11

1.5 based on 11 customer reviews

1
0
0
1
9
Sound Quality

Average

Features

Fair

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Fair

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

excellent boat speakers

XSMP1621 27/03/2012 by UncleRico (USA)

I installed these speakers in my 2004 bayliner 210 classic today, along with a new sony head unit. The system sounds incredible, even though it's only a 2 speaker system right now! The speakers sound crystal clear even at high volume. I have always had good luck with Sony anything, and usually am disappointed when I try a different brand.

23

4

Most Helpful Critical
0

Doesn't last

XS-MP1621 08/08/2017 by Sparky1996 (USA)

I have had these for just over two years, bought and installed in my camper. Understand the camper is only used a couple months out of the year on weekends and occasional weeky.... I just noticed that the cones are curling up, and separating from the surrounds. I have always purchased Sony products, but these are a huge disappointment in quality, hardly used, never abused, and already broken. A definite quality issue.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

7

0

11 Customer Reviews

0

Not durable in marine environment

XS-MP1621 04/06/2019 by CuttingEdge (USA)

I installed these speakers in the cockpit of my sailboat less than two years ago. This past week I replaced them with the same model speakers due to distortion of the cones and separation of the cones from the frame. This allows water to enter the anterior of the boat. I reluctantly replaced them with the same model to avoid having to make more holes in my boat. This is a common theme in these reviews...good sound quality, disappointing durability. Attached is a photo of one of the old and one of the new speakers.

Sound Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/06/2019

Hello CuttingEdge, We value your opinion and we would like to apologize if our product did not meet your expectations. Your feedback has been duly noted to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. Thanks for choosing Sony! - Romeo

0

Failed in less than 18 months

XS-MP1621 10/02/2019 by bw17 (USA)

The plastic cone completely disintegrated. Went online to purchase replacements, and read multiple reviews with same problem

Sound Quality

Fair

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Biggest disappointment from Sony.

XS-MP1621 17/10/2018  (USA)

Worked only a summer on sail boat. Worst product from Sony ever.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

2

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
17/10/2018

Hi Firat Goker,

We would like to know more about the issue and help you out. Kindly send us an email at socialsupport@am.sony.com including my name, your contact details and this feedback post in the email. Hope to hear from you.

Regards,
Zac

0

Not what is expected from a marine speaker

XS-MP1621 05/07/2018 by Thewmlc (USA)

Speakers were installed in my Sea Ray bow rider boat. Had them for two years and Speakers cones started to curl up and deteriorate from its rubber surround bass ring. Not worth the value. Quite shocking for a Sony product.

Sound Quality

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Poor

3

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
05/07/2018

Hi Thewmlc, We regret to hear that it didn't live up to your expectations. We'll make sure that this feedback reaches a relevant team if ever changes are needed as we want our consumers to have the best user experience. Thank you very much for your input. ~Ralph

0

Sound great but don't last!

XS-MP1621 05/06/2018 by Steph7 (USA)

These sound great when first installed but then after just over on eyear, Terrible sound and cone totally disintegrated from being exposed to just rain and sun, despite being sold as a marine speaker.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

5

0

0

Poor Quality - Life Span 12-18 months only

XS-MP1621 31/12/2017  (USA)

I never write reviews however think that Sony needs some honest feedback. Sorry Sony..... You need to step up your game. Installed 4 in a world cat 33TE To replace existing. One working out of four after 18 months. Just logged online to buy 4 more to prevent drilling new holes for alternative model and saw it seems to be a common problem. Looks like I have to drill new holes for alternative brand.

Sound Quality

Poor

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

6

1

0

not marine grade

XS-MP1621 06/12/2017 by shconte (USA)

I purchased these speaker, 4 of them, Sept. 2015. I thought the radio was going bad because they were so new. It was the total failure to the speakers. The delaminated and deteriorated. I'm wondering if Sony changed the materials or corrected the problem. I do not like drilling more holes to change brands.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Fair

Ease of Use

Average

6

1

0

More of Pain than a Pleasure

XS-MP1621 24/08/2017 by Ed B (USA)

These speakers rot out within two years when expsoed to a salt water enviorment.

Sound Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Good

8

1

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
25/08/2017

Hi, Ed B, We're sorry to hear that the unit did not live up to your expectations. We always appreciate customers who take the time to give us their feedback. I’ll pass what you've said into the proper department.
Regards, _Bob

0

Doesn't last

XS-MP1621 08/08/2017 by Sparky1996 (USA)

I have had these for just over two years, bought and installed in my camper. Understand the camper is only used a couple months out of the year on weekends and occasional weeky.... I just noticed that the cones are curling up, and separating from the surrounds. I have always purchased Sony products, but these are a huge disappointment in quality, hardly used, never abused, and already broken. A definite quality issue.

Sound Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

7

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/08/2017

Hi Sparky1996, we regret to hear that the speakers failed to meet your expectations. We'll make sure to have your feedback forwarded to our design team for further improvements, especially with its design and build. We hope that this does not change your view with the brand, and we promise to deliver after this feedback. We greatly appreciate your input. Best regards.

0

Contact Problems - Customer Support NOT helpful

XSMP1621 07/08/2015 by LovMusic (USA)

These speakers were purchased for a boat, a boat the is only used during the summer months in the North. The original set of speakers sounded great until they started cutting out. Connectors checked, everything good there, the actual contact on the speaker itself was the problem. With a slight touch the speaker would come back on. Sony was willing to replace with refurbished set being that it was out of warranty. Remind you being used on a boat, not used everyday or in the off months. The new set worked a couple time and the same problem again. Called Sony customer service advises to speak with online chat, online chat only apologizes for having issues and refers you to customer support. Second call to customer support, rep basically said "it's your decision not to use the product" during the warranty period! Would have loved some assistance, not apologies with no help. Definitely will not purchase from Sony again!

8

6

Response From Sony Support
11/08/2015

Hello LovMusic! It is unfortunate that you have gone through this experience, please allow us to check what we can do to help you solve it, email us at socialsupport@am.sony.com and include your contact information, event ID (if available), model, serial number with a description of the issue you are experiencing with this unit. We will review your file and get back to you with a solution as soon as possible.

0

excellent boat speakers

XSMP1621 27/03/2012 by UncleRico (USA)

I installed these speakers in my 2004 bayliner 210 classic today, along with a new sony head unit. The system sounds incredible, even though it's only a 2 speaker system right now! The speakers sound crystal clear even at high volume. I have always had good luck with Sony anything, and usually am disappointed when I try a different brand.

23

4