67

4.7 based on 67 customer reviews

50
14
2
0
1
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

α9. Speedy!

ILCE-9 20/08/2017 by Photography Bob (United Kingdom)

I've been a professional photographer since the late 80's. As the years have gone by the studio grew and I moved into the management of the business. This has meant that I've not been shooting seriously for about 10 years. Well, I decided to change that, it's easy when you own the studio, and get back to what I love best, making images. I decided to buck the studio trend of Hasselblad's and Canon's and try the Sony. I'm glad I did, the speed and accuracy of the focus is outstanding and the camera as a whole handles very nicely. It feels solid and doesn't need to wrapped in cotton wool. Now everyone in the studio wants to borrow it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

13

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

No Slog!?

ILCE-9 04/09/2017 by knsn (USA)

I bought this product a week ago. It is quite good however there is no log profile for video recording. It is, it think, inexcusable for a camera at this price point... and touch is screen is not that useful.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

20

7

71 Customer Reviews

0

Good sensor, who designed the firmware???

ILCE-9 12/10/2019 by AshMills (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am a full time professional photographer. I have migrated to Sony because of the lens range and sensor design. The moment to moment real-world handling and operation of this camera is however really poor. For instance- if you want to see the results you are taking you need auto review turned on, which is normal in theory except you have to re press the shutter to carry on shooting, rather than keeping it half pressed while shooting (without interruption) then release and see the last photo!! This is SO fundamental!!! Please pass this on. Other very annoying things include: can’t re-map video recording button, OS shouting at you if you press something that is disabled while shooting, and not having a swivelling screen!! (Are Sony shooters just not supposed to take low angle portrait orientation shots?!!) This system is currently really flawed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

The camera with the fastes autofocus on the world

ILCE-9 08/10/2019 by agubariu (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I switched after using Canon for more then 10 years. The reason I switched is the eye/face auto-focus. The only things that I miss is the better color reproduction (in specially skin tones), a fully articulated screen (most for protecting the screen from scratches and taking low level shots in portrait mode) an the lack of sensor dust protection when switching lenses. Also I wish some native f1.2 lenses. And a more better design menu with touch functionality.

Picture Quality

Fair

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-9 06/10/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First of all, I’ve only given 4stars because I only wished the body had weather sealing. Otherwise I find it the perfect camera. Brilliant fast focusing, lightweight, good battery life and fast shutter! That’s all I need.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great features!

ILCE-9 04/10/2019 by markyl (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i typically shoot Canon but for a number of reason i have decided to try a Sony sytem and so far im very impressed. Also since owning the camera there have been 2 firware updates that have made great improvements to an already great camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Superb camara

ILCE-9 23/09/2019 by Nikonflyfisher (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Been Nikon man for 40 years, now made the shift to Sony A9. Wow, the best Bird Camera I have ever tried. I am so happy with this camera, never look back on Nikon.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Switched from Nikon to Sony A9

ILCE-9 19/08/2019 by maxjam (USA)

I love the camera, but what;s fraudsters me is the compatibility with Sony remote commander RMT-P1BT and imaging edge mobile app lack of support. I don't understand how Sony flagship camera is lagging Sony A7r III in terms with available features and compatibility with Sony native applications and accessories. I reach out to support but never heard anything.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
22/08/2019

Hi, maxjam!

The RMT-P1BT remote commander is currently not fully compatible with the ILCE-9 camera. A firmware update will be released for the camera to support the remote commander. You may visit this link for the details: http://support.d-imaging.sony.co.jp/www/cscs/accessories/compatibility.php?area=gb&lang=en&mdl=ILCE-9&cat=31. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing Sony!

Regards,

Vincent

0

An absolute game changer.

ILCE-9 29/07/2019 by MrLauriie (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having done some mixed amateur/professional photography with the Sony a7 II, I wanted to overcome the issues with AF that it had. I was seriously missing out on a number of photos, especially in fast pace sport-like moments. I also produced a few different films for clients and was keen to keep that possibility open - again AF was an issue here. The a9 has not stopped surprising me since I bought it 8 months ago. This is a combination of the cameras hardware, but also its firmware - which Sony keep updating.. Thank you! The fact that there is no black-out whilst shooting and the focus tracking is so 'sticky', the a9 is a dream to work with. I've taken just over 10,000 photos and about 10 hours worth of video, of which, a much higher percentage can be shown to the client then before with the a7 II. I find myself focusing far more on the composition now, which is a good thing. Would definitely recommend to someone looking for an AF machine.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Great lightweight full frame camera

ILCE-9 28/07/2019 by greeneyes27 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've moved over to Sony from Nikon because primarily, I wanted to lighten up the load I was carrying on weddings, and was excited to use the incredibly eye auto focus system and silent mode with the high end Sony's. Electronic shutter/ silent mode is a dream to use during wedding ceremonies. Overall, this camera will not disappoint. It's great for all the reasons I wanted it for - lightness, quietness and great auto focussing. It meets nearly all my needs. I've not yet found it as good as I'd expected in low light, even with good prime lenses, and some of the ergonomics need adjusting, with a few key buttons being slightly larger/ more raised on the body. Whilst the body size is brilliant, for people with big hands, it's a bit small but too much bigger and it would be as big as the DSLR's I've moved away from. I've had to hunt around for a few settings in the menu, which weren't as straightforward as they should have been (eg assigning role to card 1 & card 2). The lens release button isn't in the most accessible place either. These things aside, it's still a great camera and game change from DSLR's to mirrorless and I'd highly recommend.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Swapping from Canon

ILCE-9 15/07/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The focus on this camera is incredable. Having read reviews I had high expectations for the a9, I wasn't dissapionted!! This camera nails focus no matter what even when the Sigma MC 11 is used, I'm totally sold on the Sony.. Can't recommend it enough!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Go mirrorless!

ILCE-9 06/07/2019 by On the Rock (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I've just purchased the Sony A9 together with the 24-70 GM lens and this has been an excellent choice. Originally I have been a loyal Canon user and originally went to purchase the Canon 5D, but whilst at my at my local supplierer tried it then move to the Sony A9 and thats all it took. Beautiful camera together with the lens which was my biggest concern for choice. Sony is definately the choice of the moment due to the step up in technology without a doubt. If you are planning to purchase go to your local supplier and give the Sony A9 a try you may not look back.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Dream come true

ILCE-9 17/06/2019 by Furzer (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera about a month ago I up graded from the Sony A77ii to the Sony A7iii and now to the A9 this is the a dream of a camera, I am retired hobby photographer of about 8 years experience so this A9 is way more than I need but I am not going back I am learning so much with this camera I am not able to give a product type review but I think this camera has it all

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

New to a9

ILCE-9 31/05/2019 by Tonyboat (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought it one month ago so I still have a lot to learn, but I am very impressed. I owned a canon 1DX mk2 but have traded in all. I have so far bought sony A9,24-105,100-400,1.4 ex,16-35, and 90 macro lens. very pleased and impressed.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

2

0

0

Focus

ILCE-9 08/05/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is stunning, the focus is incredibly fast and bang on

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

What a beast!

ILCE-9 25/04/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I came late to the 'mirrorless party' but boy, am I glad I purchased the A9. Coming from DSLRs with 9 AF points to 693, is a revelation. I installed v.5 of the firmware immediately on purchase of the camera and haven't looked back since. I love the AF, weight, customisation and general feel of the camera. I went back a week later and purchased the battery grip (big hands). I am still enjoying 'playing' with my a9, and I cannot see that wearing off any time soon. Having read a lot of negative reviews about the menu systems on Sony cameras in general, I took the plunge on the a9 and honestly, I don't know what all the fuss was about. Take the time to run through them, familiarise yourself with them, and get on with it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Mr Kerr

ILCE-9 23/04/2019 by felicitys dad2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased a9 camera from the advice of the very helpful staff at Carlisle Sony Centre. The camera has lived up to all expectations, and some.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-9 13/04/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera but where are the 600mm lens Sony it's time

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I absolutely LOVE this camera

ILCE-9 05/04/2019 by Conrads (USA)

I switched from Canon last year and purchased the a7r iii and fell in love with that. I saw the release notes for the a9 firmware version 5.0 and knew I had to own this camera. I had to wait till the end of the month to get 5.0, but boy, was it worth the wait. The autofocus now is just crazy. The silent shooting is amazing. I don't want to leave the house without this camera. The a9, in my opinion, is the best camera ever made.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

The future is here.

ILCE-9 03/04/2019  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Simply the best camera I have ever owned. Amazing AF, picture quality and technology. The only negative is the terminology and in depth custom menus that need to be simplified.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-9 01/04/2019 by Tg4510 (USA)

Hi maybe the next a9 camera will have 54 megapixel sencer and a better low light sencer and a screen that flips out on the side for vloging and selfies and i realy like the a9 but it laks those features.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

11

Response From Sony Social Support
07/04/2019

Hi Tg4510, Thank you for your input. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We will forward this to the right department.
Regards,
Vincent

0

A9 The most amazing camera ..Thanks Sony

ILCE-9 01/04/2019 by Chrisww (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought last year and just upgraded to version 5..Wow fantastic like a new camera. Focus tracking incredible.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

The A9 is an electronic genius

ILCE-9 15/03/2019 by Jellybelly1960 (United Kingdom)

The A9 performance is top pro level great ISO and with brilliant focusing an absolute pleasure to use I would fully recommend this electronic marvel

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Excellent action camera.

ILCE-9 15/03/2019 by Pete2423 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I required a fast and accurate focusing camera for birds and insects in flight to replace my Sony A7II and compliment my Sony A7III. The A9 was the obvious choice. After just a week of owning mine, I am pleased to report it is even better than expected: and, from my point of view, the forthcoming updates will make it superior to anything else currently available.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Sony a9, the best camera that I have ever owned

ILCE-9 05/03/2019 by G0WYN (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My main interest in picture taking is motor racing and other action photography. I found that the a9 was much superior to any other camera that I had used for this with it's ability to shoot 20 fps and focus on each image.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Blisteringly fast & accurate Autofocus and burst

ILCE-9 07/02/2019 by DMTh (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I cam to Sony after many years with DSLR and latterly an alternative Mirrorless brand. The ability to move back to Full Frame, coupled with a best in class autofocus system has not let me down. I am very impressed with the overall package delivered by the A9.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Great camera

ILCE-9 24/01/2019 by DeerekMacLean (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this almost two weeks ago and I am glad I did. Having been a Nikon user for almost 30 yrs I was looking for a more up to date camera. I was considering an Olympus system but when I reviewed the Sony I was really impressed. Added to the fact that I got a great trade in for my Nikon kit and a £400 reduction on the A9 I couldn't resist. The only small issue is that the menu system is complex but it is just a matter of getting used to it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Absolutely fantastic

ILCE-9 08/01/2019 by Kazls (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera a few weeks ago and totally blown away, came over from using Olympus for the last 10 years and wow.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

good features, little easy and handy

ILCE-9 17/12/2018 by Havare62 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought camera a few months ago, and is very pleased, taking sharp pictures and, not least, easy and little

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

Terrifyingly Fast!

ILCE-9 06/11/2018 by Idjbell (United Kingdom)

What an amazing camera. I was drawn to it for the speed for use with sports. photography however it offers so much more- autofocus and eye tracking are sensational. It took me a while to get used to just how good it is and hand over trust that it will sort things out. I've taken 15000 shots in 4 months and I've got the shot I wanted every time. I made the switch when I realised my previous equipment, albeit top of the range, couldn't cope with what I wanted. The senor size of my previous camera was holding me back. Sadly the A9 isn't perfect and for the next version I hope Sony will make it fully weatherproof, include a flip out screen, change the ergonomics- make it a bit bigger- this camera is for professionals but it rides off the back of an enthusiast body- eg I struggle with back button focus as I use my left eye for the viewfinder- I had more space and a better lay out on a top micro four thirds camera from which I came. Change these things and then it will be the most perfect camera ever. For now though it does enough to get it 5 stars for features and quality of the photos its produces. I can't think of another camera I'd rather be using right now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Sony's a9 didn't disappoint

ILCE-9 08/10/2018  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A few months ago I made the decision to upgrade my equipment. After spending several weeks researching all the various brands I decided to make the switch from Canon to Sony. Because of the nature of the work I do, I needed a set of cameras and lenses that I could be confident wouldn't let me down in critical situations. For the sport and wildlife I choose the a9 because of the speed and silent shooting which to date has proved itself invaluable around animals, and at events where noise has to be kept to a minimum. The focus speed and 20fps of the a9 is outstanding. The camera is a good weight, nice and light but not light it feels like plastic. The menu system is complex but once you find your way around it and begin to customise the buttons it soon becomes easy to navigate. Battery power is good, I've shot several games, shooting hundreds of images and never found it a problem. Even the digital in crop feature is useful at some sporting events, increasing the range from 400mm to 600mm in an instance. I've dabbled a little in the 4k video and to say i'm highly impressed is an understatement. Handheld video using the sony's 5 stop in camera images stablisation is impressive. Something I am more and more being ask to do. There's so much more I love about the a9 but the last thing I'll mention which is another show stopper for me is the no black out shooting. Being able to watch the action continue as you shoot is weird at first but now I couldn't live without it. All in all I couldn't be happier with my choice to swap from Canon to Sony and whilst using their flagship cameras isn't cheap, finding the right deal at the right made the whole switch extremely good value for me and my whole camera bag is over 5kg less in weight now too. Mirrorless is the future and to a certain extent the a9 is somewhat future proof for everything I'll need now and for years to come.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Best camera ever!!!

ILCE-9 27/07/2018 by rob47uk (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera as my main wedding photography camera. I have been blown away by it. The silent shooting is fantastic during ceremonies. The fast silent shooting is also fantastic especially useful for confetti shots, walking up the aisle, first kiss etc. The focussing modes are fab. The low light performance has been fab. It’s light and even with a heavy lens like the 24-70 GM I am not feeling tired at the end of a long day. I have also used it for my other passion which is horse show jumping events. This is where the silent fast frame rate and tracking focus really comes in handy. One word Awesome!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

6

0

0

Great Camera

ILCE-9 20/07/2018 by BobRriach (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really fast shutter and silent great for wildlife and sport photography

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

Almost Perfect.

ILCE-9 04/07/2018 by Edward2 (USA)

My first impressions with a Sony a9 after using for 6 months while in transition from another professional camera outfitter. General. 1. Two SD card slots; a fast one in slot 1 and a slow in 2; both should have been the same. 2. No USB 3 3. Advertised as 20 f/s but this only if using compressed files. Using uncompressed files drops to 12f/s. 4. Wi-Fi and Bluetooth available but connectivity with Samsung or iPhone unreliable; stop using it. 5. Complex Menu requiring long learning curve and poor descriptive manual. 6. This may be only me but when using polarizers, the effect is hard to see in the Electronic Finder. Poor Ergonomics. 1. If coming from a top professional grade camera, a grip is a must since the body is too small and this still will not overcome various issues (see below). 2. The advantages of getting a smaller and lighter camera are not there. The a9 with a grip weights just a pound less when compared with top professional grade cameras that have the grip built-in. 3. EV Compensation Wheel too small and very hard to turn. Advantages. 1. Outstanding AF that covers 90% of the finder lighting fast; equal or better than my top of the line professional digital mirror camera. 2. Amazing image quality. 3. Silent shooting 4. Histogram in the viewfinder...what you see is what you get; no chiming. 5. All buttons and wheel can be customized to the user's needs. Other Issues. A. The Grip when used in the portrait position: 1. Only # 1 and 2 programmable buttons are included; # 4 can is reachable but #3 is not. 2. No EV compensation wheel. The Grip when used in the landscape position: 1. The portrait shutter button accidentally activated when shooting landscape so one has to turn off the grip. It will be nice if when in landscape use, grip shutter portrait button would be automatically disengage. B. There is gap seen between the body and the grip; not a big issue but never seen this with other cameras. For the Sony a9 to become top choice for professional users, the ergonomics will have to improve with larger buttons (illuminated ones will be great) and a bigger body with a built-in grip.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

8

3

0

High quality, silent capture for live events

ILCE-9 30/06/2018 by pjtk1234 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the best mirrorless professional camera on the market and produces images of high quality but the camera has over complicated menus and the customs controls can suddenly freeze so that you are stuck with a focusing mode you don't want. There is no way to resolve this apart from going back into the menu to change settings by which time you've missed the shot! Also the camera allows for 2 SD cards but doesn't automatically switch from one to the other when one becomes full. You have to do that in the menu. Formatting is also extremely slow. Overall a great camera but until Sony fix the bugs I rely on my Nixon D5 cameras, unless I have to work in complete silence.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

6

2

0

Quick.....

ILCE-9 22/06/2018 by MicroPete (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Purchased the A9 for action as other camera refused to capture birds in flight

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

1

0

No rolling shutter

ILCE-9 10/06/2018 by Sebastian Squirrel (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I work as a stills photographer on film sets where silence is compulsory. For years I used Nikons, or Canons, housed in sound proof blimps. The blimps were never completely sound proof, and were cumbersome to use. My first Sony was an A7Rii which was completely silent while using the electronic shutter, but it did suffer from "rolling shutter" causing fast moving subjects to distort. Then I bought an A9. This is a fantastic camera!!! Absolutely no rolling shutter distortion. As with all Sony Alpha cameras the flip out screen affords you waist level operation which is another fantastic benefit above the Nikon and Canon rivals. I have actually sold all my Nikon and Canon kit, plus their blimps. I even sold my Leica M9 as the Sony A9 is far superior. Buy one, you'll love it.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

9

0

0

Focus monster

ILCE-9 11/05/2018 by Recon (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have been looking to get into the serious end of photography for a while now and was lucky enough to not be already financially tied into a brand, which gave me carte blanche as far as new gear goes. I also wanted a travel camera and ended up getting the RX 10 Mk4, which was a jaw dropping intro to Sony cameras, 24-600mm lens and 24 fps(superb feature!) being the two outstanding features that lifts this camera to a level unimaginable 10 years ago. The quality of this camera made choosing the A9(almost went for A7R3....) farily straightforward. I wanted a high fps rate as I shoot a fair bit of action, good low light capability as I shoot a lot of concerts and I wanted to go full frame for that extra bit of quality. In use the A9 is a really solid bit of kit. It is built like a tank, heavy in all the right ways and has an incredible array of features. Having got used to Sony's menu setups with the RX10 I found it easy to set up eye recognition, turn the camera into a fully silent shooter and was able to figure out the key features quickly. The reason I ended up going for the A9 over the A7R3 was the focussing system. No point in having twice as many pixels if they ain't in focus. This camera will focus on all sorts of things that would defeat normal AF and can track it all the way across the screen. Centre focus really is right tight in the centre. Flexible spot is good for focussing off centre. Tracking focus is outstanding. It can even focus on midges floating around in the sunlight. More pixels would have been good, but we can't have everything I guess. As it is the camera produces superb images, accurate colours can shoot in light that would be too weak for a lot of other cameras.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

0

0

So easy to use

ILCE-9 15/04/2018 by thelegacypro (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I love this camera cause it was just so easy to adjust to it. I was able to do everything quickly. The quality of the pics are amazing. Skin tone is the only thing that might need some improvement in comparison to Nikon and Canon but overall the cam is just off the charts

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Low light photography is excellent

ILCE9/B 13/04/2018 by Seeker 22 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

The speed and precision is the best! The compact size and professional output!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Great tech but..

ILCE-9 06/04/2018 by Whoareyou (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the technology and capacity of the A9, but it’s body needs a bit of work. Already have a bit of paint rubbed off and less than a year and it needs sending over because of defective wheels. Pro capacity, so please have a pro body!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

3

5

0

Best camera for 35mm I have used today

ILCE-9 15/03/2018 by BerndinBerlin (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nothing really new to report here that hasn't been published before. The autofocus on this camera is second to none. This includes with some limitations even adapted lenses from Sigma which work for my line of work (fashion) almost perfectly. The massive buffer is amazing and the image quality is without a flaw. The silent electronic shutter is amazing, even though for model shoots you should have an acoustic feedback that the shot was taken. Models seemed a bit confused and were wondering when I would get on with things. The user interface is over all still a bit crowded and confusing but I could get around it by setting up the personalised menu as well as storing the most used settings. Only one thing raised a red flag: After only two days in the studio the PC sync terminal became loose. To the point that the camera needed repair as I was afraid it would break off completely. In 20 years working in the business and being in the studio with almost every camera system available I have to say that this is a first. With the known hot shoe issue Sony should maybe have a second and close look at quality control and sturdiness. Overall: Best 35 mm camera I have ever used.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

Total Game Changer

ILCE-9 12/03/2018 by Kujav98 (USA)

As a sports photographer I was extremely hesitant to make the move away from Nikon, but after 2 weeks with the Sony A9, I'm sold! Paired with the Sony GM 70-200 f/2.8, it's a total game changer for sports photography with the ability to comfortably shoot 10,000 ISO, tilt screen LCD, 20fps and a nearly silent shutter. Shooting state championships this past weekend, I was surrounded by Nikon and Canon shooters and was the only Sony there, but had lots of people asking me about it! On Saturday I shot intermittently for 12 hrs for a total of 2168 images, no grip and still had 18% battery life left on my FIRST battery at the end of the night!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

6

0

0

Fantastic camera

ILCE-9 24/02/2018 by RGillibrand (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This feels like that camera I've been waiting years for. Fantastic autofocus system, excellent high ISO performance and customisation that allows you to get the camera to work the way you want. The only downside is that the camera lacks Playmemories App and S-Log support, for the price and spec of the camera this is a real let down. Other than that I couldn't be happier with the camera and I hope it serves me well for many years to come.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

AMAZING

ILCE-9 28/12/2017 by LEDI (USA)

everything its amazin perfect product I will suggest everyone to buy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

3

0

Great camera, but needs A7RIII menus and profiles

ILCE-9 13/12/2017 by Chriscotech (USA)

I was an early adopter of this camera. Coming from an A7RII, I really appreciate the evolution path, and the speed with which Sony is innovating. The A7RII produces amazing results but has operating quirks which we all know. Sony did a great job making the A9 much more usable. I didn't need the amazing high frame rate of this camera but the battery size, dual cards, extremely fast AF and new menu system were worth the price foe me. Mostly I needed a full frame camera with 24mp resolution, not 42mp. My clients need lots of images, but not lots of resolution. I can work faster with the A9. The menu system on this camera is a big improvement over previous Alpha cameras but it has evolved even further in many small but significant areas with the A7RIII. Sony, can you please update the A9 menus to match the A7RIII via a firmware update? Not only will this improve the A9 but it will make working with both cameras side by side, as I do, much easier. The A7RIII (and all other recent Alpha 7 cameras) also has S-Log and other video profiles. It is so disappointing that the A9 does not have these. Please, please give us back these profiles on the A9. This is Sony's most expensive camera, but actually lacks quite a bit when compared to the new A7RIII. At this point, if you are o.k with "a mere" 10fps and 42mp resolution, I would strongly suggest saving some money for lenses and go with the A7RIII, it's a better all round camera, and significantly cheaper.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

13

2

0

Just the best

ILCE-9 23/11/2017 by Maulmx73 (USA)

I just love the product but I have some comments I would like to know why slow motion and fast motion are only in HD? and not in 4k, also there is not time lapse option. The images are very sharp, the AF is great, the buffer yes is slow but nothing to be disappointed, the battery is great I really think is a great great product.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Best camera

ILCE-9 22/11/2017 by John34533 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is the last camera I will buy because I am 70yo and I know it will perform for many years to come. I have 2 other Sony cameras R1 and Next which have been great. I am selling my Olympus and Nikon gear because the Sony A9 is so much better in many the menu is very easy to navigate, the features like eye tracking and 20 frames a second are brilliant. I get to use my Minolta lenses Regards John

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

9

1

0

amazing camera

ILCE-9 09/11/2017 by ChrisS9 (United Kingdom)

Bought a few months ago and have used regularly for weddings since July this year (2017) Love using it and the speed and tracking is great using eye autofocus and for other uses like for birds in flight etc tracking is incredible

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Good

4

4

0

Best Camera

ILCE-9 08/11/2017  (United Kingdom)

This is probably the best camera I've ever owned. Having followed the evolution of the A7 series I made the leap from the A7RII to the A9 and haven't regretted it at all. Superb quality, ease of handling - the best of the best?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

7

0

0

INCREDIBLE!!!!

ILCE-9 27/10/2017 by Mystro (USA)

Short and sweet, I truly believe that this is the best camera in the world for speed and auto focus, the video is excellent!!! Great job Sony. Blown away!!!! Sony all i can say is wow!!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

This is ALMOST the perfect camera!

ILCE-9 20/10/2017 by vibe (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I absolutely LOVE this camera. This is my first Sony camera. I have previously shot with Nikon and Canon (Nikon D600 + D750 as well as the Canon 5d Mark IV and III) and I love that this camera essentially combines both the ergonomics of the 2 brands, as well as makes it into a small form factor with more technology! I just love how this feels in my hands, especially with the battery grip extender as even though I have small hands, my pinky does feel more comfortable with the extender. And I love the inclusion of the joystick, the raised control pad, and the slightly edged out dial on the back that makes it easier to achieve (unlike that of the a7rii). I have tried the a7rii and sony a6500 and it just does not compare to the Sony a9 in terms of feel. Plus the extended battery life and the dual card slot? This is a pro camera for sure. I was really bothered by the battery life of the A7rii. In addition, this sony a9 has a lot faster of a Processor, so navigating thru it is quick and snappy. The ONLY thing that I wish this camera had (and I'm hoping so much for this in a firmware update) is S-LOG. Sony's earlier cameras, and point and shoots ,have this feature but it's hard for me to believe that this Sony a9 does not have it, especially at this price point. As someone mentioned before, the Sony A7sii and A7rii bought together (used) is equal to the price of this a9. But I did not want to get the other two because I have shot with the a7rii and the form factor was just not there for me (as mentioned above). Sony please please please get S-Log on this camera! You will definitely get a lot more convertors forking over the money; especially because it'll have the best of both worlds. I know the Canon 5d Mark IV had C-Log added in later, and I'm hoping this is the case with the A9.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

1

0

Best camera in the market

ILCE-9 27/09/2017 by cocotinho (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this camera in June of 2017 to start replacing my Canon gear. Hands down the best decision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Best for outdoor and Fashion Show Shooting

ILCE-9 18/09/2017 by wilson75 (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this a few month ago for my Wedding day Shooting and i am so happy that i did. it is a good Cameras for outdoor Shooting.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

SLOG

ILCE-9 15/09/2017 by Apogee (USA)

Fantastic camera with a ton of great features. I needed something for both stills and video. It took me days to decide between the Canon 5D Mk IV and the A9. I ultimately chose to go with the A9, but I made a HUGE oversight... No SLOG... At the price point of this camera it didn't even cross my mind that they would leave something like that out. If Sony decides to add this feature via firmware I would rate the A9 5 Stars easily.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

14

4

0

NO BLACK OUT SPEED!!!

ILCE-9 11/09/2017 by Gabe Rogel (USA)

As a Sony Artisan of Imagery and adventure sport photographer, I have been waiting patiently for this camera to be released. I was in need of a faster camera... one that could shoot more frames per second. Well, Sony delivered! Not only am I blown away by the 20 frames-per-second RAW capability with almost no buffer, but the fact the camera will do this with NO shutter black out, is unbelievable!!! In other words, as you're shooting stills and looking through the viewfinder, it almost looks as though you're shooting video... a continuous image. This is of course extremely helpful for tracking fast-moving subjects.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

No Slog!?

ILCE-9 04/09/2017 by knsn (USA)

I bought this product a week ago. It is quite good however there is no log profile for video recording. It is, it think, inexcusable for a camera at this price point... and touch is screen is not that useful.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

20

7

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/09/2017

HI knsn, We do appreciate you taking the time in writing us this a product review. Your feedback will not go unseen and will be directed to the proper department. Thanks for your time.

0

Only one thing missing

ILCE-9 03/09/2017 by MNPNW (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Really great system with only one issue. When using flash (Sony speedlight, third-party speedlight and studio), the camera is not as responsive as in most situations. For corporate events in low-light situations with on-camera flash, focus acquisition is significantly slower than with Canon 5DIII, 5DIV, 80D, and 1Dx. For me the IBIS, silent shutter, and generally excellent overall performance convinced me to change systems. I hope Sony is able to figure out a way for the flash usability improved.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

3

2

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
06/09/2017

Hi MNPNW, Thank you for sharing your review. We always appreciate comments from our customers so we can serve you better. We will thoroughly look into your feedback and see if we can make the proper adjustments.

0

Works Great With My Super-telephoto EF Lenses

ILCE-9 01/09/2017 by dcstep (USA)

Working with recent editions of EF super-telephoto lenses, with the very latest EF-to-E adapters, the autofocus' ability to track a bird in flight is unsurpassed. Use Google to find complete reviews of this application. I'd like to see GPS added, along with higher resolution, faster card options and higher dynamic range.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

5

0

Difficulty with playmemories connection/poor custo

ILCE-9 29/08/2017  (USA)

I purchased my Sony a9 2 months ago and have been trying to connect it to the Sony App Playmemories. This was an important piece of purchasing this camera. After 2 months of reading the Manual, online resources and tech support I reached out to an expert in hardware software. It took 4 hours but it now connects. One of the areas that I could not find was how to get the password if the QR scan did not work. The person who helped me ended up adding an app that transferred the QR to text. The password is embedded in that text. It follows P: Sony tech support was not helpful. I felt that Atheir knowledge base is not nearly what Canon's is. One of the techs was rushing through the instructions as if reading them off and despite asking him to slow down to allow time for me to navigate the menu his speed did not change. I wish I had purchased another Canon now instead. Their customer service is absolutely top notch and their products are solid.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

5

17

0

α9. Speedy!

ILCE-9 20/08/2017 by Photography Bob (United Kingdom)

I've been a professional photographer since the late 80's. As the years have gone by the studio grew and I moved into the management of the business. This has meant that I've not been shooting seriously for about 10 years. Well, I decided to change that, it's easy when you own the studio, and get back to what I love best, making images. I decided to buck the studio trend of Hasselblad's and Canon's and try the Sony. I'm glad I did, the speed and accuracy of the focus is outstanding and the camera as a whole handles very nicely. It feels solid and doesn't need to wrapped in cotton wool. Now everyone in the studio wants to borrow it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

13

0

0

Power and versality

ILCE-9 29/07/2017 by Autokesariaa (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am amazed at how well it performed. Form, function and engineering combine to make a truly remarkable camera. The focus acquisition speed is incredible, image quality is excellent, and the build quality and feel of the machine are exceptional. I love the joystick. The ergonomics are excellent. The AF speed, especially Eye AF, is phenomenal with native lenses. The new toggle focus mode option is great to quickly switch, with a Custom button, between say Wide Area and Focus Point. The new menu is an improvement as are the new dials. The touchscreen works very well with no discernible lag. Burst is really great to catch just the right moment in portraits, sports, and wildlife. The battery is a huge improvement. Silent shooting takes some getting used to, but is excellent for many situations. In general, all operations are far snappier, especially shot reviewing. This camera is so versatile and well made that I would use it in any situation.

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

3

0

Sony a9 vs Nikon

ILCE-9 28/07/2017 by Zeevk (USA)

Hi, I am a Nikon D5 and D810 user for years. Two very good cameras. I got and tried the Sony a7r2 and found it to be a fantastic toy, but still a toy, with the best full frame sensor but with many shortcomings. When the a9 came I got it and I must say that it is BETTER than the D5 in every aspect but for three exceptions: 1. The sealing against the elements is far from acceptable. 2. The ergonomics (phisical design and menu) are still much behind the Nikon which I feel is just perfect. It is way better than the a7r2 but still legs behind. That said, overall I find myself using it way more than the D5 and the D810, also beyond the point of mastering a new proffesional and complex tool. 3. The sensor collects much more dust due to being exposed when replacing lenses. With regards to the dust issue, I solved it almost completely by blowing air into the back of the replacing lens and into the sensor whenever I exchange lenses. Of course, it makes the process more combersome but it solves it. In the DSLRs the shutter curtain is normally closed and it protects the sensor. Also the a9 has such curtain. Were it closed, then it would have protected the sensor when removing the lens. In the case of mirrorless, the default status without being energized is an open curtain for obvious reason and keeping it close when the camera is off will drain the battery. However, sony can make a modification: to close it when the len is removed and provide the option to open it for cleaning the sensor via a command in the menu. It will use some battery power, but in my opinion as an electroniic engineer, not that much.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

15

5

0

great for MF lens from another lens company

ILCE-9 21/07/2017 by Dienson (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am happy with A9, because IBIS for use MF lens from Zeiss and Leica lens lens FE is expensive but I don't need AF

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

5

0

Sony Revue the A9The speed of the camera is the ma

ILCE-9 14/07/2017 by Dinky (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The speed of the camera is the main reason I purchased it also the size making it easier to carry

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

8

5

0

An Almost Professional Camera

ILCE-9 09/07/2017 by pete984 (USA)

So this camera is great but there are some weird things that prevent it from being a "pro" camera. SD cards for starters. SD cards are cheap plastic and slow. I cannot understand why Sony didn't put two XQD slots in. There is occasionally banding in images. I have not experienced this but I have seen banding happen to someone. There is no long glass available. I know Sony is working on this but I need a 500mm and 300mm prime. 20 frames a second is only possible with the G master lenses and while shooting in Jpeg or compressed raw. Using the mechanical shutter makes the camera slow and basically unusable. When changing lenses there is nothing to protect the sensor. The shutter doesn't come down to protect the sensor from dust which is a problem.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

11

5

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
11/07/2017

Hi pete984, We appreciate you taking the time in writing us your honest feedback. You can rest assured that your feedback and suggestions will be forwarded to the relevant department.

0

The A9 is outstanding

ILCE-9 25/06/2017  (USA)

I am a Sony Alpha Imaging Collective Member and was able to shoot with the new A9 on the Kando trip. It really is an amazing camera with exceptional image quality with a very solid and sturdy feel. Being able to shoot at 20 FPS will really come in handy for action shots and being able to have the stacked drive mode to choose between different speeds is awesome. You can slow it down for more posed shots or speed it up to catch people in action at events with faster action. I also shot astro with this camera on the 16-35 F4 lens and it was exceptional.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

5

0

Great Features

ILCE-9 19/06/2017 by Chris7W (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera about 3 weeks ago and so far I'm delighted with its ease of use, excellent auto focus and its light weight, I traded in a Canon 1DX plus Canon lenses and I'm 100% sure I made the right decision.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

19

4

0

Game Changer

ILCE-9 16/06/2017 by Micanthony (USA)

As a member of the Sony Apha Collective I got to test this camera early. I do a wide range of photography and videography, so the silent shutter would be very useful for me. I wish it had weather sealing, but the extended battery and no blackout viewfinder are definitely worth the price if you do this for a living.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

10

9

0

Never miss a shot

ILCE-9 15/06/2017 by Sydney2 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Since my purchase of the A9, my photography has moved to a higher level. The fast focus, Eye focus and stabilization, means perfection in every shot. Erganomics of this camera makes the A9 ready within seconds for any situation. The silent shutter is perfect for wildlife. I am not a professional, but having the A9 makes me feel like one.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

29

8

0

Breakthrough technology

ILCE-9 15/06/2017 by MaxBon (USA)

As a Sony Alpha Imaging Collective Member, I was eagerly anticipating this new camera. After testing it out exceeded my expectations, mostly due to two technological innovations. First, there is no blackout! The shutter moves at 20 frames per second and therefore you are not missing anything ever again! Second, is the impressive AF, it tracks everything. So sport, wedding and event photographers this is a game changer!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

12

1

0

The perfect wedding camera

ILCE-9 15/06/2017 by TomB11 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The lack of banding with the electronic shutter means I can use it with confidence all day at a wedding under any lighting conditions without disturbing anyone or disrupting a ceremony with an annoying click. The new joystick and touchscreen makes precision spot focusing a breeze and coupled with the fast auto foucs I rarely miss a shot. The improved battery lasts so long I only need two for a 12 hour day shooting up to 5000 photos. A 2nd card slot means I can shoot with two in all day and not worry about switching cards regularly throughout the day to guard against card failure. I really like the new dial for drive mode & focus mode select, and the overall design is a step up from the a7ii series. The no blackout takes a bit of getting used to, but once you've used it for a while it's annoying going back to another camera without it. These cameras instantly feel outdated compared to using the a9.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

23

2

0

Perfect

ILCE-9 13/06/2017 by CarlosEAT (USA)

Fast, precise, beatifull, sexy, Ths camera is SUPER!!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

8

7