well done Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Love this camera!

ILCE-7RM2 25/04/2017 by weatabix (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I switched from the Canon platform to the A7Rii. It took a while to make the decision, but it was basically driven by my need to balance high quality photography with video. Some of the reviews I read had issues with the menu system, but in fact I have found the menu to be pretty straightforward. Whenever I've got stuck, there's loads of information on the internet about how to do x or y. Yes, its a high-end camera and takes time to get to know, but its a straightforward step-by-step process. I'm looking forward to getting the most out of this beautiful product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic Image Quality

ILCE-7RM2 25/04/2017 by Squirrelman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as a 'walk-around' camera for landscapes and general photography, l did try it out on wildlife (slightly cropped image attached) and was delighted by the results. Weight and ease of use of the camera are great. I found manual focus a little tricky for some subjects (focus-magnifier, set on one custom button did help). Battery life is a little limiting, but this is a well-known issue, and two batteries are included in the kit. So far, I have not run into problems, despite recording wildlife videos. Overall, a big 'thumbs up'.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A great camera

Body Only 24/04/2017 by Red Admiral (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had my a7rII for just over a year and I am extremely happy with it. My photographic specialty is live insect macro photography and when i do my part the camera yields excellent photos. Be aware the extremely high pixel count can extenuate motion unsharpness, so a very steady hand is necessary to get the best results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

best upgrade todate

ILCE-7RM2 03/04/2017 by grn31 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been using the a7R 2 and I am still finding out more ways in which it works

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

Mirrorless CSC

ILCE-7RM2 31/03/2017 by John not a nickname (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is mostly very good. However, I do a lot of astronomical photos. It would have been helpful to provide for a cable release to hold the shutter open for more than 30 seconds. In low light conditions, the preview screen is very faint and shows a lot of sensor noise. Perhaps an "Astronomy mode" could be created whereby the sensor integrates the signal over a longer time to bring up the image intensity and reduce sensor noise on the preview screen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

6

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM2 27/03/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic camera the offers a compact design with advanced features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Fantastic cameras with avoidable flaws

ILCE-7RM2 23/03/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent stills and video quality - should be 5 stars but for: 1/ lens "play" - rotation slackness in the fit of lens to body is regarded as "within spec"! This makes the camera feel cheap and badly made. 2/ custom saved menu settings only for the first group of settings. Unfortunate as there are many CAMERA settings that are not in the camera part of settings, which one would want to set as part of a custom setting. 3/ paying for apps to give features which should be free. 4/ Shutter sound should be BEFORE AND AFTER the exposure, not just afterwards!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

1

0

My Review for α7R

Body Only 01/03/2017 by CPRan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony - α7R II with back-illuminated full-frame image sensor is good

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

4

0

Great Camera,

Body Only 19/02/2017 by Photo Eddie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wonderful results right out of the box. The interface of the camera to the internet and computer lack a little but this is more then made up by the excellent photographic results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Favorite Camera

Body Only 05/02/2017 by LMack (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been a Canon user for awhile.Ive seen the a7 series for some time now.I had the new Canon 5D Mark IV before i switched to this. Couple of reasons i switched was 1) The weight was a huge Factor. Im a Landscape,Astro and Portrait photographer.So with all the traveling I due It became such a burden.2) Biggest reason I switch was due to the fact I can switch from full frame to crop and able to put my canon lenses on this was a no brainer and I would call a win win. Amazing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Unbelievable Camera!

Body Only 31/01/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wow is all I can say. I've been a die hard Canon guy for over 30 years. Never owned anything but Canon. I bought this A7R II based on a good friends suggestion. I was able to use my Canon glass with it via an adapter. The results were nothing short of amazing. Add the 85 f1.4 G Master and its an unbeatable combo. I've gotten some amazing feedback about the shots I've posted from the A7R II. Thank you Sony for releasing such a magnificent product. A true "Homerun".

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

6

0

Best camera available

ILCE-7RM2 08/01/2017 by Axeman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The features, especially the absence of bias filters etc enable a much wider range of photography, including infra-red, extreme night shooting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

2

0

Just Short

Body Only 29/12/2016 by Experienced (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a professional photographer. I am now vested in this camera after dealing with Canon and Nikon systems, medium format and view cameras. What I like about this camera is the image quality. I wish it would track and respond as quickly as both the professional Canon and Nikon cameras do. It's just short of being perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

STATE OF THE ART

Body Only 19/12/2016 by Foofers66 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The a7RII is an amazing tool for my business and travels. The pictures are rather dazzling with good glass. In many ways the quality meets or exceeds the popular brands of pro cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

I simply love this camera

ILCE-7RM2 21/11/2016 by Drstoo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I simply love this camera. It's expensive ,but that's because it's the best camera out there? Well I think so, I like the feel, the weight ,the buttons specially the menu , am still getting familia with this. I find taking actual pictures really fun. So straightforward to use and having a girlfriend who's A professional photographer really helps, if I get lost and need help? It's funny because she uses Canon , but with the right adapter you can use any Canon lens you want ,in fact you can use any lens you want, added with Sony native lenses, there is very little you can't photograph . Yes I had to dig deep into my savings but I feel really proud of my camera. A great investment... apologies for not posting any pictures, am still getting my head around PlayMemories mobile

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

The Best!

Body Only 21/11/2016 by wfarley (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I AM IN LOVE! I never thought that I would be using a sony camera...but I am so glad I am! This is the best camera I have picked up by far and I have held some amazing cameras out there..never this good though!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

best camera in the world

ILCE7RM2 11/11/2016 by adonis23 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

love all the new features, super fast AF, the EVF and also the wild screen. the 4k video looks so amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great compact full frame camera

ILCE-7RM2 09/10/2016 by Dids63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great compact full frame camera which gives great image reproduction highly recomended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

7

0

Excellent Camera

ILCE-7RM2 27/09/2016 by Anvil (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only owned this camera for a short time but the improvements over my original A7 are stunning. It is much faster to use in every way and along with the 24-70mm GMaster lens I have paired with it...terrific quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great camera, really bad battery life

ILCE-7RM2 19/09/2016 by troxley (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I investigated a long time if I should buy this camera or the Nikon D810, since I previously own a Nikon DSLR, but heard so many amazing things about Sony new mirrorless, had to give it a try, sadly, there is so many new things to learn, that one cannot grasp immediately, so I would recommend not to go out on the field if not sure what you are doing, the TERRIBLE BAD BAD THING is battery power, although Sony provides 2 batteries, this is not enough for a full shooting, be careful if mixing with video. I love the apps and I am doing some star trails at the moment but the batterie dies very soon, so It is impossible to leave it alone even 1 hour when doing this type of shootings, or when using the EVF, which is the nice new element of this camera, If i want to save the battery I have to turn it off and I am missing a lot. The positive side is the sharpness of the images, but the lenses is another down side since the Master kind is very expensive, compared with Nikon or Canons.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

11

12

0

Exactly what I want from a camera and more!

ILCE-7RM2 18/09/2016 by Rebel sketchy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and the wow-factor at not ooh it's picture quality but all the other features is growing by the day. If you've researched this bit of kit you'll probably know that there's nothing else like it out there. If you can afford it, don't hesitate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

An excellent camera with great video

ILCE-7RM2 12/09/2016 by Encephalartos (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had the a7rII for just over a week now and I am really happy. Upgraded from the a7ii and I am very impressed with not only the photo quality but also the video performance. I was also very impressed with the build quality of the camera too which is an improvement from the a7ii. I would recommend this camera any day!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

New Era of Professional Camera Stills/4K

ILCE-7RM2 11/08/2016 by FDAC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been a Pro for 30 Years. This Camera embodies everything Traditional especially build quality and everything Futureproof. It's an inspiration to work with. The image quality beats that of my previous medium format digital back. With Sony E-fit lenses especially G Master or Zeiss you have a world class tool at your disposal, plus let's not forget 4K Video. Superb achievement by Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

a7mkii

ILCE-7RM2 05/08/2016 by Braggers (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I spent some 12 months looking at cameras before buying the a7 mk ii as having a Sony Bridge and DSLR prior I was concerned about lenses and wanted the right camera for my circumstances. The a7 gave everything I desired and Full Frame. I bought the camera on 24th June and have now had it just over 1 month and can honestly say I am impressed by its capabilities. For the first time I have used this only in Raw and am amazed by the picture quality and ease of editing. This is a very good camera and one I will cherish for a long time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Great Camera

ILCE-7RM2 25/07/2016 by P3NG (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A well executed product with superb pictures and nice styling and innovative features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A game changer

ILCE-7RM2 18/07/2016 by Sony man (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sharpness of images I have taken with the A7r ii are amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

0

Excellent camera with a couple of small flaws

ILCE-7RM2 03/06/2016 by crentonphoto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this primarily for the 4k video and in body image stabilisation. Also bought a metabones adaptor so can use with my Canon lenses. Light, great image quality and brilliant video. I'm a pro photographer, and would expect a second card slot at this price, and there is no option to assign a custom button to super 35mm/aps-c mode. Eye focus only works in still mode, not video and focus tracking in video is good, although not perfect. Menu is quite complicated, but I guess that's because there are an awful lot of features! Overall though, this is a great camera and very happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

6

7

0

As usual Sony leads the field.

ILCE-7RM2 03/06/2016 by Smerdy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I haven't used this camera a great deal yet ,but what I have seen it produce is fantastic. I sold my Nikon outfit so I am used to good equipment and expensive camera's.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

2

0

Fabulous camera

ILCE-7RM2 30/05/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this less than 3 weeks ago, and still amazed and excited.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

1

0

best all round camera out there

ILCE-7RM2 12/05/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only been using the camera for a couple of weeks but it's living up to all my expectations and then some. I was hunting for a "do-it-all" camera. For my job as a content creator and digital marketing guy I need to film and shoot just as much as each other. I shoot adventure sports, landscape, portraits and everything in between and I'm happy I decided on the A7RII. Love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

2

0

Another Level

ILCE-7RM2 27/04/2016 by AndyB Photo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unbelievable, there's no other word for it. I knew that the jump Cropped Sensor to Full Frame was going to be noticeable, but nothing prepared me for this. I have shot this thing less than a hundred times and much of this was testing out the camera's capabilities. After all the usual "snaps" had been taken we put it to work and asked the question how well does the A7Rii handle low light. So I messed about with it and took some night shots, handheld on the maximum ISO in our back garden where there is little in the way of light pollution the results were incredible... this camera really can see in the dark! I have since taken shots into the setting sun, having exposed for the sky and then drawn the details from the resulting silhouette's... am I pleased with the results?... Am I pleased with the results!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

A Great Improvement.

ILCE-7RM2 26/04/2016 by Just a barrow lad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having owned the previous A7R and enjoyed using it I thought I would go for the Mark 2. The new model is a great improvement in a lot of ways and is a very competent tool. I am sure I will produce some terrific images using it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Incredibly light!

ILCE-7RM2 20/04/2016 by Yiann (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've moved, recently, to Sony from Nikon. My main goal was to find a camera that packed all the features of a DSLR but that could be light as feather, as I was getting really tired of the weight of my previous set-up. I found it with the A7RM2, best camera for me, fits well in my hand. The tilted LCD screen is an advantage as I can easily photograph from lower angles without breaking my neck or going in to awkward positions. There are plenty of technical reviews online and I did do my research for over 2 months before my final decision, and most of it was taken from the negative aspects people found which curiously were the positives for me. Image quality is excellent especially if paired with a Sony-Zeiss/Zeiss. The fact that I can print very large natively is a plus for me. The body feels well and I got used to it in no time at all. The menu is different but I got the hang of it easily with the help of the manual. I very much doubt that I'll go back to a heavier camera, thanks to Sony for quality and versatility.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

5

0

With this camera Mirror-less is more.

ILCE-7RM2 16/04/2016 by Binner (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Buying the a7R II was a big decision for me. I had a cropped Canon 650D and wanted to move to full frame such as the 5D Mk III, it seemed the natural progression, but Sony's compact systems got such great reviews (I really went to town on my research) that it seemed to be the future. I took the plunge and am delighted I did (although my wallet is still complaining). Via that massive sensor and well considered focus options, I can finally take the pictures I see in my mind and am even contemplating some semi-pro work. This camera made me fall in love with photography all over again. I can't get enough of the features for stills and for the video work I am planning. I'm still in that honeymoon phase, but this is one marriage I can see lasting for years.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

0