35

3.9 based on 35 customer reviews

14
11
4
3
3
Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

Please note: Some product variations and/or features mentioned within Product Reviews may not be available in all countries.

Most Helpful Positive
0

Incredible in the daylight

LSPX-P1 29/06/2017  (USA)

Pictures or videos do NOT do this project justice. It's smooth, bright, and crisp. I saw it in person in New York, 3 weeks later it's in my living room :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

Most Helpful Critical
0

Needed a Remote Control or a couple of buttons

LSPX-P1 14/03/2018 by Savarin (USA)

Unfortunately, I didn't read the full specs before buying: it needs a SmartPhone, with dedicated App, to control the projector. To make things worse, this App (for iPhone or Android) could only be downloaded and installed within the US, not abroad. I just needed using it with it's HDMI input, nothing else (I don't care about the other features, they're 'eye candy' and nothing more) And so, this incredible product now is stashed in the closet. Sitting there, unused. For me, it is a flawed product. It would be perfect Including a Remote Control, or better, just adding three buttons in it: 'Source', 'Volume Up' and 'Volume Down'. That's it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

35 Customer Reviews

0

A product that excels in certain scenarios

LSPX-P1 10/10/2018 by Jaffrey_av (USA)

This projector works best as a portable TV. You can use it pretty much on any wall. The easiest way to use it is to set the projector at max brightness and leave it on HDMI. Then connect a video source like an Apple TV to the wireless HDMI wireless module and have the HDMI source connect to an external audio system via bluetooth. The inbuilt speakers are decent enough though for a small room. Here is what I like about this projector: 1. The 100 lumens is not bad because the projector can be placed so close to the wall. The optimal image size is around 60 inches for the light output and 768p picture quality. 2. I use a 4K Apple TV and have my source system do the scaling to 768p and use a portable AirPlay speaker for the audio. I use the Apple TV remote and I have never messed with the Sony App after the set up. The projector has auto focus and I have the stand and all key stone adjustmemts can be made by adjusting the angle of the projector on the stand. 3. The posters feature can be replicated by any number of Apple TV apps and slideshows. So you’re not missing much if you don’t use the projectors poster and slideshow feature. 4. Unlike others at this price range which are DLP, the Sony being a true laser projector has better contrast and maximizes the light output. The battery has lasted me beyond 2 hours and the projector is quiet silent. I considered this along with the LG ultra short throws - both their 720p and 1080p ones. The Sony has better design and the stand makes it easier to use in more places. The LG 720p one supposedly has 4x the light output but in my comparison the Sony’s image was sharper and more contrasty. The LG was more washed out. I liked the 1080p LG. The image was much crisper but it is not portable and really needs a home theatre set up. It was also not bright enough for an 80 inch screen since that was the minimum size it projected at. I ended up returning both LGs and kept the Sony. The LG was better as a home theatre system (the 1080p UST) but that is not what I needed. The one compliant is that the Sony app is fussy. Initially it was a nightmare but I decided to remove all my bluetooth devices and then reconnected and for some reason the App now works. However, as I mentioned earlier I don’t use it since I rely on the auto focus and use the button to turn on and off and Apple TV remote for everything else. It could be a little more complex than it needs to be, but if you can figure it out it’s really excellent hardware for this size and price point. You need both the projector and stand to get the best value.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

3

0

0

Doesn't support HDMI-CEC

LSPX-P1 18/09/2018 by peter321 (USA)

Would love to see a projector in this form factor support HDMI-CEC. Not being able to use conventional / modern remote with the device to control the volume is the main reason I don't use it daily. I'm also not a huge fan of the HDMI receiver being a separate unit with its own adapter and wireless communication.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
19/09/2018

Hi peter321, thank you very much for taking the time to share your concerns with us. Sony takes the voice of our customers very seriously and hearing all feedback - good and bad is important to us. We appreciate your feedback. Regards, ^Ron

0

excellent for certain use cases...

LSPX-P1 17/09/2018 by Salute2030 (USA)

I just got mine this weekend from Amazon. Here are my first impressions and why I gave it 5 stars: 1. I had no problems with the app or set up. Everything just worked. 2. This is a beautiful piece of gear and I have it connected to an Apple TV and a pair of HomePods. I can use the Apple TV remote for all my content as well changing volume etc. I use the projector app only for the set up. 3. Auto focus, auto brightness and other settings work very well. The inbuilt speakers are at par with regular TV speakers. The focus is sharp. 4. Truly portable because of the wireless HDMI module and almost 2.5 hours of battery life. 5. The 720p resolution to me seems ok. I have a 65 inch Sony A1E 4K OLED TV and so that is our main viewing device. 1080p content looks good on this projector. 6. Ultra short throw is great and can be used anywhere. The above are reasons I gave this 5 stars since it met my expectations. Here is what it is not. So if you buy it for the following reasons you won’t like it: 1. This is a dim projector. It cannot be used in a room with normal light beyond 32 inches in width. It is for a dark room. 2. This is not designed to be your main home theatre system because of the lower res and low light output. Overall I love the design and ease of use. I knew the light out was low before buying so can’t complain about it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

when it works I love it. It often doesn't work.

LSPX-P1 01/09/2018 by marty8545 (USA)

Such a frustrating machine. I have had this for 18 months and each time I have pre-viewing anxiety, as it is so clumsy to get to work. This should be a seamless, joyful experience but each time I have to resort to deleting the app from my ipad / phone in the hope of getting the updated version. I have an alert to update the app but when I do it fails every time. The bluetooth, wifi, direct wi-fi triad of signals is ultra confusing and I never really know what I am supposed to connect to each time. Also the companion box for HDMI seems to turn off after about a minute, so I have to keep unplugging the power cord to it, to allow it to turn on again. The device looks like the future. It behaves like the past. What an expensive shame.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/09/2018

Hi marty8545, thank you very much for taking the time to share your concerns with us. Sony takes the voice of our customers very seriously and hearing all feedback - good and bad is important to us. We appreciate your feedback. Regards, ^Ron

0

Disappointing

LSPX-P1 05/08/2018 by Michael1220 (USA)

This has got to be one of the most frustrating and overly complicated devices that I've ever owned. I was first introduced to it at a Sony booth at a trade show where of course it worked effortlessly and flawlessly. At home.... not so much. I will admit that it delivers excellent picture quality, it's compact and easy to move around, it has reasonable battery life, and the price is right. The audio quality is not great. It's fine for the news, TV shows, cartoons, but if you want to watch a movie or listen to music you are going to have to connect it to a sound system. I have no idea how to do that or if it can be done because I can't get past the issues that I list below. 1. It requires a Bluetooth connection to a smart phone or tablet for everyday use. But a WiFi connection for set up and updates. How ‘bout we pick one, Sony? 2. It requires an outside device connection for EVERYTHING. There's a power button on the unit, but that's it. And ironically, the power button in the app doesn’t work. If you just want to adjust the volume, you have to be connected to a smart phone or tablet. This is especially frustrating if you have a lock on your smart phone like most people do, it adds multiple steps for what could just be a hard button on the projector or better yet, on a remote for the projector. But it doesn't stop there. Let's say you're watching the projector and you receive a phone call.... You can’t open the app until after you answer the call, and can't adjust the volume until you open the app. "Hello... Sorry can't hear you, hold on.... <switch from call to Sony Portable app, wait for Bluetooth connection to come back and hope that it does........ Adjust speaker volume>.... Sorry for that, I just needed to lower the volume on the program I was watching. This is utterly stupid and un-intuitive. 3. I just have to bring it up here again… There’s no remote and no settings menu that can be pulled up from the projector. You MUST be connected to a device to adjust volume, brightness, focus (which must be done frequently), and so on from the app and only from the app. The menu is not even on the projector screen, it’s only on your smart device. How much more would it really have cost to add a simple remote and a software menu that can be pulled up on the actual projector screen? 4. Here's the other thing.... The Bluetooth on the projector is fussy and totally unreliable. Often times it would not connect to my Samsung smart phone at all and I would give up on it all together. Strangely it has no problem connecting to my tablet, so my $800, 7.5"x9.5" Samsung tablet has been reduced to a remote control for a device that really should come with its own remote. You really can’t run the thing without the Bluetooth connection, so the unreliability is a huge failure. 5. If you read the fine print this is obvious but they are not so transparent about it... In order to connect anything by HDMI, it must be connected to the second box that comes with the projector. And if you want to connect more than one HDMI device for input then you need to get your own splitter because it has one HDMI in and one HDMI out. And this is yet another device that's connected wirelessly so there's lag time while waiting for hardware to talk to itself. Let's say that you're streaming from a TV stick; There's a wireless connection there, and then a Bluetooth or wireless connection to the projector. So if the picture quality is reduced or glitchy, good luck finding the poor connection. I discovered that the HDMI box works best when it has a clear line of sight to the projector of not more than about 10', which was helpful, but raises the question even higher, "What benefit is there to that separate HDMI box?" 6. I'm currently trying to run an update with the hope that it will fix the Bluetooth connection to my Smart phone. For this, the projector has to connect wirelessly to my network AND to a smart phone/tablet by Bluetooth (I’m connecting it to my tablet). In addition to that, it has to connect by it's own network, WiFi Direct, to to the smart phone/tablet with a network that it broadcasts from the projector. And when WiFi Direct is turned on and your smart device is connected to it, it takes your smart device off of your WiFi, again, begging the question… What’s it all for? If the projector has the ability to receive a network and broadcast its own network, why does it need to take other devices offline so it can download its update? 7. I would be fine with jumping through these ridiculous hoops if the device were capable of maintaining all of these connections at once. But it’s like a simple minded animal that can’t keep more than one idea in its head at a time. As soon as I get one connection the others fall apart. There’s no reason real reason it’s happening, and no support from Sony. At the moment, the projector is locked up displaying the wrong time with no way to reboot it. In the end, I would not buy this device again. And it saddens me to say that because it has so much potential.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Poor

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

4

0

0

Good projector, poor phone app

LSPXP1/K 08/07/2018 by paras (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

i bought this recently. Projector looks great when its working but the experience is ruined by the phone application to operate the projector which is very dated and not user friendly

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Fair

0

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
09/07/2018

Hi paras, thank you for providing your feedback. We sincerely value customers feedback such as this, as it helps us gauge consumer's interest in our products. This will surely be forwarded to the development team and see what they think of it.
Regards, _Bob

0

good idea/concept....but didn't work

LSPX-P1 01/07/2018 by djstoeter (USA)

Bought over a year ago. Failed to connect reliably to either m'soft surface or macbook via HDMI or bluetooth. It would take 10-20 repeated attempts to connect each time I used the device before it would eventually connect rendering it cumbersome (error messages in lead up attempts for some unknown reason). Attempts to repair the device revealed 'spare part is not available'. Buyers' may like to check if this device is still serviceable in any way or still in production before buying stock. I have since bought a £70 device that connects better, has a comparable movie quality with a brighter picture.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Average

Ease of Use

Poor

0

0

0

Needed a Remote Control or a couple of buttons

LSPX-P1 14/03/2018 by Savarin (USA)

Unfortunately, I didn't read the full specs before buying: it needs a SmartPhone, with dedicated App, to control the projector. To make things worse, this App (for iPhone or Android) could only be downloaded and installed within the US, not abroad. I just needed using it with it's HDMI input, nothing else (I don't care about the other features, they're 'eye candy' and nothing more) And so, this incredible product now is stashed in the closet. Sitting there, unused. For me, it is a flawed product. It would be perfect Including a Remote Control, or better, just adding three buttons in it: 'Source', 'Volume Up' and 'Volume Down'. That's it.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

6

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
16/03/2018

Hi Savarin, Sony takes into consideration all feedback to improve the performance and quality of our products and services. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. ~Erin

0

Urgh.. the sound

LSPX-P1 04/01/2018 by Wesls1990 (USA)

I got this for Christmas and whilst it’s an ok projector and absolutely beautiful (if the aesthetics of your gadgets is as important to you as it is to me), I was hoping for more. It’s a good quality screen in the dark, especially considering it’s a laser projector so, should, last for years without bulb replacements etc. During the day however, it struggles unless on a very white flat surface or if the projector is right up against the surface which means it’s only 22inches, the same as a small monitor. BUT the things that lets it down the most is the sound.. Maybe I’m missing something but there doesn’t seem to be an aux output and it is such a shame. For the price, I wanted a practical projector that I could also set up at home and use as a TV/Film screen but the lack of sound means I just can’t use it for movies. My go-to test is Blue Planet and it’s completely underwhelming on this device. For work, I’d just buy a decent portable monitor. For home, I’d buy a proper projector with adaptive sound. This just sits disappointingly between the two.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Poor

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
07/01/2018

Hello Wesls1990, greetings and thank you for your message. For further assistance, we kindly recommend visiting our Sony Global Website for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.
Thanks, _Bob

0

Great function and design

LSPX-P1 15/10/2017 by baldi785 (USA)

The design of a product is always important, and this projector certainly looks great. Very sleek and compact design. On top of the great design, this projector is very versatile. I was able to use this in my office, kitchen, basement, and even my back yard, from everything to projecting my laptop as a 2nd monitor, displaying a clock, watching tv and movies, and watching family slideshows. The only improvement I would like to see would be an improvement in the battery life. The fact in can run on battery, is great for being able to move it around but I having a better battery would give move flexibility. The image produced is very bright so viewing in brighter lights is not a problem. Fun product that will leave a lot of people in awe wondering "how are you doing that"?

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Portable Projector w/ Potential

LSPX-P1 04/10/2017 by ScarArm (USA)

I’ve had the great opportunity to test the new Sony Short Throw Projector LSPX-P1 through a promotional campaign. This little cube is very powerful and is a lot of fun. Pros: - Project from a multitude of sources at 720p (HDMI source cable box, video game system, DVD) from the HDMI wireless unit to the projector. - Project from wireless devices directly to the projector (phone with the Portable Ultra Short Throw project app for phone pictures/videos, and any android device (phone/tablet) with the Smart View screen sharing capability to share the phone/tablet screen and any apps running on that device. - Decent sound for a small device with its built in speakers. - Wireless unit has an HDMI pass through so you can plug in your surround sound system to your projector (not tested) - Limitless screen size configurations…based upon how for you move the projector to/from the wall and/or the floor. I was able to project live TV on a 19 foot wide by 9 foot tall textured wall and it looked decent. - Projector is close to its projected surface, no need to place the projector on the other side of the room to get a good size picture - It’s portable! (approx. 2 hour battery life…however it can be plugged in while using it) - It’s small (approximately 5” height x 5” length x 3” width) and lightweight (little over 2 pounds) Cons: - The brightness leaves a lot to be desired. In the day or with room lights on, the picture is okay but faint. For true vibrancy, the lights must be out. - You MUST use the App to change the input source to the projector. The App / Projector are slow when changing sources…sometimes 30 seconds plus (Yes we are spoiled with speed these days) - Cost

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

5

2

0

light-weight professional projection device

LSPX-P1 29/09/2017 by tonqueen (USA)

The Sony Portable Ultra Short Throw Projector is very easy to set-up and user friendly to operate. It only took me a matter of minutes to setup and get it running. The packaging was easy to navigate. The unit came with a quick setup guide that walked me though setup and startup process. An update will be required after connecting to the internet that could take a few minutes depending on your internet speed. I received this product as part of a promotional campaign. The unit is very light and easy to carry, I am a fan of how it looks professional while being simple to operate. I do think however that it should have come with a carrying case or bag to protect the unit when traveling. I deducted on star for this reason. The picture quality is quite nice, easy to tell that it is projecting an HD picture. I used the device to show some family vacation photos we took recently and my guest were amazed with how clear the photos were coming out of such a small device. I am loving this device and would recommend it to anyone looking for a light-weight professional projection device.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

4

0

0

Versatile device with a lot to love!

LSPX-P1 26/09/2017 by Rizwan (USA)

This thing is our absolute favorite ever since we got it! We watch movies, TV shows, play games (by hooking up PlayStation) anywhere around the house. When its not in *active* use, it is displaying family collage frames or displaying art from 500px in our living room or in home office (for friends and guests). The picture quality is impressive and extra controls (Picture Settings in the app) are great. Project it on table or wall and you'll be pleasantly surprised as far as the room/place is not too bright. My favorites: 1) Picture quality Preset picture setting is pretty good but if you like you can adjust to brightness, contrast, saturation, sharpness and white balance using Picture Settings in the app. 2) Screen Mirroring (Miracast) One of the best implementations I have seen so far (smooth without a lag or interruption). This is android only, for IPhone you can use an lightening to HDMI adapter with wireless transmitter. 3) Wireless Transmitter Makes this projector universal as it allows you to connect any of the devices you already have with it using HDMI project the content even in a different room! I have tried TV box, PS4, sound bar (passthrough) and IPhone. 4) Usability Movies, Games, Slideshow, Art Display, Screen Mirror in the tightest spaces or table tops! My main gripe is that the projector unit does not have any interface to external audio device (headphones/speakers). I wish and hope Sony enables bluetooth audio with firmware/software update as projector already has bluetooth capability. This would enable private listening or use of bigger speakers for movie nights in the backyard. Please do this Sony. Other than that, we all love this device and do hope Sony continues to push short throw technology forward.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

6

1

0

Could not have imagined…

LSPXP1/K 22/09/2017  (USA) Verified Purchaser Verified

When I got this I saw myself being able to have it travel with me for presentations and speaking opportunities where the tech is not available to me. That was just the beginning. We have had a blast watching movies on the garage door with the neighborhood, using as a menu and welcome at a house party and we can't wait to see how we can use it in our Halloween and Christmas decorations. The box it comes in sets a good precedent for what to expect. It has a unique design and excellent hand feel. Upon opening, I was greeted with 2 white boxes, the projector, and a wireless hub station. After charging the projector, I sat down to set it up. I was expecting it to take a while, this thing was awesome right? I couldn't have been more wrong, the app downloaded and installed quickly and within minutes I was projecting. I tried photo casting, poster and using the HDMI input, all were very straightforward and easy to accomplish. I am seriously considering replacing my bedroom TV with one of these since I move around the room and adjusting TV to all those angles is a pain, but this is so simple and light. Sometimes a product comes along that is just as fun and easy to use as it is cool, this is one of those awesome devices I love getting to play with.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

3

0

0

Good portable device

LSPX-P1 15/09/2017 by Lakshmipathiraju (USA)

Its a Good portable short throw projector. After using it for the few weeks i am impressed with design and build quality, for a such a short range it does provide the very good size of the picture. It does deliver the good picture too. I definitely recommend this if you are looking for the ultra short throw projector. I did too find the cons on this product. Pros: 1. Good portable Ultra short throw projector in market 2. Picture quality is good 3. Good design and build quality 4. Light weight 5. Auto keystone, Auto Focusing 6. Very easy to setup Cons: 1. App need a lots of improvement 2. Lack of smart feature 3. Hub should be powered in if you wanna play the move throw HDMI. Over All as its a good product.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

2

0

0

Hand Held Projector With Impressive Versatility!

LSPX-P1 15/09/2017 by TheChanClan (USA)

I was skeptical when I first heard of Sony's Portable Ultra Short Throw Projector, after all, its sibling was about a hundred times more expensive and debuted more as a technological proof-of-concept rather than anything the average user would ever consider getting. Therefore, how much of this technology could Sony distill down into something that was not only more affordable, but also the size of a sandwich, and do this all while boasting a rechargeable battery source, built in speaker, and the capability of Wi-fi streaming even with a HDMI device? Well, seeing is believing! Despite the critics who state that this device only is 100 lumens bright and 720p resolution, this device can stand alone on battery-power and because of its energy efficiency actually project through an entire movie! Further, in a Wi-Fi equipped setting, the media hub allows an HDMI device such as my Xbox seamlessly stream directly to the projector. Because of its ultra-short throw distance, even a foot of distance can translate into multiple feet of screen size when projected upright. Sure, its contrast isn't the best and you will need a dark room and light surface to view images at full color range, however for its ability to be so compact, portable, and wire-free it fits a niche of novelty electronic that you really never thought you needed, but once you've tried it, wondered how you made do without. I foresee bedroom wall gaming, backyard movie nights, travel entertainment, and maybe even a portable office presentation. I wouldn't say that this device replaces a dedicated projector or television, but if you're looking for a battery-operated projector that performs well and is ultra compact and ultra versatile, the Sony Portable Ultra Short Throw Projector is the one to beat!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

i loved it!

LSPX-P1 15/09/2017  (USA)

this was great and I loved it. I would definitely buy this again!

0

0

0

Small size packs a Punch

LSPX-P1 14/09/2017 by Ploft (USA)

Pleasantly surprised with the size of this projector. I love the portability of it having a battery for on the go use. It's amazing how great and large the image is with the device only a few inches from the wall. I’ve put this projector thru its paces to see how it would work in business and play. For Business, I can definitely use it for presentations. The projector is bright but best suitable for dimly lit rooms. For play its great to take away for travel for movies on road at 80inches in a hotel room. Also great to take over friends to have another view to watch a game. It has some unique internal features like clocks and backgrounds. Can’t see myself using that much. I want to use it for real situations. I like the size, portability, short throw tech, screen size, image detail and image color. I wish it had more light power. For that reason, I give it 4 stars.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Innovative and fun

LSPX-P1 14/09/2017 by Lambo6286 (USA)

Sony's portable ultra short throw projector is brilliant. The packaging was flawless and easy to manage. The size of the unit itself is surprisingly small which led me to think the output couldn't possibly be as beautiful as it is. Setup was fairly easy and straight forward. Some surfaces don't work very well for projecting onto like high gloss tables and other polished surfaces but that is pretty much a no brainer. I set the projector up in my theater room where my full size Sony Projector is located. (The wall is painted as a silver screen) Even with ambient light coming in the tiny short throw projector did an amazing job for its size. The fact that the unit has a battery power option still blows me away. Nothing else on the market comes close in this class of portable projectors. I definitely recommend it!

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

Nice product, next version might be better

LSPX-P1 13/09/2017 by ScottW3 (USA)

The Sony LSPX-P1 is the latest ultra short throw projector that's specifically marketed towards consumers vs business. Packaging and setup was extremely straightforward. Setup was completed using an Android app and took all of 10 minutes. I was really impressed by the image size the projector was capable of producing as well as the ability to automatically produce a rectangular image. Resolution looked impressive despite not being 1080p. The projector is great for streaming from a phone via mirroring and its portability really allowed me to actually put it to use vs just sitting in the closet. Honestly, however, this projector should never sit in the closet. When not in active use, I found its clock projection and fake windows very functional. This projector has quite a few negatives, however. The biggest simply being there is not enough light output. Images appear washed out if there is more than just a little ambient light. Use is a dark room is impressive, however. The wireless HDMI unit is a great addition, however, I think it might be helpful to include a single HDMI on the actual projector. Also, I found switching from window mode to an HDMI source to be painfully slow and often I would have to unplug and plug back in my HDMI input for it to register. The projector is a bit expensive for what you get, although in line with the cost of other brands. In summary, I believe this to be a fun toy for kids and adults with some drawbacks that might make me want to wait until the next model is released.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

1

0

0

Form, Function, Entertainment...spot on.

LSPX-P1 13/09/2017 by phy6nando (USA)

First, the boxing of the device was great. I have always had great respect for box designers...clean, simple and everything out quickly. Setting up the projector was extremely simple and casting from both Windows and Android devices was easy and quick. I have encountered some issues trying to cast at times from devices but think it is more related to an OS issue as it seems to not connect due to device and not the projector. The image quality is great! It almost does not seem like a 720p image (and Windows recognizes it as 1080p when connected directly). Very crisp, bright and smooth images are always displayed. I have encountered a small amount of keystone and focus issue on the area furthest from the projector (top of image when using on a wall, bottom of image when using on table top) but some tinkering with the focus and keystone does the trick. The sound quality from the speakers is pretty good given the size of the device (no, I was not expecting HT quality and am pleasantly impressed by the output) and have used it now for movies, having a fourth display for my computer onto the wall, and also for web conferences without a glitch. Someone from my office heard about me having it and wanted a quick demo...I am officially buying one for my office group. And on top of that, to be able to unplug it and have it fully portable with its built-in battery?! Yes please! If you're looking for a projector you can take anywhere you want, look great wherever you place it, and do just about anything you can throw at it, this is the one for you. As I work with this more, I will add to this review and provide further info as well as pictures.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Nice within a narrow set of circumstances

LSPX-P1 12/09/2017 by RichardS757 (USA)

The Projector comes in a clean, plain, white box. Inside the box you’ll find two separate units; the projector itself and the wireless hdmi box. The projector has a rechargeable battery that lasts up to 2 hours. You’ll also find an IR blaster that allows you to control your DVD player and power cables for both units. The hdmi box has an hdmi in, out, and port for the IR blaster. The units are nice looking. They are white plastic with a faux leather texture. The image is 720p which is low but looks good for what it is. You can project images/videos from your phone, do screen mirroring, or display one of several posters all completely wirelessly which is nice. The sound is slightly hollow but I was surprised by how good it sounds. In addition to displaying on the wall, it will display on a table as well. There are some downsides. The 2-hour battery life is short. 720p is really low for 2017. The projector is also very dim at only 100 lumens. This is fine for small screens and dark rooms but not so great in any light or larger images. The only image adjustment options are keystone correction, brightness, and focus. If you don’t have it lined up exactly parallel with the wall, you’ll end up with a slightly distorted image. The weather poster is very generic as well. On top of this, the unit is very expensive. This really is an ultra-short throw projector. It projects an 80” screen at ~1ft from the wall. This makes it only useful in a narrow range of applications but if used with those restrictions in mind it’s pretty good. It’s hard to recommend for the price but overall it’s a nice device.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

One projector infinite possibilities.

LSPX-P1 12/09/2017 by biswajee (USA)

Gone are the days when projectors used to big, noisy and clunky. Meet the new Sony LSPX-P1, a ultra short throw projector from Sony Life Space UX range. It small, sleek, portable and the overall aesthetic of the product would easily blend with home decor. If you are looking for a projector, that does more than just sit at a corner of a room, this product is for you. It is very portable and small, with wireless connectivity you don’t have to worry about long HDMI cables and costly setup. Where it excels : As I have mentioned this multiple times before, the best feature of this projector is the ultra short throw, no need to worry about huge throw distance, you can enjoy a display of 80 inches even is a very small space. The ultra short throw also ensures you don’t have to worry about someone crossing in front of the projector or costly projector mounts. Next best feature would be the wireless unit, this makes setup a breeze, you don’t have to spend a dime on costly HDMI cables or setup cost. By decoupling the projector display unit from the HDMI unit Sony has done an excellent job. You can keep the wireless unit near your blu-ray player or laptop and use the projector anywhere in your house. The wireless unit connects over wifi. The inbuilt speaker packs a punch, very much usable for personal use. The audio output crisp and clear. The built-in speaker completes the package. Where it falls short of expectation : Screen brightness would the biggest deal breaker for this product, 100 lumens of brightness is very low for any kind of work. I have used this projector in various lighting conditions, in daylight, with window shades, evening time with room lights. The projected image is only enjoyable in total dark room. This limits the conditions in which we can use the projector. Next limiting feature would be the number of ports, the wireless unit has a single hdmi port, given the n number choices (usb, mhl, pc input, ethernet) other competing products offer this is very restrictive. Addition of a usb port would open a whole new world of possibilities. What really confused me is that the projector works on battery but the wireless unit doesn’t which means only your phone's content can be viewed on battery power support, this seriously limits the portability. Support for file types of powerpoint, word doc, excel sheet and pdf would be excellent. Apart from these the app needs to fix a few issues, like keystone correction guidelines is displayed for a very short period of time. Overall for this price range it is an excellent projector. This is not your regular projector, there are multiple ways that you can use and enjoy this product. The ease of installation and great portability option is what makes this projector very different any other projector in the market.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Perfectly designed for a specific space

LSPX-P1 11/09/2017  (USA)

This device is perfectly designed for very a specific space. It projects a clear image anywhere from 22”, while sitting directly on a flat surface, up to 80” while less than a foot away, so long as the room is dimly lit, the projection surface is perfectly flat and you aren’t too far away to hear the small speakers. This projector is simple to set-up and control with the app downloaded to your mobile device. Once synced using Bluetooth you can stream media from your device using screen mirroring over Wi-Fi or Wi-Fi Direct connection. With screen-mirroring I experienced a fair bit of stuttering and high latency between device and projector. The app includes three other ways to use the projector. ‘Photocast’ simply transmits photos and some videos straight from your device to the projector, ‘HDMI’ which takes any HDMI device, to include Chromecast and Firestick that you connect to the separate HDMI module and ‘Poster’, which has some preset images that cycle, clocks and a weather app. The ‘Poster’ option does allow for some customization through IFTTT, to project images from Facebook, Instagram and other sites. The included weather app, which uses your zip code in conjunction with AccuWeather, is only a scene on loop of a typical weather pattern as if looking out a window, not informative at all. Though it is rated as 100 ANSI lumens, in low-light and dark areas this is plenty bright. However, in brightly lit areas, such as my office, the image is nearly impossible to view once expanded over 22”, even at max brightness. There is only one mount option, that is sitting flat on a surface or the separately purchased stand. The only way to adjust screen size is by moving the projector back and the image quickly loses proportion after a foot away. If there is any distortion in the projection surface, this will amplify it by warping the distant edge. The audio was decent for the size, but still only good for small spaces, however it does allow HDMI pass-through for external systems. Bottom line, this projector is very limited in its possible placement. The price is steep compared to other portable projector options, though I haven’t seen any others project such a large picture in less than a foot.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

1

0

0

nice product, expensive

LSPX-P1 10/09/2017 by munifr (USA)

This product comes in a very nice elegant box. It is composed of 2 units, the projector itself which is a very compact wireless, stronger than expected for its size with a decent sounding speakers and a small "HDMI" unit that can be used to connect a computer or DVD/Blu ray player, also you have a small easy to use IR blaster. The sound that comes from this unit is good for a small room, small group of people but not recommended from a distance that is more than 25-39 feet away. Setup using cell phone is very easy and takes less than 5 minutes and ready to go, you can project pictures and movies from your phone easily. Overall nice looking, feels like fabric and shiny enough that the room does not need to be dark. My 2 year old son enjoys watching movies on it and it makes him very curious how the picture is on the wall and the floor next to him. Price wise it is expensive at $1000 and a little cumbersome to use the 2 units to watch a lecture/powerpoint presentation. Really nice for a wedding to project pictures with music, though the quality of the pictures will not be that great at 720p. I would recommend this product to somebody that has a small office/business where he/she can give presentations and show occasional videos to a small group of people.

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Good

Design

Good

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

This unit fits my lifestyle wonderfully

LSPX-P1 07/09/2017 by Rthunder (USA)

I have really taken to this unit since I got it. The picture is clear and crisp and bright enough for my viewing environment. The specs on the unit put the display at 100 lumens, but I keep my bedroom and workout room pretty dark (the places where I have used the unit the most so far). I also used it in the living room where it is much brighter to throw a second football game up on the wall and it worked really well for that. The way I use the unit, I took an Apple TV I have going to my tv, inserted the wireless hdmi unit in between the Apple TV and my television and hooked up the ir transmitter cable. This allows me to use the apps either on my tv or on my projector. The projector will be in the next room or in a room upstairs, and aiming my ir remote at the projector allows me to control the apps from rooms away. It's worked pretty well, though there's a slight lag between that setup and using the remote in the same room as the device, but it only seems to be about a 16th of a second delay, barely noticeable. At night, I need some kind of noise going on to sleep. I tried the poster setting and it has worked great. My biggest problem with the unit so far is trying to find a wall with 80" of free space. I haven't found it yet so the largest size I have been able to make the picture so far is about 48". It looks as good there as it does when I bring the projector into the kitchen to watch tv while cooking and have the screen size at about 26" under the cabinets. Next thing for me to get is the charging stand, and play around with the option to display photos from Facebook and instagram! At first I didn't like the app installed on my phone used to control the projector, but with a bit of use it has grown on me, and I can find what I need now.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Very Impressed!

LSPX-P1 31/08/2017 by bigwallys (USA)

I was impressed with the Sony Portable Ultra Throw Projector as soon as I took it out of the box. It's much smaller and more compact than I expected, but still had a weighty, quality feel. The packaging is also well done so you can used the stylish box as a little stand. I had it set up in minutes. And after downloading the companion app, I was easily enjoying photos and videos straight from my phone using the built in WiFi features. You can also receive signals via WiFi from the supplied wireless HDMI unit. Just plug in any HDMI device like a laptop, cable box, or Blu-ray player, and watch your favorite content anywhere in the house. I couldn't wait to show this projector off to my friends and family. It has a built in battery so you can take it anywhere. We even watched some videos on the back of a menu while eating out. It has a powerful 100 lumens laser projector and great sound too. I also really like the pre-installed clock, window, and photo with music functions. The only downside is that because its only 100 lumens, it needs to be used in a darkened room for the best quality. But I find that In most light conditions it's still has multiple uses and works very well. Overall I feel that the Sony Ultra Throw Portable Projector is a very well made, fun, and innovative product that is sure to become as popular as any other television product. I'm proud to own it and I'm always looking for new ways to show it off.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

I love it!! ❤

LSPX-P1 31/08/2017 by Abdulrhman (USA)

Great Product from Sony. It's easy to take anywhere

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

0

0

0

Freedom To Share Memories Anywhere!

LSPX-P1 30/08/2017 by slamontia (USA)

This is a very impressive portable projector. Right out the gate when opening up the box there is not much to the setup, a few power cords, connecting a HDMI device (optional) and downloading an app. If you have videos, pictures, or movies already installed on your smartphone you are good go! Just power the projector up, download the app, connect and get to watching movies or sharing memories. This device may only have 100 lumens, but when using this in darker setting it works great. The built in battery allowed me freedom to use a projector in settings that I would have normally had to run an extension cord across the room. Pros: • Super easy setup • Contemporary look to blend into any room • Built in quality speakers • Battery works great and allows for freedom away from power supplies • App is very user friendly and shows battery life right on home page • Works well with any HDMI capable device Cons: • Big price tag • Projector must be controlled by app • Doesn’t have VGA or DVI computer inputs (Only HDMI) • Low lumen count doesn’t allow for good viewing in well-lit rooms Overall, I am very impressed with this Sony short throw projector and although this wouldn’t be recommended for someone who doesn’t have a ton of money to spend, but for the people looking for portability, versatility and freedom to display your memories/presentations anywhere, this is a solid choice! I can see this coming in handy during family camping trips, business meetings and company trainings. I also think it would be really cool to use at weddings to display memories. Sony did a solid job putting this one together.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Good

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

2

0

0

Portable videos?! Yes!

LSPX-P1 29/08/2017 by Dotex (USA)

I received this product for being part of a promotional campaign in exchange for my honest review and it's been pretty great! Sony has outdone themselves with this one. I have been taking it with me to different places and have been able to share media practically in any wall I've encountered. As long as the surface is flat and the lights are dim, the projector does a great job with the picture quality. I found that using the "Wi-fi direct" feature works best for sharing media from my phone. At home, I have my chromecast to the HDMI box and have pretty much been using it as a portable TV. I also discovered I can use it as an extended display for my computer and have also watched videos that way. Overall, I'm very happy with this great product. I would suggest buying it if you're a fan of sharing media in a bigger display than your phone or a tablet or if you want to have an extra TV in your home that goes up to 80"! Pros: - works with chromecast, gaming consoles, cable box, and pretty much anything that connects through HDMI. - can display videos on tables - its small enough to fit in a backpack and has a built in speaker that works rather well - no heating, no fan sounds - has an alarm feature that automatically turns on to any poster you choose Cons: - battery life only around two hours - will take longer to load larger videos - weather poster needs more features - would like to see more features for posters

Picture Quality

Average

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

0

0

0

Works nicely with Chromecast

LSPX-P1 22/07/2017 by katiek (USA)

Works seamlessly with Chromecast and love that I can display pretty much anything from my phone. The software could get some improvements but the picture quality is good and overall happy with the purchase.

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Good

5

0

0

Great potential! missing iOS compatibility

LSPX-P1 20/07/2017 by laostokyo (USA)

Overall it is a great product !!! However it has with some important limitations that you should be aware of: 1/ luminosity of 100 lumens (don't expect to use it during a bright day) which limit the time and place of usage, but it is perfect for a night show. 2/ no compatibility with iOS and macOS which is incredible for a product advertising on wireless feature. @Sony, when will you release the app update? 3/ battery of 2 hours which is enough for a standard movie but still a bit short (4 hours would have been a better range). Hopefully the next version will solve "partially" those issues, so I could finally recommend this great product.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Fair

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Average

10

8

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/08/2017

Hi laostokyo, the Projector app is compatible with an iOS smartphone and tablet, which can be downloaded from the iTunes App store.
Though it may not support AirPlay, you can, however, project local photo and video files from your smartphone/tablet using the app.
Alternatively, you may also cast a Mac OS laptop to the projector using supplied wireless HDMI box.

0

Great potential! missing iOS/macOS compatibility

LSPX-P1 20/07/2017 by Laurent R (USA)

Hi, I moved to a new apartment last month and decided to buy Sony LSPX-P1 ultra short throw projector instead of a large screen TV having in mind its flexibility and portability. Overall it is a great product !!! However it has with some important limitations that you should be aware of: 1/ luminosity of 100 lumens (don't expect to use it during a bright day) which limit the time and place of usage, but it is perfect for a night show. 2/ no compatibility with iOS and macOS which is incredible for a product advertising on wireless feature. @Sony, when will you release the app update? 3/ battery of 2 hours which is enough for a standard movie but still a bit short (4 hours would have been a better range). Hopefully the next version will solve "partially" those issues, so I could finally recommand this great product.

Picture Quality

Good

Features

Average

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Fair

9

4

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
03/08/2017

Hi Laurent R, the Projector app is compatible with an iOS smartphone and tablet, which can be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.
Though it may not support AirPlay, you can, however, project local photo and video files from your smartphone/tablet using the app.
Alternatively, you may also cast a Mac OS laptop to the projector using supplied wireless HDMI box. Regards.

0

Incredible in the daylight

LSPX-P1 29/06/2017  (USA)

Pictures or videos do NOT do this project justice. It's smooth, bright, and crisp. I saw it in person in New York, 3 weeks later it's in my living room :)

Picture Quality

Excellent

Features

Excellent

Design

Excellent

Ease of Use

Excellent

11

0

0

Dim idea

LSPX-P1 14/06/2017 by InTheDarkness (USA)

100 Lumins? Are you kidding? Seriously, how can this be a real product? I bought this without looking at the lumin output. You cant even tell if its on the projection is so low. I am stumped what this could be used for.

Picture Quality

Poor

Features

Average

Design

Poor

Ease of Use

Fair

6

16

Response From Sony North America Customer Support
21/06/2017

Hi InTheDarkness, We regret to hear that your device's performance failed to meet your needs. It does have quality specifications which you can take advantage of. The compact design of the projector and wireless unit makes it easy to pick up, go and use wherever you like. Display images of up to 80" (203 cm) onto any floor or wall in the house. It also provides you quality sound for complete user experience. The xLOUD technology lets you turn up the volume without any loss of quality and two 0.98" Bass Reflex Speakers deliver powerful low frequencies. We're always looking to make Sony better. We appreciate your time sharing this feedback. Regards,