Skip to Content
28

4.6 based on 28 customer reviews

18
8
2
0
0
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Great in low light but beware the claims

ILCE-7SM2 01/01/2016 by Freekorps (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having played about with this camera for a couple of weeks, the stabilisation and low light features are great. However, the ISOs claimed by specs are misleading as beyond a certain limit he images are too noisy to be useful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

A very mixed mind about this one

ILCE-7SM2 21/04/2016 by pinky the mouse (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I feel like I have been sold a broken product, the skew introduced due to the poor image sensor scanning speed, is so pronounced that most moving style shots, or shots where the subjects move quickly through the frame are useless and have to be binned. Its a shame, I am sure I can work around this with carefully planned scenes but I fell this product should never really have made it through to the production stage. On the upside the video when good is exceptional, low light capabilities are very impressive. Shame though about the battery life!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

6

5

28 Customer Reviews

0

A keeper

ILCE-7SM2 18/11/2017 by Remoran (USA)

I have used the A7SII for over a year and stunning says it all. From stills to video, especially in low light, the system performs as advertised. Have shot in all conditions with no complications save that the sensor is a dust magnet and must be cleaned from time to time. Have shot with vintage lenses to great advantage without issue.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great images, brilliant for video

ILCE-7SM2 14/10/2017 by Jondle (United Kingdom)

I'm a professional filmmaker and editor and I was was looking a new camera for work. I chose the A7sii for the size, image quality and choice of control. However I was very impressed with the images in lower light conditions, when filming. I work with theatres and this camera is perfect for those conditions when you need to increase the ISO and still get great video. 4k is amazing too. Overall a great camera. Would recommend to anyone this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Increible video camera.

Body Only 10/09/2017 by Budafilms (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very sastified. I know if the camera can rec 4k 8bits, can do 10 bits FULL HD Internal. And Raw external.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Amazing camera

Body Only 04/09/2017 by sebascelis (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this camera for video and low light, the 4K is breathtaking, my best camera so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent equipment!

Body Only 28/08/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Still under test and adaptation, I came across an excellent camera, but not only for low lights, but for various types of footage. 4k with lots of definition

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Most Excellent camera ever

ILCE-7SM2 01/08/2017 by dalin (USA)

i love it .....it is so grate mirror camera with full frame

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Thanks welcome

Body Only 19/06/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Photos taken on a birthday held by thiago in brazil in 2017

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Brilliant but frustrating!

ILCE-7SM2 31/05/2017 by BuzzView (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Unbelivable low-light full frame camera, which is very badly let down by poor design in several key areas. Battery life is frankly awful. Screen menu and internet access is terrible due to a lack of a touchscreen interface. No side flip out screen. The smartphone remote control app works reasonably well, but what a pain to set up initially. Sony, you should be doing better than this! If Panasonic can do it, so should you!!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

Brilliant with minor annoyances

ILCE-7SM2 20/05/2017 by JWfilm (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Brilliant cinematic images and incredible dynamic range for the price. The Dynamic range is the main reason I still prefer this over the GH5. It takes a while to work out workflow with the log gammas but they are great when you get used to it however I wish it had a 10bit option; I occasionally see banding on white surfaces when pushing too far using slog3. On my model the SD card door became hard to open however i have compared to many models and assume its not a widespread issue. One issue that is present on all models though is that the body has very soft paint and will be removed very easily. This however isn't a issue if you don't mind cosmetic marks on the camera, it does however affect resell value. The menu system isn't bad and the custom buttons make it so I rarely need to go into it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Best for the price

Body Only 15/05/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

For me is the best camera in the world, i know there is no perfect camera but for me is like having a cinema camera in my hand. :)

0

0

Response From Sony Sony North America Customer Support
19/05/2017

Hi there! It's good to know that you are happy with your purchase. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Jerome

0

Amazing Quality!!

ILCE-7SM2 25/04/2017 by George28051 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this camera as i wanted something that shot stunning video as well as great photos. This camera certainly pulls this off. Everything from the numerous in-camera features to the way the camera is built makes it a joy to use and to own. I love it!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great image quality

ILCE-7SM2 02/04/2017 by Rosscodj (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Happy with image quality but video settings are confusing

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Quality Camera

ILCE-7SM2 01/04/2017 by Dano321 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Quality camera, so many good features, as expected. Great to use and comfortable in your hand. Downsides - Batteries don't last that long. Clips for the strap loosely dangle on the side, should be built in. Menu is fiddly, but you can custom program buttons and you get used to it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

So far so good!

Body Only 03/03/2017 by Laz480 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

All my vintage Nikon lenses worked! Im a happy man.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Fantastic Pro-Sumer Camera

Body Only 17/02/2017 by SammySarge (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've used the A7s series camera for a while now, and finally decided that I needed to own one. So I bought the A7sii. I've used it to take pictures, but primarily video. I'm a filmmaker and I've used it to shoot short films, corporate video commercials, Doc work and much more. It capacity to create a stunning image is remarkable, especially at the price point. Camera can easily pay it self off. Pretty dang affordable pro-sumer camera, that packs a punch and can easily be used as a B-Cam on full features. Obviously it has it's limitations, however if you play to its strengths you can really create something beautiful that could easily be seen at the cinema.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

A great Continuation to the Legacy of the A7S.

Body Only 04/01/2017 by Peteographizzle (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Improved lowlight or rather better noise reduction. Internal 4K. 1080p120. Better images with improved range (with 2.20 firmware). Faster focusing than the original A7S. 5-Axis Image Stabilization. More and more to love. The A7S II follows on the legacy of the original and bests it in every possible way. You get better video.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great Camera but why no Time Lapse?

ILCE-7SM2 01/06/2016 by Adam001 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera because of it's 4k, low-light and slo-mo capabilities, it did not disappoint in any of these respects. In fact I have since bought a second one so that I can keep one attached to a Ronin M Gimbal or Edelkrone Slider system and the other fitted into a Tilta Cage with accessories such as Sony Audio Mixer, Sennheiser Wireless Mic, on-board lighting and a SmallHD Bright Monitor, for Daylight Shooting. My only gripe is that you have to go through a seriously torturous process to install a time-lapse app (you have to register to the Playstation site, get their app, then download the time-lapse app from there, which sounds easy, but doing this through the camera interface is horrible. Otherwise, great!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

3

0

Good low light cine camera

ILCE-7SM2 30/05/2016 by DocR (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am very pleased with the performance of this camera in low light conditions, but this becomes difficult on bright days externally. The camera could do with an internal ND filter or warning that ND filters are really necessary to avoid over exposure. I bought a 95mm lens for which it is difficult to get variable ND filters in the UK. The record button position is a poor design feature, but C3 button is assignable.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

2

0

Slow motion, low light capabilities

ILCE-7SM2 23/05/2016 by Roop Rai (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Awesome piece of equipment with great features. Brilliant low light capabilities, great ergonomics.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

2

0

A very mixed mind about this one

ILCE-7SM2 21/04/2016 by pinky the mouse (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I feel like I have been sold a broken product, the skew introduced due to the poor image sensor scanning speed, is so pronounced that most moving style shots, or shots where the subjects move quickly through the frame are useless and have to be binned. Its a shame, I am sure I can work around this with carefully planned scenes but I fell this product should never really have made it through to the production stage. On the upside the video when good is exceptional, low light capabilities are very impressive. Shame though about the battery life!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

6

5

0

Amazing Camera !!

ILCE-7SM2 15/03/2016 by Jishnu (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have read the reviews of this Low Light monster, but as we say seeing is believing! Oh boy, can wait to shoot moonless starry nights with it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

Unbelievable.

ILCE-7SM2 18/02/2016 by atom (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this before a trip to Japan - had a wonderful time and learning to use this camera while I was out there was a joy. Stunning low light performance, fantastic for use during the day - It really shone in every circumstance. I was using it with a 50mm shooting wide open so did have to stop it down with nd filters on occassion, but this was hardly a drawback. Really really lovely camera. While it also takes lovely stills this is definitely a feature that could be improved upon in terms of the image resolution and quality, and the digital zoom is very nasty at the higher values - but obviously a zoom lens would be a far better solution for this. All in all really really great.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

2

0

Fantastic camera!!!

ILCE-7SM2 14/02/2016 by Bad Monk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Got the Sony A7S2 shortly after release and before buying did some research online and all of the reviews and impressions were very positive. I use this new camera for mainly the movie function as I work in the film industry and shoot rehearsal action concepts for major studios and movie productions and the functions and quality of the A7S2 are fantastic. 4K looks stunning and the slow motion video (120fps @ 1080p) adds another creative edge to your movies. This is my first DSLR camera and like I said above, I got this mainly for the video mode but make no mistake as a stills camera this is a beast, I bumped into 2 professional photographers lately who also work in the same industry as me, and both have started using the A7S2 in their work flow, one having bought three of the same model and could not praise this camera high enough. You prob already know about the superb low light functions, super fast auto focus and full frame 35mm feature, this was just a quick review of my few weeks using the Sony A7S2 and I cannot recommend this camera enough. The only downside is the lack of touchscreen menus which would have made this camera perfect but that's just me being petty and don't let that put you off what is a remarkable piece of equipment.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

1

0

Such a great camera

ILCE-7SM2 25/01/2016 by jaames96 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was my first Sony camera. I bought it a month ago. I loved the small body, the excellent image quality, the features and the dynamic range. I do not love the twerks, example when shooting in 4K or in 120/fps you can't make the screen and viewfinder brightness at high level, as it dims automatically. Only issues like these bugs me. The battery life is not that good but considering how small it is, it's okay. Love this camera and am so happy I made the switch from Canon to Sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

1

0

Good power in a small box

ILCE-7SM2 17/01/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this product before X-mas and at first I was amazed how much power this small body contains. But then unfortunately, as myself being a professional, disappointment came into very different areas, as probably my expectations were vey high. I like the size, the options I have, definitely the option of recording 4k internally, the customizable buttons, the options of attaching mic preamp at the hot shoe. I dislike the colors and the tones, the aliasing problem is the biggest fall may be, I also don't like that I am not able to limit the shutter speed when shooting video let say to not fall bellow 50p on automatic mode, as I am able to limit the ISO. The autofocus is almost unusable and very slow. Not accurate as well. I am talking about video only as I believe this is the purpose of this camera. Battery drain is a big problem too. The lense choice is very limited too. Also there is something very strange thing going on with depth of field. I am a Canon user and there is a very different story. Even at f8 I don't have focus across the whole frame, but here at f4 focus is across the whole scene. That is very strange. I don't understand it. Sound quality is very good though. Also I wish we had 4k at 50p without the aliasing problem, much better lcd is needed, and an option of tilt to the left and right is essential for video shooting.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

2

3

0

Great in low light but beware the claims

ILCE-7SM2 01/01/2016 by Freekorps (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having played about with this camera for a couple of weeks, the stabilisation and low light features are great. However, the ISOs claimed by specs are misleading as beyond a certain limit he images are too noisy to be useful.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

5

0

0

Great and Silly

ILCE-7SM2 07/12/2015 by Gludy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Without doubt this is a great camera and will now become my main video camera BUT it has some silly things about it that would be easy to cure like:- The video record button position and nature is useless -stick a plastic button on it to use it or buy the third party device that clips over it so you can easily press the record button - a basic function by any standards. Menu system that could learn a lot from the Panasonic GH4 Would like at least 10 bit 4k output to a third party recorder like the GH4. Would like to be able to set the C1/C2 buttons so that I could say set slow motion on one by just clicking to it. Otherwise simply a great camera that has replaced the GH4 with me because the small silly downsides are as nothing compared to its basic video performance.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Probably my best camera ever!

ILCE-7SM2 13/11/2015 by Bill The Bruce (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've only had my camera for about 3 weeks and think I can safely say it is the most exciting camera I've ever owned. Although I've used it mostly for personal use, to see what it's capable of, I have also just used it one professional film shoot and the difference in quality this camera brings to the table is plain for ALL to see! I've also just bought a new macro lens and know I'm just going to love it even more as time goes on.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0