Skip to Content
61

4.4 based on 61 customer reviews

40
13
3
3
2
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great low light, wonderful when well lit

Body Only 20/12/2014 by duotone (USA)

All the complaints about no 4k is crazy. Seriously, for those complaining about no 4k, go buy a different camera, like the GH4. Of course if you do, then you'll be complaining about the lack of low light abilities.... crazy.... I bought TWO a7s bodies strictly for the low light. Period. Done. There is NO match to the a7s. My commercial work for clients is 95% very low light, and very dusty conditions. The a7s is good. Crazy good! And not just for video, either. I shoot stills (landscape) and print them 60" wide on canvas, and they look very good.... If you want great dynamic range, and wonderful low light video, then buy this. If you want 4k on the cheap, go somewhere else, but you;ll be back to buy this eventually.

21

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Banding Problems

Body Only 28/04/2015 by bcolomby (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great camera for videos. Amazing ISO threshold... can literally shoot in the dark. The silent shutter is a wonderful feature. The problem is, when you shoot in low light situations, there's a banding (stripes) issue, that can ruin your photos. My friend bought the same camera and is having the same issue with the banding. We were told by technical support that it's because of the silent shutter. We turned that feature off and still saw the banding.

5

0

61 Customer Reviews

0

A very versatile camera (in my view)

ILCE-7S 24/11/2017 by bazerbee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After spending a fair bit of time (age related issue!) getting to understand the nuances of the camera I was really surprised just how good it is, rapid shooting was impressive, numerous features, great for night photography which was the main reason for buying it. A very neat size yet robust. Very very pleased indeed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Very good for my needs as stills photographer.

ILCE-7S 15/04/2017 by Melbourne (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the Sony A7s to shoot film stills. it's one of the only full frame cameras that shoots silently and also has top of the range high ISO ability, as a stills photographer these are two absolute requirements. I also use it for shooting video too which is very good.. I like the files from this camera and do not need mega pixels. I use this camera professionally and find it reliable and does what it says.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

1

0

More than a camera

ILCE-7S 19/03/2017 by mmaja (United Kingdom)

The Sony A7s is the perfect companion for every situation. Not only does it have the most detailed Full HD sensor of all cameras in this price range, but also the endless possibilities this camera gives are amazing. It starts with mounting pretty much every lens that was ever designed apart from the m43 standard and ends with low noise performance even in high ISO range. It is small, lightweight and unreached in pretty much every aspect in it's price range and way beyond that. There are a few things which should be improved (hopefully in future models) such as: - 4:3 video mode for anamorphic filming (i put this on top together with 4k 60p because it is sooo important) - internal 4k 60p - internal nd filter - Full HD slowmotion up to 240 frames - keep the menu system it's great, just make it a few less options - shutter button record video, I love the side button, which is great but it should be able to record on the shutter too, don't you think. - 2 sd card slots (pretty much every wedding videographer who is serious about his business uses this camera) we trust you sony, but we need that 2nd slot for double recording in case of card failure! - better and more codecs (the images sooc are amazing already, imagine what a 10bit prores or whatever could achieve) - give us some a6500 AF performance, not for video but for stills, 20mpx would be awesome too. I think that's pretty much it. Add my features and we have the perfect camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

luvit all

Body Only 16/02/2017 by eherrera1 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

great product definately will keep purchasingluvthe stuff

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great run&gun .

Body Only 18/01/2017 by tokjh (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Beat up this camera on some very rugged shoots. Super durable. Extremely high quality, and amazing image. Keeping the sensor clean is a very delicate process; be extra careful!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Can't take a bad shot.

ILCE-7S 11/11/2016 by Notgoliath (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Loving the A7S. With the 1.8 55 lens, I'm suddenly far more talented. The best thing is the iso. Why do they even make the other cameras? I had the A7r for a day and immediately went back and swapped for the 7S. Stunning shots. I can see in the dark with style!! My only complaint and it's a big one, is Playmemorieshome and software upgrades and use of online features does NOT play nice with Windows 10. Come on Sony, the whole creative world is NOT on Mac. Sort this out now please.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Best camera l've ever owned

ILCE-7S 10/09/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this photographic revelation a while ago and it has proven it's worth. Despite it's 12 megapixel sensor it takes excellent stills and in low light situations it execels capturing vibrant colours even in the dimmest of lighting conditions. This camera is best suited for videography. You really have to own one to experience what would have been considered almost impossible a view years ago. Sony products have always been my first choice and have never let me down.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good

ILCE-7S 30/07/2016 by DuFi (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I'm using it for 3 months and I'm happy to have this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Mr

ILCE-7S 14/05/2016 by Cowboy mike (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera very disappointed with instructions book very poor

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

4

0

EXCELLENT CAMERA FOR VIDEO

ILCE-7S 05/05/2016 by MD Khaled (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the best dslr camera for video i ever used for my production.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Excellent but more needed on battery & resolution

ILCE-7S 24/04/2016 by ElegantSolution (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Product is excellent for landscape, night, portrait, zoom, and general photography. Not as good for extended use in video due to battery length limitations (2 hour videos) and timing (30 min videos only) and heating limitations (heats fast).

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Great camera!

ILCE-7S 11/02/2016 by ayam747 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this about 2 or 3 weeks ago and its truly a fantastic camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Good Low Light, bad battery, not straightforward

ILCE-7S 30/01/2016 by Ant M (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

If you're coming from a Canon, you'll know the ergonomics are terrible on this camera, the ease of use is not so good, but there are Youtube vids to help, definitely look for an external battery source and a cage to help with ergonomics. Always good to join a forum to discover the potential of this camera. Picture quality and low light performance is great, a real upgrade from Canon rebel lines.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Great camera!

ILCE-7S 20/01/2016 by szmyk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought about 2 weeks ago as main astrophotography and night photo camera. My first impression on build quality is excellent, well made solid feel metal body. The only thing I don't like is the strap which looks very cheap. Company should improve that. Image quality is excellent, I could reach around 10 000ISO without much noise appearance. Still experimenting with the settings but I'm sure the one interested in low light photography will be very happy with this camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Sony A7S

ILCE-7S 30/12/2015 by Shanvest (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love it for its compactness and digital viewfinder.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

excellent camera, especially for video BUT......

ILCE-7S 08/11/2015 by solkazu (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this just over six months ago. it has been a great camera, but is severely let down by battery performance, and the lack of low cost/low profile native lenses. I generally use 3rd party lenses with an adapter which is a great alternative, but it would be a massive improvement to see a range of small, light and low price lenses which match the potential of the body.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

1

0

Amazing low light for video

ILCE-7S 11/09/2015 by ajchelsea (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera for it's video capability. I had been using a Canon 7D but I needed something more flexible for lighting conditions. The low light ability of this camera along with S-log2 has greatly increased the quality of my work.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

A camera in its own field

ILCE-7S 09/07/2015 by ideas (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera six months ago. It has become my pet and a great tool in my hand. The satisfying results of video captured with this high end in small body media equipment brings you par with many of the industrial professional acquisition devices. There are features like HDR capture for photos which can be used if you need photos of higher quality than the 12MP the camera's limit. For now I have abandoned an idea to get a video camera. This seem enough for all my video acquisition and delivery requirements when the appropriate accessories are used. Adverts, wedding and poster creation, name them. The automatic switching of the viewfinder to monitor can be turned off if not required.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Incredible piece of engineering!

ILCE-7S 01/07/2015 by hectorsole (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I can't believe how Sony Engineers could fit in this tiny package all this incredible features. Probably Sony is the best sensor maker company in the market right now, and for this tiny price you've got an incredible piece of engineering full of capabilities... This camera will be in a museum in the future, for how it changed the low light understanding and I'm sure will be the start of great new products either from Sony and competitors.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Gorgeous colours and fantastic range

ILCE-7S 29/06/2015 by Acteon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been using the A7S for a few weeks after agonising over the right model to choose - with an RX1R for hi-res shots, I opted for the A7S due to the fantastic colour range, shadow detail and night-time capabilities. I haven't been disappointed. I've produced some fantastic pictures on the camera and have only really dipped into its capabilities so far. Build quality is the usual high Sony standard, the camera feels perfect in-hand. The grip is perfect, the dials are suitably smooth and the weight is lighter than you might expect. Overall I'd highly recommend this camera for people who want to produce high quality shots, though anyone wanting super-enlarged prints might be better off with the A7R or even the upcoming A7RII.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Sony A7s

ILCE-7S 27/06/2015 by painandvirtue (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Happy purchase, disappointed by the firmware update process, and seemingly lack of firmware updates. First camera had fault on USB and had to swapped, second one has been fine.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

shutter broke after 3 months

ILCE-7S 23/06/2015 by Shootdirect (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I owned this camera for three months and the shutter stopped working. Sending off to be repaired now. The bottom line is this camera has too many menu choices, is too small and not at all robust. The sensor is incredibly exposed when changing lenses which as we know if a nightmare for dust particles entering the camera body.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

0

2

0

Great camera ruined by moire and aliasing and stup

ILCE-7S 21/06/2015 by wilco (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Potentially a great camera ruined by Moire and aliasing when in full frame video can only be remedied by changing into apc mode The record button is very awkward to use

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

excellent camera

Body Only 12/06/2015 by icestationzebra (USA)

With over 45 years of experience in photography, when it came time to buy a new camera I took my time and eventually purchased this camera for two reasons. First 4K video and second low light performance. On the first I have yet to record any 4K events. Yes, it is a little disappointing that this camera cannot record 4K when others on the market, including the new a7RII have this attribute. Yet I understand why Sony elected not to at the time, they were aiming at the video professional market. But for the second reason this camera is amazing. It actually opened another door for me into astrophotography, not only open sky but telescope imaging as well. With this camera I can clearly see the stars my eyes cannot see and most important focus on them very very accurately. Now I know Sony reads feedback and I hope that Sony will release astrophotography apps. Maybe extending the shutter time well beyond 30 seconds (I understand there maybe some thermal issues, but the app should be able to take that into account), enhanced long exposure noise reduction designed for astrophotography. Who knows maybe someday soon even release a limited edition a7s designed for astrophotography like the D810a. Bottom line: If I had to do it all over again I would still buy the a7s and that says it all. Should Sony come out with a astrophotography version I would buy that as well. d2f

5

0

0

A camera with great specs

ILCE-7S 19/05/2015 by thelaee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Well I bought it few months ago and have already shot my short documentary film with this camera. So far so good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Weater sealing

Body Only 18/05/2015 by Raicho (USA)

This camera would have been the perfect one if it was moisture and dust proof

5

12

Response From Sony Support
19/05/2015

Hi Raicho,

We appreciate the suggestion you've put forth. We will forward this to the right department for future product developments

0

Brilliant camera but who designed the grip?!!

Body Only 12/05/2015 by IDEB (USA)

I am professional photographer. I bought the Sony A7S to try it. Surely it is an amazing camera, but I am going to sell it for the following reasons: I can't stand how uncomfortable is the grip with the shutter button put straight up in vertical... very anti-ergonomic position and wouldn't be able to use it on a full day at weddings. The lack of a double card slot (very useful in other cameras to provide backup while shooting). Low megapixel count (I understand the high ISO is thank to the low megapixel, but are we sure we can't get anymore retaining same low light performance?) I sell this one now and really, really hope that very soon a Sony A7S MKII will come out on the market with better grip, better shutter position, (as you made with sony a7 MKII), dual card slot, more megapixel (maintaining same or better low light). If you accomplish this, I am willing to sell all my canon gear and switch 100% to Sony for all my pro gear. I would buy 2 cameras and all the lenses I need! Also please keep working on providing faster lenses native for A7S, 24-70 f/4 is not enough, give us 2.8, 70-200 2.8 etc! I think many other pro photographers are just waiting for more lenses to then do the switch to Sony!

11

0

0

A very happy videographer

ILCE-7S 05/05/2015 by nvida999 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

What a camera! Size, power, adaptability, low-light, look, feel; everything about it is a delight!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Gimme a break

Body Only 03/05/2015 by stpal001 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unbelievable low light and astrophotography performance.

1

0

0

Best video camera I've ever encountered

Body Only 03/05/2015 by SonyLeicaDave (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The full frame sensor, the widely ranging ISO, and codec, and the adaptability of the camera to take almost any lens makes it a brilliant choice. I have outfitted mine with an adaptor to allow me to use a collection of Leica lenses. Yes, I would like a zoom, but these primes are beautiful in combination. My only dissatisfaction is the 29 minute recording time. I work around it, but for long records it's a bit of a pain. Yes, I know I can get an outboard recorder, like a Shogun, but I prefer a smaller setup, and 1080p with the 50 mbs codec results in just stunning video. I am very grateful to have this camera.

0

1

0

Banding Problems

Body Only 28/04/2015 by bcolomby (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great camera for videos. Amazing ISO threshold... can literally shoot in the dark. The silent shutter is a wonderful feature. The problem is, when you shoot in low light situations, there's a banding (stripes) issue, that can ruin your photos. My friend bought the same camera and is having the same issue with the banding. We were told by technical support that it's because of the silent shutter. We turned that feature off and still saw the banding.

5

0

Response From Sony Support
01/05/2015

Hi bcolomby,

Thanks for bringing this information to our attention. Please send us a message at socialsupport@am.sony.com with your product info and a sample of what you are seeing.

0

The best camera I have ever owned!

ILCE-7S 22/04/2015 by jbh2k5 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having been a photographer now for over 15 Years I have owned a range of cameras. The A700 tempted me away from Canon many years ago - the alpha range kept me faithful and now the innovation of the a7s has totally blown me away. The low light capabilities have opened up so many creative opportunities in photography as well as film making - an area that I have been exploring more and more and was beginning to feel limited with my a55. I love the image quality that comes out of the RAW files from this camera - the colour rendition is good and edges are crisp - even with in camera sharpening turned all the way down. S-LOG is a revelation for those projects where I get the time to colour grade. I am currently using canon glass on this camera and an so pleased to find a lens system that is versatile enough to be used in this way. Keep up the innovation Sony!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Magic

ILCE-7S 18/04/2015 by Xweini (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Used for a few months now, great camera. Quality of sensor is superb regarding subtle colour rendition. The ISO ability is miraculous. Start up is slow compared to my DSLR but the the benefits ie small size and ability are worth it. Worthwhile having a couple of spare batteries to hand. A thing of beauty.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

WOW!

Body Only 12/04/2015 by overseasguy (USA)

This cameras night capability is amazing, you have to see it to believe it. This camera adds some fun to low light photography.

4

0

0

My other cameras are now jealous.

Body Only 10/04/2015 by KrisKnight (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I can't say enough about this cameras' overall performance. Excellent in low light conditions, fantastic battery life and intuitive interface. I really love playing with the in-camera apps and adore the fact that I can send my photos to my mobile phone to view on the go.

0

0

0

disappointing for a sony user, nikon is better

ILCE-7S 10/04/2015 by Furfix (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not impressed. Image quality is soft and lacks any definition. Poor image quality above iso 400. Buy a Nikon.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

0

7

0

Great Camera for Video

Body Only 10/04/2015 by RedVanStudio (USA)

I've been using this camera for about 8 months. I mainly use it for video production, but it's a great stills camera as well. I actually plan on picking up a second body for back up in the field.

5

0

0

Killer Camera :)

Body Only 08/04/2015 by mogavideoca (USA)

First of all you need to understand what this camera made for. Yes this camera only made for low light shoot. You know this camera is a banger. Buying another unit. Thanks sony :)

4

0

0

Low light and 4K!

ILCE-7S 31/03/2015 by Looksamc (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After extensive research I decided to buy this camera for filming only and what a great purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

The best low light camera I have ever seen

Body Only 28/03/2015 by kitchu (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Thanks to SONY for giving this camera to public. The full frame sensor is so sensitive, it can capture photos even at very low lights. Persons with SLR experience and photo processing experience can reap the full benefits of the camera

2

0

0

Very good camera, but a lot mor details to Improve

ILCE-7S 19/03/2015 by Johnny369 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a student photographer, I do news photography at my university. I use this camera along side with my DSLR when I do news. This camera is fantastic, fast af, crazy iso performance, more importantly it is so small and quiet. However, when I come to use flash, I would love to have an aperture preview function, because when I use small aperture I just can't see a thing on the evf. Also better with the shutter shut while the camera is off to avoid dust.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Love the ISO

ILCE-7S 06/03/2015 by Wayne 49 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Built in image stabilisation would be good and higher Pixal for the camera,but I bought the camera for its low light filming and it's unbelievable so I'm so glad I bought it and i would definitely recommend it to my friends

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great video camera

ILCE-7S 01/03/2015 by Botatoe (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to film Weddings, it is so versatile especially in dark rooms such as during the speeches and first dance So many great picture profiles to use

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

SUperb low light capabilites

ILCE-7S 23/02/2015 by MattB (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera to shoot both photos and video and I'm very impressed with the much-lauded low light abilities, and also the wide dynamic range available when shooting photos in RAW. The only slight downside is the short battery life, but they are small enough to be able to carry a number of spares. It's also great to be able to use existing lenses from other manufacturers via inexpensive adapters, which really broadens the scope of the camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

sony A7s

ILCE-7S 06/02/2015 by lowlightmonster (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

unbelievable video quality in low light! paired with samyang cine primes this has produced the cleanest 1080p ive ever seen from a DSLR/hybrid , stills are pretty nice too but most ppl buying this are getting it for video :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

2

1

0

needs to be seen to believe

ILCE-7S 30/01/2015 by joanne46 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I checked out all the reviews online before buying this product and all I can say is wow ...really you need to see it for yourself the iso is just mind blowing took a photo of a friend turned all the lights out at night couldn't see my hands in front of me dark and pumped up the iso took a photo and it was like daylight

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

A step forward

ILCE-7S 12/01/2015 by jonnohan (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I spent a great deal of time looking at the a7 range as it was getting good reviews until I was in North Norway with a photographer who was photographing the Northern Lights we discussed the Sony range and I was convinced that the a7s was the Camera for me as I wanted to film the Northern lights in real time. I now have the a7s and although Ive not yet photographed the Northen lights I have taken some great night photos in Suffolk where I live. I am a relative novice on cameras and would have liked a more user friendly manual....but overall a great camera if a little overpriced.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great Camera

Body Only 10/01/2015 by Mkizilay (USA)

I had NEX-5N before. I wanted to have something better in terms of video capabilities this time. Through out many reviews I decided to get a7S. Very very light, mobile. Extremely good for low light, never seen something like this before. For certain people, 12MP for still photography is a downside, but it works perfectly for me. If you have good full frame lens, it will be super sharp and high quality. Focus Peaking is a great feature for manual focus. XAVC-S is a wonderful codec for Color Grading. Battery goes fast but you get 2 batteries so that's pretty good. There is only one thing bothers me; not enough native lenses. Sony should act very aggresive about releasing more Full Frame lenses for a7 series. I was looking for 35mm f1/4 but ended up getting Zeiss 55mm instead because they don't have option.

14

1

0

Z2 VS Z3

Body Only 04/01/2015 by SONYGUYNJ (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Owning a Z2 the next step was a Z3, however several key changes I felt were backwards- One the LED is now a small dot in the corner of the device vs. the larger one over the Sony logo on the Z2. Another key item for me was callers expressing lack of audio clarity when using the speaker phone was garbled and unpleasant. The game changer was being unable to use "Ok Google" as it created a camera error message they were unable to address until the next release.

1

90

0

Great low light, wonderful when well lit

Body Only 20/12/2014 by duotone (USA)

All the complaints about no 4k is crazy. Seriously, for those complaining about no 4k, go buy a different camera, like the GH4. Of course if you do, then you'll be complaining about the lack of low light abilities.... crazy.... I bought TWO a7s bodies strictly for the low light. Period. Done. There is NO match to the a7s. My commercial work for clients is 95% very low light, and very dusty conditions. The a7s is good. Crazy good! And not just for video, either. I shoot stills (landscape) and print them 60" wide on canvas, and they look very good.... If you want great dynamic range, and wonderful low light video, then buy this. If you want 4k on the cheap, go somewhere else, but you;ll be back to buy this eventually.

21

0

0

Great camera - disappointed to have a dead pixel!!

ILCE-7S 18/12/2014 by Markee (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Pros Fast and accurate focusing Quiet Feels solid Cons Spent a lot of money with this camera only to get a dead pixel on the LCD Camera maybe not quite as light sensitive at high ISO as I had expected It's easy to knock the selector wheel and accidentally change the ISO (had to change wheel setting) Record button awkward to use

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Excellent video camera!

ILCE-7S 16/12/2014 by TsiknesFilms (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First of all it's worth mentioning why I decided to go with this camera. As a film-maker I always felt that I had a lot of limitations with my previous (entry-level dslr) camera. Under the right lighting I was very happy, but when I wanted that candid shot when nothing is set up, or you just wanted to film/snap some photos of friends when there's not enough natural light, I stopped bothering after a while. I can't express how well the A7s handles low-light. As of 2014 it's the King of low light. Now coming from a Canon background, all my equipment is still useful, including my lenses and my flashgun. The amazing thing with mirrorless cameras is the fact that no matter what lens you've got, with the right adaptor, you can use it with your camera (some adaptors have limited compatibilities with aperture or IS but you'll have to check it for yourself), even APS-C. THAT was my selling point. If Sony ever tries to get in the way of this, it'll lose a lot of people including me. The only thing that saddens me is the 12 megapixel performance and the external 4K recording. I understand the reasons of that limitation, but for the price of this camera, it's a shame. Hopefully some affordable solutions will show up in the near future. This camera is packed with lots of features and customisations. You can remap (nearly) every single button to what it's more comfortable for you. Conclusion: The camera is FANTASTIC and I highly recommend it if you are serious for video. For stills, I am very disappointed

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Jack of all trades? No. Master of some? Yes.

Body Only 04/12/2014 by Aidivn (USA)

Get a tripod go outside at night and watch this camera overexpose the milky way. That's how sensitive it is. Sounds like a one trick pony, but think of all the things only you can do by having just that. Owned and used this camera for a while now. I use Sonnar T* FE 55mm F1.8 ZA Full-frame E-mount Prime Lens and Vario-Tessar T* FE 24-70mm F4 ZA OSS Full-frame E-mount Zoom Lens. Rolling shudder Yes No question. Compared to other cameras it is worse than some but not all. I would not call it end of the world but you will need to keep this in mind in some situations. Low Light - Amazing, nothing comes close. Untrained eye wont see much compared against the next best low light camera but with a little looking becomes obvious in most situations. Faults - Video Record button. Whoever decided that was a good place to place it should explain themselves. All in all. This Camera is impressive. The menu is complicated to people who don't use the camera for longer than a day. A quick menu is also available for frequented settings. (Make your own menu basically under a hotkey) After a day of playing with the menu it really isn't that complicated.

34

1

0

Why only 8-bit 4:2:2 ouput?

Body Only 29/11/2014  (USA)

Please, SONY, make the new firmware to alow us to record 10-bit 4:2:2 into Atomos Shogun, if you already advertise that combination! This is your typical tactic, to ,,LOCK FEATURES,, in yout cameras, as you did with FS700, F5 (4K recording until somebody hacked it) and wait for compatitors..... well, GH4 is cheeper and had 10-bit! Good morning. Why cannot you just simply give it 10-bit 4:2:2 4K OUT, if it is supposed to be used with the only HDMI 4K recorder awailable nowdays? Thank you for understanding. BTW, I personaly own A7s already and Shogun is already on the way to me, so please, don´t make SONY users angry like you often do with degrading your new products. Thank you

40

32

0

Best camera I've ever owned!!!

ILCE-7S 28/11/2014 by GrahL (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's been a year since I have left Nikon to go over to Sony and never looked back. I have the a99 and A7 but the A7s has the best sensor for low light photography I have ever come across especially paired with a Leica M Mount lens like the Voigtlander 35mm f1.2 via adapter. Images retain amazing colour and noise control from ISO 25,000, from there the image degrades very and I mean very very slowly up to ISO 409,600. BTW my experience is based on shooting RAW files. One other thing, silent shutter mode is amazing!! Literally don't here a sound and you can do that with burst mode also, okay the only minor downside is that you do faintly see refresh rate line in silent shutter mode some indoor lighting conditions (but I can live with that as it does not interfere with the image).

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

What a great camera

ILCE-7S 10/10/2014 by Pedrin (United Kingdom)

Having had my A7s for a few weeks now I can say that it really is a fantastic camera. Great build quality , easy to use , small and lightweight . People who think that 12 MP is not enough should try this camera, great depth of colour and detail in the photos it produces.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Amazing!

ILCE-7S 31/08/2014 by Squirrelman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

With a forth-coming wildlife 'project', and needing a camera capable of handling low light situations, I thought that the a7S might fit the bill. Initial tests left me amazed. Video in a known 'difficult' location left me more than satisfied (although I only set the aperture at f4), whilst the 12MP sensor gave still images which had me amazed by the quality. Beer pumps at f2 put the background nicely out of focus. For general photography, I will use it very much as a 'point and shoot', and am more than happy with the autofocus. I did find manual focus a little tricky, under some lighting conditions, even with 'peaking' turned on. This is only a minor grumble, and it was a lot more fun walking around with the a7S + 55mm, rather than a heavy DSLR. This camera will really come into its own on walking trips.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

ILCE-7

ILCE-7S 12/08/2014 by The Hills (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

As a Nikon user I decided to try the new Sony ILCE-7 because it was full frame and very light even with a Carl Zeiss lens. After two photo shoots I produced some excellent work equal to anything I have produced using my Nikon full frame camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

2

0

IS and TC options

ILCE-7S 08/08/2014  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It's a great camera for photography and videography especially in low light situation. I really enjoy it. The camera has IS and TC options in but you can't use it. Those are the main features for videography. Sony hasn't got any solution for that yet.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

Great sensor, needs improvements in the firmware

ILCE-7S 01/08/2014 by Mcadei (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a filmmaker. This camera produces great videos for having such a tiny body. There are still many improvements to do, possibly with a future firmware upgrade. The position of the Start-Stop movie button at the moment is very difficult to reach when operating handheld. The customizable buttons needs improvement (more options, such as a dedicated Histogram button, or a easier toggle display infos) A sharpness peaking in the viewfinder function would be nice. The 120fps mode is quite useless (too soft). 50/60fps is okay. The XLM-K1M is great but it is impossible to mount onto the camera! I really looking forward to a solution from Sony. I am also missing the lack of support in the post production workflow when shooting SLOG (Please Sony give us a proper slog-rec709 LUT). I am overall satisfied.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

0

Not a digital/video camera for action

Body Only 07/07/2014 by rthomp (USA)

The overall picture quality is wonderful. Of course this camera beats all other cameras in the market with its sensitivity. The dynamic range is amazing. The only big issue with me is that I am heavily involved with action sports videography. People and things fly across my screen very quickly so rolling shutter means a lot. THIS IS NOT THE CAMERA FOR YOU IF YOU HEAVILY VALUE ROLLING SHUTTER. If rolling shutter is not that big of a problem, the events or occasions you take video of are dark, you enjoy having a large sensor, you value having mobility, and you like having a wide lens selection, this camera is the one for you HANDS DOWN.

122

67