Skip to Content
99

4.8 based on 99 customer reviews

80
17
1
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Tiny yet Mighty

ILCE-7RM2 26/01/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've always liked small cameras because the essence of photography, for me, it to go places and photograph what I see, and a heavy, bulky camera has many drawbacks for this use. Until now small cameras have come with compromises, but the A7RII leverages Sony's technology and design expertise to put everything that's needed into a very small package. The viewfinder has removed all my previous doubts about non-optical finders, the silent shutter option is brilliant in many situations and the image quality is spectacular. I've paired the camera with the Sony 28mm f2.0 lens and the Wide Convertor that gives me a 21mm f2.8, also a Leica 50mm lens which is very fast to focus using peaking. This setup fits into a very small bag, one that was originally bought for a Leica M kit. I'm able to continue using my Canon EOS lenses using a third-party adaptor. AF performance is excellent but long term I'll be switching to native Sony FE-mount lenses to unleash all the camera features, e.g. eye focus. It's no small thing to switch camera systems, especially when you rely on them as tools to make a full-time living, but after 25 years it looks like "sayōnara" Canon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Broke Down after 3 Weeks!

ILCE-7RM2 12/09/2015 by Taid (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I sold my A7 and had my A7r2 for 3 weeks when it went wrong on me. It kept switching itself off.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

6

1

99 Customer Reviews

0

very good camera

ILCE-7RM2 17/06/2017 by bigboytwin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have just bought the camera and am very happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Awesome Camera

Body Only 17/06/2017 by aviatordino (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The best camera I ever had. I used to have a Nikon and I switched over to Sony. Excellent features and the AF is great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Weight

Body Only 16/06/2017 by beachmonk (USA)

Coming from DSLRs, this a dream camera if you travel.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The Camera with all the Excellent Features!

Body Only 13/06/2017 by AFREEMAN (USA)

After reading and watching reviews online for 9 months, I finally took the plunge and bought my first A7R2. (With the 24-240 lens). I took it to DisneyWorld and tested it out in bright sun, low light, rain, fog, alligators! OK, maybe not alligators but it passed all my tests with flying colors! After that I couldn't even pick up my Nikkon D4 or Df anymore.....so I sold all of my 10 years worth of Nikon top of the line gear! It's been a year now and I've not looked back. Instead I now own just about all the Sony FE lenses and two A7R2's!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nearly there.

ILCE-7RM2 29/05/2017 by Trev Staff (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Just got the A7Rmk 2. What a camera. Does everything I want it to.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Brilliant

ILCE-7RM2 27/05/2017 by Pencaled (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Have only had a few days with the camera but so far very happy. I liked the alpha 7r but this is such an incredible improvement.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

The A7RII is a beauty and a beast.

ILCE-7RM2 18/05/2017 by Sharky61 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had this camera a few weeks having moved from a Canon 5DMkIII and it's simply amazing with so much packed into such a small body. The AF and IQ is top notch and the EVF allows me to get the correct every time. Looking forward to adding more Sony Zeiss and G Master lenses to my camera bag. Thank you Sony and long may your development in the full frame mirrorless system continue.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Fantastic Camera

Body Only 13/05/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Always loved Sony products. The Alpha A7II is one of the best camera, I've owned so far. I take photographs of automotives, landscape and portraits Instagram: @2JZyota. Thank you sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best Digital 35mm Full Frame Camera out there

ILCE-7RM2 09/05/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent in every way, very fine pictures, the full frame sensor is beautifully sharp

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Amazing camera

ILCE-7RM2 01/05/2017 by JimmyG76 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the A7rii 3 weeks ago mainly for landscape photography. Having heard reviews of its complicated menus I wasn't sure how easy it would be to get used to but I've been simply amazed. I find the menus intuitive, with the custom buttons easy to set up. The camera is the most forgiving I've ever used. It allows you to make something out of even a mediocre shot with its gorgeous sensor. Coupled with a couple of Zeiss lenses, the pictures are rich and the colours pop to an extent that you almost get a 3D look if the lights right. Build quality is excellent and it's already taken several knocks with no damage as I've clambers up and down rocks and through streams. I honestly couldn't ask for any more out of a system except a longer life battery although adding an extra couple isn't the most expensive thing in the world. Certainly up there with the best cameras you can get at the moment

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great Features

ILCE-7RM2 29/04/2017 by John4p (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera. Fun to use. Lots to learn. Looking forward to getting the best out of it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

The Best.

ILCE-7RM2 28/04/2017 by malcitmoon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having had over the years cameras from the other manufactures i.e. Canon and Nikon I decided to change to Sony to reduce the overall size of my gear and I was pleased I did and pleasantly surprised. I started with the A7ii and moved up to my present camera which is the A7rii and I must say its just what I've been looking for its compact has every thing i need and very customisable. The files it produces are excellent clear and crisp and ripe for cropping if needs be. An all round excellent camera, Well done Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Love this camera!

ILCE-7RM2 25/04/2017 by weatabix (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I switched from the Canon platform to the A7Rii. It took a while to make the decision, but it was basically driven by my need to balance high quality photography with video. Some of the reviews I read had issues with the menu system, but in fact I have found the menu to be pretty straightforward. Whenever I've got stuck, there's loads of information on the internet about how to do x or y. Yes, its a high-end camera and takes time to get to know, but its a straightforward step-by-step process. I'm looking forward to getting the most out of this beautiful product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Fantastic Image Quality

ILCE-7RM2 25/04/2017 by Squirrelman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought as a 'walk-around' camera for landscapes and general photography, l did try it out on wildlife (slightly cropped image attached) and was delighted by the results. Weight and ease of use of the camera are great. I found manual focus a little tricky for some subjects (focus-magnifier, set on one custom button did help). Battery life is a little limiting, but this is a well-known issue, and two batteries are included in the kit. So far, I have not run into problems, despite recording wildlife videos. Overall, a big 'thumbs up'.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A great camera

Body Only 24/04/2017 by Red Admiral (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had my a7rII for just over a year and I am extremely happy with it. My photographic specialty is live insect macro photography and when i do my part the camera yields excellent photos. Be aware the extremely high pixel count can extenuate motion unsharpness, so a very steady hand is necessary to get the best results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

best upgrade todate

ILCE-7RM2 03/04/2017 by grn31 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been using the a7R 2 and I am still finding out more ways in which it works

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Mirrorless CSC

ILCE-7RM2 31/03/2017 by John not a nickname (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is mostly very good. However, I do a lot of astronomical photos. It would have been helpful to provide for a cable release to hold the shutter open for more than 30 seconds. In low light conditions, the preview screen is very faint and shows a lot of sensor noise. Perhaps an "Astronomy mode" could be created whereby the sensor integrates the signal over a longer time to bring up the image intensity and reduce sensor noise on the preview screen.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

5

0

Great camera

ILCE-7RM2 27/03/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Fantastic camera the offers a compact design with advanced features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Fantastic cameras with avoidable flaws

ILCE-7RM2 23/03/2017  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent stills and video quality - should be 5 stars but for: 1/ lens "play" - rotation slackness in the fit of lens to body is regarded as "within spec"! This makes the camera feel cheap and badly made. 2/ custom saved menu settings only for the first group of settings. Unfortunate as there are many CAMERA settings that are not in the camera part of settings, which one would want to set as part of a custom setting. 3/ paying for apps to give features which should be free. 4/ Shutter sound should be BEFORE AND AFTER the exposure, not just afterwards!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

My Review for α7R

Body Only 01/03/2017 by CPRan (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony - α7R II with back-illuminated full-frame image sensor is good

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

4

0

Great Camera,

Body Only 19/02/2017 by Photo Eddie (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wonderful results right out of the box. The interface of the camera to the internet and computer lack a little but this is more then made up by the excellent photographic results.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Favorite Camera

Body Only 05/02/2017 by LMack (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been a Canon user for awhile.Ive seen the a7 series for some time now.I had the new Canon 5D Mark IV before i switched to this. Couple of reasons i switched was 1) The weight was a huge Factor. Im a Landscape,Astro and Portrait photographer.So with all the traveling I due It became such a burden.2) Biggest reason I switch was due to the fact I can switch from full frame to crop and able to put my canon lenses on this was a no brainer and I would call a win win. Amazing!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Unbelievable Camera!

Body Only 31/01/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Wow is all I can say. I've been a die hard Canon guy for over 30 years. Never owned anything but Canon. I bought this A7R II based on a good friends suggestion. I was able to use my Canon glass with it via an adapter. The results were nothing short of amazing. Add the 85 f1.4 G Master and its an unbeatable combo. I've gotten some amazing feedback about the shots I've posted from the A7R II. Thank you Sony for releasing such a magnificent product. A true "Homerun".

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

6

0

Best camera available

ILCE-7RM2 08/01/2017 by Axeman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The features, especially the absence of bias filters etc enable a much wider range of photography, including infra-red, extreme night shooting.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

2

0

Just Short

Body Only 29/12/2016 by Experienced (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a professional photographer. I am now vested in this camera after dealing with Canon and Nikon systems, medium format and view cameras. What I like about this camera is the image quality. I wish it would track and respond as quickly as both the professional Canon and Nikon cameras do. It's just short of being perfect.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

STATE OF THE ART

Body Only 19/12/2016 by Foofers66 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The a7RII is an amazing tool for my business and travels. The pictures are rather dazzling with good glass. In many ways the quality meets or exceeds the popular brands of pro cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

I simply love this camera

ILCE-7RM2 21/11/2016 by Drstoo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I simply love this camera. It's expensive ,but that's because it's the best camera out there? Well I think so, I like the feel, the weight ,the buttons specially the menu , am still getting familia with this. I find taking actual pictures really fun. So straightforward to use and having a girlfriend who's A professional photographer really helps, if I get lost and need help? It's funny because she uses Canon , but with the right adapter you can use any Canon lens you want ,in fact you can use any lens you want, added with Sony native lenses, there is very little you can't photograph . Yes I had to dig deep into my savings but I feel really proud of my camera. A great investment... apologies for not posting any pictures, am still getting my head around PlayMemories mobile

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

1

0

The Best!

Body Only 21/11/2016 by wfarley (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I AM IN LOVE! I never thought that I would be using a sony camera...but I am so glad I am! This is the best camera I have picked up by far and I have held some amazing cameras out there..never this good though!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

best camera in the world

ILCE7RM2 11/11/2016 by adonis23 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

love all the new features, super fast AF, the EVF and also the wild screen. the 4k video looks so amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great compact full frame camera

ILCE-7RM2 09/10/2016 by Dids63 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a great compact full frame camera which gives great image reproduction highly recomended.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

7

0

Excellent Camera

ILCE-7RM2 27/09/2016 by Anvil (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only owned this camera for a short time but the improvements over my original A7 are stunning. It is much faster to use in every way and along with the 24-70mm GMaster lens I have paired with it...terrific quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great camera, really bad battery life

ILCE-7RM2 19/09/2016 by troxley (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I investigated a long time if I should buy this camera or the Nikon D810, since I previously own a Nikon DSLR, but heard so many amazing things about Sony new mirrorless, had to give it a try, sadly, there is so many new things to learn, that one cannot grasp immediately, so I would recommend not to go out on the field if not sure what you are doing, the TERRIBLE BAD BAD THING is battery power, although Sony provides 2 batteries, this is not enough for a full shooting, be careful if mixing with video. I love the apps and I am doing some star trails at the moment but the batterie dies very soon, so It is impossible to leave it alone even 1 hour when doing this type of shootings, or when using the EVF, which is the nice new element of this camera, If i want to save the battery I have to turn it off and I am missing a lot. The positive side is the sharpness of the images, but the lenses is another down side since the Master kind is very expensive, compared with Nikon or Canons.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

11

12

0

Exactly what I want from a camera and more!

ILCE-7RM2 18/09/2016 by Rebel sketchy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and the wow-factor at not ooh it's picture quality but all the other features is growing by the day. If you've researched this bit of kit you'll probably know that there's nothing else like it out there. If you can afford it, don't hesitate.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

An excellent camera with great video

ILCE-7RM2 12/09/2016 by Encephalartos (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had the a7rII for just over a week now and I am really happy. Upgraded from the a7ii and I am very impressed with not only the photo quality but also the video performance. I was also very impressed with the build quality of the camera too which is an improvement from the a7ii. I would recommend this camera any day!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

New Era of Professional Camera Stills/4K

ILCE-7RM2 11/08/2016 by FDAC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been a Pro for 30 Years. This Camera embodies everything Traditional especially build quality and everything Futureproof. It's an inspiration to work with. The image quality beats that of my previous medium format digital back. With Sony E-fit lenses especially G Master or Zeiss you have a world class tool at your disposal, plus let's not forget 4K Video. Superb achievement by Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

a7mkii

ILCE-7RM2 05/08/2016 by Braggers (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I spent some 12 months looking at cameras before buying the a7 mk ii as having a Sony Bridge and DSLR prior I was concerned about lenses and wanted the right camera for my circumstances. The a7 gave everything I desired and Full Frame. I bought the camera on 24th June and have now had it just over 1 month and can honestly say I am impressed by its capabilities. For the first time I have used this only in Raw and am amazed by the picture quality and ease of editing. This is a very good camera and one I will cherish for a long time.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

0

0

Great Camera

ILCE-7RM2 25/07/2016 by P3NG (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A well executed product with superb pictures and nice styling and innovative features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

A game changer

ILCE-7RM2 18/07/2016 by Sony man (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The sharpness of images I have taken with the A7r ii are amazing.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

0

Excellent camera with a couple of small flaws

ILCE-7RM2 03/06/2016 by crentonphoto (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this primarily for the 4k video and in body image stabilisation. Also bought a metabones adaptor so can use with my Canon lenses. Light, great image quality and brilliant video. I'm a pro photographer, and would expect a second card slot at this price, and there is no option to assign a custom button to super 35mm/aps-c mode. Eye focus only works in still mode, not video and focus tracking in video is good, although not perfect. Menu is quite complicated, but I guess that's because there are an awful lot of features! Overall though, this is a great camera and very happy with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

6

7

0

As usual Sony leads the field.

ILCE-7RM2 03/06/2016 by Smerdy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I haven't used this camera a great deal yet ,but what I have seen it produce is fantastic. I sold my Nikon outfit so I am used to good equipment and expensive camera's.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

2

0

Fabulous camera

ILCE-7RM2 30/05/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this less than 3 weeks ago, and still amazed and excited.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

4

1

0

best all round camera out there

ILCE-7RM2 12/05/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only been using the camera for a couple of weeks but it's living up to all my expectations and then some. I was hunting for a "do-it-all" camera. For my job as a content creator and digital marketing guy I need to film and shoot just as much as each other. I shoot adventure sports, landscape, portraits and everything in between and I'm happy I decided on the A7RII. Love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

2

0

Another Level

ILCE-7RM2 27/04/2016 by AndyB Photo (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unbelievable, there's no other word for it. I knew that the jump Cropped Sensor to Full Frame was going to be noticeable, but nothing prepared me for this. I have shot this thing less than a hundred times and much of this was testing out the camera's capabilities. After all the usual "snaps" had been taken we put it to work and asked the question how well does the A7Rii handle low light. So I messed about with it and took some night shots, handheld on the maximum ISO in our back garden where there is little in the way of light pollution the results were incredible... this camera really can see in the dark! I have since taken shots into the setting sun, having exposed for the sky and then drawn the details from the resulting silhouette's... am I pleased with the results?... Am I pleased with the results!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

A Great Improvement.

ILCE-7RM2 26/04/2016 by Just a barrow lad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having owned the previous A7R and enjoyed using it I thought I would go for the Mark 2. The new model is a great improvement in a lot of ways and is a very competent tool. I am sure I will produce some terrific images using it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

4

0

Incredibly light!

ILCE-7RM2 20/04/2016 by Yiann (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've moved, recently, to Sony from Nikon. My main goal was to find a camera that packed all the features of a DSLR but that could be light as feather, as I was getting really tired of the weight of my previous set-up. I found it with the A7RM2, best camera for me, fits well in my hand. The tilted LCD screen is an advantage as I can easily photograph from lower angles without breaking my neck or going in to awkward positions. There are plenty of technical reviews online and I did do my research for over 2 months before my final decision, and most of it was taken from the negative aspects people found which curiously were the positives for me. Image quality is excellent especially if paired with a Sony-Zeiss/Zeiss. The fact that I can print very large natively is a plus for me. The body feels well and I got used to it in no time at all. The menu is different but I got the hang of it easily with the help of the manual. I very much doubt that I'll go back to a heavier camera, thanks to Sony for quality and versatility.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

5

0

With this camera Mirror-less is more.

ILCE-7RM2 16/04/2016 by Binner (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Buying the a7R II was a big decision for me. I had a cropped Canon 650D and wanted to move to full frame such as the 5D Mk III, it seemed the natural progression, but Sony's compact systems got such great reviews (I really went to town on my research) that it seemed to be the future. I took the plunge and am delighted I did (although my wallet is still complaining). Via that massive sensor and well considered focus options, I can finally take the pictures I see in my mind and am even contemplating some semi-pro work. This camera made me fall in love with photography all over again. I can't get enough of the features for stills and for the video work I am planning. I'm still in that honeymoon phase, but this is one marriage I can see lasting for years.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

0

Great all around camera

ILCE-7RM2 11/04/2016 by PawelL (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought it 2 weeks ago, after knowing its strengths. It did not disappoint. ISO performance better than my excellent Canon 5D MarkIII ! I have shot samples at ISO 102 400 and they are usable, if that's your only option! They need noise reduction, but basic Lightroom reduction makes it look like shot on a high speed B&W silver halide film.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Changing the game again

ILCE-7RM2 05/04/2016 by Dudler (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's taken me a while to get used to having to switch on a camera before I can see through the viewfinder, and I still like some of the features of my old Alpha 900. But I find the results so stunningly good that I can live with that. Over the last 18 months, I’ve been using various Alpha 7 bodies more and the 900 less. A couple of weeks ago, I took the plunge with an Alpha 7r Mk II, and I have very few compromises to accept at all. Nothing comes near it for overall quality: yes, a certain competitor offers a few more megapixels, but without image stabilisation with most lenses. In practical situations, I need no tripod, and a user of that camera needs one long before I do. (Not least because they’d run out of ISO long before I do!) Consequently, for anything that cannot be absolutely controlled and concrete-mounted, the 7r II is now the best you can possibly buy. It will be nice if I can add a few E-mount lenses over the next year or two, though my old Minolta glass on the Sony adaptor does a pretty good job already. In particular, I tried out a Sony G-Series 85mm f/1.4 lens at a photo show, and it will be a serious temptation when it reaches the shops. A comparison showed it to be decisively better than both the Zeiss Batis and my existing 85mm Planar. You’ll have read reviews of the Batis: and the Planar is markedly sharper than that. The G lens is a gem! Would I change anything? A bigger battery. A physical switch for the IS. Not much else, though! It really is an incredibly accomplished camera for the studio flash and low light work that I love.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Appears to be excellent camera

ILCE-7RM2 04/04/2016 by notfilc (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This item was only purchased 22.3.16 so very difficult to assess after using Nikons for more years the I care to remember.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Excellent camera but!

ILCE-7RM2 21/03/2016 by RDDimages (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera along with 4 lenses and battery grip, I love the feel of the camera and the quality build, however, it locks up on occasions when using the burst mode and I have had to actually remove the battery on occasions to get the camera working again, as you can imagine if I was using this as a professional this would not be acceptable. Also when using the flip out monitor it goes blank when holding it down low, say around the stomach area as the sensor for the viewfinder seems to switch it off, very annoying it should not be that sensitive. these are major concerns for a camera of this price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

I great move forward from my A7

ILCE-7RM2 19/03/2016 by RGP1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I really enjoy taking the camera out with me for any photo opportunity.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Well made, small and powerful

ILCE-7RM2 19/03/2016 by Deepfield (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera after a lot of research from publications like dpreview and decided it was most likely the right choice, I am not disappointed. The menu is quite comprehensive , so at this time I am familiarising myself with all the options available. Economically it's a pleasure to hold in the hands and small enough to put in a bum bag without having to draw too much attention to it. I bought an excellent Sony Zeiss 55mm f1.8 lens which produces very clean images. I am having some trouble using the oddly named "Playmemories" program allowing interaction with a phone, tablet or computer to control the camera or transfer images to, I have tried this several times and it doesn't work. I will persevere. I have taken a few pictures now and I have to say it is a superb camera and once understanding the menu a little better will improve.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Brilliant Package

ILCE-7RM2 13/03/2016 by Systemic Kid (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Thought long and hard before buying the A7Rii. Read loads of reviews and checked out the opposition. Delayed going back to full frame because of the bulk and weight of most DSLRs. The A7Rii fits my needs perfectly. It's reasonably compact and light. But what finally decided me to go for the A7Rii is it's performance. It is capable of producing stunning images and the performance in low light is equally good. I don't use the video modes but the ability to record in full 4K is very impressive. The lens lineup is pretty expensive compared to other marques but the quality is there which is the main thing. The in-camera image stabilisation system is worth its weight in gold. How Sony have managed to cram it into so small a camera is quite an achievement.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Great features but low building quality

ILCE-7RM2 04/03/2016 by systemlord (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great features but low building quality. I have this camera for 6 month, last week the shuttle cover of a7r II was broken. I have so many sony products, building quality is never an issue untill now.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

4

0

Great piece of kit

ILCE-7RM2 04/03/2016 by PCprof (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've had the Sony A7RM2 a month its a replacement for my Sony A7R use it every day as part of a 365 project, for me very easy to navigate the menu system only problem I tend to press the C1 button to change the ISO instead of the rotary wheel may reallocate this button, its a lovely well engineered easy to use camera with first class image quality

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Fantastic Full Frame

ILCE-7RM2 25/02/2016 by d_senior1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera has so far more than fulfilled it's promise. I have the Sony Zeiss FE35 f1.4 and a couple of old Canon legacy lenses and it performs perfectly with all of them. I have just ordered the Sony Zeiss 55mm f1.8 lens and I think this will give me a great combination for general and portraiture photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Just what I've been looking for.

ILCE-7RM2 19/02/2016 by Photorambler (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

That dynamic range, wow! In such a compact package.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Amazing Product.

ILCE-7RM2 05/02/2016 by Mali B (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've recently upgraded from the Sony A7, I'd read lots of reviews and watched lots of videos on the A7R11 , took the plunge and WOW what an absolute amazing camera , thanks Sony..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

5

0

The best camera you can buy right now

ILCE-7RM2 30/01/2016 by BAzzFreeman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you cannot afford a 80k camera but would really like the wide dynamic range, high ISO capabilities and in-body stabilisation traditionally associated with extremely high-end camera, this is the machine for you. I could live without the video capabilities for my photographic features (Dual control ports, dual card slots), but I understand market drives these features.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

A giant leap

ILCE-7RM2 30/01/2016 by Willard (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Although valuing good photography and fine equipment I stayed away from full-frame digital cameras for several years because of their size and weight. Most recently I went for the Canon Rebel SL1/100D because of its size. Arrival of the Sony a7R II, however, changed the equation. It is truly an amazing camera the extent of whose powers I am gradually coming to grips with. Within a week I sold all my Canon equipment (including several lenses), retaining only the 50mm f1.4 Canon lens (with a Metabones adapter), and now have the 35mm f2.8 Sony/Zeiss and the 70-200 f4. The Zeiss Batis 85mm is next on the list. The designers and engineers of the a7R II deserve recognition for what they have accomplished!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

My Sony - A7R Mk II

ILCE-7RM2 29/01/2016 by PJYD (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had a Sony A6000 for a couple of years and have been impressed by its size, quality and performance. So much so I that decided to replace my Canon FF 5D Mk III with the new Sony FF A7 R Mk II. I have had this now for a couple of weeks and am delighted with its feel and all round performance. The Sony 24-240 lens I use suits my every day and travelling needs and my Sony CSC lenses will fitthe body and shoot at crop frame format. Overall a great piece of superb quality kit. I am a happy bunny!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Tiny yet Mighty

ILCE-7RM2 26/01/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've always liked small cameras because the essence of photography, for me, it to go places and photograph what I see, and a heavy, bulky camera has many drawbacks for this use. Until now small cameras have come with compromises, but the A7RII leverages Sony's technology and design expertise to put everything that's needed into a very small package. The viewfinder has removed all my previous doubts about non-optical finders, the silent shutter option is brilliant in many situations and the image quality is spectacular. I've paired the camera with the Sony 28mm f2.0 lens and the Wide Convertor that gives me a 21mm f2.8, also a Leica 50mm lens which is very fast to focus using peaking. This setup fits into a very small bag, one that was originally bought for a Leica M kit. I'm able to continue using my Canon EOS lenses using a third-party adaptor. AF performance is excellent but long term I'll be switching to native Sony FE-mount lenses to unleash all the camera features, e.g. eye focus. It's no small thing to switch camera systems, especially when you rely on them as tools to make a full-time living, but after 25 years it looks like "sayōnara" Canon.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

10

0

0

Superb contrast and resolution

ILCE-7RM2 25/01/2016 by mangerj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lovely package, easily portable, excellent series of Zeiss lenses plus the superb Sony 70-400G2 lens make the camera system a worthy and excellent replacement for the 'traditional' DSLR.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Best yet

ILCE-7RM2 19/01/2016 by Tobamory (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After moving from Olympus Em5II I needed the Pixals for crops, I knew the Sony with 5 axis would marry up with my Olympus way of working, after testing Nikon and struggling with Low Light and Blurring I tried the Sony, 100% bang on the button no blurring pin sharp. Love it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

1

0

0

State of the Art

ILCE-7RM2 19/01/2016 by Coldix (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a couple of weeks ago and I want it to be the only interchangeable lens outfit I own. So far I am delighted with it. It is beautifully made, solidly constructed, although fairly complex on first aquaintance. The image quality is first rate and I am buying only the best prime lenses available for it. The DR is superb and the A7RII also seems top resist blown out highlights beautifully while having superb shadow detail easily recoverable. The histogram could be bigger but that is a minor quibble.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Finally, a camera with everything

ILCE-7RM2 18/01/2016 by Bobby3280 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Lot of great features: - sensor ISO performance - uncompressed RAW (finally) - in-camera stabilization - in-camera 4k recording - face detect autofocus - tilt-screen most of which are not available in the DSLR market. I will never miss DSLR, except for the optics.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

2

0

Excellant resolution

ILCE-7RM2 18/01/2016 by John 334 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I changed from a Cannon 7D to a Sony 7 Mkii. It made such an improvement to my photography. I wanted a second camera and went for the Sony 7R Mkii. An expensive option. I used the Sony 7R Mkii to photograph snow on trees and distant snow covered landscape and I could see the improved resolution (compared to Sony 7 Mkii) in the final photograph. You will need best quality lenses to benefit from 7R and expect to need to do some processing on the image to bring out every detail. The Sony files will accept a lot more applying of Topaz and Nick filters than cannon files before they begin to break down. The manual is not the easiest to read and I needed my previous experience of cameras to know what was going on.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

I like it!

ILCE-7RM2 07/01/2016 by Jianwen (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have taken a number of photos with high satisfaction

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

2

0

Wow! Have moved on from years of pro DSLR

ILCE-7RM2 30/12/2015 by ThomasAndre (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have to say, I was very sceptical in the beginning and very nervous leaving my Canons at home. It did feel as if I was risking it all on the first shoot. Luckily, I've read a lot about not only the camera features but settings and have tailored those to my needs. I was pleased with the responsiveness of the AF using a third party converter and a pleasant-looking images seen on the lcd display. Later, when I returned to my studio and uploaded everything to my editing suite, I was blowned away by it's amazing dynamic range. Photographed some food for a local restaurant using initially ambient light and then off camera flash and the amount of detail is just great. Razor sharp images, great colour depth (even when I use really toned done picture profile) and overall an amazing quality of images. Downside? Perhaps oversharpened in camera photos. I have taken sharpening all the way down to -7 as it enables me to sharpen it better in Photoshop. HD quality is great but I haven't tested it yet in 4K. It will be interesting to see how it performs versus my Blackmagic Ursa... Buy this camera. It's a no-brainier!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

3

0

Incredibly featured camera. So close to perfect.

ILCE-7RM2 27/12/2015 by 1337J (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Everything you've read is correct. Amazing resolution, dynamic range, High ISO, video etc. The stabilised sensor is incredible, the AF through adaptors (on a lot, not all lenses), is really quick. Just held back by a few things (and I still LOVE the camera): 1. Slow writing to cards (yes, the files are BIG, but perhaps a single SD card is not the best way to handle giant files. CF... Cfast even? Or maybe just a faster buffer... I think SD can handle faster writes than this camera does. 2. Sony's amazing for giving us uncompressed raw after people brought up the issues with their lossy compression. But Canon and Nikon have have Lossless compression since 2004. We shouldn't really have to have 80mb files when lighter ones are possible. 3. 14bit images are amazing... it's a shame that so many modes in the camera (silent shutter, continuous shutter), drops it down to 12bit. 4. Poor menu system 5. Quicker control of the AF spot (or manual focus magnification spot) would be nice. 6.10-bit video would be awesome (but I know I'm reaching on such a small body).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Just awesome

ILCE-7RM2 27/12/2015 by UnSean (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded from A7r and again it was a great improvement in picture quality.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

A perfect all inclusive camera

ILCE-7RM2 27/12/2015 by Twoowls (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had looked at many cameras before deciding to buy the a7Rii together with a 24240 zoom lens. Whilst the lens is heavy (~750g) the results are phenomenal. I shot a full moon then with the zoom feature could see craters that expensive telescopes struggle to see. In low light level the 102000 ASA makes the camera operator like a night vision camera. The camera grip is just perfect, providing a comfortable ergonomic fit between hand and camera body - it never feels like you drop it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

1