Skip to Content
207

4.5 based on 207 customer reviews

130
61
11
1
4
Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Best entry level DSLR out there

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 20/12/2013 by Rockness (USA)

I'm not sure why this camera isn't the best selling entry level DSLR. This camera has excellent image quality. The unfortunate thing is the kit lens doesn't do it justice like most. I bought the Sony 16-50mm lens that comes with the A77 camera and the difference is outstanding. I had the chance recently to compare this camera to two Canons. The T3 and the T4i. The Sony was faster, easier to use, and took better pictures, especially in low light. Compare image quality and ease of use. See for yourself. Check reviews online that compare actual images between this and other cameras in it's class. Websites like Image Resourse is well respected.

26

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Practical camera for amateur use

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 14/09/2015 by Prof of nothing (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is Ok but a little too light, not greatly different from my old a350 save for the resolution and video which I don't require

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

207 Customer Reviews

0

light weight and my Minolta Maxxum lenses fit

SLT-A58 25/11/2017 by swbabe (USA)

I've used this camera for a couple of years and it is wonderful. Light weight and I can use all my older Minolta Maxxum lenses. The camera is easy to use, and the advanced functions can be learned with some trial and error. I'm 65+ and I have taken wonderful pictures with this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Love this camera!

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 14/09/2017 by Sombra (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love the versatility of this camera! Easy to handle. Great quality! Very pleased with all the features!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Started off well

SLT-A58 30/05/2017 by bagpuss74 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Had this camera a couple of years now but recently the focus has been poor. Photos have been fuzzy despite using fast shutter speeds as appropriate. Such a shame. Now contemplating buying a competitors product instead

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Great camera, crisp pictures, fast focus in auto

SLT-A58 13/04/2017 by rsc254 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Only had this camera a few weeks but love it, loads of features built in to be found, easy menu navigation. I was unsure about going onto a dslr but it is proving fun, learning how to get the results you want or just taking in auto for fast pictures. The detail the camera picks up is fantastic! Taken around 400 pictures and only deleted 4 so if I can anyone can! Enjoy!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Great camera and great price!!!!

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 30/03/2017 by CindyLou (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I"ve had this camera for several years and I love it! Very easy to use and takes excellent pictures! I would definitely recommend it!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

The Sony SLT-a58 is very good value

SLT-A58 21/03/2017 by Fixit Grandad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this camera for several months and used it on the auto modes to start with. I have now progressed to fully manual. It is easy to use and comes with on-camera help. The downloadable manual is very helpful and informative, l keep mine on my mobile phone so I have it with me. The camera is robust and well made, it also feels quite light. The controls are in easy to reach positions and it is comfortable to hold, even for long periods of time. As I wear glasses and the eye-piece viewer does not adjust enough to allow me to use the camera without them, the live-view screen is very good and clear with all the information displayed. The software that comes with the camera is also very good.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

EXCELLENT I LOVE

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 01/12/2016  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

I LOVE THIS CAMERA. THANKS SONY I THINK YOUR CAMERA BETTER THAN NIKON & CANON

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Nothing

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 08/11/2016 by nik bag (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

Nice but no option for the software update! with this 2 lanes no one is taken full frame picture. now about the clarity on images are not good compare to other com DSLR.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

great camera and quality price

SLT-A58 28/10/2016 by leicesterlad81 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this camera as i and my partner enjoy taking photos of our son. i have been using an old camera i have had for years and it was taking too long to take good shots so decided to buy this product. what can i say this camera has really surprised me, so professional, quality shot like the professionals time and time again. i would certainly recommend this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

very easy to handal

SLT-A58 28/09/2016 by Pauly123456 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I purchased this last year and I am so pleated with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent Value

SLT-A58 18/09/2016 by IainF (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is a very capable camera, that I have not yet tried anything like all the features of. It gives quality images and, in the modes I have used so far, is easy to use. I have some reservations about how easy it will be to remember how to use the functions that I don't use very often, as the controls are not highly intuitive for the more advanced functions. A big advantage is that it can use lenses made for auto-focus Minolta cameras, meaning that there is a good selection of second hand lenses available cheaply.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Power! Quality

SLT-A58 09/09/2016 by Restani (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I had the opportunity to make a comparison between the Sony A58 and T5i Canon to produce a video in my audio studio! The result for the absorption of light is very interesting, I used the Sony A58 ISO 400 and got vivid and real representation of ambient light while the T5i Canon used ISO 800 and still had some difficulties in equalizing the colors, everything seemed like an old photo. Used also a Samsung KZoom filming Full HD 60 frames (20MP) in another angle. The color differences were sharp, left right the A58 Sony can offer more clarity, brightness and possibilities regarding the shooting. Really pleased with my Sony!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

0

Great photos

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 23/07/2016 by OlyOly (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this three years ago and I'm very happy with it

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

SLT-a58 Up there with the best

SLT-A58 28/05/2016 by Ironclad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

A great camera for the beginner as well as a second affordable one,Least off all is the in built camera stability unlike most high priced camara's only in the lens

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

7

0

0

Sony A58

Body + Zoom Lenses (18-55mm & 55-200mm) 23/05/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This was got at the start of May 2016 and I have to say it is not that great. Does always take the picture when you think it has done so. The quality of picture is poor and the manual is very small in print so much so I had to use a magnifying glass to read it. Not that great and on reflection the Sony A390 which is the camera this was replacing has much more on it. The feature on the A58 is poor and let down as it has less functions and the new lens are not that great. I am a big fan of Sony camera but this one is a big let down. Value wise it over priced.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Poor

1

6

0

Great way to get into the world of DSLRs

SLT-A58 19/05/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Having inherited an old A200 I sought out a bunch of used Minolta lenses which allowed me to explore both the camera and different photographic scenarios. With the addition of the Sony 16-50mm f2.8 this camera has taken on a whole new lease of life, and competes with WAY more expensive setups on many of my shoots. A great value, excellent quality product.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

1

0

The SLT a58 A VG Camera

Body + Zoom Lenses (18-55mm & 55-200mm) 06/05/2016 by Tezclarke (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I changed down from the ubiquitous Nikon D7100 to the a 58 because the former was too complex for my use and expertise. I find that there are many aspect of this camera that fit all the uses I have for it and I am delighted with the images I have taken so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

brilliant upgrade from my a290

SLT-A58 21/04/2016 by kendo blue (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

it has proved to be a good move its an excellant upgrade without being too big a step up

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Great camera

SLT-A58 21/04/2016 by Charlie 100 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this as my 1st "proper camera" and although still learning how to use it, i'm ver impressed with it. Love the i button function. Anything you're not sure of, press and it explains the best way to use that setting. Also love the scene selection, paint option. Had great fun snapping some funny pics

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

2

0

good value.

SLT-A58 16/04/2016 by joeyyboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

good product.features usualy found on more advanced cameras.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

3

1

0

Sony SLT a58 camera

SLT-A58 13/04/2016 by severn lad (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Very pleased with the camera so far. Upgrading from an A200 has presented a lot of new technology to get an old head around. The provided handbook was not a lot of help in the detail so purchased an independent book which has been a great help in understanding the A 58. Results so far very encouraging.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

4

1

0

What a piece of kit

Body + Zoom Lenses (18-55mm & 55-200mm) 09/03/2016 by johnti (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Not that long ago I finally go a digital camera, whilst i am still getting to know the features of the camera I simply cannot fault it's performance & quality just so much fun!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

1

0

Value for money

Body + Zoom Lenses (18-55mm & 55-200mm) 04/03/2016 by Sudsy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this to replace a Sony a200 which was getting old but still in perfect working order but lacked functions that I wanted such as live view, and HD video mode. This camera is also slightly smaller in size, and lighter which I find an advantage. Overall a fantastic camera, many useful functions, great for an enthusiastic amateur user.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

1

0

Good introduction camera

SLT-A58 17/02/2016 by Bill on the hill (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The A58 meets my expectations and the results speak for them selves ..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

My New Camera

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 30/01/2016 by Ossofsmeg (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This Camera was bought for me for my Crimbo present (2015), I've only used it a handful of times up to now but very impressed with it's modes, lenses & amount of attachments for this model ;) Very Happy

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

Great camera

SLT-A58 20/01/2016 by Chrisj35 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Great camera taking some outstanding pictures and it came with 3 great Sony lens

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

2

0

Super Camera

SLT-A58 18/01/2016 by Liz 66 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this as I always wanted some better than my Panasonic Bridge Camera also this is a very good package for the money having an extra lens and Sony are a very good make .

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

A58

SLT-A58 12/01/2016 by Milky mouse (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera was bought as an Xmas present, I got to use it for the first time recently. It was simple to use and on auto mode the camera made intelligent choices of appature and shutter speed against the light.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

Excelent features

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 11/01/2016  (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought my Sony SLT a58 two weeks ago and I am very pleased with it. I also like it because my lenses of my minolta konica dynage40 camera fit which has saved me some money but overall i am delighted with it. I will be putting it through it's paces on the 16th at a wedding renewal.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

1

0

my first dslr.

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 11/01/2016 by joeyyboy (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

delivered on time .opened box.all there.taking great photo's soon after(well,ok ones)nicely made.not to heavy for my creaky old hands.everything laid out well and pretty easy to use.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Great features!

Body + Zoom Lenses (18-55mm & 55-200mm) 07/01/2016 by Krees6 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this a month ago and I would do that again!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

sony A58

SLT-A58 31/12/2015 by shadarine (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Love this camera . Takes great pictures, just change the kit lens

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

1

1

0

Sony A58

SLT-A58 23/12/2015 by JJNeill (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought this camera a few years ago because I like to take pictures in the evening at holiday destinations. It has a great capacity for low light photography and I have had some excellent results. I would like an upgrade to a camera with a full-frame sensor, but it is difficult to justify doing so because I get such good results±

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Average

1

1

0

A good upgrade

SLT-A58 17/12/2015 by MJJM (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I upgraded from A56 and as usual was apprehensive about this but alas it was a good move. The picture quality is a great improvement most of my photography is of wildlife and I have found it esy to adapt to and having the ISO button on the top is a defimate step forwards

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

A reasonable upgrade for a Dynax 7, A-mount.

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 17/12/2015 by Alan28 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Bought this to make best use of my investment in lenses. Disappointed that the flash shoe and the remote are NOT compatible with my Dynax. The body is about half the weight so it's easy to carry, but it feels a bit flimsy at the moment compared to my old camera.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

Easy to use

SLT-A58 16/12/2015 by DrGuiri (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

First real camera i have bought, eay to use as fully automatic but now started playing with some manuel fatures, takes great profesional pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Awesome

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 10/12/2015 by Cameraguy1962 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The A58 is marketed as a good introduction camera for interchangeable lenses. This in my opinion is wrong. The a58 for me is the ONLY camera Im ever going to need. It does EVERYTHING so well. Night shots without the flash are good enough for publication. Sports and animals are frozen in time. And this incldes Basketball. To be honest i could go on about how clear the pictues are and how light the camera is but I wont. I'll just reiterate, This could be the only camera you will ever need.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

1

0

A nice camera, some interesting features.

Body + Zoom Lenses (18-55mm & 55-200mm) 01/12/2015 by Garry52 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I have had this camera (twin lens set) for 3 weeks so far and at the moment very pleased with it. Obviously I have not had time to experiment with everything and not really used manual or programmed settings (even with other cameras owned) but need to try it soon. I had to buy an adapter for my F42AM flash but it works okay with this camera now. I cannot seem to work out the Wireless part yet and need to keep the flash on the camera unlike with the older body where I could put the flash anywhere. The 2 lens's are not too bad although I substituted them for Tamron ones. The electronic viewfinder took a little getting used to as it is not as clear like optical ones but I like it now and full of information. At least any settings made now via the menus/functions etc stay set when the camera is switched off, my older Sony always reverted back to factory settings each time so this is far better. A lot of practice and experimenting is still required with all modes to get the best out of it I imagine but yes I am pleased with it and have taken some of my best DSLR portrait photos with it and some nice inside church photos. I am now selling off my Nikon equipment to concentrate on this. My only concern is that I have read the lens mount is plastic and not metal so hope this holds up to the frequent lens changes. Due to this and the fact I have not had it long I have only given it 4 stars but this may change in a few months time, hopefully to 5. The 4 stars for ease is only due to the amount of options and settings there are and remembering them is difficult to start with, the ones I can remember are very easy. Also 4 stars for picture quality too. For some reason digital photos to me are not as sharp as old 35mm ones but from 2 Sony cameras and a Nikon this is the best, even the Sony lens supplied is better than the previous ones.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Please let us know how you feel about your slt-a

Body + Zoom Lenses (18-55mm & 55-200mm) 30/11/2015 by Ollie1976 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I brought this November 2015 and I am so happy of the photos and videos so far. Id like 4K functions or lenses if possible.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Such a easy Camera to use.

Body + Zoom Lenses (18-55mm & 55-200mm) 24/11/2015 by Bonzo1956 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

My wife brought me this camera as a Xmas present for 2015 she has let me play with it before wrapping it for Xmas and I must say it is a camera amongst camera's easy interchangeable lenses easy to use the features i:e: shutter speeds ,Panoramic views and more.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Excellent Camera

SLT-A58 13/11/2015 by doxa (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Excellent camera for photos and videos,easy to you use and quiet affordable

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

The Sony SLT a 58 A Mount

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 06/11/2015 by Tezclarke (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

The camera is good with a good lens an many features which assist the owner. Very similar to a DSLR b t it is not quite that as the mirror does not move. However image quality is very good and there are many ways to produce god images.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Love it

SLT-A58 01/11/2015 by Jayeff (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

When I was looking for a replacement for my damaged a290 I chose this one because the old zoom lens fitted. I am so glad I did. The tilting viewfinder is brilliant. I can now take movies and the pictures are wonderful. I am going to have so much fun with this camera.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Very little to grumble about an excellent camera

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 14/10/2015 by Madcaravanner (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Obtained as a replacement for my older Alpha 300 so much to learn all good especially as I have a Sony Z3 phone so was using a lot of the software already It was a nice surprise to be able to take HD Video that allows me to use large lenses and not lock the zoom ones out. The grumble - - on the 300 the eyepiece was of soft rubber making it easier on my spectacles compared to the one supplied with the 58

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

3

2

0

great features but image quality not upto the mark

SLT-A58 01/10/2015 by agnish (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

α58 is awesome, its auto focusing, fast capture etc really impressed me, but what i'm disappointed of is its picture quality.... low light photographs are really disappointing, other than that its nice....

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Amazing camera...

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 17/09/2015 by Pokiros (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I was wondering about my first dslr.. And I found A58 with 18-55 sam II lenses on Internet. I've read some good reviews but the camera was a lot better than I expected. I'm surprised by the image quality and features.. I'll buy some sony lenses in the future. But this will do for now!

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Practical camera for amateur use

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 14/09/2015 by Prof of nothing (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

It is Ok but a little too light, not greatly different from my old a350 save for the resolution and video which I don't require

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Easy to take pics

SLT-A58 14/09/2015 by Meady (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I am happy with taking pics but it's very difficult to get them on the laptop as the package does not download so I am very upset about this you need to do something about it

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

1

0

The Next Level

SLT-A58 12/09/2015 by Stoneagle (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I bought the A58 a month ago. I've been using a Sony Cybershot and developed an interest in macro photography, mainly insects and wildlife. I wanted to develope this so bought the A58 to provide better macro images. Although the zoom lens is less than I expected the quality of the picture isceasy to crop snd enlarge without loosing definition.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Sony alpha 58

SLT-A58 11/09/2015 by Micky111 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This camera is a joy to use . lightweight, compact, and simplicity itself. Very pleased with results in all conditions.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

Good Quality DSLR Camera at a Good Price

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 08/09/2015 by LizzieKent (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

I already have a SLT a57, and this SLT a58 is just as great as a realible, evbery day camera for social and art work. Very happy with it indeed; Great Quality Product for a Good Price Wonderful pictures taken every time, with so many setting options, which gives a tremendous amount of options when considering your picture composition.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

1

0

SLT A58

SLT-A58 31/08/2015 by chimp (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

PHOTOS TAKEN WITH THE CAMERA WITHIN THE LAST FEW WEEKS

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

2

0

no more a-mount camera

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 08/08/2015 by azkhan (USA)

camera is good, but probably the last alpha i have. I had three A-mount lenses and now, the choice for the camera body for this price range is limited to only one. yeah, i know there is adopter but which means a extra cost and it is so unnecessary. Although I had great time with alpha, the last camera i had went to lot of places with me including Tibet, Hawaii, Fiji and is reliable. I drop it from second floor and watch it rolls to downstairs but still working. It last longer than two water proved W serious I had. As matter of fact, I been using same camera body for last 10 years. Since Sony seems like going to have E-mount phase out the A-mount, I dont want to spent any more money to buy the same type of camera lenses You know, never heard Canon or Nikon or Leica change the size of their mount. I should listen to my friends so I dont have to through more than 3 grands in the water. I know adopter is cheap but who knows if sony will get a newer mount to replace the E?

4

5

0

Not as good as the A37

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 10/07/2015 by Gothicgman (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Good camera as are all sony cameras but I don't see the point in the A58 the A37 is way better so no point in upgrading to the A58 as I have done but if it's your first camera then it's a good one to get

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Excellent camera

SLT-A58 08/07/2015 by willjay55 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Finally took the plunge to a DSLR and couldn't have picked a better camera, I feel. Still working my way around its features, but took it to Malta and it performed very well.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Excellent Quality

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 08/07/2015 by Smart1 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Upgraded from A200 to A380.....now to A58. All excellent camera, but improved resolution, drop in weight, increased battery life and ability to record video make A58 best yet.Video nice, though Iphone 6 beats frame rate and slo-mo functions hands down - still, useful to have. Only gripe is AF lock sometimes frustratingly slow in all but the brightest conditions - have tried experimenting with different AF settings, but not found optimal. Viewfinder excellent - I don't miss optical version. Controls and buttons a natural evolution from earlier Alphas - very easy to use. Other review complain about the plastic lens mount - but, in my experience, plastic easily as durable and more 'forgiving' to rough handling - will see if I have to eat my words. I change lenses constantly, so will monitor. if a problem, I'm sure Sony will be benevolent in fixing for free, if this is a shortcoming. Very happy, so far.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Thankyou its simple & powerful.

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 03/07/2015 by joe1963 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

all good works as it should ...fast ,accurate....great lens...can change between lenses so all good...thanks SONY..

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Just the Job

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 27/06/2015 by Stan B (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

Iv'e had this item for just over a month and feel like Iv'e had it longer as it is so simple to get to grips with

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

My first DSLR

Body + 18-55 mm Zoom Lens 26/06/2015 by Slinger69 (United Kingdom) Verified Purchaser Verified

This is my first DSLR. After enquiring about a used DSLR of similar price I was pointed in the direction of the Sony A58. I am pleased I did so. At the moment I'm playing around with it to find my way around it. So far I am very impressed and find it easy to use and what few photos I have taken I am well pleased. As a 69 year old with little previous experience this is a very good buy and excellent value for money.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0