28

4.7 based on 28 customer reviews

24
2
1
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

28 Customer Reviews

0

It's a major upgrade form the A7iii

ilce-7sm3-uc2 17/04/2021 by Risewithin (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The im still in the honeymoon phase of owning this but I've been shooting on the a7iii for over a year and this camera is just awesome. The giant leap in colors, usability and dynamic range is exactly what Sony users wanted so we know Sony listens . Im a huge advocate for Sony now that I know this and I hope they keep making huge strides in their cameras and phones. Thank you Sony!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Pure magic!

ILCE-7SM3 14/04/2021 by johnuram (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I use the A7S3 mostly in low light conditions, excellent for almost everything.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Top price for top performance!

ILCE-7SM3 01/04/2021 by John Fry (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A job came in that was to be shot mostly on a gimbal, my old a6300 was starting to creak, so I bought the A7S3 & a couple of full frame lenses. The camera has performed flawlessly, gives all the video options my director and editor could want, creatively and in terms of format & codecs, and is rugged, compact and feels great in the hand. The stills are as beautiful as the video, which was a surprise!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Amazing Camera

ILCE-7SM3 28/03/2021 by JayPaterson (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I previously owned the a7sii and like everyone else waited a long time for the release of this camera. It is incredible and with the addition of the S-Cinetone in the latest firmware update it is a little powerhouse.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

The legend is real

ilce-7sm3-uc2 16/03/2021 by Mr Manny (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Exceeds the hype, the A7Siii gives videographers in any industry the flexibility and adaptability to shoot incredible video for any scenario.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Good image quality

ILCE-7SM3 12/03/2021 by Room 8 (United Kingdom)

We bought it last month and we are impressed by the performance in low light

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

7

15

0

Brilliant camera, gamechanger

ILCE-7SM3 09/03/2021 by JCCJ (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera, completely changed approach to video and functionality, a great step forward. Great for photography also as my main use is for digital purposes

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

2

0

Serious video/stills camera

ILCE7SM3/B 28/02/2021 by remoran (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The update from the 7SII, in itself excellent tech, is substantial and nuanced. It takes time to get this system up to speed but in the end, it's worth it without question.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Fantastic

ILCE-7SM3 06/02/2021 by jmpgood (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera for stills and video (I am TV producer and content creator) and I am delighted with this camera and its features.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

30

0

NOT Dissapointed

ILCE-7SM3 05/02/2021 by sflsgd (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Do you know I bought the new Sony A7S3 which comes with no lens & so bought 3rd party one from Tamaron I have to say im not disappointed with the camera at all being a video 1st beats my Canon. The saving allowed for the other accessories I need - like memory cards/spare battery etc..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

8

0

Don’t buy for clean iso in low light.

ILCE-7SM3 02/02/2021 by AlexFT (USA)

I bought this camera to replace my GH5s thinking that it would blow it out of the water as it relates to noise in low light video and higher iso’s, but I was surprised to see that it doesn’t exactly perform any better and is some cases it is actually noisier. Color retention however is excellent at high iso. Perhaps Sony could add, in a firmware update, a dedicated low light mode that has built in noise reduction so we can shoot cleaner footage past iso 6400 straight out of the camera.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Excellent Video Camera

ILCE-7SM3 19/01/2021 by PeterMcC (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been using this camera for a couple of months for my business and personal use. It does everything I need for video; the quality of 4k video and the low light capability are simply amazing. So many options of video quality to satisfy each assignment. It does produce very impressive stills, but since they are 12 Mpix I really only use it for video and stick with my A7RII for still photography.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

80

14

0

Great Product Needs an update

ILCE7SM3/B 08/01/2021 by Enter the Zone (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I truly enjoy this camera. I purchased it for professional filming and for low-light shooting. The missing features needed are per-channel audio recording level controls (L and R channels), and output audio level controls to the headphones/monitors.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Amazing for Corporate Video

ILCE7SM3/B 01/01/2021 by eyedidit (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Easy setup and by far best quality video for the price.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Best mirrorless camera ever!

ILCE-7SM3 31/12/2020 by Chelo54 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have used many DSLR and mirrorless cameras and haven't found anything like the S line from Sony and the A7sIII it's just a triumph!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

10

0

Just wow

ilce-7sm3-uc2 23/12/2020 by Robisnotcool (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Spent the last 4 hours tinkering with it, it is an amazing camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Brilliant

ILCE-7SM3 20/12/2020 by iVIDEO (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Simply brilliant.. but needs and should have 23.94p as it is a "film hybrid camera.. or at least it should have shutter angle then it would be perfect.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

24

0

Very capable camera with great video quality.

ILCE-7SM3 15/12/2020 by cameradude uk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

There is never going to be the perfect combination of features: personally I would have liked a 6K sensor for a better debayered 4K image in the A7S mk3 (and the FX6) but I guess that would be too much of a threat to the FX9. Also, more pixels would mean higher res. when using S35 lenses in crop mode. That aside, I can't fault the image that comes out of the A7S3: less noise than the original A7S and better colour science, all underpinned by a long-overdue 10bit 422 video codec that solves so many limitations of previous models across the entire Alpha range. AF eye tracking is now at a whole new level and this makes it a great gimbal camera when used with native lenses. I would've preferred it to use CFexpress Type B cards since they are half the price and twice the speed of Type A cards but that's not a deal breaker by any means.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

8

0

Best video camera in the world

ILCE-7SM3 13/12/2020 by Silviu CREATE (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Best video camera in the world I would recommend Beast

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

8

0

Best Mirrorless Sony Camera

ILCE-7SM3 03/12/2020 by Gerssis (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've been working with mirrorless cameras specially Sony since 2015 and only just now I think I've found the perfect camera for myself and needs on this one, the wait was very long but after having the A7S I and the A7III I couldn't miss on this one for sure! Thank you so much sony

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

2

0

An amazing camera!

ILCE-7SM3 22/11/2020 by egdavies (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

After what seemed like an age the A7sIII offers specs that tick all the boxes for most people. RAW HDMI output coupled with high bit rate and frame rates internally with the finally revamped menus and proper touch screen make this camera worth every penny. Only downside is the lack of super35 at 4K mode but this is a limitation of the sensor. This will not disappoint, so spend your money with confidence!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

6

0

The Best Hybrid Mirrorless Camera to Date

ilce-7sm3-uc2 13/11/2020 by brandonmhinsley (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Sony, cover the sensor! 12mp is more than enough for printing to 13x19" & above. When the sensor is designed to prioritize the size of pixels over quantity of pixels you will get higher dynamic. The low light performance & dynamic range of sensors are more important to image quality than megapixel count, unless you plan to crop your images. The touchscreen, IBIS, new menus & color science are all wonderful as well.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Pretty much perfect for video

ILCE-7SM3 27/10/2020 by randomsonyvideoperson (USA)

This is what I have been waiting for for a LONG time. Has pretty much everything I want: - Flip screen - Amazing auto focus - Auto white balance lock - 4K 120fps - Amazing battery life - Amazing low light performance Only two things I still don't like: 1. Touch to focus is still unreliable. I would really like a box surrounding the focus point when using touch to focus so I know exactly where I'm focusing. 2. The ability to disable super whites in the picture profiles that have it or the ability to select RGB ranges. I want to be able to shoot in 16-235 or 0-255. 16-255 just causes me headaches, I want to know exactly what I'm shooting without having to do any post processing work. Maybe this could be addressed in a firmware update? Otherwise, this is basically a perfect camera for video.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

0

0

Sony A7siii DISSAPOINTS WITH SIMPLE PRACTICAL TEST

ILCE-7SM3 14/10/2020  (USA)

Dear Sony Alpha, I am an avid Sony a7s series user and I just received my new Sony A7siii through BH Photo. While everyone is raving over the product it failed a very practical test on my very first use. I am throughly disappointed especially with the $4000 price and 4 year wait. I cant believe that the Sony Alpha test team and reviewers completely missed in a practical test. My issue that I am extremely disappointed in is that yes sure the LCD screen that flips out is cool and all but however if you have anything plugged into the mic audio jack/HDMI etc, then you cannot tilt or adjust the screen. When the screen is in the standard center position you are not able to adjust either. If you using this product for video, you will be disappointed that if you have your headphones plugged in to hear the audio while having the flip screen out, you cannot angle the screen to see because of this very poor design. Im reach out to @sonyalpha for a troubleshooting fix because I am one of the first to receive the product and know more users will be throughly disappointed for run and gun filming situations. Also not so great that I'm still waiting for the fancy new flash cards and you would think they would have shipped together. : (

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

11

38

0

The Best video Camera i've ever used

ILCE-7SM3 23/09/2020 by Mystro (USA)

I have been using my FS7 for the last 2+ years and i've used or owned a lot of Sony cameras A7 & A9 series but for video this camera has been the best i've had so much that I ordered 2 more for our company. I have a photo camera already so i cant speak for stills but for video this camera is one of a kind.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

6

0

Goodbye Canon R5 Hello Sony A7S3

ILCE-7SM3 12/09/2020 by Forest Lionhart (USA)

Thanks for making a camera that isn’t crippled and doesn’t overheat. Having 4K/120p w/ sound, 1080/240p, flip out screen, a gorgeous EVF, and more intuitive menu system make me very happy. This camera will be an absolute treat for anyone fortunate enough to obtain one. Thanks again, Sony for listening to your customers and giving them what they want. You knocked it out of the park with this one. I’ve sold my EOS R and all of my RF glass and I’m never looking back. I’m looking forward to receiving my A7S3 soon and reviewing it in depth on my channel.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

17

7

0

The best in its class

ILCE-7SM3 29/07/2020 by Abdul Haseeb Amir (USA)

‪I just have to say that α7s iii I am just amazed for what @SonyAlpha @Sony has done . Even tough it’s a 12.1 Megapixel back illuminated sensor, it’s full frame, which means larger pixels and amazing low light capabilities.‬ ‪The Sony Alpha 7S is always directed towards video, and this time it is no exception. With 10bit internal and 16 bit external recording at 4K is amazing. I think Sony Nailed it.‬ Sony α7 iii has some great video features, included great colors profiles and no limit 4K video. Sony has made an amazing passive cooling system inside the camera which protect the camera from over heating. Sony has also said that the camera will include color profiles from their flagship cinema camera, the cinealta venice and the FX-9 ,their flagship professional camera. ‪CFexpress Type A is a great move even tough, these cards are still not widely available in the market, but no one has an excuse for it.‬ On the other hand, the camera, still includes two UFS-II SD Card slots When they said that Sony will be remaking everything from the ground up; they were right.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

25

23

0

I'm highly recommended A7SIII for every filmmakers

ILCE-7SM3 29/07/2020 by Ajijul Hasan Surzo (USA)

I think i'm in relationship with sony. And all of my sony product, like the xperia to the alpha, bravia to home theaters everything is really great. I'm a filmmaker, and i'm highly recommended sony A7SIII for the new era of cinematography. Thank you sony.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Sound Quality

Excellent

Performance

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

17

29