8

1.8 based on 8 customer reviews

0
1
0
3
4
Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

8 Customer Reviews

0

Worked great Until it stopped recognizing XM tuner

MEX-M70BT 17/08/2018 by JHowe (USA)

had installed for about 3.5 months, and everything worked fine. Suddenly i get the "CHECK TUNER" warning on the XM, and it stopped. I went through the troubleshooting, disconnecting the tuner and reconnecting. Resetting radio, pulling fuses in attempt to wipe memory. NOW, the radio will not even allow me to select XM. When pressing the source button, XM never populates as an option. Very irritating for this to just cease working.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

0

0

0

Less than 1 summer and Bluetooth is a Fail

MEX-M70BT 07/08/2018 by Mardy Mac (USA)

Sound is good. Interface is sketchy. Bluetooth has went from having to press play again on the song after each engine start (all the time on a boat) to having to Re-Pair to the device after each engine start *and* coin toss as to whether the correct source is ‘Bluetooth Phone’ or ‘Bluetooth Audio’. Use this review - Do not buy this product if you rely on Bluetooth.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/08/2018

Hi Mardy Mac, thank you very much for taking the time to share your concerns with us. Sony takes the voice of our customers very seriously and hearing all feedback - good and bad is important to us. We appreciate your feedback. Regards, ^Ron

0

This is SONY?

MEX-M70BT 14/05/2018 by Summerjoy (USA)

Had in boat less than 2 seasons and faceplate blew, though everything else works fine. Avoid...this is junk/

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
14/05/2018

Hi Summerjoy, We regret to hear that it didn't live up to your expectations. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. ~Ralph

0

What is the correct wire remote for my this onboat

MEX-M70BT 17/08/2017 by Hausome (USA)

For this stereo (MEXM70BT)the listed wire remote is RMX60M/L. I have read that the display on the remote does not work for this stereo. I have this stereo installed in my boat. What is the correct wire Remote for this stereo? Thank you

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

1

4

0

Sirius Tuner not recognized

MEX-M70BT 17/08/2017 by Pcmpete (USA)

Connrected a Sirius SVX300 interfaced, worked for two months. Then got the error message 'Check Tuner'. Bought a replacement Sirius interface, but still get the 'Check Tuner' Error. Not good :(

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Average

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/08/2017

Hi, Pcmpete, We're sorry for the bad experience. For troubleshooting guide you may refer to the link below:
https://docs.sony.com/release//MEXM70BT_EN_ES_FR.pdf see page 30.
Regards, _Bob

0

GARBAGE

MEX-M70BT 29/06/2017 by Buzzard2157 (USA)

The unit itself has worked fairly well, but this is installed in a boat right? Since it is a MARINE radio right? I am boating the other day and hit a wave and it quits playing so when I get home I start troubleshooting the issue and find out if I grab the plug and wiggle it a little the radio will come on and off. So I call Sony from the number on the website and after 1.5 hours and 6 different numbers of being sent to I end up at the first one I called, trust me now I am fuming. Only to find out after ONCE AGAIN explaining the issue to the operator he tells me this isn't a warranty item because I hit a wave and that's what damaged it. I was beyond livid when I heard this but am very proud of myself that I did not curse the person from one side to the other. I did however explain to him how I would never ,ever buy another Sony product in my life again and would tell everyone I ever known and would know of my experience and not to waste their money either. So I am currently shopping JVC and Clarion units for my boat, GODBY AND GOOD RIDDENS ,SONY FOREVER!!!!!

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

5

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
02/07/2017

Hi Buzzard2157, we are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused. Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Thanks! ~Erin

0

Good performance, some complaints

MEXM70BT 27/04/2015 by raymondean (USA)

I had this installed last year, when I bought my boat. My only problems with this so far: 1. The remote SUCKS! my stereo is mounted in the glove compartment, and you have to prop the door to the glove compartment open AND have the remote within just 2 or 3 feet of the unit to use it. Kinda defeats the purpose of having the remote. 2. The app for iphone, is pointless. I know sony makes phones that are the competition to apple, but really?? It seems childish and poor marketing to make any useful app only have decent features for android. Whoever made that decision obviously thought that by doing that, it would make people go out and grab an android phone, but, in at least my way of thinking, it does the opposite, it makes my next purchase of a stereo, or any sony product, WAY less likely. I do like the sound quality, menu setup, and options

14

13

Response From Sony Support
28/04/2015

Hello raymondean! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we will forward this information to the proper department for further review.

0

Broke in a few weeks and interface stinks

MEXM70BT 15/04/2015 by Jefh23 (USA)

I installed this unit in my boat and it broke after a few weeks. The FM would only tune in the Japanese freq which ends at 88mhz making it pretty useless in the US. The interface is hard to use and hard to pair with a Bluetooth. Since it is on a boat and a lot of boat owners turn off their batteries when the boat is not in use so it loses its memory so every time you need to repair the blue tooth, EQ, and presets which is a pain due to the poor interface. To avoid this limitation you could run a direct line to the battery or build a small trickle to keep the memory alive or the device could have been designed with true memory like many others have done. After I sent the unit back to sony I received a call a few "weeks" later saying it is a known issue with the unit and they can not provide a replacement unit and to send a copy of how much I paid so I could be refunded. Sony has really gone in the wrong direction in the past few years and this product really highlights that.

18

7

Response From SonySupport
17/04/2015

Hi Jefh23,
We always appreciate customers who take the time to give us their feedback. I’ll pass what you've said onto proper department. Thank you.